Child Adoption

Mummyportia,
She's fine. In fact after the fall she seems to be more active and tend to talk alot. As if she was knock to wake up :p

dream!!! so french!! HAHAHA.
You sure?? I read from books that mineral water might not be the best because those the minerals.
haha, you are so funny.

Mummportia, your baby fell and maybe that's why he's so active at playgroup. (grin grin) haha
BlesswBB's baby also fell and became more talkative.
is it call 'kai(1) qiao(4)' in Chinese. hee hee.

So glad I'm home! just returned from Bk, so tired! I hate time away from baby!!

Iwantitvmuch,
ha!ha!ha! You re right not all mineral water can be given to babies! But evian is good for baby! So, everytime he does not finish his milk, my heart pains! Waste milk and my expensive water! I don't even drink evian water but I guess I want to give him what I believe is the best! No offence to anyone, I hope!

Welcome home! I also don't like to travel. Always miss my kids.

dream
Wow i also want to be your baby, can get to drink evian daily.

iwantitvmuch
o that's a nice thought. But 1 fall is enough haha. So who looks after baby when u are overseas?

Dream, no offence at all! Just very funny and fun for me to have a go at you. HAHA

Mummyportia, when I'm away, my mother in law will stay overnight.

Iwantitvmuch,
Aiyo I rather she not kai qiao lor these few days she becoming very sticky like super glue to me. When someone carry her, she see me come near her she will start crying and want to carry her. Even daddy also can't carry her really tired me off. How I wish I can leave bb at home and go travelling. Can we change our roles haha

Dream,
U really pampered yr kids with all the good things in the world. Hope they grow up to love and appreciate yr love.

Mummyportia
hope your boy recovers soon but I guess that as long as he is active, he is fine. It usually takes a long time for the cough and phlegm to go away. You can also loosen his phlegm by massaging his back and front by making a C cup with your hand.

Iwantitvmuch,
hope you don't have to travel so soon.

Blesswbb,
thanks. Your message is really nice. Very touched by your kind words.

Blesswbb, travelling is tiring and preparation before that takes. Up a lot of time. I have travel w a Global head on the 19th. So stress.

My bb's stool is hard leh. I blended some veg to mix with the baby rice n today the stool is hard. How ?? I'm boiling some barley watEr.

Blesswbb,
Thanks for the link.

Dream,
Your baby very royal, drink evian water, hehe...

iwantivmuch, Maybe u can try to give her prunes.

Iwantitvmuch,
I tot only mine having hard stools since 2 days ago. But lucky is back to normal. Try giving bb some fruits. Papaya or banana and plenty of water. If bb don't drink water which they normally don't drink I gave fruits juice from Heinz.

Okay, I bought some bottles of banana n peach purée too , for her to try today. She poo the second time but like plastercine. I found myself kneading it with the diaper cos I wanted to see if it's b'cos of what I gave her yesterday. Haha
I didn't dare to give her any cereal today. I'm so worried n she has been quite cranky in the last week. As she used to be so easy, I'm getting nervous handling her nowadays. Pfff..

iwantitvmuch,
haha...we are so afraid of our own stool but when come to motherly love all bb stool bcome like our toy..we got no choice got to check the texture of their stool. Instead of giving cereal try giving fish porriagde to prevent constipation.
hmmm....seems like both our dd are having strike. Mine too very cranky. Having difficulty handling her too..think mine is forming her own character now...i got to tell her who the boss if not she's going to be a spoilt brat.

BlesswBB, bb poo well on saturday. phew. I think the banana n peach puree n barley(with milk) n gripe water helps. Phew!
I was so worried that I caused it. Thinking back, I don't think my vegetable mix caused it. I think it is the pumpkin. I think I will tell my mother in law to go easy on the pumpkin.

My bb has been very cranky. I'm glad she has a bit of personality. She was so quiet before. my MIL said that she's a big girl now.

iwantitvmuch
I find mixing papaya in my bb's rice porridge helps big time in preventing constipation, not daily of course. My boy's toilet habits r even more frequent these days, likely because he's become a water-guzzler.

Just heard from my neighbours n friends with young kids that mood swings are part n parcel of baby girls. Hope this helps.

iwantitvmuch,
understand how u feel cos my girl still has hard stool...i tot she was ok but it came back...i gave her banana, gripewater and fruit juice...it helps abit only after i put alot of vege into her porridge for the last 2 days then it works. Her constipation due to me giving too much bb biscuits to her causing her suffer so much.
Haha...yr girl showing her temper liao...mummy u better watch out

Mummyportia,
Too bad my girl doesnt like papaya...2 days ago when i try giving her papaya she gave me those funny face and she even try to shift away the spoon with the papaya.

My bb also showing her temper, if she don't want milk, she'll jus scream v loudly n use her hand push away the bottle. Omg! I can't imagine when she's older. Recently she started blowing bunbles, looks so funny ;)

At wat age can bb drink barley?

SWEETCL05
My boy is also blowing bubbles now, very naughty... n cheeky.

BlesswBB/iwantitvmuch
Another surefire way to get poop from my bb is to put Chinese spinach (yinchoy) in his porridge together with minced pork to sweeten the mixture. He'll poop even more..try it try it

sweetcl05/Mummyportia
Looks like bb is teething...when they blow bubbles its a sign that that r teething.

Sweetcl05,
i havent started giving bb barley cos afraid it will cause phlegm. Think by 6mths can start giving cos by then they are taking solid food.

Mummyportia,
Ya...been giving Chinese spinach but din add minced pork instead add pork rib to sweeten the stock.

Mummyportia,
i also find her v cheeky when she's doing it, so funny. Haha..
My bb so fast teething at 4 mths?

Blesswbb,
when u start giving your bb cereal?

sweetcl05,
they will start teething sign from 4mths..when she's abt 5mths u can feel the teeth coming out.
I started at abt 4 and half mths but then my girl will start crying when i trying giving her cereal. So we stop and waited till she's abt 5mths plus...that is when she started to love solid food.

I was reading through the conversations, and realise that we have come a long way. Now we are discussing feeding habits etc instead of the wait for the office interview etc. I am so glad we are here.

Dream,
I would love to be your baby, being pampered with Evian water. I think all of us have our own ways of pampering our babies

Iwantitverymuch/Blesswbb,
I had the same problem with my bb having hard stools. He used to strain so much, poor thing. Took him to ped, and she said to reduce cereal, and add more veggies & fruit in his diet. She did mention the Chinese spinach esp the stems. I find that fruits help lots too. She gave me a pack of ella's kitchen to try, and his poo came out so smoothly after that. Since, I have been giving him EK on and off, and lots of water.

I did try papaya too. He did not take to it, but when I blended some heinz apple juice, he ate it.

Sweetclo,
You must be so excited seeing ur bb develop her own personality. I don't know whether it was reflex, but my baby used to hold the bottle with me, and he will pull the bottle out. But now, he does not do that anymore. I started cereal for bb when he turned 5 months. I hope the switch of infant formula is going well for her.

Mummyportia,
Hope bb is much better. And how do you encourage him to drink so much water. Lately my bb is drinking less and less formula. It's worrying me, as he cannot drink more than 4 ounces these days at one go. And I don't want to force him lest I give him an complex. I wonder if it's because of his 2nd tooth coming out, and he has lost interest in sucking on a bottle? Any idea? It's worrying me.

Babylove,
Itz really amazing seeing our lil ones develope. The new formula so far so gd but stool v diff color frm the previous, itz v yellowish n more paste like form not like last x v v watery.
Hope she can gain more weigh cos PD mentioned she's abit tiny.
Recently she vomit few x after milk, there's one x immediately after milk she throw out all the milk n itz like more than wat i've given her! I'm so shocked n worried. Not sure is her digestion not gd, tot of bringing her to PD but hubby said obsderve few more days...

Sweetcl
my elder girl had this problem but it started from very young. Always vomitting after her milk and it is really scary. But as your girl did not have this problem before, I think it is better to check it out if it continues.

Sweetclo,
I think for some babies, the flap that prevents the milk from regurgitating up is 'loose'and allows the milk to come back up. Else, it might be best to feed her what she can drink, rather that feeding her more than she can take. It could also be phglem that she is vomitting out. But always best to check with your doctor.

I believe this question have been raised many many times? Just bear with me.

What is the cost of adoption ? I read somewhere its about 30K - 50K ..
Again I read somewhere some people can managed to pay 15K ... getting a bit confused.. frankly speaking 30k - 50k is really out of my range.

Please advise.

Dev, you sound like you are buying baby. That's abit straight forward. I think you can look back and check if we mentioned it before.
At what stage are you at? Why don't you do your homestudy first and call the different agents to enquire?

Hi Iwantitvmuch,

Sorry, if I have sound offensive but its just that I don't want to end up with a situation where we would not afford to give the BB a comfortable environment to grow up.. have been thru too many disappointments.

Dew,
The range is depending on the agent charges. 2 of the agent that i enquired charge abt 25-27k (Lotus adoption and Joy adoption service). Think 50k is too much for the adoption unless u going thru without an agent i believed the cost can come out to be 50k.

Dev, I've sent u the details on the question u asked. Hope u received it. Let us know how we can help u. Hope u can find comfort and support here.

Hi, just wanted to pop in after the initial posts I put up on this forum. Since then, HB and I have been seriously considering and praying about adoption & looking up various avenues. We have just sent in our HSR to TOUCH so we are on our way! We are now more excited than before about this possibility. Nice to see the mummies sharing with each other on this thread.

Hi Blesswbb,
No preparation required. Just squeeze and serve. very similar to our bottled food, but it is packaged in a pouch.

Strawberrysusu,
I am so happy for you
. Can't wait to hear updates. You should be getting the acknowledgement letter in 2 weeks.

Sweetclo,
Not sure if it's a phase, but mine used to. It was a phase for him, but we gave him toys to hold to keep his little hands busy. Just need to caution that bb's nails are not long.

strawberrysusu,
all the best to u!!

i'm still struggling with my hsr.
Now left the medical checkup (was delayed due to my period).
As for my parents, they did not mention abt the adoption, perhaps they tot we drop the idea? But we've decided to go ahead with the hsr, once successful, then update both parents again.

Just to check, my referees and guardian of child, can be the same? Can all referees be relative/ family members?

Hopefully all can be settled n mail out by this mth.

babylove,
wont the food be too cold for the bb if serve without making it hot? My girl like food that is warm.

sweetcl05,
bb is learning to use their hands...it is normal. Mine even rub nose and recently know how to dig her ears and when she did that she will start to drool to show that she enjoying it so funny rite? haha

ineedmiracle,
referees and guardian can be the same person. Refeeres must be mixture of friends and relatives that know u both for sometime. Just note that they will be interviewed thru phone so is better that they are awared of their status.

BlesswBB

thanks for the clarification. I feel it is so difficult to find friends as referees. Cos up till today, only my family know about it. And we're unsure how to find friends who will be able to accept our decision. haiz.......

strawberrysusu
Do look forward to the exciting journey n keep us posted at every stage
We'll be here for u

sweetcl05
My bb is always rubbing his eyes for 2 reasons: either he's sleepy or he's confused when I play tricks of the eye with him, like alternating things from hand to hand in a quick manner so as to get him to guess where it is, hehe

ineedmiracle
My referee n guardian are 1 and the same person, but I got another personal friend (someone from my church group) as a 2nd referee, just someone I can share with openly and is mature n non-judgmental. Basically, my social worker from TOUCH emailed all of them n got them to reply with a written letter of recommendation on whether they thought me suitable to be an adoptive parent.

Mummyportia,
Just wondering if milk intake for your lil one has decreased over the months as he is taking more solids. Just feeling a tat bit lost,as my bb is refusing milk from the bottle Sippy cup is no different. Not sure if it's because his gums are sore. Very worried about his calcium intake.

Blesswbb,
I usually buy the fruit & veg varieties, not the meal packs.So I serve straight from the pack, chilled, as it helps soothe his gums.

babylove,
Mine increase her milk intake in the night and as usual don drink much during the day. I supplement the calcium intake by giving her cheese during her breakfast. Maybe you can consider giving him cheese mix with potatoes for his meal. Has his 2 little tooth fully grown or is still growing? Think i need to get denture for my little girl cos since when she's 5mths old till now she only has her 2 teeth haha

Hi mummies!!
Just recived my bb's citizenship tdy, so funny to see his little face on the certificate haha.

babylove
Yes my bb has been more erratic with his milk intake as his solids increase. He doesn't take so much milk in the day now, often has probs finishing but still asks for it in the night as comfort food when he's v sleepy. I try to add broccoli in his porridge, 1 of the strongest sources of calcium among veggies, n sweeten it with minced meat.

Mummyportia,
Congratulation! He's a Singaporean now. Like Yuli and myself, we can teach our child how to sing Mahjula Singapura...haha
I too add brocoli and carrot into the porridge with ikan billis and pork ribs as the stock.

Congrats Mummyportia,
You must be over the moon
. Finallyyy!!! I am waiting for mine too. We just have to wait right till they contact us right? I forgot about the broccoli, I do give him a lot of that in his porridge. Thanks

Blesswbb,
I think the teeth are still growing. Cannot see anything else. Will try the cheese mixed with potato. Thanks

Congrats Mummyportia. That's quick. We went to collect the BC at almost the same time right? Maybe mine has also arrived in the post box. Did you apply for his passport at the same time?

Mummyportia,

congrats, just reading your post, i can feel your happiness. These are the little things that evolve ard us and our little ones that makes our day.

You mentioned that Touch email the referees for a written letter of recommendation. Er..must be handwritten? Which means when you submit the hsr form, you did not submit the recommendation letter ah?