Child Adoption

dream,
U should be giving yr boy gripwater more often. Preferably twice a day since he has colic. It will help. I agree with u that our bb is testing our patience. My dd can drink 5oz during nite feed but when day time comes is like splitting the 5oz into few feeds.

Yuli,
How much is yr dd drinking now? I'm thinking of increasing the amount since she can finish the bottle of milk most of the time.

Just got a part-time job offer to work for a month for them. Donno whether my dd will cry when i'm not around. She start to look for my when i'm not around already.

janella - yay!

Blesswbb, she has been finishing 4oz nicely but sometimes falls asleep aft only 3oz. she's transiting betwn the 2 Similac verions so I'm gona wait til nxt wk b4 increasing to 5oz.

wat do u mean she's looking out 4 u? Part time job juz 4 1 mth sounds gd ;)

blesswbb,
ok, will try to give him more often. No side effects? About your part time job, how long are the hours? If it is a true part time, I think it is worth considering. Best of both worlds. Still have time to spend time with your dd and keeping up with workforce (if u intend to work later). I guess stress should be more manageable since it is not a permanent position. If don't like, just quit!

Babylove

Hey, thanks! I hope none of you ladies will mind me saying this. I've always been uncomfortable about creating a facebook account. A friend has been bugging me since two years back about creating an account but I've never been keen.

But,pls, if you all do decide to meet, pls let me know. I'll give you all my email address or whatever.

Dream, Yuli, BlessBB

Hope to join you all soon!

yuli,
Last week i left my dd with my mu. According to my mum she look very restless and cranky when i'm not around. When my hubby came home she sound like complaining to my hubby y left her at home. My hubby even brought her downstairs to wait for me. The moment she heard my voice she started to cry.

dream,
Don worry no side effect. It will only help yr boy drink more and ease his colic.
Yuli, dream
I have just checked with them. It looks like a full day job relating to system testing. They are looking at 2mths instead of 1mth. I'm afraid the working hours will extend up to 9pm. Additionally, my IVF is schedule around Nov. I don wan the job to affect my last chance. I'm still waiting for them to call again to confirm the working time and dates.

Janella,
Cant wait for u to join us too.

janella,
can't wait for you to share your stories here as well. You are in the final lap. Hang in there.

Blesswbb,
seems too stressful if you are doing Ivf in November. Just enjoy the rest of the year. I am sure other opportunities will come later.

yuli,
i just increase my dd milk to 5.5oz. She finished the whole bottle and crying for more.
R u using AVENT milk bottle? Have u start changing the teats to 3mths? I tried on my dd she's angry and doesnt want to drink as the flow is too fast.

Hi Janella,
No probs at all. We can continue to share on this thread, and will definitely pm you when we all finally meet.

Blesswbb,
That's so sweet that ur little one is attached to you. It's a great feeling too. You seem to have a lot on your plate with your plans for IVF and parttime work. Might be better to relax, so as to optimise the IVF process. Esp with the long hours, might not be good for the IVF process. Good luck!

Dream,
You will be going back to work tomorrow. How are you feeling?

Babylove,
I'm a 24hrs mummy to her if she's not attached to me I will be heartache. I was worrying we don hv bond with each other. But now I'm more sure there is.

Babylove & Blesswbb
Yes, back at work and loggin in during lunch time. I was really moody and stressed last night. I am wondering how to cope. Got bad temper when stressed!

Last night, boy went back to his normal routine! Feeding every 1.5-2 hrs although increased milk to 4 oz (from 2 last week) before his bed time at 10PM. Usual feed is now about 3 oz. Worst is that he woke up at night screaming for milk (or that's why I thought) but as soon as I put the bottle in his mouth, he is fast asleep. Impossible to wake him up to take the milk. So, put him back to bed and waiting for his "next" call!

Really a zombie at work today...luckily, my boss on business trip this afternoon and tomorrow, so can go home early!

Blesswbb,
As you have decided to take one-year break, just enjoy your bb girl. Stress not good for IVF and your bb girl. And as it seems your hubby travels a fair bit, it is good that you are at home with her. My 2 cents worth of advice!

Hi Dream,

maybe u can try giving him water. That's what my sis in law did when her bb cries for milk in the nite. Or a pacifier? Hope this helps.

Hi Nicole,
Thanks for suggestion. He is already taking the pacifier but I would say he has not "graduated" yet. Kept dropping...so, he will also make noise to have it back...for water, good idea. See how hard he sucks before I make milk to him.

otherwise, how are you?

hey ladies,

i finally finished reading most of the posts! its amazing all of u r so lucky to find ur little ones. really envy u all..

now here comes my question...paisay..
So, i have to go thru TOUCH to get the HSR (for foreign adoption) rite? Thereafter, then i can call up the agencies (eg. Lotus/King/Fox) correct???? however, i realise tat Lotus required an age of min 35.. i am 31 and my hb is 33.. so how??? is TOUCH an agency themselves or touch is only do local adoption? cos i read TOUch tat their age requirement is 30 only...

Hi Dream,

I am still taking a break from everything. But am busy helping frenz settle her newborn and another applying to adopt. Haha, in another words keep myself busy by being kpo la!

I am also at the same time preparing to leave for Indonesia with hubby soon so after we are settled there then will think of adoption issues. Btw, my fren was asking me abt the referral letter, is it per couple 2 referrals or per person 2 referrals?

dream,
yr boy is like my girl after her 1mth. U must hv lot of patience with him. My dd will cry in the middle of the nite but when feed her with milk or water she will cry more. So i will suggest u carry him and pat him back to sleep. He just has a nightmare and feeling insecure.

kit_mum2b,
Only with HSR approval then u can call up the agency (for info FOX close down) As for Lotus, i think is just a guideline...u can call Alice(Lotus) to check more details. TOUCH is a community service centre.

Hi blesswBB,

Today i talk to my hb abt adoption, he is more into surrogate mother instead..sigh... so toubled now.. surrogate mother is not easy in singapore...

Nicole,
Not being kpo but a good friend! Your friends are lucky to have you! I guess there must be lots of things to do before moving to Indonesia. Will you be in Jakarta? How often can you come back to Singapore? I am sure you will miss all the good food...remember to bring along cooking book! As you will be a tai tai, you will have time to enjoy cooking and baking!

Kit_mum2b
I am sure it took you quite a while to read all the thread. Before I had my bb boy, I kept on reading (and re-reading the thread). I guess it helps me to better understand the process and gives me hope as well.

About your hubby, I think it will always take a longer time for your hubby to warm up. So, don't despair. It may take time but he may get there. Give him some time to think about it and may be try to figure out what makes him uncomfortable and then, find ways to explain him that these are not great issues after all.

Surrogacy mother has its issue as well. I don't think it is legal in Singapore so it would also be very difficult. You may want to check Today's Wall Street Journal. There's an article on India's surrogacy. I have not read it yet but saw the article there.

Good luck.

Blesswbb,
Thanks for advice. Will try to pacify him before making milk. It is still difficult for me to know whether his cries are for hunger or comfort (especially when he sucks his pacifier real hard). And in the middle of the night, I always assume it is hunger! He also seems to make a lot more noise at night when he sleeps than during the day. I wonder why. May be their sleep is deeper at night and they have more dreams/nightmares. Any idea?

This week, he started to make some noise. I guess he wants to communicate with us. So far, 2 distinguished sounds..the complaining one and the happy one! Very easy to recognise. I wonder why they can learn the "complaining" one so fast! I guess they replicate us and learn from us!

hi dream,
surrogacy is brought up by my gynae actually, if not we will not even explore this idea.. i have my frozen embro with them and since suspected my lining is damaged, hence, she say last resort is surrogacy in order to carry own bb. she suggest doing it in JB, but the best is tat we can source our own contact..fan leh...

Just an update. I learned yesterday that my husband's character referees have already received an email for a character reference.

I checked with my referees but they have not received any yet. Maybe they'll get it by post since my hubby's referees are overseas.

What about you, Babylove? Have you checked yet?
I already feel the excitement.

babylove - saw a pic of you and a bb boy on your FB page. Is that your boy? he's soooo cute! but now botak right?

Nic_doll - I think the agency (eg TOUCH) will give a list of qns to the referee so just use the qns as a guide to writing the letter.

kit_mum2b - i think the age requirement is just there as a guide.

Janella - happy for you!

I happened to come across this thread and was interested to join in the discussion as some of concerns mentioned was what I been thru during the adoption process. Time flies and my little princess is turning 15 mos soon, she is from local and is with us since she is 4 days old.

Hi Anan,

may I know how do u get to know abt ur girl's adoption cos we all know local babies are hard to come by. Mind to share?

Hi yuli,

ya I received the list of qns having headache trying to piece the infor, hence asking u gals fo help, heehee!

Hi Janella,
I am so excited for you!!! Thanks for the heads up. I just checked with one of the referees for the both of us. He says he has received the letter. I am so nervous.

Yuli & Blesswbb,
thanks for your compliments
. He looks very much like my hubby *winks*. How are your babies keeping. Yuli, it's been some time since I have seen your little one

Dream,
I know the first few days will be hard being away from BB. I hope you feel better today becos it's the weekend.

Anan,
Thanks for dropping by and saying hi. I am sure the process was very different 15 years ago. Do share with us some of your experience in adopting.

Nicole,
You are a great friend. Kudos to you for being there for your friends. You will definitely be blessed when it's your turn.

Hi Nicole,

I was going to send you an example of reference, but you cannot seem to accept PMs. Could you pm me your email address, so I can forward you the reference. You may adapt from it.

Hi Nicole
Actually it is finally thru Touch tat we found our little princess after a few failed attempts from the adoption agency.

babylove80 - My little princess is still a baby just coming to 15 month and start learning to walk and not 15 years. Our procedure are exactly as what you are going thru and I started from a working mum, then becoming a SAHM when she is 2.1/2 mos old and then recently just back to work full time again.

Kit mum 2 b,
Good luck to you and be prudent with legal issues.

janella,
Things are moving. That's great.

Anan,
Welcome here.

Baby love,
If I am not wrong, Anan's bb is 15 months and not 15 years old. I guess you are ready for the week end! Haven't looked at your FB but will definitely look at it tonight to see your prince! Enjoy the week end. Somehow, it is already Friday. I remember writing about Monday blues! Time flies but week end, time will fly even faster!

I am really happy week end is coming. Regarding my boy, I am really afraid that he would be closer to my helper than me. Feeling sad when I think of it. He would spend so much time with her.

Does both husband and wife need to be 35 yrs and above to be eligible for child adoption? What is the minimum required income of the couple? Is it ok if both r self-employed? Thanks.

Ops Anan, so sorry. I am so ulu abt abbreviations.
. Welcomewelcom
. I am also hoping that I can be a SAHM once the adoption papers come through, so that I can enjoy and treasure the moments with my prince. How are you coping with being back at work?

Hi Gals, last 2 weeks have been busy and i was travelling to KL. Hence, MIA for a while. Janella, great that they are flipping through your case now.
For me, I'm still waiting for the date of the home interview. It has been 2 weeks already. Maybe they are failing us and not putting us through the home interview. hee hee. I don't think they will fail us but that thought crept in once in a while.
Once TOUCH arrange for the home interview, I will visit the agencies at the same time. Are there any preparations for the agencies? Do we need to give Alice or the agencies any info so that they will know abit about us??

iwantitvmuch,
Don worry too much. They wont fail u. They have gone thru yr report before interview u.
After the home visit u can start calling agencies to meet the agent up. When they meet u they will ask u your requirement.
U adopting a girl or boy? I have lots of baby mitten and booties and some t-shirt for unisex. If u don mind 2nd hand goods i can pass to you.

yuli,
went to look for Mattel warehouse sale today....i cant find the warehouse so sad...end up din get to buy cheap toys. End up only bought a toy at Kiddy Palace cos too expensive liao.

Good Morning Ladies!!!
The weeks are flying. I found out that my gf had received the letter from TOUCH. She is writing up the reference now. I wanted to ask, if the office interview is scheduled only after the references are received?

I am really counting down as each step is reached.

Good morning ladies too!
Seems like it is back to work! and another Monday blues.

Blesswbb,
I am sorry you could not find the Warehouse. We have GPS in our car so it just showed us the way! Otherwise, it can really be confusing. Huggs...Just wait for the next sale after X'Mas. Otherwise, not all the toys were cheap. The ones which were still in very good condition were quite expensive as well. For example, an item that I bought in Kiddy's Palace was sold at 100 in the w/h sale while I paid 109 at Kiddy's palace. So, don't dwell too much on it, ok
Robinson has sales as well right now.

Iwantitvmuch,
Glad to hear from you. U mentioned earlier that the officer was going on leave. May be that's why there is some delay. Be positive, ok!

Babylove,
Had a good week end with your boy?

okay, be positive I will be.

babylove, the office interview will be scheduled even before the reference letter is received by TOUCH. So,i'ts independent.

BlesswB, I think I will most probably go for boy or whatever God arrange. I'll get the baby wear from you when the time comes. Keep for me!

Reminder: Disclosure workshop on Thursday.

dream,
My hubby knows where Lok Yang Way is but we go round and round the place still cant find Mattel Warehouse. I wonder y...anyway thanks for the info. Think for the time being toys is enough for her.

iwantitvmuch,
ok will keep the clothes for u. Think by the time bb in your arms i should have more to pass down
My dd is growing very fast most of the clothes she cant wear.

babylove, my interview took place while the assesor was waiting for the referral letters to come in.

blesswbb, you not keeping your babystuff for your #2? The clothes that dd has outgrown are all mainly pink (people give all pink leh!) so whoever is going for a girl and don't mind pre-loved onesies, tops & booties, lemme know!

ladies, enjoy the disclosure wshop and enjoy meeting each other. take pix and post on FB leh.

I have been meaning to update some pics on FB but have been extremely busy at work!

Blesswbb, my dd's next jab is scheduled for 11 weeks after her last jab so should be in Oct. Our bbs are 3mths old already, hor. My dd's latest pattern is complaining while drinking milk! She will have the teat in her mouth and she'll be 'complaining' then will settle down to drink! Quite funny to observe but dunno why she's like that. It's only sometimes so maybe those are the times we're not fast enough in giving her milk! Chia lat lah like that!

I saw those bumbo seats for young babies to sit for short periods but not sure if it's good to get/rent. Anybody knows?