Child Adoption

I have been reading how BlessBB, Yuli and Dream are coping with their babies and am getting lots of tips which will come in handy when my turn comes. I am already prepared for the sleepless nights.

Babylove

I posted my HSR the day before you and am anxiously waiting for my acknowledgment email. I think I will email TOUCH if I don't hear from them by next week.

I hope it's not too cheesy for ya'll but under description for our FB group, I thought it would be nice to pen a little poem, or rather our little poem to describe the group. Here is the first attempt. Pls go ahead and be as creative as possible. Edit it as much as you want till you are happy with it.

'Our miracles were born in our hearts.
Never knew we could fall in love with a soul so little and so precious.
Holding their little fingers as they sleep, feeding them when they are hungry, cuddling them when they are insecure, waiting for their first smile, their first turnover makes it all worth the while.

Now we know that every tear we have shed was worth it. It was a part of the journey before we could discover our miracle. Step by step, we will walk together supporting each other, in our journey through adoption and thereafter.'

Babylove 80,
So inspiring! it is perfect! you are really great! any copyrights from you? thought of copying it and put it in my son's book!

I am amazed. Thanks for sharing and definitely not too cheesy! this is really what we are all after, I believe.

Babylove 80,
For the technical part on how to enable PM, try this. At the top left corner of this screen, go to Edit Profile. Enter your id and password. then, you go under the heading "preference" and "untick" "do not send me PM".

I hope this works. I have sent u my facebook adrress.

Hi Dream,

Thanks! I have unticked 'do not send me PM'.

As for the poem, if everyone is ok with it, let me dedicate it to 'OUR MIRACLES' FB grp. Dream, you may use it in your son's book.

Hi babylove, I teared reading your poem! Thank you for penning such a touching and insightful poem.

I also received an email asking for outstanding documents 3 weeks after HSR submission. Like you, I emailed them back and they replied me within about 3 days to fix an interview date
Hope they call you soon

Janella, babylove is probably right that your HSR reached them a couple of days after her so you might be receiving an acknowledgment soon. I'm so happy for you ladies. I know what it feels like. I'm glad our baby discussion is useful for you. Sometimes i feel paiseh to use this forum to discuss all this while you guys are waiting for your bundles of joy.

Dream, I got 1 tube from GNC and another tiny tube from Guardian - can't remember the latter's brand. I think any one should be ok. Having the plant would be best!

Ladies, please keep us in prayer as the MCYS officer comes for the home visit tomorrow at 9am. My husband can't arrive back in time next fri for the home visit so the nice officer said she'll push forward the visit to tomorrow. She was really nice cos she's going on leave on 20 Oct for 3 weeks so she wants to help me clear my application before she leaves. She said she knows how impt it is for us to get the BC and citizenship sorted out. So nice, hor?

She asked that bb be awake if possible! I told her I'll try but 9ish is her bathtime and she normally has a bottle after bath then sleeps........I'm praying bb will not cry after the bath tomorrow! I will try and bathe her B4 the officer comes but you know lah, can't really plan timings for babys wan. Everyday they got slight change to their pattern! Will update you guys tomorrow~!

Yuli,
So excited for you. The officer is really thoughtful and this is definitively a + point. Just be yourself and it should be fine. And really wish bb is in her best behaviour tomorrow! don't be stressed...otherwise, bb will feel it too...

Janella,
Next week should be your turn! Take the time to tidy your place and do some bb window shopping. Glad that our bb talk is useful as i also feel paiseh to post here sometimes. but got free consultation from blesswbb and yuli

About sleepless nights, yes, be ready for it! it is really tough! Make sure you train ur hubby to help out as well...otherwise, really stressful when bb cries and needs to prepare milk.

Yuli,

Breathe in and out...you will be fine...Babies are unpredictable and crying is their only way of communicating so even if she cries, dun panic, show that you know how to pacify her, cos she's yours

Just go about your normal routine, and I am sure everything will be fine. I am really excited for you! And I pray that everything goes well for you.

Re feeling paiseh, I am thankful to have found this thread and each day I look forward to reading about the progress of your bundles of joy.

Also, just having a place where you can disclose your deepest fears re the adoption process, and knowing that you are understood makes a difference.

Signing off for the weekend....

Hi babylove80,
I've just PM you regard to my new email address, Please add me in FB. I've checked FB, there's "Our Miracles" it's yours?

I have already set up the group. Guess what, under privacy settings, I have put it as a secret group, so it won't show on our profile etc. I will email the addresses I have for now. So SweetClo & Dream should have received an invitation by now.

Hi babylove80,
yes I've rec'd your invitation... I've add in invitation.

Iwantitvmuch,
Would like to ask you, for the office interview it's individual or with hubby?
Till now i still have not receive any notification frm touch for any interview... but my friends receive the letters

Yuli, Dream,BlessBb

No need to feel paiseh for sharing loads of information about your babies. We really appreciate it. Keep sharing so that we can continue to learn.

Yuli, all the best. You are in my prayers. How did it all go?

I agree with Baylove. In this forum, we can all share our deepest fears and worries and know that we are not going to be judged.

babylove,
Thanks for adding a lovely and touching poem. I love it very much...just pm u on my new email.

Yuli,
How's the interview? I also very worried. My turn will soon be here. Still waiting for MCYS to call. Hoping it will call us by this coming week if not my hubby will be leaving soon.

Ya lor...i also very paiseh talking abt my bb here and even launch her photo in my blog...like purposely make u ladies jeaousy....sorry hor...
But i will pray for everyone here to have their Miracles fulfilled soon....

dream,
My dd is very good these days...she never cry when bathing since that day i complained here. Very happy...think she know her mummy will not drop her into the water liao...
Re Bathe: I bathe her twice a day. I bathe once at 11am and 7pm. Got to bathe twice Cos recently she starts to sweat alot and very sticky. Especially recently she loves bathing...

am juz thinking of adoption is one of my option since i have prob conceiving.

would like to ask, how long is the adoption process starting from the HSR till u get the bb??? average timing is how long???

SWEETCL05, the office interview is for both hubby and myself for 1 hour and then individually with the social worker. It could be half to 45 mins.So, we took turn to wait outside.
look out this week, you should be receiving the acknowledgment this week.

Kit_mum2b, depending on the wait for the baby and the approval of the HSR. So far, I feel that the average timing is about 3months. Some of the ladies here receive their bb in 2.5 months!

Iwantitverymuch & BlesswBB,
I have already sent the invitation to you.

Yuli,
How are you? Hope it all went well.

Kit_mum2b,
Welcome to our thread. i hope that you will find some inspiration from our posts.

I hope everyone else are well.

I got feedback that it is hard to locate the group on FB if it is under 'secret group' so I have changed privacy settings to 'closed group'.

Also, I have made Iwantitvmuch and Dream admin
. So anyone else who wants to join the FB grp can email them too.

I would love to adopt a child in the future.
Looking at 3 months, i guess its ok, not too long. Is it local adoption or overseas??? actually i have spent a lot of money on IVF and all tat, quite tight recently. Roughly how much is everything?? do i have to pay in lump sum? i read tat there's installment plan ..is it true?

sorry for asking so many questions,
if its foreign adoption, how do we ensure that the bb is healthy before we confirm the bb??

actually my gynae told me that my lining might be damaged due to my first miscarriage D&C, i am very sad and now still in the stage of preparing the worst if IVF fails again. GYnae suggest surrogate mother if my lining is damage.. but i have doubts abt it and think adoption might be a better choice.
i really looking forward to hold a bb in my arms...

Hi Sweetclo,

On your FB page, type 'OUR MIRACLES' at the top right hand corner of your screen in the search box. It should appear.

Sorry re the teething probs...

Hi kit_mum2b,
welcome to the thread. Our bb (yuli, dream and myself) comes from Malaysia cos we are using the same agency. Total payment of the whole adoption can come up to estimated $27k-$30k depending on the charges of the agent. My payment will be made for HSR report abt $1k to service centre and $25k to adoption centre. Payment for adoption centre are paid in $15k upon choosing yr bb and $5k upon dependent pass collection and the rest of $5k will be after bb citizenship collection.
After confirming the bb that u want, their will be a medical checkup (bloodtest and bb basic health check). Before that there will b a medical record from the original hospital where bb is born. Hope i have anwsered yr qn.

Hello Sisters,
Seems like thread is quiet. I guess all of you have enjoyed the week end and having Monday Blues! Talking about Monday blues, I really feel stressed about going back to work this Thursday. Feeling really bad about leaving bb at home and really no mood to work. The only good thing is that I only need to work 2 days before week end comes! Blesswbb, I really envy you!

Otherwise, last night, I think he got his second colic at 3AM! Really lost on what to do! Cry and cry even though we carry him, change him, feed him. Really stressful because you are so sleepy and he can't stop crying and there's nothing you can do to make him feel better. Really feel sad in these moments as can't comfort him.

Otherwise, trying to force him to drink more. His usual is till 2 ounces (!) and now trying for 3 ounces at each feeding. Really stressful to feed him..

About his nose, it seems that his blocked nose is improving. Crossing fingers that I am correct! Went to buy the aloe vera gel and the cradle crap shampoo today (as it has not cleared yet). Seems like his heat rash is getting better as the weather is more cooling.

Yuli,
Are you taking care of your girl at night although you are working? I wish I could do it but as his nightfeed is so short (every 1.5-2 hrs) , I am wondering whether I will be able to cope. I wish he could sleep more at night.

How did your interview go?

kit_mum2b,
WElcome here! Most of us are also from the IVF thread so we understand your concerns. If you have time, read the old posts. Lots of information provided by the sisters here. And reading babylove80 poems just summarize how most of us feel.

Blesswbb,
When did u start giving bath twice a day? I am still giving him only once a day. It is great your daughter enjoys her bath. I guess she does not like you to complain about her! It worked for the milk and the bath!!!

Babylove 80,
Hope you had a good week end. I managed to find Sinupret at Guardian Centrepoint. I was so happy to find it that I bought it! but not really sure, whether I should use it! Very kiasu, right! Just want to make sure I have it at home if needed! Will read more on it May be can give it to my elder daughter as she has rhinitis.

Hello everyone!

welcome kit_mum2b. Blesswbb gave you a very concise summary
R you trying for another IVF? I wish you all the very best if you are.

Ladies, my interview went alright. The officer is really nice. Questions were mainly about who and how we care for the baby. How we are coping. What we know about the biological parents and about disclosure. She also went round the house to see where bb sleeps etc. She also spent some time interacting with bb - I dunno what she was looking out for when interacting with bb. My dd woke up just as she arrived so she wasn't grouchy (thank God!) and although she didn't smile at the officer, she smiled at my husband and I when we went to pick her up

Babylove, how was your weekend with your boy?

dream,
i started bathing twice a day when she's abt 2mths. I started by cleaning her with wet towel during evening time. But as she used to her bathing i start to bathe her during nite time only when weather is hot.
Ya i think so too...at least no more cries for bathing and milk time for now although she still cant finish her milk most of the time.

Yuli,
Thanks for summarizing it. I think yr dd is like mine...don simile to stranger easily

Abit worried now as my house is not child friendly cos no window grills and got alot of sharp corners. Hope these will not affect the reports.

oh ya...babylove...how's yr weekend? Must be happy to see yr boy again huh?

BlesswBB, dream and yuli,

thank you for answering my question. I din know tat the adoption need so much money..i thot 20K only...

I assume tat they are chinese rite??
I will be trying for another round of IVF depending on my lining situation. If lining behave well, will try again...if not..i dunno wat to do liao...

i think got to start saving money for tat

kit_mum2b,
it will depend on which race r u...if u chinese then the agent will find a chinese bb for u.
I will be trying for my last IVF too this Nov. If it doesnt work...i still very happy as i still hv my little girl
this girl will be our precious only one

Hi managed to go in the FB think i'm not good at it... haha... but i saw blesswbb's daughter... but one thing i can't figure out who is who?? haha... cos i don't knw ur nickname...

Iwantitvmuch, can I PM to you some queries about the office interview?

re: FB
When I join the group, will my FB friends be able to see our group? I just want to ensure privacy of our group. Also, will members of our group be able to see postings/photos on my FB page?

Now with the FB page, do we use the discussion thread there to post/chat with each other or do we continue to use this forum?

Dream, I take care of baby on some nights and my mum helps on some nights. So, that really helps me get some much needed rest! My husband is away during weekdays so he takes care of her on weekends. Is it possible for your helper to take care of your son on some nights?

Why do you say you are forcing him to drink more - is it cos you r trying to stretch his feed? or is it cos he falls asleep in the middle of a feed?

Wow...talk about Monday blues, I am seem to be having the tuesday blues too...really missing my boy...Each time I see him, he has grown so much, and each time I leave him, my heart aches...sighz...It was definitely a wonderful weekend...My little boy is now a baldy as we shaved his head over the weekend.

Sweetclo! You did it!!! Welcome to FB.

Re FB: I hope it's okie with everyone that I am using my current FB account, as I am open to sharing with my friends my plans to adopt a child.

Yuli, the current privacy settings for FB is 'closed'. Which means that no one on your account can see the messages or photos you share with OUR MIRACLES. But there will be an update that you have written on your homepage. That's what I have noticed on mine. No one, except your friends can access your profile. Which means that my friends cannot see your profile, because they haven't been added to your FB list. I hope this clarifies. Have you sent me your email address yet? I may have missed it. So sorry if I have.

Shall we still continue with our discussion here so that this thread will still be alive. All photos posting on our miracles will be done in FB.
Events & meetings for Our Miracles group will also be posted in FB. Anyone agree to it?

Yes, we use the FB for photos and events. Forum for discussion.
I'm using my private fb account. But could also use my current FB account. I'm also flexible. But due to the super private feature, actually can also use my current FB account. Actually, I'm quite open to friends too.

Hi Blesswbb and sisters,

It will be easier for me to continue posting in this forum as I can access this forum from work! I don't know why they have not blocked this site yet! hope it remains that way. For FB, it is definitely blocked.

I guess when topics are too sensitive, then we can use FB but we also need to make FB alive as well! dilemna...

May be we can include in FB all the important dates for each of us, creating milestones event (like what Die mentioned she was doing). To make FB more personalised.

I am feeling so stressed and moody thinking about going back to work.

Yuli,
I could ask my helper to look after him at night but i am afraid I will miss out too much. If she helps out, I would hardly see him as by the time I reach home, say 7:30 pm, it will almost be his bed time. I also need to spend some time with my daughter, especially since exams are coming up. May be I will do as you suggest...alternate days but then not practical with baby bed in our room and need to shift his bed everyday...

Otherwise, good to read that your interview went well. Seems like your case moving real fast and your dd would have her passport real soon. Must be excited.

Blesswbb,
As you need to install window grills no matter what, I think you might as well do it now. So, at least, you can show the interviewer that you are making your home more friendly. Yuli, did you install window grills already?

Babylove,
Hang in there. I know it is tough and I guess, we need to look forward to the week end.

Its so hard just working even without children. How am I going to cope with a baby and work next time? How do u ladies do it?..salute to all working mothers

Die, it's difficult but I try to make the most of it lor. Today's especially difficult cos I had a great early afternoon with her then had to come to work but wish I could spend some more time with her. My mum called earlier to say after I left, bb pooped then she napped so I don't feel so bad cos I didn't miss much - hahahaha!

Dream, I totally understand your concern. It's difficult. Maybe Thurs to Sun you take the night feeds and Mon to Wed your helper helps? I agree the hours are shorter. As he gets older, hopefully his sleep will also lengthen. Can he finish 3oz or he struggles with that? If he struggles to finish then maybe he's got enough and he's just a frequent feeder. As he grows older, his stomach will also grow bigger then maybe can take more milk and then can sleep for longer. He'll be 6 weeks soon right? I found that my dd's pattern changed at 6 weeks and she also went through a growth spurt.

Mummies & Mummies to be - share with you. I went to a Mattel warehouse sale today at 1 Lok Yang Way (off International Rd, Jurong). It was really far for me but my sweet dad agreed to drive all of us there to pick up toys for his grand daughter! haha. There were toys by Fisher Price, Barbie, Pixcar, Hot wheels and other brands too. I picked up quite a few items for my dd. Things like shape sorter, play gym, high chair (for later), potty training seat (for later), mobile, and quite a few other items. Prices ranged from $2 (for a teether with music) to $50 for the Fisher Price toys. just let you know in case you are interested to get for your little ones.

Babylove, I sent you a request to join in FB already! I will go put profile pic later.

Yuli,
Yes, I think he is a frequent feeder (and sleeper!). I think he is going thru a growth spurt as he can now drink 3 ounces (since Monday!...just when he turned 6 weeks...seems like he has a clock with him!), I expected him to sleep more since he ate more but it seems that his pattern has not really changed. Still get hungry every 2 hours! He started to have colic a few days ago. So, giving me added stress. I try to "force" him to drink more milk by trying to wake him up but most of the time, I don't manage as he sleeps very deeply. Some nights are better than others. Yesterday was pretty good until 5 am when he started to cry for no reason...

Thanks for the tip for Mattel Warehouse. Do you know whether the sale will still be on this week end. Is it on tomorrow? may be will try to go there tomorrow! Do you know the opening hours.

Warehouse sale from 11 – 5pm. On till 11 Oct.

Dream, Have you tried giving gripe water or Rid-wind to your son? It is supposed to help with colic. I normally give once after the morning bath and once after the wipe – down at night (i bathe her only once a day). I also read that Avent bottles have an anti-colic valve (to release the trapped air bubbles). Re: feeding more. Have you tried feeding him while he remains asleep? I have fed my dd while she’s asleep (eg when she’s due for a feed but shows no signs of waking up), just gently push the teat into mouth and see if he suckles. The PD told me b4 that if bb feeds under 2.5hr intervals then it probably means bb hasn’t had enuff at the last feed and can increase the feed by 0.5 to 1oz. BUT since you have already tried that and he’s still waking up at frequent intervals, then like you say, he might just be a frequent feeder. Sleeping till 5am is really good leh! What time was his last feed? You are right, there are good days and bad days/nights and we just gotta take it in our stride. I guess that’s why this forum is so useful – we can offload to each other! I remember my dd’s week 6 clearly cos that was the week when she ‘learnt’ to cry then scream till she was hoarse! It was very unnerving.

babylove, got another FB qn. How do we decide who to allow to join the group ah? I mean like if people send in a request to join then do we allow them to?

Yes I also agreed to keep this thread alive, FB will post of photos and private meetings...

Now we're looking forward to Yuli and Elle's to join us in FB...

yuli,
gave today gripe water that blesswbb recommended to me earlier. I mix it with 0.5 ounce of water. What about you? How do you give it to her? Mix it with water as well? Otherwise, is it ok to give gripewater on a regular basis? I only give it to him when he feels unwell but then it may be too late. So far, only gave him twice.

At night he still wakes up every 2 hours. So, very tiring. And unfortunately he is still not doing his night! I think I will be happy if he sleeps more than 2 hours!

i agree. The FB group is where we can share photos, or publish other relavant events. We should continue to share on this thread.

Yuli, regarding new members joining OUR MIRACLES, I feel that it should be limited to mummies & mummies-to-be who are on this thread as I know that we will definitely be getting requests from other FB users. That way we can preserve our privacy. What do the other admins think?

blesswbb and yuli
seems like our kids like to prove us wrong! Yesterday was a record breaking with my prince sleeping from 10 pm to 2am and then to 5 am. After 5 am, it was hard to get him to sleep as his eyes were wide awake but he managed to sleep another 1.5 hours. I hope it remains this way!

About feeding, it is really hard to estimate. I tried my luck with 4 ounces at 10 pm and he drank all but at 5 am he only drank 1.5-2 ounces!

Babylove
yes, agree that we should only accept people on this thread and those going/completed the adoption process. I guess we can "vote" on who can be in.

Hi Babylove

I finally received an acknowledgment email from TOUCH yesterday evening. They want a particular document which we will only receive from Malaysia in 2 months times. I had already explained to them about this way before submitting the HSR and they had told me to go ahead and submit the HSR and they will still process it.

Anyway, yesterday, again I sent them an email to explain this. Hope they will still process and not wait for us to submit the document first.

Hey, we should keep each other updated since we are just a few days apart.

Yuli

So glad that your interview went well. I am actually itching to go and get some stuff from Mattel as well. But I think it is way too soon.Must be patient.

Janella,
Glad that your case is moving. As you had checked with them earlier, it should not be a problem. Crossing fingers that they will proceed it very quickly.

Hi Janella,

I am so happy to hear that they sent you the acknowledgement. A step closer to your dream. Definitely, we should keep each other updated. I haven't got the call for the office interview as yet. Did you want to join the FB grp? PM me your FB account email.