Child Adoption

Sweetcl
may be your girl was going thru a growth spurt and that s why she had strong appetite. But as she vomitted, may be her stomach is not feeling well.

My boy has always been drinking very little but I think he makes it up by the frequency. I guess he is a small eater and wants to keep us busy. He is now 5.5 months and he is only drinking 5 oz and sometimes he can't even finish his bottle. If your girl keeps on vomiting, better go and see a doctor. Otherwise, she just wants your attention!

Sweet, I had problem feeding her only after her last vaccination last Thursday. If she's not hungry, don't force her. Otherwise, I'll give her gripe-water+water on empty stomach just in case her stomach is not well. Since when has she been like that?? Don't worry too much. Baby changes everytime.
And sometimes, they do puke abit because of reflux. It's okay. Give gripe water and monitor.

I have missed 'talking' and keeping in touch with ya'll. How are you? Btw, MCYS officer should be contacting us soon for the home visit. Getting nervous now.

It's been a buzy few weeks for me, as i have had to come back to work full-time and leave bb with MIL/mother and maid. Letting go of my bb's care to them has been hard, and challenging. But after a month or so, I am feeling a lot more adjusted.

bb is now recovering from a ear infections, and diarrhoea and hives caused by the antibiotics. Sighz, it's been a tough 1 week. I pray that he gets better soon, and that his appetite returns back to normal. During his fever, he would 'whine'. I was so sad
and worried, as it is our first time. But along with it comes new lessons.

Iwantieverymuch,
Big hugs. I can sympathise with you re your experience at the doc's. When my bb was just 4 weeks old, we were at Gleneagles for the check-up. The agent's hubby was with us. We have to give bb the horrible sedative for the full scan. The agent's hubby put bb on his lap, held hbb's mouth and basically shoved the medicine into his mouth. I wanted to 'slap' the husband. There is always a gentler way of giving bb the medicine. bb cried so much.

Ros,
Welcome to the thread. From my experience, during our office interview, the assessor did question our financial capacity as we have <20k in the bank. But, as long as you have assets or funds which can be easily retrieved, then there shouldn't me any probs. Not to scare you or anything, the assessor told us that the MCYS criteria is about 60k, which they don't follow because it is just too much. For a moment, my hubby and I thought we were going to fail the report. Savings is also important as you will need $$ for baby's expenses until you obtain Citizenship. But as Iwantitverymuch says, use this year to save, and attend the pre-adoption workshops. This will also give you time to rest and be ready for your bundle of joy when he/she arrives.

Sweetcl05,

Yr bb might hv colic that is y she vomited after her feed. Try giving her gripewater to lessen her discomfort. Maybe u can increase the feeding timing by 4hourly feed to let her digest her milk 1st. Previously, my girl had fungus in her mouth that cause her to reject milk. But after her PD gave her antibiotic her appetite is better.

dream, iwantitvmuch, blesswbb,
Thanks ladies for your advice. We've decreased her oz... My mum apply some chinese medicine to wrap on her stomach, and the wind came out, now dd is slightly better.

Blesswbb, my dd will cry very loud every 3hourly... every hourly interval we did give her water, but she still felt hungry.
When she asked for milk, itz like lion roaring when milk poke into her mouth, she keeps quite, haha...

Sweetcl05,
I would advise that u not to give too much water as yr girl is still too young. I only give water twice a day. One with gripewater in the morning &amp; the other is just pain water in the evening. But as she starts with semi solid food I try to give more often.

Happy New Year to all my friends here! U gals are God send!!

Sweet, true, like BlesswBb said, not too much water. Just heard today from relatives. Milk and water will cause the baby kidney to work too hard. Doc always tell me too, not too much water.

Happy lunar new year to all. Just got back from an overseas trip. Due to bad weather (snow), missed the flight back to SG, and missed my first ever reunion dinner with baby. Boo hoo...

I got back this morning, and at noon, we went visiting and started collecting angpows for the very first time! Yay!

Hope you guys had an enjoyable time visiting.

rehdeer, u missed reunion dinner with baby. aiyo, u must have felt really bad. it's okay lah, as long as you are back safely.
fun hor, visiting with baby.

It's still first time for many relatives, to see baby. So, she's still the star. Collected so many ang paos. everyone was dying to give her. hee hee. This year is the best!

Hello Ellebaby! Happy Lunar New Year.

This morning, 5am suddenly my dd got cold and keep coughing v badly and sneezing, I'm so sad cos I felt I'm so helpless (so heartbreaking)
Don't know what to do and seeing her suffer. Brought her to PD and was given medicine. Hope dd will recover soon...

She slept on air-con for 3hrs and think is due to the hot weather, she got bad cold...
She's slightly better, running nose stopped but can hear she got blocked nose. And when we tried to pump out "dirt" from her nose, it was sticky and greenish....
She still have slight cough....

sweetcl05,
Does she wear warm clothing when she's in the air con room? Especially during nite time it is a must to wear warm clothing...
Your girl is still so young she shouldnt be experience flu unless she is abt 4mths onwards.

I'm also very confused because my baby also perspire when she sleeps in the room. So, I'll bring her into my room or turn on the air-condition. Normal pyjamas should be fine as long as she has blanket over herself.

i understand but when bb is sleeping they don move much in such case they won't sweat..so when u on the air con they will catch a cold. They will tend to kick the blanket away even u put on for them. I tried that during my girl 1st few mths...end up i'm so tired cos i will wake up every few hours to make sure the blanket is still on her. Now i let her wear long sleeves pyjamas and put on socks for her.

Oh ya...sweetcl05, try to put kid Vicks on yr girl chest...she will feel comfortable.

Blesswbb,

I also did same as iwantitvmuch, cover blanket for her.... Maybe my baby is too sensitive to air-con.

I've tried to look for kid's vicks (itz cherry) but i saw that it only mends for kids over 2 yrs old. So I did not buy.

My baby is still coughing therefore I've brought her to Serangoon PD today (where Alice brought her for checkup). PD mentioned she'll be fine in few days. Baby don't look sick when she saw him, she keeps smiling and baby's talk to him... haha...

I've asked about the vicks to apply on my baby and he mentioned better don't apply anything cos baby is too young.

Sweetcl
hope your girl recovers fast. For my boy, I use a kind of sleeping bag that is tied on his shoulder. It looks like a big singlet bag. Not really sure how it is called but it is really useful as the blanket is tied to him. He can't kick it out.

sweetcl05,
oh that's gd! i like to go to Dr Yap for advise too. He will explain very detail on what to expect from my girl when she's sick. Dont worry yr girl will be well soon.

hi everyone ! forum is real quiet.

I am so busy with work. Looking forward to wkend and hopefully I can rest.

how's everyone and cny ?
Sweetcl05, hope bb cough ok now.
babylove, how's home visit by mcys ?
rehdeer, iwantitvmuch - tat's grt! U collecting angpow this yr. I will hv to wait my turn next yr.

Hi Ellebaby, collecting angpows are also very tiring for baby. haha. we worked her v hard and she's so exhausted. haha
we r bz with fb and that's why the forum is so quiet. hee.

Ellebaby, are you ready?

Sigh, I'm sick after my BK trip last week. Not sure if I'm too stress at work that I've been falling sick. I've fallen thrice in the last 5 months since baby arrived. I'm seriously considering quiting.

iwanitvmuch,
understand the stress u went thru...i was in the same line as u previously..also can't take the stress and very weak in my health so after 6mths of thinking decided to quit for a year...will be back to working life once my girl is 18mths (can put her in childcare centre to be independent).

BlesswBB, can't stand the temptation of money right?? haha. DOn't go back to banking lah. I'm thinking of teaching but I have to ask my parents' for their blessings cos it means I might give them lesser. haha. I thought your mom is looking after baby too?

iwantitvmuch,
Ya lor..now want to spend money also must see DH face...sigh. No...not going back to banking line anymore...got nightmare with banking system haha...thinking of going for easy admin job (little money easy job). No lah giving my mom a break she only help me take care when i need to do housework or when i need to go out to have a break.

BlesswBB, i realise that housewife has its own 'corporate ladder' too. Every year, they have their increments too. looking at my tai tai friends, they get more spending money every year. They are what we are on the corporate world. If I quit now, I'm playing a catch up game with them too.
So, if you want to stay at home, you have to bear with DH's face for a while until he increase your 'salary'. haha

My dream job is being a receptionist or secretary now. stress free.

Iwantitvmuch,
Hey my dream job is also receptionist haha...
Oh ya...have u started giving yr girl using training cups? Recently went to get 1 for my girl &amp; realized I got it too late as the training cup is supposed to start at 5mths. I bgt the pigeon brand as they are cheap &amp; free from BPA. U can start buying liao.
Realized we r the only 2 chatting here....hmmm...hope this thread won't stop.

Hallo! I am also here.........so now there are 3 of us chatting! I was also in the banking line super many years ago and back then when the going got tough, I also wanted to quit and be receptionist!!! hahah.

Janella/Ellebaby, can I just find out what your respective status are? I'm not trying to be kapo. It's just that I have a few pieces of baby stuff that I would like to pass to either of you if you are interested. I have a bath seat (can recline type), a chair and tray for feeding and a tummy time playmat. Item 1 &amp; 2 are hand me downs but item 3 is brand new. I had another playmat so I didn't open this one. I also have plenty of clothes, old and new. If you are interested, please pm me and I can send you a picture of the items, ok?

iwantitvmuch, you back at work already? you were in BKK? I also wana go BKK shopping!!!!

My dd FINALLY has a tooth cutting through! She was crying on Sun then as she was eh eh eh-away, I saw that whitish line! I was so excited, I let her carry on crying while I asked the people around me to check and see if it's a tooth! hahah, am I evil?!

I am here too! And also dreaming of being a housewife!

Iwantitvmuch
hard decision to make. Take vitamins to build up immunity and sleep when bb sleeps on week ends!

Yuli, Congrats on bb teeth. I also can see my bb growing another 2 teeth at the bottom. And he is really grumpy. I think it is really painful.

Blesswbb
thanks for tip.I just changed his avent milk bottle to bpA free after reading some articles on it. Being obsessed with it and only buying bpa free teether as well!

BlessBB, waiting for my miracle. Think is the CNY, so may be slow. I hope to hear from Alice soon.

hmm.. looks like we are all in the banking industry. It is super busy and stressful. I am thinking of quiting too. At the rate I am goin, not sure if I can tahan the stress and timeline. I feel like throwing everyday now. It's an icking feeling. But I want to wait for the bb to come first then quit. My mum does not encourage me to quit. Same reason as given by Blessbb. She does not want me to see my DH face to get money.

Yuli, yes interested! Will send u mail. Thx so much.

Iwantitvmuch, there is alot of bb clothing at MBK and chatuchak ! Shopping and massages !!! Gosh, miss them !

Dream, I really need to take vitamins like u suggested because I seems to be weaker and weaker.

Yuli, you are not in banking anymore?? So, what do you do now? Is the work load better than banking? I went back to work already. I didn't go anywhere because I was there with my boss and didn't have time. H/w, I feel that the things in BK are getting more expensive.

All right! Thread is alive again! And seems like it is really hard for all of us to balance work and family! I am also having frequent headaches. I think It is due to lack of sleep since I am taking care of him at night and he is still waking up at least two times at night. And when I am back from work, I need to juggle between him and my elder daughter who is having exams! So I am waiting for him to sleep thru the night! Hope the time comes soon.

Elle,
hoping to read good news from you soon

iwantitvmuch
too bad u did not have time to go shopping in bkk! Never fun to go bt with boss!

Welcome back! Think is my magic words that bring this thread alive again haha
Hey think we mummies should arrange a trip to bkk for a get away...just imagine we can have a relaxing massage &amp; non stop shopping haha me day dreaming liao.

Yuli,
U very cruel leh... She crying so bad &amp; u so happy to see her tooth... U funny lor. What kind of chair is that? Thinking of taking over fm u.... Till now din get any bb chair...Hubby find it waste of money

BlesswBB, baby chair from Ikea only $25. The traditional cane one is quite ex nowadays. YOu 'poton jalan' from Janella/Elle. haha
Oh ya, I should get the cup with handles like u suggested. I didn't think it's for young baby but my baby's hands are still quite small.
For BK trip, u sure your DH will let you go since you have to ask him for permission, some more shopping and massage. haha

Dream, u have to get your husband to help you more.

Yuli, now that baby has teeth, you have to take care and start brushing her teeth??

Oh no just lost my post! My bb has discovered his saliva today. He is enjoying making noises but how do I stop him from playing with his saliva?

I haven't bought a high chair yet. My bb can't seat yet. Wondering whether can feed him on bumbo seat but he is moving so much. This week, he has also mastered flipping over and I can't force him to do tummy time now! He can roll from one place to another one very quickly. Must really be careful and can't put him on our bed anymore. It is amazing how fast bb progress from one day to another.

Iwantitvmuch
yep, trying to get my hubby to do more!

dream, I'm sure your bb can seat himself. My baby can't sit herself but we put her on the Ikea high chair and Ikea sell this long cushion which can be used to stuff the extra space on the high chair. So, my mother in law has been feeding her on that.
My German boss is also recommending the high chair from mothercare which sells $500 plus. he said that it's safer and adjustable so that baby can use till they r older. Safer cos if the baby pushes him/herself from the table, the chair would not overturn.

Today, one of the HR manager congratulated me on my adopted baby. Then, he said another of her colleague also adopted a 2nd baby. I think he's filipino. I'm wondering how come they can find Singapore babies so easily.

I'm back for a while...I have a little girl that we adopted 5 years ago..boy how time flies.
Well my question here is i'm thinking of doing it again, however i would like to adopt a toddler this time..whats everyones thoughts on this

Iwantitvmuch,
thanks for advice. The brand that your boss refers to is stokke if I am not wrong. It is really nice but the price is definitely on the high side! But then you can use the chair until the kids grow up as it is adjustable. I think I will Just go for Ikea or buy those chairs that can fit into normal chair.

Yesterday he tried brown rice and he loved it. What else have you introduced to your girl. I have also introduced banana. Mashed it and mix it with White rice cereal. Thanks to share any tip. Otherwise, went to ntuc fair price and bought quite a few organic jars as it was on sale. Wondering whether it is good to give bb jar. Although they say no preservative, wondering how they keep it fresh and whether it is better for bb to eat fresh food. But then, I guess everything in moderation should be good. I think I will just mix organic and non organic food.

Yuli and blesswbb and renu
wondering whether you can share with us their daily meals. Wondering how much solid can they eat? Your kids are at stage 2 or 3? Any easy recipe to share?

Hi Elizabeth,
I think it is great that you are looking to adopt a second one. You will have to be very patient with a toddler as there will be some attachment issues. But I am sure with your love, toddler would be able to adjust quickly especially when there is another child.

I've adopted a baby boy 5 mths ago and he's just turned 10 mths old over the wkend. Have been reading your thread in the past months and so touched by all your stories. U gals kept me going n made me realise I'm not alone. Only had the guts to join in now when the thread is revived.

Yuli, Blesswbaby &amp; iwantitvmuch,

U've been a real inspiration with yr sharing ... tks so much!!

wow, new comer! we haven't had new comer for so loonng.
kao_welcome.gif
And the sole purpose of this thread is to help one another. Mummyportia, I'm glad you have found me inspiring.<blushing>
hee hee. I'm v encouraged.
Like me, you had a baby for 5 months. I'm sure you are enjoying him. Please continue to tune in to our thread.

Dream, my MIL mixed the milk powder w baby rice. No wonder, baby likes it so much. Actually,it shld be mixed with milk(liquid). So, when I fed her the puree from the jar, she doesn't like it. But we still try to feed her. I think we will mix the puree with the baby rice next. Banana is a good idea. I will try that this weekend.
Pumpkin is another option, after steaming. Remember any fruits which are very bright in colours are 'brain food', eg sweet potatoes, taro, etc. So, try to incorporate them in the diet. The other day, a friend was telling me that Omega3 is very good for baby. She asked me squeeze the Omega3 oil from the capsules into the milk. She said her friend's kid is v smart.
But I'm afraid cos it's oil and I'm not sure if baby can digest. If you want to try, please get the high grade of Omega 3.

Elizabeth,welcome back. A friend adopted a 3 yr old toddler. The parents who gave him up were expecting a new born. It's very weird why they want to give him up. But anyway, the kid never for once asked to go home to his biological parents. I think he wasn't loved. Now, he is so happy in his new home and attached to the new family immediately. If you have the opportunity to adopt a toddler, it will be good.

Elizabeth,
Welcome back. I hoping to adopt a toddler for my 2nd too...once they know you love him they will be very attached to you.

Mummypotia,
Welcome to our thread. I'm glad i'm one of them to inspire you :p

iwantitvmuch,
ya lor...that's y i say i'm day dreaming...but if u ladies really going to organise i will beg him to let me go...hahaha
I know Ikea bb chair quite cheap but my hubby think is not necessary...then since Yuli offer it free quickly grab it before he says no again haha. Will be going Yuli's place this weekend to collect and also taking the opportunity to let her girl and my girl have fun together.
Since Janella/Ellebaby will still be too young for it i use it 1st lah can pass to them when their bb is ready to use.
Better not give Omega3 oil...they are still too young for it. Wait till she is 1yr old then it will be safe. I will be starting fish oil when she turns 1.

dream,
i have been cooking porriadge with different veges using ikan billis stock. Need to change their menu every 3 days...now my girl is starting to choose food. I tried giving mash pumpkin...she doesnt like the taste.

Mummypotia
welcome to the thread and please don't be shy with us! You can give us lots of advice as your bb is older.

Iwantitvmuch
not sure which cereal you give but mine only need to add water. Thanks for tip. Never buy pumpkin though as don't like it.

Blesswbb
your hubby sounds like mine!

I'm back. Miss me?

Elle, remember to call Alice. Get some updates from her to see if there's any babies?

Blesswbaby, haha.. yes, you're right... since janella and Elle not using it in the meantime, u can grab it first....haha... Yuli, if you have something for my dd, I also want.. (hehe... I very thick skin hor) :p

Elizabeth &amp; Mummypotia,
welcome to the thread!