Breastfeeding Support Group

mini
ya, that's alot of milk. When the LC told us when we attending the BF class, everyone went wah wow.
I can only produce max 40ml each time, so is like 70-30 formula to BM. Once a while at night, when she finish her 120ml, I put her down to slp she will fuss and try to suck her hand. So I will have to give her a second round to make her slp.

hi m_maro
is your PD good? I planning to change mine leh. She charge very high and I don't really like her.
Drinking a lot doesn't mean good, mine drink so much but kinda skinny compare to other bbs. Not much 'folds' on her thighs and arms leh. Sometimes wonder where all the milk she drank has gone to.

styloBB
don't know how the mummy did it. But she din have problem with producing milk, so I think it's not very difficult for her to store so much. Ya, she also BF the same time. Amazing right!

Thanks. I have the Medela Mini-Electric and the Avent Isis Manual pump. Found the Mini-Electric very noisy and being able to pump on just one side, the other side keeps dripping and things get messy. So I don't think I want to use that at office. The Avent pump is good but slow as it is manual. There are going to be 4 mums at my place expressing milk so very tedious.

I heard the Ameda pump is good. Most of the pple I know use PIS and said it is quite silent, though costly. I think I'll get the Ameda pump. Thanks.

The book on sleep training is "SLEEP - The Secret of Problem-Free Nights" by Beatrice Hollyer & Lucy Smith. Available in national library (TPY).

m maro,
I am giving my bb Enfalac A+. I oso hav a feeling dat probably it is tastier than BM so she drinks more.

There is one time where she refused to drink formula milk. She kept pushing the teat out & cry. So bo-pian, quickly warm EBM for her. When she tasted BM, she guai-guai finished w/o fussing.
I got abit scared so intro xtra 1 feed of formula to her daily. I usually let her drink formula milk at nite

Hwey,
I have both Medela mini-electric and Avent manual pump. I bring the Avent manual pump to office. Funny thing is I can get more milk using manual pump than electric one.

to all mummies,
do you get backache and shoulder ache from pumping. I always bent my head down to see the flow while pumping. Been getting these terrible shoulder ache from the bending. FYI, the reason why I bend is to check the flow, once I discover the flow is getting weak, I'll reposition the pump.

sarador
My problem is for bb to sleep during daytime! at my place on weekends..hehe.

miu
Manual pump: really? How nice...I got no such success, maybe I did not persevere long enuf.. like nothing comes out and so tiring.
I thot bm is tastier than fm?

EBM that have went thru freezing n thawing is still better than FM?

EBM after thawed and heated and not finished can still beused?

EBM if thaw a bit or thaw complete already can still put back in freezer and laast till 3 mths?...

EBM can be put in cooler box for how long?

if put in cooler box, can still go hme n place in freezer to last 3 mths?

where to get cooler box?

if i go out without bb, do i still need to pump outside?...if i dun supply will drop?...if i pimp, how can i store it to prevent it from turing nasty....

bb who are 7 weeks old can drink exclusively on EBM which are fr freezer?....will it make him have wind in tummy?....

bb will still latch on after she has been drinking bottle for five days?....

is bb tongue always white white?....even though morning bath got wash?....

why is it that bb seems to have breathing problem now n then?...

thanks..

Mel
Dont know whether my PD considered good or not, but his clinic always flooded with patients and is recommended by my SIL. She said normally one visit can cure her child sickness already. But we did do a bit of "shopping" before settling down with this PD. We have seen PD in Eastshore and Gleneagles, so far I think this is the best. Also, this PD is in Hougang which is near my house and his consultation charge is $35, I think cheaper considered to others. Where is your PD and how much she charge? Why you dont like her? My baby also not very chubby type, when she drink a lot during 1st month, she poo a lot also, now when she drink less, she cut down on her poo also, so can see clearly where the milk has gone to, think maybe she is not absorbing well?

Miu, styloBB, Hwey,
I have both Avent and Medala pump also, like Miu i get more from Avent pump, but feel that Medela is doing a better job as in stimulating and maintaining the flow, that's what my LC told me also.

Miu
I used to get backache and shoulder ache from pumping as well, because like you I also bent my head to monitor the flow. Later I try not to stare at the flow instead look around to relax and realise that the flow is actually much better.

styloBB
Your boy sleep very little during daytime and wake up frequently? My girl is like that, My SIL said bb has sleep enough at night, so dont want to sleep in the afternoon.

Stylobb
U smacked him ah? I just looked at him crying and I feel like crying too.
I wonder whether they will outgrow this fussing.

Miu
Hi! How are u? I brought my boy to the 3 mths jab on 30 Apr. So far, my boy quite ok with injections, he just let out a scream when the needle goes in. Then, he is back to normal.

Angeline
I've read tt it is ok to go without pumping or latching on for 4 hrs in the day or 6 hrs at nite, for not more than 2 times a wk. Dun know how true?

Hi Angeline,
How old is your baby? I can only answer some of your question:

EBM that have went thru freezing n thawing is still better than FM? I read somewhere that though antibodi in EBM is spoilt but still better than FM.

EBM after thawed and heated and not finished can still beused? cannot, it must be discarded.

EBM if thaw a bit or thaw complete already can still put back in freezer and laast till 3 mths?... cannot, it must be discarded.

bb will still latch on after she has been drinking bottle for five days?.... depends, some like my baby cannot, but do know some smart baby who dont get nipple confusion.

is bb tongue always white white?....even though morning bath got wash?.... My baby is like that, and PD say is ok, as long as its not thrush.

why is it that bb seems to have breathing problem now n then?... are you referring to irregular breathing? My PD also said is normal for newborn to have some irregular breathing, sometimes slow and sometimes fast. Just ahve to monitor and get help if her lips turn bluish.

Stylobb,
Initially I used the manual pump later I switch to the electric pump. Results was better with the electric pump. When I return to work, I re-use back the manual pump. Surprisingly, I get more.

Angeline,
I was told dat frozen EMB is still better than FM.

If my bb cannot finished the thawed and then warmed up EBM, I will hold the EBM for awhile (not more than 1 hr) and then try to feed her again. If she still doesnt want. I will throw.

I will not re-freeze the EBM if I bring it to thaw.

When I pump in the office, after pumping I will put the EBM in the freezer and then when I am abt to go home, I will put some ice on the insulated bottle carrier before I put the EBM in it. When I reach home, I will immediately put the EBM in the fridge for later feeding. I try not to freeze (for storage) the EBM I pump in the office.

I carry my manual pump whenever I am out. I don't pump outside. Usually I am back at someone's hse (usually my mum's hse cos she help me to bbsit my bb during the weekends). So immediately after pumping, I put them in the fridge.

My bb has no problem latch on and switching to bottle feed (phew...)

After cleaning the bb's mouth, shouldnt be white, white leh.

I usual to pump every 4 hrly. Ever since I return to work, I switch my schedule to every 6 hrly. My milkflow is still there. Somemore I think it increase abit more. heehee..

I wake up at 6 am to pump, I get abt 260ml. At abt 12pm++, I get abt 270ml. When I reach home (my last pump), I get abt 240ml. I am suppose to pump again at 12am but I am too tired so I skip it.

Last qn on the breathing one, I cant help cos' no experience.

m maro,
okie. will try not to look at the flow during pumping....

desert,
I am fine. Ever since I return to work, Im always feeling tired. Not enuff rest and sleep. *yawn*
Did your bb develop any fever after the jab? This is wat I fear.

maro
Only over weekends at my place - very difficult to get him to nap. SO end up I got no rest.
I also tend to see if I got the bm coming, so I try to relax more now when pumping.

desert
Yah, I smacked him on his fat thighs the other nite. Sometimes I also wonder if I end up crying (hit the limit already..) haha.. but so far, did not cry cos hubby will take over to carry lor.

miu
You got a lot of bm leh...envious...

Angeline

white baby's tongue should be ok as long as not thrush. If it is thrush, usually the lips will also be infected. feeding will also be a problem.

my baby also had white tongue. first one did not have. so I was a bit worried, thought was thrush. PD said no it is not,is milk. just continue to clean the tongue in the morning and evening. now the whiteness on my baby's tongue is clearing. ;)

Miu
wow, you are great, how can you have so much BM? you eat anything during pregnancy to prepare for bf? (asking in case I want another baby..hehe)
My friend say can give bb "Yan Seng" water 2 days prior the jab, then bb wont develop fever. Can get from chinese medical hall.

Angeline
I have never seen thrush before, but PD said is the white spot at mouth and gum area. As for the breathing, I think once bb has bluish lip, something must be wrong, better seek help immediately.

stylobb
Used to be very difficult to get my gal to nap in afternoon also, now we have develop a habit taht whenever she fuss, we give her pacifier and put her in Sarong, she normally sleep after few minutes, but still wake up not too long later, then we repeat same process again. Sometimes feel very guilty to do that, but cant help since everyone get tired of carrying her around....

angeline,
u r welcome

I have no idea wat thrust is so cant help you on this. Your bb has bluish lips?? Sound scary leh. Did you ask your PD on this?

stylobb/m maro,
no need to envy me for the BM I have. It started off very little too. I still rem when abt 2 mths ago, I was like getting 40ml after an hr pump. Glad dat I still hang on and continue pumping. I hav no special diet. I didnt even try hot towel massaging before pump (too lazy). I try drinking more water & hot beverages (like milo) thru'out the whole day.

m maro,
My fren oso told me the same thing, give bb some "Yang Seng" before the jab.

I oso face the same difficulties on getting my gal to sleep. The funny thing is when she is out (whether at bbsitter or my mum's hse), she sleeps easily but at home. She jus wont sleep, she wants to play and ppl 2 carry her. She doesnt know to suck the pacifier so everytime the pacifier drop from her mouth, she cries. Haiz....

miu
i never ask cos the bluish lips is when she choked when breast letdown....

maro
my gal has white spot on gum..that is thrush?...how to know she has feeding problem?...

actually i am afraid that my gal will not want to latch on after she been on bottle for 5 and half days....then no more the feeding special times.....how sad....

maro, the yan seng, how to tell the medical shop boss?...yan2 seng4?...or what?....how to drink one?....

miu
really envy u....when i firstr start BF, my breast always hard n full...now like soft soft one...is it normal...does soft means no milk in breast?...

angeline,
Does she still hav bluish lip now?

Your gal was never on bottle izzit? Dun worry lah, I am sure your gal still like to suckle (bb's instinct)

Personally, Im not really keen to latch on my bb
cos' she is like never satisfied. I can latched her on for 45 mins (sometimes even longer) but when I unlatch her, she'll fuss. When I am not so tired and are free, I will latch her on.

Pardon me (Im too lazy to scroll up and read), how old is your bb? Jus relax, dun be too stress. Whether your breast hard or soft, jus stick to your pumping schedule.

angeline,
regarding baby's breathing, my PD said it is normal as baby has small nostrils. he said breathing will be ok when baby is 5mths old.

when pumping milk outside, can always have cooler bag with ice bricks inside. like tat the milk can be kept cold for 8-12hrs.

angeline,

i know you from FBO right?
how's F doing? sent to nanny yet?

miu,

were you from FBO too?
wow, you get lots of EBM at each session.... I'm wondering if I should cut down pumping frequency, but afraid that the total amount reduces too....

Angeline
Thrush is actually yeast infection that normally transferred from mother infected nipples to baby. Is the white spot on your baby's gum very serious? If it doesnt dissapear after washing, I think better consult your PD.
I also miss the feeling of cuddling and feeding my gal directly from breast. Dont worry, just try to latch her on again, I think not so many stubborn kid like my gal...
Its Yang2 Seng1, take a few pieces to brew or just pour hot water over it for half an hour, cool it down and let baby drink. my friend told me about 40 ml should be enough but you can check with the medical hall when you purchase it.

mini
where to get cooler bag n ice bricks?...after stay cool in the box can still go hme put in freezer n freeze to last till 3 mths?.......i mean diy can?...lucky the breathing is normal...thanks....

girl...i know u too..how u know is me?...my nick diff...F is getting so spoilt...keep wan mummy carry oni...original wan send to nanny on monday...now i thinking twice..maybe wait till the last week of mat leave....bu she de....i really scared she wun wan to cme hme after the 5 and half days....hopefully she will not....

maro
it disappear after washing but after a few milk meals cme back again...normal...my FL keep wan to bring her see PD....i will try the yang seng on her....my gal stubborn n bad tempered gal...hopefully will still wan latch on else like u sure miss the latch on feeling....also afraid she dun latcxh on milk supply will drop...

Girl
What is FBO ha?? Another thread?

miu
Yah lor, see you are the envy of all of us!
My brs can get hard but usu the same amount..never hit 200ml. I also drink a lot of water.
I direct latch my boy and he is quite ok, usu half an hour.

maro
Hor, we envy miu..

sarador
Dun mind me asking, is your second kid planned? Er...did you have preventive measures re conception again after the first one?

Angeline
Bluish lips sounds scary, is it becos she kena chocked by the bm? How come she was on bottle for 5 days??

Angeline
You can buy from KP, they have the bag and the ice pack. I think for ice pack, you can get from those sports shop if I'm not wrong.

styloBB

me just curious, why you ask this qn?

yep, have always planned to have kids two years apart. And yes, had preventive measures after no.1. However, no. 2 arrived because was using NFP method that month and sort of miscalculated...haha... but nevermind lor, cos according to our two-year-gap plan and trust it's God's timing.

Angeline,

Guessed it must be you cos saw F's name being mentioned

You going to bring F home every night or leave in nanny's place? Maybe can visit every night and latch on...

Stylo,
FBO=female brides online

girl
i just afraid when i visit her that time she not meal time yet so no chance...i oni bring hme for 2 hrs n back to bb sitter hse....no wonder u regconised me...

stylobb
on bottle cos she at bb sitter when i start work lor....Kp is whwere?...and cost how much?....she choked on bm lor...so scary rite...i see her like so xin ku..

girl,
are you the one whom we chatted under Divine thread in FBO???

girl/stylobb,
so funny, last time I used to envy ppl getting so much BM in each pump. Now you all come and envy me...the feeling is weird. hahaha...

try drinking papaya + milk. I have been drinking dat. Maybe it help?

as for me, i eat a pc of threadfin a day, a cup of milo in the morning and a glass of HL milk at night. drink lots and lots of water...

angeline,

Maybe you can ask the babysitter not to feed bb if close to time you'll be reaching home... I went back to work on Mon, baby imm started comfort feeding once I came back, don't want to stop until she got so full and threw up milk....

I think F will def enjoy suckling still

miu,

yup, that's me.... it's been a long time....
how old is your girl now?

miu
how i wish i can be a subject of envious 2 mths later like you!! You are certainly one of those that are lucky to hv BM increase by so much...at least i feel more encouraging now..

sarador
is threadfin = "ngor he"?

I am just curious, is size really does not matter? any comment?

maro

hi. yes, that's 'ngor he'. I steam and eat it for lunch almost daily.

sorry, size of what? breasts?

I dun think the size matters significantly, if it matters at all.

When milk just comes in (first weeks), one's breasts will feel very full. They are getting used to the milk glands being enlarged. As baby grows older, one will find that the fullness feeling disappears although the milk supply would be much more. It's because the milk glands are used to being stretched and filled with milk i.e. the breasts have been 'conditioned' to hold that much milk for baby, breasts will not feel as full but baby's supply of milk is in them.

sarador
Cos hb and I were talking about it, and now I just have newborn, and we were wondering about second kid tho I am still 'scared' thinking of second kid, I guess it's normal for all new moms. My issue is I dun know who can look after second kid cos my mum probably cannot. Also how to get back to relations with hb w/o hitting jackpot so fast. Yeah, pray for God's timing too.

miu/maro
Yah, me too. But miu, I sorta give up already, cost coming to 5 mths of b/feeding and amount still like that, tried everything already.

anyone tried the tea featured in momsinmind.com.sg to increase bm supply?

mine is still low.

i went out for 1 whole day for shopping without expressing and guess what? my bm supply dropped by half the next day!! have to start all over again.

sarador
no wonder, i feel the brs are like soft soft...n each day i will ask myself whether the brs have enuff for F...as i no do pumping sodun knw hw much she drink n enuff anot...some times after feed she cry like so qi cham...but put her to brs, she push away...so u think is still hung wee?

girl
if say i cming hme n before i reach bb sitter she alr wan milk how?....dun give her will no good anot?...

quench
how u increasae your bm...say if my bb feed is 5pm...can i pump out milk at 4pm?....will bb have not enuff after i do pumping?...

stylobb
u have been hanging on for 5 mths liao....not bad...me haven two mths thinking of giving up....

quench,

I've not tried the tea... What I normally do if I need to stock up EBM is to pump immediately after a feed.... Maybe it's cos my girl is not a big eater, so usually only drinks from 1 side... Then I pump at 2 hrly intervals at night, v siong, must keep setting alarm clock to wake up, but got no choice lah....

Angeline,

Actually if you're going to be there soon, then hold on for half hour oso okay.... Can try to find ways to pacify her....

When you starting work again?

sarador,
Ya, i mean the size of the breast as i always wonder can a cup A really hold same amount of bm as cup c? Anyway, I always thought if there is no feeling of fullness means no BM, that's also why I was not pumping as often initially. Should have known this earlier.
I actually had over supply of bm during 1st week when my baby still latch on but do not atke so much, she was always satisfied with one breast only and dont really empty it, so i always save the other breast for next feed. Or should I have pump out the remaining to keep the supply?

Stylobb
I think you must be looking forward eagerly for the dateline to come! What's the date? will you still be visiting this thread after you stop bfg?

JasTan, thanks for answering my queries.

Angeline, frozen EBM can keep for 3 mths ah??? I thought can only keep for max 1 mth.
KP = Kiddy Palace. There are branches at causeway point, centure square, compass point, toa payoh, jurong point, lot 1, northpoint & white sands. The cooler bags cost around $20+ to $30+ depending on the type/brand. Some can hold 2 bottles and some 4.

hi Girl,
wow...you become a mummy aredi

Dat's fast, hahaha....

How old is your girl?

m maro/stylobb,
Dun be discouraged, jus perserve. During my confinement, I was down with breast infection twice, had fever and every min of dat period, I think of stop b/f after confinement. But when I finished my confinement, I tell myself mayb stop b/f after I return to work. Until now I still tell myself, mayb tahan till when the bb reaches 4 mth. These are the "excuses" I tell myself to avoid giving myself too much stress over bf.

Even if I direct feed my gal, after feeding I will still try to pump out. Try and try until really not even a drop fall out. hahaha...

<font color="aa00aa">lea</font>,
Read dat u have difficulty emptyin ur breasts recently. Personally, I think since u have already been expressing for so long n so used to it, it doesn't seem like it's due to stress or tireness esp. since ur breasts are still full. Could it be your pump? Which pump r u using? I use Ameda, and when I notice a sudden drop in e amt expressed, I'll check e valves, and 99% of e time, e valves are torn. How abt. u try expressing w another pump?

m_maro
wah your PD very far leh. I stay tiong baru area. My PD is in Glen E. The first visit only check up for jaundice cost me $50!

My bb poopoo only once or twice a day, but urine a lot. Think must find a PD soon. Don't know what's the problem with her. And I think she suppose to take a 2nd jab of don't know what. Alama! I am such a blur mum. Don't know what is the jab she needs to take!

maro

me not sure cup A and cup C have different 'capacities' or not leh?!

but I do believe in latching on baby as often as you can and the supply will be sufficient for your baby, regardless of the size.

now that you have done breastfeeding for some time already, your breasts should not feel full and round all the time like during the first weeks. But you will feel rather full when it is time to feed baby, you know? then after the feed, the breast(s) will be soft again.

Angeline

my gal sometimes also cry very badly after I have fed her on one side and offer her the other side. If she sticks out her tongue to 'reject' the breasts repeatedly, I take it that she has had enough. I always keep offering ha..ha.. so make my baby very angry when she really has had enough! I also think that sometimes they want to suck for comfort (full already). They want to suck but dun want the milk. So while sleepy, they suck and the let-down from the second breast cause them to choke and make them angry.
Or maybe your baby cried not because she was not full but because she needed to be burped? I really think babies are different so I can't tell exactly when your baby is full. Must study her pattern and KNOW her. Takes time. Soon, you will find feeding her/ making her sleep easier.

styloBB,
press on in giving your baby BESTmilk.

girl
i starting work in june....
hows your pump ..great...i using the manual one...very useful when my breast still knows must full n hd...now that my breast is soft all the time....pump somehow cannot pump milk...dun knw is it milk not enuff or breast as what sarador said got used to engorge so soft soft...

Mel
The PD in Eastshore do normal check up also charge me $50, somemore the nurse keep pressing me to buy thermometer, very hard sell...... I thought poo once or twice a day quite normal? Anyway, me also very blur lah, just brought my gal for jab, only know that is 6 in 1, but not sure what are the 6.....

Sarador
My problem is supply very low now and baby refuse to suckle. My breast dont really feel full every 3 hourly and te amount that i can express is pathetic. Anyway, have decided to give whatever I can, maybe will stop after returning to work in full force, cause its really inconvenient to express in my office.

Miu
Wow, so good hor, u got so much bm to express. I gave up expressing, just latch on, at least this way my ss can still meet his dd.
My PD says 5% will get fever, so he gave us fever medicine to stand by. I did not take any precaution.

Stylobb
Just press on for another month, u've come so far. "Jia you". My hubby always come hm after he stop fussing, so nobody to take over. U know, tears will sometime come to my eyes when I look at him cry like tt, so when I feel tears coming, I just look away or carry him over my shoulders.

Angeline
It's ok for the breast to feel soft after the initial wks, ur breast has gotten used to the amt of bm, so it feels soft. I read this in bf bks.

Mel
If ur bb is over 1 mth, its normal for them to poo once or twice a day or even once every few days. No need to worry. Urine, on the other hand, will remain a lot.

miu,

My girl is 9 wks

Angeline,

I've been using the Medela PIS all this while, so can't tell how it compares to the other pumps.... So far very happy with it... If you're going to be pumping often, then better to get an electric pump, at least it'll be faster and less tiring....

Sarador is right... the breasts have regulated the milk production already

My milk supply seems to be dipping, I don't know why. My baby is 2 weeks old now. Due to some matters, my baby is in the neonatal ICU and then Special Care ward for a week. During his time there, I couldn't breastfeed him directly so I expressed the milk out and passed it to the hospital staff to "feed" it into my baby via a tube, and subsequently bottle.

Now that my baby is back, he refused to latch on. On rare occasions that he did, all he did was to suckle but I observed there was no milk flow.

For 2 weeks, I can only expressed 60ml each time, after 30 minutes. Now, the supply has dropped to 40 - 50ml.I am so worried it may soon drop to nil. Is there anything I can do?

m_maro
ya, mine also quite hard sell. That time first visit my BB's umbilical cord haven drop so the PD keep asking me want to get a bottle of don't know what power to apply. Wah the small small bottle cost $28. somemore I don't see any problem with her umbilical cord so din buy.
I also feel like giving up BF. Already tahan for a month still didn't see improvement....

hi desert
Don't feel sad lah. Crying is BB's best weapon!

My BB's urine is giving me a headache! Must change at every wetting. Wah at night worst. After feeding her, must wait for her to weewee and change diaper den can go back sleep. Den online came to know about these diaper cover that uses these very adsorbent inserts. Wah so expensive
. The cover costs about $26 and inserts $7 each. Just bought a set today to try out. Hopefully it is as good as it claims.

Mel

U using cloth diapers? If so, u might consider using disposable for the nite. I use cloth diapers in the day, must change very often too, but now used to it, can expect him to wee wee once he wakes up. As for the nite, I used disposable and I only change in the morning, unless he poo poo.