Breastfeeding Support Group

hi miu,

whereabouts in Hougang is that? I thinking of shaving my bb's head. Not sure where i can go. Also, how old was your bb when you had her hair cut?

mel,

Wow, that was a close shave... Guess the TP will be more lenient, suppose can always give the excuse that baby was crying....

desert,

Oh dear, must be very stressful, esp when your boy only wants to drink bm.... Hope your ss goes up soon... How did the LC remove the milk clot?

m_maro,

My girl also looks more like my hubby... So sad, don't look much like me...
Thinking of getting her hair trimmed soon.... Found a place in parkway parade that specialise in cutting children's hair...

miu,

Ya, didn't cut her hair during 1st month, even though many pp suggested.... I've heard that after shaving, the hair will grow better, so your girl will have nice hair soon

do you give multi-vits to your bbs? if you do, which brand would you recommend and did your PDs advise whether it is necessary? the reason why i'm asking is coz my boy is currently on a in-hse brand of multi-vits prescribed by a PD. The price is $40+ and this will only last for slightly more than a month. Heard tt this is way too expensive so was wondering wtr there are cheaper alternatives. thanks

hi Mar_mum,

If you bottlefeeding (formula/EBM),1 mtd you can try is to slowly increase the amount of milk bit by bit.

If it's direct latch on, a bit difficult - then you got to trust that he's taking as much as he requires.

My boy was direct latch on during the first month. He managed to grow a fair bit even though my supply was pathetic (when pumped out) and he only latches on for max 15min before drifting off to dreamland.

Thanks everyone, my ss is slightly better now, hv been drinking oatmeal, papaya fish soup, longan and red date tea since friday. Just went for the 4th mth jab, my boy is 7.2kg now. Hmm..but he dun looks like it, maybe his bones are heavy.

Regarding the dried up milk clot in the nipple, u will see a white dot on ur nipples. My LC removed it using a syringe and her hands. Then, she use those hospital pump to clear everything. Yup, it was very painful, but it was still ok. That's because b4 the appt, I hv been massaging and manual expressing, and that's more painful. I dun know how she knows I got dried up milk clot, but I did describe to the nurse the milk seems to accumulate behind the aerola area, so I think the lc knows fr there.
I did check with her how come it happens, she says my boy has not been sucking well sometimes, playing ard. That's true lor, coz he is now easily distracted, once he hears something, he will turn ard to look.

qhl,
I usually latch him on, and only on certain occassion then I'll give him EBM or formula. But it seems like when feeding from bottle(EBM/formula), he will take in quite little. Even if increase the amount also no use cos he takes in the same usual amount. That's why I'm a bit concern. But my friends tell me that as long as he's growing well then it's ok.

Girl,

My boy was exactly 12 weeks old yesterday. He was born on 13 March. Your girl's bday must be 12th March? How much does she weigh now?

desert,
Where is your LC based?

Has any one tried Pigeon diapers?

Mar_mum
I think as long as bb wt gain is ok, then dun worry abt how much they take. I hv the same problem, my boy always latch on for a while and he dun like to drink fr the bottle. I always worry whether he is eating enuff, but everytime I bring him to the jab, his wt gain is fine.

Helena
She's Mrs Wong from TMC. I think most pp will hv heard of her.

Mar_mum,

I think your boy may prefer the breast to the bottle, so he only takes enough to stop the hunger but not any more than that....

Have you tried letting him latch on after feeding from the bottle? Occasionally my girl does that, then will complete feed at the breast.

Just make sure that your boy produces sufficient wet nappies and is growing well

Desert,

Good to hear that your ss is better now

Helena,

Yup, my girl's born on 12 Mar.... Can join us on the March Mums thread, I think BB's son is born on the same day as yours.

Haven't officially taken my girl's weight yet, but it's somewhere btw 6.5 to 7 kg.

If I remember right, your son is quite big, right? 70 cm plus?

Hi to all mothers,
my son is 9 weeks old. Just wondering, how often does a 9 weeks old baby breastfeeds. SOmetimes he wants to feed every 1 and a half hours and sometimes 3 hours. Also, he never seems to unlatch himself. Everytime i have to unlatch him.

hi mya,

Is it comfort sucking he's after or really feeding? I think all babies are different. I heard of some who latch on for an hour each time.

Personally, my son only latches on for about 15 to 30 mins each time.

Although there are times when I latch him on for the comfort. I know it's comfort cos he doesn't take effort to suck or stop after only 5 mins. Eg when he's crying/fussing. This is not good habit, but at least it keeps him quiet.

So if baby latches on on one side for an hour, can it be she's still drinking milk? My baby sometimes latches on for a long time and falls asleep in between and we have a hard time waking her up to continue her feed. If we dun wake her up to complete feed, she'll wake very quickly again to feed after abt 30 minutes or an hour

absolut,
it is better to change to the other side after baby has been latch on for 15min. this ensure she takes the milk from both sides. like tat can also sleep longer. unlatch her n give her anr side even though she is still sucking on one side. think after 15min of sucking the milk flow is slow. she is still drinking milk but the amt is not alot.

desert,
Yeah. Mrs. Wong Boi Boi. Very nice and helpful lady.

Girl,
Thanks! Will join the thread yo mentioned.3 weeks back, he was 6.6kg and 60cm. Will weigh him again next week when he goes for his jab.
Dunno why but I just noticed 8 tiny red dots on his left thigh. My mum said could be his urine or some dirt.

mya,
I had the same problem too. My boy of 11 weeks used to be 'crying for milk' every 1.5hrs. Jus advised by a fren that he might be seeking for comfort sucking as what qhl said. So now I'm trying to feed him only every 3 hrs (sometimes 2.5-4hrs). I'll give him pacifier instead when he fusses jus 1.5hrs after feeding.

QHL,
let me find out where is the saloon. I brought her to shave when she is abt 1MO.

desert,
glad dat you are feeling better

mar_mum,
I oso faced the same problem. My gal recently oso refuse to drink her milk (ebm). She keeps playing the teat with her tongue. Hiaz....

thanks in advance miu.

I really hate it when my boy plays with the teat. He latch on and then suddenly shakes his head....wahhh, quite pain!!

HI mar_mum and qhl,
thanks for the reply. My son takes the milk coz can hear the swallowing. If I take him off he will cry.
Pacifier rarely works. He seems to know it's not the "real" thing. Very ley chey.

Mya
If u can hear ur boy swallowing, then its ok. If not, he's probably comfort sucking. My boy used to like to comfort suck for long time, but when he is abt 2.5 mths, he stops coz he finds there are more interesting things for him. Now I worry whether he gets enuff coz he only wants to suck for a while.
Pacifier also dun work on my boy, he also knows its not real.

im feeling a little bit of pain in the area near my armpits and my armpits.
anyone knows why?

i'm still not adjusted to working and expressing. im thinking of giving it up already since my supply is not high.

Hi quench,

I started to pump at regular timings before end of maternity leave. I think it's working as in my milk will start to flow at those timings. I guess you may have to 'train' your body to produce milk at those times.

In any case, don't ever feel guilty about giving up. Just do what you are comfortable with. Breastmilk may be good, but then most of us are bred on formula - and we all survived right?

Be a happy mommy!!

hi QHL,
checked with my SIL abt the hair salon but she doesnt know the exact blk number. Anyway, it directly behind Blk 445 Hougang Ave 8. The hair salon is located the the basement (not void deck) of the blk. No need to call to make appt.

hi quench,
It's will power. No doubt it is tiring to juggle work and expressing. I think alot of us go thru dat. Dun give up yet. Try for awhile, it take sometime to adjust. I am encouraging you
, pls do not mistaken dat I am forcing you to breastfeed.

Hi desert, jastan,

ya nowadays baby damn smart. Not like our time, or at least me la, easily manipulated by my parents.

What's ur kids sleeping pattern at nite?

HI gals
Back here for a while...last day of meeting today.

Jas
You still busy?

Quench
Yah,it is tiring but once you get the momentum, it should be ok. Yup the decision is yours, I think we should not feel guilty about it. Much as I sometimes find it so troublesome, I am sticking to my target for end of Jun. Maybe you tell yourself to give it a month and then see how?
Can you imagine, I brought my br pump to the hotel even these few days? First express I kept in the fridge, second express I threw away cos I did not sterilise pumps and the hot water like not so hot.
Anyway the other day my boy did not finish my ebm, what a waste so whenever poss at home, I direct latch so as not to waste.

Miu
As I give fm to my boy besides bm, I also find lately his intake is weird, sometimes 150ml, sometimes 180ml. If 150ml, he can drink as if not enuf, if 180ml, there is leftover.... he also seemed not to like ebm so much.

absolut
Hello, hello! Hope you are fine. How is bb doing? Getting enuf rest yourself? I think you should not allow her to suckle for more than an hour, the recommended time is 15-20 mins each side...I used to time it last time, I dun force my boy to stop but once he hits 15-18 mins, I usually change side. So far he is ok, does not cry for comfort sucking, only rarely and I give it to him cos it soothes him down.

desert/jast/mya
When I was not around, my hb took care of him, as usual wants to be carried, after carrying him for more than an hour and he fell asleep and woke up, started crying when hb put him down, hb reached his limit so left him to cry for 4 mins, after bb realised no one was paying attention to him, he stopped and started sucking his fingers. So what do you think, bbs nowadays smart or not?
I know they do feel bored cos lying down for too long is no fun yet they cannot sit properly so end up gotta put in upright position and sit him on the bed or rocker..tiring man.

mya
We usually try to feed him btween 10.30-10.45pm then my hubby will put him to sleep. He's ok, does not need patting. When we put him in his cot, he falls asleep by himself. Sleep thru, earliest is 5am, best is 7am.

Anyone here experienced return of menses even though on TBF?

Wondering how uncommon it is....

hi stylobb,
My MIL and mum oso said mayb she doesnt like to drink ebm

Got to check wif the PD on her reduction on bm.

i am returning to work in 1.5 weeks time, and i will need to express milk in office.

Kindly advise on what are the things that i need to buy for storing/transporting the EBM and sterilising the pump and bottles.

Stylobb
yah, nowadays bb really smart, I think my boy likes to bully me when I am alone with him. When there are more pp ard, he seems easier to handle, does not fuss much.

Jas
Same here, he likes to suck his hands and thumb. I think they are exploring their mouth.

Berrywife
Depends on whether urs is a short or long consultation. Mrs Wong charged me short and I paid $15.75. Try to get their help while u are in hospital coz no need to pay.

hi Aloe,

try Hazeline for the milk rashes.

I pump in the office, but dun wash/sterilise them until I get home (just douse with plenty water). I usually sterilise the pump and bottles at home in the morning, and then pack these in ziploc bag.

Just saw a news report in Streats today on drugs for breastfeeding mums.

Domperidone which are used to boost milk production are apparently dangerous as 'it may put them at risk of serious heart problems and sudden death'.

Streats 9 June. pg 25

And I used it to improve my milk production in the early days.......*faint*

morning to all mummies,

aloe,
I am using Avent manual pump. I sterilize and assemble all the parts and pack them in a ziplock bag. After pumping, I put the ebm in my office fridge. When I am going home, I put the ebm in Avent insulated bag. When I reach home, I put the ebm in the fridge for later feedings. As I only pump once in the office so I jus rinse the pump, reach home then wash and put them in the steamer

desert, stylobb, my son does the same thing especially with both sets of grandparents. So they always puzzled when i complain.

for milk rash my pediatric gave me an emulsifying ointment to apply, very effective.

by the way, anyone experience very bad leaking? wonder how long will it take to stop or will it be that way as long as u breastfeed?

mya
Sometimes I wonder whether I should be more patient and give in to him or just be tough and scold him. He wants to be ntertained all the time. This morning, he woke up in foul mood and wanted to be carried... usually in the mornings he is all smiles...sigh...today was different.

aloe
I think you will need
cooler bag with ice packs
disp bm bags
clips
your breast pump
cloth to wipe the stuff
cleansing liquid or tablet

I leave my PIS pump/bag in office weekdays. I bring the parts back after work everyday to sterilise. I leave my ebm in office fridge until Friday then I bring home in a cooler bag with ice packs.

QHL
I give up trying any tablets except still taking Fenugreek cos have one bottle left.

Jas
You around? Are you still expressing?

Hi stylobb

Trying to get as much rest in the day coz baby seems to be an owl. She's pretty well-behaved in the day, suckles well in the day and basically sleeps once she's full. Things are so different at night. Even after feeding her for abt an hour and she falls asleep, once you put her down, her eyes open real big and her mouth starts moving again. Quite a nightmare. last nite, had to rotate feeding her on both sides 3 times (altogether 6 times) ... took abt 2 over hour before she finally fell asleep at 4 and only work up at 720 this morning to drink again. Would like to unlatch her after 15-20 minutes but she will refuse to sleep til she gets her fill.

Gynae advised me to feed formula at night to ensure that I get enough rest. So maybe will harden my heart and keep to 20 mins max on both sides before feeding formula. Just that I feel really guilty everytime we used formula.

absolut
Wow, so tiring! She is still adjusting from day to nite. I know what you mean, I used to feel guilty too... but later on I fed fm at nite so that I can rest, otherwise I'll be a more depressed mum the next day..hehe. Can you imagine, mine hardly slept, whether day or nite last time!

hi mya,

can you help to check wht kind of crea\m yr PD gave u ?

as i call up my PD, the nurse suggest to use hydrocortisone 1% . but when i read from internet this cream is not recommended for use in children under two years of age.

QHL
Wa...sound dangerous. But probably alright for u, coz u only use in the early days.

Mya
hee...my P and husband hv witnessed my boy's fussiness b4, so they do believe what I say. But then, he dun fuss so much when they are ard. Babies nowadays really smart.

im so tired that i took 1 day off yesterday from work. hehe :p

but now it's not too bad. my gal sleeps from 12plus till 6-7am in the morning. im so happy

abt the article on streats, QHL, do u think can fax me a copy of that article? coz i don't have yesterday's copy. pai seh hor

my son hardly sleep also. he used to stay up the whole day and sleep just for 20 mins then his mouth will be moving non-stop. really wanted to give up then.

aloe, its called emulsifying ointment bp. written on the label to be used as a subsitute for soap and as a moisturiser for dry skin.

looking foward to the night when my boy will sleep thru. Keeping my fingers crossed for 3 mths mark

did anyone of u experience breasts sag becoz of bf? any solution to breast sagging? I'm so worried abt this...

Hi Mya

So are you on total breastfeed? It certainly makes me wonder if I have enough milk to feed her. Asked the breastfeeding support group on the web for advice and they said not to supplement with formula or water etc and unlatch after 20 minutes (if her suckle weakens coz it means she's comfort sucking). But then how ... she'll start crying and refuse to sleep. When I try to coax her to sleep, she'll arch her back etc and do her stretches to try and get to the breast.

absolut,
ya i'm tbf. I used to give him formula once a day becoz he had jaundice in the beginning and the nurses suggested fm as i may not have enough.

if weight gain of your kid is ok, then it's usually enough and check the output lor. I agree sometimes its very worrying but try to persevere.

my son always want to suckle too, but i try to distract him when i feel he has enough. I let him suckle for 15-20 min each side.

how big is your child?

My child should be abt 3 kg now. She was born at 2.955 and lost a little weight at the beginning but starting to put on a bit now so i assume it's back to original or even more.

Can I check with you how often you bf him during the first month? If I let her suckle for 15 -20 minutes on both sides, sometimes she'll still cry and want more. I think I should have more milk coz my breast is still leaking but dun wan to spoil her coz she tends to fall asleep after a while and it's tough trying to wake her.

actually feel quite discouraged and am wondering if I should provide her with more FM coz she sucks so quickly when she's bottlefed.