Breastfeeding Support Group

quench
my email add [email protected]. has your pain subsided?

miu
thanks, i have learn to take it easy anyway.

Jas
I remember your bb using sealer which you mentioned only selling at JL, I saw it in Seng siong selling 60 pieces for 17.50, M size. Is it cheaper?

hi m_maro,

sent. pain is on and off. you know something? i actually get more milk using my mini than the symphony. funny hor?

m_maro, must have lots of determination.
it helps too tt my office is quite baby-friendly and there are other b/fg mums around so i'm already very used to the routine.

helen, it depends on wtr you can find a proper place to store your milk during the event (ie. hotels). another alternative is to buy additional coleman ice packs which can last you for 12 hrs or so and you can chk your milk when you get home to see wtr the temperature is still ok. but personally, when i attend out of office seminars or trainings, i will continue to pump so tt my supply wont be affected but throw away the milk.

helena
Just as what Girl method, need to buy the sterilisering tablets can get from Mothercare, or guardian pharmacy. I used to use the Boots brand bought from guardian. One tablet lasts for 24hrs and use one for 2litres of cold water (tap water). once the tablet dissolve in the water, throw in the pump and half an hour later you can use it already. Note that such method cannot be used on metal parts.

miu
is it? so cute.. your colleague can taste the difference? I didn't know mood can affect the taste of BM. I have been moody these few days.. so must keep myself happy..

stylobb
yeah very busy at work.. like the work never seems to finish.. worst is do already and still kena scolding by boss...

his feeding interval not really lengthen but can drag for half to an hour more coz it is not very thick. I only mix 1 scoop with 4 oz of BM.

m_macro
yes, seng siong is selling cheaper. Coz 60pcs M size JL is selling at $18.9. Normally I get from JL during their 15% + 5% sales which is so much cheaper.

quench
maybe the breasts is used to the mini already and response better to it than the symphony. For the rental do you need to buy anything to be used with the pump, or just rent and can use the symphony straight away?

Jas,
hahah...I dunno how true it is. No sure whether she can taste the difference but she told me she can taste the difference in the bm if she change the food she takes. She told me her bm taste like sugarcane??????

anybody taste/drink her own bm b4? hahaha...I dun dare leh. Useless mummy.

hi mummies, my boy is 10 weeks old now. I'm on TBF unless I'm outside and there's no nursing room, then I'll give formula. His feeding interval is like every 1-2hrs in the day time. Is this the norm for babies of this age? How much should he be taking now?

miu
Wah, still throw away if not up to standard ah? Me got none to throw, all so precious to me.. hehe. Just now I pumped and my supply dropped..stressful day today lah.

Jas
Poor thing, cheer up ok. Today's over, tomorrow will be beta. Today I got so fed-up with this /client/, also not my fault, thankfully my boss is very understanding.
Did joel fuss last Friday?

quench
Aiyoh, painful or not? Massage with warm towel?
Fenugreek - desert and I tried... for me no effect leh... am still taking, my as well finish it since I bought.

Mar_mum
Mine (on bm) was around 1.5 hours..very siong. Press on if you can.

Hi Jas,

you will need to buy the extra equipment like the tubes and suction pads for the "motor". for me, bcos i needed extra funnels so i bought extra 2 funnels, 2 tubes. total $68.

Hi stylobb,
not very painful.bearable.now massaging but feel so weird rubbing my own breasts.hehe

stylobb,
no lah, she didnt throw away. She drink it!!

Yesterday, my gal dozed off while feeding, left abt 50ml of bm. I was so upset but couldnt bear to wake her up to finished the remaining bm. Luckily she woke up abt 20 mins and finished up the remaining bm & 30 mins later another 90ml of milk (fm). Scary abt her appetite. Altogether within 2 hrs, she drank 190ml. I guess she must be full, cos' she slept till 7.30am this morning for her "breakfast"

Mar-mum,
your bb feeding is normal. My gal feed abt 1.5-2hrs when she is abt dat age. Mine is gal so feeding qty might differ (boy feed more). I gave her 100ml each feed.

hi Mar_mum / Miu,

i am having the same problem too .. now he is 5 wks old and he need to feed every 2 hrs, and even at night ..

during night time, i will feed 100ml EBM to him, however, he can only take in 80ml and sometimes even lesser (maybe 50ml) and he will fall a sleep.
most of the time i got to throw away the EBM and i feel so "heart pain"

i just start to look after him during night and me and hubby already suffer from frequent wake up.

Hi stylobb and miu,

I thought my boy was nursing too frequently. Now quite relieve to know that that's normal.

I'm not quite sure how much he's taking though cos sometimes he suck(bm) for 10 mins, but sometimes he can suck and doze off then wakes up again to suck and this can last for half an hour. Sometimes, I'll put him to bed when he doze off but he'll wake up 15 mins and cry for milk. The whole process can take up to an hour. So stressful. That's why I can't make out how much he's actually drinking and because of the frequency, I didn't express cos I'm scare I don't have enough when he wants a feed.

When will babies start to sleep thru the nite?

Mar_mum
Your bb 2 mths plus? Yah, that time was very tiring for me, cos he was practically eating! I could not rest for long. Now much much better. Anyway am glad my bb eats well. Also he was rather good cos he would suckle 15 mins each br, and hardly doze off.
Sleeping thru - you gotta start training them..how old your bb now? Have a fixed routine every nite. I think mine started to sleep thru end of 2nd month /3rd month, can't remember. Once a while he would still wake up but good enuf that he does sleep thru most of the time.

aloe
Tired hor? Me also dun know how we coped last time. But they should sleep longer as they grow altho I know some bbs/infants still wake up once to eat! Gosh!

Mar_mum
Plus my bb used to sleep very little...very xiong. Could not do things cos he would wake up every now and then... until recently things improve, at least can leave him on his own for a while.

Thank you for all your suggestions! The cold water sterilisation method refers to the use of tablets. I think it is qute impossible as I don't have the time and space to sterilise my pump! Besides, my pump is the avent pump and it will damage the parts.

I am thinking of getting the Avent insulator bag to store my pump if I ever go out. However, I wn a lactaline dual pump set and cooler bag already. Anyone of you own an Avent cooler bag? Do you find it useful?

Miu
No lah, my boy used to be ok with the teat fr 2 wks until 2 mths. Then, he just started rejected until recently. But he will still fuss and takes a long time to finish his milk. I only give him abt 90ml and my mum can take up to 1/2hr to feed him. But after adding some bee gor, he din fuss so much. Funny leh, I tried the milk, it taste the same to me.
I dun intend to express, I tried expressing to bottlefeed he was 2-4wks, I got very little bm, so I got really depressed. After tt, I hv stop expressing, just latch him on.

Stylobb
U mean he slept 1.5-2 for the whole afternoon or he can sleep for 1.5-2hrs each time? If I total up his sleep time for the afternoon, it will range fr 2.5-3.5 hr, but now he has the habit of sleeping only for 0.5 to 1 hr each time. U nvr let him sleep sarong rite?
Ur breast dun feel hard, how long b4 the last feed. My breast only starts to feel hard after 5-6hrs interval at nite.u still got one mth more, jia you.

hi stylobb/aloe,

my gal also wakes up every 3 hourly to take her milk including nights. im going back to work next week, dunno how to cope.

hi miu,

my gal also took abt 180ml yesterday. scary appetite. i read that these are called growth spurts. it doesn't happen all the time but once in a while. so feed on demand.

can i pour bm from different sessions of expressing into 1 bottle and feed my gal or do i have to separate them?

Quench,
What I usually do is to empty my breasts by expressing out remaining milk after feeding my baby. Then I accumulate milk over a few sessions. I put bottle into fridge after each session. Then I freeze it to feed my baby.

desert
I am not sure.. like yesterday, apparently he slept from 9+ to 12+pm. Sometimes he sleeps 1 hours plus, sometimes 2 hours plus. But definitely better than last time, cos he had trouble sleeping even for half an hour! He does not sleep in sarong, that's why his head is er.. flat..hehe..poor thing. But at nite he is good, after feeding, you can see his eyelids falling and after a while he falls asleep by himself.
Hmm...when your bb fusses, could it be he wants more milk? Just wondering..

quench
Yah, growth spurts, just feed when they want.

miu
I tasted my BM before, not as thick as forumla, dilute and a bit sweet.

stylobb
yeah, Joel fuss again on Friday. Seems like its becoming a routine for him. Reach home sure cry and fuss.. Now I am waiting and preparing for him to start this fussing when reaching home every Friday night liao... so sian... I think he is beginning to recognise the surrounding already.

quench
no need to feel weird massaging your own breast, I have been doing it for my every pumping session to try to get more milk.

I am combining EBM of two different into one feed for my boy to make up a full feed for him. I mix them after being heated up or been kept in fridge for more than 30mins. Basic rule is to mix of the same temperature.

hi mar mum n aloe,

when will bb sleep thru the night? i asked this qn so many times
haha...now i accept that different bb behave differently coz they r unique. theoretically, they r capabale n ready byt 4mths. but some can do so even from 1mth n some take longer.

u can train, but some bb very persistant hehe, like my gal. she used to wake like every 2 hrs at night even after i went back to work!! she is unstable. when she was much younger, she dun wake up so often n sometimes even slept thru till morning!!

when she abt 4mths, finally settle into a pattern. usually will want to sleep around 8pm n byt 8+ will be asleep. she'll then wake around 12am n then 5am for feed. of coz the 5am feed is not really necessary, they can actually "tahan" till 7-8am. i tried training n letting her cry, but not successful loh.

used to feel very stressed out n desperate for her to sleep thru the night. now i accept liao, coz bb i only hv 1 n she wont b like this forever, so juz bear with it till so older. Who knows God decide its time for mummy to rest well, n my gal will start to sleep thru the night soon

jas
I know how you feel...last time I have phobia too. My boy so far has improved, cos we bring him back every nite and he is bigger now mah. Have narrowed down reasons for his fussing: tired/sleepy, hungry, wants to be carried. Nowadays when he's tired in the evenings, I just carry him and he falls asleep within a minute. I think the weather is cooler now and he does not feel so irritable.

Mar_mum
My boy is coming to 5 months. We started training him around 2 months plus....initially he slept with us but we decided to put him in cot but in the same room. His last feed is around 10.30, 10.45pm. We would change him, feed him, sing the same song, off the lights, sometimes if we find he is not relaxed, hb will carry him around for a while. We dun overstimulate him when it's near bedtime. Since 4 months, no need to do all this already, cos after feeding him, we put him down and usually he falls asleep by himself. Come to think of it, he is getting better.

stylobb
nvr mind, thanks. Just thtat recently I noticed he only sleeps ard 1/2 hr at one time. I also nvr let him sleep in sarong, but he likes to turn his face to the side, so his head is not flat, but face kinda of long.
No leh, I tried offering him the bottle and my breast whenever he fuss, but he rejected both. So I just hv to carry him upright and walk ard.

desert
I think he wants to be carried and walked around cos that was the way for my boy. Never fails to calm him down! He would look so contented in the upright position.
1/2 hour siong leh. But my boy was also like that. Now he sleeps longer.

quench
confused, so which is doing better job? your mini or the symphony that you rent?

lea
SO lucky that you working in a baby friendly office, can share a lot of things among colleague. I am the first one that pregnant and gave birth in my ofc, other than that only male colleagues have kids.

stylobb
My girl also like to be carried in the upright position. You mentioned your boy sleep with you and hunsb initially, do you mean he sleep on your bed in between you and hunsb? My gal so far sleep in bassinet, but can only last up to 6.9kg, am thinking to let her sleep between us after that, but scared that if we accidentally knocked her or cover her with our blanket will suffoscate her, how do you do it last time?

stylobb,
My boy has a feeding at about 10pm and we'll clean him, off the lights and put him to sleep. But he still wakes up for night feeds, about twice.

m_maro,

Hmm, seems like most babies like being held in upright position....

My girl sleeps with us... I'm not a v heavy sleeper, and now have gotten used to being v careful when turning in bed... My hubby now uses a separate blanket, so he won't accidentally cover her face

Mar_mum
I guess it's different for bbs huh...sometimes hb and I joke it's becos we both like to sleep so bb also should be like us.. after months of 'torturing'us with his fussing, maybe it's payback time for us..hehe..most of the time he sleeps thru. But now he rotates a bit so he gets awakened..

maro
We tried, initially between us. Then we turn the other way and he is near headboard, then me, then hb. Finally we felt he should be trained to sleep on his own in the cot so we did that. Yah quite scared of squashing him initially tho ours is king-sized bed, cannot toss and turn becos he is there...hehe.

girl
I carry him but sometimes he is all curled up and he tugs my hair.. my hair is already dropping so much and he pulls somemore..

hi m_maro,

the mini is actually better for me.guess my breast is used to the suction already.

my gal also sleeps with my hb and me, the way as stylobb.

hi stylobb,
when did u start to drop hair? did u consult your gynae to see whether there's any medication to prevent this?

hi girl,

my baby also likes the upright position. so cute hor...i think they are practising their neck power.

quench
As in which way? Between you and hubby OR in the cot?
Started to drop hair 4th month, I asked the other mummies and was told it's normal... but ah, so scary, hair everywhere, even my hb noticed. Apparently will be beta after 6th month..I certainly hope so.
The car seat that we have is Chicco, it was passed on to us, quite new. We put in mil's car. He sat in it last week, can tell he kinda enjoyed it, even slept while in it.

Stylobb
Ya lor...really siong, but the problem is he used to sleep longer. I hope this is just a phrase he is going thro and he will get better. Yesterday I was really tired carrying him so I put him on the bed. He protested and I scolded him, he actually screamed back at me in protest. So naughty!!!!!!!

Quench/Stylobb
Think the dropping hair is normal, coz we dun drop much during pregnancy. I think mine is starting to drop.

m_maro
I am still sleeping with my boy. Initially he slept in the cot and hubby will place him beside me to bf. Then, I found it quite troublesome, so we slept with him in the middle. We use separate blankets all along, so its not a problem. I'm not tt afraid of squashing him, coz I hardly move once I'm asleep. I fallen asleep many times bf him. My hubby, on the other hand is always very scared of squashing him. So, he decided to sleep on the floor. Now, I sleep with my boy on the bed. I intend to put him back to the cot to sleep when he reach 5 mths.

Quench
We got safe and sound car seat as a gift. So far so gd. My hubby's friend can get u the seat @ 25% off the retail price. If u are interested, I can ask him for the no.

stylobb/girl/quench/desert,
thanks for sharing your experience of sleeping with bb on the bed. Seems like most of you intends or are letting bb to sleep on their own when they are bigger, wondering why I am the only one that doing it the other way round?? haha... actually me and husb are eagerly waiting for bb to grow bigger so that she is less risky to sleep with us, especially my husb, think he like to stick to bb whenever he can, but I think we should first change the bed to king size....

Quench,
Just heard from my friend who tbf her baby for 1 year that she once can only express 10ml per session, she was very worried until the helpful nurse told her to direct latch her baby all the time and nurse on demand and she finnaly succeed to nurse her baby for one full year without supplementing.... since you mentioned your baby is willing to latch, why not you try lacthing her instead of pumping before you get back to work, it might be helpful to increase your supply.....

i'm back to work!!
and my supply is still miserable.
tks for the recommendations for the car seat, will go get them before GSS ends :p

hi m_maro,
baby not willing to latch anymore. she's more interested in sucking her fingers now haha :p guess i will hafta stop bf soon.

btw, when did e nurse help your friend? is it during the 1st month? im in the 2nd month already, think it's difficult liao

m_maro
Haha...yah u are the other way rd. I am waiting to transfer him to his cot when he can sleep more thro the nite. Now, he's still kind of unstable. Sometimes only wake up once, sometimes can wake up quite a no. of times. So, its more convenient to hv him in bed with me. I am also lazy to train him, I always just turn and bf him when he wakes up, then continue to sleep. Actually shd not bf him whenever he wakes up, bad habit. Must definitely get a king size bed, queen size bed will be too small for 3 person.

Quench
Agree with m_maro tt latching on is definitely more effective than expressing.

morning feb mummies...

hi desert
are you letting your son sitting on carseat?

I bought the bb carseat but hubby's colleague said bb too small, cannot sit on carseat yet.

quench
So are you expressing at work?

desert
I think your boy has gotten too used to being suckled when he's awake already.
Yah, queen-sized definitely too cramped. Anyway ours is king-sized but he does not sleep with us...haha...
So what do you do everyday? You mentioned your parents have a shop, do you go there?
How was Ivan over the weekend?

maro
Yep, I think direct latching is more effective. But once we go back to work, how to? At desert can feed direct for a year.

Does anyone know if it's possible to say, direct latch once in the morning and once at nite without expressing in the daytime?
How do I skip the in-between?
Wow, it's coming to June and that's my target for b/feeding. My boy is still latching on and for that I think he's quite good lah.... hmm I wonder if I will miss these times. Amazing how we can produce bm to feed our babies..

miu
I put my bb in the carseat about two weeks back..he's around 4.5 mos that time.

desert
u mean u turn n latch him...so is the one breast thruout the nite?...do u sleep with nursing bra?...he can latch on well sleeping position ar?...not bad....

styloBB
think it is possible to direct latch only in the morning n at night but body will take some time to adjust to this new timing. if i m not wrong, have to slowly increase the pumping interval. once u pump less, it is signalling to body to produce lesser milk. after some time the body will adjust to produce milk at the rate it is being drawn out. this is wat i intend to do if i want to stop breastfeeding. so good u have finally endure for almost 6mths! dunno can i endure breastfeeding for 6mths or not as everyday have to pump in office. my boy only 12wks old n still have half of the journey to go. at first i wanted to stop breastfeeding when he is 4mths old. but as long as there is supply, y should i deprive him since breastmilk is so good. somemore he likes to direct latch. shall press on until he is 6mths old. my mum n MIL keep telling me to stop breastfeeding since formula milk is so easily available. hee...i am also amazed at how we can produce bm to feed our babies...

had block ducts on my left breast since middle of night. till now still there. dunno how to massage effectively to remove it. anyone can guide me how to massage? quite sad to produce lesser milk due to it.

quench,
think my fren got help at around 6 weeks, she stay in Perth and not working, the nurse there do house visit to everyone deliver in hospital to help them with bfg. I thought you still got sometime at home so maybe can try direct latch.

stylobb,
Ya, agreed, my fren who amange to do tbf for long term are mostly SAHM. I think govt do have a point there to lengthen maternity leave, maybe our next one can benefit from this new proposal. Do you put your bb in infant or child car seat? Do you have any idea how long can infant car seat last?

desert
wow, you can tahan to wake up feeding your boy a few times in the night? I wake up one time only already feel so tired the next day, I always have difficulty falling back to sleep...

mini
I was advised to massage the blocked area towards the nipple. And if possible when lactching your boy, have him pointed to the block area, it help to ease the flow.

Anyone shave bb's hair? if not did your baby hair falls off after 2-3 months? I was told that baby's hair should be shave off at one month, otherwise it will falls off around 2-3 months and will have difficulty to grow back. true?

maro,
thanks for advice. i tried to massage the block area towards nipple but still the same. will try massage again when i go to the ladies. if not hope my boy can unblock the ducts when he latch on me in the evening.

my boy is dropping quite alot of hair everyday after 1st mth. heh..make him look like LKY's forehead. a number of ppl say his forehead look like LKY. my PIL said bring baby to shave hair when he is 4mths old as the new hair grown will be nicer. my cousins also shave their babies hair when they r 4mths old. think no matter wat new hair will grow back regardless of shave or not.

quench,

my girl has started sucking on her fingers too....
sometimes when hungry won't cry, but keep sucking on hand, as if got milk coming out from them!

mini,

how do you tell that your ducts are blocked?
any pain?

m_maro,

i'm using an infant car seat, can only last until 1 yr old/ 13 kg, so will have to buy one once she outgrows this seat

baby's hair will drop at 3 months? my girl got lots of hair now.... too sayang to cut leh

Girl,
my boy also suck his fingers n hand when hungry. suck as if the hand is so delicious.

there is pain on the affected area. then can feel a lump there. hate to get block ducts. have u ever experiencing it before?

think the rate of hair baby drop is different. my boy also born with lots of soft hair but after 1mth the hair started to drop. can always see hair dropping on his face. i also feel sayang to cut his nice hair but seem like have to cut since hair keep dropping.

hi mini/girl,

i totally agree with you. somemore she sucked until got sound and if can't get the fingers in, will get grouchy hehe so cute rite? now im trying to give her pacifier instead. easier to kick the habit.

Mini,

OIC, I've not had clogged ducts b4....

My girl not started dropping hair, but now so much hair and all standing up, waiting for it to grow a little more, then bring her for trim...

quench,
I tried using pacifier, but she doesn't seem to like it.... worried that she starts thumbsucking

hi girl,

u hafta introduce her to pacifier slowly. initially my gal also didn't like it but slowly i let her try it out and she's now sucking it quite well.

my gal also dropping alot hair now a days ....and also bits of the cradle cap