Anyone Staying at Bukit Panjang or nearby?

Hi Snoopi,

Thanks for the info. I did consider Learning vision, MMI and agape little uni near my workplace but they all exceed my budget way too much. $900+ after subsidy.

I already placed her on the waiting list of those cc that I shorlisted (based on distance and school fees). And those list are super duper long, so while waiting for a vacancy, I need to enroll my girl in PG.

If you are keen in placing your child in PG (eg. talentplus etc), you should register now for 2013 intake and yes there's a wait list too.

MMI system good ? My friend was telling me they seldom interact and just take something and self play.My girl at Agape kids campus has begin to pick up words from her peers already. so gald . She is slow in speech . Wanted MMI system lastime but was told better to put in childcare instead... I agree not easy to find ideal cc and long waiting list too. Hope mummies frens out there will find the best for your child=]

hi to sweetbabymum, xuan82 and all other mummies!

sweetbabymum, xuan82: yup, i did a site visit to Agape Kids Campus. Cos it's a takeover operations fm the previous CC, i found the place to be old compared to Children's Campus @ Almond Crescent. (Of cos, it's oso bcos the terrace houses at Almond are newer than Cashew Terrace's.) Not to mention oso dat the outdoor playhouse/swing-slide equipment r rather rundown too. But I can't complain much since the fees of Agape r lower than Children's Campus.

Similar to Xuan's hubby's concern, i find cashew terrace a bit off...especially since the nearest bus-stop is quite a distance away. (I'm considering flexi 3hr or half day oni, hence the logistics r impt considerations for my mum who's fetching him to n fro.) Though i have to admit, their fees r quite attractive.

Similar location concerns for MMI @ Phoenix Walk...else dat's one school i'd wanna shortlist. Cos fees wise, i think quite reasonable for so-called "MMI" curriculum. :p

Meantime, i've my boy on Orange Tree waiting list for Jan '13 intake, though their fees r not the lowest either. But at least location wise more convenient for caregiver, and the place is more spacious and newer :p

Well, as this discussion goes, i'm still in the process of searching...and i think, tougher decision for me as compared to rest of you cos i'm not gg for Full Day CC, YET the fees for full day option is always more attractive than half-day or flexi 3hrs! Urgh..

So, I'd really like to hear from mummies here - if any of you have opted for full day CC but bcos you have your own caregiver, so ur kiddo is just at the CC for half day e.g 8:30 - 1:00pm? Does it make sense to go for this arrangement? :p

Sweetbabymum,

Glad to know that you are satisfied with the cc that you have chosen and ur girl is progressing well.

JO,

Initially u were looking at PG (talentplus or tots house), why change to half day cc?

Well, i think it depends on your main purpose. If you just want your kid to socialize and learn some basic things thru play, I would suggest that PG is sufficient. Of coz cc will be more well rounded and diff cc having different approaches, afterall it's longer hours and more spacious. You can save the money for other enrichment courses. So it all goes down to what u want and strike a balance.

If my mil can handle two, I would just enroll my girl in PG.

FYI, I did registered at talent plus and tots house coz I don't know which PG has vacancies. I paid $30 for registration fee at tots (non refundable and no guarantee vacancies). After a few days, talent plus called me to ask me to pay the material fees to secure the place for Yr2013. I have not made payment yet.

xuan, well i had wanted to place him at playgrp...was considering talentplus & tots hse indeed. BUT, dat was before i researched more online on the 'typical' curriculum for preschoolers - playgrp (2011/12) >> pre-nursery (some call N1, i tink) (2013) >> N2 (2014) >> K1 >> K2
Heehee, hope i got it right! :p

So when i learnt dat TP/tots hse din hv progression to Nursery/Kindy...and they were opened for intake for 2010 babies only in Jan 2013, i felt dat to put him there for a year oni, and then hv to source for a nursery/kindy school for him afterwards - meaning he has to readjust again...not even considering all the registration fee, uniform $$ etc, I tot mayb better to place him in a school dat offers all-the-way option lor.

Oh, and i tink i din mention my boy's age? :p
He's oredi 22 mths old liao...and haven't started any playgrp yet. But he's attending once a week 1.5hr accompanied classes at GUG though.

For ur registration wif TP, may i noe it's which branch? I recce the one at Cashew-Senja CC, and i totally din like the environment. Tots Hse at BP CC is good...i like the fact it's bright and roomy.
Din manage to peek into TP's classrom though.

<font size="+0">wow, so many responses already

Sweetbaby: I m certainly not an expert on montessori subject as my field is in mainstream schooling for much older age kids.
However, i started reading up on it as my son seems to show me that this might be what he learns best.
He started wanting to put his own shoes on and also trying to self feed and also tries to zip and unzip my stuff.
He also takes the apple and smells it.
Recently, he has become bery 'glued'to his kitchen set and loves scooping stuff.
All this to me was kinda of like play but in the montessorian world, they are life skills and a form of engaging the young child.Actually, technically, montessori trained children should be able to work up to 10 000 and will have a wider array of science and botany as its supposed to be part of their curriculum

I became a stay home mum as hes my first. However, my passion for my job also needs to be 'met'ha ha ,

so i am also trying to put him in half day instead of full day, as I just need the early part of the day to work on my stuff.

Btw, you can hop over to kiasu parents , and look for a thread ALL ABOUT MONTESSORI . i learnt alot of stuff there.
I can only say alot depends on the 'teacher'. If they truly embrace the montessori curriculum or for that matter, any curriculum with passion, all little ones under their charge will thrive.
Of course, good teachers without a good curriculum might also be pointless , in that sense.

I really did fine agape to be very warm and actually their smaller ratio is a plus.
PS. i believe i muight have seen your litle primcess trying to sleep as they told me she was the newest addition and she was prob just over 18 months then.:p
BTW, my boy is 15 months.

I will most likely forgo the talent plus pgs etc as i am not that comfortable with their teacher child ratio, considering that my boy will only be 18 months when he joins.

I have also put my son on wait list at the orange tree (I might just do the montessori bit with him as best as i can.)

For those of you who feel that taking the LRT is still ok, the Just Kids at the Keat hong shopping centre is very new, spacious and clean.
I like that they have a 3 hour program and that it is considerably affordable in that sense.
They also separate the students attending the CC from those that are just attending Play group.3 hourly.
If i still cant enrol him a suitable cc, then i will just enrol him there first for the 3 hourly program.
Nearest LRT is southview .

For somethign nearer to home, can also check out, ISMART montessori at Bangkit, its near the shop and save ,
They have Am 3 hourly or 2 hourly program , i cant remember. But i know it was still ok, and affordable

Just that no breakfast provided.
For the JUst kids i mentioned, bf is provided even for playgroup and i wanted him to socialise alittle and pick up his interaction skills.

Sweet baby: I can fuly understand your concerns, My boy has only literally just started babbling at 14.5 months. Even then, hes on the quiet side. but his receptive abiklity is ok, He understands our 2 part instructions etc so we got abit worried, but i can see in your case, which is a comfort to me, that peer group interaction just might get the 'magic'working

<font size="+1">Really Sorry sorry gor the long long post . Dont kick me for being long winded</font> :p

<font size="+0">Jo: I have attended the trial at GUG , and its at my former work place. However, its not that convenient for me to travel here and there to pick him up etc so its not my first choice
Must say though, their curriculum is not bad.

If its just a 50 to 100 dollar difference, i might consider full day as i know i always have the option to put him there in case i have to work etc. However, it would also be rather tempting to just leave him there and then i can have more 'me 'time etc. In your case, if you are very sure there will always be some one to take him back, and its not so much the curriculum you are keen on but just interaction then i guess hd is ok? Afterall, can always switch later , rt?</font>

Hello all mommies,

I am looking for feed back for (1)Children's Campus at Almond Avenue (2) OrangeTree Pre School at CCK.

I appreciate any feed back (good or bad). I was hoping my girl can enroll in either one of these cc next year (if there is any vacancy).

I read somewhere that OrangeTree is very worksheet based and allows the children to watch tv after 5pm. can anybody verify this?

thank u in advance.

My 2 kids are in The Children's Campus. My older one has been there for about 3 years already. So far so good. The teachers are caring and will give us regular updates about my children's progress. What I like about them is that the teachers will constantly update photos of our kids in The Children's Campus Facebook page and we get to know what they are doing in school. They have also recently upgraded their playground and the kids loved it. What I like is that the school is spacious and there is more place for the kids to move around especially during outdoor time.

Wow.. So many posting=) Yeah I love my girl reasonable school fees rate and the regular updates through emails and pictures too. Think most school allow kids to watch tv but my girl school do not encourge watching tv which i find it is very good... I went orange tree before to view previous.. Guess maybe not comfortable with the environment. Guess the first impression is most important. Hope mommies out there can find the potential school for your child! =>

hi...

i am a sahm staying in segar..my boy is 15.5mth...looking for pg..

considering between star tot n talent plus... any comments??

I'm very happy to have found this page!
My child is going to be 2 this month.

JO, is your child a Sept 2010 baby too? My son is enrolled at The Children's Campus for full day but he is usually there for 3hrs everyday. I opted for this arrangement cos I hope to gradually leave him there for the whole day.

The fees at TCC are higher than most and I must admit I was considering other choices at 1st. I think one of the biggest plus points is the fact that they have their own compound for outdoor play and water play.

However, I am looking for a Montessori-based preschool for him to progress to. Any recommendations? I saw Montessori@Graceland (phoenix walk) and I'm not in love with the place. I found the price a bit steep too...

I am too looking for a childcare centre for my 26mths boy..staying at segar road.any good centre with affordable price that u could recommend??

Looking at adelfibel childcare at fajar..any good or bad reviews frm this childcare centre??thks

Hello Loveit,

I went to adelfibel before..erm don't really like the environment there leh as it was cramp and noisy. My girl is at agape kids Campus located at 1 Cashew Terrace. You may want to check it out if there is anymore vacancies. So far so good my girl girl is growing and eating well at the centre. The teachers and principal are very caring and i like the ratio as is small size and my girl is given attention and well taken care of. hope is useful for u tis info.

Hi sweetbabymum,

Agape kids campus @ 1 cashew terrace is it change their name to cherie heart educare?? Location a bit out of way as i dun drive.

Any mummy here sent there kids adelfibel or ymca(blk 510)..still considering these two childcare centre for my boy.

My #1 is coming to 15months and intend to put her in school next year April/May 2013.

- Orang Tree - We have already have a placement for her but due to the fact that now #2 is coming its going to be costly.

- My First Skool - Have waitlist her but not sure got placement or not.

- Tots House at Bukit Panjang CC - Thinking to put her there for a 3 hours play school cause I got so much reservation on CCC. Worried she never eat properly and shower properly. I plan my MIL to pick her up from the 3 hours playschool. But not sure if she is willing or not... cause from my observation she dont really like my MIL thou we see her everyday.

Hi Loveit,

I heard previously was Cherie Hearts but Agape Kids Campus took over..
@ Christy hope you find an ideal place to put your gal.I know it is not easy. It took me quite some time and finally found the right cc for my girl.

Hi, I am staying in Bukit Panjang too and both my kids are studying in ACE@work at cck and they tke tpt to and fro and so far I am very happy with the teachers and my kids pick up lots too

Be it talking, learning to self feed etc.
The fees plus tpt to and fro I find it resonable.

Hi shine,

Have u start taking care after babies? Do u have recommendation for Bukit panjang area

I'm looking for nanny who could take care my 14month old baby gal/ bath/ feed and play with her. Only weekday, timing to be confirm. Is about 4 days a week, only weekday.. Day wise will advise a month for nanny due to our working schedule. If interested or u have recommend pls contact me @ 9030 2171

I saw a lot of mommy posted here with regards the child care consider 18month place them in will it be suitable or I should wait till my gal turn 3? What be the procedure? How long or earlier I should start preparing to avoid waiting list or queue??.

Thank u,
Joey

Any mummies sending kids to PCF N1 at block 545 or 528? How do you find it? How does it compare to st joseph kindergarten or bpmck? My boy is 3 years old next Jan and I don't think putting him to Playgroup is right for him anymore.

good morning all mummies!
Im so happy to be able to find this post....
Im FTWM, with son turning 1yo soon

Trying to find some playgroup for him in bukit panjang area...im staying at Fajar with PIL whom helping me to take care of my little one.. any recommendation for playgroup?

An update: since the last postin my boy actually attends just kidz at Keaton hong shopping centre. Southview lrt a short walk
Reasonable fees and principal is very nice .
They accepted j when he wa 17 months as they had enough staff.
J attends the 3 hourly program . They have 3 slots, his is first slot so breakfast provided and good menu
Bread, cereal, pao, eggs , cake on different days.
Indoor playground , very clean and spacious.
They have 1/2 day and full day program too but j goes only for this flexi 3 hour program.

However, I m still looking around for montessori syllabus.
Contemplated doing half day at just kidz( that's how much I like the place) and do montessori enrichment but that means taking up too much of j time if I do mon, we'd fri, enrichment.
Won't have time to do other less academic suff

Going to mmi pheonix walk branch to have a look.
Yes, concerned with the walk in distance and also the multi level set up. Have always stayed way from home based cc but guess not that many choices left.
A,a zing star at green ridge did not call me back

Any feedback on these 2?
Amazing star or mmi cck?

Discovered zheng hua pcf pe attire is different frm the normal pcf pe attire is..Any mummy have preloved zheng hua pcf pe attire(red pant)..XS/S size..need it for my boy for his pre-nursery.not a fussy full time hsewife.

Kindly pm me.thks

Hi Snoopi, I couldn't find a suitable cc in bp and the waiting lists are v long. I went to see just kids at Keaton hong, love the spacious &amp; clean environment. Still thinking whether to place my son there for full day program. I agree with you the principal is very nice, my only concern is the distance. Abit troublesome... Would like to hear feedback from you for this cc. Is your son coping well at there?

hi mummies, has anyone enquired or considered Korean Church Kindergarten?
There's a new Korean church at Gangsa Road, so not sure if the current Kindergarten at Jln Teck Whye is the same organisation and will be shifted to this new building??
Tried to research online but couldn't find anything.

Hi bubbly, your pm is turned off , perhaps u can pm me or emal and I can leave you my contact if u have more queries on jus Kidz

Bubbly, yes my son loves his teacher although she's pinoy(no offence intended ) he will say her name sometimes after we walk down the stairs

Of course mine is the 3 hour program so I can't comment as much on full day but i felt chikdren were happy
If u can , try to go down at different timings and see how it goes ;)
U can pm me if u want

Hi mummies... I m a new mummy here... I stay in bp too... I m thinking putting my boy to amazing star @ jelapang... Any comments

Hi, I had Adelfibel Childcare Uniform to sell. Selling at cheap price.
My Son wear it for 3 days after that I withdraw him..
Interested please PM me.
I had 4 sets.

SweetBaby, Any comments for Agape Kids Campus at Jurong Kechil? I went there for a site visit too but uncomfortable as the school is very run down, both interior and exterior. Their playgroup outside is also very run down. They don't have air-con and it's very stuffy. There is no TV. I only like their small student ratio and the teachers seem to be locals.

How old was your daughter when you enrol her into Agape?

My friend 's son is in amazing star , she seem quite pleased with the centre as her child is with the centre since young till now primary school. but I think the centre has too little window and is fully aircon . My son is with new life church child care as I like the ample space and reasonable fees.

Iam glad that i finally found u all.
Iam looking for playgroup for my 15 months princess
near Bukit Panjang. Im SAHM staying near Buki Panjang Plaza. Today i called Talent Plus to check few details about play group they said they going to open a new branch near blk 180 Lampong Road. Any suggested playgroup out there? Help me?

Hi mummies, I just joined the BP mummy group on FB. Din know there is such a group, am glad to find it. Am a part time SAHM, it will be good to arrange meet-ups with fellow SAHMs!

I am trying to form a dance class for my 1 and 3 year old kids at my condo, The Linear. Timing is on Thurs 2 pm, teacher from kinderdance singapore, $180 for 10 lessons. I have a padded up kids' room with toys (ha, like a mini indoor playground). I think it is rather cheap for a dance class, anyone interested? http://www.kinderdancesingapore.com/Kinderdance_Singapore/Welcome.html

Am also hoping to make friends! It is so boring to play with the two kids, I notice they get so spirited when friends with kids come to our house. THen the adults can chat and the kids just play among themselves! *relieved*. I can arrange play dates on MOn, Tues and THurs!

Email me at [email protected] if you are keen to join the dancing class or want to come for a playdate : )

I am looking at enrolling my girl at PCF blk 545, any comments from mummies who have enrolled their children there? And also about the playgroup at Cashew CC? Anyone heard about The Psychologie PLayhouse at Old Bukit TImah fire station? My kids are SUPER sticky to me, I need to find an accompanied playgroup which allows me to sit in with BOTH my kids. Any suggestion?

KishK: I heard from a mummy i met at the library that TOTS house at the bukit panjang CC is good. I heard from another mummy that Star tots is good. ALas, they are too far for me. You can consider.

Hi Mummies, any comments for StarTots / TalentPlus / Amazing stars in our Bt Panjang area? Any of your kids in there? planning to send my son to 2-3hr playgroup once he turns 18mo.
Thanks alot!

I asked about St Joseph Church Kindergarten sometimes back. My son has since joined this kindergarten from Jan.

He has been happily taking the school bus every day and everyday come back smiling. When I asked if the teachers are nice, he said he likes all the teachers. So far I can not tell if he's learning something academically or not, since he's in N1 only, however I feel he's enjoying his time there singing &amp; playing.

i din know this thread become so active again...so nice to know all of you

My #1 is at new life CC and my #2 is on waiting list...was think of transferring them to ichiban at senja...

Like to send my son to the enrichment programme at zoophonic, anyone keen to go together??