Any Flying mothers around?

Yesterday brought my boy out for din with family. it was such a horrible experience.

he cry and refuse to zz, carry him in car only zz then put in pram wake up and cry. dun wan drink milk cos he so distracted by the sights and sounds. in the end, hv to take turns to eat and carry him walk walk.

cm to think of it, maybe itz my fault for not bringing him out mre often. evday hole up at home, so he not exposed to the outside world. once he goes out he overstimulated?!

hw har? advise me leh! he like very sua ku leh!

petite,
think my bjorn carrier like ur lucky bb sling. yes, the feeling like using my shoulders to support the wt. very tiring.

mayb will order the ergo. my boy getting so heavy.

so no mre outing liao?

Sungrapes,

Look like the outing- cancelled.

Sound like my boy. I always hv to end up in the baby rm ( breast-feeding rm) to feed him. Outside cannot. He wont drink

Sungrapes,
i think initially like that one... my ger used to be like that b4... now i bring her out together with other bbs. They actually learn from each other. my ger didnt like to sit pram but with the other bbs, she guai guai sit inside the pram leh! now also knows how to hold her water cup... she is much better than b4 lor... can see the difference too...

as for overstimulation, try not to bring him out near to bedtime lor. Try to calm him down b4 sleeping then he wont get agitated during sleep.

petite,
maybe ur boy shy to bf in public!

ylc,
this is a chicken or egg situation..scared to bring out, but dun bring he becm sua ku..

great s'pore sale starts next wkend..but got no $$$..not like last time wen working.

hey there is fox sale.. any 2 for 50%!! hehe i bought 4 bottoms for my ger already... v worth it. if u are member got addition 15% discount!!! better go down n chk it out!!

long time never post at this thread..
had been busy at work and also feeling down...

sungrapes, there's a thread in this forum about sales and promotion... the thread is active and informative..

marraine, what contest is that?? need to register b4 i can vote for yr precious Ash??
my boi named Asher- but never call him Ash for short.... yr boy is named Ashton??

y feeling so down?? coz of work arh?

erm kinda of voting for cutie pics lor.. my ger la.. call Ashley but we call her Ash always for short ha ha ha.. erm the silly thing on the website is tat need to register.. hee..

Hi Woof,

How come feeling down?? too stress at work ah? We'll be ur listening ear if u need us k!!! Cheer up!!!

Hi Woof,
Yah lor..y feel down?
Tell us lar! u will feel better after venting out..i did!

morraine,
i voted liao.. register very easy..i use all same password then wun hv to cm up with new ones.Hehe!

I'm NEW here... Got the link from sgbrides! I'm oso a crew, still working... Jus found out i'm expecting and jus did my sep LET!!! I'm in total confusion on this motherhood thingy cos it still hasn't sink into my mind dat I'm gonna be one soon!!! It came as a shiok cos we r not really prepared for it. (i'm getting my gratuity in 3mths time!)

I haven't seen a gynae and has no freaking idea! Can anyone here pls help me.... I'm been having sleepless nites, dunno whr to start n go... I intend to stay til my gratuity if not, it'll b so sayang rite?

I read in the archives of this thread dat some of u continue flying till 16wks, etc. Would it be alrite? I oso heard some returned moms did the same when they got pregnant! Haiya... how ah? sistas.... pls help!!!

dear Godsent,
Congrats wor!!

1st of all, u muz c gynae and find out hw far along r u in pregnancy.. muz rem wen ur last period start. if u miz ur tis mth period (which is probably hw u found out u r preg) then i wld say its at least 8wks. better go c gynae ok!

then u can decide if u r able to last another 3mths till ur gratuity.

for me i had to quit asap cas i had spotting. some of the mummies here did fly till 4mths. my gf flew till she 6mths. it really depends on ur body and health lor. can u take it or not? cos long flt+strenous work,1st trismester usually will be very tired. r u willing to take tis risk? etc...

If u continue to fly,u can take leave for the last few wks. or put up ur long flts for COF, do shorter, last shiong flts or chg for offdays. try to buy time.

there r ways ard it, jus depends on wat u r comfy with. U can always return as flying mother and collect ur gratuity then..3mths only very fast.

u wan gynae referral? i had mine at Thomson Medical..Dr Yvonne Chan tel:62564664.

One step at atime.

Hung,
REALLY!? wat a small world! Her staff oso very friendly and helpful. i like her cos she very no frills and straight 4ward.

Alot of her patients oso crew. Junita Simons oso see her cos i saw her in the clinic.

Wonder which gynae Zoe Tay goes to in TMC.

Send her my regards, if she still rem me..

Hung, hw r u? long time no hear leh!

Hi & Welcome Godsent!

I also flew until i got my gratuity... think i was probably 3-4mths pregnant. I changed all my flts for offdays or easy flts. If u can handle the workload with BB in tummy then ok lah... but if not maybe u can try to change all ur flts for offdays n take leave lor!!! Anyway discuss with your hb first see what he says lor... 3 mths v fast pass one... last time i also like that... few more mths then can get gratuity so die die also stay on until get my gratuity.

Hi sungrapes, ylc, hung,

thanks so much for your informative advise. so Dr Chan has many crew patients... i'll prob go and c her then cos my DH says it's betta to c a Dr who's experienced in seeing crew as she'll have better idea how our working behaviour like, etc. So during your delivery, was she there all the time? I heard from my fren dat her gynae fm SGH only arrives when the baby's head is seen/out!!! Is Dr Chan expensive? How's her charges like?

I know who is Zoe Tay's gynae cos my gf shares the same gynae as her. (Dr Tan) she is top 5 or 10 gynae in sin!!! and her charges oso top!

Right nw, nobody in my family knows I'm expecting, except my aunt who insisted me to c a doc when I missed my period. Don't intend to let my parents know first cos it'll be the 1st grandchild and they'll sure panic n gan cheong like hell and will give me more stress when I go work!!!

I'm so glad that I found this THREAD!!!

Godsent,
Dr Y.Chan's fees r affordable, average charges..eg she wun use the 3D scan and make u pay per scan. hers is juz the normal b/w type. 3D scan cost almost $200 per scan.

I need to go dig out my file and chk the cost again..post here later.

Got to go entertain my darling niece now..

godsent,
the doc wun be there all the time lah! the midwife will inform doc wen u crowning cos they need to gv u the episiotomy..at most they will cm in every hr or so to chk ur cervix dilation.

Hung,
I saw in papers at Taka they selling the Aprica stroller at $499, usual price is $899. I tested b4, really good, lite wt. i so wanted to buy last time,but too ex. nw 1/2 price!!

<font color="ff0000">Godsent</font>,
The package can sign frm 16wks onwards. cost $700 for :
-the rest of the scheduled consultations
-routine urine test for protein and sugar
-wt and blood pressure
-ultrasound scans except the detailed screening scan done at 20wks.

Means after sign package, u pay only for med/vitamins and other adhoc test eg, group B strep.

Delivery fee at TMC is $800 for <font color="0000ff">normal</font> if u sign for the above package.

Others include Hospitalization package depends on type of rms abt $600-1K.

Haha! Gynae oso have Top 10!!

welcome godsent (think i always half a beat SLOWER)

i share the same sentiments as other mums- how long u can fly depends on yr body conditions... my gynae actually said tat i can fly up to 16 weeks but i flew to 12 as need to renew SEP.

if u want to wait for gratuity- then avoid the "xiong' flts... can change flt, take leave, "buy off-days", etc... but think take no-pay leave will pro-long yr contract (so take gratuity later too)... Any old ailments??? e.g. back pain... can take extended MC??? my gynae also has alot of crew patients.. He is at KKH and only delivers there...

mummies, think my previous post got lost...
i was stressed out mainly due to work and home...
i juz came back to office to work and need to take care of BB after work... my kaki at my office is quitting soon... my relationship w hubby is quite tense at times... my BB has feeding and sleeping problem (dun eat and sleep) All these jus come onto me... Or i jus being emotional lately... POST NATAL blues???!!! jus kidding- my BB already coming 9 mths, can't be rite???

<font color="0000ff">WoofWoof</font>, Y not? Is comes and go type. I was under depression for the last few weeks. So I stay out of the forum incase I post rubbish here.

<font color="0000ff">Godsent</font>, Yap like what the other hv said. To add another pt. If you hv no intention of go bb to the airline, juz report sick all the way. Think abt it the pros & cons. Remember to take care of yrself and rest more in outstation. Esp now no more team flying. Don't tell any1 that ur preggie. Backstabbing are still around. Eitherwise you wil hv to go PCL and listen to stories!

<font color="ff0000">Godsent</font>

welcome here! yeah like the rest.. jus report sick lor or change for turnaround best.. den u can be resting more at home lor.. giving up good flts sure ppl grab one la.. for turnarounds.. and YESH like wat <font color="ff0000">twinkletotts</font> said.. DUN TEL ANYONE U PREGGY!! if not skali they force u to resign ON THE SPOT!!

<font color="ff0000">woofwoof</font>

relax relax... i think coz u frustrated den end up oso quarrel with hb la.. jus relax.. bb are all like this..

hi young mummies,

I just check Dr Yvonne Chan, she closed her appt for Jan 08 as accordingly to her nurse dat i shld b due in jan... aiyah.... seems like she's so pop n everyone is delivering in jan?!

As for my gf's gynae who is oso Zoe Tay's gynae, her chrges is really rocket high... S$2.6k excluding med, scanning, etc... wow, i can't afford her lah...

Got a recommendation fm TMC, dis gynae who is the resident gynae in the Thomson Women's Clinic in Sengkang cos I'm staying in P.R. Dr Adrian Woodworth. Have anyone heard of him?

Woof,

bb not feeding n sleeping well is it bcus teething? I remember my ger refused to eat at one pt i think also 8-9mths. I suspect its teething cus now her teeth all erupted... 5 at one go leh! SO i may think its super uncomfortable for them therefore unable to eat n sleep lor. Now that her teeth are growing out, she eats better n sleeps better too! Well... dun worry too much k!!!

Godsent,
Yeah better not tell anyone u preggie if not those really bad pple will report u n tell u to resign on the spot leh!!! i also didnt tell anyone i preggie when flying last time. I reported sick until CTS sent me email to take care of my health hahaha!! If not exchange for off days. I managed to get a lot of offdays lor, then when need to fly, take MC until next flt so wont be put on Stdby, a lot of careful planning needed hehe.

Godsent,
my frend he broke his leg so got 6wks MC. b4 he rept sick, he chg all his long flts and take the $$ others top up to him, then he rept sick for all the mama and turns he chg for..like ylc say, must plan carefully to maximise $$.

Cant believe gynae all booked till next yr Jan!!
Gd business man! Next time ask my son be gynae, or plastic surgeon. i face lift free!

<font color="0000ff">woof</font>,
Is there sm1 to bbsit for u, so u can take a break for aday, or even a few hrs? u can go dating with ur hb enjoy couple time..or juz do smthg u like alone.

Take it easy lor, smtimes i cannot take it, i will go drive, or go massage, or even go void deck sit for awhile.

Godsent,
4got to tell u, i rem seeing Dr Adrian Woodworth name in this forum b4.. smwhere. u might like to do a search.

thanks mummies for the advises...

i will do some positive self-talk to get myself out of this blue... i am very into my BB, whenever i take time out, i will think of him- wat is he doing n is he being taken care well??
when doing shopping, can only relax for 1st hr or so, then my heart is somewhere else (at home w my boy)
if i cannot juggle between work, housework and BB, i start to resent my DH- why can't he be more involved and help out more?? cannot spent less time playing computer games??
sorry, a lot of grumbles...

godsent, one more idea- u can also change for flight tat work only one way and pax the other way.. i did tat for some of my flights..

<font color="0000ff">woofwoof</font>, don't worry so much. As time pass, you will slowly forget you are feeling like this again. Try to take a break if you can.

Btw, I am like you. Can't even place my bb anywhere for pp to take care of him except my mom. Even I will to go out, I will think of him if he is alrite. God! how to go back to work like this?? Must think how to let go alittle...

That day I was feeling dw, I called the help-line and talk. The lady asked me to take time off for myself. She asked me to place my bb in my MIL's house for a few hrs but I told her I am not comfortable of placing bb in the care of MIL. She commented that Is not that I don't hv anybody to help but is I whom rejected the offer.

Think abt it. I handle so many crew and pax but I can't handle a bb and my HB. Sigh!

Woof,

yeah i know what u mean... i handle my bb, housework n cooking all by myself... sometimes i see my hb just sit down there n relax n i wanna snap at him already! But most of the time, i do snap at him saying how come i m doing everything n he is just sitting down there watch tv or read newspapers???? then he will come help out a bit. Sighz... MEN!!

Me too... think i am also rejecting help rather than accepting them cus i dun think my ILs can take gd care of her. Sigh... sometimes i have to convince myself to let go a bit but very hard... i think i am so attached to her already... how to go back to work????

woof and petite,
i think all mummies r like tat.. always hav bb at the back of their minds no matter wat we r doing. tatz y i think even if i hav the means to b a rich tai tai oso cannot spend hrs at spa or hair salon..

like wat petite say, we muz learn to let go. We hav to learn hw to take care of ourselves and keep our mental health strong. once we r refreshed and recharged then we hav the energy to take care of our bbs.

There was once i oso cant leave my bb at hm, then my nanny force me to go out with my hb one day. after tat experience then i realised hw impt it is to hav time alone w/o the bb..whether itz coffee with frends or 1hr window shopping. if not, last time my hb ask me go out i will say NO. take it as time off for ur bbs to learn how to be independent oso. wen u go hm, he c u again will be very happy.

i oso will resent hb not putting in his fair share, i m sahm, not to mention working mums. smtimes, i juz tel my hb i need to go run errands and juz leave bb with him. muz let him hav a taste of hw not easy it is to jaga bb lor.or i ask him play with bb 1/2 hr then i pretend to b very engross in surfing and ignore him wen bb fussing, cos he muz learn hw to communicate with his own son oso.

woof, is it possible to designate chores to ur hb? eg, bath and read bedtime stories. then evday he is in charge of these. or get him to do groceries. write down the list for him n make him buy diapers/bb food.

Dear all flying mummies

May I find out from you if you feel fatigue & tired out after flight back? And if your immune system seem to compromise?

Recently I attended a talk by a US Nutritionist specialised in Enzyme therapy. She spoke abt our body's immunity being affected from air-travel, and how some particular enzyme can help.

As I do not fly as often, I couldn't help wondering. Thus wanna find out from you all if you do experience fatigue & tiredness, lower immunity with these years of flying.

wah met up with some of my batch gers yesterday den realised hor.. one of my batch ger.. aiya dunno suay or wat.. last yr she kena interviewed for promotion den got it but while waiting for training to begin den she got preggy den have to leave.. now she is back again.. doing SEP.. wasted rite!!!

Morraine,

aiyo so wasted lor... i was talking to my girl friend, she always like quite "suay" lor.. for promotion always lack 1 pt... Now she is like chosen out of so many to do the NZ route... siong flt!

Kook_car,

After flt, of course tired lah... but after resting seems back to normal though. After so many yrs of flying, i dun think my health is being compromise though. I do think i m in pink health now. I guess most crew knows how to take care of themselves while flying.

<font color="0000ff">Kook_car</font>,

Yes I agree with Ylc. We tends to know how to take care of our health. Crew usually Zzzz more then other pp, in Sin or overseas. Eat lots of Birdnest, Vit C, etc....

Yah..Kook_car,

We ZZZZZZ ALOT!
I dun think my immunity level suffer. Last time during SARS and bird flu, oso ok leh.

I did take Vit C on and off.

some crew go gym workout.

My workout is SHOPPING.

I juz feel sleepy in the cabin cos the air recycled,not 100% oxygen. Then wen i feel really drowsy, i will go cockpit, breath their supply of pure O2.

Oxygen therapy.

Dearest flying mummies ... thanx for the feedback. I wish I could do some blood cell analysis on some flying mummies, wonder how they're are like - whether the oxygen therapy helped ...

<font color="ff6000">sungrapes</font>
OXYGEN THERAPY!! WOW!! envy ...

Kook_car,

Cockpit's o2 is fresh and 100% pure..they probably hav their own o2 tank smwhere. itz for pilots, not cabin crew.

so smtimes serve them drinks will pretend chit chat with them. during the pauses in my conversation i will take DEEP DEEP breath lor.

Good thgs muz share share mah! so much air they oso cannot breath finish, so i help them lor!

Smtimes 1st aid o2 bottle use half i oso help myself to it. but of course i got santitise it lah!

<font color="0000ff">hung</font>
did u try TCM accupunture to relieve pain? Your sleep problem if not solve can lead to more damage when reach menopause leh.

I met a research scientist recently, he developed a mattress that's link to a computer & it can regular & negative ion & far-infrared. Backaches & insomnia is one of the problem this mattres can help. Wanna give it a try? Can link you up with him and you go try for yourself.

Harlow....
I used to be a flying crew (GQ) quit in '05,
Hubby still flying thou.....
absolutly miss flying.....

currently staying in punggol,
Has a 18 month old boy (Isaac Hiroshi),
and a bb girl (sophia) due in june.....

Glad to see so many kakies here!!

can see us in our blog www.babyhiroshi.blogspot.com

Hi Hiroshima & welcome!!!

Ur boy so cute!!!! Anyway u going to be due soon so take extra care of urself k!!!

Kook_car,
wah... u meet up with many researchers/professionals ah??? First nutritionist then researcher hahaha... u sure got many contacts!!!

sungrapes: No leh, never marry a Japanese leh..... Hiroshi is made in Japan lah!! rahahahaha.... last time couple code with hubby mah. I am delivering on 05/06.... In 3 days time.

ylc: thanks for the warm welcome..... Yup... in 3 more days i am going to loose my freedom to 2 monsters!! Rahahahaa....