Any comments on Montessori for Children

Personally, I prefer Barker coz there's individual classrms for each class. Lots of facilities too. Children look happy as well. I didn't visit St James & Marymount.

Hi mummies, i would like to send my boy to MMI at West Coast. Any comments on this centre? My boy is now 9 months, and would like to send him there at 18 months.

btw - i have visited the MMI at West Coast, which is 5 mins walk from my place. thinking of putting him on the AM playgroup, before moving on to full day (not my preference, however, full day is just $3 more, so why not have this flexibility).

my boy is now on SM and aqua ducks swim on the weekends, plus i am also introducing either tumbletots or kindermusic (yet to decide which one until my trial session this weekend).

any advice on which playgroup is good? is LV better than MMI - other than LV having a pre school curriculum? at 18 months, such curriculum is not so impt, as compared to K1, K2, am i right to say that? any comments?

i am also considering waitlisting for JG playclub - do you think this is good? knowing the wait list is very long, i would like to act fast... appreciate your comments.

Hi rihini,

I visited Marymount but not barker and st james.
Personally feel marymount not bad though school looks old. Curricumlum also good.

Any good suggestion for school for my son age 3. We stay in the east. Not too expensive.. maybe max $500 per month. Pls advise!
I saw St. James website. I really liked the school because it seems so all-rounded. I prefer a school like that since St. james is too far!

Hi Kiran,

Try this school near siglap centre.its called Great Beginnings. A montessori kindergarten run by 2 ladies. The centre look very warm and nice, its quite new and my friend who stay near there has sent her boy there.

Wei Lin
the thread is quiet probably everyone has enrolled by now haha...

Btw, me too just enrolled for my boy at Marymount kindy, PM as traffic is massive in the morning along Thomson Rd.

Any mommies here with ds or dd at Marymount kindy for pre-nursery in 2008?

Hi Wei lin,

how are you. long no chat.

Hi Yippe,

I have enrolled my doter in marymount pre-nursery in 2008. But not sure I will start so early.

Hi Wei Lin,

Did not come in for some time, hence missed your posting.
I have enrolled my gal in Marymount for next year. Your gal leh ? Still with JG ?

Hi Yippee,

I have enrolled her in the AM session. What i mean is I am still not sure if i want to send her to nursery at such early age.

funny: ya, busy lately. plus this thread became quiet. how's yr child at the montessori at Thomson? My gal is still with JG, doing thrice a week. Enrolling in Barker Rd in Jan08.
Is it tough to get the AM slot for Marymount?

Wei Lin,

My gal still with montessori at thomson. I stop her for 2 months due to falling sick frequently and the recent HFMD. Does your gal fall sick easily when she started at JG ?

You going for barker rd, How's the place there ? Is it good and ex ?

we did queue for marymount and managed to get the AM slot.

Funny: Oic. Guess our gals r too young. Think they tend to fall sick easily. My gal merely goes JG thrice a week and they sanitise all toys and clean the floor after each lesson. Saw them doing these, quite impressed with thei std of hygiene. My gal only tends to have fever at times.

Only been to Barker Rd 2x. Quite like the place & facilities. Admin & principal has been helpful too. Lucky got AM session next yr. Past 2 yrs no AM session for pre-N.
It's abt 1.3k per term. Also placed my gal on Ascension waiting list. Ascension is full!

Hi, can I join you guys? I am also looking for a childcare centre for my son. Had a very bad experience with a school and pulled him out immediately, now having a headache on whether getting a school with montessori or integrated normal programme.

Have been reading the past threads, but finally which schools did you decide? I also stay in north area (ang mo kio)

sally - did ur child enroll in ascension?
anyone?
seems quite interesting from the alst yr's discussion...

care to shed some light?

sally - did ur child enroll in ascension?
anyone?
seems quite interesting from the alst yr's discussion...

care to shed some light?

Anyone has comments and feedback on MMI at ten mile junction or at greenridge shopping centre? Both centres are in the west. TIA.

I am thinking of sending my gal to Montessori Language Enrichment Class. Please may I know where I can find one? Any recommendation?

yongwd

Does Montessori have enrichment classes during weekends? Any good Montessori schools near Balestier/Potong Pasir area? Tks

could i get the views from the mummies who have sent their kids to montessori school before and the kids are now in primary school? are your kids coping well when they move up to primary school, in terms of curriculum, socialising, etc?

hihi, i hope this thread is still alive. anyone heard of greentree montessori in yishun?

Monetessori is one of the best programmes for children. My neighbours swear by their philosphy of teaching.

Too bad Gymboree stopped. This was another good physical program for kids.

Yes Jennifer, I am also a Montessori supporter!

My son has attended a Montessori school when he was 2.5 yrs old for 4 months. Had to switch him to childcare after that due to personal reasons.

I can see the difference!

I am looking for some physical programmes for my dd when she is 6 months or older, does anyone have recommendations other than gymboree?

what would you like to know? my ds was there for 4 months. It's a great school

i like to know more about the teachers (esp whether they can manage such a big class - 24 kids, teaching style etc). I am considering to switch my son to this school in Jan.

Is Irene the principal there?

Rae,

You can check their website for the fees. Think about SGD700+/mth now.

Enya,
From what I know, their teachers are from Sri Lanka and AMI trained. They speak good english (not singaporean english, but some may have a slight Indian accent).

My son was in the afternoon session, class a bit smaller, but the teachers are able to manage. No problem, the kids are always busy with some work. They follow very closely to the AMI standard. So if you are looking for authentic Montessori education, this is the best school to go to in Singapore (from what I heard).

My only complain about the school is they do not allow parties and little social interaction among the kids (as it's a 3 hour class). Also no excursion at all during my child's 4 month there.

Other than these, it's a wonderful school.

Irene is the administrator , but really she's the main person in charge of almost everything. She's a very nice lady.

thats my main worry, the kids there look so serious, and they don't seem as happy as what i saw in other schools. what do you mean there's very little social interaction? i thought the kids have playtime at the playground? and no excursions???

enya, it is a great school and I am speaking from personal experience. The quality of teachers and teaching style are probably their biggest strengths, but personally, I don't think their Chinese curriculum is very strong. Though I am sure it will be sufficient for kids to survive P1, but perhaps not thriving unless parents are doing some preparatory work at home/with other classes.

The kids are well-behaved because the class is always well-managed. Not rowdy. But it is true there is very little social interaction and playtime is virtually non-existent. No excursions till K2 level and even then, you probably get about 1 or 2 in the whole year.

I'm considering enrolling my daughter at MMI Alexandra (PSA), any feedback on this centre?

Went to the one at West Coast. The kids look happy, teachers seem nice but the building is old and there's not much of an outdoor play area

Don't go to the one at WC! Sent my girl there for trial lesson. The teachers look like they need to be in school themselves, cannot speak proper English. They don't give enuf supervision. My girl injured her finger - crushed by another kid closing the door! All they said was - oh poor thing.

hi there

could anyone comment about the quality at LITTLEHOUSE MONTESSORI along sembawang road?

headache looking for a sch...

Hi happy,

I'm also keen to send my girl to MMI Kovan. You managed to get any feedback?

Feedback from other mummies would be appreciated too.

There are so many different montessoris! MMI, baby planet montessori, brighton montessori... Are they all similar, just different owners/ branding? Any feedback?

I've heard good things about baby planet. My friend who is an early childhood teacher says that they're quite progressive and the lessons are fun and interactive.