Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

hi felixcat,

Basically i find that KKH nurses dun like to inform us about wat is happening. i have to ask and each qn only merit an answer.

the doc didn't prescribe anything for me, Dr Tan was the one who performed the procedure for me yesterday, but he was in a hurry cos there was another lady pending the procedure. So now i'm still blur blur as to what is happening.

why do we need to test the blood 1 week post the iui?

I am back. I was on an overseas business trip and my mom went for her spine correction surgery last friday so I was pretty tied up for this whole week and only have time for a small breather. Later going to fetch my mom home from hospital.

Hi Northvirgo,

Good luck to you and don't be too gan jion during your 2ww. I think e reason for the blood test 7days later is to test your progestrone level to see if it is high, i.e. possible chance of pregnancy. My gynae very funny, he says the test is irrelevant since in another 7 days, you will know the final result already, so he didn't ask me to go back during my 1st SO_IUI.

Hi CreateJoy,

Sorry to hear that all three of us are not successful this time round. My husband is also not very sensitive towards my emotional need during this difficult time. He always feel that we can try again if this round of fertility treatment fails. I told him of course you will say that since you are not the one taking the metformin and daily injections (w ugly bruising at the stomach somemore).

My 2nd SO-IUI is not going so well, 1 dominant egg growing at a very slow rate. sigh... During my 2nd scan last sat, actually have 2 dominant eggs growing in my right ovary but when I went for my 3rd scan yesterday, the 2 eggs have disappeared and I almost passed out on the bed!!! Luckily the gynae found a egg on my left ovary (but the last 2 scans don't have one leh). Did anyone has such a weird experience?

hi ruru cat

thanks for the info. i agree that hubby also not too sensitive towards such issue. Think to them they are more analytical, they will think that not successful this time then try the next time lor. They dun really understand the stress and pain that we are undergoing.

Lucky i got this website to voice out my concern and to share the experience with u all.

it sounds so weird about ur egg disappearing. how can it disppear? did they see wrongly in the first place??

welcome back ruru cat!

don't worry. one egg is enough to strike.
dun be too stress out.

when i was on clomid at kkh, they usually recorded 3-4 follicles growing. but when i was on clomid at a private gynae, the doc only saw 1 follicle. i checked with the kkh nurse as i was on the same dosage but i was not responding the same. she said that what they had recorded may not be eggs but cysts. they can only differentiate them when they read the growth rate. she checked my records and confirmed that there was actually only 1 egg while i was on clomid (even though they've recorded 3-4 "eggs" growing each time). the junior doc who was reading all these never tell me that!

did you ask yr gynae how the eggs can disappear?

and yes, the hubby thinggy. they don't understand what's going on basically as they are not the one that has to do the injections and travel to the doc to do scans every other day. they don't even need to be present on the day of the iui. i had problems getting him to take the medicine that the doc prescribed for him and now that the next iui will only be in aug, he's stopped taking them again.

while i still take my folic acid faithfully... unfair...

Hi FelixCat,

The gynae was equally shocked as me, he said the possible "disappearance" could be due to my PCOS condition whereby my eggs stop growing beyond a certain size and disintegrated into the background of the ovary (not detectable by the scan).

Another strange thing is in both my SO-IUI, I always inject only on the right side of my stomach as there was 1 time I injected the fertility medicine on my left side, I think i hit a blood vein and blood just shot out of the injection site so I very scared and never injected on my left stomach area until the past 3 days becos my right stomach area is so badly bruised and painful. Then the scan pick up an egg on my left ovary (and the 2 potential eggs on my right ovary disappeared). Does anyone have a similar experience as me? I.e. u keep injecting on 1 side of the stomach and the eggs only grow on that side of the ovary?

I have discussed with my husband and if this time SO-IUI fails, I will go for 1 round of IVF. The reason for this decision is becos I want to know if I am producing "egg-less" follicles (more common condition in PCOS woman). SO-IUI cannot see whether I have such a problem. If the IVF result is that I do have egg in my follicle, then I won't be so worried and maybe revert back to SO-IUI if I want to. What do you ladies think?

Hi Northvirgo,

R u taking metformin? any bad side effect?

hi ruru cat,

the nurses at kkh asked me to inject on alternate sides and i had quite a no. of follicles on each side - 7/8 each but only 2 prominent ones. i also wondered if where we inject would affect where the follicles will grow. but then think the medicine should not be only affecting the injected area?

they told me to inject below the belly button level as there are a lot of blood vessel around the belly button. did you inject near the belly button the other time when you hit the blood vessel?

did the gynae suggest ivf the next round? my gynae also mentioned that since i've done so many iuis, the next step will most likely be ivf. but first a natural cycle before we decide. it may be good for you to try a round of ivf if this cycle fails. the success rate is much higher and like you said, you can check if your follicles are ok to begin with.

Hi Northvirgo,

Ha..ha.. the fact that you need to ask me waht is metformin for means that you don't need it. So lucky, metformin is actually an anti-diabetic drug with a secondary use of treating woman with PCOS condition. My side effects are very bad, since the drug controls my sugar level, I am feeling sian sian the whole day and my concentration just sucks. I also feel like sleeping the whole day.

Hi felixcat,

My current gynae can't do ivf, he will need to refer me to another specialist. He says I should try at least 3 times of SO-IUI before moving on to IVF but as I don't need to travel in july, it would be ideal to do IVF. If I do the 3rd round of SO-IUI with him in july, then I have to wait until september as I need to travel again in august. I can't do a natural cycle as I can't even ovulate on my own every month. Maybe this is the solution for you, no pressure whatsoever and suddenly, hey, you are pregnant!

You are also so clever, I did inject around the belly button area so that is why hit blood vessesl lah, ha..ha... I will try injecting below the belly button tonite. Thanks for the advice.

hi ruru cat,

no lah, i'm not clever, the nurses told me one.
remember not to inject directly below the belly button. it should still be either right/left side but below the belly button's level.

we'll see how it goes in the natural cycle. now still hv to wait for af in jul to do the scan first. suddenly like nothing to do (abt getting preggie) so not so stress out.

hello,

now waiting for 2 weeks to pass by b4 testing if preggie or not. So sian, so anxious to know yet unable to. My job also real easy, unable to help me while time away. hope that time can pass by fast...

Hi gals! wow today then i learn that having a follicle doesnt means having egg?? me so confused.. only thought it's about size and quality... ya this mth i intend try natural seems less stress prob still got a wk then ovalution so the feeling haven kick in. PCOs can natural or not? i very confuse. can i just try on my own , preg then faster see doc? but then since gynae say my womb lining thin i wonder is it better i try under progestrone influence like last cycle but i felt the progestrone mk me felt worse when it fails i'm worried it accelerate my endometriosis condition mk another cyst come back sooner...

Hey northvirgo wish u good luck oh! wow biang i really envy u gals doing the injection so bravely, i think i will freak out! i'm just too timid... i know mothers have to be brave but i seem to lack in this area.. mayb that's why god think i still not ready for a baby...? well but i thought it's part of life, as i go along i hope to learn & get used to it and get braver.
take care gals! good luck to all of us the coming jul!

RuRu cat, sorry for replying late as I have been travelling too...I read that u have bad side effect when taking metaformin..me too...now my gynae had switch me to another slower release form on Metaformin drug called Glucophage
Maybe u can check with yr gynae.

Me now having my menses..after that tink gynae is putting me on Yasmine (birth control pill) as hubby travelling before starting on my 1st cycle SO-IUI....

Hopefully all is welll...

ah kat

Hi Ah-Kat,

Me on Glucophage also. Taking 2 500mg tabs daily. Feels so low-energy and can't focus. Luckily tomorrow doing my IUI so I can stop eating the medicine during the 2WW. U are doing your 1st SO-IUI? I am on my 2nd round already. Hope you strike lottery and win on your first bet.

Hi, CreateJoy,

A woman with PCOS tends to have under-developed follicles so a natural cycle is not easy. I have regular menses all these years but didn't know I can't ovulate. What I mean by "having follicles doesn't mean having an egg" is like this - imagine the follicle as an egg, if this egg doesn't have an egg yolk, then the egg can't developed into an embryo. This same theory apply to human as well, the human follicle is just the sac that protect and nurture the egg inside until it is "ripe (the so-called 18-20mm size)" and it will automatically release the egg inside to travel along the fallopian tubes to meet the sperms.

Hmm, regarding your question of whether using progestrone to improve your womb lining, I think quite important leh. Perhaps u can check w your gynae whether progestrone will cause your endometriosis condition to come back sooner.

Yes, good luck to all ladies trying for a bb in jul as well.

Hi Ruru Cat,
My Glucophage is even higher dose then u! 850mg 2X daily...So far, I am still taking it quite well...except sometimes might get some side effect...

Yeah, just called gynae today and supposed to start on Yasmin from tomorrow..seeing him July 14...

Wish you luck too!!
I think this is very impt despite all that we are doing now..

ahkat

hi northvirgo,

the earliest time to check is the (expected) 1st day of your mensus and in the morning (1st pee). but as it's still very early, a -ve doesn't necessarily mean a definite no. and you may want to test again if your af still doesn't come.

but if you get even a faint line (+ve), there's a high chance that you're preggie. you can wait a couple more days to check again or if you're really impatient, go to the doc for a blood test.

understand clear blue (test kit) is quite good. i use that too. but unfortunately, that long-awaited line has not appeared so far ....

Hi Ruru, can you explain to me again...? i still blur so if the follicle no egg inside then how will IUI help? cos if its empty it's empty no matter the sperm get into it or not isn't it?

I had the blood test today to test for hormones, the nurse told me the result is 159.2 and it means that i have ovulated. So basically it doesn't really help me right?

hi northvirgo, i guess its telling you that you have ovulated and should have a good chance cos unlike some of us here dun even ovulate. hey today it's your day what from your last mense?

Hi createjoy, thanks for the info. my af comes once every 37 days. long right? definitely i will not be getting my af now, in fact it is scheduled to come after 17 dpiui. sianz liao...

Hi Northvirgo,

Since you are on your D10piui, you should be able to test with a DIY pregnancy kit (clearblue is the recommended choice among gynaes, like what FelixCat says) in the next 4 days. In theory, by D14pIUI, if you are pregnant, your urine will contain traces of HCG which will be picked up by the pregnancy kit.

Don't test too early if you took a HCG jab to induce the LH surge as it may result in a false positive in your kit. If you took a 10000mg jab, then the drug takes about 10-12 days to discharge out of your body (thru urine) and if you took 5000mg jab, then 8-10days.

If you are very "gun jiong", you can go to your gynae for a blood test on monday, the result will be quite accurate by then. If not, just test at home 1st. During my last SO-IUI, I tested myself on D12piui, negative, then I went to gyne on D14piui for blood test also negative. sigh....

Hi Createjoy,

You are right to say SO-IUI doesn't help if I have eggless follicles as the sperms have nothing to "mate" with. SO-IUI assumes that as long the woman has mature follicles and the sperms are ok, you should be pregnant after a few tries but if not, the gynae can't tell you what is wrong. IVF is very scientific and can identify the reason behind the infertility. That is why I am planning to go for a round of IVF if my 2nd SO-IUI fails.

Thanks ruru cat, today is only D9piui, so the earliest i can try is on next wed. Looking forward to it. I did take the HCG jab to induce my ovulation but i'm not too sure about the quantity. I'm starting to have af systems now and i'm so scared that my af will come.....

So how is your progress?

I've a colleague try both method (3 times IUI and 2 cycle of IVF). All failed. She has egg genetic problem and husband also has some problem with sperm quality. Seeing her suffer so much from all the stress for every trial, I feel sad for her too. End up she took our advice (from few collleages) take a break and in the same time have a try for TCM, supringly she get pregnant naturally two months later. Perhaps you gals can try out if find this way is too stressful? Just a suggestion

Hi everybody, I'm new here.
RuRu cat, I think your follicles shld have eggs, cos after the IUI, you have menses ...that means you ovulated, but the egg did not get fertilized, tat's why u have menses. I think so.

My case is even more weird. I had my IUI and 14 days later my menses still did not come. Now is already 28 days after IUI, my menses is still MIA (2 weeks late). Pregnancy test kits is negative. Nobody can explain why, not even my gynae. I am now taking medicine to induce menses so that I can start my 2nd round of IUI. Hv you guys experience such before?

Seems a lot of confusion here!
Anyway, just pop in to say Jia you!
Take it easy...me just accidentally bump into hubby's classsmate who got married later then us and now the wife is pregnant - do not even have the courage to walk over and say hi...sigh...

ah Kat

Hi ruru cat, do you mean that if we test earlier there might be a false positive due to the medication? but if i test earlier and the result is still negative? does it mean that i'm not preggy? oh dear..

hi northvirgo, yea, if test too early, there might be a false positive due to the HCG shot. If u test early and the result is negative, it does not mean u r not preggy...just that ur body did not produce enough HCG during early pregancy. For more accurate results,u can test it again when u miss ur menses or few days after missed menses.

Hi joy, thanks. I tested negative on d9piui but when i tested today (d12piui) it shows a positive. So now I'm confused. My menses is a 37 days cycle so definitely it will not be coming till next week (hope it doesn't!!).

Haiz, still have to wait till Sat for the blood test? Does anybody know if i can request for KKH to do it earlier?

Dear Northvirgo,

What Joy says is true so there is a real possibility that you are preggie. On D9piui, when u test negative, it could just mean your body is more effective in purging the HCG shot out of your system. By D12piui, a positive is a real high-hope scenario. I really don't think you can take the mental stress of waiting for sat for the blood test (at least I know I can't if I were you!!!) Please call KK to ask. Another solution is to walk into any private gynae clinic and ask for blood test to confirm pregnancy. It takes about 4hours max to know lab results (so don't go too late or else next day then know result!). I am so happy for you and really hope u can let us have good news soon!

Hi Joy,

The monthly menses a normal woman experience should mean that the lady ovulate, the eggs pop but didn't get fertilized, the womb lining sheds itself in the form of menses (everything is synchronised).

But in my case, I don't ovulate (this part spoilt) but the womb lining still works and thicken in preparation for the eggs to implant, but after waiting around 2 weeks with no fertilised eggs in sight, it shed itself (we have menses). That is why I have regular menses all these years and I didn't know I have a ovulation problem until I went for testing. Having menses doesn't mean that all other parts of the "production factory" are working properly.

My gynae told me that having a baby is a science not physics as there is no clear and cleancut formula/equation to follow and results vary. Don't be too bothered by the failure in your 1st SO-IUI ok? I was devastated when my menses came during my 1st SO-IUI but now I am more zen on my 2nd round of SO-IUI. I will be going for a blood test this sat. Wish me luck!!!

hi northvirgo,

this is exciting! i hope u striked!

if u are going to a private gynae, suggest to go one in a hospital. they hv labs in the hospital so the results will be faster. like what rurucat says, go in the morning, then you'll hv the results on the same day.

lots of baby dust to u!

Hi Northvirgo, yea like RuRu Cat, I too think there's a very high possibility that u r pregnant.

RuRu Cat, yea, it's quite disappointing ... It's like somebody played a big joke on me...cos for IUI, when menses dun come, it's good news... but not for me. My menses did not come, I have spotting during d6pIUI...n I thought tat was IMPLANTATION BLEEDING! I have mild cramps for weeks till now, starting d4pIUI....'implantation spotting', crampy feeling, ironically r symptons of pregnancy as well. But I'm not pregnant.

Anyway, I have finished the course of medicine prescribed by my gynae on sun, menses 'shld' come today or 2ml, I was told. Ohh, n I will be doing SO-IUI for my 2nd cycle, my first cycle was IUI (clomid). R the self injections painful? i'm really scare.

Hi Joy,

Is there a reason y your gynae prefer you to do SO-IUI this time round? Is it that clomid doesn't work or you are more keen on more aggressive fertility treatment? I tried 2 rounds of clomid and my follicles were undersized both time so I moved on to SO-IUI.

Hmm, please refer to a post by FelixCat to me (on an earlier date on this thread) on the best injection sites so that you won't hit any blood vessels and faint at the gushing blood (ha..ha.. just joking lah) Seriously, the self-injection pain is tolerable lah.

Wait until you have the HCG injection (administered by the nurse 24hrs before IUI on your buttocks), that injection is REALLY painful and I nearly screamed!

Share with u something, when I was on my 1st SO-IUI and was on the 2 weeks' wait (2ww) period, I went to surf the internet for possible preggie symptoms to look out for, and you know what, of course I developed all the symptoms lah and I even told me husband that I could be pregnant. But on D10piui I tested negative on a pregnancy urine kit and overnite all my preggie symptoms disappeared. Then my menses came 4 days later and I realized that my heart yearns for a child so much that pyschologically my brain told my body to have those symptoms. Sounds so pathetic right? So this time round, I am totally chill out and except for tender breasts, I am normal (or it just an early warning that I am not preggie again!!!! ha.ha..)

Hi Joy,

My last cycle has the same time problem with you.
Ovulated but AF never come. I waited and waited tested always negative, finally day 90 then went to see gynae, confirmed that I ovulated but she also doesn't know why my AF didn't come. then waited and waited again. over 100 days didn't come, so i went to GP to ask for the medicine to induce it. then 5 days later AF came. So frustrating.

Same as Ruru also, when you keep thinking you are pregnant, all pregnancy symptoms will show.. then suddenly all gone and you know your AF will come. so devastating...

Now i'm also waiting for ovulation time again.

Hi RuRu Cat,
Mine's an 'odd' case to begin with. Since teen, I don't have regular menses, maybe 3 or 4 times a year only...n getting worse as years go by. I was not really bothered until we thought of family planning last yr end. That was when I began to seek treatment.

I was initially given clomids (3 cycles) to try conceive naturally but did not succeed. Ovulation test strips never worked (I bought 4 packs 20 strips every month, total 60 strips for the 3 cycles!), but blood test showed that I ovulated with clomids. Uhmm, seems that my body just does not function according to what is expected.

After the 3 cycles and all the done tests on my hubby n myself, I was advised by my gynae IUI would be a better option. Due to the late ovulation, my gynae felt that SO-IUI would work better. For my first IUI (clomids), follicles grew 2 slow, n I only had 1 mature follicle on the day I was given HCG shot (D18). My gynae told me it was a follicle that grew well and contained an egg when she explained the shape and 'pocket' of the follicle. My HCG shot to induce the ovulation was ok, not painful. Maybe cos my gynae was very gentle, and she knows my threshold for pain is real low.

Hi Vi4n, yours was a natural cycle or a IUI when menses did not come? Did you get a HCG shot to induce ovulation?

Hi Joy,

I haven't try IUI yet though if no good news by end of this year, then will go for SO-IUI as advised by gynae. I don't know if you consider mine as natural cycle or what, but i'm taking TCM for ovulation as don't want to take too many cycle of clomids also.
I used ovulation test kit and detected ovulation on CD 17 but then like what i told you, AF never come until I induced it after 100 over CD.

After inducing last month Ovulation came on CD 13, and AF came on the CD 28. But this month no ovulation yet and today is CD 14.

How do you girls encourage yourself ah? especially the waiting time after ovulation, you know the anticipation whether AF come or not. Then when AF come, how you pick yourself up again?
Sometimes when AF come, i just don't have the will to wake up.. If can really wanna just lie on bed and don't move.. =(

Btw, any advise whether to do IUI in private hospital (TMC) or KKH better?
And can someone explain to me the whole process of SO-IUI, say if do at KKH?
The waiting time, the queueing time, need to move around or not? like go 1 place to another place?

Thanks first for the info

Hi Vi4n,
ohh, TCM can help induce ovulation? That sounds good.

The 2 weeks wait for me, is still ok. Maybe 'cos I m quite mentally prepared that it might take sometime for me to get pregnant.

IUI is ovulation induced by clomids while SO-IUI is by injectables. Hmm, for more detailed information, you can get it online. As for private hospital, private neighborhood clinic or KKH, I guess is really up to individual. I suppose the most important thing is you are comfortable with the gynae, that he/she is professional and knows his/her work...and mayhaps also your own convenience (eg is it tiring to travel every 2 days to scan for follicles growth/frequent follow-ups... etc).

hi vi4n,

i've done 6 iuis with kkh within 1 yr. looking back, i should not hv stayed with them for so long. i've only seen my gynae for 4 times in the whole year... and the iuis were performed by different doctors (junior) each time.

my gynae was a senior consultant but i did not get any 'more superior' services, even though i am paying a higher rate. ended up paying this rate for the junior doctors as my gynae's too senior/busy to handle these cases which i suppose is not as complicated as IVF.

the 1st time i saw my gynae, he recommended 2 natural iuis, which failed. the 2nd time, he recommended 3 clomid ius, which also failed. then 3rd time, he suggested to check my tubes, which turned out fine. 4th time, recommended either ivf or soiui. i went for the soiui, which failed again.

the problem is there was no review after each iui, he only saw me after multiple iuis to review my case, which i think is not sufficient. imagine only seeing your gynae once every 2-3 months when you are actually doing iui every month.

the good thing abt kkh is that there's basically only 1 stop - IVF centre (where the nurses handles everything - blood tests, injections, paperwork, explanation of procedures) and iuis are performed there as well.

i've been to a private gynae who is in paragon but uses the services at mt e. the problem is on the day of the iui, you have to go to mt e to submit the sperm specimen and then collect after a couple of hours to bring it to the paragon clinic.

i'm now with a gynae at glenagles. figure out it's probably easier ... at least you will be moving round the same building, if needed.

Hi Joy and Felixcat,

Thanks for the explanation..
That's what i'm afraid of if go to KKH.
At least at TMC, everything also in 1 building though i think more expensive.

For SO-IUI we need to monitor the follicle every 2 days??? i don't if i can arrange my work time like that. That's why till now still reluctant to try IUI.

How much do you pay for the SO-IUI at KKH, or your current gynae? I was told about $2.5K at TMC by the nurse.

Yah since seeing TMC the ovulation did appears in the ovulation test kit. because other than taking clomid, last time really i don't ovulate one loh.
Only the Feb cycle went haywired don't know why also, though ovulated but af missing.
Now praying hard for ovulation to show this month.

I think you girls are very brave, went through so many IUI cycle or IVF and face the failure with positive attitude.
I told my hubby, i don't know if can take the failure if going through IUI or IVF. Especially when the situation is miscarriage because if these procedure is high chance for miscarriage, right?! but i really wanna 'feel' being pregnant. If you miscarriage, at least you know you can get pregnant. don't know u get what i mean or not. but if ask me to go through miscarriage i also don't know if i can take it or not.. haiz...

hi vi4n,

the cost at kkh is 1k plus (think around $1200-1500, depending on the medcine the doc prescribed, progesterone is quite ex).

there are times when i wonder if i should give up but then, the reason why i go through all these procedures is because i want my son to hv a little brother or sister so that he will not be so lonely. he will be 6 this yr. it is quite sad to see him play alone and talk to himself.

with the current difficulties in conceiving now, i can only say that i was very lucky when i had my son and i think it was a miracle. now, i need help to make the miracle happen again.

so, all of us should jia you!

Hi Felixcat,

hah? cheaper by $1K.. btw, may I know which doctor you consulted at KKH?
but i think my hubby will prefer for me to stick with TMC.

Oh you have 1 boy already, just keep on trying.. =) if you can pregnant before, you sure can again. just keep on trying.. We shall all keep on trying.. hahahha..

Hi to all,

Yesterday I saw the newspaper article of Nicole Kidman having her 1st natural baby at the age of 41! I thought past the age of 40years old, it is almost impossible for a woman to have her 1st baby? She is really lucky. I wonder what will happen to her 2 adopted children? This is a thought I have - for a woman to have her own baby (after trying so damn hard for so many years!), how can she NOT show favouritism towards her own child over her adopted children? I know I will, so I will only adopt when no fertility treatment (or I run out of $, ha..ha..) can made me conceive then I will consider adoption.

I wonder what happen to Northvirgo? In her last post, she says her pregnancy test kit is positive and after that, we never hear from her again. Hmm...mayb she has joined the MTB thread already. She is really lucky to strike 1st time man.

Hi, Vi4n.

I have the same reaction as FelixCat that you can ovulate based on TCM? May I know what is your infertility condition? How long did you take the TCM before you tested positive for ovulation? Which TCM did you go to?

Mine is PCOS whereby the follicles tend to be underdeveloped every cycle so I don't even
ovulate. I tried 2 rounds of clomid (no IUI) and is on my 2nd round of SO-IUI now. If I still don't strike then I am moving on to IVF for my next cycle.

My personal opinion is that you should stick to your gynae in TMC if finance permits. Personal attention to you by the gynae during this difficult time of trying to conceive is very much needed. Usually the nurses in private gynae clinic are also very caring and answers your qn no matter how trival it is. I heard there is this famous fertility specialist, Dr Paul Tseng, in TMC. R u consulting him?

Good morning everyone,

Yup, my comment to my hubby about the Nicole Kidman's news also the same. Plus i think why so weird when she was with TC, they can't conceived and once they separated each can have own kid? So what's the problem here?

ya wonder if Northvirgo really have good news to share with us..

Ruru, My problem is only i don't ovulate on my own. With clomid i did ovulated but my gynae said not a good egg, then increased dosage but still no success and i have all the symptoms from taking clomids, mood swing, sore breast, nauseous, double vision. So after 4 months of clomids we decided to switch to TCM. We went to this TCM called IAG at Paragon level 7.
Since I took the TCM, i still ovulated each month. That's when i just stop clomid the next month started wit the TCM. My TCM main concern is to make me ovulate naturally.
In fact my colleague who has problem in ovulation (period only come when induced with medicine) after seeing TCM (EYS Paragon Dr Xia Rong) also managed to have her period without inducing, but for ovulation, because she did her BBM incorrectly so the Dr can't detect the ovulation yet. She seen this TCM for 3 times.

My gynae is Dr WK Tan but she referred me to Dr Tseng for the SO-IUI loh. I haven't see him yet because we are still wanna try TCM before try SO-IUI. But my sil was his patient and successfully conceived a baby boy about 2 years ago.
But her work is flexible type loh as in anytime can go off to monitor her eggs growth, she can just do that. Where else me, how to?? i don't even know how to tell my boss about it. haiz..

hi vi4n,

my gynae was dr sf loh. understand he has quite a good reputation as well but like i said, i only saw him 4 times in the whole year i was with kkh.

i hv doubts abt adoption as well. i'm afraid i will not be fair to the child (especially when i already hv my own son). i hv no confidence to give the adopted child the same level of love/care as my own son. i've seen on tv a case whereby this u.s.family adopted an indian child but they later claimed that the child was difficult (he was only 2) and they have problems establishing bonds with the child. it was one of those talk shows and the pyschatrist told them that adoption is not like buying something that they think they want, it's not something that they can simply return if it does not meet their expectations.

i believe that children are very sensitve and they will respond if they feel that they're loved. so if the child is feeling distant from them, they should reflect on themselves instead of blaming the child and saying he's difficult.

there's also another issue abt what/when to tell the child and how your family/relatives will react. they may look upon the child with 'coloured spectacles' and may not accept him/her. i've a friend whose sister adopted a boy from china. he's abt 10 now and we met at some social function. it was quite weird when my friend suddenly whispered to us that the child's adopted. i was quite surprised that she was telling us that. it's not our concern at all. and i felt that they still treat him like an outsider.

so ... the conclusion is ... adoption should be the last option unless you are very sure that you can give unconditional love to the child, regardless if you strike later or not.

Thanks Felix for the dr's name. I think is the same doctor my colleague is seeing. First still think when decided to do IUI will go to him also loh, but once i read your experience, i don't think so lah though can save $1K can buy a good handbag leh. hahahha..

ya.. hubby and I also didn't consider adoption. I don't know if I can bond with the baby because like no process of bonding like if you are pregnant. Adoption is like suddenly baby in your hand. Jus like when you are carrying another person's child be it he is your nephew/niece or good friend's baby. I just don't think the bonding can just come like that. But if you say 'Ok can try first, maybe the bond will come later' but if later find out really can't bond, then it is too late.. you can't just return the baby mah..

hi vi4n,

actually a bit confused. r u seeing your doc at tmc (thomson medical centre) or using tcm (traditional chinese medicine)? or was it a tcm at tmc? ^-^

Hi Vi4n,

Can I have a bit more information about the IAG TCM at paragon? How much is each session? How often did the physican ask u to go? Do u c the same chinese physican everytime? Is there a long waiting time even if you have an appt? Is it just medicine or got accupunture? Do you have to chart your basel temperature daily? Can the TCM physican identify your problem even before you tell him/her? Sorry, ask so many qns but this is the 1st time I read in motherhood forum about a TCM physican being able to help a woman ovulate without western medicine help concurrently (or can make you ovulate within such a short frame of time 1 cycle), somemore you don't even have regular menses in the 1st place. Very impressive!

Oh btw, do u mind telling me your age? I am 31yrs old. Just want to know as age does matter in the treatment process. Maybe you are very young and that is why respond well to TCM but my mature eggs may not...ha..ha..

Oh btw, I think Dr Paul Tseng runs a night clinic at woodlands (not sure still have now) so you can go in the night for your scanning. He does IVF also but because I stays in Jurong, I think the travelling to TMC will kills me so I plan to consult an IVF specialist in Mt E (my current gynae doesn't do IVF).

Hi Felix,
Confused?? don't be. hahah.. My gynae is Dr WK Tan from TMC. And I'm taking TCM medicine now from IAG TCM at Paragon.

Oops i think Dr Tan referred me to Dr TC Cheng lah.. Don't know if it is the same with Paul Tseng, but i don't think he ran another clinic leh. But if this Dr Paul Tseng is really still have a night clinic at Woodlands then will be very good for me since i stay there. =) Maybe will google him shortly.

Hi everyone! hey northvirgo i think u bingo so not writing here already, congrats oh! haha if i bingo i think i will tell u gals when i 3 mths haha i very bandang cos lost two already getting more & more precious! was told not to disclose till three mth but i did tel my parent & sis & mgr & my huuby tell his mum then his whole family knew haha so when i lost it was damn hard to come out of it.. oh oh by then, i hope i be reading a diff batch of pple here haha & see you all at MTB. sigh anyway this mth or rather this week i tried on my own if strike then faster see gynae get hormone support.

for me, i notice i have extreme phobia so seeing doc often make me very anxious & tense. this mth felt better no chest pain though sometime felt abit tense. hope ladyluck will smile at me this mth. yeah i use the ovulation kit too from d11 to d18 still no firm double line aiyah be it lah i just guess do on d13,d15,d18. then yday fever dunno if it will affect the sperm trying hard to swim sigh...

hey gals, i think if we taking some hormone support & injection it's normal to feel breast sore leh. It may or may not be true that we think too much & feel we got preg symptom but it's ok to be happy (as long as you dont despair when you are not). afterall positive thought make one happier btw when i was preg the other time i had instinct also leh & i read some books say pple really have instinct.hey ruru cat i think 31 still ok right i'm 28 & the doc always say oh you still young still can try dont give up. is 35 the mark?

felixcat you really lucky liao at least got one. i dont who is worse the one who been try hard to get or the one who get but lose like me. sometime i think those trying to get once they strike they tend to get to keep.wherelse the one who lose b4 fear for the 10mths...haha i guess either one we felt the hearthache and the $ ache... i saw a photo of my sec sch friend on facebook sigh those preg wear little show tummy w hubby one... she got married later than me and sigh she gonna be a mum soon how envy sob sob...

good luck oh!!!

Hi Ruru,

I'm old liao loh.. 33yrs old.. 2 years older only lah. hahhaha.
This TCM at paragon not as expensive as Dr Xia Rong. Per session is $36 consultation + medicine depending on the ingredient and how many weeks you take. For me, normally 3 weeks medicine cost about $100. For accupunture, I did ask her (lady doctor), and she said since I did ovulate so no need to accupunture wor.. so good lah because i don't like the accupunture feeling also.

Yes, Hubby & I see her only. Dr Yan Jing Ru. Waiting time not long less than 20mins, if Sat even faster. I don't think this clinic is famous loh that's why not too crowded. But hubby is comfortable with her, very patient and will explain things to you with graphic. And since her medicine does help me to ovulate so i stick with her for now. Because everyone has been praising Dr Xia Rong so tempted to change to her before trying for IUI.

Actually yes, need to do BBM if not how she knows you ovulate or not, but since i used ovulation test kit, I will be the one telling her Day what and what i ovulated loh. But i still take BBM from CD 9 onwards to confirm that I indeed ovulated, can't just trust the machine. Kiasu lah.

As the same with all TCM doctor outthere, you will still need to explain to her all your basic problems loh. TCM can't 'scan' you like western medical mah. Just like hubby sperm count, need to do test and showed her the report loh. then she will prescribe the medicine to improve it, which helped also.

When 1st month i visited her, i still take clomid (last dosage) and she said it is ok to mix with her medicine with about 1-2 hours time difference lah. But after i finished the clomid, i only take the TCM medicine.

She has successful patient like 3 months pregnant already. I've seen her for 7 months. haiz..

That's why if by end of this year still no good news yet, either will try Dr Xia Rong, or just straight away try SO-IUI lah.. if wait again, i think at 40 maybe then I will have my baby. That also if lucky hoh...