Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

jennylow,
ya..was quite pissed abt it.n tat day hb called to qns her on it,n till nw she din even call bak wif answers..tink she's trying to avoid it..
haf yet to go in search for new maid.. really headache.. mum insist wan indo christians,but tis agent only haf phil, den my aunt recommend agency left only 1 indo christian,mum c face dun like,so i told her no more liao.. den aunt say agency say their myanmese quite gd n beta den indo.. i duno hw true n if i wan to take the risk after reading so much abt myanmese maids here.. sigh.. really in dillema now...

celtricia,
my maid too.. avoid my question when asked her why go back to agency? anyway, she is packing her stuff now while im typing this.
really dunt noe wat to do with maid. guess if your maid dunt want answer, means they will shut up and hope tat you will forget about this incident loh.

how come your mum dunt want phil maid leh? i think lately a bit hard to get indo christain unless go other agency or wait..i quite afraid of myanmese maid leh as they dunt noe alot of things esp language prob.. they will nod their head when you ask them do things. but they understand a not, its another story.. you might have to try and error.. but a bit risky lah.. really headache leh..

jennylow,
sorry.. was toking abt agent.. not maid.. heh.. abt hb asking agent y din inform us tat maid ran away frm her prev employer.. as for maid.. we din even tok to her..

mum feel tat phil maids too smart n scheming, she dun like their wrk attitude.. sigh.. problematic.. told her phil maids a lot.. but indo christian limited.. den she wan to go try other agencies..i tell her go try lor.. but scare she kena con..sigh.. i also scare to take the risk to haf myanmese maids.. really duno wat to do..

maids nowadays like to threaten employers to leave. i also kanna from my maid, so when my hb told her she has to pay for her own air ticket if she does not finish her contract, we told her how much the air ticket will b, n she decided to stay put

she is with us one yr, after deducting her loan, she really has not much $ to take hm with or w/o paying for the air ticket.

maids abit abit not happy 1 2 leave, hoping for greener pastures.

erm, but now with new rule, regardless or reason for wanting to leave, employer have to pay their airticket right? So now also can't really use that to "scare" them into staying on...

CSI_Fan,
i think agents and employers are still using this tactic to "scare" the maid. i think can use it verbally and not in written lah...We need some way to control the maid rite? Can't be employer at the maid's mercy?

oh ya,
those with fresh indo maid, do ask them how they dispose of their pads, was talking to mine yesterday and it is TRUE that they have to wash before throw!
But she was already aware of SG practice cos she had neighbours who worked here before. Phew!

ya with new ruling cant use this tactic anymore, but like Ivy said still can use in verbal not written.

even with or w/o paying for the air ticket, they still dont have much to take hm after deducting the loan.
wat for cum to sing to work for one yr then take hm little money juz bcos of throwing tantrums

need some advise, I feel like a bad person. cos my indo maid is going home next month, she has already bought herself a huge luggage to pack her things and seems ready to go home but last night, she asked

1. can renew her contract by one more month?

2. can buy her a luggage? cos agency says all employers will buy a luggage for maid to go home

3. can give her one day off to visit her sis who lives in the east side of Singapore, I stay in the west.

to all her request, I have said NO. because
1. her work permits experies in mid sept, and she has worked for 2.5 yrs. I have enough of all the tales that she has carried to my parents & MIL

2. She has her pay every month, and has never used her money to buy anything cos we provide.and I would prefer to give her goodbye angbao

3. contract says no off day

I have been reading in newspaper/maid activists groups about being kind to our maids. But how? yesterday I say NO, this morning, maid use the mop to clean floor, hit all the furniture loudly, show face, bully children.

feels quite victimised by my helper

mommies may I know if agency will help send a maid home? cos I scare latter take cab bring her all the way to airport, then she demand more things before she is willing to clear immigration.

MTIA for advise
harriet
am really feeling frustrated.

harriet, i tink agency can help.. but there's a charges. but doesnt mean agency send she will not try anything funny... is she afraid of ur hb? if yes, get ur hb to go with u to send her off. maybe u can take her pay, only give to her at the custom check before she go in the check pt? tell her u cancel her work permit aldy.. if she dun wan to clear dan have to go jail.

harriet,
I think you should definitely say NO to 1 and 2. As for 3, personally I feel that a day off does no harm.

I have used an agency who helped me to send a maid to the airport at a charge of $35. But that agency already closed down. May be you can try calling the agency you used before ?

Actually once the maid is at the airport, there are many policemen there, she will not dare to do anything.

Don't need to feel victimized. If I were you, I would simply pretend that I did not hear any of her demands. If she keep insisting, I would say that I am poorer than her, cannot afford to give her so many things.

In fact, I do feel poorer than my maid. I heard that she has a big house in Indonesia. While I live in a tiny HDB flat.

Added more maids to the blog. Make sure you check out this blog before hiring a new maid.

http://singaporemaidcomments.blogspot.com/

hi harriet

1. if she have enough of all her crap n nonsense or mind her staying for one more mth then dun extend. honestly if she were to do all dat when u refused her requests, there is no need to extend at all

2. must buy luggage meh? i m unaware of such a rule. i didnt do dat when my maid finished her contract n had to go hm

3. day off or not to visit her sister is up to u.
u dunno wats on her real agenda.

i have an attitude problem maid as well. but i tell her she is not to show me n everyone in my hse her black face. she is here to help me n not to give me more problems. u have every right to tell her off when she shows u black face n start to hit the furniture etc

imho, no need to feel bad to refuse her requests.
even if she demands more things, u can always say no.

get agent to send her to airport cost ard $50? i cant remember, i did ask b4 when my ex maid finished her contract. i wanted to save the $ so got hb to escort her by mrt to airport.

Hi mummies, do you heard of any black magic using stone? my common bathroom(the maid using)..has little stone, dont know from where..maybe maid pick up when she ferry my girl..my FIL throw away and the next time,there will be another stone..FIL tot of black magic.

I saw a used pad on the bathroom sink, no stain, maid leave it there..later, I saw unwrap in the dustbin..I think my maid wash it before throw. I didnt ask her..but agent also said its normal to do so.

My maid so lazy...my toddler drink milk before sleep at 8pm...maid when to sleep at 9plus..I noticed there is a full milk(in milk bottle) by my toddler bed side at 10pm.. I checked the milk bottle in the kitchen..as I suspect, my maid lazy to wake up n make milk. My toddler finish drinking after 8pm..next feed might be mid night or early morning around 5am.

By 530am,I went into children's room, maid n toddler still asleep..I saw that bottle of milk stil full and cold(sleep in air-con,since last night was already there by 10pm)...

Before 6am, my toddler cry, and maid straight give that cold milk to her..I asked,the milk from what time? maid said..hmm..from 1am..I said,make new one. The milk is so cold, so long even from 1am(I know she lied)..when maid bring the new milk, she past to me,standing outside the room near the door(want me to feed), I told her, you come in n feed.

I quickly go to kitchen n check, the cold milk is there, she keep behind the tray,where we put vacumm flash(dont know what she want to do with that cold milk,anyway,I pour away)..I counted the milk bottle in sterlizer(untouch milk bottle) and I'm sure that milk was from 10pm..OMG..

No wonder now my toddler cough, flu..and maid never tell me..when I ask,if my toddler cough/flu/ot well?.. she only said like this lor..

Maid stil can tell me, her previous employer's son(toddler,she taking care) see doctor at least 3times a month.

She is so LAZY n smart with her short cut, excuses..not even a month with me..I'm going USA soon, wait till I come back, she can do what ever she want but in my hse. She has to LEAVE! Arrgh..

The Wednesday version of My Paper reveals that the maid contracts sign on or after Sept 1 will NOT attract the current levy of HK$ 400 (S$ 69.41) per month..

When can our govt implement such a thing leh.....????

Eileen, my working friend, tot I have problem, thats why I keep on changing maid.. and my expectation become lower n lower..till I realised, I want to have high standard..can I hire 'Batman's butler? When I watched Batman, I really envy he has a good helper, which understand n know him. I must be dreaming. Anyway, dream no need to pay money..wahaha..

I told my hubby, how can we down grade our standard/expectation when we keep on getting lousy ppl.. we should stand firm on what we want.

My current is too selfish, she can cook for herself as she dont like our chinese cooking, and dont bother if the employer have food to eat.. which my hubby has to cook fried egg for himself. Most of the time cook instant noodle for my children.

I only trust my family/children/hse to Lord Jesus when I'm travelling for next 2weeks.I know God will protect them. Even maid do black magic, cant harm us.

Jo, ur maid is incredibily horrible.. Pre-made milk since 10pm!! for nite feed!! i wldn't even allow the milk to stay for more den an hr if my kids dun drink it... n ur maid so gd life still slp in aircon rm ah.. i guess its due to ur kids.. but if u ain't gg away.. guess she'll b long gone..

As for ur wrking fren.. sigh.. some of my frens also tot i haf prob.. even though i've only changed 1 maid n d 2nd one ran away.. they tot the 1 tat ran away was becoz i ill treat her.. damn pissed.. we shld nvr lower our expectation.. till nw i've yet to find a maid.. i tink i gg bonkers soon..

Celtricia, no choice I have to torelate her.. I nearly asked her to leave my hse last weekend. She is just too lazy causing her so dirty. Washed meat, can soak in pale n do washing on top,let the dirty water went into the pale with meat inside..so lazy to take away the meat 1st before washing.

Still can act very well, can cried immediately, after the new employer interview her(4kids n another due in Oct)..maid cried n said want to work with me again..full of nonsense.

I also sian, talk about maid matter..

Only employer of maid will understand, no matter how well u treat the maid, its still the maid herself..if they choose to run away, they have their own set of problems..just the employer's luck. Sadly, most maid are here not seriously want to work. We heart pain on the cost/money when we need to change maid but maid so steady/dont bother abt the transfer fees n anyhow ask for transfer. Seem maid are more rich than employer.

Jo, i totally understand ur nid to haf the maid ard, since u r gg away.. sigh.. all those postings i read abt ur tis maid is seriously like u say lazy.. she's a phil too right? we seems to b manipulated by maids at times.. as wrk n kids situation really left us wif no choice but to change till we find a suitable n gd one.. whh is like striking lottery.. sigh..

Ya, i agree wif u tat only employer of maid will understand.. those wif no maids their comments i simply detest.. Argh!! At some pt i even put it in my msn tagline.. hahaha.. to ask those ppl to keep the comments to themselves..

celtricia,
oops, sorry.. i did not read it properly. most of the agents are like tat loh..
i sent back my maid yest.. to my horror, she told my MIL tat she is single but with a ger. i asked the agency about the biodata as there stated only single with no kid.. then the agency just acted blurred and sounds shocked. damn irritating..

myanmese maid a bit hard to trained. i dare not take leh..

harriet,
i think No for #1 and 2. but off day perhaps you can give her out of goodwill.

jo,
wah, i think your maid very lazy leh.. the milk from 10pm till the next morning, how to let your toddler drink the cold milk? so crazy.. guess she cant look after toddler tat well leh..
when i told my frd, i wana changemaid too.. she aso said why? must be i got high standard.. but then i think not me got problem but is the maid loh.
hope you can find one better when you are back from your trip..

jo,
your pil are at home rite? Can't they help to monitor the maid? How can the maid cook instant noodles for the kids? Maybe you shld draw up a menu?

jennylow,
np.. its ok.. ya i tink most agents r like dat.. damn pissed.. can't trust them at all as they r out to make money..
i read a lot of -ve feedback abt myanmese maids, tat's y am tinking twice abt getting them, but coz hb's colleagues majority myanmese, he was telling me they cld help to translate or get msg across.. so i will c hw tings goes lor.. n hope its workable.. praying hard.. sigh.. being maidless is terrible.. i was on mc on tues n wed but since i can't tahan the dirtiness on the flr i use magic mop to clean it.. n its damn dusty lor.. wah liew.. duno hw long i can last menz.. juz feel like mopping flr n washing toilet.. but the tiredness is killing me out.. sigh..

celtricia,
i agree with you loh.. most of the agents just wana make money.. and never bothered about services..

if your hubby's colleagues can help to translate, then not too bad.. can try if it works.
ya, being maidless is very siong.. me have to depends on my auntie to pick my ger from cc loh. while i have to handle all the household chores and my bb son.. luckily my mum helps me out yest and today.. at least i got a small little break to study for my exams today.. as for next week, will see how..hope you and i can get our maid soon and for long..

Anybody has any comments for Crislo and LabourExp? I saw their ad in June newspaper $88/$77 for agency fee but now its increased to $288/$277. I wonder if they adjust their agency fee frequently?

jennylow,

ya.. hb was saying myanmese pride v strong, cannot scold..everything muz say nicely den they will do well.. haiz.. c how lor.. find gd n suitable maids really hard..

wah.. u still studying ah.. steady lor.. i dun even haf time for myself.. dun say study..

pantone,
labourexp is a supplier cum agent. My agency got their indo maids from them.
Yes, they up the fees now cos shortage of supply lo...when supply increase then they lower the price again. But i think hard arh cos the supply of indo maids are getting lesser.

Ivy
Thanks for your reply. Actually I'm not in the hurry because my maid's contract will ends in Mid Nov. I wanted to engage another one early for training and for my son to get used to the new maid. Do you think the agency price will be lowered next month?

Jo, Celtricia - u r not alone..I also changed several maids and 2 of them ran away and frens thot i was the problem! I ended up not telling them my problems - i only tell those who would understand...esp you guys here!

eileen.. ya.. we can all sympathise wif each other here.. coz we r all facing similar problems.. but sometimes moody.. juz wan to say out.. haiz.. if tell wrong person.. we become the evil n bad employers.. sigh..

celtricia,
Thanks for your review. I have included your review in my blog. Please refresh.

http://singaporemaidcomments.blogspot.com/

Agree that many people do not understand why we need to keep changing maids. Some employers of FDW who are very lucky to get a good maid the first time, will also not understand what we are going through. They tend to think that people like us are not doing the right thing, when in fact they are just more lucky than us.

My maid 2yrs ex sin Indo, 2 children, aged 10 n 2.5yrs old.

Any maid that dont close properly(just place cover on top)milk powder tin... My toddler's milk powder is Gain IQ 1.8kg per tin.
My maid is to lazy/difficult to close the tin and just place the metal cover on top, plastic cover on top..even lazy to press and leave it.

Biscuit for my children, keep in air-tight tupperware, where you need to press.. maid also just place the cover on top(not press), not tightly closed..

The way she keep dry umbrella(fold)...just tight with the string attach...can't she see,its so messy, bulky, crumple..well,I still have to keep quiet..n tolerate...

Wash bathroom, also wash half way(I feel like scrubbing the floor myself,cant stand so mouldy)suppose to wash weekly,maid just wash alternate week,and tell me wash liao..

mop floor,leave the corner have spider web.. mop only where we walk, already told to mop corner, yet she still do her way.

I dont know why she cant accept when I want to correct her.. to tell her to do things, complete and not half way(chin chai).. didnt scold, just tell nicely, cant accept?

Jo

You are not alone. My maid worst, when am not in, purposely bring my son out , let her mop my parque floor, she just use magic cleaner with dry paper to clean away the dust and assume that she has wet mop the house....I got so fed up that I told her that she only mop the house when am home....cos I can see her mop.

This morning, table top, kitchen top not even clean. Ask her why at 8 am, and she woke up at 5.30am, and all this not done...she said going to do later...sigh,.....excuse every time.

Yes Joy

I agree with u. My current maid wakes up at 5am. Yet i see tat alot of things are not done when i woke up. I wonder why she wakes up so early to do nothing.

Jo,

Your current maid is really CMI- Cannot make it. If she was mine, she will get left, right, centre and upside down from me. My blood is already boiling when I read your posts.
How can she give cold milk to the baby? I will force her to drink it first before giving it to my kid! She doesn even love your kids! Dammmn..
Sack her!

Cel,
Try not to hire a Indo Christian. I have a very bad exp. Indo- Christians are not javanese. They are Bataks. Bataks are actually cannibals. They are converted to Christian when the missionaries visited their villages. They have supper strong personality and may not be receptive.

Jo,
Your maid is really lazy man! She only need scrub bathroom once a week and still cannot do it clean?? I think you should tell her to do and redo over and over until it's clean. Better still, make her do it everyday because her once a week job is not clean enough. Is this the one who can tell your neighbor you are dirty! What a horrible excuse for a human.

My maid scrubs my bathroom every day and mops the floor every day too! I have 2 storey and she has never complained and it's always clean. To me this duty is very basic and I don't see how she would not do it right! Has she really got 2.5yrs experience and her ex employer allows this standard? Wow...

With regard to closing the milk powder tin, no need to explain to her already. Just tell her like this "after you make milk close the tin properly. I do not want to see it not closed properly again".

This kind of lazy boh chap maid can throw back to Indo already. Can't imagine anyone would want her man....she would not survive a week at my place.

hmmm...which maid will really love our kids? At the end of the day, it's not their kids...that said, there are some who really like kids (it's in their character)...

tamarind, thanks..

Jo, ur maid no heart to wrk liao lah.. can send her bak areadi.. but u leaving soon for biz trip right? den how?

ribenagr8s, issit? cannibal? sounds scary leh.. aiyoz.. but hw to tell my mum.. she won't even understand.. sigh.. but i may b hiring myanmese.. c hw first.. thanks for ur feedback on indo christians..

Celtricia, dun ever get a burmese maid. I saw my friend's burmese maid to be ok, so i tot i wl get one too. Well, regret.

1st maid - filipino - looks decent and was an undergrad in education, work very slow, always dig her nose and mouth, sms/use hp throughout whole day (her hp hv chinese/bangla men's hp nos), always have new clothes and have a shocking red bra/underwear which were not in her bag when she first came - where do they come from?

Stole my husband's money and clothes and sold them/exchanged with other filipino maids.

I sent her back home after 4 months plus.

2nd maid - Burmese, appear to be honest and decent.

1st day - bathe, never close the bathroom door.

3rd day - called her Burmese cousin and speak for more than 1 hour from my house when I went out and asked to buy hp & asked for off days.

3rd week - she went out without my permission to call agent to cry and ask for transfer saying that she can not get along with my two kids (7 & 5 yrs old) and my kids beat her.

She also told my daughter that all men are bad and she hates men.

Waited for agent to send biodatas for replacement, very slow.

2nd month - now, the Burmese maid told my daughter that my house got ghost from day one that she was here, every night, kept disturbing her for a few times.

U think she is making up stories or some mental problem and have hallucinations?

My house has been blessed by a pastor and got no such problems!

She also have the same dream very often, food chasing her, so i told my daughter to tell her next time, chased the food back and eat them up. From that day, onwards, she stopped telling my daughter about this dream.

This maid came from a broken family, father got second wife and abandonned her and mother/brother/sister.

She only bathe once a day and sometimes never bathe at all, washes her hair every few days and never wash her hair for the whole week that she has her menses. My daughter asked her about it, she said her mother said can not wash hair. Well, her mother is not here in my house to monitor that.

Burmese - too much culture difference and find them too weird.

'owwhhh' ..., my burmese favourite word, when we call her, she always answer owwhhh - tink they r a bit siao!

yr burmese maid sit cross legged to mop/sweep the floor? Mine did that, but i dun bother to correct her liao, let the new employer tell her off!

My friend said that my burmese maid very cruel, telling a young child everyday (making up stories or really hallucinating) about ghost disturbing her in her sleep everyday & that there r ghost in our hse! Tell the adults, why scare a young child!

Uncivilised/barbaric - when I asked her u sure u want to transfer - she acted very uncivilise/barbaric/defiant and repeated more than 10 times - Ya, ya i want to transfer, change employer, change employer, yes, change employer, want other employer.

I brought her to ride on the Singapore Flyer, got no expression, she make her black n boring face! Just sat on the floor to peel her fingernails throughout the 30 mins ride! Siao liao!

Burmese maid - terror, her day 01 in my hse - never close the door when she bathe and pass urine. Can see her rubbing soap on her body! 2nd month - Pass urine - caught her more than twice liao, can see her sitting on the toilet bowl & even hear the urine sound from the dining hall.

Burmese maid - does not like cooking (can not cook)& she told me that she does not like children - only do hsework, so employ her for what, only hsework, omg! Until now, i got to cater to 'tingkat' food.

In general, i tink burmese maids r not good with children.

Every night, bring 1 cup and 1 big container of water to her bedroom, when I asked her, she said to drink, siah ah, 1 big container of water – maybe she sprinkle the water in he prayer to chase away her imagined ghost ba.

My siao burmese maid called me on Friday, she asked me 'mum, i want to know whether u hv found another maid already' kept asking n i told her it is non of yr biz. I asked her why, she asked me she wants to know the name of my new maid. Finally, she said if i hv not find, she wants to continue to work for me, she does not want to chg employer liao. She is so siao. U tink i shud keep her?

Kanna sai, actually i've read abt ur comments n the other threads abt burmese maids.. Thanks for ur concern.. N juz to let u noe.. i seriously banned myself frm hiring them when i 1st read what u haf posted, but hb feel tat we shld give it a try..

Firstly i wanted to try it out coz hb's colleagues r mainly myanmese whom some haf become PR n they can help to tok to the maid n make them understand certain wrk flow, etc.. So i tot y not give it a try.. n 2ndly, am currently having a part time myanmese helper.. i find her quite gd.. except i tink she's not suitable for hsehold, she's hb's colliq's relative.. so juz haf her first to clean n iron clothes while we find a maid..

I hope the try will b a positive one.. n not end up scaring my kids.. coz for phil maids.. i really gave up hope liao.. as for indos.. still looking also lor.. but well since its near their New Year dun tink i'll b able to get one so soon..

Thanks..

hi celtricia, oic, then mb yr hb colleagues can help u to choose yr burmese maid, then u may hv a bttr one. Remember, yr hb only work with them and the coll dun stay at yr home, so u all hv not seen how they r at home lor, only 8 hrs a day, u dun no much.

Burmese maids also is our luck but overall i found that they r really weirdo ... all the owhhhhhhhhhh r the same.

They r all bo kia see - not scared of anything lor, so lk u threaten for transfer n etc, they no expression n dun care one!

Generally, burmese r not good with kids.

Hope u find a gd burmese maid la.

i think every nationalities have their good and bad sheep .. it all boils down to our own luck of getting whether the good or the bad ones ..

celtricia,
if the myanmese maid pride are very strong, then a bit hard to train leh.
just have to try and see how... cos perhaps your hubby's colleague can help to tok to the maid and follow your way.
hehe. no choice loh, i have to study as only got diploma.. so need another cert.. else my pay will always remain low..

jo,
think your maid like my maid.. no heart to work here.must be thinking of her family.
tats why anyhow do liao.. cos my previous maid aso like tat. ask her to do something, then she will do.. else stay inside the room and stare blankly..

alamak,
i do not think i will want this maid.. a bit crazy loh..

Jennylow is rite, it is not only difficult to train but difficult to ask them to do something lk, i want to ask my burmese maid to do something, i hv to ask her ... can you please help me to bathe the children ... can you please help me to cut the veges ... as if not her face black black.

One thing gd abt my maid is she is very hardworking and has got initiatives which is why she is still wiz me n why i was considering to keep her lor.

Kanna sai, i understand ur pt n where u coming frm, as hb is wrking under his uncle's company n we do mingle wif the colliqs as well.. n hb do spent more den 8hrs a day at times wif them n sometimes overnite for a few days.. i tink shldn't b a prob lah.. juz haf to trust tat all will go well.. coz i give up lookin for maids thru agency.. so hope tis round will b my final.. its really tiring..

jennylow,
wif regards to their pride, i also scare leh.. coz if scold them when really buay lun sure got prob liao.. plus nw i preggie i get irritated n flare easily.. sigh.. so told hb tat he will haf to handle lor.. juz hope all turns well..
i also diploma leh.. but hw to study.. so bz wif wrk, kids, hb n maid..where to find time.. no energy liao lor..