Advice on Myanmar Maid

Hey my email is something wrong.
I can't find "send" button and can't reply you.
If urgent, u PM ur contact no and i call u!!

Has anyone heard or engage the service of Legend Manpower agency in bedok?
This one only do Myanmar maid and the fees strcuture very different from the others.

Hi heNshe,

Email you liao...

===========================
Hi Hopefully,

How different is the service? care to share? Thanks.

cheerz

Hi mommybaby,
its 1300 plus 2 months maid loan for fresh maid.
fresh maid salary only 300 + 20 if no off day. even their ex-sin is 350.

Hi hopefully

that's very affordable! how's the quality of the helpers? some agencies don't provide training...that's why they are able to charge lower rates i think.

Hi Hopefully,

oooo.....The price is cheap for getting new maids...
I think i paid almost 2k that time when I got this maid.

I'm renewing my current one for another 2yrs.

Actually i even increase the salary for her upon renewal next yr...stupid anot har me...but when I think my kids are in her hands..den I think better make both parties happy so hopefully nothing happen (cross finger)..haiz...this is the problem with working mother n no parents free to help...

Dare not get new one leh...cos nid to redo the "training" to my style...lolz..that's the problem haha...

Well, thanks for the info. hope it's useful for mummies who's getting new ones...thanks.

Hi mommybaby

Yah...i agree with you. It's always good to keep your current helper if she is doing fine. Mine is returning home after her contract because she misses her child and hubby.

SuperhappyMummy,
If you happen to read this post, pls take precaution of the hair keeping incident. My helper was telling me that it is not the usual practice and if your helper did that, there might be something fishy.

hello mummies.....

Anyone had any contacts for renewal of the PP by agents? I need to renew my maid's passport. Appreciate if there's any help. Thanks.

==================================================
Hi heNshe,

That agent is not doing the renewal now cos he claims the waiting time in the embassy is very long now, so he's not doing. Thanks for our help.

cheerz

Hi heNshe (henshe),

Thanks...actually today when i bring my maid to send money and I ask to her to ask around liao. I ask her to collect any namecards if any, and she took 1 with the cheapest price ($50). She told me some charging $70.

I called and ask. The agent told me I cant renew yet as her pp oni expired in Feb 2011. and I can only renew from Dec onwards. He told me the maid also need to go down together to the embassy cos the embassy dont extend the pp but change a new one and they need her thumbprint.

I'm not sure, cos if that's the case, den I still need to take leave cos if the maid is not around, who's going to look after my kids...and moreover, I find it like not very safe to let my maid follow that agent, who's a man...... What happen if anything happen or I might have created a chance for them to exchange numbers and who knows if there's any "follow ups" there after...haiz...so i think still no choice, both my hb n me nid to take leave ....cos the maid also dunno how to go to the embassy, must send her there n wait with her...zzz

so no choice lor...haiz... very mafan. I even called my maid agency and they say they not doing the renewal. ask me go renew her pp n they oni do insurance n wp...which i can also do online lor.

2 words - very troublesome....dunno y their pp validity date so short one. make things so tough and troublesom to employ them..haiz....

Well mummies, thanks for your contributions for my problem...thanks.

cheerz

hi viv,
So far I am quite please with my maid, she is a transfer so she already got used to life in SG. English not bad, profile stated she has some teaching in kindergarden experience. As for training in household chores, the owner admit that it wasnt fantastic type like some agency claim, only the very basic.
According to this owner, he said he dont charge the maid such high loan cos already so poor thing got to borrow money to come here work, he also dont want to make life difficult for them.
My friend got one from Jack F, which claims got training centre, the maid came with no knowledge at all, got to teach from scratch.

I am also going to renew my maid's passport and that's why I chanced about your messages regarding passport renewal.

I just called Myanmar embassy and they NO longer do passport renewal. They only issue new passports.

From what I understood, we now have to go down 3 times instead of 1 and the maid must go down personally by 9am.

1st time - Pay fees and tax, get documents ready
2nd time - Submission of documents
3rd time - Collection of passport

Things to bring according to the person who answered the call :

1) Letter from employer stating how long the maid has worked with us, her salary

2) Original Passport and Work Permit

3) Photocopy of Passport and Work Permit

4) 2 colour photos

5) Money for tax = 10% x monthly salary x no. of months worked

6) Passport fees = $150

The above are what I understood from the person who answered my call. Hope I got it right as I am going down this week to do these things.

Hi JL (grandemummy),

Ya, I that's what the penisular agent told me also, the embassy not renewing but issue a new one, thus maid nid to go down for her thumbprint also...

Can you let me know how the things goes after you had done the renewal? Cos I'm thinking of doing it end of this mth or early next. Would appreciate your advice then....Thanks a lot!!

cheerz

Hi MommyBaby

I went down today with my maid at 8.45am and our queue no. was 60 something liao.

You need to write her name on a piece of paper at the counter.

As I have something on, I asked my maid to wait there and call me when she is done.

She called me around 11am to say she can go off liao. The appointment date is scheduled at 29 Dec 2010, which is more than 1 and a half months !!

My maid told me through the phone that the payment of tax will be next appointment. So, I think this trip is just to get an appointment date and fill in some forms.

I am a little worried as my maid's WP is expiring end Jan 2011 and the appointment on 29 Dec is only for submission of documents. I asked my maid about this and she told me that she did checked with the person there and that person said that the passport will be in before WP expiry (sigh...let's cross our fingers!)

From your post, your maid's contract ending in Feb 2011, so, to be kiasu abit, I think maybe you can arrange to go down ASAP liao.

Again, to be on the kiasu side, pls prepare the things which I have listed in my 1st post before your 1st trip down (just in case).

Will update you again after next appointment.

Hi JL (grandemummy),

Eh, really appreciate your updates!!

Oh dear, they are really slow!! But without the PP, we cant get her insurance n wp to renew first... Hopefully on 29 dec you can get the passport ready, as in morning submit documents n noon the pp to be ready for collection...but i doubt!!

oh dear, i think ya, better go down fast... haiz... I hope 2x should be enough...I cant take so much leave...just started my new job... haiz..

But JL, how u draft the letter of employment? you wan to PM me? Today you din submit any tax $ or the renewal $$ rite? No $$ involved today?

1) Letter from employer stating how long the maid has worked with us, her salary
2) Original Passport and Work Permit
3) Photocopy of Passport and Work Permit
4) 2 colour photos
5) Money for tax = 10% x monthly salary x no. of months worked
6) Passport fees = $150

Hi MommyBaby

No worries, glad to be of help.

Erm.... I am newbie so I don't know how to PM heehee

The letter is very simple and can be something like this :

Dear Sir / Madam

This is to confirm that [maid's name] ([passport no. and WP no.]) is under my employment since [date] and has been working with us for [no. of months] months. She is drawing a salary of S$[salary] per month.

Yours faithfully

[Employer's Name]

I do not think it is only 2x. Most prob, passport collection is another day. Very sian !

I totally understand what you mean cos for us to bring her down, I have to arrange for one of my SILs (their off day) to look after my MIL (the maid is looking after my MIL who has difficulty in walking). Then, I have to activate my mum to help me bring my 2 kids to school. So, its like got to activate the whole village !

Yup, my maid said today did not involve $$.

Very paiseh to say that what I did was just to bring her to the embassy and went in a while to have a look and then I let her wait there on her own and once she finished, I asked her to take taxi back. So, the info I have is based on what she told me on the phone.

But like I said, just to be kiasu, get everything ready first for yr 1st trip. I very scared of all these consular stuff because once you lack something, you have to go down another day again because everything is very rigid and what they want they ngeh ngeh want it. No flexibility or anything, so better to be VERY prepared !!

Hi JL (grandemummy),

ya, that's the problem....whole village must activate!! lolz..

no la, if I were u, i will also do the same thing...i even warn my maid that I will get my hb to bring her down at ard 6.30am to let her queue den he will come back. cos it's funni to let my hb to wait together with her there doing nothing..

And I cant bring her down myself cos my hb may have problem taking care of my kids...we are living alone, nobody to help us as all our parents are working...

wah i cannot imagine they nid the person to go down 3x just to do a pp...zzz....that is really very "efficient"!!

Yes it's very sian...i even think of sending my maid back n change a new one...haiz...so lay chey...lolz...but wont la...else i got to "retrain" everything...zzzz...arhhhh...y cannot do online!!....zzzzz

eh, thanks for the letter template!!

cheerz

Hi MommyBaby

The embassy opens at 9am. If you are bringing yr maid at 6.30am, then maybe she has to wait outside the gate. I am not sure what time they open their gate.

If you are letting yr maid wait there on her own, I think you don't have to bring her there so early. My queue no. was 60 something when I went there at 8.45am. At 11am, everything settle liao. So I think this new system is also to help us in such a way that we don't have to go there so early to queue.

Kekekeke I did think of changing new maid because of this (same like you !!) BUT like you said, if new one still got to retrain, so its even more sian. Furthermore, my current one is really not bad. She is very "seng moke". When my MIL was at St Luke, we employed her and she has to go there to learn how to take care of my MIL. When we go visiting, when she sees us, she will automatically go and take chair for us. Then at home, when she hear us talking about eating fruits or children wants to drink water, she will quickly go and do it.

When she was here initially, when we give her instructions in English, it seemed like she don't understand BUT hor, what she did was what we wanted. So, meaning she actually understands. She also got to learn Cantonese as my MIL speaks only cantonese. So that's why I also reluctant to change to a new one.

Hi JL (grandemummy),

My maid went down today...She reached around 8am and got ticket no.42. Our appointment date is on 3 Jan 2011.

She just reach home now at 12.15pm. So long hor...but at least still in time to cook lunch haha for my hb n kids.

I was so worried n I keep calling her as I pass her my HB spare phone. According to her, she say 1st got a ticket number n they got to fill up forms n wait for turn to go into a room to check the PP n forms. After which, they need to wait again but faster this time to get an appointment date I think...

Wah really thank you so much for sharing leh, else I will wait till early Dec den bring her down.. by den dunno get which appointment date liao...

So for those who have maids where the PP is going to expire, better go at least 3 or 4 months in advance haha....

Will keep posted...you let me know again kay....thanks!!!

cheerz

I'm planning to get a myanmar maid. Is it possible to let me know which agency did you get yours?

It seems most agencies specialises in philippines or indonesia maids...

Thank you in advance.

Hi MommyBaby

Wow, you are a fast worker ! kekekekeke better to be safe than sorry. So that's why must quickly go.

You are very welcomed. Happy to be of help !

I now truly under why my friend with 3 kids, live in landed and as a working mum did not want to employ maid... Like what she said maid bring out the bad side of one.

With them around want to eat, sleep and not doing their work as u expect, I find it very frustrating and dun knw what to do about it.

My maid from Myanmar put on 5 to 7 kg within 4mths. Everyday she eat rice like nobody business (one whole plate pack like a mountain)... When come to 11pm, she can drop all work and just want to go to sleep no matter what is not done yet. Think she got better lifestyle than my mum (who stay with me to help look after my kids)

Heaven, if you refer to my earlier post, mine is from legend manpower agency.
I went to United Channel before (in the end didnt get my maid due to passport problem), and even $50 bucks refund also want to drag for weeks (have yet to collect my refund).

how do you let your maid call back myanmar?

Eanx, yes my maid also can eat a lot of rice. But at least she only sleep when she done her work.

Hi Hopefully,

Thanks for your reply... being around asking...seems that experience burmese maids are hard to find...

Legend is a bit out of way for me but will give it a consideration.

Agree with Eanx, buy them calling card... it is much cheaper.

Hi hopefully (hopefully),

Me bought her phoenix calling card too. I bought her 3 cards altogether of $10 each and there after, I told her she can get these cards to call as it's cheaper.

I think she's quite smart n she understand what I mean, n she bought her own with her $$.

But first time she bought some dunno M-cards or other brand ones. few cents cheaper but it got expired very fast and in the end, she wasted $6+ cos the card still have $6+ left when expired.

She told me n I answer her, bcos I did some survey (by asking ard) and phoenix card is still bit better....Then she guai guai go buy the phoenix card. But of cos, she limit herself else $10 keep calling, all her salary will be gone.

I think made them buy their own cards are better cos they will not keep calling as they are using their own $$$.

But my maid also call pple in Singapore...she say her fren, here n there lor...zzzz.... normally if i received calls looking for her, I will ask her. N i restrict MEN to call her... She will tell me her uncle or father...God knows if it's the true. But I do warned her, don give our home number away to ppl. I don't mind her giving to her family but not others....she will explain that her family give away one....sian rite...

Well, I told her if it keeps happening, I will cancel my phone line n change to another number....maybe I'm paranoid but I try to minimize the threats that may happen to my children at home with that stranger...

Heard too many stories on how maids tied up with the man outside to bring harm to the family/kids when the parents are away at work. Not only on monetary issues, but I have girls at home...so can't help to be worried. sign... Just hope there are ppl who can help me oversee them while I'm at work.

Keeping finger cross everyday.....zzzz...

Very loh soh....paiseh...My suggestion is also just buy them prepaid cards that's all hahaha......

Hi mummybaby,
What u said are all valid. Cos I realise alot were said by MOM to protect FDW, and not employer (ESP the old and young that are left at home helpless in the maid hand.)

There are so many news nowadays on how family members suffered or got murdered by the FDW and yet not much news of how the FDW are being punish.. To ward those FDW

Hi Eanx (jaceanx),

Ya true har...they should also show on TV like what is the punishment FDW will get if the broke the law here. So far, if I remember correctly only 1 case i saw on TV.

Wah, last night on the news also show a 12yr girl being thrown down....suspect is the maid but not confirm...it's so sad. I see liao very worried.

The maid agencies should have give out slips of paper to quote some examples on what is the outcome if they broke laws in Singapore. At least to let the maids know that it's not worth to commit crimes in a moment of anger and regret being hang or wad and die in a foreign land....

At least must let them know there are laws here... cos many of the FDW also comes from villages, and I think it's better to emphasis again to them when they come to Singapore to work. Maybe they are doing it now already but you never know when a person's craziness will act up...chong dong...

Actually it's going to be a problem in future la. Most family live on their own now. Parents also may not want to help to look after cos you may not be the only child, if help one child, the other sibling's child also may nid your help. Therefore, nowadays, most in-laws or parents all would prefer to go work.

And if you really wan kids, you can only get helper or look for childcare, where infant care is not cheap, cc also ex, after school care also got prob.

I still believe at least 1 parents must be around to discipline the children. School also cant do much. My previous place got an afterschool care centre. The children there are quite playful n many big kids in the centre cos afterschool care can up till 12yrs i think.

I actually find the centre quite noisy, wonder if the kids will do their homework in the centre anot after school. There should be 'teacher' around to oversee the children but wonder if the "teacher" is just another person around just to make sure the kids are in the centre. I dunno if they really care if the kids are doing the homework or not. There are even older kids who misbehave (like ganster) in the centre, where I happen to see them outside the centre one of these days.

Definitely I believe no parents want to leave their kids in centre where there are "ganster-like" behaviour where they spend most of the day in the centre.

Thus, I also don feel good to put my kids there when I do away with the maid in future. Although they don mix with them, but "watching" too much of such behaviour will go into the brain n grow roots....and one of these days, the seedling will start to grow.

I also dunno how. Both parents nid to work to get the $$ to survive. Kids born, no one look after. Parents working or too old to help look after. As parents are too old, we nid to get FDW to help but space problem will come in. House small, how to accommodate parents, maid, kids n parents...zzz.

How? lolz. Very tough. that's y i think even thou the freebies are there, but still many Singaporeans still don wan to give birth to complicate things haha.....

God Bless.....

Let's hope Singapore pass a rule to let Married women with kids to work half day but get full day salary n we can go home to spend more time with kids, to read with them, do handicrafts with them, do creative things with them, bring them to many good places where they can learn thru play.....This will also ease the maids' load as they don have to keep facing the kids n may not have so much crimes with FDW also hahaha....

It's my wish....I really hope to do so many things with my kids, but no time...

1 yr only have 52 weekends, meaning only 52 Saturdays n Sundays.

Saturday - Enrichment classes
Sunday - Family time, visit both parents, outing, reading with kids, playing with them, catch up with our own frens --> ALL IN 52 DAYS A YEAR.....how to achieved??

Anyone can advice haha....maybe should choose to ignore everything haha....zzzzz

Hi mommybaby,
where to get the phoenix card? I ask my maid how she call back she said using card on her friend hp. Just 1 month with me already ask for off day go church (initially beforehand i told her no off day, she agreed!!) So regret taking a christian maid.
What to do, got to let her go if not emotionally unstable take it out on my son worst still. I limiting her to 3 months 1 off depending on her performance. If the call card dont have expiry date then its good, I will only buy her once.

For those myanmese maid going to that Karen Baptist Church in Thompson rd, Do they really need to go for the morning, afternoon, evening services? Wont the services be the same thru out the day? My maid said she attending the 3 services. Cos I ask her to attend 1 session and come back, I will still pay her off day salary. She said not enough time praying!

I warned her if she went out with man and get herself pregnant, I have to send her back, and its bad for herself only.

Hi hopefully

my maid told me that she did not want to work for me when she was here about 8 months. i did not say anything or do anything and she did not press for me either. but after few weeks when i was more free i started to call agencies asking for biodata etc. then she started to get worried and told me she want to work for me only if she can get off day. i told her i can only give it to her when children are having school holidays and i also list down other things that she has to follow. eg no showing of black face to sir, must respond to children when they ask her things. and i will give her off day when she prove that she can be trusted, and she can finish her work. sometimes, i think they are just 'testing their limit'.

u can get phoenix card from those shops selling phone cards, or phone accessories. i got it from some shop at $8 or $8.50 for a $10 card value. yes, is much cheaper than using skype or mobile phone.

Hi mommybaby

i was one of the lucky few to be SAHM these few years.. but when i was working, i also 'inspired' to do so many things with kids.. but once u become full time, somehow times are spend on other things. eg shopping for groceries, read newspapers, get enough sleep, cooking,shower, feed them, run errands... so no need to feel too bad.. maybe sometimes quality time is more better utilised for ftwm..

i told her to pay for her own phone bills. i also don't allow her to get mobile phone.. i will give her incentives, eg red packet for birthday, shifting house. but those extra bonus will be paid only she finish her 2 years contract.. so now only on papers when she hadn't finish contract.

seem like i am very strict.. but i do Give in times of real need.. eg her father recently passed away, i actually send her home on my own expenses ( ie pay 2 way airtickets, give her funeral money) and of course give her paid one week leave..

Hi hopefully

I don't think she needs to pray so long. I am a christian myself and we all know that it's not the amt of time spent on praying that gives you the blessings! :p She is probably taking time to socialise with her friends.

my maid push her limits, she want monthly off if not she work till end of feb. so i said ok. i dont really like her anyway. so sending her away when new maid comes in.
lucky have not buy her the phone card, waste my effort only.

Hi hopefully,
I am thinking of getting a maid from Legend as well. Can PM me on their service. Thank U!

Just to update on my maid's passport matter.

On 29 Dec 2010, she went for her 2nd appointment. It took her the whole day (she went herself so we also not sure whether is it true) and the date she got for her passport collection was a week later which is 06 Jan 2011. My maid told me that for passport collection, she will need the whole day also. Sigh...I am not sure whether it is true because to me, passport collection should be "take and go" kind BUT since I wasn't there, I decided to give her the benefit of the doubt.

So, this Thursday (06 Jan) she went to collect her passport and it really took her the whole day. She got home even later than her 2nd appointment. I suspect she may have taken this chance to go out and walk walk. Anyway I decided to close 1 eye because she doesn't have any day off, so let her take this chance to go out and relax relax abit. I called my MIL at 6pm and she still wasn't back. Then I called my maid and she told me she is reaching home liao. As long as she comes back, then I am ok.

I am now in the process of getting the insurance done and will renew her work permit maybe next wk or the wk after.

Hi JL (grandemummy),

I forget to update also. Also updating my maid's PP renewal.

On 3 Jan, my maid went down for her 2nd appointment. She took a full day also!!

She went off at 7pm in a cab and till noon still not back, thus I had to take half day leave to go look for her as I forget to pass her the HP in the morning.

When I reach the embassy (a very old bunglow!!) at around 3.30pm, I saw her still waiting there. Of cos she's chatting away. Den i saw the only counter to submit form is not opened. There are only 3 counter:

1) For Visa only
2) For Thumbprint
3) For PP renewal

I ask her what is she waiting for now, she told me waiting to get her thumbprint printed on a form and give money!! Wah I am so fed up with the way they work. I ask my maid, den whole morning you do wad, she say keep waiting. Submitted a form and had her photo taken again, where I dunno y they need so many photographs!!! She brought from Myanmar 4 or 5 photos, den I still let her go take 8 more photos before she go for her 1st appointment. Total got about 12 or 13 pieces n she say the ppl there say still need take at the embassy there???? Why, they need the picture to form a jigsaw izit!!! zzzz

Den when I reach at 3.30pm. the counter is still not open. I try to go ask at the "visa" counter but the man totally ignore me!!!! So fed up. I told him. The signboard put 3-5pm open but now 3.30pm still not open...den he ignore me. I dunno he understand what I'm talking or not but he just ignore.

Inside the "bunglow" is so stuffy cos that day is drizzling. Inside is packed, stuffy n with all "human" smell...cos everyone is in the bunglow...zzz. The only old aircon there is not able to sustain the temperature inside....wah...it's terrible.

Den finally around 3.50pm the counter open for them to pay money. We had to wait for the person to call one by one to go front to pay the tax. After payment den they give her another form to make 2 copies (photocopier there, operated by coins) n she got to queue at the "thumbprint" counter to get her thumbprint printed on the form.

Den not done yet. They will issue another date to go down to collect the PP. I ask my maid what time she can collect, she say morning must go n afternoon 5pm den can take passport!! I also got a shock. why must go in the morning and 5pm den can take pp?? haiz...i dunno how they work but do you need so long to just to collect meh??

Her next appointment is 17 Jan. Why they can't process now and on 17 Jan, we will just go down to collect?? Why must go in the morning and waited till late afternoon den can take. Den might as well morning go take number n go back home n return at 5pm!! zzzz

The whole process is terrible. Need to take 3 days leave. My maid dare to go on her own thus so far only my HB took 2 days n I took half. else we both had to waste 3 days each of our leave just for the maid's passport renewal!! They think so easy for the maid to keep going to the embassy meh. So many arrangement had to be made. No one can help me take care of my children n my daughter still need go school leh. haiz...so troublesome.

Well, for those who need to get their Myanmar maids' passport renewal, you need to prepare 3 days.

Overall:
1 day - To get an appointment and check documents
1 day - To submit forms and thumbprint
1 day - To take Passport
(Bring coins for photocopier)

Btw, the embassy break for lunch at around 1pm-3pm. Everybody is being chased out of the gate of the bunglow n had to wait outside before they going to open the doors at 3pm again...

I hope for mine, by 17 Jan everything can settle. I mean the pp. Thereafter, I also need to do the insurance and work permit, which you are not allow to do with an expired passport or going to expired passport....

Hi MommyBaby

I totally agree with you on they thinking its very easy for the maid to go down to Embassy 3 times just for passport renewal !! There are so many arrangements to make with regards to the care giving of children / parents when the maid is not around. Some more they need the whole day !!

I went on the 1st appt and the room is very small and crowded. Therefore, I just left my maid there to wait. But 1st appt only took about half a day, which is more reasonable.

My maid also told me that to collect passport, she has to go in the morning to submit old passport and afternoon around 5pm collect new passport.

Terrible hor !!

OK, for me the ordeal is over as to the passport renewal. I not sure how to renew the WP online and now trying to gather info from the net to see how it is being done. But I think need to get the insurance up first before doing anything. Sigh...hopefully I can get everything done within this week. Then still need to arrange someone to take care of my MIL when the maid go and collect the new WP card. Hopefully will not take ONE day !!

yes yes yes....so lay chey...

Ya, the insurance need to be up liao den can renew the wp. actually which insurance company you use. ntuc income think got the service to renew wp also i think if i remember correctly. Anyway, think i'm going to renew online also. Online i think must go MOM website with singpass. my fren last time renew b4 cos her agency only help her make 1 yr for her maid that time.

WP i heard from my sis that employer need to go together at MOM den will be faster else need wait long also...maybe i go ask her if need bring maid down or herself go can liao...

I just read the instructions for renewal (see below link)
http://www.mom.gov.sg/foreign-manpower/passes-visas/work-permit-fdw/cancelation-renewal/Pages/pass-renewal.aspx

It seemed like the employer can go, no need to bring the maid. Phew!

I am getting from NTUC, but I still don't know how it works. The guy is on leave and will be back tomorrow. So I wl call him tomorrow to get it done and also to ask him the procedure. I am sure they hv done it for thousands of people, so they can advise us on what to do.

lolz....ya, they should know better de....

I remember my sis tat time tell me the ger at the WP there tell her this number is "specially" for employer one. so she only took about half hr to get it leh.... dunno leh...but her's was done more than 6 mths ago liao....dunno now how...

nvm, tomolo u will know haha...

kekekeke ya lor, tomorrow will hound the insurance guy !! I will update you once I have all the info and everything done correctly. I don't want to give you wrong info also.

Just for updates....

My maid went down to collect her passport on 17 Jan. And she took the WHOLE day.

She's out from 7.30am to 6.30pm!!

It's almost 12 hours just to take the passport!!!

Well this one is small problem......

You know what, she told me on Tuesday, 18 Jan that she don't want to continue!!!

Wah I tell you....I tried to convince her to stay on for about an hour or so but can't. On 17 Jan while she's out to collect her passport, a man called. Claim to be her father. I told him she's out to collect her passport. Den he ask me to tell her, "her grandfather health not good. Take passport go Myanmmar"

zzzzzz......i told her about it at night and ask her to call back the next day.

Next day, 18 Jan she call back around 3pm. I ask her how's her grandfather in the evening, den she tell me her father want her go back to see her grandmother... so I ask, when you need to go back, she told me February. Then I ask, so you go back 2 weeks and come back? Cos earlier on, she told me she don't want to go back to visit and she will keep the air ticket money, and I also did mention to her that if she want to go back, i can only let her go during Jun 2011 ask it's school holidays that time...cos my kids need go school..

She then told me "go back already don't come back"........haiz...... She seems a little sad, maybe bcos of her money used to renew the pp but now need to go back. I feel sad too, she's quite good la i must say but why suddenly turn back on her words. According to her, she say her father want her to stay there to look after the grandmother as nobody want to do so over there.....zzzzz ...

Yesterday, I her again before i really go get another maid and buy her tickets. She say no.... den ask me when she can go back. I told her maybe in 1 Mar cos end of feb is very busy for me as my brother is getting married and he's staying at my place first while waiting for his flat.

Den she ask me, why cannot go on 18 feb as her wp ends. Den I go n check, and no doubt, it's ended on 18 feb....earlier than the time she came to my house...but I know wp has to be up before they can come over to singapore.

I know after wp ends, they will be converted to social visit for 2 weeks for us to arrange for her to leave, thus i ask her if it's okay if I let her go off on 28 feb, which she completed 1 month also and she can get full month salary. Den she say no full month nvm, wanna go off on 18 feb...

I dunno, i find that earlier on when she's telling me she don't want to work, she feel so sad and I know she's very thrifty, wanna earn every cents she can, but now I offer to give her full month, she say no....zzzz.....haiz... and yesterday she's also ignoring me when i call out to her to help...why a change of attitude.....ORD liao bo chap maybe .....zzzz

Well, it's just feel kind of betray as it's less den a month now cos she's insist to go off on 18 feb. I must rush to get a new one and also putting my kids to childcare. It's actually our intention to go cc in feb initially cos the school fee is about the same as I put my kid to PAP but a full day instead of half.

Now if with a new maid, I feel safer to let my kids go cc also, cos there is really nobody at home to oversee. We don't really trust new maid also and both me n my hb working schedule is so packed, we hardly can go home early. so will be very worried to let both my young children to stay with a total new stranger alone for the whole day from 7am to 9 or 10pm....

This afternoon i got to take half day to go childcare to submit forms and pay.....evening had to rush down to the agency to find new one....wonder how long the new one need to come....haiz....very worried.....

Why fly kite....very sad leh....mess up everything....haiz......

I am looking at this new bio data of a 34yr old with uni level, photos looks decently like maid material, short hair, strong build, tall enough.
anyone hire older maids before, are they very sturbborn or slow when learning stuff?

Hi hopefully (hopefully),

Actually whether if the maid is slow in learning or not really depends on their attitude.

I can say Myanmar maids is okay cos my sis is also using Myanmar's. And understand from agency, Myanmar maids will be able to pick up in about 1-2 months time cos although they can't really speak english but they do study english in school...agency say de la... how chim they study i dunno haha..

For my sis, how she trained hers, she took out flash card to show her...like Xiao bai cai, lettuce, chai sim...things like that...

Last time I took a 49yrs Philippine maid when I have my 1st kid...omg, she will try to do it her way with my bb...i don't quite like her thus after my confinement period, say bye bye liao haha..

I think at the beginning you must make it clear.. no matter what they do in their previous job is that family requirement. here, I wanna to do it this way.....

Try to "cyco" her that you come to singapore to work and if not serious wanna to work den y leave your country and family to come. Tell her you main focus. For me, my main focus is on the kids. You can take good care of the kids I'm okay. Everything is kids first...if raining, the clothes outside and my baby crying, nvm the clothes. DON'T carry my baby and try to keep the clothes. Anyway, i forbid her to hang outside our clothes....but she hang hers outside and now, she slowly little bit by bit she hang out ours also...haiz...

My maid got this bad point la, tell her this, she follow but over times...slowly the "standard" will change and I got to "reset" and tell her again... Anyway, she's going back liao...I had yet to receive my new one. the PP is not even ready in her country...

I ask 4-5 agency, all same...no "stock". All must wait....so my whole house is going to be in "war-state" for 1-2 months....zzzzzzzz..... Even when come, got to retrain everything...so sianz...

hope the new one really wanna work here also, not come here to "play" or flirt...zzzz...sad...keeping my finger crossed...

Hi hopefully it's been such a long time I log in. Busy with my fussy and cranky Boi
anyway my maid is 33 next mth. So far good with handing children especially my Boi. Gal she is little demanding so she have hard time to please her. But so far work wise she is still ok in dis 3mths there are few mistakes she do forgetfully we keep reminding her and tell her. Sometimes we will be puzzled she used to do the work correctly suddenly the mood will change and do things her own way. But we close one eye due to she look after my kids well. Dat is important when my kids fall sick dis mth she was a great help to me. But still we don't pamper her we do our part to thank her. So far dis is my first myn maid beginning I was little worried to get a older maid but now I'm ok with it. And you know wat she can understand Tamil language. First my Hubby suspected she can understand later I myself tested by talking to my Hubby and yes she can understand leh.. So at times anything personal me n my Hubby communicate in Malay a substitute language. I hope you will get a good maid.

hey cheryl,
gald that your maid still with u.

I think i will take this older maid, cos the other ones, the way they posed seems like taking model portfolio pic. and real young, doubt they seriously want to work as maid. hope this old one will be more focus in work than wishing to go out.

mommybaby,
u are taking myanmar maid again? good luck. my friend maynmar maid also going back, as she cant cope with the demanding mil and keep asking for off days, so till now she also waiting for new biodata to come in.