Advice on Myanmar Maid

hi workingmom, thanks for ur advice.. yes,. i remember my agent oso got mention i tink is karin area ppl are known for being hardworking... nxt time round will look out for it...

hi may, no wander d character lk tat lor, half chinese can not engage la, wl nvr tk burmese anymore, but wl keep in mind on kayin tribe.
how abt yr 1st myanmar maid? Kayin or chinese myanmanese. how is yr maid now? still on hunger strike?

my 1st myanmar maid from yangon.. christian.. much better dan tis current one.. unfortunately pamper her too much... nxt time will definetly look out for christian ones... current maid nw no more hunger strike... but on and off black face.. very noe hw to act.. ard my relatives act very good maid...

yrs on hunger strike, my siao ting tong wl nvr ever go on hunger strike haha, she on gain weight campaign, told my dd tat she want to eat until she as fat as her mother ... eat on my account okie ... yeah, finally, one more day to go wiz d siao ting tong, tmr eve, agt bringing her away fm my hse.

Hi, I recently also get a Burmese maid to replace my Indo maid (she's going home after 4 yrs with us to get married) I have her 2 months in advance so that my current Indo maid can handover everything so I no need to take leave. She is a Christian and a degree holder in Philosophy. I would say her spoken english is bad but her written english is ok. She is a transferred maid, she wanted the transfer because her previous employer only gave her 4 hrs of sleep every night which she cannot take it (up to me to believe). I wanted a transfer maid as I don't want to wait and also I want to see the maid in person. So i took the risk of accepting her. So far besides communication problem, she is ok. She gets well with my current maid too, so I think the handing over is no problem. But my kids so get use to the current maid liao that that rejest the care from the Burmese maid, I can see that she's making an effort to gain my kids heart, she will play and tolerate their nonsense. I find her a patient girl,overall I would say time is very important, given them more time to fit into our culture. By the way I find the agent fee reasonable - $68.00. with one replacment.
My current Indo maid is leaving on 6 Sep 08, I always check with them how's things going and seems that things are fine, my MIL told me that the Burmese maid is hardworking when independent but when my current Indo maid is around, she will get abit lost,I will see that she have her own way of doing things when alone. I've quite happy with her to date.

talk about food intake , I think Burmese people are deprive of food in their country so when they're here they tend to eat alot, my new burmese maid eats alot too! when in foodcourt, i let her buy her owe food, she will choose the mix rice stall and select 4 dishes! and she eats alot of rice. But i think it is ok because i know when she's no longer deprive of food here she will not eat that much. I let her use the internet once a week to send email to her brother and sister. She also get to call her mother twice since she live with us 2 months ago. I think the average human being will be happy to work with us if we are fair to them, and i'm sure she is happier here compared to her country. I brought her to pennisular 2 weeks ago and get her country's stuff for her, she was happy to see so many burmese people here! there are also some employment agency who put up job vacacies on their door, apparently some company in spore are looking for burmese girls to work as clerk and receptionist with pay between 1k to 1.2k. I told her she can aim for that but she have to brush up her english first, and I encouraged her to make use of these 2 years with us to brush up her english, since we go to church every sunday, we encourage her to attend the english service. I think on the whole she is happy with us, and i think she will also try her best to work for us. so to me is a win win situation

hi..just like to share my experience on mya maid.
we hired one when my girl was born in late 2006. we chose myanmese cos we thot they are not so 'smart' like the filipino and dun need day offs..so easier to manage. we didn't want indo ones cos most of them muslim and can't handle pork. we are buddhists..so we prefer buddhist maid also.

initially i'm also v against hiring of maid cos i dun like the feeling of having a stranger in my house. when my maid first came, i dun even dare to let her touch my girl..she came when my girl was about 1.5months old. sometimes she offer to rock my girl when she cry but i quickly grab my girl over..so that period of time i v stressed..almost got post-natal blues. but at one point i really cannot pacify my girl..my maid offered to help and i let her..she managed to pacify her and rocked her to sleep..from then on, i allow her to handle my girl. i must say she's v patient with her, much more patient than me. she'll also sing to her. from then on i felt so much relieved..i can have my personal time and even chat online cos i've someone who can take care of my girl...i even went on an overseas trip with my hubby when my girl was 2 months old..we just left my her and my maid with my in-laws..

her english has improved alot since she came (she brought along a myan-english dictionary also..she can even sing with my girl after watching all the HI-5, Barney, Elmo, etc. my girl is also v happy with her. my maid likes to sing..so now my girl also sings alot which is a good influence.

her contact is ending in Dec this year and we have just told her that we'll renew the contract. Generally, she's quite ok. Housework wise she's quite efficient. but she's rather forgetful at times..always need to follow behind her back to check that she didn't forget things..but she'll remember after a few reminders. i can be quite forgetful also..so i dun blame her..her only problem is she sometimes got mood swings and will 'show you face'..but i can tolerate that cos i dun care much as long as you do yr work properly..the most important thing is that she's patient to me girl and know my girl's temperament. i relied alot on my maid to feed my girl her meals cos she's a v fussy eater...sometime i give up feeding her cos she keep rejecting the food..but my maid will take over and try to make sure she finish her food or take as much as possible no matter how long it take..that one i must hand in to her..

nowadays she has more initiative..she'll do things without being told..at times my MIl will complain that she v stuboorn n dun listen to her..my mentality is i dun need an obedient maid..but a capable one..my maid is quite smart n pick things up fast..she has a mind of her own. she will do things her way but still deliver the results..but my MIL find her stubborn cos she dun do it HER way..for me as long as she still manage to complete the task given, i dun care how she do it..maybe got generation gap.

i feel that getting a good maid really depends on yr luck..i not saying my maid is v good..but she serve our needs which is to take care of our girl..housework wise we not so picky..we somtimes will also help out with the chores cos maid is still human, not superman. we cannot expect them to do some many things at the same time..if we ourselves cannot do it, cannot expect the maid to be able to do it, right? sometimes we just have to priortise our needs and give and take abit. treat them the way you want yr boss to treat you.

i agree with lilian , treat e maids like e way u want yr boss to treat u. lik i keep reminding my hubby who is fussy a times that if ur staff completes an assignment tat u task tem to do with small little flaws, u will live wif it rite, u wont deduct their salary rite. so its e same as 2 e maid. We must always bear in mind that tey are not professionals. so our expectations of them should also significantly cut down.

I am glad tat my maid 3 mths, oredi was already meeting wat i expected of her n she is still improving. she wil feel uncomfortable if baby grouchy n i keep holdg e baby. i wil always take over if e baby is grouchy n once baby calm down, she wil keep wanting 2 take her back. if we going out e next day, she wil try and do al e laundry or ironing e day before even if it already pass her sleeping time. even if i told her its ok and ask her 2 sleep, she wil tel me she 1 2 finish e thgs 1st. i thk its veri responsible of her. if its my friend's maid, she wil b more than hapi to go 2 sleep. and she dotes on my kids. my hubby wil cane my son wen he is veri noti, she try 2 help him by hiding e cane! haha end up gt scolded by my hubby.

hi lilian/ limleng, it really depends on the maid themselve... some .. like mine.. u treat dem good... dey take advantage and end up u pay dem salary and get to see their mood swing, look after the children and do the hsework urself. If my boss can treat me so good, I will sign a longterm til-i-die contract with him.

hi there...my maid is from that agency. they are not bad. honest. and yes, they specialise in myanmar maids.

u can PM me to ask me more...

overall, my maid is alrite. if u read from my prev post.

Hi Asiangal,

Which agency did you got ur Burmese maid. Can i have the contact. Need to look for 1 urgently to replace my philippino as she is dishonest to steal my $$$$. May i noe how much they charge for agent fees.

I jus got my myanmar maid on Sunday. Degree in Physics. Can't understand what she say even when she answer in English. 1 mistake I made is that I only asked the agent if she can speak mandarin. I never ask if she understand mandarin. Until yesterday I asked her then she seems to say that she understand a bit but cannot speak. So, I'll try to ask her again. Imagine I've been discussing things with my hubby in mandarin in front of her!

Food wise she a bit picky leh... but she eat very little and from observation so far, she dun like meat.

So far her working attitute still ok but I find it a bit slow. Then she rarely smile, unless she is playing with my 2yr old gal.

Hygiene wise no good. I was observing her change of garments then realised how come she dun wash her bra everyday. Then 2 days ago i realised I don't even see her underwear. Then I asked her and she say not dirty so never change. Can you imagine her wearing the same panty for like 4 days. So i told her i want her to change and wash her bra and panty everyday.

My Myanmar maid would not be extending her contract as she wishes to return home to take care of her mother when her brother comes to work in Singapore. Sigh! My 2nd one is definitely very sticky to her and how I wish if she would just extend for another year or so. She is really very good with kids and has initiative and does things fast enough. And nowadays, I have asked her to accompany the 2nd one to sleep (to relieve me...hehe) And because she is very clean and takes care of herself well, tt's why I date to let my small one sleep with her.
As always, there's no perfection, although I have no complaints about her, my MIL tends to find fault with her and say her ironing is no good (hm...really to each his/her own)

Anyway, guess it's a matter of getting used to each other's lifestyle patterns and treating each other with respect at all times. And of course, pray....

Wish whoever who needs the good luck in finding the best possible one ). Just bear in mind, no perfect one lah)

hi marmum, most myanmar understands abit of chinese.. my current one can even speak chinese cos her father is half chinese... i tink ur maid still quite new.. give her some time to change her habits.. for myanmar maid most impt is to be patient with them. if she cannot understand you, write it down in english on paper and ask her to read. alt. call up ur agent to ask to help translate. Have u told her that we must wear in proper attire in the hse? i tink some of them have this practise of just wrapping a towel and come out of the toilet after bathing. Precaution wise, better tell her.. my maid came after some days, she suddenly wrap a small towel and came out of the toilet after bathing.

Hi, am thinking of getting a Myanmese maid. Could those of you with good experiences share the names of the maid agency you used? Thanks

Hi asiangal,

how do u let ur maid email home? she did it in english? i wanted 2 let my maid do that but she need 2 communicate in burmese. so wondering how 2 email in burmese..

May,
I jus got to find out she understand jus a bit of chinese as she do self-study. Got notes and a book on eng/chinese translation into their language.

She will wrap those sarong at night when she sleep so that's ok lor...

only problem now is her meals. She like quite picky about food. Jus now i cook claypot rice and she say she dun like. End up eating cup noodles.

Dear mambopolice

My agent trained her for about 2 weeks. I only told her (or rather, I wrote down on a A4 size paper in number formats the basic rules) the specifics which she needs to observe in my house. I can email you the basic rules that I needed her to follow if you want. I am not a good trainer, I didnt train her in fact. Just specify the rules and she pciks up from there. Only when not really up to my expectation, I will show her myself for the 1st 2months.

Hi TLCare,

Please email me your basic rules. Called United Channel yesterday. Their service fee is from $480 to $580.

Is that considered expensive? Anyone?

marmum, haha, wearing d same bra n panties for days, haha, tat sounds familiar, my siao ting tong burmese maid tat finali went back to agt on 28 aug n tsfr to new emply on 02 sept oso lk tat, so smelli, but i dun bothered to tell her, let d new emply tell her. she got d cheek to throw all d dirty/stained underwears into d washing machine to wash too. Finali she is gone, haiz.

hi, if i had known about all these problems, i wouldn't have gone to an agency who only brings in myanmar maids... let me share my experience...

i chose a maid that came from yangon, high school, supposedly 2 years domestic experience in yangon, unmarried (but actually married with a 6 year old kid), 24 years old.

it was a REALLY bad experience.. keep in mind that all this happened within 7 days, before i couldn't take it anymore and asked the agent to come and get her as i was still in confinement.

she was told by the agent in front of me that she had to listen to the confinement lady, my parents (who will be 'overseeing' her look after my kid) and me.

the first day she came, when i was eating dinner in front of the tv, she came to me and asked me if she could watch tv. i was totally shocked. told her sorry, but no. the CL told me that she asked the CL if she could bring the baby for a walk on her own. when i told her to go to sleep in her own room, she told me she was scared and wanted to stay in the baby's room with the CL. it was her first day, so i thought i'd just let her.

within all those 7 days, she
1) took my magazines from the common toilet to read without asking me. she only came to ask me because i think the CL told her to.
2) she kept asking my CL for her phone whenever i went out of the house because she said she wanted to call her cousin working here.
3) when i went into my baby's room one morning, she was sleeping on the double bed with my CL. pushes my CL's legs away so that she has room to sit on the bed even tho there isn't enough space for her.
4) when my friend came to visit my baby, she stood there like she was part of the group, and actually interrupted my friend and i to ask if my friend was from myanmar, and wanted to continue the conversation if i hadn't stopped her
5) when i was eating dinner in the living room alone, she sat on the floor and stared at me even though i asked her to go and rest. told me that 'it's ok, i can sit here'
6)when i asked her to clean the windows, told me 'i did it yesterday'
7) throws away the ends of the loaf of bread, and tears away the crust with her hands. when asked why she did it, told me that she didn't like the ends/crust. when told not to do it, she threw them down the rubbish chute instead of the kitchen dustbin.
8) one evening, when i went out for a while at 7+pm, and my CL was in the room with my baby, she cooked her own rice and took food from the fridge to eat without asking CL or waiting for me to come home. (i have no issue with this if the maid has been with me for a while.. this is still the 1st week!)when i came home, she lied about what she took from the fridge, and said she wanted to eat because she was so hungry.
9) took one of my drying racks (i only have 3 small one from ikea) the first day, and hung out her clothes.. which included a pair of short shorts, blouses, jeans etc. and hung it out in the prime spot in the kitchen to dry. when there wasn't enough space to hung my laundry, i told her to keep her clothes and she told me 'but my clothes are not dry yet'.
10) cried and told me that she wanted to leave after 3 months when she had paid the singapore agent. i persuaded her to stay for the sake of her daughter. she agreed. the next day, she came up with a complicated scheme for me to lie to the agent that i had sent her home, and for me to pay her the 3 months fee that she owes the agent (not knowing that i had already paid the agent the 3 months fee). she actually crossed her leg while sitting on the bed and pushed my CL out of the way while she was telling me this, and i was feeding my son. i was soooo angry.

really bad experience for me. if i had the choice, i wouldn't choose a myanmar maid again, but my agent only has maids from there, and the agent fee was SGD980.

did some research (relatives with myanmar maids, friend who married a burmese etc) and realised that those girls who come from the city actually don't work and don't know how to do house work. they look very gentle, skinny and pretty in the photos.. don't hire those! these are the girls who just want to come and see what singapore is like. look for those from the countryside and look more 'rugged', eg from the karen state. although these girls don't know that much english, they work as maids to earn money for their families, rather than to play.
hope that helps anyone who is interested in getting one!

swong, oh my oh my, another myanmar lk tat, wow liao, wander what all these myanmar maids r here for? yr maid veri bad leh, why yr cl nvr tell her off, is d myanmar maid still wiz u? can teach u to tell lie some more woh, tell her off la n u shud tell agt abt tat, veri daring rite, myanmar maid actuali veri daring n outspoken!

is yr agt in katong and d boss is a chinese guy tat oso brings in a lot of myanmar nurse n he claimed tat he is d onli supplier here tat supplies all d myanmar maids to all d agts here? he claims tat all myanmar maids r veri veri good, tey r treasures! sxxt!

i oso tink so, those tat lk gentle, skinny n pretty in photos r those tat come here to look n see, juz lk my siao ting tong myanmar maid tat has juz bn trsfr out. Nvr hire those.

fm what u relates abt yr maid, d pattern same same as my siao ting tong maid ... lks to tk our magazines/newspp to read ... sitting cross legged, tat sounds familiar ... tat siao ting tong myanmar maid sits cross legged to fold clothes, sweep, mop floor, cross legged on d chair to eat her dnr n etc n fav is to watch tv, everi time, we watch tv, she wl pretend to do work ard d tv area n peek at d tv oso shiok n sit cross legged to watch tv wiz my kids when i not ard!

ya, tey dun eat bread ends n crust and eat lk 7th mth as if tey nvr eat before in their life coz tey r veri deprive of food back home.

alw want to mk phone calls, yes, same same wiz d siao ting tong maid, alw used my hse phone to mk phone calls when i at wk, told her off 1000 times, still lk tat. haiz xo@$%.

selfish, yes, can not stand her n mine was even worse, hygiene veri bad, smelli lk sxxt! u bttr get those tribes kayin one

hi swong, have encounter the same type as yours.. 1 from yangon, one from more rural place and current one village... the grad is the worst. keep asking me to let her go out with her fren to pass her things.. in the end.. go aldy.. came back late.. called back 2 times and 2nd time ask her fren to call for time extenstion. AFter 1 week of the off day. She ran away!!!

Agrees with alamak, last time i oso tot myanmar maid very good.. but after 2 and this current trf one (which one took cos bo bian, prev myanmar maid ran away last min, my mum went on short holiday i cannot handle bb and son myself as my boy got hfmd i got to separate them.) nxt one die die no more myanmar.

my current maid looks oso 'rugged' working in sg for 8mths. trfed twice. i am 3rd employer.. last night i monitor very poor hygenic. haiz!!!!

hi sorry went mia for a while... yeah yeah, that's the guy... he keeps assuring me that they are SOOOO good. my husband is very quite fed up with him.

alamak, why are you still keeping her then? did you get her from the same agent?

i was reading another thread and realised that the characteristics of the myanmar maids are all the same... for lack of a better term .. they just don't 'know their place', that they are here to work. read in 1 case that the maid actually change channel while the employer was watching tv.

new maid coming next week.. fingers crossed, from karen tribe, so hopefully she'll be better. otherwise i definitely won't be getting any maid anymore... then i must stay at home and look after my son! sigh.

swong, my ex-colliq tk a myanmar maid fm him n recommended me n i called him but aft hearing his boast, i nvr even bother to go to his ag. ya lor, he claimed all his myanmar maids hor wk out one leh, all veri veri good hor. pui kannasai him, all myanmar maids perfect, pui. no, i tk d maids fm my reltv ag. no, i kicked d myanmar maid out fm my hse liao, tk a replacement fili maid, juz came last mon.

yes, u r absolutuely rite, tat is d word, even those good ones, all their characteristics r d same, they dun no their place n that they r here to work, most if not all hor treat it as if they r here to look n see n for hols lor. Huh, d myanmar maid chg tv channel when emply watching tv, wah liao, i nvr see leh, n u noe wat all myanmar maids r veri daring n mei you ching (not appreciative)! My daughter told tat siao ting tong myanmar maid, 'dun keep on squeezing yr pimples infront of me n if u squeeze too much, u wl lk ugli' n u noe wat she told my daughter, u oso veri ugli, my goodness, if my daughter is ugli, d siao gila maid must b frankenstein! Anyw, it is oso no manners n veri rude of d gila maid.

i feel lk slapping d siao ting tong myanmar maid now n i reali sin li bu ping heng, we treated her so nice n she nvr reciprocrate, pui her! i juz found out yday tat dunno how she wash/iron until my expensive cheongsam until 1 big got running stitch ... so obvious d running stitch, how to wear! XO%&@#$.

Everyone has bn saying fm karin tribe is bttr, keep us updated leh how gd is d karin tribe leh or is it juz tat emply luck, hope it wl wk out for u oso.

Wow alamak- your words very "colourful"

Yes, I agree, I have a myanmar maid too...I thought they were supposed to be submissive...mine talks very very loud?!

fairyprincess, haha, after kanna d gila siao ting tong myanmar maids, those r d words tat fulli described how they r lk haha.

yes, u r rite, they r not submissive rite n talk veri loud haha, yes, how is yrs coming along, hygiene, wk wise, wiz kids how? juz curious lor coz so far, i onli came accross onli 2 emply tat hv myanmar maids tat wk out leh.

My myanmar maid is with me since Oct 2006 and I am renewing her contract for 2 more years
She is very hardworking at first and quiet at first. Now she is more outspoken and tends to be forgetful at times but when she is told to do, she will do.
She does show face at first when she is reprimanded and she does not say thank you or please or sorry at all.
But she has other attributes that I can ignore her attitude as long as she does her work and does not commit serious offence, I am ok.

emma, o gd to hear anoth empl myanmar maid wk out lor but still u found d myanmar maid to b outspoken, extremen forgetful n no manners n show black face lor, so tat is d same characteristics for all myanmar maids lor. overall, most of them r not d soft spoken, quiet, humble lk wat tat agt in katong claimed tat they r lor.

hi emma, so envy u.. my 3rd myanmar maid ( a 3rd time trf case) after working just 4 days with me told me tis morning she wan to go back myanmar.. dan later told me wan to go back agent.. tried to run off in the car and during the time we are waiting for the agency to open at macdonal.

hi emma, swong n fairyprincess, juz curious, yr myanmar maids got 'owhhhhhhh' or not hor, 'owhhhhhhh' is d word they use for 'yes' ie. when we called d siao ting tong gila myanmar maid to do/for something, she wl 'owhhhhhh' lor.

hi may, huh, tis 3rd myanmar maid tried to run away ha, is it a trend nor or kind of syndicate coz my reltv agt told me lateli myanmar maids got a lot of probs n a lot myanmar maids runaway, is tis maid still wiz u now or at d agency? Poor u, dun tk myanmar maid liao.

my maid does not use yes or no when we ask her to do work but not sure ab that owhhhhh sound hee

I keep my maid passport and work permit so if she runs away, where can she go?

emma, all emply keep d maids passports n work permit oso, yet d maids can run away, they nvr use their brain to tink lor.

Emma, i also keep my maid passport. But she still run. Cos got money. Lucky mine went back to agent. But they can also disappear. Worst is scare they get cheated dunno go where. agree with u almaka, dunno wat they thinking. Esp my current one. No money where she wan to go. The maid now with agent. Dunno what she thinking. She wan to return to agent. I send her back, but agent not open yet while waiting she wanted to run away.

actuali i thgt e maid wud nt hv agd life if tey goes bac to agent? my maid was sharing wif me her experience wen she was staying wif e agent.. u noe e 1st 2 weeks wen she is in spore, she was staying wif e agent.. n she was saying tat she cries every night .. she says tat e agent veri fierce, scold tem every day.. she wil nt 1 2 go bac 2 agent...

alamk, how is ur fili maid so far? ok?

lim leng, yr agt fierce lk tat veri good, it depends wat agt okie, so yr maid turns out to be good. my reltv agt hor, maids can do anything they want, go anywhere they want anytime, anyday in agent! i oso found out tat my new fili maid were allowed to go shopping, go anywhere, do anything she want when she was supposed to be doing training at my reltv agt hse! so far, my new fili maid haiz kind of not too bad lor, sian. am still observing n monitoring her n crossing my fingers n praying hard.

lim leng, yr is yr myanmar maid? u r reali veri lucki to mng to find a good myanmar maid. i found tis in another forum, wished i had saw tis before i got d siao ting tong gila myanmar maid:

I strongly opposed Myanmar maid. I heard of the good comments about them last time & I engaged them 2 yrs back before my DD was born. Within 1 yr, we changed 4 or 5 (can't remember) Myanmar maid.. We in the end decided to give up the agency fee and switched back to Phil and so far this maid with us for 1 yr, we are vy happy with her.

Following are some of the eg

1) Don't understand simple English, agency will teach them all standard an & ands so during interview you can't really tell. You can really vomit blood for seeing how they carry out your instructions.
2) Bio data are all wrong, actual age of Myanmar maid are generally vie young (this could be the agent fault also)
3) Their behavior changed after a few months without any known reason. Most of them wanted to go home (either give reason family sick or they simply home sick)
4) When they want to go home, they did all sort of things to make sure you will send them back
5) One of my diamond bracelet was stolen by one of the maid (I admit that sometimes i don't lock up my things but for so many yrs w/ maid, this is the first time my thing gone missing/ stolen by maid)
6) They will get demanding as time goes. And if their need is not satisfied, they will work till vy blur blur (purposely till you want to vomit blood) till you will comprmoise or you can't endure anymroe and decide to change again.
7) The last maid we got even ran away from home at night. She walked back to the agency (she worked at the agency there for few months before came to our hse & agency hse was vy near to ours)

That's the last one and we decided to give up the $1000 agency fee (yap, Myanmar agency fee are higher than Phi). I will nv ever engage any Myanmar maid anymore.

If you really want to take on one, please ensure that they know how to speak/ understand simple English.. But really, think twice before engaging...

oops, now i'm really afraid that she will run away, because i don't have a lock (with key) for my front door! even worse, she will be staying in a house with my mom on the weekends with my mom's indo maid, hopefully she won't 'instigate' the other maid to do stuff. sigh.

will let you all know if she is really good. if really not good, then i probably will just forgo the agent fee.

swong, yr new maid come oredi? no nn to be afraid la, not all myanmar wl run away la, juz keep a watchout n monitor on her performance. keep us upd coz i m curious whether true all karin tribes r d bttr ones leh.

hi mambopolice cheapest will be the M1 1818card. Normally I bot my $10 value card at $8 or $8.50 depending on the shops i go. Each card allows like 30mins of talk time. Best ask them to call during morning. Night time very bad reception. Also for myanmar tel lines, SOMETIMES even cannot get thru they will oso deduct the card value. So dun let it ring too long. Ring like 30-50 seconds no one pick up just hangup and call again. When u call again, check the card value, If u find that when u call the 2nd time, 1st call (the one dat didnt get thru) aldy deduct $$. Dun call anymore, cos chances are it wont get thru again and will deduct more $$$.. Call again in like 30mins - 1hr time.

HTH.. cos my prev maid call a whole $10 phone card listening to the ringing tone..haiz... but dat was the cyclone period when all the lines are engage.

Thanks May.. will keep a lookout for the M1 1818 card.

I'm working out a schedule for my maid at the moment.

Anyone has any daily/weekly/monthly schedule to share with me?

hi mambopolice.. np.. haha... i just chg 3 myanmar maid... 1, i send back agent. 2 ran away.. i dun tink u will wan my schedule right.. :p