A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

Hi pink piglet

u might want to read up more on ying chuan. a topic been set up in thhis forum under matters of the heart.

also there is one recommendation in this section under topic teck chua medical hall. personally i been to this one a few times and i would recommend this than ying chuan given the stories i have heard and read.

to those ttcing, good luck. my ttc journey is shorter compared to some. we strike the 1st 2 mths we try but my 1st pregnancy ended in mc earlier this yr. now i am 4 mth pregnant but am still trying to recover from the shadow of the ealier mc. everyday i pray for a healthy bb by next yr mar. so perhaps we are all being tested in different ways...but dun give up.....imagine that joy we wil get at the end of all these tests

baby dust to all!

Just to share my story as I used to be here to seek comfort from those who are/were in the same boat.. After trying for 3.5 years, 4 rounds of IUIs, a laparoscopy and hb went for varicoceles surgury in early Jan 07, I got pregnant in April..unexpectedly coz we were super stressed with work and TTCing..and didn't really do baby dance... Now I'm 7 months preggie and awaiting for the birth of my son.. EDD is 25/12

Please don't give up.. the journey is really trying but really worthwhile when it happens

Babydust to all...

I am new here, had been trying to find my ways in this forum. (a bit lost cos too many topic here)

I had been TTC for 1yr, had been to gyne for check up and was told my ovary look nice and clean. I stay with the gyne for abt 6mth before moving to TCM.
When i look through this site i started to dig out those scan report which the gyne did for me, and notice that i had Retroverted uterus. Is this wat you guys mean by inverted womb? Then i also saw the report say that i have Adnormal Ovaries--Polycystic ovaries. I read from other post PCOS is uncurable and sound like a serious illness. Is it? cos the gyne didnt mention to me , he just say its left over of some failed to ovulate egg. Is that true?

Hi Eunice79,

Thanks for the info, I'll try to find out more abt teck cjua Medica hall.. & congrates! U & ur BB will be fine, I'll pray for ya.

Ratatouille,
what is chemical preg?

Apple and icebaby,
maybe its conincidence that I used the method and got preg for that month. Maybe thats the month I ovulating healthly. Cos in the past using the tester to check for my ovulating period, also never hit. Then only to find out not every month ovulate, not every egg is good enough, not eveytime ovulate in the mid cycle. So many factor, really need a lot of luck.

Zebra,
I wasnt sure if retroverted and inverted same or not. If your is PCOS, you doc should have told you.

grats to phy and babydust, I after almost 1 yr, already gotten disheartened.

pinkpiglet, If you are still young shouldnt worry too much. For me, I over 32, going towards the high risk group, so getting a little anxious. People said as you age, the egg quality also drop

hi ladies, just pop in here to encourage all of u & dun give up ttc.

just to share w all my ttc journey. me & hb both got some probs. for me, my menses v.irregular, needs help to induce my menses to come & hb's sperm quality not v.gd & low sperm count. last yr aug, my gynae gave me med to induce my menses to come, b4 i can take it, my menses auto came, so went to c gynae. i had 7 jabs on alt day to make e egg to a gd size b4 gynae injects me again to ovulate. 2 days aft tis jab, we did e IUI. in e morning, my hb went to mt e fertiliy centre for sperms collection & e centre will "wash" e sperms to sort of extract e gd sperms/improve e quality of e sperms. abt 2hrs later, e centre called us to collect e sperms & i went to my gynae's clinic at mt e where he did e IUI for me. he inserted my hb's sperms into my vaginal & i laid there at a tilted angle for abt 20mins or so to allow e sperms to flow into me. 2 days later, we flew to hong kong for holiday & i was enjoying myself, din tink abt work, din tink abt getting conceive, just play, shop & eat. abt 3 wks later, we rcvd e gd news tt i'm pregnant. now, my son is 4mths+ aredi.

i tink most importantly, dun tink too much, stay happy & try to be as relaxed as possible. if ur job is v.hectic, it might be a gd idea to take a vacation. tink e holiday break really helps me to conceive. some time, e more u tink abt it, e more stressed up u r, hence more difficult to get preggie.

jia you to all!

hi Hopefully,

I'm already 33
started to TTC when I was 29 and hubby 30... then 1 year later went to seek help and realised that hubby's sperm count and quality not very good.. We went on rounds of heartaches (4 IUIs, one laparscopy and one varicoles surgery)and 3.5 years of struggles... His friends saying that he cannot "goal" etc etc... I know it's defintely not an easy road to travel down, esp. when we see so many friens keep popping.. At one stage I shunned my friends who seem to pop very easily one child after another..

Don't get disheartened.. so consult your gynae about your best chances and the steps to take.. but remember the choice is in your hands.. my gynae wasn't supportive of my hubby going for his surgery at first and was asking me to go on to SOIUI when we decided to take matters in our hands. Within 2 weeks after that, he went for surgery. Our plan was to see if the surgery would help in his sperm count.. then 3 months later I got pregnant unexpectedly.

Do weigh your choices carefully.. must also do your own research and not solely relying on Gynae's advice..

ratatouille, yes, strike on our very 1st IUI attempt. b4 IUI, we tried other means as well but not successful. so gynae suggested IUI as it was a very much affordable method as compared to IVF. we din really plan for it to be done just b4 our holiday but it seems like heaven's will. my menses hadn't come automatically for a very long time, somehow, it just came in aug & by e time, i'm ready for IUI, it's just 2 days b4 our holiday trip. during tt period, my work was very hectic, working till very late & gotta report for work early, so i really tink e holiday helps me to conceive as i was very relaxed, enjoying my holiday & totally forgot abt work.

just to add on, i do really tink tt stress is 1 great factor affecting women's ability to conceive. my ex-colic who recommended me e gynae who helped me to conceive was aso unable to conceive for a long period as she was very stressed up with work. as she's not young anymore, she quited her job to ttc, not long aft tt, she got preggie & now, her kid is a few yrs old.

ratatouille, my gynae did not tell me e % of success of IUI, as we had tried other means, hence IUI was e nxt course of action as we cldn't afford IVF, so we just tried it out but we understand tt it can't be guaranteed just like IVF. i cldn't remember e cost as it was done 1yr+ ago. besides, e actual IUI process, i aso need to add-in other costs like x-ray of e fallopian tubes to ensure tt they're not blocked, medication, jabs, collection & washing of sperms at fertility centre, visits to gynae... all in all, tink shd be <$2K bah.

hi hoppi
im thinking of doing IUI if my next cycle fails.. im usually over at the 2ww thread... u know the procedure of IUI? before the actual IUI, does HB needs to do SA test?

Pinkpiglet,

dun give up.. i only manage top concive after seeing her for 1 year and my sil is 5 months. it all depends on each invidual's health . i had 2 miscarriage before i have my boy.. it took me 4 years and i almost give up....... now my boy is coming 2 and i am badly trying for another one but diffcult.. coz of my womb

mrs puppet
im thinking to do IUI for the very first time also... mind sharing the procedures and which gynea u use? before doing IUI, need to do check up as in SA test and scan on the wife etc?

Im also here to give all u ladies encouragement. Please never give up.. i was also TCC-ing for 9mths... tried natural way to conceive and din hear any good news and then 4 mths without good news, i decided to take action.

A fren has recommended me a see a chinese sinseh who is very good in treating fertility issues although i din not ascertain if its due to infertility that we did not succeed. She has given me herbs to boil and drink and i did that every week, without fail and once im preg, i also went back to see her. She will give u herbs that are good for ure baby and im actually on low blood (thelessemia minor) and its inherited, so that means my bb will have chance of getting it but strangely we stored her cord blood and the result shows her blood count is very healthy, even better than normal bb. SO i strongly encouraged ppl to take TCM. At the same time i also engage a gynae in Gleneagles, as also recommended by a fren. Went to see Dr Fong Chuan Wee.. but apparantly, he keep putting me on clomid and did noting to inspect my hb..

We are not comfortable with him and find that he is not an encouraging doc.. everytime we go back to him and tell him not successful this mth, he will give u the look that makes u feel very lousy ..At times like such, we need reassurance from the experts and not to pay and then feel lousy still and worse, no confidence in him at all as what he can do is to give clomid??!! we changed to another gynae.. abit more expensive but good, he is Dr Foong Lian Chuen from Gleneagles too.. he is a bit ex but i dun mind paying the fees .. i told him i dun want to wait and ask him what are his plans for me.

I shared with him what i am advised and have tried from the prev gynae and also on TCM, he is very friendly and explain to me what are the things he will put me through.

He scrap the whole clomid thingy as its not helping me, he monitor my ovulation and send the sperm for tests ... nothing is wrong and thats good news .. then he ask us to try naturally for 3 months and then still no result .. then he finally sugested IUI ... i did IUI for the first time and bingo .. now my gal is 8mths old now..so ,ladies ..do not give up ok ..

How IUI works is that gynae will monitor and make sure u are ovulating and the egg is good quality and big enough to be fertilised by the sperm. He will get the sperm sample to the lab for 'washing' which means chemical wash and only got the good sperm out and also make it stronger thru tis process. It will be only ard 5ml of sperm and highly concentrated. He will set up a time for u and once the sperm are ready for insertion, he will insert it into ure vagina and then lie there for 2 mins or so .. and then thats it .. wait for the good news then !
its a more affordable way to conceive thru the advance medical ways.. cost ard $500 + if im not wrong.

I hope by sharing my story, can give u all encouragement and also to provide an alternative to consider. Good luck to all !!!!!!

babe79, wat's SA test? just to share w u. b4 starting on IUI, both us hv prob conceiving. my menses r really irregular, can dun come for months! my hb got poor sperm count & gd quality sperms r few, so he was given med to improve on tis, so did quite a few check to c if e med helps. we tried other methods but failed, so gynae recommended IUI but b4 tt, i need to do an x-ray of my fallopian tubes to ensure tt they r not blocked, else no pt do IUI. so i had injections on alt day to "make" e eggs to a gd size b4 gynae gave an injection to ovulate me. thruout when i was trying, my gynae aso gave me folic acid & metformin. on e actual day, my hb went to collect e sperms at mt e fertility centre where they'll "wash" e sperms to improve them. abt 2hrs later, we went back to collect e sperms & go to my gynae's clinic at mt e. my gynae was e 1 who did e IUI for me, i know tt not all gynaes know or will do. aft he "injected" e sperms into my vaginal, i laid at a tilted angle for abt 20mins to sort of ensure tt e sperms flowed in.

whether u'll be going thru exactly like my situation, i won't know, is still best to seek advice fr e expert.

wow, I'm so impressed by all your perseverance..I failed to concieve after trying 3 mths already feeling very discourage liao..I need some advice here..U think its too early for me to see gynae's help after failing for 3 mths... I suspect its due to my irregular menses recently.. should i visit TCM or Gynae help to correct it? I used to have very regular menses, but now, it gives me prob... very hard to know whether i'm really ovaluating.always wonder whether I'm preggie cos menses havnt come, when preggie test is negative, I wonder why my menses not coming on time again..so i am feeling stress..By the way, I'm 28 this yr.I'm hopin to have a BB next yr..

pink piglet, i wld advise tt u c a gynae 1st, do some check-up & c wat's e prob. aso, it takes 2 to conceive, it's aso gd if ur hb can go w u. for my case, both of us hv prob. it may aso help e TCM pp to decide e course of action for u if they need wat's wrong w u & e check-ups u did.

puppet
SA test means sperm analysis to test for sperm quality and count... u did not do this SA test before your IUI? is it painful to do IUI? who is your gynea? after the first visit... when is the earliest we can do IUI? the next cycle?

We have juz start TTCing for abt 3mths. But we r both in our early 30 liao so a little worried.

Wonder if we shd go KKH clinic D to c a gynae for checkup? What will they check for early stage case like ours?

babe79, i c... SA means sperm analysis, yes my hb did got for tt test, quite a couple of times even b4 doing IUI. can take some vits to improve e quality/sperm count, so aft taking vits for a period of time, my hb will go for e test again. hv u done HSG, some kind of x-ray to c if ur fallopian tubes r blocked? need to do tis b4 trying IUI cos if e tubes r blocked, no pt doing IUI. if u can overcome e HSG pain, then no prob w IUI as it's a bit more painful than pap smear, tink giving birth is even more painful than IUI. my gynae is dr vincent lee, can find out more abt him fr tis thread - http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/261624.html?1191920500. i can't advise u when is e earliest u can do IUI cos diff pp got diff prob. for me, menses very irregular, can dun come for a few mths, so need to take med to make it come, then siao siao it comes when i want to take e med to induce e menses to prepare for e IUI, so i quickly c my gynae & start my IUI journey. if ur menses do come regularly, ur hb's sperms ok & u tried all other means liao, then tink can try IUI when ur nxt menses come. having said so, better seek advice fr e pro - gynae.

hi mrschoo

i was wif clinc D at KKH previously. my gynae is dr sheila loh. but she moved to raffles hospital few months ago and i m not comfortable wif the new gynae they recommended. so, i m now seeing dr cheng fr TMC. u have to be prepared, have to wait for very long to see gynae at clinc D. but alot of ppl were saying a few specialists at KKH are quite good too. it really depends on your case lor. if u r worried, u can just go for a checkup, for an ease of mind. i think gyne will normally treat those who have tried for a least a year, but still no baby cases as serious one. they will do some checks to see if u r ovulating well, whether your DH's sperm is alright, and whether your tubes are blocked etc.

hi mrschoo

i was referred to her by a woman's clinic, have some prob, so was referred to her to do a minor surgery. since clinc d is also dealing wif reproductive issues, and i m already seeing sheila loh, i just told her tat i would like to have a baby lor. but she just did a few blood tests for me, and told me to try for a few months first. i've been ttcing for a few months only.

hi girls,
haf not been posting for very long le... juz sharing my tots... i went to see the ying chuan tcm early oct n she said i haf pcos, adenomyosis (endometriosis of uterus inner lining) n retroverted uterus. she suggested that i see dr fong yang for further investigations. n true enuf, i haf pcos though not the classic type. but i haf multiple small cysts here n there in both my ovaries. n he oso found an endometrioma (a form of endometriosis) on my left ovary.
dr fong suggestion was to treat my uterus 1st, with daily hormone injections for 3 mths.
kao_sad2.gif
feel like giving up totally le.. cos the treatment wil b super expensive n i'm not prepared to spend dat amt of $$ on fertility...
sorry for the long posting... juz want to pour out my feelings...

my gynae also mentioned b4 tat i have retroverted uterus. do u gals know whether its serious and whether it will affect the implantation process? quite worried....

rainstone,

i have pcos on one ovary too....tats why i have prob ovulating

Rainstone - suggest that you seek 2nd opinion. Ying chuan seem to detect alot of patients with PCOS. No harm seeking advice from other doc to reconfirm.

hi, hope i can join this thread... :)

by the way some of my fren with pcos they took vitex or saw palmetto as additional supplement..

and i found this numbr for fertility massage(ttc) 90608404..

and im also sharing abt tis traditional herbs focusing on ttc..few of my fren manage to conceive after taking few set of tis herbs...but some to no avail..

how much is $ for IUI and how many percent cash n medisave we can use... same goes to IVF...

anyone can help to enlighten me....thank you all

dear TTC-ers

i think only the old timers will remember me. my #1 is already 11 mths already. Recently I decided to try again and just found out I am preggie 3 days ago. I have just bought some OPKs and never got to use them at all, anyone wants them? pls PM me. thanks! and BABY DUST TO ALL!

hi kermit,

yes, i remembered u. how's yr #1 doing? wah, CONGRATS! 2nd one liao! so fast! u muz be so happy.

i juz back to work aft my maternity leave. trying to adjust back to working life now. sort of miss bb though, cos leave him at my parents' hse during the weekdays.

the road of TTCing had not been a smooth one for me too. so to the rest who are still trying, dun give up k? there's always a silver lining behind every cloud, u won kw when yr turn will come, so keep on trying! i tried for more than 2 yrs too! jia you!

hi pink piglet,

i think it had got to do with my stress level. i was feeling verie stress out over my work & oso after trying for so long.

infact, i was so religiously trying out everything which pple said cld increased my chance of "hitting the jackpot". bbt charting & all, i've been doing dat without fail everyday, until i felt so stress out.

i actually striked when i was on 2 weeks leave. as i was feeling stress out, i decided to give myself a break & do away with all the charting etc, i did not even login to this thread too. i juz do away with anything dat will remind me of TTCing. infact, i was so suprised when i striked as i cannot even remember when we BD. hahaha... we juz BD as & when we like & i think this make the difference. no pressure, no stress, i think this is wat had helped me to strike...

hope this helps. i do agree dat stress level is verie impt as there were times when i was so stress out over it dat my hands will tremble whenever i did the preg test at hme & my tears will roll freely when i got a -ve. then my mood will go on a "roller coaster" ride whenever my BBT drops a little bit during my 2 weeks wait. can u imagine dat i can even go to the ladies every 15 mins during work juz to chk if my AF has reported? i was so stress out! so if u are like me, do give yrself (& yr hubby) a break, who knows u will strike when u take all the STRESS out of it? jia you!

hi need,

welcome to this thread!
kao_welcome.gif

there's a few diff types of IUI. the normal & moz basic one will cost abt $500. normally, yr gynae will ask yr hubby to go do a SA test 1st to chk his sperm count/quality. cos no pt doing the test & wasting yr $$$ if the count is verie low or the quality is no gd.

hope this helps!

I have been TTC for 3 years. As i have scarred tube, thus it seem IVF is the only option for me.
I did IVF this year and was preg successfully. But i have M/C at 11 weeks.

I would like to TTC again, but i hope i can concieve naturally. But so far i have not seen an success case.