A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

Pocket really burn a super big big hole this month itself!
CH deposit, christmas gifts, CNY clothes, now this coach bag.. how come all C?
haha..

Batbat – Last time I search from SMH overseas spree and located her and seems her prices are lower so I just order.. My colleagues order from summernite before too. Was ok too but only thing I don’t like is that, during order stage, the collection point available was at JE MRT. But when collection time, she said her MIL don’t want to walk to MRT, so have to collect at her blk which is need to walk a distance. Ended up my colleague took a cab to collect the bags. Just to update you, my hb colleague’s older child cannot enrol in the My First Skool at 648.. And its like fated! He was trying to call the principal but was unable to reach her. Then left msg for staff about it and to get principal to return the call. Then only yesterday the principal called him back and said that she can arrange if he called earlier, which he did but she wasn’t around! And his Q number is 16 when the max available is 15! But principal already contacted the 15 parents so cant enrol his older child.. super wasted!!

Butterwaffles – aiyo if I confinement at home myself then ok.. but my mum super strict one.. then during the whole confinement I super DL, everyday like very dirty like that.. esp the hair part.. I feel so yucky myself haha... anyway I am glad its over.. should I ever have a #2, will definitely hire a CL then can bath and wash hair as I wish hehe...

batbat, wow! Hahaha...i never buy any xmas gifts this year :p Eh, i drop alot of hair too, AFTER my maternity leave. Now alot of baby hairs near my fringe area so im gona cut my fringe short.

cheesecake, saw you this morning again...you were trying to cross over and my husband signal you to cross first, lol. You were carrying your gal ah....My mum ok, in fact, she encouraged me to bathe :p But everytime my MIL come by to see my boy, my parents will rem not to mention that i bathe everyday because my MIL will scold :p A few times when she came over and i was expressing, she also showed disapproval because to her, formula milk is much better. Hah, so ignorant. Eh, my husband's cousin hired a CL too...but i guess she unlucky, after 4 days, she sent the CL back. Because every night after 10pm, the CL close door and sleep! Bb cry cry cry, also bochap.

cheesecake
Yes, I saw lamerss price quite competitive.
However, reason why I get from sumernite is because the items in singapore n i m able to view personally at her home. At least I can see n feel lor.
For me I am prefectly fine if go all the way to the house to view (of course not alone), cos if anything happen (touch wood) or fake, at least know where they stay. :p
Very kiasi hor.
Well, I just want to make sure my $$ is well spent and if friends ask me my lobang, I am can intro confidently.

MFS - so wasted! Maybe have to enrol another one and wait till his turn? Or ask principal to appeal or write to NTUC HQ or MO for help?
I just don't like this ideal where enrolling to a prefer CC or school is so "competitive" also.

butterwaffles
Christmas gift, I mostly got some books from Harris to my friend's kids (remember got 20% off) and for my gal too. Other than that is shopping for cloths/toys for a baby shower and 1 yr old birthday celebration during this period.

Because I foresee I will be pretty busy before christmas to CNY, that is why that time I once n for all settle with the childcare first and no need to keep worry or thinking no place.

cheesecake, so will your colleague be the first under the waiting list? Actually, i think the first 15 toddlers might not all stay for long also. Most of the times, a few will withdraw one...so your colleague should not give up!

batbat, it IS competitive, its the reality. Wait till our kids turn 7 ^^ It's abit ironic really, because we are not even going for the highly sought after centres! Just normal neighbour centres also so cham4.

re: self-feed
Would like advices from mummies here, when would be an appropriate time to allow my boy to try start feeding himself? I'm prepared for the mess *roll eyes* Any special spoons i should let him use? Because i use the avent weaning spoon and the ikea spoons but both types quite long leh, i scared he use them to poke his eye. For the bowl, i have the sticky type, will stick to his highchair tray.

re: easy to cook foods meant to be brought outdoors
CNY coming right? If i want to cook something for my boy and store them in the foodjar, what kinds of stuff can i prepare other than porridge? He will be nearly 1 when it's CNY time. So far, all he has is cereal, porridge and recently, egg yolk omelette ;p If i cook porridge in the morning and the last meal is like 5pm, im worried the porridge is not 'fresh' anymore even if i keep them in the foodjar. He now has 4 upper teeth and 2 lower ones but the way i see him eat the egg omelette, i don't think he can chew very well.

Batbat – oh you bought ready stock? The ones my colleagues bought are pre-order.. so have to wait.. Yeah a bit wasted but no choice also. So now he got to fetch the younger one and older one separately.. just more mafan lah..

Butterwaffles – hehe, you were behind us? Your mum is good hor.. your MIL is like my mum... but both my mum and MIL are against bf, so I am continuing at my own perseverance.. everytime they see baby cry, will blame my BM, super sian one.. but when go home then good le.. cos hb quite supportive of it, so will auto do “night shift” to feed baby so I can concentrate to express every 3 hrs. If not for him, think I might have given up long time ago le..

Hi butterwaffles,

He is ready to self feed if he can hold the spoon well and if start to snatch it from u.

My son is a self feeder since day 1. He don like to be fed. Like to self feed and will brush our hands away and likes to eat with hands too.

Not only u must be prepared. Ur MIL, mum, HB and anyone u might have meals with including restuarants stuff must be prepared. coz there will be a big mess.
Buy the "no-mess" bib from BP very good, can hold update 80% of the food he drops.
when I have time I help u find the BP.

Spoon - buy shorter spoon.
I have some which is curved type, and some from
brands call toss and throw or something and also mini size soup spoon. All can buy from kiddy palace. U got to try out a few spoons to see which type u boy likes.

Food :
u can try macoroni, etc.
or ABC pasta but this will also become soggy after 2-3 hrs.
Or bread. Or just soup only and before feeding mix will plain rice cereal.
Tofu, mashed pototoes, sweet potatoes or butternut, pumpkin carrots, etc at this time is good too.

Hi butterwaffles,
remember to let ur boy start on the food first.
don intro it only on CNY.

oh ya.. it would be his Chinese Birthday.
U can consider to cook Eggs, Chicken drumstick and Mee Sua for him.. I am hokkien.. this is the traditonal food for birthday.
My son was very happy to have it. Even if he cannot chew on the chicken drumstick yet. But the mee sua will e flavourful and can eat the egg. Then just let him try to bite the drumstick loh.

Butterwaffles – yeah my hb colleague will be the first one on waitlist.. if anyone pull out then his older one will got chance.. As for food, is it possible like for your mum/in laws to cook for your boy at their house during CNY? For me, my mum will cook so I just feed there. The dinner time she will also cook then I tabao back in the food jar home then feed, so no need to rush home and cook.. So far other than porridge and cereal, my gal tried mee sua, ABC pasta, potato+pumpkin.. most of the time its porridge as she likes it.. other food when i feed outside, she will not eat one.. Maybe can try bread or pau as well.. If not, the easiest would be cereal, just mix with hot water. On my gal first bday, I also prepared a drumstick for her, she only attempt to lick then take pic only cos that time she got no teeth to bite the meat haha..

cheesecake, no lar, my husband was the driver of the car who stopped to let you cross. He didn't know who you were until he saw your gal, hahahaha. You wearing pink top and black skirt today right? For my parents, they will be busy lar because my mum works in NTUC, CNY eve she will work until 3.30pm. By the time she comes home, 5pm plus liao. My dad cannot multitask also. Ask him to prepare steamboat alone & my boy's food, he will be very slow, haha. For my MIL, it's worse, she will add soya sauce so i dont want. But even if she doesn't, hard to ask her to cook because CNY to her means gambling time, cannot stop until go toilet or eat ;p Wah, can't imagine my boy taking drumstick. My dad gave him a green apple with play with and he really bite one chunk out but he spat it out lar, never try to chew. Mee sua is a good idea! Tomorrow his centre halfday, i'm preparing the ABC pasta for him to try....

ashwen, that's a useful reminder! Let him try the foods now and not wait until CNY. Tofu will turn bad after a few hours or not huh? I just bought a 0.47L foodjar from BP. How do you feed your boy outside? Do you let him sit in the stroller or you bring along a portable highchair (which i dont have)? Talking about potatoes, what kind of butter or cheese do you use? I still have not given him white potatoes because it's just plain carbo and no other nutrients, plus he is already very heavy for his age, i scared he overweight. But i have seen many young kids enjoying their mash potatoes....He can hold the spoon but not properly, like the way we hold it. He holds it and waves it around like a toy. He will try to snatch the spoon all the time but i think that's normal because he is all along like this. I have started to feed him plain water from cups because he refused to drink from bottle or even the mag mag cup. He will snatch the cup and wave it around too. Later tonight i try to find the no-mess bibs BP!

cheesecake, your husband not bad wor...at least he supports you bf-ing your gal. Day 1 onwards my husband keep saying my BM so little, where got enough. Or he will cringe at the sight of me mixing BM with FM, saying is that ok to feed our boy like that or not. Till now, he has not woken up even once to help with the nightfeeds. So this 'auto' wakeup and help at nights actions hor, actually doesn't come automatically for most men ;p Your husband has my respect lar!

Butterwaffles – oh i see.. my hb was saying me, shd have cross.. why stand there and stone haha... Yup thats me.. Usually when I carry my gal, I will be super careful of cars.. sometimes they don’t give way, so have to be careful.. Hmm, then if thats case, then really no choice.. maybe got to feed cereal for one meal? for me at least still can rely on my mum for the first day of CNY.. 2nd day, I have to cook and bring to the in laws and go visiting at lunch time.. dinner have to rush home to cook myself since no one can help.. So far I like to cook mee sua, very easy to cook.. so nowadays I will cook this for lunch. Hehe, mayb your boy can really bite the drumstick leh.. hehe.. when I feed outside, I either place her on any chair I can find or ask hb to carry or I carry her on my lap then feed loh.. already bring a lot of things liao, cant imagine bringing another portable chair out..

Hi Butterwaffles,
my hb also nvr wake up to help at night one...
only if there is emergency like bb puke etc. . then I hit him till he wakes up to help.

the food when u put into food jar must be very hot and not stirred or partially eaten. ie u cannot feed from the same jar for lunch and save some for dinner. once seal and u open to stir, must let bb try to eat soon. Unless U keep one spoon only to scoop out food from jar, transfer to bowl and feed with another spoon.
coz if use the feeding spoon to scoop from the jar, will intro enzyme and bacteria into the food. so cannot keep.
I have tried to cook and put into 2 jar and up to 8 hrs still ok.
I use a thermal flask/mug. Endo brand. Good, cheap ($13.80) and compact.
4943367.jpg

My boy didnt like mash potatoes last time. Now he eats boiled cube potatoes. So I nvr give him butter. Maybe tat's why he so skinny.

For the no-mess bib, I saw 1 BP the other day selling 3 for $10.

CC
Just now walk home from MRT.
Pass by the new MFS.
Got teachers inside cleaning up.

butterwaffles
Ya lor, that why I just don't understand only neighbourhood CC and have to queue till like this.

cheesecake,
Yes, I got the instock. She gave me a bit discount. Buy a simple one to try out first. But, I realised there are 2 versions in Coach, one in outlet version and another in boutiuqe. Apprently the design and material is pretty similar, but the logo makes a different?

Little Sunny,
When can start to give macoroni? My gal only 8mth plus. Still eating soft porridge.

Hi Batbat,
Macaroni is wheat based - so at least 8 mth or more then can start.
Later send u a mth by mth food guide I compile fr BabyCenter.com and HPB (Sg)

back from 4 day break..... haha.... today suppose to me also on leave but was in the office as i need to clear 1 more day of christmas leave but will be clearing it on 3 jan as it is the 1st day of my little princess 1st day to school...

btw hubby very funny asking why my gal start lesson on 3 and not 4 like the rest of the pri school......

i told him he forget that childcare open on sat, therefore the childcare already rest on 1 jan, therefore it is not fair for them to start on the 4th instead of 3....

oh talking about 1st solid feed.... i start with ceareal - plain rice type then slowly intro..... use plastic spoon... there are type that will turn color when too hot.... u may want to try those.... at least there are some indication of too hot.....

i think i cook early in the morning of CNY and bring out... so both my kids can eat.... till today my boy is taking the same kind of porridge since i introduce solid to my kids.... meaning no salt, no oil, no sauce.... when i cook porridge will be meat/fish, vegetable and rice that all i insist they will follow till as old as they can get.... i think they have no problem... cause mummy eating the same thing... actually when the vegetable are fresh... they have sweetness.... so the porridge is not really plain... it is sweet.... so not need to worry children don take... my boy going to 6 still take... even my mother and in law... when they cook for them i also insist no oil, no sauce.... so good for them... they will not fall into too sweet or too salty later....

Little Sunny,
Got it! and, 10mths to give macaroni.

Really helps a lot!!!

What kind of tofu? Mixed with porridge?

Poshies
Must be exited!

Hi Batbat,
for start I give those tofu in square container type. Those are softer. U can see the container will says for steaming, for steamboat, for soup.. etc. I always get the type that says smooth tofu..(as oppose to springy) there is Organic version too. But lot more ex.
Hold back egg tofu till 12 mths. Coz not sure wat is the 'egg content' in the egg tofu.

U can give ur girl "Dao Huey" too. If u dun want too sweet, U can either ask the Auntie not to put syrup. Or come home and drain the syrup.

Little Sunny
I know now, those easily get from Giant, NTUC type where we add into soup or steam with fish.
How to give the soft tofu?
Chop and mix into the porridge?
Steam and feed directly?

Hi batbat,
Actually depend on ur gal.
U can try to chop it and mix into porridge first. If she is ok , then continue.. later then separate it, can steam with fish or meat or other.

My boy prefers porridge and any other stuff to be separate.
I think he is quite sensitive to texture..
and now that he is older. He will eat the item first. If u tell him fish, but give him egg. He will spit it out. Then after he see it is actually egg. Then he will eat it.
If give him mince pork porridge, he will spit out the pork.. last time (12~15 mth), he just throw it away. Nowadays, after he spits out, he will see wat it is first, then later pick it up with his fingers to eat it... very "hygenic".. haha I know.. but now as long as he will eat it.. I anything. Don care table mannners.
But seeing how he eats, nobody dare to touch his food later.

morning mummies...

how was the count down????

my gal is 2nd day of cc... she is very well behaviour for her 1st day... and okie when we leave today too.... i think she is used to playgroup of 2hr... now plus she is having the same school with kor kor... she is fine.... will post her picture in facebook later....

batbat, i bought item 5 and 6 first. I find them extremely helpful for people who are totally clueless about phonics. Hahahah...now i keep singing the song to my boy buto f cos, he bochap me.

poshies, where got count down...every night i concuss, no energy, hahahaha. But yesterday i was on leave, weny shopping with my husband. Went to get his and my boy's CNY clothes
All done liao, zzzz....Eh, you can use FB in office ah?? Mine cannot...everything ban. Lucky haven't ban SMH. lol.

cheesecake, gal A no longer at 922 liao. Think the mum transferred her to LSH at Jurong Safra liao, cos the kor kor is there.

Poshies
I wish my gal when go to CC is as smooth as your gal.

Butterwaffles
Think item 5 n 6 is good buy as it consist the most Items inside. I already got this brainy baby n baby can read for her now. Don't know whether I should buy the frog thingy now or wait till she is 1yr? She is 9 mthly only.
Scare too many things will confuse her?

hi batbat,
no envy, u don know how it was for my boy... ha ha cry for close to 1 month... no wonder, the childcare say it is easier for no 2 especially if no 1 is still in the centre..... we pre-inform my gal about go to school... plus in the past sometime she will follow us when i send my boy to school.... she also notice kor kor justsay bye and walk in... so mentally she is prepared, plus she was in 1 year in playgroup which my mil also left her when she reach there....

hi butterwaffles,
my office din ban facbook, but i hardly used the one in the PC, normally i post using Iphone... haha...

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Poshies</font>
Wow... i hope my #2 o cc will be as smooth sailing as ur gal as well
he'll be entering some time in June. Gorgor is in the same school, same class, so i hope this would make things easier as well.

Hey.. add me to FB too!!! Will PM you my add</font>

batbat, you buy liao wor...i bought when my boy turned 8 months or so. But i watched them on my own first, hahahaha. Now my boy turning 11 months old...he has watched it a few times so far. I play the CD in the car if my husband happens to drive us. I find the songs very addictive...can rem them very easily so along the way, sure can learn something from it!~

poshies, poor boy, cry 1 month! My heart sure break...my boy took 2 weeks to adapt to ifc, i already think it's quite long, xim tia. Hey, i PM you my email also, please add me ok...

butterwaffles

Not yet.
I found this mummy in SMH trying to sell off cheaper for item 5, under "want to sell.
But, not sure reliable or not.
Cos only $5 difference from the BP.

What do you think?

Hi batbat,
just last week. I was looking for a sq matress too. I bought a House of Balls for my son for Xmas. It is actually like a house shaped tent with sq base. And throw in lots of colourful balls to play.. he loves it and always "dive' into the ball pit..so tot to add a mattress for protection.

I tot to DIY and buy a rectangle one and cut it into a sq. but lazy.. hahah..
for the covers, I can recommend an auntie who does home based sewing..
she can alter clothes, make curtains, bed sheet covers, etc. She stays at St 65. Usually I send all my pants to her to alter length. Abt $3-4 for pants alteration.

Little Sunny,

Ok, then if I know any lobang for square mattress, I let you know.

Sewing... KIV first
Got a maid... :p

Well I came to know a stay home mum cut at home too. Also at St65. Good or not, can't comment much.

batbat, you plan to get registered mail? Personally, if its brand new in box, i will just buy from whoever sells cheaper ;p Mine can play, no problem at all! Eh...my dvd player is like 4 years old now. Heh...should be ok one. If you worried, i can pass you my dvds and you try first?? If can play then you buy lor ;p

ashwen, you really alot of lobangs leh! So far any news from any childcare centres?? $3-4 for pants alteration, you mean the length right? I buy my pants from Osmose only and i always too lazy, will get them to alter before i collect. Cost per pants is $6! I've nevery seen square mattresses before. Hmmmm....can try Ikea wor.

cheesecake, i went to the mrt salon liao, the malaysian chap quoted me $180 for a dye &amp; rebond job. I'm going on my birthday, hehe.

re: 2nd baby
My husband has been talking about having a 2nd baby. But financially, i really feel we cannot make it. Also, i'm too tired and feel very stretched. I think he's been thinking about it ever since we brought my boy to my 3 year old nephew's birthday party and he saw how they 'played' together. The first thing i think of is $. Then i think back of the times when my boy cried and cried and he never help out much. Now he is much more involved, probably because my boy is older and more responsive but he can just go off for mj or do his own things but i cant. Am i selfish not to have #2 so that i have more time for myself, more money and more rest?

HI Butterwaffles,
the Auntie stays same block as my mum.. So is my mum's neighbour-friend. Last time the auntie also part-time help my colleague to babysit for a while. hahah.
But now she also taken care of her own grandchild.

butterwaffles,

This is her link.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/4962265.html?1294191787
Yes, think I will try lah.
$38 is normal mail.
Any other mummiess keen? Let me know by today.

2nd baby
I know the horrible initial stage as we have the same kind of baby.

Today you may not want it as you are not totally ready? Maybe another six mth or 1 year to see how. Then during this period, have to encourage your husband to help out more.

Well, it is a personal choose. I don't think it is selfish.

If remember earlier of the post, I m alos thinking to have 2nd one. However, after thinking seriously, I decide to KIV. Why? Cos no point for the sake of having a 2nd one, and just give birth one. Because of other ppl saying must have a brother or sister to accompany, because of this n that? Well, we have to live for ourselves and for current and present immediate families members.

If 2nd one coming along (if not prepare finanically, mentally, physically), I believe it will worse off compare the 1st pregnancy, higher stress, really have to eat grass, etc etc.

But, then it is really personal chose lah!
Some ppl earn 2K n also can support 1 housewife, 3 kids. How they do it, I not sure lor.

ashwen, icic...last time my MIL will offer to help me alter. But after 1 time, i scared liao cos the pants spoilt after that ;p So i rather pay $6 to Osmose ^^

batbat, you are right. Very scared of the intial stage, i really feel hao bu rong yi now my boy is older and no longer crying half the day away all the time. Financially, confirmed i not prepared. Physically, even more jialat. Every night i totally concuss. I think i should just wait until my boy can sleep through the night first, then see how...1 step at a time. My parents certainly don't encourage me to have another 1 as they can see how shagged out i am. I also don't know how families survive on 2K. Maybe really save on many times. Like always eat at home, lunch &amp; dinner same food, no car, no maid, no any other extra things at all. Just food, shelter, clothes, education...lol.

Hi batbat,

Yeah, im keen too.
D Bp isit selling 1 set of leapfrog DVD onli? Tot she quoted $40 w postage? U managed to negotiate w her? So wat is d actual price?

Hello mummies, haven’t come in here for few days, was busy studying for my exams for work.. finally finished today yeah!

Butterwaffles – oh, Gal A left for LSH.. hope she will settled down there well..

Poshies – me too always use the iphone FB… add me!! I’ve PM you my email address.. hehe

My SIL gal started at Ichiban.. cannot adapt, every day crying and told her mummy she doesn’t want to go and prefer the previous school.. she does not like to sleep and bath there.. so now my FIL fetch her home at 1pm everyday.. see if it will be better, then slowly lengthen the hours there..

RE: #2
Hmm, I think if really cannot manage, no point have a #2 just for #1 to have a companion. I’ve also been thinking what I really want cos hb and I still cannot make the decision if we want #2.. we considered factors like who will help out when sick esp during the period I need to OT.. esp the fetching part. Imagine #1 at Ichiban and #2 and 922.. if hb fetch both, he will die man! Plus to feed #1 and #2 together, I think he really cannot manage.. so we are still very hesitant abt it.. maybe when #1 grows older then consider again..

morning mummies....

okie i had send the request to ilovemaxmax, cheesecake for the FB already....

Butterwaffles,
unable to find your facebook lah..... but send u an email on my facebook address.... u add me hor...

Batbat,

Tats y I wonder is d lady onli 1 set as her Bp look like she onli has 1 set for sale??? It's ok, I can source from other sellers.