A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

Hi mummypooh,

i just came back from NTUC extra, they have new stock for the baby yogurt, u can go grab them
umm everything just go moderate, i didn't give my boy yogurt everyday lah and don't think is advisable too. Well u won't want your boy to get bored with it too ya hee hee. Would find that the miam version a bit more sweet, baby yogurt will be closer to breastmilk.

yes, it's great fun preparing food for themm. Some types of food i prepare it 1 shot and store in freezer as quite difficut to do small portion. Depends on the receipe. Some of the food i prepare everyday like fish with mee sua or wu dong. So what i did was lunch, my boy normally take noodles, mee sua, wu dong and dinner will be rice with a dish. So the dish will sometimes be what i've prepared dish.

ya i also want to know how to prepare chicken and pork so that it is soft for toddler. Mine can detect the meat stuff in porridge... always spit out the meat... only if i mash till "fibre" stage cannot detect the diff texture from porridge then he eats..
he is willing to eat pieces of carrots, brocolli, cabbage, sweet potatos, bread, cookies, fish, etc
even minced pork, he will bite and spit out.

Hi Smile,
Ok, I better buy 1 more pack in case it run out of stock again. Keke

Can I Noe hw do u reheat d chiller fd after it defrost?wat type of fish do u normally buy, from ntuc extra or from d wet market? In case my boy dun liked fishy taste like his father.And which brand of mee sua do u buy? Coz some Tat I tried nt v nice. Ohhh yes, I'm also interested in yr dinner Recipes, care to share w us? :p

cutiebb99 / ashwen / mummypooh - me no expert either, i got the recipes from books, some of them i got it from library.

mummypooh - no need to defrost the food leh, their food is normally in quite small quantity. I normally freeze abt 60-70ml each portion. Normally i can store up to 7x70ml of the dish (will share some of the recipes with u gals later ya hee hee, need to go zzz soon, maybe tmrw ya) so with each porton i will just take it out from freezer and steam it straight away, don't need to defrost. I also believe that in the process of defrost like a lot of bacteria in contact with the food (personal view) and from what i understand so far nothing mention abt defrost baby food too before cooking hee hee.

As for fish, i normally buy cod fish, threadfin and salmon. We (or maybe just me hahah) always have this miss concept that cod fish is the best, actually salmon is the one that contain the highest omega 3 and it's a fatty fish. Cod dish is not a fatty fish. This is what i've learned from a nutritionist recently. But cod fish and threadfin maybe good fish to start with cos they are white fish which also less allergy. Well agian everything moderate ya so mix all 3 is the best. I normally buy from ntuc extra as i've no chance to go to wet market.

As for mee sua hor, no particular brand leh if not wrong is an old brand in a box de, with the old grandpa (the shou tao grandpa) on the box. I always blanch it over hot water first before cooking it with other ingredients like fish or vege. It's good to blanch first to wash away salt etc.

sorry huh dinner recipes to be continue....

<font face="segoe ui"> smile...thanks for sharing, i usually also went NTUC extra to buy, cos i cant go wet market, once i step in, i will sure faintz de, this is since young de, cant stand the smell and the crowd, so now NTUC extra is my wet market lor...

i will get threadfin for my ger, cos the bone easier to take out, i havent bought codfish before, so duno is its lot of bones, can you advise? how you do with the salmon? cook with porridge? i never let my ger try salmon before, maybe I should...heee....

my style is usually either mee sua/porridge + threadfin + minced lean meat + spinach + 1 other item...i usually let me ger eat pumpkin/butternut squash, carrot, toufu

in fact i didnt let my ger really eat the meat...hee....

btw, wana ask you will buy the fairprice brand or the other brand? do you realise their meat very oily?</font>

hi poshies...haven't been here for so long...me tired , more tired too...yawn...
starting a new job full time soon some more....sighz..
so any news on playtime?

as promise, i would like to share one of the recipes here which i thought is quite a great food and my boy loves it. It's the Cod fish with spinach &amp; potato. I like this dish as it's contain carbo, veg and meat (fish) which is all in. It's a very easy dish. the portion is about 7 x 70ml baby cube.

Ingredients
15g unsalted butter
80g leek, finely chopped (i used spring onion)
1 medium potato (approx 120g) diced
100 ml unsalted stock or water (i used chicken stock which i prepared)
75 ml milk (I used my boy's formula milk)
2 handfuls baby spinach leaves , roughly chopped
100g fresh cod fillet, cubed (i am more KS i used about half the fillet i bought from NTUC)
15g parmesan cheese, finely grated

Method
Heat the butter in a saucepan. Add the leek and sauté gently, stirring for 3 minutes. Add the potato and sauté for 2 minutes.

Add the stock or water and milk. Bring up to the boil, cover and simmer for 8 minutes until the vegetables are tender.

Add the spinach and cod and stir over the heat for 3 minutes or until the spinach has wilted and the cod is cooked.

Stir in the cheese and puree until smooth in a food processor or place in a bowl and use a hand blender.

For older babies, mash with a fork..

Information
Suitable for freezing
Suitable from 6 months
Prep time 8 minutes
Cooking time 16 minutes

Another one i would like to share is carrots, potatos, broccoli &amp; cheese. Note all these (the cod fish and this vege recipes) can be served as main course without rice. All up to u mummies. If goes with rice then portion should not be too big. Normally i use 1 x 70ml (1 baby cube) and go with rice.

Ingredients
300g potatoes, peeled and chopped
1 medium carrot (approx 125g), peeled and sliced
75g broccoli florets
4 tbsp your baby’s usual milk
15g unsalted butter
40g Cheddar cheese, grated

Method:
Put the potatoes and carrot into a saucepan, cover with boiling water and cook until tender (about 20 minutes). Meanwhile, steam the broccoli for about 7 minutes until tender. Alternatively add to the potatoes and carrot after about 12 minutes. Drain the potato and carrot and mash together with the broccoli, milk, butter and cheese.

cutiebb99 - the cod fish, u buy fillet not much bones. As for salmon, it will be best oven baked or pan fried. Salmon is not nice for steaming. You mentioned oily, are u referring to the meat from NTUC? Oily meh? hahaha

Another one i would like to share is carrots, potatos, broccoli &amp; cheese. Note all these (the cod fish and this vege recipes) can be served as main course without rice. All up to u mummies. If goes with rice then portion should not be too big. Normally i use 1 x 70ml (1 baby cube) and go with rice.

Ingredients
300g potatoes, peeled and chopped
1 medium carrot (approx 125g), peeled and sliced
75g broccoli florets
4 tbsp your baby’s usual milk
15g unsalted butter
40g Cheddar cheese, grated

Method:
Put the potatoes and carrot into a saucepan, cover with boiling water and cook until tender (about 20 minutes). Meanwhile, steam the broccoli for about 7 minutes until tender. Alternatively add to the potatoes and carrot after about 12 minutes. Drain the potato and carrot and mash together with the broccoli, milk, butter and cheese.

cutiebb99 - the cod fish, u buy fillet not much bones. As for salmon, it will be best oven baked or pan fried. Salmon is not nice for steaming. You mentioned oily, are u referring to the meat from NTUC? Oily meh? hahaha

<font face="segoe ui"> smile, thanks so much for the receipe..

i feel the NTUC housebrand de, oily lor..compare u buy from wet market, anyone noes why?</font>

Hi Smile,

Thz for yr recipes, looks yummy. Bt I have I qns, for my boy whim is turning 8 mths old nxt wk, can he start to take d fish, butter n cheese as mentioned abv?

morning... how is all your weekend...

i had a busy busy weekend... but guess i had enough rest on sunday... as morning i bot my gal to the shape run... then realise she can't run with me... so in the end we hang around till the time for collection of the goodies bag but she was so happy to see lot of pple running... she also run abit beside the road....

then went back boon lay to fetch my boy who was with my mother at the jurong park for the 1 community walk.... then bot them over to my in law place.. .after lunch... i fll asleep from 2-5 pm lah.... good life hor...

ashwen, so your husband is the one who is a property agent! I don't know if i should get a BTO flat in sengkang/punggol and pay a levy of $45K but a lower priced new flat or just get a resale flat from the open market with no grant, no need to pay $45K levy but confirm need to pay COV. Too many things to calculate, look at the figures alone only i get a headache. I will remember to contact you next year when my flat turns 5.

poshies, ok lar sleep 3 hours good mah. Yesterday i was home with my boy also and nan de he concussed at 4pm (he usually never sleeps in the afternoon) until 6pm ok. Lucky i smart and slept with him, so managed to get a 2 hour rest. Then miraculously, he concussed at 9pm again. Nowadays, his bedtime is 11pm lor. So yesterday was considered a good day for me :p How was the Shape run? I only participated once and i find the collection of the goody bag too horrible, so i never participate anymore....

Today i prepared carrot w potato puree, i puree it after boiled in a pot. But i wonder y d mixture become so "gluey". Is it due to d starch or did I add too much water ?

mummypooh, usually i will juz freeze the leftover puree and at the next feeding after thawing the cubes, i will add some milk or water so it's more runny. But i find very runny purees very hard to feed. So far, i've not tried giving white potato yet but i've tried carrot already. Carrot alone is abut hard to get it nice and pureed so i add some milk.

cutiebb, PCFs around our area has infantcare, do you know? Both the one at Blk 922 and 553 offer infantcare service and they are not very expensive. I think after the $600 govt subsidy, the fees come to near $600. Around $588 if i remember correctly. If one has the CDAccount and can make use of govt's match dollar-to-dollar contribution, one would only need to fork out near $300 per month. Both the centres are new and the infantcare areas are totally separated from the rest. I've considered sending my boy there next year but because i've already paid the registration fees for his childcare next year, it would mean paying 2 registration fees because different schools ah.

Hi butterwaffles,

u r sending yr child to their childcare for 18 mths? Bt y must pay for 2 registration fees? As yr child will go in 1 of d centre ?

May I Noe hw do u overcome separation anxiety for yr child? My boy is nw 8 mth old, he will always cry n look for me once I leave him alone in d rm. Though i always assure him tat i will go to d kitchen n bk in 1 min. Once I carry him, he stopped crying bt after I put him dwn, he cry again. Is this
consider separation anxiety? Is there any ways to help my boy to cope w it? Thz

mummypooh, the childcare centre i've registered my son for, does not offer infantcare services. But the PCF near my place has infantcare services...so its like he goes to Place A for infantcare but Place B for childcare when he turns 18 months. I quite like the childcare centre i've registered him for, so i don't really wish to change my choice for the sake of paying a 1 time registration fee in order to send him to infantcare.

Talking about separation anxiety, does it start around 8 months for most kids? Will they cry if we leave them with our MILs or nannies when we have to go work. My son is now 5.5 months old and he hasn't displayed any signs of separation anxiety yet. He will wail if i leave the room but that's because he doesn't like to be left alone. If i leave him at my MIL's or my parents' and i leave the house, he is fine. He has started showing a preference for certain people thou. I also want to know how to deal with separation anxiety because i don't think my weak heart can take it if my son wails every morning before i go to work.

<font face="segoe ui"> thanks thanks, for the infos...if i got #2, maybe I will send to infant care service...

my ger this week 2nd week to childcare centre....this morning cry so loud, refuse to go in, teacher has to carry her in...so poor thing lei...</font>

<font face="segoe ui"> sorry to ask, this PCF is under PAP right?

butterwaffles, so when you sending ur boy to infant care?</font>

cutiebb, yes PCF is under PAP but what i know is, there is PCF Sparkletots (this one is under PAP) and PCF Little Wings (this one is under NTUC - My First Skool). I think PCF Little Wings is a collaboration between PAP and NTUC, only 20 or so PCF centres are under NTUC hence named as Little Wings. If i remember correctly, only west side has Little Wings
I'm not sending my boy to infantcare, later my MIL commits suicide. If i can, i want to but i cannot.....

Understand, if my boy like that, i sure heartbreak too. But i will tell myself to perservere cos no way im letting my boy go back to my MIL ;p Go childcare better, can learn things and socialise and be independent. Stay at home no point, only watch tv.

ashwen, thanks will take a look! Am interested in your furry booties
My MIL had just commented on those, think she wants my boy wear those, haha.

Hi Butterwaffles,
u shop online with your MIL!! So cool!!
or u guys saw it somewhere? heehee..
I like the furry booties too... my boy wore it for a while before he started to learn to walk..

ashwen, no lar..she doesn't shop online, she saw some babies wearing those at the wet market! But i don't know should buy 1 or 2. My boy grows super fast...Eh, i order at your BP thread...

Hi butterwaffles,
yes. pls order at BP thread. Not here.
I only post the link here.. coz this is my regular thread.. tot u share with u guys.

ashwen, i've ordered and paid already. By any chance we living near each other? Buhahhaha...cos your meetup location is Pioneer MRT. For once, i see a meetup location at Pioneer :p

Hi Butterwaffles,
Haha.. i think I stay opp your area...
I stay in the blk beside the Daystar CC
I think u know where liao.. coz u are our residence CC guru..

Ya.. I think I have nvr seen a meet up at Pioneer before.. coz we stay in the "Last Frontier" mah.
most ppl do buy from my bp stay in compassvale.. always ask for meet up there.. haha..

ashwen, i know where u stay already, haha....
since now we have each other's contact, easy to meet up liao

Re: lightweight umbrella strollers
Any mummies here can recommend a good brand for lightweight umbrella strollers? Am looking to buy a 2nd hand one for my MIL. If cheap enough, i might even buy 2. I'm also looking for a 2nd hand avent sterilizer in reasonably good condition, to put at my mum's place as she really dislike using the sterilising tablets. Any lobangs please PM me!

Dear mummies, anyone can recommend me an oven suitable for baking stuff like sweet potatoes, peaches, french fries, marinated wings? I can't afford too big ones also as my kitchen no space already...

Hi butterwaffles,
u can check the Want-to-buy or want-to-sell section for 2nd hand stuff.
There is a BP for new Stroller now...u can also check out.
I also lookin for a super-light weight stroller that can fold easily and till "very compact" ... planning a short trip to M'cca via coach... so thinking to find one..

For the Oven, u can get one with 2-in-1 function (Grill + Microwave type) so can save space.
I using one like this , Brand : Sharp .. bought few year back at $399.. I have baked fries and shepard pie and grilled meat in it..
There is a 3-in-1, my sis using which can bake cake / cookie as well, but think more ex.

ashwen so grilling is same as baking? Sorry, i really know nuts about cooking! I also want to ask, FTWMs, if you cook porridge in the morning and leave it in the thermal pot, is it ok to feed the same porridge to your kid for lunch and dinner? Because i have a thermal pot and i intend to cook in the morning and bring it to my MIL's for her to feed my boy. But not sure if it's ok to feed the same porridge for 2 meals....

Hi Butterwaffles,
electric oven-got 2 type, - Grill and Convention oven.
(I think,other mummies can correct me if I am wrong)
Grill - the heating metal is only on top.
Convention oven - for baking cake, pastry, cookies - the heating
top and bottom.
I think the grill type still can bake cookies.. but if bake cake and pastry .. it would raise properly and top already "chao ta"..

My grill oven can baked french fries and shepard pie and grilled meat, bake potato, etc

But nvr try cake / cookies etc.

anyone used Thermoguard before is it good?
I looking for a good thermometer..
my current one from KP (can't brand) suppose can scan forehead + ear.. but always give me reading of 34.5 ~ 36.2 .. even when BB having fever...

ashwen, thanks for waiting for me the other day! Die die had to fetch my boy first cos my husband had to rush back to work..his workplace is very far, and he quite long never get to see his son already so we went to fetch him first
Thanks for your advice on ovens! How about toaster oven? I don't know if i'll bake cakes or cookies in future ah...I just need something that can so called 'bake' for now because i read that by baking, more nutrients are retained and foods like peach and sweet potatoes actually taste yummier when baked
Alamak, for thermometers, i use the manual pigeon one! -_-"

cutiebb, for Ichiban Montessori, if register this year, should be $380 after the $300 govt subsidy
Next year's registration fees not fixed yet i think...For more info, your friend can go to: https://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/ChdCccSrch.jsp

For the link, it doesn't direct you to childcare centres directly but can ask your friend to surf around. I got alot of info from there. I also visit kiasuparents forum, to find out more

<font face="segoe ui"> thanks Butterwaffles...im also asking for myself....cos i feel little skool house is kind of ex lar...so wana find another comparable school...heee...but then cant deny little skool house is good lor...but price too ex...hee

ichiban got open house on 21 &amp; 28 Aug, i will be gg to have a look...heee</font>

cutiebb, i'm not sure how good Ichiban is but after visiting a number of childcare centres, i'm satisfied with it considering the fact that it's within walking distance, the fees are comparable to the PCF one that i was considering and the fact that the principal was not afraid of discipling the kids in front of me
I need a place where the adults there are able to discipline with love because my boy is damn naughty. I did consider Little Skool House also but after counting and counting, we really cannot afford the fees. I'll just have to be more hardworking and guide my boy more at home :p For Ichiban, there is the childcare one which is Montessori and the kindergarten one (a few hours per day kind). Actually, another one i like very much but cannot afford is Cherie Hearts @Eng Kong. Learning Vision @Biopolis is good too i find. I think monthly fees is $600 per month after the $300 govt subsidy. If my husband can fetch my boy everyday without fail, i think i would have gone for LV, i'll just have to cut down my spendings on other stuff.

Good luck in your search ok! Do update here!

<font face="segoe ui"> Butterwaffles....currently my ger in LSH is also $600+ per month, at this moment we still can afford lar...but then im gg for long term planning...if i got #2 coming, i need to put in infant care...so it will add up to a huge amount, so I think i need a cheaper childcare for my ger...heee...i also do consider cherie hearts cos somehow its also one of the popular de...thinking to look into a few, cos now my ger still can go LSH, and i dont have #2 yet, so still can source around...heee

poshies...where have you been???</font>

cutiebb, who will be the one fetching your #1 and future #2? If really want to plan long term, i personally think it's better to go for one that offers infantcare as well. I think LSH at Jurong Safra does offer infantcare service as well but the fees are Woah! Same centre better so that you can send and fetch both together. Unless your husband or yourself can always drive them around, having #1 and #2 at different centres will be very exhausting
Ichiban Montessori doesn't offer infantcare thou...if you are very keen on Ichiban, maybe can just put #1 there first. When #2 comes along, get a nanny within walking distance from our area is also an alternative :p Else what i know is, PCF Sparkletots at Blk 922 and PCF Little Wings at blk 553 offer infantcare. A few branches of My First Skool around Jurong also have infantcare. I know because i was considering to place my boy in IFCs before he was born.

<font face="segoe ui"> Butterwaffles...im thinking of #1, cos i noe ichiban no infantcare...

like you say LSH infant care fees are damn ex...1.2K, how to afford sending 2 into the same centre...haa...it will be abt 2K just on centre...crazy right...haaa....

if not will be 3hrs class for my #1 and send to me mom place and #2 in infant care...but then i want the school to do pottu train for #1, so kind of dilenma...haaaa</font>

cutiebb, you can always try halfday cc for your #1 if your mum can help to fetch. Just that for halfday cc, the subsidy will be half as well, $150 lor. Infantcare service offered by PCFs comes up to near $600 in cash. Pretty good value for money i would say
Now that i have #1, i know i will only consider #2 if i can afford to stay at home for 1.5 years to personally care for #2. Will never rely on anyone else anymore...we are the best caregivers
But if really cannot stay home, then got to make a decision. IFC? Nanny? Your mum? None is perfect but nowadays in Singapore, most families will require dual income else hard to survive.

sunsweet, hello, you can try surfing kiasuparents.com The website is very informative and more focused. It's where all the kiasu parents gather to compare notes and feedback on schools. I've always heard about the famous Zoophonics at Jurong. Maybe you can google and find out more