A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

<font color="0000ff">mummypooh, just kip taking non stop and sure will hv one suitable for passport...haaa...tats what i did, find a white blank wall and make my ger sit there, and start taking...haaa....</font>

mummypooh,
passport photo.. I also made my son sit in front of white wall to take multiple shot.. took few days to get a photo i like or can use.

ur boy still young right? get him to lie down on bed (if u have white bedsheet)
else lie on floor put mahjong paper...
tat's wat my friend did..

anyone of you have any feedback on My First Skool at Jurong Point? How's the teacher? Cirriculum? kids there? Understand that recently they have been close for 10 days due to HFBD. Will you put your kids with them since they have such record?

Hi cutibb, Ashwen,

I also tot of taking d passport photo myself, but myboy v active can't keep still. He's coming to 10mth tis wkend!!!yipee. Aiyo, he can't lie still on d bed 1, sure wana to sit up or move away. Tats y I wonder hw do mummies take d photo, I wonder does d pple in d photo shop can have d patience n take his pic. Wahaha

If managed to take his pic, hw to edit from d pc? I.e the size &amp; d proportion of d bb face in d pic?

Btw must be white bkgrd? Hw abt beige? Esle I have to stick d mahjong paper on d wall Liao.keke :0

Passport Photo,
We did the same thing as cutiebb, keep taking nonstop and choose a suitable one. Anyway, my boy has his passport when he was 1 month plus old.. easier to take picture of newborn.

Smile, you register with MY FIRST SKOOL already ? I tot it was damn full and I was told to wait at least 3years from now.

Hi Yun,

i registered with them since last year when my boy was only 4 or 6 month can't remember.

Have u visited the centre before? How you find MY FIRST SKOOL at JP?

Hi Smile,
I just registered with them few months ago but was told waiting list is up to 300.. so most probably no chance...

No.. I never visited the centre yet.. how about you ?

There are flea market at my place (BLK 652) and GRC is having event to celebrate midautumn tonight.. going to look look see see later.
Any mummies keen to join ?? hehehe

Ashwen, Yah.. I stayed at BLK 652..
Not bad for this year. this time got new stall (selling HP cover) and a stall selling baby clothes (used) at $1. I took a peek, the clothes are quite new.

Smile, how long have you wait ? ever think of other choice ? they are really full.

i have waited for 15 months already. I've got a place, My First Skool called me up. They will arrange viewing of the centre for us. Just that the vacancy is not for immediate, it has to wait till Jan 2011 which we sort of stuck half way here. Anyway, will go and have a view at the centre first.

yes have thought of others but many around JW are full. i have put down names at various child care here since last year but so far only My First Skool call me recently. I believe more of the child care will call me soon too, i guess.

Smile,
that's good... let me know after you viewed the place.
I waited for few months only.. and my boy is now 24mos le...will lwait patiently for my turn

Hi smile &amp; ashwen,

I'm also staying v near, me at blk 653. keke maybe someday, we shld all organize a play date for d children of JW mummies. Keke

Chiam, I havnt register yet &amp; 8 more mths my boy reaching 18mths. May I Noe do I need to go down to d CC &amp; register personally or juz a phone call will do?

Morning mummies, hope you all had a great weekend!

Welcome ilovemaxmax

Yun – maybe you wanna consider my girl’s PD at TMC. She is Dr Ang Ai Tin. So far I find her very good, just that her queue super long. Must go there very early one.. Otherwise, you can also try TCM.. so far for cough and phlegm, TCM works great for my girl

Smile – RE: My First Skool, my neighbour placed her child in there like 1-2years ago, she said the infantcare is not very good.. But I am not sure on the childcare.

RE: Passport photo
I think better bring to studio to take? At least we can try to hold baby while the photographer can take pic.. Cos I tried so many times to take at home but failed! Baby kept moving around..

Mummypooh – normally have to go down cos need to fill in form for the CC. But for LSH, the principal email me the forms and I submitted via return email, so no need go down lah..

<font color="aa00aa">Hey, anyone got POSB Everyday card? The recent change of cards, inside there got vouchers. There's a free trial to Julia Gabriel. Wonder if anyone would be keen to join me.

I'll be going for the trial for Mandarin class this Wed, 11am, playnest. Bringing my #2 there to see see look look

<font color="0000ff">ilovemaxmax.....have but wed cannot lei, no more leaves liao to take...haa...but I went JG school holiday program before...heee...not bad...alot of movement involve...heee</font>

thanks cheesecake, oh didn't know that the infant care not good but my boy will be going into childcare so need to know more abt the childcare.

Yun, i might give up on the chance thou as they can't allow my boy to start now only in Jan next yr. Sorry not trying to "splash cold water" on u but they are taking in 2009 babies now. If your baby is 24 month already, most likely u can give up already as i heard from them there are still many 2009 babies in the Q and then they also mentioned that they take batch by batch. Eg: 2009 babies then after that 2010 and so on. so if you have waited for very long then chances is that it will be slim. Hope i am wrong but it will be good that u look for alternative.

mummypooh, you may want to call the cc first then arrange for viewing and some may ask u to go down to fill up form for waiting list etc. It's better that u faster call them and if can faster make deposite to secure a place. The worse case is that, some waiting list too long, they won't even want to accpt $$ yet. haizz got $$ also not say sure have.

hippopolai, it's never too late, faster go source and chop chop.

ilovemaxmax / cutiebb99 i would love to join too but most likely will go for wkend ones hee hee

Smile, I see.. then I have to search for other cc slowly..
Iam not in the hurry as my boy now still in the 2hrs playgroup and will switch to three hours on January 2011.
Worse care,I will taking care him by myself..
hehehe althrough I miss My working life before preggie..and Hubby prefer me stay at home with my son 24/7 too. soon I will become "auntie" liao...

yun, that's very nice. neah don't worry u won't be "auntie" lah. It's good to be able to look after our baby ourself, seeing them grow. Take your time to search bah but do remember to put name on waiting list ya

<font color="0000ff">yun, u are the one sending ur boy to The Enrichment Classroom right....i saw that and feel not bad, but its near to me but not my mom hse...haaa...so im now thinking of Star Tots which is nearer to my mom...anyone got comment about Star Tots</font>

Hi mummies, i'm back! Been really busy busy busy, SIGH!

Welcome, Ilovemaxmax! How old is your boy ah? How long have you been staying there??

mummypooh, thanks for your advise on preparing meat for my boy. I don't know how to start giving meat to my boy, so weird leh. He is now 7.5mth old. Because i plan to start him on porridge in a few weeks' time, im thinking of just cooking the porridge with meat but only feed him the porridge. Weird anot huh?

Smile, My First Skool at JP is very very popular. With so many kids together, i think HFMD or any other illness, are unavoidable. I won't blacklist the school just because it is closed due to HFMD. In fact, after they reopen, i'm sure the place will be even cleaner than before!

ashwen, me lor, i use Friso, hehe. The moment i know about the promo, i cheong down liao. Ka poh a pediasure empty tin from my colleague to get the Friso milk tins...

yun, it's not easy being a SAHM but it is also very fulfilling and rewarding
If my husband can afford to let me be a SAHM, i would too but we can't afford so i just continue to work lor, heh. I do enjoy my working life as i have pretty nice colleagues and i get to leave office on the dot most of the times but i also feel guilty leaving my boy with another person...

My First Skool gg start new campus @ ST 61 next year. Understand has infantcare too.
Yeah!! Maybe I will get chance to send my BB there.. plus so near my place.

Ashwen, sure ? Iam staying at st.61 le... waw.. must inform me when they are open ya ??? heeheheh

Butterwaffles, yes.. being SAHM is really no joke. My husband doesn earn much and just enough for our monthly needs but he doesnt want other people to takecare of our son (for first few years at least)and somemore we got no parents support.
So I have to give up pretty pretty clothes/ branded bags, etc etc..

yes yes new campus at blk 648c &amp; D. Ashwen when did u reg online? I remember calling them 2 weeks back when the construction just started and they already told me long waiting list wor. Neverthless, all mummies faster chop chop liao.

Hi ashwen,

Thank u thank u.... Tats great. Me still pondering whether to send my boy to daystar, nw I have another option. Better register early. Keke.

Hi yun,

Totally agree w u, being a SAHM need to sacrifice many things..So after u put yr boy in CC, u intend to return to d workforce?

Maybe our children can become classmates at my first skool's new campus. Keke.

I registered le.. hopefully kana chosen
Anybody know what is the monthly fee before subsidy ?

Mummypooh28, I would like to work again but have to see the situation first.
My boy is very demanding now, didnt see me for 5 mins already run around to look for me. Iam wondering if he can stay fullday at the CC.

Classmates arr..My boy is almost 25months le.. should be in Nursery next year.

Hi cutiebb,
Yes.. My mum was helping me doing confinement for 2.5 months.. after that,I doing all myself.
At home, Iam a nanny and a cooker.. my hubby's job is Floor and Toilet cleaning..hehehehe

RE: Julia Gabriel trial
I also prefer wkends class.. If you all are going just let me know..

RE: My First Skool new campus
I also saw it when I was at my in laws house at 649. Think alot of ppl will go apply one.. considering the one at JP so popular.. I also wonder is it the curriculum?

yun - good to be able to be SAHM.. I would want to if I can.. but still prefer to have more income... haizz

ashwen, that's great news!!! Then do consider the one at St.61 because a new centre makes alot of difference. When i called up before the centre at blk 922 opened, also long waiting list. End up not many people register. So there is always chance ok :p Im looking forward to my boy starting IFC. I hope everything will go well...

yun, it's not easy being a SAHM and i salute to all SAHMs
Because no income means no CPF and CPF to me is very important because need to pay for flat! Hmmm...then would you guys consider a #2? Eh, i can understand the sacrifices. I'm a FTWM i already stop buying stuff so imagine if im a SAHM. Eat grass liao i think....Good that your husband helps out with the household chores *thumbs up* Some men think just because they are the main breadwinners and you are 'at home shaking legs' all the time, you should do all the household chores.

smile1, the one at JP is extremely popular because of 2 reasons. 1) It's at JP, how convenient can it get??! 2) It's reasonably priced, not expensive, considering the extremely convenient location. Frankly, curriculum wise, it depends on luck. I still believe that its the teacher that makes the difference. Even if the curriculum is extremely impressive, we need qualified teachers who are passionate about nurturing our children to deliver the goods. What i mainly look out for, is whether they give out enough 'work' to prepare the kids for Primary 1. That's my main concern because i don't have confidence in myself when it comes teaching my boy the right stuff. I really want my boy to transit to Primary 1 as smoothly as possible...

butterwaffles - well said!! I have to agree with you to certain extend. Not sure how's the teacher at st 61 My First Skool as being a new CC, hopefully they will have some one more qualified but then again not sure if they have enough experience.

Hee hee everyday, i can see progress in the constration of the CC. I can see that they are doing up windows. If I'm not wrong st 61 1st skool is not air-condition ya. Then i hope they have more windows for ventilation hahaha

smile, my husband also told me about this new cc at your area and he was asking me if i will consider waiting for this new cc instead of sending our boy to the PCF at blk 922 because he finds it more convenient for me. But told him i don't mind the slightly longer distance as it's very hard to tell if the infantcare at this new branch will have many babies or not as the PCF has a very good baby to teacher ratio. But also partly because i can no longer stand my MIL taking care of my boy any longer. ZzZzzz...but i think my husband is still hoping i will consider this new centre as it would mean that my MIL can have more time with my boy for the time being. I don't think a new centre means everyone is new! Haha...i'm sure there will be a few who are well qualified else how to run the centre ah right? I also tell myself cannot solely depend on the teachers, sigh. We mummies must 'work hard' at home also, got to spend more time to guide them. I think when they enter primary school, there'll be alot more to do with them! Hope this new centre will open soon so mummies can quickly register liao ah. I think the expansion of My First Skool branches scarily fast. My mum's place at Sengkang, void deck area, already has 2! New branches are sprouting up everywhere!

butterwaffles, yeah Singapore doesn't have enough childcare, that's why gov rushing to open more. I would think this new cc is very near to many mummies here, that makes it HOT cake. Umm guess if you send your boy to this cc your MIL also won't have much time with him bah. Actually it's really true that sending to a cc near to home is good, so you won't be that tired as well.

smile, i also don't know...because i'm really going crazy, thanks to my MIL. The thought of having to wait until next year makes me wana pee in my pants. Partly also because i'm not sure how many infants will be at this centre, if too many, i won't like it too. Also, if i wait until next year, my boy will turn 1 in February, i suspect the separation anxiety might be alot worse. I agree that if the cc is near, it would be soo convenient especially on rainy days
Sigh...

Butterwaffles, maybe what you can do is join the waiting list for the new CC while you send your boy to the 922 IFC. If they subsequently offer you a place, then evaluate to see if you still want to switch.. At least got a chance mah..

My girl going to Ichiban in Nov le, but now seeing this new CC, my hb said he also wanna put on waiting list haha, cos nearer and more convenient for him to pick up LOL...

cheesecake, i don't wish to change my boy here and there, will prefer him to stay at one place. Too bad Ichiban no infantcare else i will prefer him to be at the same place throughout ah. I scared if change him here and there, he will cry cry cry ^^ For cc, i'm still sticking to Ichiban ;p But to be frank, my boy turning 8 months old next week but till now, i've not seen him display any sign of separation anxiety. How would i know if he is having separation anxiety? Everyday i leave him at my MIL's, he's ok, won't cry. When i bring him home and my MIL says bye bye, he also won't cry. Leave him at my parents', he also ok. But when i bring him to cut hair, the moment he sees the person approaching him, he wailed like mad. This is not anxiety right? Just don't like to cut hair right? When my grandma carries him, he wailed also. But when my aunties carry him, he is ok. My grandma and aunties till now, only see him a couple of times.

butterwaffles,
usually separation anxiety, will start from 6mths.. but also depend on the baby. My niece's SA starts as early as 4 mth... and esp. with my mum, who is her main caregiver. Will cry and cry when my mum not in sight.

My son maybe started almost 10-11 mth.. and only in morning when we leaving for work, but sometimes he is ok, sometimes no... if we are outside shopping etc.. I leave him with my parents / MIL / his daddy, etc, he is ok. At home, mostly he just doesnt like to sit alone in the baby high chair, as long as there is someone to play with him, or he gets to run around, he is ok.

butterwaffles, I dont think yours is separation anxiety yet.. If so, then will cry when mummy or daddy is out of sight one.. Very obvious one.. I saw the other toddler in the IFC, wailed like crazy when her mummy leaves.. teachers need to pacify for quite a while..

But my girl does not have it at all, even me or hb left her at IFC and go, she just cry for sake of crying.. once we are out of sight, she stop and play.. haha.. so "fake" hor.. like entertain us like that, just to show she misses us LOLzz..

I also dont want to change CC so often.. same as you, if Ichiban got IFC, I will let her stay there all the way.. But no choice, they dont have IFC..

I also told hb that.. but he still want to put on waiting list for My first Skool as he thinks that is more convenient than Ichiban.. but dont care lah.. if they really offer place then I tell him NO haha, since now I say No also he cannot get into his mind one..

cheesecake, for me hor, i'm more concerned about the baby to teacher ratio. Even 1 teacher to 3 babies is considered not satisfactory enough for me. Hence, i'm more keen on the the IFC at Blk 922...Logically speaking, i don't think alot of parents will go for IFC unless they really no choice but for the childcare section under My First Skool at those 2 blocks, i think confirm plus guarantee chop will burst. I took a walk around the 2 blocks last evening after work. Surprised to find construction sites at 2 blocks. Maybe one block is for IFC. But i saw the notice that they are offering student care service as well...wonder how they are going to squeeze infantcare, student care &amp; childcare together...Your gal is so funny, hahahahaha! So cute lar she, lol. Sometimes, when im in the bedroom with my boy, i need to leave a while to make his milk, he will scream but only if he is lying down. If he is sitting up with a toy, he is fine. So that is not separation anxiety right?? I'm beginning to suspect this boy of mine wont suffer from separation anxiety...the one who will suffer from it is ME!!!

ashwen, it's like that one, same situation as when i called up the PCF at blk 922 before they opened, told me long waiting list but when i visited the place, only a few kids lor. I'm going ahead with blk 922, won't wait for My First Skool. I think sooner or later, the void decks around my area will also have childcare centres liao, just a matter of time.

Just asking, any mummies here who are residing at blk987C or D and are considering to sell your flats? I've checked online and it seems like the valuation is around $440K for a mid-floor 5-room unit. Wondering if any mummies here are currently in the midst of shifting?