A fresh new thread to locate SAHM of yr2006?

JP
Not good to eat so little leh, cos lacking in nutrients? I think need to rev up metabolism, cos the body is possbly storing all the fat cos it's in starvation mode. Need to conserve. I hardly think about cutting down on what I eat but I often think bout how to work it off to make up for it. So I do silly (mostly psychological) things like walk the long scenic route to the bubble tea shop. Ha.

Cheri
You are above 35?? Can't tell leh!

Lin
I think basal metabolic rates play a part.

Why lost it with D? Very mundane like that when I tell it. We were at the mall and he said he wanted to sit on one of them kiddy rides. Ok. When time was up, I said we had to go. 'NO!' I walked away. He stood up and screamed. I said 'Come on!' He wanted me to retrace my steps all the way to get him from the ride. I wasn't going to do that, so he started crying, I continued walking, he ran after me and cried until he pee'd. I lost it lor. I told him to stop it several times in between and he wouldn't. I smacked him, he still won't stop crying. So made him go to the loo with me, along the way he started crying again, didn't wanna go, insisted on changing his shorts there and then, and I smacked him again. Gave him long lecture in the cubicle.

Anger management ah, much as I feel bad after punishing him, most of the time I don't regret it leh. As in, I would do it all over again if given a 2nd chance. Cos I can't possibly humour him every time, play games every time to get him to do something. So big liao, surely he must learn to listen and to do what I tell him to.

zoe
oh yes, i am! hahah
i'm the oldest mummy here who gave birth to a #1 in 2006, i can safely say. Hahahah so i roped in my dearest fren who's my senior in sch to this thread lol

i'm telling myself to start alighting one bus stop earlier when i pick N from cc everyday...so alight at ngee ann poly instead of SIM..hope i can do it haha & not give myself excuses like it's hot, i'm late etc...oh dear! I'm oredi thinking of the excuses now wahahhaah

oh dear, he cried till he peed? no wonder u were mad. Yes, sometimes we just gotta stamp down our authority as parents & they do what we say is rite. Over explaining or reasoning with them puts them on a pedestal & when they can reason/argue back better in future, things will turn uglier. Though i absolutely hated it when my mum used to tell me things like 'becos i say so, becos i'm ur mum' lol

Zoe
ic... yah no wonder u were so mad.
with kids... its always the mundane stuff
yah tats wat i told myself too... how can everytime humour entertain them jus to get them to do their stuff

Cheri
thanks i know
jus tat morning and afternoon not much appetite

aiyo actually u're not tat old wat

ur senior in sch? oh u mean our pretty cat same sch as u ah?

wow tats a gd start leh! alighting one stop earlier...
we're terrible... even when find parking lot we'll circle a few more rounds jus to find the one nearest to the lift

will give sentosa a miss cos kate jus recovered

aishite
erhm...im a bit uneasy with the idea of losing weight wo exercising. im quite old school in that sense. i need to feel im suffering to lose weight happily..heeee..so will engage the massage lady soon, haha, when im more settled with my exercise routine. but im more into cardio and less into toning or building muscles.

JP
walking with kids is very little exercise actually. and you dun burn much calories doing household chores either. sad but the best is to work on cardio and get your pulse rate really up (okok..blood pressure shooting up when G1 is naught not counted)

cy and i walk a lot too. in my former place we walk about 1-2 km each day on evening walks. dun lose weight one...doesnt mean when you sweat you lose weight.

you guys sure eat little. goodness how do you guys manage???????i eat like three times your portions!!!!

brekkie
bread with cheese or nasi lemak or noodles etc

lunch
rice with dishes like meat and veggie

tea
cheesecake

dinner
rice with dishes (veggie, fish soup etc) and some fruits

supper
three roti prata (the day before) or indian rojak (yesternight)

crazy diet hor..o yes in between i snack on crisp, fries, chocolates etc...in other words i dun stop eating...

you can imagine my size....help..i need to attend gluttonous annonymous...

but then ive alwys ahd huge appetite. when i was in school (uni days) my lunch consist of three BK burgers with a pack of chicken rice to top it off, anythign lessi will faint due to low blood sugar (buauauauaaaaahahahhaa...bluff of course) dinner is the same amount. i easily polish one large pizza in one sitting. my friend and i were at a coffee shop once and ordered crabs, fish, and at least four to five other dishes and whack them all. until the worried uncle came up and told us not good to eat so much...but then my metabolic rate was high then..now...not even 35 im like....enroute to obesity

retrospectively, maybe i really have eating disorder...

CY
Cannot compare the past lah. Uni days??! Wah leuw. Compare until so long ago, now sure cmi one. I could take a Thai banquet early dinner before a later Mexican dinner, 12 tequila shots, 2 jugs of beer, a couple of margaritas and a tray of other 'standard' mixed drinks, and after that, to satisfy the munchies, 2 Mac's meals, a large pizza....

Cannot think back. ;-p A snack or appetizer in the olden days consisted of an upsized meal, I agree. Now need to shrink the stomach liao. ;-p

Must be brisk walking lah. Not talking about strolling or toddler's pace. Brisk walking burns the same amount of fat as a moderate jog. That's a fact. A jog would work the heart (cardio) more but fat-burning, they're the same. D rides his balance bike while I brisk walk beside. When he's at the playground and engrossed, I will steal a few laps round the small community running track.

At the end of the day, in my view it's very simple lor. You work out, you will lose weight. That's the only way. Starving yourself, you'll get weak, body isn't as efficient processing and in general, metabolic rate will decrease. I've dated too many fat men and I know when they workout, it's the only way, their diet doesn't help much. They yoyo. And it's when they slack off from their workouts that they yoyo up. Haha. Yes, and fat clients too. When I sign them up for a course of PT, they're so happy cos the results are so fast.

Cheri
The weather here thwarts my intentions to work out a lot. It's the heat that gets to me, not the actual run.

Ya, now we 'understand' more the 'cos I'm your mum' reason... Ha. Kids do think they have a say but at the end of the day, they have to be reasonable and it's often not the case. How often you hear kids in shops whining about wanting this and that and it's just not reasonable to want a toy/candy every time they're in a shop.

o yes we are on food now!!!

but i love sinful picnics.
curry with bread, pig trotter's beehoon (my mum's best! o add in the fats please), satay and otah , and o yesssssss......fishballs by the dozen!slices of luncheon meat (must be shanghai marling brand) with egg.coupled with ketchup, chilli sauce and (for the sake of having some veggie) cucumbers and tomatoes...

then to reduce heatiness, barley drink or chrysanthemum!! or mum's best green bean soup!!!

in fact i miss such old school picnics so so much. all the works!! lazy me wont ever do such picnics

talking about it is making me salivate liaoz. i hope cy will grow up to at least savour these fare once in a while. grow up like the kampung kid we once were :p

CG
awww Nate is such a gd looking lil chap

and sha was so sweet w him

when u're more well-rested must share ur birth story ya ;)

Mummies - No lah, I don't eat so little. When I wrote Milo Drink, I really mean I drink alot alot kind. Imagine, for breakfast 1-2 big beer glass type of milo (eg: 5tbsp milo powder with milk). Then for lunch, I will make a jug (at least 15 tbsp of milo powder) and drink to glorified kind. I might not eat a lot (bloated up) but I sure drink alot...ha!ha! But for dinner, I can eat the whole fish kind. Maybe I have messed up my body with all the milo drinks. You guys might be on the right track, eat for your blood type. Am reading on this...thanks for the info! I don't really dare to snack coz it shows...my psoriasis will pop up like no tomorrow. I was talking to my cousin and he said that in his professional opinion, the milo drink did me in. My total calories per day is about 1800 per day, calculated by him...ha!ha!

CG - Thank you for sharing the photos and vidz with us! Sooooooo cute!!! Just love the vidz where Sha kisses her bro!
Rest, rest, rest so that your body can heal!!!

jp
wow that's a lot of milo a day! i'm not sure abt this but cos u r still bfg, would it be better for u to hv a more balanced diet instead of so much milo (though it's good for milk ss)? Maybe u r not fat, it could be water retention problem since u drink so much? just hazarding a guess here. If really water retention, then it's a blessing too. Cos i think water retention issues r easier to tackle than real fats, perhaps? Sorry, i'm hedging a lot in this post but really cos i'm no expert, just ruminating hahah

JP
Wah, so much milo. You definitely won't have to worry about osteoporosis. Ha. Full cream milk ah? Very fattening. Doctor friends also tell me not to take so much dairy cos closey related to cancer. I take roughly half soy half cow milk (not at the same time).

CG
Many congrats again!! Such a sweet video of Sha and her little brother. My heart melted.

JP
Wow!! Milo champion!! JP Boleh!!
But Why do you take so much??
I do crave for more milo when I bf.
My blood type is B+ too, so is my hb, F1 and F2.
I tend to have a hearty breakfast.
Lunch and dinner per normal - rice, veges, meats.
I don't snack.

Lin, Cy
So interesting to hear that Kate and CH eat well, but not putting on weight. How much are they taking per meal? Got more than 4Oz?
I remember for F1, he could take 8Oz cereal or 1 steamed egg yolk or 1 slice cheese + 1 slice of bread at abt 9-10 months. He skipped porridge and went straight to soft rice. When he was 10 mths, he hit 10kg. And his milk intake was at least 200ml, 3 feeds. My mum used to call him "bottomless". And now at 32mths, he steals milk powder to eat. But F2 is taking much lesser. At 9mths now, he only takes 4Oz cereal or 1/2 steamed egg yolk. Milk is abt 150-180ml only. My mum said he knows how to 'jaga' (malay word for take care of) body.

JP
Oh wow that's alot of milo. Ya think probably water retention...maybe conbine on finding other sources on boosting bm? this case more balance diet might do good to you.

CG
Lovely!!!

yfuang
K is also eating quite alot but not putting on much like Kate & CH...what he is taking now

Woke up-FM 150ml
Before morning nap-FM 150ml
Lunch-Porridge 1x adult big bowl
After lunch-1 puree apple/pear/peach
Before afternoon nap-FM 120ml
After nap-FM 150ml
Dinner-Porridge 1x adult big bowl
Before bed-120ml

JP
hehe yah maybe take it easy on the milo so tat u can save some space for more healthy solid food

yfuang
i think it must be my bm lah... not nutritious enuff.. tats y kate so skinny
F1 another dream kiddo leh... steal milk powder?!
aiyo if only cay loves his milk! now still must bribe him in order to get him drink his milk

FM
how to increase kate's intake of fm? i only manage to slip in abt 80ml of fm into her morning cereal..
lunch and dinner she takes porridge...
eh ask silly qn... can add one or two scoop of milk powder into her porridge??

Elmo
K has v gd appetite!

JP
wow! go easy on the milo man.cocoa has caffeine too!

Lin, yfuang
CH ate quite a bit when she started on solids, but i restricted her a bit coz i dun wanna her to carry a distended tummy around :p...she used to finish one ikea bowl of porridge at one go (7mths) and now it's the same...

but i try to make it as nutritious as possible, with pumpkin, and grains and meat and green veggie and other stuff...her meal is a bit like pig's feed...

ch doesnt take cereal anymore.i havent started her on fm yet.

im thinking of starting her on rice but am lazy lah, porridge is sooo easy dun hae to worry about soup or what...
both cy and ch exactly the same weight, height, head circum at the same age. maybe 0/5cm diff... haha..so strange right... but of course ch is on chart coz shes a girl...thank God man!!!

Lin
Talking about food. Now dare to talk a little bit more about D and cc. Told you he's doing well right? You know he actually eats there now? He actually ate a peanut butter sandwich yesterday! I wouldn't believe if I didn't see with my own eyes. Something not only sweet but requires chewing. He sat there and struggled but he finished it. He didn't get up from the seat even though I was there to fetch him cos the teacher told the class they can't get up from their seats till they were done. He and another girl were the last ones struggling but the teacher told the girl in mandarin once she's done, teacher will make her into a princess (teachers had made up the other 2 girls' hair. They looked so pleased.)

Have to be cruel to be kind. Heh. I didn't want to think about him starving the initial stage. Just close one eye and don't think about how much less he as eating in a day cos of full-day school. It's paid off!

CY
heh pigs feed..
btw sometimes i'll add abt 4 diff types of veg + fish/pork/beef... is there such a thing as too much variety cause indigestion??
oh ch doesnt take cereal so now its 3 meals of porridge a day?

Zoe
wow tats really gd!

hehe so cute... D and the other girl the last two

oh so girls get to doll up then wats the incentive for D ;)

jus the night before hb gotta literally beg cay to take A BITE of the nutella sandwich tat he made for him

Lin
Incentive is to get to walk around and play with the other kids I guess. I won't even bother offering D a sandwich cos apart from the few usual items like fries, anything I offer him he will pull a face and say No or Yuck. Waste my time making the sandwich.

Zoe
really dunno wats w our kids hor...
peanut butter leh! nutella leh!!
it's not as if we're asking them to eat sandwich w broccoli cum spinach spread..

Elmo
K eats quite alot yah? And he's not putting on as much weight as well? Strange ler...
How much of rice do you usually cook? 1/2 cup per meal?

Cy
F2 is abt 7kg nia. Just turned 9 months 2 days ago. Way behind F1. But he was born bigger than F1. He takes only the size of pigeon bowl. Couple days ago, I did 八宝粥 (Eight Treasure Congee). 1/2 cup. He couldn't finish it. But I respected his indication of fullness. Ha ha haaa...

Lin
Kate doesn't drink milk from a bottle yet? Sippy cup?
I've not tried putting milk powder into porridge, but logically thinking, it should be yummy! Hehe! Go ahead mummy! Give Kate more power!

Should be alright to have more than 1 vege at a time. But hor I was ever told that wrong combination of foods may affect nutrient absorption. What do you usually put together in the porridge?

yfuang
wow wats eight treasure congee? 8 diff types of ingredients ah?

yah she doesnt drink fr bottle.. spoonfeeding oso dunwan. will try sippy cup soon

keke really?? okok then i try adding some to her porridge... aiyo hopefully wont lao sai boy!

shucks... i hv no knowledge in veg combination leh..
i like it colourful.. usually abt 3 types

example:
1 green leafy veg (spinach or cai xin or xiao bai cai etc)
1 orange (pumpkin or carrot)
1 yellow (corn or cauliflower or radish)
and others (broccoli or french bean or zucchini or peas).. depending on wats in the fridge
will throw in an egg yolk if tat day only 2 veg

too much?? backfire??

zoe
haha i burst out laughing when u put a clause that u drink ur cow's milk and soy, SEPARATELY!

JP
milo is super fatening.
it doesnt need any professional to tell u that...
cos it's essentially... chocolate? i mean if u were to munch 6 blocks of chocs every day...
I sed to drink a lot of milo... super condensed... with anlene when I was BFing Ning.
FAT is the word for me...

one way to eat healthy is always attack the veg first.
It takes up space, so the poultry and fish will not be that tempting? also not much space.
When u are very hungry u always tend to over eat... and it's really bad if u whack the meat dishes 1st...

Something irking and disappointing

Recently, as I was busy enrolling my girl for P1, it lead me to some not too pleasant discovery and made me wonder...

I was under this impression that someone close came from this elite sch which was patronised by the rich n upper class once upon a time...
Well, she mentioned to me and when I did ask her, she told me herself...
However, I chanced upon her school leaving cert and... horrors! Its definitely nowhere near there man...
Well, it did occur to me that there were things that she told me did not tally... or facts were twisted... or things were said to her advantage...
But I thought it's so sad.
I mean, I can understand when we were still juveniles and wanna impress... but not when we are hitting mid life ya??

yes, i once scorned upon those nerds and wont be caught talking to them! but now at this age I am able to accept ppl for who they are and not judge them on face value or how rich or poor they are...

sigh... it's so disappointing... and i also wonder how long more she is going to lie abt so many things.

cheri

thanks mate! U over ur 35 mark and I am approaching my 40?! haha
But the good news is u dun look a day older than 28!
Oh ya, that day I went facial and the therapist said my skin texture is youthful when I told her i'm close to 40!

aishite
so far how is the massage?
haha 'testimony' ah... not sure leh... she told me the lady is 90kg...
And i will only believe if i see for myself la...
I can also tell u that i used to coach a student till he went to oxford?
or my hb heled a client managed his account and made 30mil?

Lin
i think i have about the same combi as you!! but i added some grains...

mumies
you wont believe it!!!! i just went online shopping for cy, coz those hand me downs are, alas, no longer coming in! and you know what??!!!!! gosh those girls clothes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!they are soooo PRETTY!!!!

ended up buying mostly for ch!!! kakakakaka.....so so pretty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

cat,
o yes i know of a friend (okok friend of a friend) who who attempted to do that too... but eh, she is different, dumber lah... kena caught cause please lah singapore so small, you just ask, o so you know so and so from your school..which year were you from? my cousin is from the same batch!!!

im from neighbourhood longkang school and yes if i were really bothered about it, it'll b really difficult to live it down coz most people i meet nowadays from super posh school. i guess it's gotta do with one's issues in life lah... unresolved issue with ego and/or pride maybe ...

shoots im so glad i met you now instead of 20 years ago!!! you wouldnt be caught alive talking to me!!!!
im the nerd who has straight bangs and thick glasses and remembers which American presidents were assassinated and how high mt everest was....pathetic !!

cheri, cat
sigh...i will dig a hole adn live in it for the rest of my life once i hit 40...my skin condition is alas sad sad sad...im looking more than 50 with my wrinkly old saggy leather...and those freckles dont help
..but then one thing at a time...deal with the fats first...

i managed to hit the gym while the kids are napping for three days in a row! gambatte!!!!!

cat
o yes i must get the massage lady now that im a good girl on a fit path to slim-dom!

okok i once coach the president scholar, taught the children of dignitaries, tuitioned someone till she ended up in UCL on scholarship.... what else........

ooooo my ego feels soooooooo stoked...

buahahahahahahahahaaa

cy

think it's good to get the massage lady.
it helps in a way.
after u have paid so much... i gathered u wun wanna ruin it?
so u will be more watchful of ur diet and also ur exercise bah?

well, u can be 40 and look 20 but u can be 21 and lok 60(u read abt the girl fr China? she applied some pearl powder on her skin and after few days she had a reaction. Then her skin just sag and she looks 60!!!)

yes, cy, u are rt.
If i were to meet u 20yrs earlier i wun even cast a glance at you! yes, i was that shallow!!
met my JC friends and we had such good laugh over it!
yes i was always so super cool in their eyes!
actually, on that day, while they were all ordering iced peach/pasionfruit tea... i ordered my San Miguel... I had coffee the day b4 and i couldnt sleep so no mre coffee/tea for me la...
they were prob thinking: same old cat

cat
yahyah...triple bypass at the age of 50...*gulps*....poor cy and ch has to send me to orange grove liaoz...

yah lah the pass couple of weeks was on some projects that's why the crayz food intake....but now ended heeee....

<font color="ff0000">Cat</font>
G is definitely smarter than me, and that was why I married to him.
Most of the time the questions I ask, he knows the answers.
Btw, which sch did you enrol Ning?

Cat
The massage thus far is not bad, starting to c some shape forming. Today is my 4th session.

Yest i was thinking to myself tat I think I need more than 10x, perhaps 15-20x, cos my fats r more stubborn. True enuf, today, she told me tat she honestly thinks 10x is insufficient for me, cos I am not like u nor Cheri, fairly slim n fats r easier to go off....she said I may need 15-20x, and she can't quite locate my hard fats yet...fair comment I thot. I exercise a fair bit, so hoping to combine this massage, get into some shape, and maintain thereafter :)

Sunday NDP morning celebration at Sentosa Palawan Beach from 9~10am onwards, anyone interested in going there to let the kids chill out and have fun?

CY
aiyo u really v qua zhang leh... ur complexion so gd!!!

CG
hehe so fast online shopping ah ;)

liverpool
wont be joining... enjoy

yfuang
wahahahaa ur ans even more power!