A fresh new thread to locate SAHM of yr2006?

went to gynae today and sigh...ctg didnt even pick up a single contraction. during cy's time, i had mild contractions starting 36 weeks if im not wrong. for this lil girl,already 38weeks and she is not showing signs of wanting to come out...

shauna!!!!
hiyo!!! yeah, didnt see you posting these days. im salivating over the train set...must fix a playdate to your place lah...kekekekeke...

aishite
wow, long time no see. seems like your freelance work taking up more time than full time work wor...

cutie
cy likes pink leh. he used to like blue (or buuuu...as he says), but now he's discovered the prettiness of pink. even when he's sick, he willingly down the pink paracetamol syrup chanting, pinkpinkpink....

Colouring books
where to get jumbo colouring books with simple designs?

CY
haha...no lah...not that busy at work, just that so many things are coming together...church ministry, church camp,work, play, plus scouting around for schools for Shan in 2009, plus lazy to post :)

And jia you....38 weeks, coming out coming out soon...dunt hurry lah...enjoy some sleep before she comes out

cg
cy a bit uncoordinated, so need something bigger (???) haiz...

aishite..
sleep????CY woke up at 4am yesterday, absolutely awake, wanting me to read to him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!then at 7am, he wanted to do painting!!!!!!

YY,
I find fresh goatmilk is erm, goatier, than fresh cow milk. I'm not used to it. But the kids love it. Both kids dun fancy powdered goatmilk too.

ohayo mummys...
many silent readers these days huh?
all bz ya? me too... always try to read-up but no time to post much...

all u guys doing great work! thumbs up!!! craft n all, all e teachings...

dear shuana, perhaps sid's take off lag abit for now, but we're sure he's in good hands & he'll soar in a matter of time...

we're always here to lend a listening ear even if we aint got experience in e form of a support group...

mummys! go go!!!

yy, u oughta pop soon?

elmo when pop?

cya guys this sat at baby kate's showers ya?

CY
u going to pop soon??? heehe..so how abt the readers? which part of macpherson u staying? wanna get from me soon??..or want me to visit u during confinement?? hehehehe

angiiiii
me not yet...another month...hope for mid oct

Thanks Shauna

yep u're doing great so jus continue to jiayou ya!

Cutie, CG
nice photo frames!

CY
hehe y u wan ur girl to come out so soon... let her grow until nice nice chubby chubby then come out mah

btw.... CAY OSO LIKES PINK!!

CG
oh the scene stickers... they're the same as the ones CY was thinking of getting fr bp tat time right?

Lin
Yes, they are the ones!

I realise Sha has been walking like a penguin.
And it has brought concern to us and her sch teachers.
Is it normal? As she has very long legs, and she only starts to walk at 16.5mths.
Now she is coming 27mths.
I'm bringing her for a child development check-up later, though the next check-up is when she turns 3yrs old.

CG
cld it be she's imitating the penguins for fun??
oops... i din know must bring for child devt checkup at age 3

yep saw this bp... v nice clips! think i'll go broke big time as my girl grows bigger... now still too tiny to doll her up

Angi!!!,
hmmm..my edd is 29th sept.so technically at 38th weeks now. think she wants to stay till full term leh...

dsii.
dun worry. if i pop, will get hb to collect from you mah. he is my courier...kekekeke...

this weekend is good for you? when are you free?

precious, elmo, lin
strange, the girls like the blue/purple shade, and the boys like the pinko shade...

regarding hairclips
must wait till bb born then see if any hair or not, else like CY how. nearly two oredi still wispy hair.

precious
jope all goes well athe the PD. maybe she has hurt herself somewhere?

CG,Lin
I like those hair clips too...but too bad S up to now still don't really like to put hair accessories or tie hair. All the accessories I bought now stuffed inside her drawer. So not gg to get any for her at this moment.

CG
Is she walking like a penguin the whole time or just being playful?
S likes to run like tip-toeing, with her toes curl in...purposely like not balance like that...but when ask her to walk properly then she can walk normally.

CY
Wah 38weeks liao..I starting to get a little impatient now. I am now in my 34 weeks. His kicks is driving me crazy esp at night. He is definitely stronger than S that time.

cy
i heard girls usually like to stay inside longer, unlike boys. Like for R, i had contractions at 34 weeks! He almost wanted to come out then!

lin/CG,
ZY has been losing hair clips in CC from time to time till i give up. heart pain few times liao.

CG,
got the stickers too. but in SG, waiting for my sis to come before zy can get a try. believe zy will love it just like sha.

hee...hee...got the phote frame idea from u actually....remember?

Cutie
You are so smart!

We are referred to a specialist from KKH. appointment is early next mth.
When I ask her to walk properly, she always gives me a cheeky expression and says "Penguin walk like that, like that".
At the clinic, she was asked to walk then she refused.
And finally she came down to walk, she walked so slowly and carefully..... IYO!
Doctor commented some adults are not walking the correct way too.
But it is good to let a specialist to check her bones structure (some children do have very high arch foot or flat foot), and it is easy to correct her the proper way of walking or recommended shoes, especially at her young age before it becomes a habit.

JTS: A good DVD, can be purchased at most Christian bookshops.
<font color="0000ff">Title: Boundaries with Kids</font>
(An 8-session focus on how healthy boundaries grow healthy children)
By Henry Cloud &amp; Dr, John Townsend

elmo...
haiz..me wait till neck long liaoz, back aching like crazy liaoz...CY came at 38wks, this one no sign of coming yet..so mostl likly close to full term...

educational resources
do you guys find that it is extremely difficult to find ncie nad cheap educational resoruces in singapore? i mean those for teaching purpose....

they are so expensive!!!

CY
What kind of resources are you looking?

CG
I still think Singapore is a lovely place. In Taiwan, it is not easy to own a flat for most couples. Malaysians also feels that in sg, we can still at least find some decent meals within SG$2.50. Many things in Malaysia are so ex, even hawker food, for ordinary folks, and their salaries are so meagre

pebs
looking for pocket charts with deeper pockets. wherever i look, the pockets are only 1.75-2inches. im looking for 3-4inch pockets. very frustrating. do you have any lobangs or know where to find these things?

Shauna
Saw you posting about Prince S a few days ago. I think you are really a great mummy and S is very fortunate to have a wonderful mummy like you. Used to work with some mummies whose kids are autistic and my heart really cries when i think how much sacrifice and worries they have to go through. Keep praying.

CG

I noticed C is not very agile in her movements, probably she has a big tummy, short legs, etc? Hee. She loves to tip-toe all the time too. Hope Sha is okay.

Cutie
OTC : http://www.orientaltrading.com
They have many art supplies there. There are some pens where you can fill it with sand and then voila!

A typical day, C will watch about 30 mins of show, 45 mins outdoor, one hour of activity which I have planned. We do crafts, baking, puzzles, linking memory story, flashcards, etc. She still loves reading and will create her own stories at time. C is very occupied at home, with a room of toys and teaching resources I have, such that she does not want to go out with me at times, telling me, " I want to stay at home to do HOMEWORK, art and craft etc."

Is ZY into pretend play? C can pretend play for 1 hour or so.

C started talking later than most of her peers but she is now more vocalised and know how to "talk back" to me now
When I tell her, " I'm angry. I do not want to talk now." She will say ,"Never mind, I will talk to Barney, Papa, minnie mouse, etc" If I tell her I am not free to bring her to the library, she will say, " NEver mind, when papa comes back home, he will bring me to library to read books,"

CY

I am now using 2 learning resources plain pocket charts which are good enough for GD cards (2.8 inches each) and one alphabet centre learning chart. http://www.learningresources.com/product/teachers/shop+by+category/teacher+resources/pocket+charts/alphabet+center+pocket+chart.do

Deep enough?

Did you get the books pocket chart from Edventure? About 4 inches deep, though not good GD cards.

I got most of my interesting educational stuff from learning resources. They are interesting and cute.

Hello Pebbles

Can you share what you do for the 1 hour activity? Me....I am sooooo lazy at home, so Shan and I will always be heading for the outdoors!

Pebs.
yeah got the chart from edventure. yes, arent so good for gd cards.

learning resoruces have good stuff but yes im complaining about how expensive they are...kekekek..im actually looking for something deeper. think those at learning resources is around 1.75inc deep leh...

ive ordered the alphabet centre pocket chart but am looking for plain charts.so now want something deeper....haiuz...

good that C is so occupied. CY doesnt have a fixed schedule for now. my order of the day is basically flashcards, word recognition, BOI and crafts...

he isnt always interested so have to pander to his whims.think boys at this age have very fleeting attention span.

for clumsiness, maybe try to let C walk on different surfaces when she is outdoors? grassy slopes, sand...without shoes or thin soled shoes?

dear mummies,

thanks for encouragement.i have alot to learn from S. we look forward to having a sibling for our little fren, but i wanna be the one to support him totally, esp coz his sch is parent accompanied. and tat we have alot of practices to do when we get home . i get particularly uptight when family members still take a very laid back attitude when it comes to helping S. so i really salute the pregnant mommies who can manage their tots with their tummies..hee.

CG-
let me go c when i will be seeing our physiotherapist and maybe can ask her for some tips for Sha to walk properly? hee. get more out of the session? haha..

pebbles,

wow, i am impressed when u have a list of websites supplying different types of educational stuff for C.

baking? i used to do muffins with zy, with 2 on hand, i can only concentrate in getting our dinners on the table. baking sessions are nice cos they are involved and at the same time curious.

zy started pretend play after joining gymboree. C has long attention span as an hour is really long for her age. zy pretend play is part of her daily life and it's only few mins. eg she is riding her bike, she comes to ask me for money to pump petrol. then i will pretend to get money while she pretend to get it from me.

zy does that too but her version is more of bargaining. she will try to negotiate for a little bit more. like 5 more mins to ride or watch dvd or a little bit more yogurt for her. but if my answer is no, she eventually takes it well but not without few attempts to convince me.

zy goes to cc twice weekly so during those days, i only have time to read few books to her. she does flashcards daily as well but for dvd watching, it is not fixed. she can watch few days for an hour max or none for other days. i find flashcards effective in words recognition. i am surprised that such method can work cos it is quite dry to me. she seem better in chinese flashcards compared to english....i guess cos chinese is like a map looking different every time.

i can imagine C playroom is like a wonderland with lots of stuff to play and do. zy doesn't have many toys , most are puzzles or board games. her only toy i think is kitchen set and now it is in "cold palace"

CY
The depth for abc centre pocket chart is about 2.8 inches, though can only slot 3 GD cards. The other 2 i have is more than 2 inches, not 1.75 inches. If you plan to homeschool and have 2 kids, the materials will be well used
Oh yes, shipping for learning resources is an ultimate killer! SOmetimes more than the cost of the items, but worth to get compared to SG price and quality.

I like the alphabets centre pocket chart as it comes with 200 over very good quality cards.

Aishite
I guess it is easier if you put aside few minutes to plan the lesson plans one week or more earlier, than no need to rack the brain last min. IF S enjoys going out and still learns and be happy, that is fine too, so long as you know she will have no problems sitting down in class to "pay attention" to teachers.

BEsides the compulsory activities, we will spend about 45 minutes outdoor, 45mins to read books, 10 minutes flashcards, 10 minutes linking memory. Time is never enough.

Something simple like:

Monday = Painting pop sticks.
Tuesday = Hide and seek to hunt for abc beanbags.
Wednesday = Making a photo frame using the painted pop sticks
Thursday = Making paper bags ( I will fold the lines and use double sided tape so that it is easier for her age.), then make patterns with thumbprints using paint.
Friday = Library/ shopping

Go out daily? Where do you usually head for? S is really lucky to have an outgoing mummy.

CG,
i have no impression that sha walks like penguine. if she loves penguin, this may be why she wants to walk like them at times for fun. she walks just like any tots to me. dun worry too much......

Pebbles
which are the ones you have that are more than 2 inches? can show me the link if it is still there?

those that ive seen are only 1.75...

This is the magic coloring book. They have other titles like pooh bear, dora, etc. Selling at $6 plus. Just use wet paintbrush with water. and voila! So far I have not seen them selling Popular stores.

1725065.jpg

1725066.jpg

1725067.jpg

1725068.jpg

Pebbles

Solid activities!

Go out ah, lets see where: her playgroup is 2x a week, gym weekly, so this is what I do depending on the mood:

1. Pasir ris park (I quite like this, bring nieces + neighbours along also)
2. Paris ris fishing...where people fish all day long
3. Sentosa
4. Jacob Ballas
5. Airport
6. lots of playground
7. Animal resort
8. Botanical gardens
9. Festivals as and when these come along
10.lots of playdates - my estate has kids, and my friends with kids stay around east...so hang around them quite a bit
11. travel together as and when schedule permit
12. East coast..just minutes from my place
13. School hunting - ya, still looking around for places for her in the east
14. lots of swimming (with neighbours in the estate)
16. Bird park
17. zoo
18. bollywood at LCK side
19. thinking of chek jawa next week or week after

I only left full time work at April, so have not covered much ground. Plus I do free lance work, so in terms of outdoorsy stuff, prob 2x or 3x a week. I need to get my engine going and engage her in more craft, but I dunt like craft for a start...so crawling crawling :)

Sitting down and pay attention in class: maybe it's a case of her being older now, 27 mths, she's able to sit through class for 1.5 hr and pay attention...so I am happy with that. A far cry from when she was 21 mths...run run and run around!

Magic colouring book.
the ones i got all turned out shades of blue/ green. either that or im getting as colour blind as cy...

$6 is too much to waste on cy...hahah..he only knows how to splash water on the paper...haiz...boys...

crafts
im still quite lax in craft lah...super lazy to do crafts. then must clean up after a messy boy...arghhhh....

flashcards
agree with cutie that flashcards yield surprisng results...

today must be cy's good day. he managed to read off the flashcards. i was quite surprise. thought he'll never do it, but he did it today.

elmo
hahaha...not very fun for S lah, but think for the boys it's ok. and whats more it's fuss free and mess free.

tell you hor, next time cannot compare your boy with Summer ok. S is considered very advanced. your boy may or may not be that advanced. but given time, the boys will catch up in no time.

pebbles
im looking for something like this.

http://www2.abcstuff.com/cgi/Web_store/web_store.cgi/item=PC40001&amp;product=@charts&amp;keywords=

quite deep enough, for books too...any lobang from you???

been a bad bad week...
hb was very busy past weeks.
he was coming back in the wee hours and rushing off to work early in the morning.
Even had to work on Sunday!
Sleep deprivation=accident...

On Monday evening, he was supposed to stay back in the office but work didn't come in so he decided to come home for dinner.
I called and called but no answer.
When he called, told me he was involved in an accident.
The front of the car was badly damaged.
He hurt his head.
Went to see GP(24h) after the car was being towed away.
GP told him to monitor since he complained headache.
Tuesday he had dinner and after that felt giddy and vomited.
Hurried him to the doc while i stayed back to pat the kids.
He went to the GP instead of A&amp;E.
GP gave him memo and asked him to go to A&amp;E.
It was a very worrying night as his phone went dead all of a sudden and I last heard he needed to go A&amp;E and after that could not contact him.
Only got to hear fr him much later that he was registering.
Then no news till past midnight that he had to be warded.
Morning he called to say prelim results was ok but had to wait till past noon for detailed results.
BUT he discharged himself and went to work!!!
So that was Tuesday and Wednesday.
Thrusday, which is today...
I was relief that he's ok.
Then brother called to say mom warded last night.
Argh!!!

Packed ning off to sch and rushed to visit her.
She was sleeping most of the time as she's on liquid fast.
Need to do another scan.
Sthg abt small intestines...

O dear cat
sounds like a darn bad week for you!!!! an accident filled week...

Hope and pray that your mum and ts is better. izzit trauma?ok oredi? sigh...guys seem to think they are ironmen.strange creatures.why in the world did he discharge himself and head for work???!!!you ought to scold him for it..kekekeke...

no wonder hadnt seen you around this past week!

weekends coming, hope the week ahead is better..

cy

really, God knows!!
When he called to report he had an accident, I asked how bad, he said real bad(referring to his car!!!).
Then dilly dally and said wld be back for dinner...
Much later then said head pain, need to see doc.
And he went to 24h GP??!!!
Honestly, I dun really trust 24h GP cos they do get locum(spell this way ah?) to cover duty(cheaper ya?) and some fresh guys(who wld wanna work graveyard shift??).

Vomit can still dilly dally go back to same GP... Sigh...

Erm... No la... I didn't scold him when he went back to work... Already head pain... so what I did was caled periodically to make sure he's ok...

Sometimes when can't out talk them just gotta lend some support la...

Not just this wek la been out for a while cos been very busy with many other things.

He was badly hit in the market recently so there's risk assessment and damage control la.
Had to re-orientated and re-align some goals and also transfer funds to fight fire le...

Then I also started on my Bible study so a bit busy, reading up.

I also re-reading Genesis and going on to Exodus since Ning is very keen on the biblical stories and I'm readin to her every day now.

She has 2 bible stories. One gives good background the other gives detailed account of each stories. But the detailed stories are a bit disjointed from the whole.
So I usually read both to her.
Then I have to supplement with my own reading. I hope to give her as accurate and in-depth account as she can take in now.
Don't want her to have half-baked stories.

I rmb when i read Pass Over myself I was rather overwhelmed by God's deeds.
But as I read to Ning and tried to emphasise to her that it's God's plan that Pharoah wld harden his heart and that God is a merciful God since He gave Pharoah many many chance to believe in God and let His people go.

It can be very daunting to read abt the sacrifice of the firstborn etc without proper background to it.

also, I'm trying to involve them more and every time an opportunity presents itself I'll get Ning to do sthg for Kai that will demonstrate her love and care for kai.

Last night he was being ounished by me.
Removed him fr my bed and made him stand near the book shelves.
He cried and pleaded, Ma! Ma! Boo hoo hoo! Ma! Ma!

After a while, I told Ning to go hold his hands and say to him Mummy's angry abt what he did. He shld apologise.
He did.

Then he did sthg else.
Same punishment.
He went, Booho! Ma Ma! Boo hoo! Ma ma ma...
Ning! Ning.. Ning... Boohoo.. Ning(Like, Ning, come and help me. Ning, where are you?)
Then he went, Che? Che?... Che... Che?

I stopped Ning fr going when he started calling Ning... It was after a long while that I asked Ning to redeem him.

So, in a way he has greater appreciation for Ning? Perhaps holding her in awe? His saviour?

Now he knows certain routines.
Like when we're getting ready for bed, will be reading etc and after that Ning will ask for milk.
Maid when bring up the milk.
Just now when maid knocks on the door, Kai went, Ning, milk! Ning, milk!

Yup, it's Ning's job to get the milk!

In the morning it's also Ning's job to make milk for both of them! keke...