A fresh new thread to locate SAHM of yr2006?

Elmo
wow u were out for 12hrs xmas shopping ah?!
were S and K w u?

Cheri
ooh so u checked out the new jp2 ytd?
did u pass by the new ntuc xtra?? wan to know whether open alr or not

CG
oh dear hope ytd was jus a one time off thing
gd to feel hungry and sleepy... then u'll eat more and rest more!
Sha is so sweet and sensible

abc,
maybe this is why some folks said that having girl as the first child helps esp when u have second one cos big sister tends to look after younger one and is usually more well behaved.

CG,
yes, it is difficult balancing and planning between the family members/friends.

there are times of pride after a good playtime or well organised activities, there will also be days of frustrations of not being to keep up with the list of "to do" things. we learn and we improve and it's "experience it" that matters.

keep resting and sleeping, very soon u will be in your 13th week and bye bye to all the MS.

elmo/CG,
wow U really got alot of stuff to buy...all these for christmas parties/pressie?

girls and boys ...
yah, think girls will be better behaved hor...

cy now wants to use ch's infant crawling track. will prevent her from going onto it, this mornign tried to pluck out her hair (not that she has much to begin with)...

his fav refrain now is, mummy carry, put meimei down on bed...

today he even made a slip and said (while meimei was trying to crawl in her ict..put meimei down..i looked at him and told him meimei is already down on the track, then he simply turned around and told ch, get up get up!!

YY
I'm the eldest in the family. Hence I actually helped to take care of my bro and sis. And sometimes when my younger cousins came over to my grandma's place, I also helped to take care. I remembered when I was 9yrs old, I helped to take care of my 2yrs old cousin, changed his diapers, fed him, showered him and pat him to sleep.

lin
yes, dropped by jp2 yest cos went for a movie...super crowded! Better to shop on a weekday hahha..ntuc extra not opened yet...was kidding wif my hb that wonder wat's the extras that u can't find in the other ntuc in the older wing hehe

re goody bag
oh no, another one was given to her today! I've still not disposed of the one last week & now, another! Her teacher told me there'll be another one next week hahahaa

Hi CG,

hmm... better check got samples for Caitz to try first... hahaha dun wanna waste money to buy then she dun drink at all!!! But she has got pretty similar taste as Sha so she might like it
Will call and see if they can send me some samples hehehe

Cutie, CY
yah i oso think girls r generally more well behaved...
but given a choice i wld still wan the first one to be a boy and second one a girl...
cos i always find it v sweet to hv a big kor kor to protect his mei mei

CY
CY attempted to pluck out CH's hair?!! aiyo boys will always be boys...
cay oso not much better... he is doting lah... but super duper rough lor
CH can crawl alr?!?!!!

CG
ooh i love mee hoon kway!! u're so capable hor... even know how to make!

Cheri
keke maybe extra long operating hrs bah... since its open 24hrs

CG
We figured coming weekend which is the last weekend of xmas will be super crowded so better shop earlier...think from now on even weekdays will be crowded.
Last year I didn't go AMK Hub snow thing...

Lin
Yes, S n K were with us...but hb regretted didn't bring our helper along cos 12 hrs is no joke :S

Cutie
We settled just the family n close friends xmas presents...about 30 pressies.

Lin
Very easy to make.
Get the "Vitamin Added Wheat Flour" from Sheng Siong. No idea if other supermarkets sell.
She also had a big bowl of it. And I had 2 big bowls... haha!

CG
Ya u r so talented....I also want ur mee-hoon-kuei!!!

Lin
K can talk already...hahaha! I swear that he was answering my questions @@
I asked him:"Kieran, mummy change ur clothes ok?"
K:"Uh k..."
I asked again:"Kieran, Do u want water? Yes or no?"
K:"Ueeee..."

Now he is smilling n laughing already when we play with him. Thought S didn't respond like him at his age.

CG
hehee think i better dun try making it myself... else will kill my appetite instantly!

Elmo
wahahaa K is a genius baby liao!!
kate can oso talk... baby talk

Baby talk
Andrae can say his words of survival - "mum mum" when hungry, "ma ma" when in distress or wan ppl carry, "bird" he associate this with anything hanging from ceiling, the grass n trees...

CG
Hope things get better for u

Balancing life
Yes it is definitely nt easy. But glad i hv frens who hv small children to hang out together. At least this sch hols is well-spend for me.

boy vs gal
i agree gal is much easier to look after but i guess it depends too. For my gf her boy is easier to look after than gal. Andrae would pull Arielene's hair. Now he abuses mummy - pinch me (duno where he learn from), bite me (teething), dig my mouth (when i am eating), pull my hair... sigh...

Just now G asked about my opinion about his parents were to move in with us. I paused. Still hesitating. But I know if I disagree, he won't force me too. He said his parents are quite old, and good to let them feel they are useful at this age, and they can help to take care of our children since both are not working. And then hire a maid mainly to clean the house and prepare meals for the whole family.

CG
congrats on ur preg! u were just talking abt it some time ago ,and now bingo!
in the initial weeks, i also feel sleepy most of the times, and really slept quite long. I even told my hubby i can sleep more than randal, haha.. Then no appetite and lost some wgt too!
but now, I am into 6 mths laio, and baby getting active.. He seems to be more active than randal when i was preg with him.
take care and rest more . soon all the symptoms will be over and u will be energetic again!

cg
just my personal pov...one household cannot have 2 women (of equal standing)...go figure. but if you are the long suffering kind, then no prob...

unless you are thinking of returning to the work force...

YY
Totally agree especially my mil is someone who always seeks for attention. When I am sick, she also pretends that she is sick.... OMG!
I remembered last time when I always vomited while expecting Sha, she even said she also felt uncomfortable and wanted to vomit. Then G asked her to go ahead and vomit.... hahhahahaaha!
So each time when she complains her legs are painful etc, we just ignore her (becos she can still go out everyday!)

And one thing I dislike about them is they turn on TV the whole day! Can't imagine if they were to stay with us, setting bad example to my children. And in addition to that, my fil is a very superstitious person.

YY
They are staying very near to us actually... keke! Oh ya, I'm not a nice dil at all, and very direct to them (since G gave me the permission to do so) There was once Sha fell onto the bed frame, and they taught her to blame on it. I immediately raised my voice "This is not the correct way to teach her, pls teach her the right way, how can you tell her this?"

Abc
Remember they used to have one set of my house keys. G did not know how to get it from them, hence I was the one who asked to have it back.
Then the following day, they actually called G and asked why.

CY
Yea the things there r pretty interesting. Even the BambinoLUK is selling like $233 in singapore and not even the full set. US version got 3 sets USD$91, SGP version 2 sets $233.

Those interested email me yr order if not i got lost in this thread. Exchange rate according to credit card (1.57 or 1.58 if i am not wrong)

Cutie and mummies
I got my set of Castle logix and Royal rescue in my spree and they are really really lovely and very different from those puzzles we see in the sg market! Those who are into these IQ sets, really reccomend them

CY
Ya 3 items are here! I am very surprised that C can do up to challenge 15 out of challenge 48! I am sure you are going to like Royal Rescue where the knight has to find ways to save the princess! I simply love it.

Abc
I was telling cat about getting the bambino luk in US cos it is very much cheaper than sg. My friend got hers. think last time there was a spree on this but was kena complained by the sole distributor in sg and thus the spree was cancelled

pebbles, mtdt
is bambino luk more complex than the Smartbook from Popular? the latter is a bit too simple for N now so i'm wondering if worth to get luk for her...how diff is luk compared to logico or noddy (i rem mtdt has noddy)? any idea?

abc
wat else besides luk is interesting in the site u provided? wat else r u buying?

cheri
i'm nt sure wat's d one u all gt from popular but I saw a 10yr old boy doing miniLUK, a more advance stage, he's nt able to do. LUK nd concentration , sequencing. I like math part where they go into recognising numbers then counting then addition , subtraction, multiplication n division. u can check out from united sq next to mac or http://www.intelligenceinsight.com.sg

Elmo
12 hrs with 1 toddler and 1 bb??
S napped in the stroller? And K in the sling?
Good training for the kids hor...haha
K is so smart, able to respond at such young age.
You must continue to talk to him. It's part of language development.

Precious
Wow! Made mee hoon kway yourself? You kneaded and made it into a dough yourself? Not too troublesome meh? Now I feel hungry.
You took care of kids even when you were at such a young age?? I remember I hated it when my mum asked me to take care of my sis. I only enjoyed shopping. Hehe.

CY
Show us a photo of your crawling track!

abc
ya, i went to the united sq shop b4 to check out luk in the past. but from wat i know, noddy & logico oso quite similar to luk; just not sure abt the difficulty levels or the skills they focus on.

Wah, so fast the thread got updated. I just posted and saw there were new conversations. Or am I a slow tortoise here? Hehe

BambinoLuk...interesting stuff they have. And seem to cater to children who want more challenging activities, am I right?

Cheri
our atlas bks r here! can proceed w final payment

Pebbles
now u're making me gian abt the royal rescue set!

yfuang
hehe u not slow tortoise lah... jus tat many night owls here

yf
the Smartbook from Popular is much cheaper than Luk at $20 plus...almost similar concept using controller & 6 tiles as well. But their booklets r not as challenging as the luk ones. I feel it's cheaper to buy SB to test out on ur tot first if they like hahaha...we all know not all kids like the same stuff.

pebbles
do u hv any extra sets for ur castle logix or royal rescue?

lin
yaya, heheh i just saw. u oso keen on royal rescue ah?

pebbles
any major diff btw that & castle logix? can elab more on how both games r played? how to rescue the princess? the booklet is just for the tots to build the castle then?

CG,
like CY, i also think one household can't have 2 women. my MIL generally is fine except she keeps telling us about who and who says this and that but don't really believe wat we say. alex said something makes me laugh...his mum likes to talk about wat other says while his dad likes to talk about the old OLD times. i usually only do the minimum and not anything extra cos i have no motivation ....hahaha. one thing for sure, once agreed, it is harder to turn back cos they are already in your place.

abc,
i am interested. u taking 3 sets or just 1? when u getting them?

anyone got any sample page for LUK?

pebbles,
i just told myself no more puzzles.....now u are tempting me.

I survived this morning with 2 kids without my mum! Still have CL around to help out though. Not so bad. She left for M'sia yesterday. Went home. But, both FX and I got up at 7.40am, when FX is supposed to leave the house for his school bus at 8am!

Cutie
Some samples for LUK workbooks that I found from the net. Hope it helps.
http://www.beyond123.com/bam/samp/b-start.html

Smartbook, xiaotiancai,luk,noddy,logico

Think all similar. Smartbook is the easiest I heard. Xtc is a priated version of luk.

noddy-zav still doing the easy levels. Simple stuff like reco diff shapes, shawdos, counting, no and abc. Also have those up down, leftn right stuff. Upper levels also have add, substract, sequence, patterns etc.

Logico-also similar but instead of tiles, it's buttons.

Personally I have noddy and logico. Think tat's enough for zav.

After last spree failed, my gf ordered from amazon. Maybe can check out too.

Puzzles-
any good 2-3 pcs puzzles to recommend (wooden or cardboard) apart from the ones at growing fun or melissa n doug?

Art-
Which crayons have the best grip in the market? preferably the thickest too.

CG-
why not get them to move next door? or in the same block? can have dinner together every other day and check on them regularly.if u can get a unit. n no keys for them. the doorbell is available for them.if u're not in, u're not in and they shldnt be buzzing ard the house without ur pressence.
agree w cutie that once an agreement is set for them to stay in with u, its abit hard to reverse the situation if unpleasent issues arise.

smart book
was thinking it's simple too, but then realise it can be made more challenging if i were to give less tips to CY (or no tips at all). and he still takes some time to understand especially the ones with changes in spatial configurations.

those with animals and plants are too literal so might appear easy...

pebbles
okok...i wil proceed with payment!!can email me your addy?

am visiting a friend in woodlands this week or next.

shauna
what does sid like? i realise cy will stay longer with the puzzle if he's doing fire engines, cars etc...get him something he likes animals etc..?

Cheri, CY
wow the smartbook too simple for N and CY??? til now i've yet got the chance to play it w cay cos the moment i open the box he wld hog the tiles, books etc and told me "mommy no touch!"

Shauna
yeah get puzzles w pics tat Sidney likes. theres one series called Creative's early puzzles (3-6pcs) for age 2.5yo and up... they hv domestic animals, special vehicles, farm animals, sea creatures and transport... can be found at popular, kiddy palace, etc. think pebbles ever posted pics of them

yfuang
keke tats still not too bad... cay is perpetually late and his class only starts at 11am! there was once his daddy managed to send him to sch early and his teacher gave such a surprised look!

lin, cy-
he seems ok with the 1 pc puzzles so far. vehicles, animals all work for him. he can do the 1 pc puzzles quite well so looking out for 2 pc.

lin-
cay is in appletree right? is it a 2 hours prog? how are the children in class? and the programme? registering S for playgroup to c if he can manage. abit kan cheong, coz he cant really open his own water bottle, much less find it. will drink water n throw bottle on floor. will probably also sweep whatever toys they have on the floor n wander ard the classroom.. hai.

Shauna
oh cay is in tumbletots. actually registered for appletree but withdrew in the end cos we wan more active play for him... helps to burn off more energy.

u're considering appletree? dun worry too much abt sid not able to open water bottle etc... im sure the teacher will guide n teach him. u'll be surprised how fast they can learn such stuff in a structured environment vs mommies teaching them at home

Lin
no lah, the smart book on its own isnt very well planned. for example, one exercise on matching broken up tiles have them in matching colours as well. so the kiddoes will match based on the colours instead of the shape of missing parts (okok, im explaining it badly here)...but of course it is easier therefore for todds coz can play cheat mah..

cy not that smart lah. i usually give him quite a bit of hints. like i will ask him to label the animals or plants, then ask him to match, so he only needs to find the similar ones in the other pic lo...dun think he's getting it yet :p

think the more difficult ones will be the non concrete ones involving shapes and blocks only...

shauna
sid is progressing well!with mummy's guidance, it really makes a lot of difference! i know of 2 year olds (older than cy) who cannot even do one piece puzzles yet!!!!

lin, yfuang
o yah, been wanting to take a pic of ch in the ict!!must rem to do that later!

timberdoodle spree
will b ordering on friday .send yr order by friday 12noon.i'll prob b ordering bambino set1-3 cos heard fr colleagues it has been used in many pri sch nw.

noddy,logico
buy from where?any website ?

united sq shop
I saw their veritech books too. actually more interested in tat but cannot find it online or anywhere .those interested may go c. tat book has literacy,numeracy series.. even general knowledge

CY
keke ok gotta admit i hvnt got down to reading the instruction on how to play... must find a chance to go read up first then maybe will be able to digest wat u're saying better

yes!! post pic of ch on her ict!!!

Shauna, CY
cay oso a wanderer on the first few days in class... but after tat managed to settle down. think teachers r v used to wanderers

Abc
issit the noddy iq set? i got the cube set fr pop... think pebbles/mt has all 3 sets