Bebe,

been wanting to reply you, but forum crazy..under maintenance...
here on OPK testing :

Babe79, luteal phase is the day u tested -ve OPK (post O day) to the first day of next AF cycle...it differs for individual.

for my first trial of OPK, i was very ks.
for me, 30days cycle. So divide by two, its 15. i tested 5days in advance..to monitor the changes.
and i usually tested 2days of +ve. 3rd day -ve means O taken place.
You should continue to test till you do not see a dark line.

LiZ,

No worries on the erractic BBT. importantly is it can chart your ovulution.
Did you sign up course of Fertilityfriend. Lesson 12 (i think) teaches on BBT flucation.

heres a breakdown of my July bbt (no choice, cant post) :

this month BBt quite low during O days.Temp shift not very significant

O-2 : 36.04
O-1 : 36.0
O day : 36
O+1 : 36.05
O+2: 36.12
O+3 : 36.23
yesterday DPO 12 : 36.66
today DPO13 : 36.55

OH NO, chart has a curcular (blue color) on todays temp, hope not signifying temp drop...af coming..

June BBt :

O-3 : 36.16
O-2 : 36.18
O-1 : 36.20
O : 36.83
O+1 : 36.68
O+2 : 36.71
O+3 : 36.68

gnny: thanks for still welcoming mi dear.. hhmm.. lemme see ah.. i nvr observe CM n nvr use OPK, so based on BBT (using a normal thermometer), think i O either on CD8 or CD12. both days oso got a dip. but CD8 the dip was greater lah. we onli BD on CD6 & CD9. after tat tcm doc say gotta stop coz i got infection.. hhmm....

but den ah, this cycle, after BD i nvr go wash up immediately. i slept till nxt day den go toilet, perhaps tats y kena the infection bah... n i used sAsA's position, hehe (u noe wat i'm talking abt rite) for both times, hehe, deep deep penetration, nvr flow out

ceraine: thanks. will try not to think too much. at least after u go see gynae, should feel more relax since everything fine. the medical fee is cannot *shen* one lor.. hehe

mrs chew: got catch the babydust anot... hehe

jaspire: i hesitant to see gynae coz based on my lmp, now week 5, so early see the gynae oso cant see anything. n oso i worried gynae will tell mi like wat she told mi the last time.. sighz..

jaspire,
buy the Basal Thermomoter, 2 decimal point, from Watsons or Guardian. Just tell the pharmacist you are charting BBT. Cost around $19.90,

Btw, you have any symptoms yet?

First day of AF = day 1 of temp charting.
-do it the moment you open your eyes, IN BED.
- do not move around, go toilet etc before u test, as this will incrase your temp and not accurate.
-do it same timing.
-if differing temp, jot down the timing.

hope this helps

Sasa,
at least yo are 90% confirmed. Whereas i am not.
So you are still normal..hahahah

gals, i got UTI after BD. Will dat affect anything har? Was in pain in middle of nite and go toilet so many times till i nearly wan to sit at toilet bowl and sleep there. Got some blood in urine oso. If i have UTI during those days, still will conceive?

gnny, does the book talks abt UTI?

ceraine: pls dun say tat.. coz u are normal too... doc gave u an all clear, remember??? dun tell mi u forgot le.. after spending $200...

Mrs Chew: u r welcome. haha, yah, hubby kept hugging mi this morning. of coz i kiss him too lah, say he very powerful since onli BD twice. told MIL le, she looked a little surprised, haha. think she wanted to be surprise but tried to control her emotions. now she tell mi faster go see gynae lor..

it'll be ur turn soon...

jaspire: yupz... got uti or infection better to stop BD alrady n go see doc.. doc will give antibiotics to clear it.

**sAsA sayangs jaspire** poor thing.. it must be very painful for u.

a more detailed writeup on BBT
(a bit lengthy, bear with it)

?Basal Body Temperature (BBT) is your body temperature at rest (wake up time).
?BBT rises after ovulation due to increased progesterone released from the corpus luteum after ovulation.
?Ovulation can be detected on a fertility chart for the day BEFORE the temperature rises.
?When ovulation is detected on a fertility chart, the chart shows a biphasic (lower temperatures followed by higher temperatures) pattern.
?BBT stays in the higher range throughout the luteal (post-ovulation) phase until the next cycle begins.
?BBT stays high if there is a pregnancy.
More?
After ovulation, the corpus luteum (the remains of the follicle that released an ovum at ovulation) produces the heat-inducing hormone, progesterone. The principal reproductive function of progesterone in the luteal phase is to cause changes that prepare the lining of the uterus for the implantation of a fertilized ovum. Progesterone, however, also causes the resting body temperature to rise after ovulation. Because progesterone is only secreted in high levels after ovulation, it is possible to identify ovulation for the day BEFORE the temperature rises when temperatures are plotted on a graph.

Low temperatures are observed before ovulation and higher temperatures are recorded after ovulation.
Your BBT, or basal body temperature, is your body temperature at rest as measured in the morning after at least three hours of sleep, before you get up, with a special BBT thermometer that you can buy at your drugstore.
Before ovulation, during your follicular phase, basal temperatures are relatively low. After ovulation, your basal body temperature rises sufficiently that you can see the difference between your pre-ovulation and post-ovulation temperatures when they are plotted on a graph.

This means that it will show lower temperatures before ovulation, a rise (thermal shift), and then higher temperatures after ovulation. Ovulation usually occurs on the last day of lower temperatures.

Your BBT corresponds to the heat-inducing hormone progesterone. This is the only sign that that you can observe on your own that can confirm that ovulation actually happened. All the other signs only tell you that ovulation may be approaching.
Your temperature sign is the sign that will best help you to precisely pinpoint the day that ovulation occurred. This is because progesterone, and hence your temperature, increase quite dramatically just after ovulation has taken place.
Before ovulation, there is only a small amount of progesterone present in your body and your basal body temperatures (your resting temperatures) are in the lower range. After ovulation, when there is increased progesterone secreted from the corpus luteum, temperatures become elevated. The temperature elevation that occurs after ovulation is sufficient to be measured with a BBT thermometer and viewed on a BBT graph when a few simple conditions are met.
The rise in temperature is usually about 0.4 degrees Fahrenheit or 0.2 degrees Celsius, but the rise may be as slight as 0.2 degrees Fahrenheit or 0.1 degrees Celsius or even less in some cases. The actual temperatures are less important than noting a biphasic pattern showing two levels of temperatures. FertilityFriend.com will indicate that ovulation has taken place once a sustained temperature rise is observed (at least three days).
If there is no pregnancy, your temperature will stay elevated for 10-16 days, until the corpus luteum regresses. At this time, unless there is a pregnancy, progesterone levels drop dramatically and you get your period. Your temperature normally drops at this time as well, though it is not unusual to have erratic or high temperatures during your period.
While measuring your BBT can help to pinpoint or confirm ovulation, it is important to observe this sign in conjunction with other signs as well, particularly your cervical fluid. Observing multiple signs allows for cross-checking in the case that one sign is ambiguous or affected by other factors.
The temperature sign can tell a woman when and if she has ovulated but it will not tell when a woman is most fertile in a current cycle. This is because the fertile days are the days preceding ovulation and the day of ovulation. Once the temperature has shifted, it is too late to conceive that cycle as the fertile time has already passed. When cycles are fairly consistent, however, you can use the BBT-confirmed ovulation date from previous cycles to predict the ovulation date of future cycles.

oh Sasa,
what i mean is normal = maternal instinct...
haha..sorry for the misunderstanding...

Jaspire,
1 more important point, BBT has to be taken, after consecutive sleep of minimum 3 hours...

this is my bbt for this mth btw...

**note: fertility friend did not detect my ovulation on CD8 or CD12. instead, it mentioned my O was on CD22, dunno how come like tat..

889323.jpg

hi gals, i was in japan when kena UTI somemore twice on different days. But after 2days the pain went off. I drank lots of water trying to "flush" the infection or wats causing it away loh. Then when i return back to spore no more pain, so din see doc. Now 2ww so anxious loh cos so many uncertainties.

ceraine, many thanks for the lenghty write up but after reading i think i finally understand liao. *hugz* think i will go buy the thermometer and oso some OPK next wk. Is it a must to start testing on CD1?

sasa,
fertility friend will chart based on our data input.i trial and error, and noticed if once enter creamy CM,it will detect as possibly fertile. If OPK reads +ve, it will show high chance, and detect O day.

If mone of above, it will go by temp shift.

Jaspire,
oh, dun mention. I just cut and paste from my excel sheet. wanted to paste the whole sheet, but cant

drink cranberry juice, it helps in UTI.
who knows, u might not need to test next cycle...

but i really need, yah, start with CD1.
f
or OPK, you can buy online...cheaper....

Guardian one damn expensive

hi jaspire
The book didn't mention much on UTI. If i didnt rem wrongly, Sasa had UTI also, but also conceived successfully! ways to prevent, as mentioned by can't rem who is to wear skirts instead of pants. O, i also read somewhere, to wear cotton undies, so that there is air flow.
After BD, have to wash up. But u can wait 20-30 min before washing up.

ceraine
you expert leh!

Sasa
i think you strike on CD6 if your O is on CD8. OMG, you really O very early!!! my AF sometimes end on CD5. take good care!

ceraine
Load your BBT leh... i want to see see look look also. =P

Jaspire
You go back BBT thermometer, then you can monitor already. If temp high high for many days pass your normal luteal phase (DPO) and AF no report, then can test.

Jaspire,
Try to wash up after 30mins...
but right after BD, try ..try to make sure the Spermies do not flow out....
prevented by :
1) putting pillow under butt
2) tilt leg high up (this is tough)
3) stay in bed as long as possible....minimum 30 mins

what i did is put pillow under butt, and bend my knees....

gnnny,
no lah....all these info easily available in internet..
me nothing much to do recently..so did lots reading up on pregnancy....hahahha....
can be very fun lei...knowing our body better....

ha...glad see you gers coming up...coz i realized...oh..i posted too many liao...hahah

Sasa
I noticed that you can put in remarks in shades of blue, green, beige.etc. how do you do that? Is it open to ordinary FOC members?

gnny,
u go into specifications, and it will allows you to check the symptoms...this will then translate to what you see on Sasa's chart

Oh, wonder y mine does not show. anyay, u've attached mine, quite small.
cropped away the specifications.

thanks ceraine!
i noticed that you temp still high high today, at DPO13. what is your normal LP? got high chance.. hee

i will go try at home.
i am knocking off soon. chat with you gals later tonite/.

jaspire: yup.. cranberries help alot. if dun wan to drink the juice, can buy to eat too, tats wat i did when i got it the last time, haha

gnny: my infection this time round is yeast infection, not uti (uti pee tat time very painful one, always feel like as tho alot of pee inside, but when go pee, little come out). now my infection come back again, sighz....

yah, u are rite, liz recommended wearing skirts, can prevent infection.

hehe, my AF always last for 7 days one leh, of coz last few days would be like spotting like tat lah. i think i O early, coz my cycle always short short de, onli abt 24 days avg..

eermm... i forgot how i managed to put in those remarks le, hehe. gotta play around with it again

eeeii...but my LP is 17days wor. 4more days to go wor.crozzing my fingers......
and u noticed the blue circle..hmmm..tats worrying..

for my June chart, think it dip aroun DPO 13 as well but it does not show the circle..wonders wat it means.

here's my june BBT (if it manages to be loaded)...see what i means.
attachment_icon.gif
june bbt
jol june bbt.bmp (47.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

haha..sasa..be here..else no one to chat with me liao....hahahah....

hmm..sets me thinking....i m curious to see you and ure hubby pix lei...

Oh..i know what the circle means....temp taken at a differing timing

hahah...fun mah..then can share the joy of your bb...how it looks...whose feature it will share etc...hahaha

i've addeed you

I like to ask a question. I tested on LH surge strip from Thursday until today (just now at 2pm). I have all positive. The test band darker than control band. Why huh????? Have I ovulated? Can someone help to answer?

hi Magpie,
if you have ovuluated,it should be -ve, as in test line will be lighter than control line.

it might just mean you are at your most fertile now...and will be ovuluting today. try testing tmr.if -ve, means u have ovuluted today.

To play sage, continue to BD, till u see a fainter line

i might be wrong, lets see whtat the others say...

Hi Ceraine

Thanks for your reply! So it means I have not ovulated... I still left with only one more strip. Will try testing it tomorrow. Hope I can see a negative. If I see a negative tomorrow, it means my ovulation is today hor? I din take bbt this month at all to know when is ovulation cos it has caused me some stress so decided to do away with it for this cycle.

magpie2............................!!!

so excited to see u!!!
hhmm... sorry i can't help u leh. coz i didn't use opk.

yeah.. ceraine is rite, heard from the gers, another way would be to see ur CM bah..

Good Luck!!!

Hi Sasa, thanks! Congrats again for your "promotion" (March MTB).

Thanks sisters for your advices and well wishes! Hee...

hi ladies, me today just bought the Basal Body Temperature Thermometer... the pharmacist say to chart BBT we need to use 2 decimal for accuracy. Hence the normal thermometer we use is not as gd loh.

Me whole afternoon to evening have bad lower backpain leh...

Jaspire, yes taking the BBT it is more accurate using a 2 dec therometer. And remember to take it before u get out of ur bed.

sAsA, Congrats once again and may you spread ur joy to all of us here. Thanks for sharing ur BBT chart. Urs quite clear that you are pregnant

ceraine, I think you might have Oed late this cycle, based on ur BBT temp chart.

jaspire
use now use now.. so at least these few days, u'll know roughly if u strike this month if BBT high high for long.

magpie
you are back in the forum! heee.. u are testing the last OPK today? hows the results?

ohohjazz
you havent gone for holiday? thught you have left liao..

sasa
PLeaes lor, you are more than welcome!!
come in and let us have something positive to look to.
quick go see gynae and see what he/she can do about it. your AF last for 7 days, the following day, O already? wow! your body super leh!!

ceraine
i see, your LP is 17 days. My LP is between 12-14 days. hows your BBT today, still high?
and the "circle" on fertility chart means different timing? i see.. cos i kept wondering how come sometimes its a circle, sometimes its a 'dot'.

Gals
i don't know if i O today, my temp since friday was 36.48 (with EW), sat 36.47 (with EW) and today 36.35. but this morning, i woke up at 6am to go toilet.. and take my temp at 8.15am (my usualy wake up is 7am).. so my temp not very accurate this morning and its so crucial timing.

Those taking BBT, can help? since i woke up and visited toilet and take my Temp late, by right, my actual BBT should be lower than 36.35? mmhh.. headache..

by the way, does any of you check your cervic position?

gnny,
yah, still high lei, 36.62.
but i didnt sleep well, and wakie around 6.40am...figiting..
temperature taken at 7.20am.
For BBT to be accurate, advised to have 3hrs of consecutive sleep.so i guess it might not be very representative.

I re-took again at 10am, and its 36.71. this is definately not accurate, as its a gap of 3hrs.

But i am still seeing a patch of white discharge, with slight watery.

i cant answer your question. but i guess it should affect the temperature.

haha.thats y i bear with the peeing till 7.20am....

nope, i don't check cervic positon.

i was shocked and delighted when BBT chart shows i have a triphasic on day 24. this off course does not mean i am preggy yet, but got chance..
but worrying part is ..i have menses like symptom now...cramp again..and bloated...

oh no....confused. Definatley keeping my fingers crossed!! for good news!!!
This good news will determine what i want out of my career....

Jaspire, wats your temperature today....if preggy, it should be stablized all the way till next week.....good luck....

hi ceraine
seems like only two of us log in on sunday afternoon. i am doing my online study now.

you also woke up half way this morning.. same as me. No worries, since your BBT still high and you have AF symptoms (which is similar to preggie symptoms). really babydust to you ** and that your BBT will be still high for the next few days and BFP will soon follow!

My EW only last two days. ie. Friday and Saturday, (BD on Friday evening). I plotted my BBT on fertilityfriend.com and on this web http://www.ovusoft.com/ourtcoyf/gallery/gallerychart.asp?id=4979&typeid=1 (i download the free software for 15 days. It shows that my peak day was Yesterday.. i hope we managed to strike.
If BBT shoots up and remain high from tomorrow onwards, i should be in 2WW.

gnny, me going only on the thur.

Ceraine, based on your chart u like Oed around CD13 lor...accordingly to the fertility friend chart... and as u BD quite often I suppose u high chance.

Hi Gals

Sigh... I don't know what happened. I still got a Positive LH surge today!!!! Since Thursday... I kept having positive H surge. I was hoping to get a negative by today. But to my surprise, it is still positive. How can it be? 4 days le..
If it's positive, it means I have not ovulated yet right?