Hi Tub,

Yea, same situation as you.

I haven't gone further to IVF coz I am still in dilemma on to go or not to go. From the beg, my DH's SA is not good one, so dr ever mentioned IUI might not be a good option.

Mind to share what is the procedures for SO IUI? I am thinking of asking my gynae to allow me to do that actually and the cost of doing it in private practise?

I fully u/s hw u r feelg coz my girl is in the terrible twos stage and super buay tahan her tantrums n mood swings. So pre-occupied with her that its hard to even try TTCing coz somehow the body just dun get enuff rest. I have backache, shoulderache frequently from carrying her. And somehow my health also like deteriorated compared to last time.

Joanne, wow! ur son is already 8! actually quite envious cos it means he's actually independent already. don't have to depend on u for eating, going to toilet, bathing etc etc...

jia you to u too! don't give up!
actually we were surprised that it's a girl cos iui is normally boy. but she's a VERY VERY active little girl. talk and talk and talk.

tweetie, i'm like u lor... everywhere ache. don't even have time to ttc. some times DH and i just zonk out and forgot to ttc! haha so funny lor. by the time we wake up, ovulation day almost over liao and i would be so fed up.

re procedures for so iui:

basically i visit gynae b4 the end of my last menses to check for cysts. then start clomid on day 2 or 3. there are 5 pills to take. then, see gynae after the end of the last pill for gonal f jab and check up to determine how many jabs u'll need. at the final jab, doc will decide when to do the iui. on the day, hubby will have to be there to "extract" the sperm, then they will process the sperm and doc will do iui for u. not a painful procedure. a bit like pap smear. will have to drink lots of water and lie there for at about 20 mins.

Hi Tub,

So roughly what is the cost of each SO-IUI session?

Ya lo, sometimes we so tired tat we just can't perform on the actual day. I know I haven't tried hard enuff this time round coz u know last Sept, I took my gynae's advise and proceed with Ovarian Drilling and who knows, ended up with complication coz pelvic wall was bleeding badly, so I got cut open to stop bleeding. Coz cut is a big wound, abtC-section cut, it took me 3mths for the would to heal. Partly coz of that, I delayed TTCing for a while.

OD is supposed to help ovulation which it did only with the help of clomid. W/o clomid, my cycle is still haywired. I can't understand why also. Am I to say the surgery is a flop?

Hi ladies, thanks for the contacts of the gynaes. I will try out the Raffles ones since it's nearer my place

Hi tub and tweetie

My son is also 2 plus now... 2007 baby. Like you, it was easy the first time round but we have been trying for 8 months now with no success
But it's frustrating cos' when I ask my normal gynae, she kept saying that since we had a healthy pregnancy just 2 years ago, there should not be infertility issues and she would not recommend further tests... so now I am also quite confused about how to proceed from here
I am keen to try IUI but not IVF... if really unsuccessful, we will still be happy with our only one

tweetie,
it depends on the dosage of the puregon soley (for SO-iui)
i bursted about 2.6k

if mix clomid and puregon (IUI), it can range from 1k to 1.5k

As for comfort level during SO-iui, it depends on individual as well womb curvature.
for me, i had slight complications, so rather than 5mins session,i took about 20-30mins.
pain lor,coz the scope and tentaculum(duno how to spell) was prolonged inserted.

yah after SO-iui, on the night and the day after, should continue to TTC, to have maximum coverage, though SO-iui should be enff coz sperm is placed nearest to the egg.

ohohjazz, hey if your temp still high tomorrow, will you test? Your BBT looks pretty!

xmasnowy, what's up, i saw a nose dive in your temp today! It's only 10 DPO?

Anyway, i had my D&C done just now when i went to seek a 2nd opinion with the gynae. This gynae was the one whom I seek 2nd opinion for my previous pregnancy. She is against the idea of natural miscarriage and especially if it happens in Japan. She insists me to do D&C before I flies off tomorrow.

Hi tub
ya, taking care of him is easy now.. Can go anywhere anytime.. He is dec bb so now he is consider 7+..;) but this age onwards, you will be busy for his study..;)

so quiet today? Where are the rest? Ok, me had finally get the elephant..;)is white but with some 花纹 and crystal on it.. Is it ok? Guess what, i am shock when hear the prices.. It only cost me $33.8 for one pair but remember last wk, when i go to a china owner shop, the same thing cost me $60 per pair then after some bargain, the best price is $50.. And quality not so nice.. Am glad i didnt 冲动 and buy it that time.. Phew.. After that i go kk see dr ben, he dun encourage tamoxifen.. Infact, he wants me go thru a series of bt which cost me $400 plus..;( so expensive.. And he wants me to try meformin together with clomid.. So with metformin, i only need two clomid per day instead of three.. This is my first time take metformin, he told me i can start metformin today though period not here yet.. Anyone here ever took metformin before? Whts the real purpose and any side effect? Thk u gals., so end up i spend $500 today plus medicine..;( he gives me three mth medicine.. Also i get to know he is not specialise in fertility .. He is specialise in cancer treatment..hmm... But am glad that i hv some medicine on hand now and my tcm also say i jus need to take two tablet per day this time instead of three., so when dr ben say gives me two, i am ok.. But not sure whether ok to take metformin since i didnt get to asks my tcm yet..

Hi xmas
hows ur checkup with dr loh? Wht did he say?

Hi Shiseru,

Oh... you did your dnc already? omg, how you gonna enjoy tomorrow trip? I thought you should do dnc when you back from your trip? If you walk too much during your trip, it is not going to help your body recover fast... sigh... really not at a good timing.. :-( sayang... please becareful what you eat too during your trip, try to refrain from any cold food k... take care.. and last but not least, "Yi lu shun feng" tomorrow. Btw, when are you coming back to Sin? We gonna miss you.... hope this trip will makes you forget the unhappiness in the past and when you are back from your trip, you will feel refresh to start ttc again.. ;-)

haiz.. it's my CD1 again... Dr Loh quite friendly.. did a pevic scan (nt sure if rite).. suspect i got endo..

ask me stop clomid.. do blood test on CD 24 and hubby to do another SA test in 4 weeks time and go see him again 6 weeks later.. told me to work hard on D10 - 20...

might need to do a scan to check on my fallopian tube...

Hi xmas,
oh...so you not taking any clomid for this cycle? new cycle new hope... at least it comes now... won't burn your cny... i think i am going to bleed on cny... sianz......

Hi Shiseru, takecare of urself, enjoy ur trip and have a safe journey. Have Fun there!

Joanne, metformin for me then side effect is sleepy coz' of the lowering of sugar in our body. Each time I take after 1/2 hour... me will be in "fishing" mode.

hi ohahjazz,
you also taking metformin + clomid? what is the purpose of metformin exactly and how many you took per day? you taking it daily too right? just like folic acid?
ya, heard it will lower our sugar level.. so must eat only after eat something..

shiseru,
u visited dr ann tan?

do take care on ur trip ok?
good thing u gg Hokkaido, there consider more relaxing as compared to shopping in Tokyo, but still, walk slowly k?
enjoy the weather there though now will be really cold ...

hi Joanne, that's when I go for my IUI in 2008. My gynae incraese the dosage from 2 per day to 6 per day within 3 weeks.

ladies, my BBT temp started to drop le ..sob sob..

ohohjazz,
mine also le.

*confused*

saw that's urs is open-circled, took @ wrong timing?

joanne,
urs look good!
a rise!

xmasnowy,
though AF here le.. jia you for the next cycle k?

aim for a nov tiger bb!

Hi tigerbb
ooo.. But rise abit late.. This bbt makes me confuse le.. But if the bbt for next few days still not above 37.2.. Chances still low..;( urs still early to judge.. Drop maybe implantation? Good luck..;)

hi ohah
wah.. 6 tablets is alot.. Me at most two tablet.. Do u know the purpose of this tablet?

tigerBB, my usual time of taking BBT is at 6am, but i woke up at 5am today..hence take lor.

Joanne, ya a rise..seem good. ya 6 alot can't recall gynae told me how many is max... mine that time is 1 week increase 2 tablets. This tablet is actually medication for diabetic patient one, think suppose to control the sugar level. Anyway, i only tried once only.

joanne,
hmm.. might not be 37.2 then got chance wor.
my friend bfp @ 36.4.. :p

not sure abt mine as only dpo3?
see how hor.

ohohjazz,
icic. hee..

Hi tigerbb
oh.. As my previous bfp, bbt is high at 37.2.. Anyway, after miscarriage, not sure whether my body system got change or not.. Dun dare to give myself too high hope as afraid disappointed in the end.. Got to take things easy..;) wht time u take ur bbt today? Maybe too early so bbt low.. Take it easy too k..;) jiayou..

Hi ohoh
oh.. I understand the medicine is for diabetes but wonder how can it help in our fertility treatment.. Heard fr my gynea is it can help clomid to react better so i dun need to take three clomid, only take two will do.. Did u also take together with clomid?

joanne,
took mine today @ 4.30 instead of 5.30. :p

nvm, see how is tmr ba.

though today i experienced alot of creamy CM sia..

Xmasnowy, this cycle your LP so short hor? Yeah i think it's good to have a further check.

Today i feel excellent. No pain nor discomfort, i think they have done a great job yesterday. Dr Ann Tan told my hubby, we can go for the trip without worrying that I might miscarry in Japan! Then she said my cervix/womb is very pretty, no scarring so no problems to conceive later.

She fractured her leg when she was in Hokkaido recently (yeah when I went to see her yesterdat she was on wheelchair and using Crutches). She said waited a few hours there in Hokkaido just to see a doctor and another few hours to get X-ray. And the technoligy there is no good + the medical fee is high. She returned to Singapore and have her surgery done. So she is so against me going to Japan and not knowing when the miscarry will happened.

Becoz her scan machines is so awesome, she can actually tell me, and we can see as well that inside my womb, the bleeding has began. And the baby she zoomed so big that we can see that there was no heartbeat. So i am convinced.

I only drink the red dates ginger tea these 2 days, no bathing yesterday but later will bath with herbs.

No going to KK next time, I probably will look for gynae who can do all the detail scanning himself. I like Dr Ann Tan but she cost a bomb! KNow how much i spent? Consultation + scan + medicine = S$550+!

D&C + anaesthetic + bed rest = S$1800!

Can I rant huh? Can I use vulgarity huh?! We have been spending $$$ and here i am suffered from 2 losses and still without a living child!

Hi shiseru
of course u can rant here.. Especially for me, i spend so much going thru pain and money to do soiui twice and both end up i spend $$ again to take out.. Isnt my situation worsen than u.. Sometime i feel life is so contradicting for me.. Sigh..
Anyway glad to know that ur operation is a success and u dun hv much discomfort , still bleeding? Still dun walk too much and eat cold stuff.. U r still weak inside.. Take gd care..;) enjoy ur trip..

Hi tiger
maybe u woke up too early so ur bbt is abit low.. Tomorow will rise up high again..;)

Hi shiseru
thk u.. Actually you are still lucky to be able to conceive naturally..;) ya, i will try another natural by taking clomid next round, if still disappointed, i will go to iui on march again.. Really do not wish to drag too long after so long..

Hi xmas
better than me as at least for u the first few days usually the heavy flow is over by cny time.. ;)

It's hard not to stay positive with you ladies around reminding everyone and everybody TTC "Dun give up, be positive, try again!"

I will rest for a cycle before trying again. But i am keen to run some tests to see what's the risk of recurring MC the next round. Since this is the 2nd time that I have failed, though the first one is structural and this time seem to be Chromosomal.

Hi tub,

Thanks. Pricing sounds ok, I might just persuade my gynae to let me do SO IUI.
But must build up my health 1st. Was tkg TCM for a while with ttcing no. 1 and 2. But no. 2 abit hard coz again no BBT, so the sinseh dun want administer any herbs at all.

Peapod, I had problem with no. 1, took me a yr to conceive miraculously. For no. 2, I hv been trying since my girl is 11mths old, now she is 26mths old, still no news. Tat's wat my gynae said, since no. 1 is ok, no. 2 is not a prob. But after giving clomid for 5 cycles n track no ovulation, he is convinced i need more treatment.
You shd urge yr gynae to do more test, dun drag.

shiseru,
great that u feeling good.
but ya, no cold stuffs ok?

hmm.. actually, think usually quite hard to test to know wat is the prob.
i think will be good for u to tiao ur body when back from ur trip.

for now, enjoy and takes lots of photos k?
ya, pack red dates there to make for urself to drink.
will be good, esp against the cold too.

Hi Shiseru,

C,told u painless,right? no fear,right? i was worried abt recurrent late loss since the incident 2 yrs ago.my gynae said all m/c are independent of previous m/c.if u had a m/c b4,ur chance of a m/c for the subsequent preg is 25%.even if u had 2 m/c b4,the chance of a m/c for the 3rd preg is still 25%.and yes,m/c are usually due to chromosomal abnormalities.no way to find out,really.i think it's easier to put it behind u & accept the fact that the foetus wasn't forming well and it was the body's natural way of removing the foetus.u're better off concentrating on ttc again.i was exactly like u.i consulted many gynaes,but i came to realise wat is urs will be urs.wat is not urs will never be urs.

yes,a coursemate of mine used to see Dr.Ann Tan too.that was when she was still at Paragon.she has now joined pacific healthcare & her fees have been raised significantly.my friend ended up changing gynaes coz her fees was simply too ex.

i'm currently with Mary rauff.though i'm with NUH,i'm a private patient.i'm very comfortable with her,she does all the 1st trimester scans by herself.i think in hospitals,all the 12 wk down syndrome,20 wk foetal analysis scans etc are done by sonographers.comparing NUH & KKH,i find NUH a little better.at KKH,there are no scanners in the docs' room,so all scans are done by sonographers.i once even had a china sonographer scan me.somehow,i didn't quite trust her.at NUH,each doc's room is equipped with a scanning machine.& i feel the NUH emergency protocol is a lot better than KKH.when i was bleeding in the 1st trimester for preg no.1,i rang KKH & was told to go to 24 hrs clinic,that's all.at NUH,there's an emergency no. u ring,ur doc will get back to u & advise u on wat to do.& the A&E department at NUH is also more efficient.on hearing that i was bleeding,they immediately put me in a wheelchair.i thought KKH will be good coz they are so specialised in pregnancies,but i do find NUH a bit better.the staff at NUH women's clinic are all very helpful too.i'm sure hope_4_bb will agree.

Well,if NUH is not too far for u to travel,u certainly can consider A/Prof Mary Rauff.

aiyoh,y u think abt $$? after my hubby spent $500+ at chris chong's clinic for the testosterone med,he said if he could have a child,that money is worth spending.well,god heard him,& granted him a child,but it's not fated to be.we lost that child too.i spent heaps too,u know? stillbirth,all the investigations,post mortem,i went to consult M.Rauff,did all the scans only to find out abt my uterine septum,had the m/c,then underwent op to remove the septum.it's not only the money i spent,it's the physical part & the emotional turmoil i went thru' too.all alone.but u know wat,at the end of the day,if i can have a healthy child in my arms,i will look at the child & say it's all worth it.agree? oh,not forgetting the money i spent on 2 failed IUIs.wow! add all those up,we could buy a cherry QQ already!

go try the TCM that i am also seeing.but i tot u r already seeing a TCM at tampines? is it xu li fen?

take the chance to recharge in hokkaido.yes,i know it's difficult,but japan is such a beautiful place,how not to be excited.after the stillbirth,i went to shanghai (a place i really wanted to go) & desaru,but my mind wasn't there.the 3rd trip i took was to japan,and that was the 1st trip that i really looked fwd to & the 1st time after the incident i felt excited abt a trip,like how i would usually feel.

Joanne,

one of the gynaes i have seen have also recommended me to go on clomid + metformin.he said somehow the combination works better than clomid alone.but i didn't take up his suggestion coz i was ovulating normally.

Hi shiseru
hv u fly? Hope still on time to read my message... Understand that in the market, there is those instant red date tea in packet form by super brand. I think u shd go buy one big packet to bring it to hokiado so that u still can drink it daily since packet one is more easy for u. Like instant coffee pkt..

Hi monster
i see. I hv late ovalution so hope to bring forward my ovalution to day 14 instead of at day 20 plus.. So that my period will be one mth cycle instead of 40 plus days.. Chance of i am ovaluting is higher too...;) so like to give that a try.

I saw your message! Chewy sms me almost everyday since i told her what happened coz she has been thinking about me! Argh i feel bad must have remind you ladies about the past i am so sorry!

Chewy asked me to buy some ginger tea which i did! That should be enough?

Actually Monster, I do consider going to NUH, but I am looking at Prof Biswas. I have heard many stories about him. People said he has the midas touch. http://www.mummysg.com/forums/f37/he-gave-us-hope-he-deliveres-us-joy-21250/ It is a little far from Tampines but it's okay.

No i am not seeing TCM at the moment, but will consider doing so after I return from Japan.

So ladies, Happy Chinese New Year!

morning ladies..

ohohjazz,
hmm.. ya, ang ang, also means, if AF did come, a chance to start new cycle again.

new yr new bundle of joy!

xmasnowy,
though now is cd3 for u.. but temp is high, good wor.

joanne,
temp still looking good.
dun sians over the slight drop.. tmr will be better!

tigerbb, yours on the rise. good. ya, now thinking what went wrong, if it is hubby solider not strong, my eggs really bad, or lining problem ? sigh.. so much factors

joanne, yours temp look promising.

To all ladies, I will like to wish each of you and your family a HAPPY, HEALTHY and ENRICHING Tiger Year.

ohohjazz,
two healthy person chance of striking only 25% wor.

thus could be timing de.
not easy to get the right timing.

must be 天时地利人和
hee.

thus to BD everyday is very siong, as the guy's soldiers might not recuperate fast enough.

thus BD alt day usually better.

hope mine will high high!
but still early to say anything? only dpo4 wor.

xmasnowy,
in tcm term (haa.. my tcm keep saying high is good), pre-O impt to be high also. of coz, post-O shld be higher!

so, its good la.

TigerBB, ya that's in theory lor.. i also know..timming is there already, but then..sigh..
then cycle would be better.

I realise that my temp before O is quite low, so should be quite COLD right? Checking with you gals, we do you all eat?!?!

ohohjazz,
i went tcm (for face n body coz hormone prob)
took powder form med daily lor.

also, i stop taking cold drinks as per tcm's instruction.
I wore slippers at home as well.

no fried or spicy food.

hopefully this cycle is the cycle!

tigerbb,
me hor also have tcm, but me still having fried and spicy food.. :p Ok Ok I should put a STOP to it! Cold drink still on and off.
Really needs to have lotsa of determination. sigh

ohohjazz,
ya, this time i very guai, literally no cold drinks.
at most, room temp lor.
no gassy drink also.

this CNY will be a torture!
but for health n to conceive well, will guai guai ba.

we jia you k!

Hi tigerbb and ohah
thk u thk u.. But dun wish to hv too high hope yet.. See next few day bbt.. Very stress over this bbt thingy.. Not healthy..;(

hi ohah
you r so funny.. Ang ang.. But i dun like as visiting very troublesome.. Keke.. Did u see ur gynea? Wht mediciation r u taking now?

Hi tigerbb
i hope to see a dip in ur bbt fr day 7 to 9 period.. If dip means got chance... No need keep stress over it for two whole ww..but mine very confuse.. Not very sure consider got dip or no dip.. Sianzzz..

Hi xmas
if pre o bbt is high means ur womb is not cokd which is gd..;)

Shiseru, Hope_4_bb,

My gynae is prof biswas. Yes, he is a very nice and fatherly gynae. He is always v reassuring, u will always feel u r in good hands.

Prof Biswas is expert in amnio testing and I heard is no. 1 in spore on his skill.

However, I have to say he is not an expert in infertility coz he was the one who did ovarian drilling for me and ended up in complication. Severe bleeding of the pelvic wall.Of coz my initial thinking is he is not competent and started to hv doubts abt him, but later on, I thought it is prob fate that things hv to go wrong.

Right now, I am still seeing him but if you want further treatment apart from medicine. Though I m gg to see LC Foong for 2nd opinion. He will not be able to help, he can only promote u upstairs to Prof PC Wong for AI.

So I prob gave some insight about him. You can consider him if you are prepared to try naturally and also Prof dun believe in scannings in every visit. From the surgery 5mths bk and now, he has nvr scanned me. Only blood test of CD23.

hi Joanne, me not on any medication from the gynae at the moment only on TCM lor.
Visiting troublesome, so i guess i would only go to my in-laws' place and parents' one will do. Others like uncles will skip lor..