kea
congrats! yeah! take care!

Gals
sorry MIA for so long. me a bit stress up. lol...

Congrats to Estar and ceraine on your new jobs!

Nice to noe tat result is -ve, Kea.

Enjoy ur cruise.

Kea,
Congrats to you ger =)...So now can fang xin liao...which curise u going? ex?

Liz,
Hi ger, long time din see u leh..how u doing?

thx all....=)..

rata

me booking nw lo..faxing the form to them..abit heart pain..850 for 2pax...but no choice coz i wan go relax ..n oso is gd as 8nov is PH

feifei
thanks! doing ok i think. looking forward to my hokkaido trip in early Nov. hopefully will be 3 of us going by then. ha ha ha... me don't mind puking all the way across hokkaido... ho ho ho!!!

so envious of you. must be enjoying your pregnancy.

Estar
lol... no luck on the job thing. not so "hot property" like you.

nope. no good news. no sign of O yet. think O is late even on clomid. sigh...

Liz,
I wish u all e best lor =)...Wow, going Hokkaido..tink its winter over there by that time hor? Enjoying???!haiz, not really lor, cos xinku de =( ...maybe after 1st trimster, things will be better...U also jiayou hor..

Kea,
wow...its those normal cabin? Me so old liao, nv went on cruise b4, so mountain turtle..hee

feifei

i nv go before oso..haha...tking tis chance to go..coz preggie, i afraid to tk flight.and go other country, alot of stuff cant do....scare gt air pressure...then cruise at least still ok...jus chill n relax and gamble..lolx

me tking the ocean view big window lo.....coz only left this one...haha....cheapest liao..the rest no window all taking up..if not 600plus nia...more cheap....

feifei
sadly, it is late autumn. no snow yet. haiz.. but my hubby can only take leave at that time. ha ha.. i also never go cruise before.

gals
some of you talk abt being SAHM and/or "an tai" just curious. How much do you think your DH must earn so that you can be comfortable to stop work?

April

hee..i pack u in my luggage...hee.....

Rata

ya lo, my fren took that one with balacony that time..but cost ard 1300 per rm...=/...too ex for me liao...don tink i will stay in room oso , hee...coz me will walk ard and go gamble..hohoho

liz, actually it all boils down to your current financial health. Eg. If you are having a number of loans to service and each month the loans are amounting to $1k, then u nid to factor in monthly expenses such as food, travel cost and all other expenses that u can think of... including money u give yr parents. Once you lay all out. You will be able to see how much money u have left is it enuf? Also, u must take into account a little "forced" savings cos if u used up all the money, then yr baby's education in the future and unexpected expenses is gonna wreck yr household. A couple with no loans to service could probably be ok on a single income of $4k with a little savings... oh yeah, also provided the couple does not spend unnecessarily... dats how I see loh.

I think its gd to share our thots here on this... hee...

Liz,

I not "hot property" lar, haizI'm just thankful for the opportunity to get a job!

I agree with Jaspire, it will have to depend on the fixed and variable expenses for each month for eg "parents allowance", "utilities/phone bills", "food & transport exp", "misc - eg - loans, c/c bills and etc..." and how much % of savings left for each month. I have know and seen couple with kids surviving on merely at $1.5 - $2k each month, at the end of the day it boils down to how much one budget themselves.

Wat do u think it's a comfortable income range that your DH should rank in to consider staying home?

estar, jaspire
ha ha... i also dunno. that's why I ask that question. Our average household expenditure including housing loan, car, bills, insurance, parents allowance will work out to around 2.5k of our combined income.

I'm thinking of quitting for a while next year if I go for SO-IUI.

liz, if u dun mind me asking... how much yr hubby earning ard? If ard $3500 above is gd enuf i think. Cos yr average household expenditure ard $2.5k and throw in $1k for savings and misc exp loh. Just that cannot spend unnecessarily.

I am also thinking of quitting to be SAHM. But my household expenditure is much higher...
really need to cut down on my monthly commitments and sell the condo before anything is possible... I can be very thrifty if i wan to lah.

Liz, if your DH take home pay is sufficient to cover the mthly $2.5K income, it shouldn't be a problem for you quitting your job for a while and stay at home while u go for your SO-IUI. I mean becos not working, exp will tend to be lower, so the savings part will increase. The most sacrificed on shopping and some occasional indulgenceshdn't be too much of a problem.

My mthly exps is ard $3-5K monthly depending..so if I dun work, I will cut down on more daily exps/shopping, thus, I believe still can survive comfortably on DH's income.

Jaspire,

Apple raised a good pt, u may consider renting out your condo so that it can help u cover the mthly instalments too

apple, the risk is quite high leh... cos if we din manage to find someone to rent leh? We are stuck... with the huge home payment.. Also, we are now living with in-laws but hubby prefer to have our own home ultimately else we will always be so reliant on his mom.

Jaspire,

If u really want to be there during the growing years of your child, I believe your DH and you can work something out

$$ is important but a child grow so fast in a twinkle of an eye that most working parents now missed out a lot on that. When you want to look back, it's alrd too late lehmmm.

So definitely have the weigh the pros and cons.

Jaspire,

The property mkt is pretty good now and I believe the trend should cont'd in the nxt couple of mths. The condo you bought is about to TOP soon rite?? Shdn't be a problem to get a tenant.

If you worry about tenant problem, then sell it off now while the mkt is hot! Get the cash, able to pay in full for a decent size HDB flat then the rest can go into your children's funds or can set aside for investment too

Jaspire
Ya. my dh earning more than 3.5k. Guess I am just not comfortable because I'm earning more than 3.5k also. So if i quit, it's substantial amount of income lost. I have been rather independent financially (i.e i have never spent my DH's money) so don't really feel comfortable with him paying for everything. In addition, also concern that the cost of the treatment. Hopefully, I won't need to go for that. Just wanted to bring up this for discussion. thought it will be interesting.

With regards to the condo, I think you should sell. it will fetch a very good price now esp when the prices of the suburbs are going up.

Estar
wah... your monthly expenditure is really high leh.

e*, actually dats our plan... sell the property now since mkt is hot. Get the profit and dump it in buying a HDB 4-rm and with our combined CPF, we may nid not get a loan. So its less taxing on hubby and he can save up his CPF. If dat happens, we are able to just live with his income. DH and I very much wish dat one of us will be able to stay wif our baby, so dat the upbringing is wat we values... baby really grows up fast loh... i see my SIL baby now already 5mths liao... so fast he grew... I dun wanna miss my baby's "first(s)" smile, turn over, crawl, stand, walk... haiz...

Liz,

I oso think my mthly expenditure abit high muhahahahaha.it's much better now le, previously before I got married, shop like no tmr de lor.luckily after marriage, DH step in and manage them else go haywire nyek nyek..

I understand once u earn a certain level of income, there's a pinch when it comes to giving it up. Esp since u will lost the freedom to spend your own $ and hv to depend on DH. My DH is comfy feeding me, so I'm ok hahahahaabut the problem is he will restrict me to buying my fav things since he know sometimes I will got out of ctrl and buy unnecessary things.so at least got own $ can buy wat I wanthahahaha.

1009990.gif

estar
lol.. Ya. agree that it is the lost of freedom to spend that is daunting. Btw, where will your new office be. we haven't meet up for lunch yet. :p

Jaspire
I guess you don't have to worry. erm.. your DH's company should be paying very well right. That's what I heard lah.

liz, we are all in the same boat... my DH oso earns more than 3.5k and me too... so giving up my job is giving up a substantial income. So far I have also never used my DH's money. In fact, I am the one with more savings as I am more prudent than hubby... so I am also quite worried when I have to depend on his income alone. However, I do see it as a maturity for him too as when he start to shoulder the burden of being head of household he will think twice abt spending unnecessarily loh. He gives freely which is not bad but at times I feel he need to be more cautious. Before we were married, he doesnt even have savings... i have to force him to save each month in our joint account. But he has to grow as he is the man loh. And truthfully, he is now more careful in spending and is a much changed man in terms of managing his money... I am quite proud of his determination and hence the trust in him that he will be able to provide for our house loh.

wa! u gals earn alot man. For me I m not those ambitious type so i will opt for a less stressful job which offer me a pay to lead comfortable line can liao no need to b lux life.

jaspire
same same. my DH also the same. so he always say I very kiam. lol. i feel bad also because DH really work very hard so if I don't work and add on to his burden, he cannot spend his hard-earned money freely. very poor thing. anyway, just hope that I don't have to go for the stupid SO-IUI thing.

Liz,

My new office oso at RP, hahahahahawill be working same office building with my DH only different firms.
1010135.gif

Free one day we can meet up lar

Jaspire,

I'm wat your DH like in the past spend unnecessary then hardly got any bits of savings hee hee, after marriage he step in then I'm more limited le..muhahahahaha...

Liz,

There won't be a need for you to go for SO-IUI ok, u will strike it naturally! Think just hv to be patient till we get the "MTB offer" for me I give up le hahahahaha.so at least more freedom for me now alrd.

Cute O,

Wanna share your views? Yr DH must be earning quite well too, tht's y u can have the thot of becoming a SAHM !!

Liz, Kea

So we nearby office to each other? Hee hee

Liz.u mean u want to enter the banks there?? Think the mkt is pretty good at the moment, so u can keep a lookout leh..

Kea works in a headhunter firm, ask her look out for you!

Wa liz and Estar, u gals in banking jobs huh...do u gals have to work OT and wkends often?

I ambivalent towards working in the sense tat I nvr reali enjoyed it tat much...used to be ambitious but nw no more...so nw tinking of finding something tat i may enjoy more and can continue to work thru preggie and when kids growing up...maybe something part-time or tutoring etc...but the money is nt as good...and to be frank, when i make the decision to give up working full-time in the corporate world...i cant help but feel tat i've disappointed myself n my hubby...hiaz...but nt all households can have two high-flying career spouses wif wonderful kids, right?...one of my friend juz gave up her banking job after her second kid n she is very happy nw...

e*...

i tink so if i don rem wrong the location of 1 raffles quay.hee....

e* & Liz.

me don hunt wor..me jus help help nia..small fry onli..hee...my director and consultant hunts de...in funds, investment , legal.....

Estar
don't think got chance. I need to built up my business domain knowledge first. kenna rejected by one of the banks there because of this. lol.. no la. kea looking for senior management pple. me only ikan bilis. she can help you look next time.

Liz,

Me oso ikan bilismuhahahaahaha.maybe she can help my DH & his brother find in futuredun say that, I'm sure it's the bank's loss not to employ you...

Cute O,

5 days job lehgot one big "Dream" co that everyone out there said it's prestigious to work in want to counter-offer me with a much higher salary but I rejected becos it means having to work real late in the nights and wkends might be burn to clear o/s work.ended up I dun think I want to give up my precious hours of zz and time to spend with DH, so I gave up. My DH oso asked not to take up that position in that "Dream Co".

Haha, estar, ya nw i guess nature of job etc. is more impt than $...nt worth all tat stress n no life...i always wonder how those ppl can stand working like tat for long?...

Liz, try to take it easy, K?...Last time i oso stress myself abt all these jobs thingy, but nw trying to take it easy...stress nt gd for health n ttc...