Don't worry twirly. Little babies are very clever. If they are very full, they will push the teats out. My baby has been drinking 1.2litre per day and sometimes even more for the past 3 weeks since we were discharged from hospital. I was also worried about overfeeding when she just recovered from her diarrhea. But she will scream if i don't feed her. Doc says it's fine. As long as they don't vomit after the feed. And it's only 1 time! Don't be so hard on yourself!
Thank u for ur kind words and sharing! We are more cautious of her milk feeds now as she had a really tough time in the high dependency unit two weeks back. Hopefully she will be ok.

Mummies, 6wo LO sleeps during the day and his eyes are wide open at night. Any mummies experiencing the same thing? It allows me to do my chores during the day but night duties aren't fun. I suspect it is because he sleeps too much during the day. What do you mummies do to keep them awake during the day and make them sleep at night? Thanks in advance.

@Twirlycandy, yup dont be guilty..next time check b4 making hot her ebm, or u can jus wait for her to wake up den make hot jus to be sure tat she is crying for milk..
@momocrv my boi took 5oz at 5wk old, tat y had to cut to 90-120ml instead.. Ever since discharge i DL him unless he nv go out with me. My mom gives him 5oz too, sigh...saying he hungry can slp well if drink full x2.

Tpy polyclinic aso alot babies..i thinking of getting 5in1 since its free, but whats the difference if i get 6in 1??

@Twirlycandy, yup dont be guilty..next time check b4 making hot her ebm, or u can jus wait for her to wake up den make hot jus to be sure tat she is crying for milk..
@momocrv my boi took 5oz at 5wk old, tat y had to cut to 90-120ml instead.. Ever since discharge i DL him unless he nv go out with me. My mom gives him 5oz too, sigh...saying he hungry can slp well if drink full x2.

Tpy polyclinic aso alot babies..i thinking of getting 5in1 since its free, but whats the difference if i get 6in 1??

Yeah I think all old ppl want them to eat n eat my mum same...lol

mummies, do you put your LO sleeping on their tummy? I know it is dangerous and not advisable but mine seems to sleep so much better on his tummy but I only do it during the day and I make sure I check on him all the time.

My boy also kena once with milk spitting from his nose. I was so traumatised I couldn't sleep for few nights. He's taking almost 5oz at every 2-3 hours interval and he's at 8 weeks. I don't know if we are overfeeding him but all the nannies like to force feed them so that they sleep most of the time.
Wah..thats alot! Mine only take 100ml. U gotta check the milk intake chart for reference.. u dun wanna forcefeed bb and their stomach over stretched.

Agree.

My fil's first response when he hears the baby cry (not just my baby, any baby) is "He's hungry! Hurry up feed him!" And he goes on and on despite us telling him that baby was just fed and probably needed comfort. So annoying.

The only way to convince them bb is not hungry is when bb vomits out what they drink! Lol

Hi i got a question to ask... My hubby has a gym exercise station in the living room with weights and other equipment surrounding it. I told him that it is not very child friendly and that we should put something like a toddler barrier around it cos in a few months when baby crawls, she might bang into it/weights roll over her fingers etc. His view is that if I am watching her, such an accident will not happen. He also doesn't want to shift the exercise station to a room where we can close the door.

Anyway, now he is very angry with me and just said he will sell it off. He has also stopped talking to me or helping with baby. What should I do? I tried talking to him nicely, give him neck massage but he is also still angry...

Sorry for long post.

Agree.

My fil's first response when he hears the baby cry (not just my baby, any baby) is "He's hungry! Hurry up feed him!" And he goes on and on despite us telling him that baby was just fed and probably needed comfort. So annoying.
Exactly what my own parents do too. My dad visited two days ago and fed my girl a full feed of 80ml. Shortly later my cranky baby fusses and whines and unbelievably, my dad immediately said 'shes hungry! Shes hungry! Feed her!'

Needless to say, i gave him a good 'scolding' and told him there should be a 'system' with regard to baby's feeds esp since she's recovering now. Sighs.

Hi i got a question to ask... My hubby has a gym exercise station in the living room with weights and other equipment surrounding it. I told him that it is not very child friendly and that we should put something like a toddler barrier around it cos in a few months when baby crawls, she might bang into it/weights roll over her fingers etc. His view is that if I am watching her, such an accident will not happen. He also doesn't want to shift the exercise station to a room where we can close the door.

Anyway, now he is very angry with me and just said he will sell it off. He has also stopped talking to me or helping with baby. What should I do? I tried talking to him nicely, give him neck massage but he is also still angry...

Sorry for long post.

Hi, sounds like he's in the wrong and yet he doesn't realise.

I'm NOT teaching you to do this but if the same thing happened to me, I would give him the cold shoulder from now on. If he really cares, he will talk nicely to me after that.

There was once I was really tired (pregnant then) & so I took a nap. Then when it was time for my older kid to go for enrichment lesson, my hubby suddenly came into the room and asked rudely "So late already why you haven't bring her to lesson?" I was so pissed lor....can't I rest? And he had the cheek to scold me when he himself was preoccupied with his hp and didn't keep track of time. I was angry with him after that and when it was dinner time,he asked me what I wanted to eat and I ignored him. After a while, he asked again and was more gentle with his tone. After that everything was ok.

Exactly what my own parents do too. My dad visited two days ago and fed my girl a full feed of 80ml. Shortly later my cranky baby fusses and whines and unbelievably, my dad immediately said 'shes hungry! Shes hungry! Feed her!'

Needless to say, i gave him a good 'scolding' and told him there should be a 'system' with regard to baby's feeds esp since she's recovering now. Sighs.

You can scold your dad but I can't scold my fil. :(

For my fil, he would say "Just now she didn't drink enough la. Next time must give her more." Duh.

Sorry for long post.
Hmmm.. if for me,I will let him sell. I won't wait till things happen and 后悔都来不急。Also, let him know tat bb is his too, why should the watching over baby lies on your shoulder only? He shouLD be also responsible for bb's safety and only think of himself. He doesn't talk to u, den u also dun talk to him. Sorry but he sounds a little selfish to me when u say he stop helping with bb. He should not be using bb as a chip when he's angry with u. He should still help out.

@hi_mei , men very sensitive... Same as women. But theirs is the ego spot! For eg: when i had my #1, i scold my hubby for not spending time with her. He always play comp games, ipad/hp games, nv ending nv stopping. Bb cry he dun bother... He angry n say he sell the comp, den i think the comp spoilt. I tot was d end, he switched to ipad, now more portable can go toilet play! Arrrrggghhh...
After awhile i stopped nagging, say till my saliver also dry. Fast forward- many stuff happened, like bb not attached to him, den missed alot of her growing up stage.. Den suddenly i ask him if bb really means alot to him or his games. I told him off, want to play game den marry his computer what for marry me i can jus leave without him lor.
Things slowly changed, but i didnt stop him completely la, he got his time to play den i nv ask him for help. When he 'free' he made sure he console bb, now #3 he help out even more, but when my parents is home, he start his free time again -on his new computer which i force him to buy (which can last up to 4-6hrs) but i nv nag or show face anymore as long as he help take care of kids and prove tat he do care.

Sorry for the longggg story. But i think ur hubby enjoys gyming, and putting in the room can be stuffy and not condusive. Now nothing happen of cos he will not worry this n tat as much as a mummy! We ladies think far far..like 20yrs down the road (ooopppss abit kua zhang, but true when comes to bb safety, health, etc) men only see n think whats in front of them. "What for think so far and make urself worry when it did not happen?" - quote from my hubby.
So when bb start to turn, put bb in playpen or even floor. When bb crawl, teach bb not to go dangerous place to play. When bb walk dun let bb anyhow touch... Everything easier said den done!! But who teach and sees bb go thru the major stages?
All i can share is jus give him the space he wants for now, dont becos of bb den unhappy. Make u even stressful taking care of bb and pacifiying ur hubby. It shld be a 2-way communication and sharing of thoughts on how to take care of bb. Even if he dun lift a finger to help with bb, so be it. Dont force, dun feel sad. I believe ur hubby jus need time to cool down and think...u already made the first step to massage his neck, talk to him, conjole him etc... Jus continue ur normal activities and get him join in...take time to comfort urself tat everything will be fine, once u feel HAPPY, EVERYTHING ELSE WILL BE HAPPY!

Ups and downs in life cannot avoid! Just chiong forward, and be HAPPY!

Hope to hear gd news from u soon.. Jiayou, dont stress urself!

6in1 requires to pay $120 (medisave claimable). It's basically LO will get the last (4th) Hep B jab in the 5th mth instead of the 6th mth,together with her 3rd Heb B jab and other jabs.

In short,pay $120 & save one trip to polyclinic. Cos the 6th mth requires no other jabs. But since I'm not working so I chose the 5in1. Just go lor since polyclinic near my place too.

Hey, for those who are using spectra 9+, do you guys leave it charging all the time even when in use? Also, while charging when not in use, the back light is on all the time?

6in1 requires to pay $120 (medisave claimable). It's basically LO will get the last (4th) Hep B jab in the 5th mth instead of the 6th mth,together with her 3rd Heb B jab and other jabs.

In short,pay $120 & save one trip to polyclinic. Cos the 6th mth requires no other jabs. But since I'm not working so I chose the 5in1. Just go lor since polyclinic near my place too.
$120 can use medisave? Private PD also can use medisave bo?

Polyclinic medisave deductible. PD I'm not sure. PD can use CDA so maybe cannot deduct from medisave? Cos PD is package pricing,either 5in1 or 6in1. Unlike polyclinic is free except the $120 if taking 6in1.

Hey, for those who are using spectra 9+, do you guys leave it charging all the time even when in use? Also, while charging when not in use, the back light is on all the time?

I normally use without charging... Once left 1 bar i charge full / use while charging. Den again use when full... Yes when charging backlight on. :)

Jus to share on my testing of medela FS & Spectra 9+ for the last 3weeks tat i used this 2 pumps daily.
I DL every feed, only pump 6hourly once
Left - S9+ - will hold with one hand
Right - FS - will use my handsfree strap
Been doing this everyday for last 3weeks. Results :
1) Left produce at least 30ml more milk at every pump session
2) Right have sudden blocked ducts that cant be cleared. (3rd day still sore n feverish) spent 40mins only get 20ml instead of 150ml.
So i used S9+ to try clear Right, after 10mins of pump & compression, can feel the duct start to clear. But will need another 1-2 x pump session to fully empty n clear the ducts, but hopefully.my LO able to suckle longer to help remove! Hehe
3) If to achieve same amount of milk den i stop pumping, S9+ will achieve ahead by 5mins or more (faster output)

Overall, S9+ is worthwhile & cheap. Not sure how long it can last for exclusive pumping moms, as the max i pump for day is 5-6x, min 3x.
Only tried this 2 portable pumps. But i feel if exclusive pump, can consider getting better motor so it can last longer..

Yup, all along quite even at most 10ml diff when i was using FS, but my right & left size is slightly imbalanced in size! Sigh~

My lil kong kong still O.O since 8pm... Yawnz..

@furbee, thanks for enlightening me wrt the spectra 9+. I also agree with you that spectra 9+ is better. I used freestyle when I gave birth for about 3 weeks. Couldn't take it. Long pumping time and I keep getting clogged ducts. Finally gave up on it and borrowed medela dual electric (I used this for my first 2 kids). Even though it clears well, it still took me average 30-555 min to pump. Now trying 9+. Used it twice already. So far, I feel the pumping is quite comfortable. Suction is good as well. But I must qualify that the fs and the dual electric are both 2nd hand whereas the 9+ is new.

Do u all massage ur breast while pumping? I do all e time, it helps me to yield more. My left is always lesser than right, different by quite alot, easily 50% at times. And left breast is smaller. Now i keep bf my bb wif left side more. Helps to close the yield gap haha

Ya I also massage while pumping.. I think it helps in getting more yield too! But hor.. means though I bought a double pump.. I'm only using a single pump cos the other hand will need to be free to massage.. are u doing it the same? Was just thinking how to maximise the double pump so that can lessen the pump duration?

Me same as u too! Left always yields a lot lesser than the right.. and I tried to close the gap by bf-ing more on the left too.. think the gap is smaller now.

@sweetness , haha ^5! I m using FS so if time is constraint i use dual pump with strap, so either 1 hand massage each breast or taking turn if 2 hands massage 1 breast. But if i got more time, i do single pump coz sometimes i try to minimise parts to clean too, or i got no extra bottle. what pump u r using?

Thanks @yew_yew ,@jjmom and @furbee for ur detailed advices... Really appreciate ur views and help. Problem is resolved liao... I just continue to do my own things then hubby auto be nice to me... Haha.

That's good to hear!

Haha...sometimes I will purposely tease him "Thought you don't want to talk to me? Talk to me now for what?" But of course I did this jokingly la and he will smile sheepishly.

@sweetness , haha ^5! I m using FS so if time is constraint i use dual pump with strap, so either 1 hand massage each breast or taking turn if 2 hands massage 1 breast. But if i got more time, i do single pump coz sometimes i try to minimise parts to clean too, or i got no extra bottle. what pump u r using?

Hi isenggirl, I'm using Spectra S1. I've got my simple wishes hands free bra but still haven't got to using it.. partly bcos still on maternity leave, so thot I have the time to use single pump and mainly bcos less one side of pump parts to wash! ^5! Thanks for sharing how u do yours!
Think I'll have to start using double pump when I head back office!

@furbee , u r using 9+ massage function oni? Can yield more ar?

Ya been using only massage function, i feel the expression does not help even thou it does pull my nipples it dun release squirts of milk compared to massage mode leh.
I remember another mummy aso use only massage mode!

I like FS handsfree kits, but the newer models all no longer comes with it..
I nv massage b4 pumping..cos i easily get lumps if massage(milk start flowing too fast in my case :( )

Sweetness, u shld try using ur handsfree bra, cos may take some time to "set up" and even get comfy with. My sil gave me hers, like so thick and the holes in front like so cute i duno when to start using it too.
Now i go out bring 2 sets of pump, and 2 sets of accessories! So can pump 2x (dun nid wash) & if one motor spoil got another, a lil bit crazy cos its heavy!
Will u all leave ur spare pump in office?

Ya been using only massage function, i feel the expression does not help even thou it does pull my nipples it dun release squirts of milk compared to massage mode leh.
I remember another mummy aso use only massage mode!

I like FS handsfree kits, but the newer models all no longer comes with it..
I nv massage b4 pumping..cos i easily get lumps if massage(milk start flowing too fast in my case :( )

Sweetness, u shld try using ur handsfree bra, cos may take some time to "set up" and even get comfy with. My sil gave me hers, like so thick and the holes in front like so cute i duno when to start using it too.
Now i go out bring 2 sets of pump, and 2 sets of accessories! So can pump 2x (dun nid wash) & if one motor spoil got another, a lil bit crazy cos its heavy!
Will u all leave ur spare pump in office?

@furbee, I did try to take out the bra to try.. but also feel like dunno how to get started using it! Guess I will need to try and get use to it before I start work!
And I'm waiting for a promo to get my hands on S9 for office use and I'll leave it in the office cos will be using my S1 at home.

Ladies...I had mastitis :(:(

Faster pop 2panadol if u nv see doc. Den latch on tat side first as bb is hungry suction stronger. Kip massaging n pumping if possibly every 2hours.. Sure v painful!! Urs got pain till underarm?

@furbee, I did try to take out the bra to try.. but also feel like dunno how to get started using it! Guess I will need to try and get use to it before I start work!
And I'm waiting for a promo to get my hands on S9 for office use and I'll leave it in the office cos will be using my S1 at home.

Liddat no hurry to buy lor. Sure get cheaper wen theres demand... ;)

Same as @furbee that I used FS earlier on and the yield is pathetic....After reading reviews on S9, I got it online and the yield amazing increase 2x... Just gotten another S1+ and its quite good...Hopefully my yield will increase..

Anyone got problem with light sleeper baby? My baby is 7 weeks old and she always didn't get into deep sleep and will just keep moving her hands and legs... She hates swaddling too...Any rememdies?

@missyblueberry , bb will suddenly jerk when doze off? Mine also..
My LO like having lotsa dreams, sometimes he like playing with his guardian angels, sometimes he like so sad den he will frown n cry like ppl snatch his milk. But mostly day time he will have sudden movements den he will wake up cry.
7weeks v hard to swaddle leh, bb too strong, less den 5seconds arms n limps out of the blanket..

@missyblueberry is ur FS newly bought? I am so tempted to buy s9+ but my yield is not fantastic..

@isenggirl: yes gotten before giving birth during one of the baby fair... $699... Invested in the flange and additional stuffs... Not good!

Highly recommend to buy s9+! Quite worthwhile... Though my yield not that much but at least I have lesser blocked ducts as compared to using FS and it's pretty compact! Lighter too...

@missyblueberry , bb will suddenly jerk when doze off? Mine also..
My LO like having lotsa dreams, sometimes he like playing with his guardian angels, sometimes he like so sad den he will frown n cry like ppl snatch his milk. But mostly day time he will have sudden movements den he will wake up cry.
7weeks v hard to swaddle leh, bb too strong, less den 5seconds arms n limps out of the blanket..

Yes exactly... Sometime smile sometime frown while sleeping... Don't know what she wants... :( but it's getting better now though...

Not my LO, is my 7yo crybaby. Keep crying say stomach pain. Duno Izit school opening syndrome. lll

Poor (.)(.).. Ytd oso Oni manage to pump 4x. Wkend timing lagi haywire.

100% is "dont wan to go sch syndrome".. Lol.
My 4yo aso dont wan go CC everyday ask me check n touch her forehead c got fever..-.-||
Kids hor...... So smart. Lol. So ur kid get MC? Lol..

Faster pop 2panadol if u nv see doc. Den latch on tat side first as bb is hungry suction stronger. Kip massaging n pumping if possibly every 2hours.. Sure v painful!! Urs got pain till underarm?
Already pop panadol when feeling warm in head last evening. After a sleep, better but who knows last night saw the redness and swell...never till underarm.. but redness halfway towards underarm liao:(