It is with a heavy heart and teary eyes that i pen this message. Just got home from hosp with nanny. Babygirl had an xray and blood test done on the distended tummy (looking very bloated and hard) and she may require a surgery, depending on the stool analysis. Have been crying since this afternoon at the pd and then at the a&e and high dependency unit. Hubby is staying with her overnight as she couldnt stop crying with all the tubes on her and the fact that she has to stop her milk feeds and be solely on drip.

My heart is really shattered. Just felt like a mum who failed terribly... This is gona be a long night...
Be strong mummy, my boy was admitted to hospital recently too so I totally understand how you feel. Take care of yourself so that you can care for your baby later.

My girl latched on both breasts for 45 mins and she suckled well. But 15 mins later, she suckle again on 1 breast for 15 mins then refused to continue. We put her on bed and she started crying. After that gotta bottle feedher 30 ml before she is happy and go to sleep. Is that normal?

Should be milk flow slow.My LO also the same. Can try compression while feeding or just pump out to feed.

@Juan86 , polyclinic doc told me 100 and below cleared. My LO went n tested 102 the 3rd time they also clear.
@BubsandBloms like that must check with pd if G6Pd really affects jaundice anot leh.. Cos like tat u need to go back for more reviews.

Furbee

My bb last test also 102 but they asked me to check again together when we go for immunization. The time is 3 wks away from last test i don't find it's necessary so i will not test again on next visit.

Okay pumping session again at wee hour.. and cant sleep again. Haha. Just now only managed to yield 80ml. My helper was awake due to bb hungry. She noticed block duct from both breast so she helped to massage and now feel soft.. i wonder whether block duct happens v frequently? If yes, need to get massage lady do it regularly too? I massage both sides everyday during shower, but still got block duct.. wondering why.. :(

Let the baby suck the side that have block duct after pump, filling hot bottle in the milk bottle n massage does help too.

Baby jaundice is back at 10.8.. doc asked if we wanna rent the phototherapy machine or continue sunbath method

Apparently we have been doing it wrong. 5 mins is not enough at all according to PD. Must sunbath 30 mins (include front and back) and must strip naked including mittens and roll down diaper abit.

Sigh really hope baby can be cleared of jaundice soon
I experienced the same thing during April. My little girl jaundice is so bad 18 on the 5th day need to be admitted, aft 2 days drop to 10 go home but 3 days later came back again to 15 which need to rent a phototherapy machine home.
pD diagnosed is breastmilk jaundice as my girl fully on bf so I stop and feed on fm for 5 days.
On n off until 3rd week he jaundice stable to 12 now my girl 2 months the skin slowly look fairer.
Just to share after consult some professional Tcm she comment mostly is the confinement food that cause it especially I bf. I should stop ginger n wine for a moment and cannot consume too Much tonic for the first 1-3 weeks. We should not eat 八珍 or 十全 until last week as it might cause more bleeding if u had it earlier. Food like 当归 also too heaty. After I stop my baby girl face no more small rashes too.

It is with a heavy heart and teary eyes that i pen this message. Just got home from hosp with nanny. Babygirl had an xray and blood test done on the distended tummy (looking very bloated and hard) and she may require a surgery, depending on the stool analysis. Have been crying since this afternoon at the pd and then at the a&e and high dependency unit. Hubby is staying with her overnight as she couldnt stop crying with all the tubes on her and the fact that she has to stop her milk feeds and be solely on drip.

My heart is really shattered. Just felt like a mum who failed terribly... This is gona be a long night...
Sayang sayang.. all will be fine. Be strong..

Any good n honest aircon service contact to share?
I've been using motherhood palace for years. Nvr push to sign package at all. Elizabeth, the coordinator, is always kind to try to fix a schedule per ur request. And Andrew, the mechanic, is oso good. I think they r in BP as well.

I tried once, their service is prompt. Been almost a year since i last service my ac. Oppps. Maybe will consider

Thank you. I will try to contact them.

I totally understand. It's frustrating to get blocked ducts despite pumping and massaging every 3-hourly. Hubby will help to massage and check for blocked ducts occasionally and when it happens, it's very very pain!

Hubby said that if I get mastisis, I gotta hang up the pump. I'm only 4wpp and I'm not ready to do that for LO.

I totally understand. It's frustrating to get blocked ducts despite pumping and massaging every 3-hourly. Hubby will help to massage and check for blocked ducts occasionally and when it happens, it's very very pain!

Hubby said that if I get mastisis, I gotta hang up the pump. I'm only 4wpp and I'm not ready to do that for LO.

Woah ur hubby so sweet will help to massage! Mine dun bother bout whether i in pain anot lor. Just ask me pump n latch, if dun latch den feed bottled bm. Sigh... Must appreciate ur hubby's help wor. Hehe.
U mean if get Mastits gotto totally stop? I tot all d more supposed to pump out to clear? But hope mummies wont get it, its the worse!!

I think my breast like so seasoned that I nv massage before pump.. Took 1 week for block ducts to clear n real pain.
I tink when i hand express, might be wrong technique den cos tat nip to be so sore. How u all train both hands to hand express huh?? My left side making things worse. Haha.

Tell me abt it, I'm so Heng to tio mastitis at week 2! The infected lump was so deep inside that LC can't do anything abt it and referred me to breast specialist. But I continue to pump and feed baby the ebm. Is safe for the baby as I was on antibiotic. The specialist said lucky I see doc and on antibiotic early, if not, it will develop to pus which was worse.
I'm ok now tho the lump is still deep inside. I'm still pumping but my breast doesn't to refill well. I pump 4hrly oni 120/session. Duno how to fasten the refill.

Woah ur hubby so sweet will help to massage! Mine dun bother bout whether i in pain anot lor. Just ask me pump n latch, if dun latch den feed bottled bm. Sigh... Must appreciate ur hubby's help wor. Hehe.
U mean if get Mastits gotto totally stop? I tot all d more supposed to pump out to clear? But hope mummies wont get it, its the worse!!

I think my breast like so seasoned that I nv massage before pump.. Took 1 week for block ducts to clear n real pain.
I tink when i hand express, might be wrong technique den cos tat nip to be so sore. How u all train both hands to hand express huh?? My left side making things worse. Haha.

I totally appreciate his help. For my case, if he discovers blocked ducts, he'll massage as I pump. Usually it should clear within 24-48 hours. If it's blocked for too long, it'll may become mastisis. Hand expressing is very tedious - we did that once and spent 1.5 hours and breasts were not empty.

If I get mastisis, he will just ask me to take meds from doc to stop milk supply. I'm not ready for that yet.

Tell me abt it, I'm so Heng to tio mastitis at week 2! The infected lump was so deep inside that LC can't do anything abt it and referred me to breast specialist. But I continue to pump and feed baby the ebm. Is safe for the baby as I was on antibiotic. The specialist said lucky I see doc and on antibiotic early, if not, it will develop to pus which was worse.
I'm ok now tho the lump is still deep inside. I'm still pumping but my breast doesn't to refill well. I pump 4hrly oni 120/session. Duno how to fasten the refill.

That's what all mummies want to avoid. But we probably didn't know that we'll get all these even if we adhere to a strict pumping schedule.

I'm an average supplier. Supply depends on my diet and how hydrated I am. I understand if you want to increase your supply, you gotta pump more frequently - say every 2 hours? But it IS very tiring especially if you're the only caregiver or have no help.

Wah ur hubby so sweet to u! Mine told me to go outside to e living room to pump cos disturbing his sleep in e middle of e nite. Kns.

For me latching will clear e blocked ducts faster. But latching takes sooo long cos my ah boy keeps falling asleep. I will try to massage breast while latching to clear the blocked ducts.

That's what all mummies want to avoid. But we probably didn't know that we'll get all these even if we adhere to a strict pumping schedule.

I'm an average supplier. Supply depends on my diet and how hydrated I am. I understand if you want to increase your supply, you gotta pump more frequently - say every 2 hours? But it IS very tiring especially if you're the only caregiver or have no help.

Yah pumping 2hrly is really too tedious. Even if pump only 20min, spend another 10min wash / sterilise bottles etc. Rest another hr and need to pump again. Plus nipples cfm will be very sore.

Hi all mummies,this is a long post. I went through 13hrs of labor without epidural or other pain reliefs. After all the stitching etc,was back to labor ward at 8pm. Throughout bled a lot but I thought was normal cos heavy menses. (I didn't know my case was excessive) till all visitors left then I told hubby I super dizzy. Nurse checked me & realized it was a condition called vulva hematoma where blood clot was stuck inside and couldn't flow out. The clot was at the place he stitched up.

1am gynae came back and I was pushed to the OT. Low blood pressure so had no time to let the local anesthesia to kick in. My stitches was removed,he dug out all the clots & huge gushes of blood came flowing. Realized there was a tear deep inside close to the cervix that was not stitched up earlier,thus the excessive bleeding. He claimed that it's too deep that he can't see the tear earlier. So I was stitched up again,raw,awake,screaming and kicking till the nurses had to pin down my legs. I really thought I was going to die.

Gynae said normally ppl stitch up 1inch from the inside,but mine was 3-4inches deep. My face turned white for 2wks due to excessive loss of blood. Came home & couldn't do anything nor latch baby. Stand up only dizzy. Black out in the hospital few times. Fast forward to all the difficulties in pumping,my right nipple has a scar and makes the flange hard to fit properly. So a lot of abrasions & blisters. I persevered for 3wks but suddenly my milk supply became overwhelming.

My breasts was hard rock after 1hr. Not full,it's hard rock! I couldn't take it to keep pumping every hour. It was crazy! It may sound insulting for mummies who have not enough milk supply. But every hour,and that pain on the nipples every hour,the rock hard boobs,my breasts is filling up too fast. ML helped to clear but the same shit happen after she left 2hrs later. I tried to drag to 2-3hrs then pump but 1hr already become rock.

These 3wks+ I haven't had rest at all,and the pumping (pro long sitting down) had caused my wound to open abit. By right natural delivery 1wk can heal. But due to my complications it need longer time to heal. Now that my vaginal wound open up a little, and those hourly pumping that I couldn't sleep at all,I'm saying goodbye to breastfeeding.

As I brought out the last bottle of milk,I looked at my baby and burst out crying. I felt sorry for her & most insulting is that I've a lot of supply yet I chose to give up. The abrasions that never gonna heal,the rock boobs,the wound etc etc. it's such a lousy feeling that I hope all mummies never gonna go through.

But my hubby said he need a healthy & happy me to take good care of baby. LC also encouraged me to stop breastfeeding cos I'm in so much sufferings. It should be a happy affair. Baby is turning full month this Sunday. Yet I still can't walk properly. No choice but to extend CL for another month. I really don't know how to help myself either. Gynae said only can let the wound heal by itself,takes time. Sigh.

I hope my wound heal soon so that I can enjoy baby. I haven't carried her for more than 5mins since birth. Cos the weight will add pressure to my wound. Felt so lousy.

Hi all mummies,this is a long post. I went through 13hrs of labor without epidural or other pain reliefs. After all the stitching etc,was back to labor ward at 8pm. Throughout bled a lot but I thought was normal cos heavy menses. (I didn't know my case was excessive) till all visitors left then I told hubby I super dizzy. Nurse checked me & realized it was a condition called vulva hematoma where blood clot was stuck inside and couldn't flow out. The clot was at the place he stitched up.

1am gynae came back and I was pushed to the OT. Low blood pressure so had no time to let the local anesthesia to kick in. My stitches was removed,he dug out all the clots & huge gushes of blood came flowing. Realized there was a tear deep inside close to the cervix that was not stitched up earlier,thus the excessive bleeding. He claimed that it's too deep that he can't see the tear earlier. So I was stitched up again,raw,awake,screaming and kicking till the nurses had to pin down my legs. I really thought I was going to die.

Gynae said normally ppl stitch up 1inch from the inside,but mine was 3-4inches deep. My face turned white for 2wks due to excessive loss of blood. Came home & couldn't do anything nor latch baby. Stand up only dizzy. Black out in the hospital few times. Fast forward to all the difficulties in pumping,my right nipple has a scar and makes the flange hard to fit properly. So a lot of abrasions & blisters. I persevered for 3wks but suddenly my milk supply became overwhelming.

My breasts was hard rock after 1hr. Not full,it's hard rock! I couldn't take it to keep pumping every hour. It was crazy! It may sound insulting for mummies who have not enough milk supply. But every hour,and that pain on the nipples every hour,the rock hard boobs,my breasts is filling up too fast. ML helped to clear but the same shit happen after she left 2hrs later. I tried to drag to 2-3hrs then pump but 1hr already become rock.

These 3wks+ I haven't had rest at all,and the pumping (pro long sitting down) had caused my wound to open abit. By right natural delivery 1wk can heal. But due to my complications it need longer time to heal. Now that my vaginal wound open up a little, and those hourly pumping that I couldn't sleep at all,I'm saying goodbye to breastfeeding.

As I brought out the last bottle of milk,I looked at my baby and burst out crying. I felt sorry for her & most insulting is that I've a lot of supply yet I chose to give up. The abrasions that never gonna heal,the rock boobs,the wound etc etc. it's such a lousy feeling that I hope all mummies never gonna go through.

But my hubby said he need a healthy & happy me to take good care of baby. LC also encouraged me to stop breastfeeding cos I'm in so much sufferings. It should be a happy affair. Baby is turning full month this Sunday. Yet I still can't walk properly. No choice but to extend CL for another month. I really don't know how to help myself either. Gynae said only can let the wound heal by itself,takes time. Sigh.

I hope my wound heal soon so that I can enjoy baby. I haven't carried her for more than 5mins since birth. Cos the weight will add pressure to my wound. Felt so lousy.
@Purplehunny *hugz*~
Felt so much for u while read ur posting. I think the priority now Shd be u getting well first. Baby can grow well n healthy on FM as well, u tried ur best to wanting to provide her. And yes, a healthy and happy mummy is most impt. Hope u have a speedy recovery. Take care~

Hi mummies. Thanks.
Don't have time to reach forum already.
My CL cancelled last min coz she can't enter sg.
Now I bath baby since first day home.
My mum never care for children she dunno how to bath bb.
Night also full time I care.
Lucky still have mum to cook few more days.
Next week onwards, bb 1 week old I gotta do all cooking washing n everything myself leh. Hubby also back to work.
Sure won't hv time to talk here again liao.
Jiayou mummies and take care.

@Purplehunny you are really very wei da, pls dun feel like you shortchanged your gal, she will love you even more for all you went thru for her. Most importantly you must rest and regain your own health. Take good care ok!

@Purplehunny , i can feel the sorrow when u shared ur birth experiences, to the day u stop giving ur precious bm.
Yes, ur case is rare, but happened to my friend who too had excessive bleeding, but hers was rectified immediately after stitching and unstitching. The process tat u went thru is mentally scarring. Ur a brave mummy, u been thru such tough times for ur baby, now truely is ur time to fully recover n enjoy motherhood thoroughly.
Dont feel despair!! We are all here, thou we may not know each Other in person, but all the support everyone here rendered is truely admirable..
Everyone recovery takes a varied time, even i took 3weeks for the natural tear stitches to heal. Now at 5+wk, no more lochia, suddenly fresh blood came out from my poo...quite worried tat the inner stitches may b affected .. *cross my fingers*

Lastly, enjoy ur newborn baby shower, she is ur pride and glory!! Hugs!

Thank u all mummies. Reading your posts and encouragement truly warms my heart & brought tears to my eyes. Mummies knows best! This is really a place for us to let out other than sharing experiences/thoughts. Hugs!

@furbee yeah it is a scarring experience. The restitching was horrible that I rather go through labor again without epi. Was really traumatic to me. Went back labor ward after restitch and shivered like spasm for 10mins. Then now the wound open,my goodness.

@Purplehunny when I read your post I really feel like crying. I feel so sorry for you. But you are a really wonderful mom, pls, don't ever think you are lousy. U are the best mother to your baby! The pain you went thru had been a really bad experience and not everyone is able to withstand the kind of physical pain you've been thru. U are really admirable and amazing.

Mummies, I myself feel a little down and emo, any advice?

fast forward 8 days post partum, my milk just came in today. Earlier LC confirmed my milk did not come in. Is it due to laziness in stimulation during early days or I really have no milk supply? I'm not sure. I can only pump a few drops today. And it's really droplets!

I want to continue but I don't know how. It seems abnormal to only pump drops yday and today despite 3 hourly pump.

Anyone can guide me what to do next? Am I able to continue or am I fated to just give up on starting the bf journey?

To be honest my LO is thriving on formula and I am not stressed but just sad it's not that I don't want to feed her with the best but my body doesn't want to produce. She can also latch very well (I feel very good suction instantly) but she doesn't want to because simply there is no milk to reward her suckling. :(

@happycsk, just continue to latch. When you latch,try to compress your breasts to allow milk to flow. Latching will stimulate supply. You can also drink lots of fluids and eat milk-boosting food.

@Purplehunny, you are a brave mummy. Don't worry about breastfeeding. If you are not well and not happy, then no point. Most impt is to nurse back your health as this is the crucial period. Jiayou and rest well.

@happycsk, just continue to latch. When you latch,try to compress your breasts to allow milk to flow. Latching will stimulate supply. You can also drink lots of fluids and eat milk-boosting food.

Thanks. But will pumping help to stimulate also? Baby is impatient to latch if there is nothing coming out, I don't want to make her cry in frustration.

Yup, pumping helps. You can try to power pump to boost supply. But when baby is not that hungry, I would encourage latching coz baby's suckling is the best pump!

@happycsk , u can also try using warm towel to massage ur breast before u latch her. I duno if u have the time, but can consider to pump every 2 hourly, but limit to 10-15mins per session. It takes time to have milk. If that doesnt work in 2-3 days, den maybe ur boobs dun really have enough milk ducts/'vessels'..
Its actually quite common so dont despair.. Like u say, if u really have to stop, jus stop.. Cos it be more tiring and saddening to only see droplets right?
Lastly, u may consider domperidone, it worked for me when i had no milk previously. But there r side effects like mood swings, emotions, etc. i only took for 1.5 days den milk slowly came n i stopped tking the pill. Another common pill is motillum, not sure it it works the same way, but i know of friends who took it to boost supply.

Hopefully it helps u abit, n give u more considerations before u truely stop bf-ing, cos ur bb latches well...so quite a pity to miss out the bonding. :) jiayou! Dont feel stress...stress can slow milk production wor.
(Pssst, maybe can ask ur hubby suckle see really no milk anot.. Haha. My hubby DIE DIE wont lah :p )

@happycsk , u can also try using warm towel to massage ur breast before u latch her. I duno if u have the time, but can consider to pump every 2 hourly, but limit to 10-15mins per session. It takes time to have milk. If that doesnt work in 2-3 days, den maybe ur boobs dun really have enough milk ducts/'vessels'..
Its actually quite common so dont despair.. Like u say, if u really have to stop, jus stop.. Cos it be more tiring and saddening to only see droplets right?
Lastly, u may consider domperidone, it worked for me when i had no milk previously. But there r side effects like mood swings, emotions, etc. i only took for 1.5 days den milk slowly came n i stopped tking the pill. Another common pill is motillum, not sure it it works the same way, but i know of friends who took it to boost supply.

Hopefully it helps u abit, n give u more considerations before u truely stop bf-ing, cos ur bb latches well...so quite a pity to miss out the bonding. :) jiayou! Dont feel stress...stress can slow milk production wor.
(Pssst, maybe can ask ur hubby suckle see really no milk anot.. Haha. My hubby DIE DIE wont lah :p )

Thanks @yew_yew & @furbee!
Actually I saw gynae today and also took domperidone. So far taken 2 tablets, so probably not so soon can see results. I will try to pump every 2 hourly for 10-15mins and see if there is any results. You are very right - it's more saddening to see drops only after 20 mins pump. Guess I took for granted milk will come on eventually and the drops will turn into 10ml and more so quite disappointed now that it doesn't feel boobs are swollen hard anymore.

Just wonder how pumping works usually? Do u usually get like 10ml then build from there?
How much did u pump before/after u took domperidone?

@happycsk thank u for the encouragement! before I stop breastfeeding, my baby also don't really wanna latch cos no reward. So I pump pump pump to stimulate. Takes time to come in. At the beginning only few drops colostrum. Takes few days for milk to come in. LC teach me another way. Before baby gets really hungry/angry, latch the baby. Get CL or hubby to help squirt a little milk (use syringe) into her mouth while she suckle on your breast. Squirt from the side of her mouth. And also squirt on your nipple before u latch. So that she knows that there's milk subconsciously and will continue to suckle.

Hey dear, u r a brave and wonderful mum. The decision to stop bf does not make u any different from any mum who does. U have endured pains that many of us do not. I wish u a speedy recovery soon. And ur hubby is right, ur bb needs a healthy n happy mummy. We at this forum will be supporting u. Take care!

Thanks @yew_yew & @furbee!
Actually I saw gynae today and also took domperidone. So far taken 2 tablets, so probably not so soon can see results. I will try to pump every 2 hourly for 10-15mins and see if there is any results. You are very right - it's more saddening to see drops only after 20 mins pump. Guess I took for granted milk will come on eventually and the drops will turn into 10ml and more so quite disappointed now that it doesn't feel boobs are swollen hard anymore.

Just wonder how pumping works usually? Do u usually get like 10ml then build from there?
How much did u pump before/after u took domperidone?

Pumping works machiam like a factory (in my words), no demand, dont need supply, close down.
So when got demand ur body works harder to produce more milk for ur baby. Thats y pumping is like ur bb's latch. If ur bb latch more frequently, it tells ur boobs ur baby need more milk, so ur boobs will produce more. If u pump / latch less or even drag, means u dun need so much supply, it will go down.

Yes like purplehunny mentioned. beginning only colostrum, but urs to take 8days for milk flow, honestly is quite long. But at least u did start with a 10ml! I guess u no longer pump out colostrum right?
There are foremilk and hindmilk (foremilk is very light in colour, hindmilk is thick might even be white or slight yellow, and only comes out after hindmilk is pumped out). There is no hard n fast rule to how much one can produce, or how long it even takes to build up the supply. 10ml per pump, if u pump 7x = 70ml (may be enuff for 1 feed? Or even not enuff is ok , at least is a start.. U can combine all the milk tgt in the fridge (within same 24hr timeframe) so can slowly have extra feed for bb.

I took domperidone in yr 2011, supply was low like 15ml, den 1.5 days later hit to 70ml, but i really pumped 3hourly even at night. Subsquently is important to continously be hardworking to maintain supply for at least 1-2mths. I used to drag for 10-12hrs due to work (able to pump 900ml at one session). But of cos everyone body is different, so very hard to guage if the amount yield is 'normal'..

I believe hardwork and lotsa scarifice is needed if u wan to pump for storage, like cannot go out long hrs, need bring pump out, ice packs, pump n pump away..

For me i takes 3 whole mth to stablise the supply and reach my max. Sometimes now i skip night pumps, but daytime i work harder, try to get on par daily supply.. Yes, it is really mental straining, sometimes ur LO cries in middle of pump session, have to stop, latch den pump again ...but i tink at least it a way to kip the milk flowing... Pump latch pump.

I know when u feel ur boobs soft, ur first reaction is sigh no milk... But actually it might be producing... Or maybe ur milk ducts might jus be lesser, but its okie too. Jus slowly warm up ur body and dun stress urself since u start on domperidone. Jus take it till u feel ur milk is 'enough', say maybe 100ml each side. Dun stop trying if u able to hold on lor.. Anyway i sense u really have the die x2 all the way dont give up kind of aura! :) jiayou! Time is all u need....