Of course. I always prefer fruit to fruit juice, but that's if I have access to fresh fruit lah. My current office convenience stall only sell banana, but my mum say cannot eat the Philippines banana (Del Monte kind) cuz they are considered "liang".

Btw, I love the fruit seller uncle underneath Realty Centre opposite your office (in the duck rice kopitiam). The fruits there are cheap and fresh. I used to work in 79 Anson Road.
My mum always cut apples in the morning put in transparent plastic bag and I bring to office to eat .. So you can try that too .. After cutting the apple must raise with salt water so the apple wun turn brown ..

Sometimes, if I remember, I will bring banana to work, or small portions of salad if my hubby made extra salad for his lunch. :)

I just went to eat junk food at my colleague's desk! Super Ring! So unhealthy but feels so good! LOL.

my gosh !!! serious !!! half boiled egg niah ...i already kena scolding ...you both of you eat raw !!!

I still eat my half boiled eggs every week. I make myself so i know it's safe. ;)

Honestly speaking i don't really abstain from those forbidden food for all my pregnancies unless they are high risk ones such as fishes high in mercury or raw food bought from the streets etc.

so when u bf totally, ur menses will stop? First time mum here, my sis baby only less than 2 mths, can't ask her. haha her baby on total bf

Yes. After the lochia, your menses will not return as long as you're still breastfeeding. But of course it depends on individual hormones too. For me my menses returned only when my boy was almost 14 months old. I was still breastfeeding but a lot lesser compared to when he was an infant. :)

Yep, once body sensed lesser milk, menses will come... I pumped for 10 mths and I weaned off slowly, my menses is back...

Ohhh one thing nobody mentioned before, tbf will make your V very dry! Can be painful when you BD the first few times....

Reputable source...

I agree. My hair and skin were also dry. And my nails were brittle. I had to dilligently drink at least 8 cups of water a day to try to make it better. Else i would become constipated.

Sometimes, if I remember, I will bring banana to work, or small portions of salad if my hubby made extra salad for his lunch. :)

I just went to eat junk food at my colleague's desk! Super Ring! So unhealthy but feels so good! LOL.
Super ring very addictive got once I got addicted and eaten alot for weeks .. Eat until feel yucks then stop haahha

The regular confinement centers in taiwan provide a small room, meals and nursery for the baby. About 6k for one month- furniture looks dated, and cooped up in a "cell" all day. Staying home in my apartment was a much better choice and hiring my own taiwanese confinement nanny @ 3500 However there was one center that was 15k a month and it was like a 5 star hotel. Singapore's confinement nannies seem affordable in comparison. The cny rate I got was $3800. Any other moms who have hired?

My CL quote $4800 for CNY period. We neg with her though. She will leave a few days before CNY n I will have a shorter confinement.

Oops. Reliable source.. Ok lah. Once in a while... Hahaha :p

But not advisable mummies. Please don't follow my bad example..
Haha actually i still take sushi and sashimi. I think why they are saying is not good because if you seldom intake, it will be a risk for your stomach to get used to it.
otherwise should be OK.

for example, you take sushi/ sashimi very often.. like once a week (b4 pregnant) your body already used to the intake.
Just like in JAPAN, the healthiest food is Sushi

Nevertheless, still must control la haha

My CL quote $4800 for CNY period. We neg with her though. She will leave a few days before CNY n I will have a shorter confinement.

When is your edd? If your edd is earlier then can start confinement earlier, will not need to touch CNY period?

My first nanny will work till one week before cny followed by a 2nd one who will take over. I thought the 3.8k for cny period is rather high but comparing to 4.8k seems reasonable! Regular rates are $2.5k...I'm comfortable and happy w my first nanny, 2nd one to help me was a friend's recommendation so I hope it works out well. Fingers crossed!

Haha actually i still take sushi and sashimi. I think why they are saying is not good because if you seldom intake, it will be a risk for your stomach to get used to it.
otherwise should be OK.

for example, you take sushi/ sashimi very often.. like once a week (b4 pregnant) your body already used to the intake.
Just like in JAPAN, the healthiest food is Sushi

Nevertheless, still must control la haha

err not stomach upset leh it is parasites or bacteria that might be on raw fish that is worrying ... but then again ... i wonder do japanese woman really stop eating raw fish when they are pregnant :D so it is really up to individual

My first nanny will work till one week before cny followed by a 2nd one who will take over. I thought the 3.8k for cny period is rather high but comparing to 4.8k seems reasonable! Regular rates are $2.5k...I'm comfortable and happy w my first nanny, 2nd one to help me was a friend's recommendation so I hope it works out well. Fingers crossed!

wah confinement lady so exp these days :D regular rate 2.5K .. my gosh

err not stomach upset leh it is parasites or bacteria that might be on raw fish that is worrying ... but then again ... i wonder do japanese woman really stop eating raw fish when they are pregnant :D so it is really up to individual

wah confinement lady so exp these days :D regular rate 2.5K .. my gosh

4 yrs ago, mine only 1.8K... tsk tsk... no money and room to hire one this round so everything DIY

Plant derived DHA . Hi mommies, I remember reading that some of you are having trouble taking fish oils. I just realized that mine is plant - based so no fishy smell. I got this from my gynae though. Maybe you can check with your respective gynaes for alternatives. Attached a pic of the brand I'm currently taking. Have a good day!

• 1405559906259.jpg
    1405559906259.jpg
    59.1 KB · Views: 227
  • 1405560068227.jpg
    1405560068227.jpg
    43.7 KB · Views: 211
yawn, what a rainy morning......

confinement ladies getting more and more ex hor. my SIL hired one from Malaysia is around 2.5k that is 2 yrs ago.

mine cost me 2.1k in 2010 ...i am still thinking to get or not to get one :D

ask around if you could get help from anyone?

The first time actually I also wanted to do away with CL cuz I reckon I dun follow thye rules strictly... but my dear MIL has no experience in new born even though she super eng so no choice...the CL was actually meant for her... During that one month, I also showered my newborn a number of times... Though CL helped me with the poo and diaper changing and putting her to bed....

ask around if you could get help from anyone?

The first time actually I also wanted to do away with CL cuz I reckon I dun follow thye rules strictly... but my dear MIL has no experience in new born even though she super eng so no choice...the CL was actually meant for her... During that one month, I also showered my newborn a number of times... Though CL helped me with the poo and diaper changing and putting her to bed....
my 1st born already cant get help ..my mom old already that is why i ended getting one from agency :D hehehe i never shower my boy until after confinement and somehow i managed :D maybe since young i have been looking after my sibling and that helped built up my experience :D

thumbs up for doing confinement on your own :)

I am quite lucky that my mum is very experience with newborns. she help 1-2 aunties to do their confinement also.
My sis confinement was also done by her and the best thing is we get to stay at her house. hahaa

My own mother very experienced with newborn but she old liao and not very mobile... moreover I stay far away from here....

my MIL quit job want to take care of my first born but her own sons were being brought by nannys... she said she helped to look after her cousins when she was younger which is like 40-50 yrs back?! I told my DH I cant entrust her with newborn have to get a CL to teach her...

True enough she cant even handled the bathing of the newborn at that time (scare me big time)... i think I have more new born experience then her cuz I looked after my nieces and nephew when they were younger... Now MIL is more experienced so i reckon can do away with CL and let her and my DH handle the newborn...

Japanese women still eat sashimi and sushi when pregnant, but over there, there are proper food handling procedures for raw fish since it is such a big industry there, and the food remains fresh due to the high consumption and turnover rate.

It's different compared to Singapore because the fish needs to be flown here etc, so yeah. I would not risk it in Singapore.

I am quite lucky that my mum is very experience with newborns. she help 1-2 aunties to do their confinement also.
My sis confinement was also done by her and the best thing is we get to stay at her house. hahaa
u are lucky your mom not pantang ...by right daughter cannot go back mom house do confinement cos by mean of confinement means you are ' dirty " :D

My own mother very experienced with newborn but she old liao and not very mobile... moreover I stay far away from here....

my MIL quit job want to take care of my first born but her own sons were being brought by nannys... she said she helped to look after her cousins when she was younger which is like 40-50 yrs back?! I told my DH I cant entrust her with newborn have to get a CL to teach her...

True enough she cant even handled the bathing of the newborn at that time (scare me big time)... i think I have more new born experience then her cuz I looked after my nieces and nephew when they were younger... Now MIL is more experienced so i reckon can do away with CL and let her and my DH handle the newborn...
wah are you my "SIL" lolz .. your MIL story so like my MIL :D :D but i still dun trust her with my son cos i see the way she handle and buy toys for him ..l scare big time :D :D that is why i rather get a maid and confinement lady and let confinement train maid as well but that is a thought only :D still dun like having stranger stay in my house for 2 years :D :D and no spare room for her also

hiak hiak, my parents are not very patang with that. They welcome us to come back! hahahaha Heng ah

I don't want my MIL, her hygiene quite bad, I can't take it.... haha my sil son is under her care, the pampers already soak and super saggy, she din change also. and boy boy already 2 yrs old, still not toilet train...

hiak hiak, my parents are not very patang with that. They welcome us to come back! hahahaha Heng ah

I don't want my MIL, her hygiene quite bad, I can't take it.... haha my sil son is under her care, the pampers already soak and super saggy, she din change also. and boy boy already 2 yrs old, still not toilet train...
the boy school will insist toilet train wat ..can dun train meh

haven go school yet ma. haha
I think she train him halfway then give up.. I shake head... He pooed in his pamper also never tell us. wah piang.

I mean if at night sleeping ok la, but in the day time, should train right? But not my kid and I got no kid, can't say :p

haven go school yet ma. haha
I think she train him halfway then give up.. I shake head... He pooed in his pamper also never tell us. wah piang.

I mean if at night sleeping ok la, but in the day time, should train right? But not my kid and I got no kid, can't say :p

toilet train sometimes depends on the kid one... not solely on the caregiver... you will know when you have your child...

IMHO Panorama is similar to harmony test
http://www.panoramatest.com/
Panorama provides you information on:
  • T21
  • T18
  • T13
  • X, Y chromosome aneuploidies (monosomy X, XXX, XXY, XYY)
  • Sex identification (must be specifically requested)
  • Triploidy
  • Microdeletion screen that includes 22q11.2 deletion syndrome (DiGeorge Syndrome) and other microdeletions that combined are seen in 1 in 1,000 live births (must be ordered in addition to the Panorama test)
whilst Harmony provide information on
http://www.ariosadx.com/
  • Trisomy 21 is the most common trisomy at the time of birth. Also called Down Syndrome, it is associated with moderate to severe intellectual disabilities and may also lead to digestive disease and congenital heart defects and other malformations.
  • Trisomy 18 (Edward Syndrome) and Trisomy 13 (Patau Syndrome) are associated with a high rate of miscarriage. These babies are born with severe brain abnormalities and often have congenital heart defects as well as other birth defects. Most affected individuals die before or soon after birth and very few survive beyond the first year of life.
  • Turner Syndrome(only singletone pregnancies)
  • Fetal sex (only singletone pregnancies)
was told some clinic actually tied up with the USA clinic and can offer the test at cheaper price .. .i signed up for mine at $1.3K before GST and this is on top of the OSCAR screening which will be used to screen other normal defect
May i know which clinics you went to charge $1.3k only? which tied to US clinics?