(2014/11) Nov 2014 Mummies

Always drink cold drinks will affect the mummy or the baby anot ah?

I always get craving for cold drinks,but I keep it to fruit juice or greentea and nt carbonated drinks.

I drink quite a lot too.. But I take in as much water as well.. Cos afraid of too much sugar intake..

Moderation lo... My cousin drink Ribena cold throughout her pregnancy bb also like that...

Myths from old pple...

I drink quite a lot too.. But I take in as much water as well.. Cos afraid of too much sugar intake..

I also drink a lot... cold milk, cold fruit juice, gassy drinks occasionally. I even suck ice cubes a few times. Really too hot, like a walking furnace. My mum & mil tell me dun take cold drinks cos bb will be weak... but personally think everything in moderation should be fine.

Ya nor.. I think dun pantang too much... If not bb abit abit jiu cAnnot alrdy.. Best is just follow our taste buds.. As long take in moderation and it don't affect bb.. Then should be ok.. Lol. U always tell bb don't pantang...

I heard can't drink green tea as it also contains caffeine. I discovered that Korean barley tea has no caffeine so I have been drinking that. It is not a herb since barley is a grain so should be pregnancy safe.

Another tea I have been drinking is peppermint tea.

Quite amazingly I didn't really miss coffee.

I heard can't drink green tea as it also contains caffeine. I discovered that Korean barley tea has no caffeine so I have been drinking that. It is not a herb since barley is a grain so should be pregnancy safe.

Barley had been known not to take at all during pregnancy leh.. All my elderly says so. My tcm also like that say.. Green tea also avoid... I only drink lemon tea once in a while..

But I think everyone's body react differently.. :)

If I didn't recall wrongly, dr zou said we should not take solely dang gui soup. Some soup with 1-2 slices of dang gui is okay to consume as it's good for blood and not take in 1st trim. Too much of it is not good.
But I don't really dare to consume since there's fibroid and not sure if that would feed it with more nutrients and grow too big.

If I didn't recall wrongly, dr zou said we should not take solely dang gui soup. Some soup with 1-2 slices of dang gui is okay to consume as it's good for blood and not take in 1st trim. Too much of it is not good.
But I don't really dare to consume since there's fibroid and not sure if that would feed it with more nutrients and grow too big.

Thanks! I got conflicting opinions on dang gui... one side says cannot, one side says it's good... it's chicken soup with a bit dang gui, red dates, wolfberries, dried longans & dang shen.

Barley had been known not to take at all during pregnancy leh.. All my elderly says so. My tcm also like that say.. Green tea also avoid... I only drink lemon tea once in a while..

But I think everyone's body react differently.. :)
Oh but Korean barley is not the pearl barley water we commonly see. It's known as 大麦茶 not 薏米水。

Thanks! I got conflicting opinions on dang gui... one side says cannot, one side says it's good... it's chicken soup with a bit dang gui, red dates, wolfberries, dried longans & dang shen.

Ya I think just avoid dang gui safer lah and piece of mind. I crave for bak kut teh but most contain dang gui

All mummies here 2nd trimester already? How are you feeling? I am looking forward to my Week 15 scan appointment and also the appointment with Prof Ananda this week.

I would think yes! my edd is 30 Nov & I'm in second tri so I'd think everyone is, too! :) my upcoming scan is 16w... feels so long...

My ah lao said I look vy bloated today. Must be the chips I had last night n makes me water retention, hands off chips from now on... dun know y today super no mood n irritated..

You got notice any swollen feet? I think my feet is swollen... so fast will swell meh? I got skinny boney feet, now can't see bones at all.

Swollen feet now? Nope n I hope not. But too early to have swollen feet rite.. feedback to ur gynae If it persists

Oh. I love tt roasted barley Tea too,and had tot of replacing my coffee/tea addict with it. Smell abit like coffee one rite?
But I went to check online,it will affect lactation if u plan to breastfeed ah. So maybe shldnt drink too.

http://www.therighttea.com/barley-tea.html

Hi mummies, does anyone have sore and bleeding gums? I had it for a few days n is like it wont get better. Feel so worried now. Im not sure isxit i lack of vitamins?

Maybe u can try apply aloe vera instead of steriod cream... my gf bot me a big tube of aloe vera from herablife, whenever I feel itch or heat rash I apply it

Hi mummies, does anyone have sore and bleeding gums? I had it for a few days n is like it wont get better. Feel so worried now. Im not sure isxit i lack of vitamins?

i have bleeding gums and nose bleeding too.. it's normal.
during my 1st pregnancy also like that..

Any mummies here have eczema and how do U deal with it? So u still apply the steroid cream?
I used to have eczema, so the specialists told me to buy cetaphil to apply. shd be safe for pregnancy, coz its no fragrance etc. im using them now also. not sure if it contains steroids. I rem I applied steroids then this moisturizer. its really very good.

but I got the one from hospital, its for ultra dry skin. u can try. those watsons type is for dry skin only.

Wah the clinic assistant at Prof Ananda clinic really know how to make me kancheong. Initially I thought since my Oscar results are low risk I won't need to go for the 15th week scan with Prof Ananda even though I had made a tentative appointment. Now after talking to them I decided to go. The words they use are "You never know right... better be safe". I will be going for the scan this Friday....:D

On the contrary the clinic assistant told me why I want a genetic scan when my bb NT measurement is good. I told them better be safe than sorry lol

Hi mapleleafy did you visit SSR clinic at 14 - 15 weeks and you going for the 21 week scan at SSR clinic as well? They told me it's called the gold scan.

hm.. i occasionally haf flare ups den i use abit.. normally den i dun use...
I used to have eczema, so the specialists told me to buy cetaphil to apply. shd be safe for pregnancy, coz its no fragrance etc. im using them now also. not sure if it contains steroids. I rem I applied steroids then this moisturizer. its really very good.

but I got the one from hospital, its for ultra dry skin. u can try. those watsons type is for dry skin only.

Ok. I try. The affected part is only on the left elbow area. Sometime scratch until bleed ah. So I think very jialet Liao. Haiz

Any mummies here have eczema and how do U deal with it? So u still apply the steroid cream?
Eva, steroid creams are not pregnancy safe. Better to use preventive measures like bathe using a non-drying gel (Cetaphil, QV, Physiogel are safe and they are good enough) and keep yourself well moisturised. Kind of hard to imagine that it is a lack of moisture in humid SH that will cause flares, but applying these do help. For my no 1, my eczema hit me hard in my second tri.

usually how long is the scan? i'm scheduled to see Prof Ananda next Friday, but I only have 2 hours off, unable to take leave since my colleague already took leave.

Hi mapleleafy did you visit SSR clinic at 14 - 15 weeks and you going for the 21 week scan at SSR clinic as well? They told me it's called the gold scan.

Yep I saw him at 14w+, next will be detailed scan at 21w+. Haha why called gold scan? Now I'm wondering if Dr Ananda is accurate for gender cos I'm itching to buy bb clothes! Maybe you can tactfully ask on Friday how confirm is Dr Ananda? lol

usually how long is the scan? i'm scheduled to see Prof Ananda next Friday, but I only have 2 hours off, unable to take leave since my colleague already took leave.

2 hours will be enough depending on how long you need to travel from office to Camden. The scan is about 30 min.

Yep I saw him at 14w+, next will be detailed scan at 21w+. Haha why called gold scan? Now I'm wondering if Dr Ananda is accurate for gender cos I'm itching to buy bb clothes! Maybe you can tactfully ask on Friday how confirm is Dr Ananda? lol

Ya I will ask for sure although I don't plan to shop for bb stuff until end of trimester 2. Planning to buy stuff online as well and request from friends on hand me downs. Hope all goes well as I have taken two business trips since Week 11.

So are you pink team or blue team? ;)

Oh and do you know how much is the week 21 scan? Will you also go for the Thomson detailed Week 20 scan?