(2014/05) May 2014

Potatochips, i also got "gender depression" with my#1... My gynae thot it was a boy very early on before the oscar scan. Apparently i learnt its not accurate! Anyhow hb expressed that it will be good to be boy so I was quite upset to learn its a girl. When I had my #2, i was more well prepared. Mentally i told myself no matter girl or boy, i will be happy as long as healthy cos i took 2 yrs to get him/her. Turns out to be a girl too! Hb was of cos more conscious not to stir any gender depression in me... So babe, cheer up! Its not easy to overcome this gender depression thing cos for me at least i feel being chinese brings on the stress! *shucks!*

On a brighter note, girls got more things to buy like clips, dresses... Pattern more! Look at cny clothes n u know what i mean! Hb recently commented- chiong sum pattern is like 2 racks full but for boy only one design?!!! Lolz. PM me if u need someone to talk to. :)

Snowymum, i'm having gender depression now too... #1 was a girl when i did not pin any hopes of girl or boy so when gynae told me it's a girl, i was like, ''ohhh so it's a girl''. Now, i'm pregnant at 6w 4d. It's a mixed feelings for this pregnancy. Over the moon because we tried for a year & like a finally i'm pregnant with #2. Stressed because i do not know if it's a baby girl or boy. Having said so, baby health is more important than anything else but still i guessed i could not cope with a disappointment if it's a girl again. :(

Updated!!! :p

Nick | Birth Order | EDD | Gynae | Gender | Hospital | Baby Name
\ little lamb | 2 | 3-May-14 | Dr Lee I Wuen | Boy | Raffles Hospital |
\ cherieyippie | 1 | 5-May-14 | Dr Su Lin Lin | Boy | NUH |
\ rainbowzstarz | 2 | 7-May-14 | Dr Henry Cheng | Boy | Mt A | Kayden
\ snowymum | 3 | 9-May-14 | Dr Paul Tseng | Boy | TMC |
\ ruimom | 2 | 15-May-14 | Dr Lawrence Ang | Boy | TMC |
\ autumnleaf | 3 | 15-May-14 | Dr Lawrence Ang | Boy | TMC |
\ cookiefleur | 2 | 18-May-14 | Dr Caroline Khi | Girl | TMC |
\ Disneybabe | 2 | 21-May-14 | Dr WH Kee | Boy | Mt A |
\ magdal | 1 | 22-May-14 | Dr Heng Tung Lan | Girl (TBC) | |
\ FFT | 1 | 22-May-14 | Dr Kenneth Edward Lee | Boy | Mt A |
\ potato chips | 1 | 23-May-14 | Dr Adrain Woodworth | Boy | Mt A |
\ clumsybabe | 2 | 27-May-14 | Dr Kenneth Edward Lee | Girl | Mt A |
\ Babe Me | 1 | 21-Jun-14 | Dr Phua Soo Mear | Unknown | |

Virgo|1|31-May-14|Dr.Biswash|Boy|NUH

Potatoe Chips,

Why? Is someone in the family stressing u?

Children are God's gift afterall and grass is always greener on the other side. For me, i was hoping for a ger cos i think i will go crazy with my shopping if i do. The things for gers are so pretty and cute. The clothes, the toys..etc. And gers tend to be more fillial to their mummies lor (oops. i think i will offend any guys reading this).

Think positive ba since this is ur first child=). Think of parents who have been trying hard to concieve. Wont they wan to be in ur position?

Snowymum, i'm having gender depression now too... #1 was a girl when i did not pin any hopes of girl or boy so when gynae told me it's a girl, i was like, ''ohhh so it's a girl''. Now, i'm pregnant at 6w 4d. It's a mixed feelings for this pregnancy. Over the moon because we tried for a year & like a finally i'm pregnant with #2. Stressed because i do not know if it's a baby girl or boy. Having said so, baby health is more important than anything else but still i guessed i could not cope with a disappointment if it's a girl again. :(
most impt is baby is healthy!!!

Hi gal i manage to manage my feelings for my second pregnancy. What i did was to Decide in my heart that the fetus was a girl even before gender scans. Without expectation of a boy, i felt more calm and less upset when the gynae scanned n printed this ultrasound photo (way before the detailed scan) which said "i am a girl" with a pointer to the "lines" there. Truth b told, I was still a lil disappointed la but not to the extend of being depressed like my first round.

Before the 2nd pregnancy, i did tell hb abt how depressed i was when my #1 turned out to be a gal. And i told him it was bcos he said "a boy will be good" (see all his fault!). So for #2 before n aft gender reveal, he kept telling me is ok cos he loves girls v much and he didnt know that girls would be so sweet & cute like my #1. So i had a v happy 2nd preg despite the gender...

Try to adjust your feelings a lil since gender is not known yet. It is difficult i know cos i have been there but gotta try ok? *hugs*

Neat idea for party activity! And relatively inexpensive too! I booked Hog's Breath last time for my girl's 1st birthday. They set up a separate play area for the kids, except a lot of kids fell sick just prior and it turned out to be more of an old friends' gathering. Hahahaha...

Super TGIF mood. Started looking at places for baby full-month. Since I've been feeling so sian for unknown reasons, trying to get myself more involved. :p

Yup all the materials including the thread and the hp chain connection + the agent fee + all shipping cost me $20-30... Cool right?

A few of my mummy friends ask me to sell them the leftover beads lor... But i also wan them leh... Hahah

I wanted to deliver at mt A this time too but as I am going for ligation and they don't perform such operation there so only left with TMC for my gynae :(

most impt is baby is healthy!!!

One of my
Potatochips, i also got "gender depression" with my#1... My gynae thot it was a boy very early on before the oscar scan. Apparently i learnt its not accurate! Anyhow hb expressed that it will be good to be boy so I was quite upset to learn its a girl. When I had my #2, i was more well prepared. Mentally i told myself no matter girl or boy, i will be happy as long as healthy cos i took 2 yrs to get him/her. Turns out to be a girl too! Hb was of cos more conscious not to stir any gender depression in me... So babe, cheer up! Its not easy to overcome this gender depression thing cos for me at least i feel being chinese brings on the stress! *shucks!*

On a brighter note, girls got more things to buy like clips, dresses... Pattern more! Look at cny clothes n u know what i mean! Hb recently commented- chiong sum pattern is like 2 racks full but for boy only one design?!!! Lolz. PM me if u need someone to talk to. :)

One of my personal friend wanted a girl so much for her #2 that she cried upon knowing the gender (another boy) and cried throughout her pregnancy... But when the baby was born, he was the most beautiful boy. And even till now, she can't stop taking cute pictures of him EVERYDAY. :) Cheer up! Most importantly is a healthy baby!

Haha i would love to stay in china for all the goodies i can buy from tao bao!!! Keke! Bought quite a fair bit of stuff fr the site thru agent...
Aiyoh, I know what you mean. If i ever have to leave china, other than my dear friends here, I'd miss taobao the most!!!

Haha i was bf-ing my #2 who is born in jan 13... We were not actively trying either... When my bm ss took a sharp nose drive i thot it was cos i sick... But actually is cos i was pregnant... I tested 3x in september over a span of 3-4 wks and all negative (one of the test was done at raffles med where i was there for a health chk up).

So land up for the first 18 wks i was doing things preggy mummies wont do - like eat sashimi, drink beer (lucky i am not a regular drinker), took flu vaccine, did x-ray, "ran" 7km marathon. I only found out when i saw a GP for my headache - he told me to test again and the kit came up with 2 VERY dark lines... The feeling was incredulous...
Steady lah you! But yes, BF-ing is not the best contraception.

SG IP address gets re-directed to TB Southeast Asia.
CN IP address access the original TB website. TB China got even more stuff, with all sorts of rankings etc. Sometimes filter until get eyestrain.

Generally I note that (at least for the items I source) TB SEA has better quality stuff, so I guess it has been pre-filtered in a way.

Hahahaha... TB sells almost everything
Yes yes, I agree. When I'm back in Singapore and I access taobao, they don't have much offerings than China. Also another thing is my streaming of my tv shows. Singapore pps cannot watch HK drama. Here can. This is one other thing I will miss terribly if I ever move. If desperate enough, I'll try to get a VPN to switch to China IP address. LOL.

Oh! I didnt know that thou! Its a good thing thou we might miss out the really cool deals. Nowadays i read the reviews closely before ordering and the descriptions (like they will say 小瑕疵 or stains), I will avoid buying no matter how supper cheap they are.

I bought these really pretty alphabet beads for my gal's recent 1st birthday bash as activity for the older kids. Wah seh instant hit! Even the adults could not resist making a few...
View attachment 186852
Not just reading reviews. You have to be very cautious about the pictures they post, especially for those label clothings. Sometimes the picture is from magazine but actual product is not. They have terms like 原单,尾单,正品. Have to differentiate.

hw does u all feel in ur tummy nw? nowadys i feel lik my tummy wil 'squeeze' tgth lik tt. lik will pull tgth inside the muscle. centre of the tummy, above naval

My tummy quite high up so I feel like it's pushing up against my chest. My chest feels tight and uncomfortable. I really never gain much weight. Only 2kg so far. Hope this week gynae check everything will be fine.

Neat idea for party activity! And relatively inexpensive too! I booked Hog's Breath last time for my girl's 1st birthday. They set up a separate play area for the kids, except a lot of kids fell sick just prior and it turned out to be more of an old friends' gathering. Hahahaha...

Super TGIF mood. Started looking at places for baby full-month. Since I've been feeling so sian for unknown reasons, trying to get myself more involved. :p
Full month??!! I'm still trying to prepare for birth of baby like clothes etc.

I'm a new member to this thread joining the May 2014 MTB.
Here's my details:
EDD: 25th May 2014, 2nd pregnancy, gynae: Tony Tan Yew Teck, hospital: Raffles Hospital, It's a boy! :)

Nice to see someone delivering at Raffles too. I've gained only 2kg so far!!!

I heard the service there is really good and it is slightly cheaper then TMC and maybe even Kkh! But yes, due to being a catholic hospital, no ligation procedures.... And coz this is my 3rd.... Seriously gotta close shop.

I have the same experience like you! discovered it when i was almost 12 weeks, i was still breastfeeding when the baby was conceived, tested first tim and it's negative. I ate sashimi, did dental x-ray, drank sangria (alcohol), was still wearing my bengkung, went for body massage and the masseur sort of sitting on top of my body!

^5 on that. I totally missed my oscar screening. Actually i was wearing tummy clincher undies cos i thought how come i was putting on weight at the tummy area... Wore it for quite sometime until there was one night I was lying down wearing the tummy clincher undie and i felt flutters... Aft that somehow intuition told me to stop wearing.

haha we have the same gynae and same age tis yr! :)

wat is cvs?

so far henry nvr tell me abt standing by...i oct then 35 so is aft giv birth.he was quite glad.

i eat alot of sweet thgs so i scare also. hope be ok

"Chou yang shui" test for Down syndrome .. :)

Ya his concern was cos I passed 35 by 1 month... Lolz

That stand by is the nurse say one she say see if dr want me to go for it.. Hopefully no need

I didnt do for no 1... Did for no 2 (regret leh cos my boobs lao lao alr)... So wonder if should do those family maternity type for no 3...

Think of this way, every preg is different while there are imperfections but at least it's a wonderful memory cos u bf! ;)

So far have u located ur preferred photographers?

Think of this way, every preg is different while there are imperfections but at least it's a wonderful memory cos u bf! ;)

So far have u located ur preferred photographers?

Well actually thats what boobies are for mah... This round i din feed so long cos ss dipped too much.

No leh i havent located the photographers. Actually i have a "package" at Picture Me suntec. That one is those graduation photo studio type. Thot maybe to jus use it up. When no 3 comes then i look for another photographer do those outdoor type.

U all planning to take newborn shoot?

My gynae's one is a diabetes test kit only got 2 box which means doesnt test for proterins...
ImageUploadedByForum1390011766.152585.jpg

I can understand how u feel. My hubby is eldest son eldest grandson. I feel I have the responsibility to give the family a boy eventually. No I not being pressured by the family it's more of my own pressure.

When I conceive w no 1 n it's a girl we are ok. When gynae say it's another little princess I can't help feeling a bit sad but think positively we can reuse :)

I can understand how u feel. My hubby is eldest son eldest grandson. I feel I have the responsibility to give the family a boy eventually. No I not being pressured by the family it's more of my own pressure.

When I conceive w no 1 n it's a girl we are ok. When gynae say it's another little princess I can't help feeling a bit sad but think positively we can reuse :)

Tlaiyin, yah sometimes its our own pressure. Somesort of like unspoken thing in us. Let's jia you together and be happy pregnant mummies! ;)

I understand too! Though I have both boy and girl, I was hoping for a girl for my third for practicality wise and being my 1st born boy will be 9 yrs gap. Was a bit in denial and hoping detail scan will prove wrong, but end of the day I happy to have a healthy baby that is easy to care for.

Actually i heard from mummies who have boy first borns that their subsequent borns who are girls are so much easier to take care...
Yes, at least I do find that to be true in my family. My 2nd child (girl) was an easy baby to care for and as a preschooler, she is definitely easier than what my 1st (boy) was, when he was he age. Maybe that's what is making me scared of having another boy :p

That's the pressure that I'm having at first. My hubby is also the eldest son n eldest grandson. Anyway, a healthy bb is more important than everything now.

Yes yes, I agree. When I'm back in Singapore and I access taobao, they don't have much offerings than China. Also another thing is my streaming of my tv shows. Singapore pps cannot watch HK drama. Here can. This is one other thing I will miss terribly if I ever move. If desperate enough, I'll try to get a VPN to switch to China IP address. LOL.

Yah lor... I was doing nights and weekends of Korean drama serials. Cheong to watch as many as I possibly could! Hahahahaha....

Mmmm.... baby clothes okay for me. Recycle where possible, even if it means wearing girls' stuff at home for the 1st couple months. :p But I guess I should start booking post-natal massage liao. I still have the contact from my previous one but I'll probably check with my cousin for hers.

I like trying new makan places, so sourcing for places to do full-month makes me happy :)

Well actually thats what boobies are for mah... This round i din feed so long cos ss dipped too much.

No leh i havent located the photographers. Actually i have a "package" at Picture Me suntec. That one is those graduation photo studio type. Thot maybe to jus use it up. When no 3 comes then i look for another photographer do those outdoor type.

U all planning to take newborn shoot?

Hehehehe.... I also have some form of family pic package at Picture Me. I usually go to them for profile photo. That time got promo so I bought as well. I guess will have to reserve till later on for next family photo.

You also bought? I only rem it was ok price so jus "wack". I went there to get my ic photo taken... The lady told me no expiry... Haha so btr go in case they close down... Keke!

Saw gynae liao... I gained 1.8 kg in 4 wks. Nurse told me max shld be 2kg and not more than that.

Bb at 24 wks is 650grms estimated... ;) managed to get a face capture of bb L's face...

Now I worry my bb small size.. 20 weeks only 300 grams.... :((((

I'm still coughing n it seem to get bad!

I'm still trying on honey drink and I tried to take it neat.

Shd I go TCM?

Now I worry my bb small size.. 20 weeks only 300 grams.... :((((

Hi gal 20 wks 300 grams is correct ave size. Dont worry. Fetus balloons at the last trim - puts on most weight. In the beginning, more resource is placed in developing the impt organs (like brain, heart, kidneys, etc) and the development of forms (such as fingers, toes, etc). Weight is only put on at the last few months.

If yr baby is not growing well, yr gynae will tell u. Dont fret and jus eat what yr body tells u to. ;)

done w my checkup. next mth nd do glucose test for diabetes. doc wans to b sure i hav no diabetes, baby big jus lik her jiejie.
he's alrdy 830gm at 24wks

Wah, rainbowzstarz - yrs big leh! Mine only ~650 grams at 24 wks n urs is 830! Jie jie was born what size?

My #1 was 2.65 and #2 was 3.05... Hope no 3 is abt 3kg too...

haha i gained 1.7kg in all,of it 430g is baby gain.
I also only gained 2kg so far leh ... But anyway ... my experience is last trimester I will gain most of it. My #1 was small, only about 2.9kg. So am not expecting too big for this one also. Been feeling this nagging pain at my left ribcage below. Don't know if it's something pressing on it.

2kg in ur whole pregnancy? tts nice. so u.nvr put om weight jus bb gaining.
me n my hubby is tall n im big bone type. my #1 was 3.75. so expectg boy to be beyond

I also only gained 2kg so far leh ... But anyway ... my experience is last trimester I will gain most of it. My #1 was small, only about 2.9kg. So am not expecting too big for this one also. Been feeling this nagging pain at my left ribcage below. Don't know if it's something pressing on it.
oh ya abt ribcage. wen i giv birth my #1 i dun hav the normal tummy pain ..contractions lik norm mummies. mine is my back bones pain. whr our bra is bcos of my gal position. hope tis round i can feel the norm lik most mummies

Wah, rainbowzstarz - yrs big leh! Mine only ~650 grams at 24 wks n urs is 830! Jie jie was born what size?

My #1 was 2.65 and #2 was 3.05... Hope no 3 is abt 3kg too...
ya gna be bigger than jiejie who was 3.75 kg.dr expecting that. mayb taller than jiejie too? jiejie was 52 or 53cm at birth.