(2014/05) May 2014

From what I knew, there are 2 main contributing factors, Age and your regular blood test.

I will be 35 coming this april and ddd May, so gyane put me on standby once if my blood test shows some abnormality then he will want me to go for that test to test for Gestational Diab. Cos according to him, once we crossed 35 years everything is vulnerable and higher risk.... (I hate injection hence... was quite upset.... as I was told to do the CVS too..)

Anyway it going to be finger tip poked kind so I think should be ok. =D

I am suspecting her glucose test is the orange glucose drink which really sucks!!!

I have to do it too. Next week, not looking forward. Heard it's horrible drinking that sweet drink. :( In shanghai, it's compulsory, regardless of age and weight gain. So no choice.

Oh you are in shanghai! Yah i heard in china they pre natal screenings are v diff from sg. The drink is not v pleasing i heard... Lucky for me i didnt need to go thru it.

Hi mommies, any of u need to do the glucose test? Sigh I'm asked to do :*

Hi stinzy, I had gestational diabetes (GD) for my first pregnancy so I will be going through the test again for this preg too... Not looking forward to the super sweet orange drink! *yucky* when will you be doing yours? Mine will be at 28 weeks, so around end Feb.

FYI, I am currently sourcing for 1 too... was in a same dilemma as u if I shd even go for 2nd shoot but I think we should cos every child is different!!! =P

I didnt do for no 1... Did for no 2 (regret leh cos my boobs lao lao alr)... So wonder if should do those family maternity type for no 3...

M gynae mentioned it is not unusual not to feel baby movement yet at around 20 weeks but around 21 weeks I started to feel she is rotating as obviously what she likes to do as gynae spotted during the detailed scan. The feeling is like something bouncing and only later stage will u see more obvious kicks or punch or etc... =P

Hmmm i first felt "flutters" at ard wk 16-18. It was not frequent n only notice it while lying on the bed. (I told hb who said i was having gas in tummy). Btw i only discovered this pregnancy at wk 18...

In recent days the movements are quite frequent... Not normal uh? Nvm tmr i ask gynae... Finally seeing bb! Yippeeee

Updated! :)

Nick | Birth Order | EDD | Gynae | Gender | Hospital | Baby Name
\ little lamb | 2 | 3-May-14 | Dr Lee I Wuen | Boy | Raffles Hospital |
\ cherieyippie | 1 | 5-May-14 | Dr Su Lin Lin | Boy | NUH |
\ rainbowzstarz | 2 | 7-May-14 | Dr Henry Cheng | Boy | Mt A | Kayden
\ snowymum | 3 | 9-May-14 | Dr Paul Tseng | Boy | TMC |
\ ruimom | 2 | 15-May-14 | Dr Lawrence Ang | Boy | TMC |
\ autumnleaf | 3 | 15-May-14 | Dr Lawrence Ang | Boy | TMC |
\ cookiefleur | 2 | 18-May-14 | Dr Caroline Khi | Girl | TMC |
\ Disneybabe | 2 | 21-May-14 | Dr WH Kee | Boy | Mt A |
\ magdal | 1 | 22-May-14 | Dr Heng Tung Lan | Girl (TBC) | |
\ FFT | 1 | 22-May-14 | Dr Kenneth Edward Lee | Boy | Mt A |
\ potato chips | 1 | 23-May-14 | Dr Adrain Woodworth | Boy | Mt A |
\ tlaiyin | 2 | 25-May-14 | Dr Henry Cheng | Girl | Mt A | Olivia Tan
\ clumsybabe | 2 | 27-May-14 | Dr Kenneth Edward Lee | Girl | Mt A |
\ Babe Me | 1 | 21-Jun-14 | Dr Phua Soo Mear | Unknown | |

Me too suffering from the worst terrible cough I ever had in my whole lifetime.. =( coughed till vomit n pee kind.. =( been on medication n anti for nearly 2 weeks. I finished the anti but the cough syrup which I am taking tog w my toddler (Abrilar) make me cough even more. So eventually I give up drinking the syrup n replaced with warm manuka honey drink at night before sleep. eventually the cough go off but on off will recur! =*(

Anyone has better remedy to share?

Hi little lamb and tlaiyin, Manuka honey is really good for minor colds and cough! Try to take it neat instead of dissolving in warm water. For adults, a teaspoon a day is good enough and remember to use a plastic or wooden spoon. Definitely no metal spoon. My 3 yr old take a quarter teaspoon every morning - it helps to build up immunity too. Some additional info: Manuka honey that is more than +15 is not real Manuka honey. The max natural Manuka honey can only be +15, so that is the best. If anyone wants more info, please feel free to pm me! I am not selling anything, just very interested in this and because it has helped me and my family! Recently, my parents went to New Zealand and they brought back a whole carton of Manuka honey to give out as Christmas presents! Hahaha...

I am thinking of going for family shoot when #2 is around 6-9 months instead of maternity shoot. Didn't do any shoot for #1 cos we saved up for a holiday in Australia for 2 weeks instead! Anyone got good and professional studio to recommend?

My last maternity shot was by studio loft but their rates have gone out of proportion... Pricey!!! These are the photos i took fr the studio ("arty" ones are not posted la - http://snowiesnowiegal.blogspot.sg/2013/06/the-long-overdue-photo-shoot-post.html?m=1)

I am now thinking of other photographers. Might do an outdoor one. ;)

Manuka honey - really cheap in NZ. I went in 08 and the same brands that are sold her are almost twice the cost!

Yup must use wooden / plastic spoons to reap the max benefits. Metal spoon will react w the honey!

ImageUploadedByForum1389926204.678587.jpg

My current favie... once start cannot stop. This is my 2nd tub...

Snowymum: great pics from studio loft! They are really very nice and natural looking. I am looking for studio instead of outdoor cos me and family perspire so easily in the sun/heat.

Are those pineapple tarts? Me love the pillow shape ones too! But trying to control ESP since GD test is coming up soon!!!

Dun eat so much pineapple tarts! Fattening and sweet.

At what weeks are u all asked to perform the GD tests? For every gynae visits, i was asked to go for urine test with a litmus paper kind to dip in the urine. I think clumsy babe will know wat i meant since we are seeing the same gyane.

Dun eat so much pineapple tarts! Fattening and sweet.

At what weeks are u all asked to perform the GD tests? For every gynae visits, i was asked to go for urine test with a litmus paper kind to dip in the urine. I think clumsy babe will know wat i meant since we are seeing the same gyane.

FTT, yup... The last one tub was more than a wk ago. Hb always cut sugar. So like my cuppa if too sweet will be half drank by me....

My gynae nurse will also ask me to do urine test every visit. They say pee on the stick can already. ;) the further test - syrup one or blood depends on doctor. My gynae din even make me do blood glucose when I had slight sugar readings on the pee stick... Syrup one is unless your gynae suspects u have GD or is in high risk of getting it.

FFT, I will be going when 28 weeks for GD test. Same I also have the 'litmus' urine test for every visit. That one is for some protein level I think.

Snowymum: great pics from studio loft! They are really very nice and natural looking. I am looking for studio instead of outdoor cos me and family perspire so easily in the sun/heat.

Are those pineapple tarts? Me love the pillow shape ones too! But trying to control ESP since GD test is coming up soon!!!

Cookiefleur, thanks. Studio loft does mostly studio and gotta top up extra to do outdoor. The photos are taken by myranne- the boss of the studio. My hb also perspire alot. My outdoor will most prob be airport or some covered aircon "outdoor".

YES! Pineapple tarts! Was never a fan of theh tarts but this pregnancy is hmmm making me crave for it... I try to control by making pple ard me eat them. Haha then finish fast - i wont be hogging the whole tub. Idea boh?

cookie
(a) u also have strong cravings for sweet stuffs arh? Could it be because of these dat's why your weight gone up?
(b) The limus is for glucose

snowy, lolz. No wonder ppl say husband grow FAT when their wives are preggy. Now i know why liao. lolz.

Can eat pineapple tarts (cooked pineapple) but not raw ones.. Anyways, just try to watch the sugar intake :p

I asked mil too. Then she told me cooked already la... Cold also all gone. Then she says more like heaty and i should drink more water. Then she tells me she eats the raw ones almost weekly when she was preggy... :/

cookie
(a) u also have strong cravings for sweet stuffs arh? Could it be because of these dat's why your weight gone up?
(b) The limus is for glucose

snowy, lolz. No wonder ppl say husband grow FAT when their wives are preggy. Now i know why liao. lolz.

Haha FFT, yah... That day told hb i not full after grilled chicken fr Aston. So decided to buy the xxl chicken to share. I ate one feed hb one. Then hb say shld be i eat 2x then feed him once. I told him no wat we share. He says the rate he shares my food he will get fat... Hahah.

The "unfortunate" victims of my pineapple tart cravings are my colleagues! I will open the tub and offer my whole team... *evil giggle*

FFT, I will be going when 28 weeks for GD test. Same I also have the 'litmus' urine test for every visit. That one is for some protein level I think.

There are 2 or 3 squares on the litmus right? I know it test for protein n glucose in the urine.

Oh you are in shanghai! Yah i heard in china they pre natal screenings are v diff from sg. The drink is not v pleasing i heard... Lucky for me i didnt need to go thru it.
Yes, we have spent 7 years here already. But going back to Singapore to deliver.

Hmmm i first felt "flutters" at ard wk 16-18. It was not frequent n only notice it while lying on the bed. (I told hb who said i was having gas in tummy). Btw i only discovered this pregnancy at wk 18...

In recent days the movements are quite frequent... Not normal uh? Nvm tmr i ask gynae... Finally seeing bb! Yippeeee
Wow, discovered at week 18? Too busy to realize?

FFT, cos diabetes runs in my family. So doc said better to test when I was preg with #1. In the end, confirm got GD. Sigh, every day every few hours need to puncture my finger and test blood and write diary of the readings to show doc. Haha... After giving birth, have to test again and was not diabetic. So doc say since got history must check if this preg also got GD...

My last maternity shot was by studio loft but their rates have gone out of proportion... Pricey!!! These are the photos i took fr the studio ("arty" ones are not posted la - http://snowiesnowiegal.blogspot.sg/2013/06/the-long-overdue-photo-shoot-post.html?m=1)

I am now thinking of other photographers. Might do an outdoor one. ;)
Such a coincidence, just today I was also thinking of doing outdoor family shoot for us too. I also didn't do maternity shots with #1 coz' that time tummy didn't show a lot so not very nice. When I was 37 weeks I still looked like I was 30 weeks lor.

Hi little lamb and tlaiyin, Manuka honey is really good for minor colds and cough! Try to take it neat instead of dissolving in warm water. For adults, a teaspoon a day is good enough and remember to use a plastic or wooden spoon. Definitely no metal spoon. My 3 yr old take a quarter teaspoon every morning - it helps to build up immunity too. Some additional info: Manuka honey that is more than +15 is not real Manuka honey. The max natural Manuka honey can only be +15, so that is the best. If anyone wants more info, please feel free to pm me! I am not selling anything, just very interested in this and because it has helped me and my family! Recently, my parents went to New Zealand and they brought back a whole carton of Manuka honey to give out as Christmas presents! Hahaha...
Yes yes, I also take manuka when I have the slightest hint of not feeling well. But the one I have is unpasteurized, so I try not to take it too often.

Aiyoh ... I've been eating a lot of pineapple tarts too leh! How ah???? Scared fail GD test also.

FFT, cos diabetes runs in my family. So doc said better to test when I was preg with #1. In the end, confirm got GD. Sigh, every day every few hours need to puncture my finger and test blood and write diary of the readings to show doc. Haha... After giving birth, have to test again and was not diabetic. So doc say since got history must check if this preg also got GD...

oh dear, control ur sugar cravings!! (although i know it is not ez)

i have family history of diabetics too. >_<

On the contrary, I don't have any cravings this time round leh. Dunno is it because I had a slight phobia of food safety when I was in China, that food doesn't quite appeal to me this time round. I asked hubby to buy my fave pineapple tarts, took a few but now like sian liao. Everything looks very sian to me.

I'm a new member to this thread joining the May 2014 MTB.
Here's my details:
EDD: 25th May 2014, 2nd pregnancy, gynae: Tony Tan Yew Teck, hospital: Raffles Hospital, It's a boy! :)

my 2nd pregnancy experience is so different from my 1st one, even they're both baby boy!
In term of cravings, appearance, morning sickness, etc..

Diet wise i'm trying to cut a lot of carbos, and try to take more protein and veggies also fruits!
I have gained 8 kgs so far! I'm currently in 21 weeks + 5 days.
I gained 22 kgs in total in my 1st pregnancy! I hope i consume enough nutrients just for my baby but not overweights, not because of appearance concerns but for health concerns.

I'm writing blog since my first maternity on some beauty tips and other motherhood related tips as per my experience and what i think worked for me.
you may follow me at http://beautyababy.blogspot.sg/

As per one of the posts, i did write about bengkung/post natal girdle that i used after maternity and it managed to keep my belly smaller than before pregnancy, let me know if any mommies interested :)
http://beautyababy.blogspot.sg/?view=sidebar#!/2013/03/postnatal-tummy-care.html
Motherhood forum listing:
http://singaporemotherhood.com/foru...-post-natal-girdle-for-sale-sgd20-each.67300/

Devina

Hi stinzy, I had gestational diabetes (GD) for my first pregnancy so I will be going through the test again for this preg too... Not looking forward to the super sweet orange drink! *yucky* when will you be doing yours? Mine will be at 28 weeks, so around end Feb.

Mine is on the 13th Feb. At tmc. . Sigh. . I din go through that during my 1st pregnancy, wonder why do I need to go through that :(

Aiyoh ... I've been eating a lot of pineapple tarts too leh! How ah???? Scared fail GD test also.

Not sure if we are too late to change eating habits but after I was diagnosed with GD, I really have to watch my carbo intake! And also have to control not just sweet stuff but salty tidbits also cannot take. I was so miserable.

For me this time round, it is a bit of the "sigh, if have then just have to manage lor" attitude. But the first pregnancy I was quite devastated with the news of my GD and was so worried if I will continue to have diabetes even after giving birth since it runs in my family...

Mine is on the 13th Feb. At tmc. . Sigh. . I din go through that during my 1st pregnancy, wonder why do I need to go through that :(

stinzy, your gynae never advise why need to go through? Is it cos of the the past few urine test results? I know of some gynae who make all patients go through the glucose tolerance test cos GD is getting more and more common.

I think so. Oh..it tests for protein oso arh? I din know. Had tot is test for glucose only.

Yup i think so... Depends on how many squares there are on the stick... ;p i shall take a good look at the stick tmr. Each square test for something in the urine...

Wow, discovered at week 18? Too busy to realize?

Haha i was bf-ing my #2 who is born in jan 13... We were not actively trying either... When my bm ss took a sharp nose drive i thot it was cos i sick... But actually is cos i was pregnant... I tested 3x in september over a span of 3-4 wks and all negative (one of the test was done at raffles med where i was there for a health chk up).

So land up for the first 18 wks i was doing things preggy mummies wont do - like eat sashimi, drink beer (lucky i am not a regular drinker), took flu vaccine, did x-ray, "ran" 7km marathon. I only found out when i saw a GP for my headache - he told me to test again and the kit came up with 2 VERY dark lines... The feeling was incredulous...

Welcome!

I'm a new member to this thread joining the May 2014 MTB.
Here's my details:
EDD: 25th May 2014, 2nd pregnancy, gynae: Tony Tan Yew Teck, hospital: Raffles Hospital, It's a boy! :)

my 2nd pregnancy experience is so different from my 1st one, even they're both baby boy!
In term of cravings, appearance, morning sickness, etc..

Diet wise i'm trying to cut a lot of carbos, and try to take more protein and veggies also fruits!
I have gained 8 kgs so far! I'm currently in 21 weeks + 5 days.
I gained 22 kgs in total in my 1st pregnancy! I hope i consume enough nutrients just for my baby but not overweights, not because of appearance concerns but for health concerns.

I'm writing blog since my first maternity on some beauty tips and other motherhood related tips as per my experience and what i think worked for me.
you may follow me at http://beautyababy.blogspot.sg/

As per one of the posts, i did write about bengkung/post natal girdle that i used after maternity and it managed to keep my belly smaller than before pregnancy, let me know if any mommies interested :)
http://beautyababy.blogspot.sg/?view=sidebar#!/2013/03/postnatal-tummy-care.html
Motherhood forum listing:
http://singaporemotherhood.com/foru...-post-natal-girdle-for-sale-sgd20-each.67300/

Devina

Not sure if we are too late to change eating habits but after I was diagnosed with GD, I really have to watch my carbo intake! And also have to control not just sweet stuff but salty tidbits also cannot take. I was so miserable.

For me this time round, it is a bit of the "sigh, if have then just have to manage lor" attitude. But the first pregnancy I was quite devastated with the news of my GD and was so worried if I will continue to have diabetes even after giving birth since it runs in my family...

I have been consciously taking less sugar for drinks. Can drinks are shared with hubby. Avoiding cakes chocolates etc. this pineapple tarts really spoil my market.

The reason was because after my first pregnancy i started to have chronic yeast infection. It was just like there all the time. Cutting all sugar didnt help so i jus take lesser sugar to see if it will help. Am praying it does not hit me again aft this 3rd pregnancy...

And my grandma has diabetes... So i have always been conscious abt sugar intake.

My Gynae still couldnt confirm the sex of my baby.
Could it be a girl? My gynae told me to go for 2nd detailed scan to find out the sex.
I really hope my #1 is a boy ... Although I've no preference in boy or girl.
Knowing that most of my friends are having a boy, i'm feeling quite upset now.

Keep your hopes... everything is not confirm if there is no confirmation from gynae. Maybe your baby is really shy. Don't feel upset afterall it's your #1. Keep the faith strong ok! :)

Haha i would love to stay in china for all the goodies i can buy from tao bao!!! Keke! Bought quite a fair bit of stuff fr the site thru agent...

Hahahaha... I know what you mean. But TB has so many freaking things, especially if you're accessing using China IP address, that sometimes I give up altogether. Too confusing.

However, home here is still the best.

Hahahaha... I know what you mean. But TB has so many freaking things, especially if you're accessing using China IP address, that sometimes I give up altogether. Too confusing.

However, home here is still the best.

Yah they sell everything including live chickens?? My other forum mummies were telling me. Lolz... U mean there is a diff when accessing using china ip?

I still heart my singapore- forever no 1 - no matter how squashed up i feel in the trains!

Yah they sell everything including live chickens?? My other forum mummies were telling me. Lolz... U mean there is a diff when accessing using china ip?

I still heart my singapore- forever no 1 - no matter how squashed up i feel in the trains!

SG IP address gets re-directed to TB Southeast Asia.
CN IP address access the original TB website. TB China got even more stuff, with all sorts of rankings etc. Sometimes filter until get eyestrain.

Generally I note that (at least for the items I source) TB SEA has better quality stuff, so I guess it has been pre-filtered in a way.

Hahahaha... TB sells almost everything

SG IP address gets re-directed to TB Southeast Asia.
CN IP address access the original TB website. TB China got even more stuff, with all sorts of rankings etc. Sometimes filter until get eyestrain.

Generally I note that (at least for the items I source) TB SEA has better quality stuff, so I guess it has been pre-filtered in a way.

Oh! I didnt know that thou! Its a good thing thou we might miss out the really cool deals. Nowadays i read the reviews closely before ordering and the descriptions (like they will say 小瑕疵 or stains), I will avoid buying no matter how supper cheap they are.

I bought these really pretty alphabet beads for my gal's recent 1st birthday bash as activity for the older kids. Wah seh instant hit! Even the adults could not resist making a few...
ImageUploadedByForum1389945330.899658.jpg

hw does u all feel in ur tummy nw? nowadys i feel lik my tummy wil 'squeeze' tgth lik tt. lik will pull tgth inside the muscle. centre of the tummy, above naval

Keep your hopes... everything is not confirm if there is no confirmation from gynae. Maybe your baby is really shy. Don't feel upset afterall it's your #1. Keep the faith strong ok! :)

Potatochips, i also got "gender depression" with my#1... My gynae thot it was a boy very early on before the oscar scan. Apparently i learnt its not accurate! Anyhow hb expressed that it will be good to be boy so I was quite upset to learn its a girl. When I had my #2, i was more well prepared. Mentally i told myself no matter girl or boy, i will be happy as long as healthy cos i took 2 yrs to get him/her. Turns out to be a girl too! Hb was of cos more conscious not to stir any gender depression in me... So babe, cheer up! Its not easy to overcome this gender depression thing cos for me at least i feel being chinese brings on the stress! *shucks!*

On a brighter note, girls got more things to buy like clips, dresses... Pattern more! Look at cny clothes n u know what i mean! Hb recently commented- chiong sum pattern is like 2 racks full but for boy only one design?!!! Lolz. PM me if u need someone to talk to. :)

Haha i was bf-ing my #2 who is born in jan 13... We were not actively trying either... When my bm ss took a sharp nose drive i thot it was cos i sick... But actually is cos i was pregnant... I tested 3x in september over a span of 3-4 wks and all negative (one of the test was done at raffles med where i was there for a health chk up).

So land up for the first 18 wks i was doing things preggy mummies wont do - like eat sashimi, drink beer (lucky i am not a regular drinker), took flu vaccine, did x-ray, "ran" 7km marathon. I only found out when i saw a GP for my headache - he told me to test again and the kit came up with 2 VERY dark lines... The feeling was incredulous...

I have the same experience like you! discovered it when i was almost 12 weeks, i was still breastfeeding when the baby was conceived, tested first tim and it's negative. I ate sashimi, did dental x-ray, drank sangria (alcohol), was still wearing my bengkung, went for body massage and the masseur sort of sitting on top of my body!

Oh! I didnt know that thou! Its a good thing thou we might miss out the really cool deals. Nowadays i read the reviews closely before ordering and the descriptions (like they will say 小瑕疵 or stains), I will avoid buying no matter how supper cheap they are.

I bought these really pretty alphabet beads for my gal's recent 1st birthday bash as activity for the older kids. Wah seh instant hit! Even the adults could not resist making a few...
View attachment 186852

Neat idea for party activity! And relatively inexpensive too! I booked Hog's Breath last time for my girl's 1st birthday. They set up a separate play area for the kids, except a lot of kids fell sick just prior and it turned out to be more of an old friends' gathering. Hahahaha...

Super TGIF mood. Started looking at places for baby full-month. Since I've been feeling so sian for unknown reasons, trying to get myself more involved. :p