(2014/02) February 2014

Iselle, like Jacquise, I also eat everything, in moderation. I do try to avoid soft boil eggs and liver though. Otherwise, crabs, prawns, sashimi, all eat! ehhehe

Beef hor fun with eggy gravy is my current favourite....hehe.

I think I'll wait a few days see if doc's clinic calls me up regarding my result....hopefully all ok.

Jac, the thing is... I've no appetite!! But ur sashimi sounds good thou. Hee.. N I juz tot of fried oyster cake n char kway teow. Hmm.. Maybe fri I can go for supper. Any other food suggestions??

Good idea to video insecret! Ill ask hubby try next scan!

Iselle, sashimi is gd mah... Got omega 3! Kekekeke. Just eat what u feel like eating. Ya eat in moderation. This time i nauseous also can eat. Hokkien mee? Tze char? Indian Rojak? Laksa? Mee soto? Kueh pie tie? Nonya zhang? Chicken rice? Kimchi soup? Katsu don? Putumayam? See so many things to eat! Indulge!!!!! :D
i dunno read from where this TCM website say preg women shld eat "Liang" things now as we are heaty. Then deliver Liao then drink heaty stuff as our body is "Liang". Confused la.o_Oo_Oo_O

But I'm the chin chye type, confinemt broke all rules, even went out shopping n Kena Chased home by Isetan aunty. Went straight to salon after hosp to wash n cut hair, bathe everyday, spaghetti as a confinement meal, bathed my baby myself everyday from day1! But I was young then. This time I decided I better get a CL and do properly. I was so sleep deprived. Suicidal and depressing. :p

Iselle, like Jacquise, I also eat everything, in moderation. I do try to avoid soft boil eggs and liver though. Otherwise, crabs, prawns, sashimi, all eat! ehhehe

Beef hor fun with eggy gravy is my current favourite....hehe.

I think I'll wait a few days see if doc's clinic calls me up regarding my result....hopefully all ok.

Miraclebaby, pls chill and sleep well. U have done your first step. And u are not all that old to be having no 3 ok.... Usually no news is gd news from Drs. I have a forum mummy fren, first one 36, second one 39! But her kids big n strong. Her gal one head taller than my gal :p

Actually I crave ngor hiong! But so unhealthy har.....

Haha jac u r making us hungry with all the delicacy spell out :)
Luckily I didn't saw yr post last nite if not i wun be able to sleep with juz a pathetic char Siew bun as supper.
I want to hv claypot rice for dinner tonight hv been rattling to DH for tat few days back. Ya I ate almost everything like u in in small amt. only skip raw food & pineapple, barley & all the herbal tea :) always feel very happy after a gd meal. My DH more pantang den me dun let me eat crab & mutton. But I still eat prawns & peanut butter almost every alternate days but in moderation. 1 more day to go b4 fri. Yeah, I can sleep like a hog in the weekend. Tis wk onwards sleep is much beta after nite toilet trip managed to sleep again. Hopefully I can hv gd sleep thru out my pregnancy :)

Hello mummies..
Im new here and having my 2nd baby now. Edd is 15/2/14..
My gynae is at Almiralty and will b delivering at TMC.
Next Mon will go to do the Oscar scan, hope everyhting is going well!

Iselle, sashimi is gd mah... Got omega 3! Kekekeke. Just eat what u feel like eating. Ya eat in moderation. This time i nauseous also can eat. Hokkien mee? Tze char? Indian Rojak? Laksa? Mee soto? Kueh pie tie? Nonya zhang? Chicken rice? Kimchi soup? Katsu don? Putumayam? See so many things to eat! Indulge!!!!! :D
i dunno read from where this TCM website say preg women shld eat "Liang" things now as we are heaty. Then deliver Liao then drink heaty stuff as our body is "Liang". Confused la.o_Oo_Oo_O

But I'm the chin chye type, confinemt broke all rules, even went out shopping n Kena Chased home by Isetan aunty. Went straight to salon after hosp to wash n cut hair, bathe everyday, spaghetti as a confinement meal, bathed my baby myself everyday from day1! But I was young then. This time I decided I better get a CL and do properly. I was so sleep deprived. Suicidal and depressing. :p
u are right jacquise. i heard before too that now pregnant we are like a pot of hot water. once delivered we are a pot of very cold water. but i think for now still moderation la. too liang food also no good. too heaty also no good. my #1 pregnancy i had preterm contractions and my tcm said cuz i ate too heaty.

i want to eat sashimi!! i keep craving for tuna toast bread. if not no appetite. die

jacquise....lol u r not alone, me too 2nd time mtb also bo chup, always find excuse saying eat a little should be ok.
I though my MS improving then yesterday still told hubby and really bad mouth, today come back again, puke while brushing teath and now still feel neusea no appetite. haiz...

Aiyo sunshine take care. Tats the bad thing, ms fluctuating n we tot we r well then suffer even more. I Oso felt better these days n ytd can bring bb for a swim. But who Knows maybe wkend ill be bedridden again.

Jac! Thanks!! I tink my meals till wkend can settled le. Haha. N u reminded me cold storage has ngor hiang n can buy n fried when I want to eat! N mee soto yes...I shd go explore Malay food hee.. I dunno wher can I find putumayam, seems v rare! I stay in the west n feel west side not much gd food. Most I ate oredi not nice then I dun feel like patronizing again.

I'm thinking fri supper go lau pa sat eat satay haha!

jacquise - wow sashimi?!?! isn't it a no no? cos it's raw? and from what I read from websites in hongkong, UK, US all say too much fish is not good, so perhaps those who hate fish now is a blessing in disguise?

lefaithful - I think if you eat too much liang things will cause contractions right? that's y must avoid pineapples, watermelon and stuff like that..

I also eat lots of peanut.. since nobody in both family got such allergies, I didn't care. but I avoid fish, soft cheese, raw vege (unless I wash it myself), or anything raw or not fully cooked.. I eat loads of beef.. but it's so sad that I can't indulge in steak cos I like my steak medium rare..

bubbles - I also get a lot of migraines.. at least once a week. I always just bear with it cos I don't dare to take any medications. but I just checked with my gynae on Monday and she said it's ok to take panadol so I take the normal panadol at minimal dosage.

lucky my sinus nv act up anymore since my pregnancy else I will die from not being able to eat any medications..

jacquise - wow sashimi?!?! isn't it a no no? cos it's raw? and from what I read from websites in hongkong, UK, US all say too much fish is not good, so perhaps those who hate fish now is a blessing in disguise?

lefaithful - I think if you eat too much liang things will cause contractions right? that's y must avoid pineapples, watermelon and stuff like that..

I also eat lots of peanut.. since nobody in both family got such allergies, I didn't care. but I avoid fish, soft cheese, raw vege (unless I wash it myself), or anything raw or not fully cooked.. I eat loads of beef.. but it's so sad that I can't indulge in steak cos I like my steak medium rare..
wan, my case was too heaty. cuz my mom added pao shen into bird nest. gynae said can eat sashimi! and half boiled egg!

lefaithful, can eat half boil egg?!?! that's like one of my fav breakfast food which I stop eating for some time already cos not fully cooked. hmmm my gynae normally everything also say ok can, but when I read on websites then im not sure if I should just ignore what I read and listen to my gynae..also, someone commented bird nest now is not good for 1st tri right, cos baby might get asthma? I still have a bit left also with pao shen but I don't dare to take already.

I asked my Gynae he say can eat sashimi. It muz be v fresh. I ate biz lunch that day. One slice of tuna belly $20. So I was like I must indulge. Sure fresh. :p Then another time biz dinner at Morton's but I dare not eat the medium rare steak. Just eat if you r comfortable. If not no point eat Liao then worry all the way. He also said OTC hair color is ok... I'll color when second trimester starts. Found a few brands no ammonia or PPD. More ex though.

oh... yeah one slice $20 sure must be very good.. hahaha.. so you didn't eat medium rare, you ate medium well?

Wow jac, no wonder u can name so many gd food. Morton steak n tuna belly, u r a gourmet!

Wan, I hope ur sinus continues to stay away! My gynae Oso everything say can eat. Coffee can, but dun exceed oneself a day. Sashimi can, but from reputable restaurants. Actually some websites will state clearly dun take too much, not abstain totally but some juz name the food n we tot we shd totally avoid.

Half boil egg is new to me. I Oso tot hv to abstain. I heard on radio past mths advertising pasteurized raw egg. Maybe safer to use tat to make half boil egg if MTb has cravings.

luckily I don't drink coffee, so I just avoid all caffeinated drinks. to me is still a small thing to avoid. guess I will go for some sashimi once I hit 2nd tri, by then at least more stable.
pasteurized raw egg? what brands sell that? normally I go Ya Kun for my soft boil egg cravings, so if like that means gotta make my own. and also, anybody knows if egg benedicts are fine? I always have craving for all day breakfasts..

iselle, u too must tke care...im praying all our MS be gone by 2nd tri.

can't eat half boil egg is cos if not fully cook, the egg might still contain some bacteria, actually sashimi is a no no too but think if eat moderate shld be ok...lol cos i must put uncooked egg in porridge, this way the porridge will be more smooth n nicer to eat...hehehe

sunshinebb, if you put uncooked egg in porridge, it becomes cooked right? cos egg cooks rather quickly so that's still safe.

all the best for those who have MS.. just a couple more weeks at most and your MS should disappear. :)

the other day i was at ippudo, super love their egg, took one big bite and my gf saw the yolk flowing out, she gave me the death stare and asked me to stop eating :(

Wa jac morten steak :p yums!! Ate it once only cos its so ex but it is really gd :)
Jac u make me hungry b4 lunch =="

wan, ya the egg will be almost cook but sometimes still will see the uncooked white so i just remove it....i love egg :) this topic about foods make me feel so excited though i still don't have much appetite. i remember during #1 macdonal got promo buy 1 fillet o fish free 1 more and the scary part i can eat each burger in less than 10min...lol

this #2 seem to like more junk food, i can eat potato chip better than normal meal...wohahaha

morning mummies! it's august! another month closer to seeing our lil ones in our arms.

i am almost at the end of my 1st trimester already (if i use 13 weeks instead of 12 as a gauge). MS is considerably better though sometimes i still got the whole bloatedness n nausea at night.

fingers crossed all will be gone when i go for my babymoon next week.

and hope everyone gets over their MS soon!!!

morning mummies! it's august! another month closer to seeing our lil ones in our arms.

i am almost at the end of my 1st trimester already (if i use 13 weeks instead of 12 as a gauge). MS is considerably better though sometimes i still got the whole bloatedness n nausea at night.

fingers crossed all will be gone when i go for my babymoon next week.

and hope everyone gets over their MS soon!!!

Yeah... But mine is getting worst. I puke every night and which I dont use to do that... =(

Where will you be heading to?

ya peanut will cos baby develops a peanut allergy but need to depend on family history too.

Last night watched Channel 8. They talked about allergy. In fact, what we eat will not cause the bb to have allegery or asthma. It's actually caused by the mummy's digestive system or the baby's. I will try to find the program from Xin MSN to share....

lefaithful - you are funny! the egg is cooked by the time it reaches our stomach.. hahah..
vee - you should try ramen at millennia walk parco 3rd floor called nantsuttei much better than ippudo
sunshinebb - hahah don't worry by 2nd tri should be better right? im quite lucky cos got no MS so everyday eat as per normal..
crystall - enjoy your babymoon! im gg for mine in sep.. such a long way away.. can't wait. :p
cheeryz - that's good to hear that our food intake doesn't cause baby to have allergies or asthma

im envious of whoever gets to go babymoon!!!

sunshinebb, mine also junkie bb. i eat more rubbish than first pregnancy

vee, can la, can eat the yolk. safe la! hahahahaha

my MS now happens everytime before i sleep! v irritating

cheeryz: ya i know what u mean. just 2 days ago i was puking my guts out after dinner and was complaining to hubs why my MS seems to be getting worse even though i am almost at the end of the 1st tri? isit the final suffering kind of thing? then suddenly the next day the MS seems all better already. haha

i'm going to phuket....5 days 4 nights. :)

wan: one more mth! very fast one lah.

lefaithful: ya my MS is mainly at night. day time i feel almost normal. quite irritating cos sometimes it prevents me from sleeping properly.

oh... yeah one slice $20 sure must be very good.. hahaha.. so you didn't eat medium rare, you ate medium well?
I wasn't comfortable eating bloody steak. Better not push my luck. So had chicken instead. And well done steak tastes gross. No la I'm not gourmet. I have atas customers. :p

Hello mummies.. Long day for me.. Back from doc scan in the morning and Oscar scan in the noon.... I'm 12 weeks n 5 days today.. Scan so much different from the previous few times. The little one was like jumping n bouncing around! I'm so amazed... Pardon me cos it's my 1st preg... But the feeling was good. The Oscar scan was like almost half hour... The doc was busy shaking my tummy cos baby not in right position.. Ask her abt results she aso reluctant to say.... Ask to wait for next doc visit...

cheeryz: ya i know what u mean. just 2 days ago i was puking my guts out after dinner and was complaining to hubs why my MS seems to be getting worse even though i am almost at the end of the 1st tri? isit the final suffering kind of thing? then suddenly the next day the MS seems all better already. haha

i'm going to phuket....5 days 4 nights. :)

wan: one more mth! very fast one lah.

lefaithful: ya my MS is mainly at night. day time i feel almost normal. quite irritating cos sometimes it prevents me from sleeping properly.

Wow! My favourite place! Go there must eat japanese food. very cheap! less than 15 bucks for one bento set. Mk for steamboat. Pancakes, thaifood and many more... oh gosh....

Haha cherryz u muz hv reali like Thai food. I only rem cheap seafood n those pushcart snacks. Next x ill try jap food there.

Crystall, happy for u, can countdown to babymoon!

Mummymode, hope u hv a gd rest aft long day today. When is next doc visit?

My ms more in day x. Even drink half a mug of cereal I feel nausea n must lie down oredi. Night x is lotsa air blocking the windpipe.

Vee n wan u work in same area? If they hv outlets near my Plc I wld like to try!

Told hubby bought black balls for me but in d end did not eat cos the bloating made me no appetite...

Iselle, u must be still quite slim. Three wks I nearly put on 1kg!!! And today HR director noticed my tummy and asked if I'm preggy. Omg. No ngor hiong for me tmw. :(

Haha cherryz u muz hv reali like Thai food. I only rem cheap seafood n those pushcart snacks. Next x ill try jap food there.

Crystall, happy for u, can countdown to babymoon!

Mummymode, hope u hv a gd rest aft long day today. When is next doc visit?

My ms more in day x. Even drink half a mug of cereal I feel nausea n must lie down oredi. Night x is lotsa air blocking the windpipe.

Vee n wan u work in same area? If they hv outlets near my Plc I wld like to try!

Told hubby bought black balls for me but in d end did not eat cos the bloating made me no appetite...

Lolz.... push cart food are good! Fried chicken. Wan tan mee! If u like "zhu xue" they have it there! I miss the place...

Reading abt all these food postings, i really envy u girls..... Can eat to ur heart content!

Though its #2 for me, but i m watching my diet strictly... #1 i did not abstrain from seafood n jus eat wat i feel like n in e end bb came out wif bad skin.... Tis time round i hope to eat better n more carefully to prevent e same mistake.....

Talking abt babymoon... I m also eagerly looking forward to my mth end trip!

Any mtb#2 haven told the whole world abt ur pregnancy?

Duno y... Tis time round no urge to announce the gd news hahahahahaha.....

Maybe i m too busy wif #1..... Hahahahaha....

Haha cherryz, nex x I go Phuket I know who to ask for tips hee..

Jac, my frens says my face sharpen but tummy like 5mths. Tink cos of the air. Ohya u reminded of gg cold storage to buy ngor hiang! I help u eat lor.. Hee..

Bubbles, how much seafood n freq u ate? I even ate crabs n bb still ok. But only a few x throughout. The rest prawns, sotong etc Oso a few x throughout. I Oso no urge to announce haha. Thinking if can, wait till detailed scan then I announce. Too sick with ms.

Last night woken up by strong winds at 4am n awake til now. TGIF ladies!!!

I tink I'm super greedy Lor. Eating cheers Choong fun now. Boss say buying kueh for us. I say I want one piece for later. I only tell parents n close frens n my Coliks all know cos my boss announce for me. But it's ok. He's pro-family. He even asked me last yr " eh u don't want no 2 ah, yr gal quite big Liao"

Iselle, gd idea u eat for me e ngor hiong. Sobs!wad brand one ? I no idea super mkt has. And how u heat it up? Steam sure soggy rite? Or muz deep fry?

Jac I luv yr boss. Lolx. Really a rare find for pro-family boss. Book me a slot if u hv job vacancy next yr :p
I ate pizza tis morn too. Yumz.. Happy Friday sisters :)

Morning all mtbs.

I only tell my boss and don't know why other dept also know...haiz i just tell baby not to be pangtang. but one thing good is that coll know whenever lunch time they will offer to buy meal for me just ask me to sit and rest lol

Going for a short trip this sun with whole family, #1 going too haiz hopefully can manage him, m abit worry cos this is his 1st trip. My sis also jio me to bkk for shopping trip, feel to go but we are crazy shopper so scare they might feel i can't walk fast and slow down their progress.

Aiyo jac u reali full of food ideas leh! made me n cherryz crave same.
Ngor hiang no brand, from cold storage those fresh meat section. I discovered it while buying minced beef for my gal. U buy a few n if steam doesn't satisfy ur cravings then u fried a roll. 1 shd be ok rite?

Lala, pizza so early not too rich? Now aug le, u rec ur confirmation letter? Ur boss started interviewing new ppl?

Sunshine, ur family gg shd be ok to manage him. U dun worry n try to enjoy ur trip. Ur bkk go aft bb born la, more things to buy!! Ur colly v nice :)

Juz woke up from a nap. Thankfully compensate from 4am wake up time. Gotta work later haiz.

iselle - nope I used to work at suntec so knew about the millennia walk ramen.. now working at tanjong pagar and also love this ramen at orchid hotel here.. :p I love ramen..!
jacquise - 3 weeks? you mean from your previous doc visit till the recent one? so far I put on 1.2kg in total from beginning till now, not sure if it's ok.. I hope I don't put on too much till I can't lose the weight after giving birth. my mum is like super petite after she had me. but now after my bro, she's like perpetually 9 mths preggie.. :p

As for letting the world know, I also told my colleagues cos I had to travel but I didn't want to, so gotta tell some of them why I can't travel. and my lunch kakis know so sometimes I can just sit down and not q in the hot humid hawker centre. Close friends know from the start and some relatives also know already
But I will only really announce to the whole world after I have done my 12 weeks scan and all is normal which will then be past 1st trimester. My mum super pantang so forbid me to post any baby related stuff on facebook.. esp since she trolls facebook, all the more I must be careful. hahaha

Iselle... I only ate crabs & prawns.... Forgot how frequent but its like during those buffets sure wallop quite a bit... Esp during 2nd tri & last tri... Wer ms all gone... Hehehe.... I dun eat sotongs....

N i ate a lot of jap curry too... Duno is it bcos of all these when #1 came out, she is red n dark n peeling all over... Very sad...

So tis time i try to eat soupy stuffs & more fish, vege, chicken, etc....

Last round at last tri, my leg was swollen quite badly... N blood pressure increase too... So i m trying to make tis pregnancy different..... :D

Cutting down on desserts too.... Hahaha..... But during cny, i tink i wil gif in to temptations like pineapple tarts, bakwa, all e different cookies!!!!! Aaaarrrggghhhhhhh!!!!!!

Hi Wan, actually everything should be cooked properly. Sashimi really not so good during 1st Trimester as baby is still developing. The worry is Salmonella in raw food, like uncooked egg, fish and shell fish. Otherwise, the only kind of fish we should avoid is Mackeral, Sword fish, shark....e.g. in US...they say:-

Mercury Levels in Fish: Highest Mercury
AVOID Eating

• Marlin
  • Orange roughy
  • Tilefish
  • Swordfish
  • Shark
  • Mackerel (king)
  • Tuna ( bigeye, Ahi)
High Mercury
Eat no more than three 6-oz servings per month

• Sea Bass (Chilean)
  • Bluefish
  • Grouper
  • Mackeral ( Spanish, Gulf)
  • Tuna (canned, white albacore) See tuna chart below
  • Tuna ( Yellowfin)
and more.....

But each country is different and it depends on where the fish is imported or fished locally. So local waters containing levels of mercury affects local fish etc. So basically if you avoid the fish with HIGHEST MERCURY levels, and eat in moderation the rest, it should be quite ok......SALMON is basically very safe, especially if fully cooked, it's very healthy, full of OMEGA-3.

Miraclebaby, pls chill and sleep well. U have done your first step. And u are not all that old to be having no 3 ok.... Usually no news is gd news from Drs. I have a forum mummy fren, first one 36, second one 39! But her kids big n strong. Her gal one head taller than my gal :p

Actually I crave ngor hiong! But so unhealthy har.....
Yes I think I may just hope Doc dont call me....haha.

hi all. Just finished my NT scan at NUH. Doc said everything looks normal but still have to wait for blood test result to confirm. Counter staff said Mon after 2pm can call gynae to check. At least half a load off my mind. Now will wait anxiously for mon to come faster.