(2014/01) January 2014

Me also planning to get pre-natal insurances.
Anyone have summary or comparision for all the available prenatal insurances in the market?

Will be good for insurance ignorant like me.

Hi juju,
i also plan to do that way.
Just worried if colleagues will gossip that the consultation take like 2 hours yet i take whole day mc.
Should be ok right??

Coz so far i went on sat. its always so so so pack!!! really waste my time...
Heard weekday is alot better

But i do not want to use my precious annual leave.

GBOB, call gynea and check , call dun need money.. just to be safe

Maybel, give and take.. I take mc but always go in office and clear my work before I go off. Now angry with myself.. why bother .. should deduct 1/2 days mc when I go in office..lol

crystalbelle,
i inform boss then i get mc frm gynae.. now thinking if I should go in the afternoon and just take time off to see gynea as my mc finished liao
Nurse always tell me dun come in on saturday...

Just had a quick glimpse of the prufirst gift insurance.
Saw this PRUmum2be (Single premium9)@ $320
http://www.prudential.com.sg/corp/prudential_en_sg/solutions/protect/PRUfirst_gift.html

By saying single premium, does it mean that i just need to pay $320 once for this pregnancy and it cover their listed complications?

Anyone prudential adviser here?

Actually i have a friend whom i buy prudential insurance from. But if i ask about this mean its a giveaway i am pregnant..and soon all my friends will know.

Still havent cross the first trimester, so prefer to keep mum.

i try to go in the evenings, 1st appt. but if no choice and hv to go in the day, i dun care n jus take mc. if very necessary, i will go back to work after seeing doc. then will be considered as time off

I typically arrange for the gynae check up during lunch time, meet hubby at gynae office. Will end up taking a slightly longer lunch(sometimes nearly 2hr) but my immediate manager and big boss are all very nice, colleagues are also understanding, so i am quite lucky in that aspect.

<font color="aa00aa">crystalbelle, I can try n do a brief comparison of e prenatal plans when I can..but u do not accept pm..can enable ur pm? One thing I noe for sure is tt oni e AIA prenatal plan (Family First Baby) covers Bb conceived via ivf..other insurers dun. Tt prufirst gift tt $320 is oni e cost of e rider if I'm not wrong, it tags along to an investment linked plan whereby u'll transfer it to e Bb when born..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Ok, went to read up n saw tt Aviva's, Prudential, n AIA's prenatal plan r basically almost e same thing..it comes w a rider where u pay oni for a yr but e coverage lasts for 3yrs..n it tags along to an investment linked plan. Difference I noticed is oni that AIA covers babies(up to twins) conceived via ivf n tt AIA's hospital care benefit of $100 a day is up to max 30 days whereas Aviva n Pru is up to max 25 days. Not a vast difference IMHO, ultimately it's who u r comfortable w fm getting e policy from ;) Hope I'm not being seen as 'promoting' my biz here! Jus sharing info ya..</font>

My midwife told me to put on pantyliner to monitor the situation. For the past 2 days, no more spotting. I've also tried to walk slower pace and not carry heavy stuff. That might have contributed to the spotting :p

Previously i was spotting quite a bit...

How about you?

Rach., sorry I still a bit confused.. So the integrated shield plans can cover our kids too? I bought my integrated shield plan from ntuc, hubby's is from AIA.. Is there an additional rider needed to include children in the coverage?

Faye, good for u dear! Meanwhile don't carry heavy things n try to walk lesser if u can. For me, mine turned into yellowish discharge. Hopefully nothing is wrong. I m minimizing moving ard too much too but I have to go to office to clear some work later so bo bian... Just have to pray hard wnt come back....

Yeah.. i actually try to get half an hour walk a day to keep myself active.. maybe i need to chill abit :p

Try to monitor and see if the discharge is lessen with less walking around. Else, if this persists, then let your gynae know just in case of infection.

crystalbelle, for me when i need to go gynae, i will choose the lunch time slot like 12nn or 11.45am slot.... then i'll take taxi from office to go to the clinic and it will eat into my lunch hour lor.... like this i no need take leave or mc but i'll let my boss know in case i come back later than 2pm.... cos never know how long the q is...

Actually I think I can go after lunch to see gynea and consider time off even if I dun return to office. I just did not know when my company start to calculate mc one.. last time our mc do not count one.. when I tell hb.. he was quite shocked too.

I worked at Jurong East.. clinic at MT E. Take mrt to and fro plus waiting time.. dun need to go back office liao lor.. most of my colleagues do that when they go for check up ( health screening)

Daphne48
LOL i thot hair on the body :D

Few days ago i have a dream I m spoting so scare....
my dream always come true...very worry ...
will be gg to temple to pray

<font color="aa00aa">music genie, dun worry too much! They say dreams r e opposite of reality rite? U mustn't tink it'll come true! Positive tinkg my dear.. ;)
Joy, nope integrated shield plans u muz get it separately aft bb is born..ONI Aviva offers free shield plan for kids if both parents r covered under Aviva too..but as far as I noe it's not v comprehensive coverage.. This shield plan is different fm e prenatal plan, prenatal plan covers u now for pregnancy complications, n u'll transfer e coverage to be aft he's born, n he'll b covered for congenital illnesses as well as hospital care benefits..meaning once bb is born he'll takeover tt investment linked plan n carry on for life..</font>

Thanks for all your advices.
I will either take MC or go for lunch appointment. Utilised all my mc already then use my annual leave..Anyway its already Jul now.

Hi Rach,
Thanks for your information.
Very helpful to me!

Crystalbelle,I took MC too when my hubby was away for business trips. u can ask ur gynae for it, usually they can issue for u. does ur gynae open during sat? or even after office hours?

GBOB, dun worry abt peeing in e nite. my no1 n current pregnancy, I visit e loo like 3-4 times every nite. since I noe I m pregnant until I gave birth.

as baby grows bigger, they tend to take up more space n hence lesser "space" for ur bladder. yeah n like most of u had said, as long as baby is healthy. It doesn't matter hw many times I need to visit e loo. ;p

&amp; usually during 2nd trimester, there would be an increase of vaginal discharge.

Rach
My dream always come true so i better play safe go temple

I start to have discharge, my mum say cos my body is weak ....still havent reach week11

I go for the gyn visit on sat morn. Feel bad taking time off in morn to see gyn before going to work. I don't take mc so feels weird taking for doc visit.

Normally I arrange for gynea visit when I have other things to do. So that I dun waste time. As my manager always worried when I take too much leave.

I want to apply leave in advance.. but always in the end, I need to cancel half day and come back to work.

Thanks THY. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Peeing is fine with me...I wnt complain...if no pee then maybe I will start to worry again. Lolx...as for discharge ya I heard will have more discharge. Im just sceptical abt the colour of my discharge...hehe

For me I normally chose sat appointment or tue night appointment (gynae open clinic every tue night), so no need to take leavd of MC, cos all my leave gotta save for my unpredictable son jus in case....

Fwah! Just now scare die me. Working halfway n suddenly felt a "GUSH" down there!!! Went loo n checked.... Luckily it's just watery discharge but quite alot till soak thru my pantyliner Kenna my panties (sorry for tmi).... So scary xia!

Maybel, staffing pressures on the company is inevitable when it comes to women employees. additional costs on the company to provide back up support also, and alot of SMEs do not have this luxury, even with govt paid maternity leave. That stigma, so hard to erase in alot of office culture.. Just do your best, you are answerable only to yourself and your family. End of the day, your family is who you return to and where you draw your strength from. I had alot of pressure when i was pregnant with No. 2.. still pause and wondered how the hell i work on construction sites, climbed scaffoldings, inspection tours when i was 8 months pregnant in my previous career..Taking each day at a time helps, and your baby can give you the strength you need to make the right choice, be it to quit or to push on.. good luck!!

Shir, juju, daphane,
I just told my kids last sat.. hmmm.. the boy wants a boy, the girl wants a girl... haha, what's new? My girl is stuck on jap names for the baby.. from lego toys.. arrgghhh

morning morning TGIF!

thanks for the insurance info! i'm getting from my AIA agent as it covers IVF pregnancies hee but that's another 8 weeks to go LOL!

shir, actually i told my gynae that my mc had used up, so she actually issue hospitalization leave to me,

shir, juju, daphane, jasmommy
mine already told the kids when i first got preg, kor kor and jie jie all want mei mei, didi still dono a clue wat i talking abt haha

hi ppeanut, i ending my 1st trim this weekend, will be officially in 2nd trim next week.

actually i take leave to go for checkup cos i need to clear some of my leaves as we r only allowed to bring over 50% of our leaves to next yr, beside childcare leave, the coy also give us sick child leave if the kid is sick, dono how to clear when i back from materity leave next yr, so this yr i will try to clear as many leave as i can.

Happy Friday! Taking half day. Going to Baby expo later to get few things while I am still mobile. Haha..

BBlove: congrats bblove. I still have three more weeks to go before i reach 2nd trim

Gm: there is a baby expo?

TGIF. I am so tired...

ok, daphne, hahaha! if we in same coy, how nice hor?

shan, thanks! ur will soon in 2nd trim le...

ya baby expo start today till sun.

but i thought the sick leave to be used also when kids are sick is the last mom law.... no? anyway, i have childcare leave so i try to use those up first....... so far i try not to use MC.... only 1x this year when i was merlion quite badly...

sigh my morning sickness like still hanging around..... feeling nausea whole morning and whole evening / night...... i hope this is not a sign that it will continue all the way.....

shan: yes, called baby baby exhibition in expo. Till 14July.

My hubby said that wearing wireless bra and loose clothing will help in the ms. Said my #1, i stopped after i wore them. I can't rem really.

daphne, dono leh, but anyway since coy still giving, so we as employees and parents just take lor. the # of sick child leave depend on the # of kids the staff have, the more kids the more sick child leave, so i have 10 over sick child leave on top of 6 days ccl. so now clearing ccl and al.

oh bblove, my company doesn't give us additional sick child leave but we can use our MC to use for sick child when ccl is used up so long as we get MC from PD.... so our MC is not necessary MC for our ownselves.... so in a way, i try to keep the MC too in case my ccl finish and kids are sick, i can use the MC...

dapne, my ms oso on and off, i have not eating a proper dinner for 3mths cos i cant stomach the food down when come to dinner time, so relying on milk and bread. bf and lunch still ok but nt dinner haizz, i lost quite a lot of weight.

oic, daphne! ours is staff mc 14days + sick child xx days, so nt scared our mc being fully used. our coy did not specify the sick child leave (child's mc) must be from PD, any gp or polyclinic also can.

Hi all mommies.. newbie here.. week11 now, going for my oscar next week. Currently bump not shown yet but already wearing maternity rubberize pants for comfy..normally which month does the bump start to show?

all of your company policies like so good leh!

i thought i saw a post some time back that one of the mummies working in tg pagar, me working in tg pagar too! hoho!

hi fanntasy, welcome
how soon bump shows really depends on individuals. some show earlier than others. some at 4-5 months still can hardly tell i think. good luck for your oscar!

omg jialat! i was having a bit of MS so eat suan mei. Took a drink of water, and somehow the whole suan mei just slipped down my throat, seed and all!! faintz...