(2013 TTC after loss support group)

hopeful mum

hmm not say cannot eat but eat less..i'll post more on this findings again later..cos lots to research into hehe

you can read more here

http://fertilitymemphis.com/causes-of-infertility/ovarian-reserve-testing/

on AMH. It is a hormone to see one's eggs reserve in our ovaries and of the thing to be tested prior to have our ivf so the doc will see how much ivf medication to give us.

Im going to my 3rd fresh ivf-icsi, waiting for my AF to start on the jabs. If still no sign of it by this wed then will hv to postpone to aug/sept..

Actually for my case i dunno what happened as it's thru IVF and MC very high chance. The embryo could hv been some chromosone fault etc..very hard to pin point so i look into other ways like my diet since i had 2 chemicals - made me a little puzzled..another thing could be my lining that was what my TCM and gynae doc said the other time. As actively trying on TCM no, i'm not cos after i took the medicine last time i was not too feeling good..maybe dun suit me. Im sticking to just multivits and fishoil for now only lor.

You went for any blood test b4 to find out more?

GBOB
you can refer to the link i posted a moment ago just now in my reply to hopefulmum, think should be ok withnin the gidelines..for me both 8 leh..

Shirley do you eat like that everyday? Sorry to ask but are you a bit on the chubby side? Have you gone for any blood test for your mc yet? How many times did you MC?

Ok for myself im chubby well you can say fat haha im 72kg with just 159cm! I've put on much these years after marriage.

Babymilo> no wor. I m only on thyroxine for my thyroid. No meds for ttc leh. Those blood test was done for my 3rd IVF cycle at nuh... Supposedly upcoming IVF cycle but now have to postpone cos of this miscarriage. Zzzz

Chrisl, thanks babe. Doc say I have low AMH lor n boy I do love carbo! Cnt live without carbo leh

Chris - I did some research, I think I did read about food. I read to aviod raw or uncooked food. For carbo, I guess in moderation will be good. I also research on chem preg, one possibility could be thin lining. I have 3 chem preg since last aug. the implantation did not took place. I trying to exercise aka jogging once a week. I started it yesterday. Diet wise I will watch myself closely as well.
Shirley and those trying for no 2 - would you agree with me that we need to be even more healthy and fit? Looking after active toddler and ttc is not easy at all.
When I ttc for no 1, it was equally tough and rest almost whole day for 2 months. Whether first or second time ttc, it is equally challenging and tough.
We need to keep and stay healthy. I hope I can faster recover from cough as for now.

Though i've been told that it could be my lining but somehow in the bottom of my heart (i believe that each and everyone of you here after an/many agonizing losses) i am still trying to find out why..and what i can do to NOT have a MC again.

Therefore I am researching on fertility diets and while reading the fertility book by zita west, came across that there is a strong link with foods that causes

1) inflamation and miscarriages
2) low body weight

well apparently nbr 2 is not me lol

I love Carbohydrates esp rice! like fried rice, chicken rice, claypot rice and mix rice malay curry rice etc etc..

so it's really difficult to cut down..i am trying my best for now

Chrisl, ya I did first two rounds of IVF with kkh (dr Loh) n failed. Last year did a lap with dr Loh at TMC n strike naturally one month after op but lost it. This time round I had given up entirely n kauz! Strike!!! But oh well, it's just shortlived happiness anyway... Zzzz

I've been ttc for almost 5 years but to no avail thus went for IVF. Got preg naturally last year n this year. Both times was really when I least expected it...

Chrisl, ya I'm chubby de.. Maybe we should cut down carbo intake or I should try to reduce my weight . After 1st child I'm overweight now. Haiz so sad , my girl already going to 4 yrs old I still can not slim down .

I had 1 ectopic last yr and 1 mc this yr. blood test I did is on beta hcg only .

I think healthy diet and regular exercise will help in our ttc plan .

Baby milo I do agreed with you that we need to be more healthy , I did Zumba once a week , I think still must control diet in order to slim down .

im short lol only 1.5m, but my weight is healthy. look a bit bah sometimes esp when i bloated. im like 45kg. small bones so i look more bah.

hmm no tests yet done on me. thats why im going to NUH to find out whats happening.

i also unhealthy, i used to be very active in sports. since i started working in bank, i stop my work out. after this i will start again. but hor when ttc cannot over exert coz body not used to it.

Morning ladies. Yeah quite fast I got my appt at nuh! 20 June which is next thus. It's my birthday actually. Lol but nvm I'll still go since I'm on leave. Hmm probably will get poked a lot on my birthday this year. But I'm glad I get to go in for the checks in 2 weeks time.

Hopeful - exercise referring to light non exert type. If u go google, it will say light/moderate/non exerting exercise.
You might not get poke on first appt. usually is just discussion and will need to fix another day for the tests which will be done 1 or 2 cycle later.

Baby milo, huh! Got to wait 1-2 cycles! Damn Sian. I was so happy hopefully they can find out before my next cycle so I can start trying again.

Hmm it's a thur I wonder which consultant ill be meeting.

Cox I liked hot yoga which ttc can't do hot yoga mah. Damn sad. And I like kick boxing type which is high impact. So I guess after this ill go swim.

Lol think I lazy. So sian I'm still cramping and I'm back to work. I nearly fainted with 500 over emails. I was only away for 3 days. The rest of the time I was working from home.

Sorry ladies I'm just want to whine. It's like major Monday blues. Luckily my boss is nice and a colleague tell the rest of the colleagues that I was on leave instead of mc. So ppl not asking why I was away. Which is good

Hopeful, u got the apt with which clinic? The recurrent pregnancy loss clinic? If thurs sicarly it's Prof Mahesh himself cos I heard he's only there for consults on thurs nia

Gbob: They called and say they are from the recurrent loss clinic. Ask me go to clinic g. Not bad hor quite fast. Lol I don't mind seeing prof mahesh. Let u all know next week.

I wonder how long I need to wait. My appt is at 11.30pm

Clinic G usually for initial consults n I dnt think prof mahesh is there. Dnt need to wait very long de. At most an hour

Hopeful mum,

Glad you've got your appt date already.. Hope it's Prof Mahesh since it's a thursday.. If not, i think it's an immunologist or rheumatologist first who will determine the tests for you to take..

Hi bbcripps,

You're under Prof Wong too? Sorry to hear about ur recent loss.. Last time he told me to wait 3 cycles before trying, wanted us to use protection too but we were notti and didn't.. Anyway, my cycles went haywire after m/c and really regulated right after 3 cycles.. Do have a good rest first.. All the best for your next cycle!

Hopeful, that's good that NUH can see u so fast. Hey, maybe this appt will turn out to be your birthday gift cos it will resolve your issue n give u the ultimate bday prezzie - a healthy baby!
I totally understand the email part, exact same experience here whenever I'm away fr office. Especially buay tahan those emails where one simple issue the whole village have to be cc in the whole chain of emails, haiz.

ChrisL: I love carbo too! Love rice n potato, jia lat. Actually on the outside I look skinny n relatively fit, but according to my first gynae, all these carbo, plus my family history of diabetics, is exacerbating my PCOS, so she advised me to cut down. Plus try to climb stairs to my 10th floor apartment at least once a week, but hor that one I only kept up for 3 weeks, oops. I did try zumba, for a grand total of 1 month (even though the class is literally a 10 mins walk to my place... n I drove). Think I'm really gone case.

GBOB and min81: hopefully I can take the tests on the day itself. So that the next visit can see dr already.

Lol I can't wait to go. Hopefully my birthday won't be spent full day in the hospital. Very busy. That morning I also need to cancel my bank account etc. lol cox I leaving my job mah so close my salary account let them give me cheque. Or it will be very expensive to maintain the account. Lol.

Bbcripps: hope u are right. Lol sigh so sad. I was actually planning to buy a fathers say gift for my hubby. Luckily I nvr order or I will be very sad when I receive it. Cox Father's Day always near my birthday. Then we CBS celebrate together.

I really hope they can find the cause and nothing to serious. Hopefully!

Lol slowly work out lah. How abt doing brisk work for 30mins 3 times or twice a week?

Min81: hi hi, I remember u fr the other thread, how is your pregnancy coming along?
Yep I'm going to see him tomorrow, hopefully he will give me the green light to start my next ivf cycle in Sept.

Hopeful: my hubby jogs every night around the neighborhood, by right I can easily join him 2x or 3x a week, but he's so fast (or rather I'm super slow) I always get left way behind ... think I need to jio a few of my girlfriends, the same standard kind (i.e. equally slow ones), hahaha.

Hi ladies, i have been a silent reader here.
You all are so brave. and somehow, all your posts made me to be more optimistic and positive as well. I had 2 MCs and 1 successful birth. i'm trying for 2nd child, but it seems so difficult after my MC. after my checkup at NUH, i found out i had retroverted uterus. Not sure if it decreases my chances as well. i did ask NUH if i need to investigate for my 2MCs as well. the dr say since my MCs are not consecutive, so does not qualify for recurrent MC investigations. so i have been on follicle tracking for 2 mths. If after 3mths, not successful, can opt for IUI.
Yesterday, i went to see TCM Dr Soo. and she advised me to do stretching exercises for my retroverted uterus. and no cold drinks and cooling drinks for both husband and myself. including liang teh, milk tea, chrysanthem, barley.... sorry for the ranting.
and because i have pcos, she told me not to get angry so easily, and try to relax more.
sorry for all the ranting, just want to get it off my chest.

Hi xynn, dnt b sorry. Everyone here is ranting away. No worries ya. This thread is for all of us who's facing probs ttc n having mc. We r all here to support each other. Mmm, what does nuh mean your mc r not consecutive?? For retroverted uterus, if I m not wrong I think I remembered reading somewhere that doggy style will help.

hi GBOB, my first one is MC, 2nd one successful, 3rd one MC. When i had the 2nd one, i was so disappointed. now, i just try to remain as positive as possible. but it's just so difficult. Yes, i was scouring the internet for more information on retroverted uterus and i also read that. but also, there's alot of writeups that say it doesnt matter in chances of conceiving. Only Dr Su told me to do more abdominal exercise, situps etc to strengthen the abdominal muscles. something different from what i read online.

Xynn: feel free to rant away. Follicle tracking means need to go to ultrasound constantly? Don't worry we are here to support u!

Jia you. IUI is in a way good as it skips the cervix which gives the swimmers more chances. Plus they will also clean up the swimmers so only the healthier ones will go.

hi hopeful_mum, yes, i need to go for scanning from Day12. Depends on the doctor on how often to go back. Last round, i go every alternate days. This current cycle, only went once. I always go early in the morning, so that i can go to work after that. It's tiring. but to increase my chances, just have to bear with it lor.

Xynn: but expensive also right?? Have to pay for the scans. Ya understand, no choice, ESP when we wanna a baby.

Xynn , don't said sorry . Try to think positive is not easy . I know . Jia you ! U mention about dr Su is from bbc or ?

Hopeful he's still in icu but is waiting for a bed in the general ward. He's not of very sound mind now n he keeps shouting. I must admit, I m super duper stressed out by him n I really dnt knw WTD with him. He's pissing me off big time n I dnt know he purposely or he dnt mean it... I just have to face it. Life sucks for me really. Sigh

Gbob: understand ur frustration. I guess he is also feeling very frustrated. U take care of urself. Now is a no choice. When we young they take care of us so now we take care of them. I'm sure he wants to get better soon. Good to know at least he can be shifted to a general ward. Hope he gets better soon.

Shirley, by next week shd be lesser liao and cramps won't be as bad. Normally first few days will have cramps. Now u feeling better already?

GBOB
me too got stuck with 3rd fresh now..still waiting for my AF to come and it is still not here yet..i dunno why i dun hv luck with my this clinic..1st fresh unsuccessful with no frosties, then 2nd fresh miscarried, 1st FET bfn, 2nd FET thaw fail, then now 3rd fresh straight start got hiccups liao..i really tot of changing clinic soon..sigh

you long or short protocol?

sorry about your dad but what happened? *pat on your back* it is not easy this period but hang on there..sometimes cos patients are venting out anger accumulated cos they'll ask themselves 'why me?' etc..just try your best to help and i am sure at the end of the day your dad knows you are filial and appreciates you more. Is he on special diet?

hopeful mum
wow your birthday is only 4 days after mine
and your boss is so nice

bbcripps & ladies
that's what i read about the link between excessive simple carbohydrates like white rice/cane sugar etc, they increase our risks of diabetic and people who are tired easily after a heavy carbohydrate meal are often pre-diabetic. Thing is to choose complex carbohydrates like brown rice, basmanti rice, new potatoes instead. AKA the low GI diet. I researched that this diet helps to lower weight and also keep your sugar level down in your body. Apparently this also helps in ppl with PCOS and i suspects that i am mild PCOS that's why I am trying this now gradually soon cos i also cannot stop completely the white rice and wheat(plain flour) which are my fav and lots of food are made from these..so it's kinda difficult.

shirley
cos you did on fri today is still considered early to stop bleeding..should expect the flow to go lighter and gradually gone after the wound heals..but some spottings are considered normal thereafter cos after mc our hormones haywire lah..just dun BD or do heavy exercises now to let wound heal

Yo chrisl, I'll b on short protocol. Dr says I low AMH so using highest dosage of gonal f but she thinks wnt yield alot of eggs. Zzz.. Deary honestly if u thinking of coming back sg for IVF, I strongly recommend nuh. Between nuh n kkh, the diff is alot alot. Nuh is way way better. They r more detailed n efficient. Kkh ma chiam factory... Mass production.. No personalized service. Nuh is only slightly more ex than KK by a teeny weeny bit. But of cos if u can afford pte then I think CARE is better.

As for my dad, he was on aspirin for his irregular heartbeat prob. Two months ago he fell n hit his head against sharp corner of the cabinet, admitted n ct scan showed he got subdural hematoma, they did a burr hole op on him on 14 May n the follow up ct scan showed ok, discharged on 21 May n immediately admitted tat v night s he wasn't behaving his norm self. He was alrdy delirious b4 his op n we tot bringing him home will b better but end up he just kept wailing n screaming non stop from 10pm onwards all the way till 4am. Admitted n the follow up ct scan there n then at A&E showed nothing. He continued to shout (especially night time), he can shout non stop thruout the entire night until the ward got no choice but to put him along the corridor so that he wnt disturb other patients. Then another ct scan showed larger dark area n doc says either it's blood or fluid n they suggested 2nd op to suck it out. When they administer GA on him he had heart attack thus op didn't proceed. He was then in icu till today they transferred him to general ward as his heart condition is stabilized. Sgh doesn't seem to recognize or realize my problem, if they discharge him, n if he continues to shout like a mad man the entire night, how r we gonna sleep? How my neighbors gonna take it? They shd help n come up with something b it meds or whatever to control him right? I'm not gonna take him home if he is still like that. Sigh... Sorry for ranting... I am really lost as to WTD with my old man. I love him alot but his delirious behavior is really getting on my nerves n I feel v v pressurized. I know he may not know wat he is doing as he may not b of sound mind now n I shdnt blame him n in fact I m not blaming him, it's just that I feel so lost n helpless when I c him like that.

Gbob: ya we know u love ur dad. Understand ur frustration cox u also don't know how to help him. Don't worry we all hope he gets well soon

OMGoodness GBOB..can't imagine the stress..did the doc say that the knock on his head got something to do with his weird actions i.e shouting thru the middle of the night? Hopefully he'll get well soon..you can rant here all you want we will be here to listen and share your woes..hopefully you feel better after talking out

actually since my af not here yet, im thinking of waiting for another 2 days more to thurs/fri and then start on my own jab myself, you see, cos my scheduled ultrascan is next fri. Cos at least i can do this cycle and not wait for another 2 mths due to their summer clousure not fair to us mah if im just late by 2 days. Of course im not telling them about it..i figured out that on the scan they'll then see if enough stimulated or not then schedule for ER/ET..so yeah lor my hb and i will hush hush do ourselves jab not following the timeline they gave us ...hehe we very 'ti qi' stubborn

but then if this cycle bfn again, i've already told my hb that im thinking of NUH cos CARE too ex for us and kkh sounds like my current clinic .. they dun go the extra mile

Chrisl, the neurologist says he got underlying dementia n the neuro surgeon says his behavior may b due to his knock n hematoma... Zzzz