(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Mofmm thks thou I m fussy.

Hope, I still keep my frozen milk but I did throw milk away cos bb din drink much some times and milk expired cos I kept in fridge. Over stimulated means producing more than what bb drinks. I felt hungry easily. Ya maybe u should drag a bit. But have to be careful of turning it to stone. Maybe u should consider giving bm at night too since u have plenty of supply.
Do u bottle feed your bb now with ebm?

Sade, I see. I feed FM at night coz after full month still needs to go for jaundice review. To be on the safe side everyday give 2-3 feeds of FM. How often do you latch or pump now? Yah I bottle feed with EBM but will try to latch once or twice a day. Coz bb sometimes only latch on 1 side the. End up I gotta pump out the other side. I was thinking pump like 4 hours in the day then night maybe 5-6 hours? Haha can zzz longer hopefully won't turn stone.

Hi Adeline, when r u due? My CL claims to have exp with twins n if she's gd, perhaps I can recommend her to u. Yes, it is more costly at Sgd3500 per 28 days. I intend to extend by another 2 weeks if need be cos for the 1st month we would need to recuperate n can't learn as much. She's the biggest expense so far (not counting IVF of cos) in this baby thingy but I think it's a necessity not luxury. Met my colleague last fri n she said her mum was so certain she can take care of her baby boy who was born natural delivery at 4kg n v healthy. After one week, even with a maid, the mum said she can't cope and my colleague went to an agency to get a CL. What more for us having two babies at one go and most likely taking a longer time to recover for C sec (it's considered major abdominal surgery)! If I could breast feed I would but with twins, I think I will exclusively pump cos breast feeding two at a go is going to be a huge challenge! After feed need to burp both then have to change both diapers. Then need to wash m sterilize all the bottles n teats after each 2hourly feat. Think it's too xiong and so would definitely get all the help I can get, esp the CL who can at least help to establish a routine for the twins so its easier for me when I take over. When I fretted over the cost with my hubby, he said this kind of money cannot save. :p

hope oh ya I rem u tellingly reikibaby. actually think no need to give fm now cos u have enough supply alrdy. only to give fm if supply not enough n also if ur bb is having at least 5 wet diapers a day then should be ok. n also poo then jaundice should be greatly reduced or recovered.
for me I latch on 3hrs during day time n at night pump 4 hrs n then sleep. always set alarm to wake up to pump but always abt 5 hrs. n my breast is quite hard. its actually quite scary.
so how do u store ur express milk?

Hi Adeline, I bought mine from Taka at the recent Taka baby fair. Cost 399 called Roccio 4 in 1 with fibrelux mattress. Another one bought from Mum n me at Yishun Industrial Park under Puku brand cost 459 with latex mattress.

Do take your time to research the cots u want to buy - there r many at diff price points from diff shops like Mothercare, motherworkz (great world) or even Ikea! n if u can wait, I heard there is a big baby fair end May at Expo do u might be able to get good deals there. Happy shopping!

Sade, I see. Yah will have bb on total BM soon! You latch and pump diligently too! So good that your bb latches well Hee don't need to sterilise pump parts and bottle haha. Oh I will put in the refrigerator and when the number of feeds are too many, I will store the rest in freezer using storage bag.
Do you feel hungry after you pump when you wake up at night?

Reiki, how often do you pump or latch? Trying to get a gauge Hee.

Sade, hope, think i overstimulate liao. Now pumping or latching every 2hrs and will have about 100ml. Trying to drag but bb cant. If bb ask for milk every 2hrly then i take it as the feed is enuf for him. But if he asks for milk every 1.5hrs then i will usualli increase his feed. And usualli he can finish it.
Think i will try substitute w fm 1or 2 feeds so that i can let my nipple rest and pump every 3h instead of 2. But in long run i duno hw to hve more ebm keep in fridge.

Mofmm, I bought the same at taka for baby cot last nov but I upgraded the mattress. Quite good deal as they give me a breast feeding blanket, a diaper change organizer too.

Sade haha i feel tired and hungry!

Reiki, wow every 2 hours is v fast. My bb will wake up at 2 hours for feed at times but sometimes it's 2.5 hours. Or maybe you can reduce the latching? If not I think u will feel tired and your nipples can rest? I'm trying to drag day time 4 hours coz think the milk supply the same per hour so seems to be ok. Maybe you can try?

Reiki baby initially during first month my bb also latch on every 2hrs or so. The most up to 14times per day. I hv no problem with my nipples then. Rem try to air it whenever possible for awhile. We need one to two month for our milk supply to stabilise.
Did u over fed ur bb? Maybe some times bb just want to be cuddle, rocked or lonely. Try to delay awhile.

Hope, im giving full bm so if i drag means bb will need supplement w fm. But tink will try dragging tml n see hw. At same time oso can finish the tin of fm.

Sade, i dun tink i overfed cos pd wanted me up to 100ml last week but last week oni can hit 80-90ml. Also bb will start looking for nipples or sucking his fingers when feeding time is up i.e 2hrs. So with these signs i read that it means bb is hungry. And when given milk, he will finish it. Only in the noon when bb sleeps in aircon room, his feeding time will be able to drag to 2.5 - 3h. Also there will be one feed at night that bb will also drag. Other than that he is super punctual. Usualli when 2hr not up, we will use pacifier to drag but the most he only allow us to drag another 10-15mins. But it will be a struggle. I guess week 3 growth spurt?

Hope, after every pump or latch...yes im very hungry... but at night i lazy go find food so usualli will have a flask of LRD tea to drink after pump/latch at night.

Ladies: may I check whether ML is count by weeks? So if we are give hL before edd, it will be consider as ML? I want to spend more time with my bb. Should I work till water burst. Heehee

Hi Usagi, sama sama - the diaper organizer is v good.

Allow me to vent - I just asked my hubby when we going to put in car seats in his car to take baby home n he said we using his dads car so we can each hold 1 baby! I can't believe I am still having this convo about using a carseat at this stage when I thought it was settled! Told him there is no way I am leaving the hospital with the babies without carseats and I will file a report against him and his parents for flouting the law if they bring my babies anywhere in their car or his car without the carseats (which will be in mine after hospital) Seriously, can't fathom y after explaining abt safety they can't get it?!

And 2 days back, my mil called my hubby to tell him that cannot hang a cot mobile as she heard of a case where a mobile melted (short circuit) n fell on baby. I told hubby to tell my mil she better not take taxi as we all hear of taxis being involved in accidents. Zero logic! And she offered to help me alter maternity dress last week by sewing the sides as it was too large and when I got it back, she machined up the front as well! Without asking or telling me - defeats the whole point of the dress which allows me to take out my boobies easily to pump milk!

I'm glad I don't stay with them and I think they realize that while I don't quarrel outright with them, I intend to do things my way so they try talking to my hubby instead of approaching me directly now. Argh! They didnt try to tell me what to do before I got pregnant and now it's like they have a million views on what I can or cannot do with the babies. I foresee troubled seas ahead! Sigh!

Oh, and the best part, tho since week 20 the scans have shown the twins to be girls, my fil insists that one will be born a boy and wanted me to keep the bedding for 1 of the cots which they delivered wrongly as blue instead of pink! And the basis of my fil's belief? A dream he had! So I am now to, as he told me, plan for 1 boy 1 girl in term of names n clothing etc, and not listen to the doctor who tells me to expect 2 girls!

Hi Babysmurf, just read from another thread that mom webpage allows you to calculate when your ML ends if you enter bb birthday. Think u might want to check with your co HR if they count HL just before ML as ML cos some companies do. Like some cos acknowledge HL for IVF as HL but some dock from annual leave.

Haiz, don't get y my in laws r this way. With my mum, she wanted to use cloth nappies but I told her firmly no as it is too much work to wash n hang fir 2 babies and she gave up the idea. Then she said no need car seat too but after explaining the law n safety concerns, she agreed. So long it's logical she accepts but my in laws cannot see past their own beliefs. Ugh.

Mofmm: not long ago, I saw on the news that baby is put is carseat but safety belt is not fasten. An accident happen n the baby flew out of the car. This happen overseas the car skipped on snow road. U may want to search online n show to your in laws. Heehee.

reikibaby oic. ya growth spurt. jia you.

mofmm actually me also v particular abt car seat and also installed car seat before delivery. but on day of discharge I held bb instead of putting in car seat. n now also for short distance I will just hold bb. before that I m strongly against carrying bb in car but now I will carry cos sometimes I will nurse while hb is driving as bb cries for milk. my mum said no need to install car seat before delivery n said to carry bb home n I bombarded her but in the end I just carry her home.
cos I bought birth to 4 yr old car seat. n I find that when bb is put in the car seat, I felt that her neck is still not strong so seems uncomfortable for her during first few weeks.

your fil is so funny. normally scan is v accurate. ya sure have conflicts with pil. no choice. my pil is going to take care of bb aft my ml ends. know that sure will have conflicts but better to let them take care instead of putting her to infant care. just have to open n close one eye at times.

cool down u r still pregnant. stay happy n zen!

MofMm, hope you have a nice sleep and cool down by now. My colleagues also held their babies home by hand. Haha. I haven discuss with hubby but I assume he will install. Otherwise, I just pray no TP. Ha.

Hi Babysmurf, Tx I will google for that link n send to my FIL. How is your morning sickness these days? If need be, do get medication from Dr Tan to help...He doesn't always prescribe the strongest medicine at the start until u tell him it isn't working,

Hi Sade, I hear what you are saying and thanks for sharing your experience. It might v well come down to that - me hugging 1 baby home even but I guess no one likes being told what to do when there is no logic behind what is being requested. I guess I'm even angrier with my hubby for being do easily swayed. This wasn't the arrangement we discussed n agreed on. I am going for my detailed scan wk30 this afternoon and will ask them to scan gender again. My arrangement is similar to yours - have my pil come over to help take care 2 days a week and my mum 3 days a week. I agree with you that have to shut one eye and believe they would never hurt their grandchildren intentionally...else it will be impossible to get along but at the same time I have researched for infant care facilities nearby as a Plan B and have told them that if things don't work out...in the meantime, I'm all the more determined to get the cot mobile :p

Hi Usagi, thanks! Cooled down already after thinking of a most appropriate response to them if they bring up this topic again. :p

Mofmm, yes it's good to have a plan b. but have to think twice before putting bb into infant care cos most likely the staffs won't treat bb like their own. Unlike pil or your mum.
As for cot mobile, it's ok to use under supervision. And also seems like bb is too young to enjoy it. My bb only starts to show interest in it during week 8 onwards bah. If I don't rem wrongly.

Mofmm: still not gd. Pelvis bone aching till cannot sleep. Eat small meals also got this problem. take med onky stop for 1-2hrs then come again.Seeing dr tan later also. Maybe see u at TPS later. Heehee

Mofmm - same for my bb. she likes it a lot in her second mth. For the first mth, i removed after first few days after my CL says the revolving cot mobile may cause cross eye. so i removed, just in case.

sade - good that your baby feeds in 4 hrs. mine is still feeding between 2 -3 hrs timespace. very tired.

MofMM I think it's inevitable to have differing views cos older generation will think that they brought us up wo car seats so what's the big deal. I see possible trouble ahead w my own mum when she commented on my niece n said why cannot use those spring yaolan which I just view as plain dangerous though I loved it as a kid.

With both ur parents n pil taking turns caring for the twins I think u have to close ur eyes to many things. Do chill.
I'm also having twins n considered infant care but advised stribgly against it as babies tend to fall sick more frequently in infant care n with twins won't have sufficient leave to take care of them when they take turns to fall ill.......

Hello ladies, I went to see the lactation consultant yesterday and she said bb was latched properly and suckling well. What caused my pain could be because bb was bottle fed and that caused him to stop sticking out his tongue for feed.
Those who supplement with formula or bottle feed ebm, do you have similar problem?

Sade, you're so lucky to be able to bf bb all the way. Do you get any sleep at all?

Now whenever I bf bb, I feel very tired. Like all energy sap out from me. And I need to sleep after. So far today I bf bb the whole time except he fell asleep and when I tried to wake him, he refused to wake up. I put him down on bed and went to have my lunch. Then he cried! CL then feed him with ebm I have in the fridge.

Funny thing is, my supply is still very little leh. When I express out, it's only 50ml in total.
But the lactation consultant said when bb suckles, he gets more. And there were times where bb slept for 2-3 hours after feed. So it was considered a good feed. Hmm...

Usagi, saw your post about diaper bag. I think most hospitals give diaper bags but it's nice to get your own cos you'll use it for a while. I bought Marc by Marc Jacobs online from Shopbop at $300+. There was a 20% discount post Christmas that time. You may like to check out Shopbop. They have Kate Spade too.

MofMM, I know PIL can be annoying. Mine too! Before bb, they leave you alone. Now with bb, they try to interfere and have a say in everything!

My mom is very traditional so she insisted that we cut bb's hair during first month and she will make red eggs and glutinous rice to give to my relatives. My MIL is more modern so she doesn't know anything. But when she hears my mom is making red eggs, she also wants! So I told my hubby to ask her make her own. Don't expect my mom to make for her! In the end, CL volunteers to make the red eggs. :S

Anyway, about bringing baby home, I actually sat at the back with bb in arms cos we haven't bought car seat at that time. But if you already have, then there's no reason to stop you from using them. For the bb's safety, just use lor.

And on cot mobile, I think Sade is right. During antenatal class, the trainer actually said that it's no use to put the mobile now cos bb can only see black, white and red. BB will only get cranky seeing something blurry spinning above. They only get to enjoy when they're bigger. Maybe as Sade said, 2 months onwards?

Hi Sade, WhiteClover n Koirc, thank you for sharing about cot mobile. Will not buy so fast then :p my mil prob will think I have given in on this :p

Hi Babysmurf, yup me at TPS after ADC. Just to share Mothercare (the one selling clothes) having a clearance corner near cashier but not against glass window. They selling loose pieces from Mothercare brand like towels, burp cloth, bibs, socks, rompers n rompers. Worth a look as really cheap.

Hi Small Bunny, glad to meet another twin mummy! Yes I heard the same thing about infant care - kids tend to fall sick more often and easily so end up spend a lot on PD fees. About the spring yaolan, just to share that at the KK prenatal classes, the trainer advised against the use of this tho easier for baby to sleep but risk of baby falling out.

Hi Koirc, your CL is very nice to do the red eggs. Imitation is the best form of flattery so hopefully your mum feels comforted that your mil is actually following her!

koirc bf for first few weeks is the toughest as we r recovering from childbirth n getting used to be a mummy. I din sleep much during confinement. now slightly better can sleep the most 3-4hrs str. haha. just like a bb. sleep wake up do stuffs n sleep back.
ya I m lucky n also did lots of hard work for it.
dont worry abt your supply cos need one to two month to establish. jia you! u have a positive mindset so u will succeed in bf too n u took the initiative to solve whatever pro u faced. so u will succeed in bf too.

Hi Babysmurf, how are things? Did u go Mothercare to shop? So nice to bump into u again! Sorry was rushing to go pharmacy to collect meds so couldn't stop n chat! Dr Tan set my next appointment 4 weeks later at wk34 like yours the last time. Asked him about preadmission and hospital tour he said too early to discuss...yet he booked my C sec date already third week of May! Wonder when we will have to do the hospital tour and booking at KK? Maybe week34?

Happy that my twins put on about half a kilo each in 2 weeks. Twin A is 1.6 and Twin B is 1.55kg at week30 which is average according to the sonographer. Hope they continue to grow and stay safe in me till the c sec date! Think I better start washing the clothes given I have just 7 wks left.

Sade and Mofmm, you actually opened my eyes to what the reality of hand me downs are like. LOL! It's a wonder why I never thought of how worn out the clothes will. Good thing I've also bought some. Thank you!

Mofmm, you know, my hats off to you for endearing your nausea till now and good to hear that your babies are putting on weight nicely. Like babysmurf, I'm beginning to get nauseous again too. It is not full blown and hopefully it never will. As for the de-cluttering, it really teaches me to be more selective when I go out shopping! I can totally relate to your lack of cupboard space!

And about parents and PIL or any relatives for that matter, I think we are all in the same boat. All of them suddenly have a lot of opinions and advices! I take everything with a pinch of salt and only follow if it makes sense. Sometimes, I wonder if I will turn out like my mum/inlaws one day. Ha ha!

Hey, maybe you can make a bet with your fil regarding the gender of your babies! ha ha! Go slightly easy on your DH as he probably doesn't have the depth of protective instinct that you have as you are the one carrying the babies.

Babysmurf, hope you will feel better soon, or at least not worse. Poor you. For my company, the maternity leave only kicks in after birth. If I want to go off early, I need to take annual leave. I'm also aiming to work until my water breaks. My colleagues are already on standby on what to do and who to call. LOL!

Can't wait for my next scan on Friday!

Adeline, I go to Como Shambhala for my prenatal yoga classes. The class is 75mins long and every mummy will do a short self intro at the beginning of each class like how many weeks we are, how our pregnancy is so far, any aches and pains, medical problem, etc so that the teacher will know what to watch out for and what poses to avoid, if any. I enjoy my classes there. Always feel very zen during the class and energised after. I believe that it is due to this that I don't have a single ache or pain. Or maybe I'm talking too soon! Ha ha! Try it if your doctor gives you the all clear

Mofmm, forgot to mention this. 7 more weeks to go for you!! My gosh, so exciting!!!!

Lil actually I felt like a rubbish collector cos lot of ppl gave me old stuffs such as yellowish car seat n lot of yellowish spots clothes. just felt that they dont bear to throw it away n wan me to throw it away for them. haiz. so better buy your own bb clothes ans just use some for good luck bah. unless really no money then no choice.
ya I also become more selective in buying items cos I realised I bought a lot of stuffs n din use it. so now really hv to be selective.n I throw a lot of stuffs away too.

Mofmm: nice meeting u again. My baby based on dr tan's estimate is 1.6kg at wk 31. He follow the charts lol. He said my ms is due to gastric problem.

Shorty after just at the Kkh car exit to main road. Dh's car kena bang. Big dent on his car. We turn back to delivery suite to check lol. Make me now headache n back pain. The dr only just check n put us on. Ctg for less than 30mins ask me go home. Heard bb heartbeat like horse gallop. Faster than usual. The dr said is becos bb is happy lol. I worry is bb in shock like me.

Lil: so lucky for u. I have to keep reminding my boss to find someone to cover me but she simply cannot be bother. I just do my work n time to go mean time to go. She always think my work can hand over easily. have to go Just go n don't ans their calls during my ml.

I also like u when I received hand down clothes. My mum don't allow me to buy. Ask me go find hand down clothes. Then when she see the conditions she commented y got yellowish patches. Zzzz

Small bunny: thank you lucky put on safety belt n in front passager seat. I strongly encourage mummy pls put baby on car seat.

Babysmurf, oh dear, it must have been quite a shock when your car got hit! Good to hear that you, DH and baby are all fine. Yes, agree that it is very important for baby to be in car seat. In fact, although the Spore law exempts the use of baby seats in cabs, I still feel uncomfortable with it.

Ya, if your boss doesn't seem to bother, than just leave it. Just do your work until maternity leave and then just handover to her. Unfortunately for me, my work has also asked me nicely if they can call me during my maternity leave and since they have been so supportive, I agreed. So I will be bringing my laptop home with me to check emails periodically.

Sade, me too! I've also thrown/donated stuff which I've never used!! Brand new and still in wrapping! So wasteful!

Hi ladies, i am new here. I succeeded under the magic hand of Dr Loh, now 14 weeks. Although i have passed 1st trimester but still cant help worrying as this baby is so precious. I started to have some watery discharge since monday. It is like water, not like eggwhite. I started to paranoid- is it normal discharge, urine leakage or amniotic leak? It does not have smell. Kindly enlighthen me. Thanks.

Babysmurf, yes I already donated to Salvation Army! Ha ha! No lah, you ladies don't want my stuff, when I look at them, they look so outdated!

ladies, what food do you all take to increase your milk supply? I've tried to latch my girl and use pump to stimulate too. I took fish everyday but my supply is so low. At most 10ml total. So disappointed. I'm into my 3rd week post delivery. But my bm only came after 1week. My aunt said might as well just forget abt it. I'm also thinking of giving up. I think my girl also get frustrated as she has to work so hard for the little bm

Znatasha, do you pump or latch every 3 hours? Hmm I took oatmeal biscuits too. If its too stressful for you and you tried your best, just use FM then. It doesn't make you any less of a mother you know? Jia you yah!

Reiki, so how? Did you drag the hours? I pump 4 hours interval in the day then trying to drag 5 hours at night.... Still ok and I felt better... More rest time.

Hi Hope and Reiki,

will try to take oat then. I just started to took papaya pork rib soup this week. Hopefully, with increase intake I'll have more bm.
I decided not to waste the time to wash the pump unit. I usu let baby latch on directly but not every 3 hours.

Hope, think his growth spurt appetite ended. Now 100ml every 3hrs. So im pumping every 3-4hrs. Much better than 2hrs. Supply also increase... so im also happi...heee