(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Hope, i also pump more than latch. But need get him back on latching else go out be troublesome to bring ebm. Heee
Your bb drinks every 3hourly? Looking at how much bb grows...realli make my pumping and sleepless nights worth it...right?

Hi Lil Ponyo, my co has the same policy. They will not accept HL if it is just before the due date but will count as maternity leave already or I can apply annual leave. If that's the case, I intend to work till the C sec date so as to have max time with the babies. Enjoy your scan this Fri and hope the nausea stays under control! The third trimester is like the first all over again except with the big belly! I'm so tired out after 4hrs of back to back meetings that I am not sure how I will cope when my boss flies in from US mid April for a week. Trying to balance work n preparing for the baby - only 7 weekends left!

Hi Babysmurf, how awful!!!!! So glad you and baby are fine and damage only to car! For the clothing, now you have a reason to buy more baby clothes n throw away the stained ones - bleaching is out as the chemicals too harsh!
As for work, maybe u can sit down to generate a proposal for maternity cover to give your boss - give a few options with the cost of each and your analysis of each option (pros n cons). That way there is evidence u put in effort to cover your responsibilities during the ML period and also force your boss to make a decision on how to cover you.

Hi Mm, I had watery/clear discharge too in 2nd trimester. Wasn't an issue but best to check with your OB.

Hope, u pump 4 hrly? Do ur boobies get hard n leak? I try to delay pump but mine get hard n let down leh
Unless sleeping, then can delay slightly.

MofMM did u sign up to store ur twins' cord blood? I'm just thinking that w delivery likely to be c sect n doc busy with ensuring both babies are ok then dealing w 2 placentas likely won't have time to attend to cord blood? If I were to store would rather do for both babies but thought that's unlikely to happen?

Reiki, yah around 2.5 to 3 hourly but sometimes she doesnt want to sleep so will want to drink after 2 hours plus only. Yah all efforts are worth it as long as baby is healthy and strong

Chevy, yah i pump 4 hourly now. Hmm, it doesnt get hard until I feel very uncomfortable so its ok....only when its 5 hours plus then it gets uncomfortable. I will feel the let down and will leak abit but not alot lei so I ignore and coz the amount I pump is ok so i think its ok. So you pump every 3 hourly? Your bb on exclusive BM?

Hi Mofmm, 7 weekends left! Oh when you put it like that, it sounds even shorter than 7 weeks left! Oh my gosh so exciting!! Listen to your body while at work. If you are tired, don't be a hero. I'm sure your boss/colleagues will understand. Thank goodness your boss will only be here for 1 week!

I hear you about balancing work and family. I think from now on (especially after babies come) we need to be even more efficient and organised with our time. No more spontaneous movie nights and take-out dinners infront of the tv! Ha ha! Well, at least for a while

So the next batch of graduate mummies will be:
Usagi
tutu
kittykatty
dian tang
mofmm
babysmurf
girl girl
precious baby
lil ponyo
psp

Not sure if I got the sequence right though

Ladies, I have a question, my FIL is in charge of coming up with a chinese name for the baby. So far, I don't like the couple of suggestions that he gave. How? Sigh...what a dilemma...for his other 2 grandchildren, he just come up with a chinese name that sounds like the English name, which I don't like. I mean why have 2 names that sounds the same in English and Chinese? I'm beginning to doubt his naming capabilities...but don't know how to handle it tactfully...

Thank you for all the encouragement and well wishes
Hubby and i saw bb's heartbeat this morning!

Hope, yes I'm pumping exclusively now @ almost 3 hrly. Alternate feed supplement with fm on dietician's advice. Wld be good if i can drag for 4 but day time is quite difficult. Let down quite a bit esp so when i carry bb.

Min81, yay!! Congratulations! Very very happy for you
Continue to take care ya!

Dian_Tang, ya I think the only way is to tell DH. And let him handle it. Ha ha!

Hi Min81, yay! Such good news and am thrilled for you!

Hi Lil Ponyo, I think the sequence is correct cept that you might be due before Precious Baby and PSP if I recall rightly. Then again, it might all come out different in the end since there is no way of predicting!
for your FIL, how did he come about with the suggestions? Was it based on what your English name was since he has a habit of doing so? To be fair, I wanted to call one of my twins Crystal and the other Jade and my hubby immediately wanted their chinese names to reflect the Chinese translation of the English names. If your In Laws are into bazi etc, perhaps you can emphasize the importance of having a name to balance the elements of their bazi. Hmmm...or you could let him know you want a minimum of 5 options because only when your son is here, you will know which name fits him best?

It isn't just the movie nights and take out dinners we will be missing...all the travelling too! Have a regional conference for 2 days in London end June and a trip to US in Sept and it looks like I can't do the London one. Sigh! What a missed opportunity to go shopping and try to get back my Krisflyer Gold to enjoy for the next year 2014(cos both trips on SQ biz class). And my hubby is so unsympathetic - told me cannot go else the babies have no mlik to drink. I think he just doesn't want me to abandon him to the chores of feeding and changing! Grrrr....

Mofmm, ha ha, ya half of FIL's suggestion is based on the English name. The other half are names of famous people, specifically Chinese politicans(?!) such as the newly appointed Chinese president Xi Jin Ping, Deng Xiao Ping, etc. Argh...seriously?! Where is the originality?! Now you get the idea how traditional they are. The idea of bazi come to mind as well. Will seriously need a talk with DH. LOL!

I'll be missing 2 NYC trips in Aug & Sep but I'm already confirmed on a business trip in Oct. My boss had asked me so many times if I can go. Ha ha! It will be a 2 week trip so I will need to stop breastfeeding by then. I've also mentally prepared DH. He seems gamed to handle everything himself (+ maid & infant care) so we shall see.

So envy of u all. Dh only allow me to travel at dec. baby abt 6mths old lol. Then ask he bring baby along. He said cannot. Faint.

Znatasha, I can totally understand how you feel cos I have feeding woes too. Today is the fourth day I tried latching baby on. So far so good except earlier I was really tired and couldn't wake up. CL gave bb ebm from bottle. Bf-ing is hard work. We're just two unfortunate ones who have low supply for bb. If you find it too stressful, like what Hope said, there's always fm. Won't make you less of a mother. Don't know about you but I know a lot of ppl our generation grew up with fm. We grew up fine too!

I had a very bad day y'day. Bb was crying so much and I wondered if cos my supply was so low, not enough for him. At night, we fed him fm cos not enough ebm. I felt like giving up too. But I tell myself I have to continue trying. Next week bb will be one month old. If I still cannot, then I will exclusive pump and feed bb fm too. I don't want to give up just yet...

Congrats, Min! Pls take good care and eat well for the coming months!

Lil, I'm quite the opp. FIL came up with names we didn't like. We're not very good with Chinese names so decided to go to a naming master. Who knows it's worse! All the names are so old fashion and weird (in my opinion). So hubby gave a name that sounds like his English name instead!

MofMM, you're lucky still can retain your KF Gold. I have been downgraded to silver and I think will be downgraded further to ordinary blue in Apr.
Missing London is ok I think. US more impt. Can buy lotsa things for bb! Haha...

congrats min! thats a piece of good news! feel so happy for u! meanwhile rest n eat well.

chevy its been abt 3months for u n ur supply still hasnt stabilised? I also feel hard n let down when I din latch or pump. been trying to drag n drag till 5hrs at night cos cant wake up on time to pump out. haiz. actually quite inconvenient for us to go out at times. do u think so?

Hi Lil Ponyo, oh dear, those names...hmmm...more options needed I think! Besides, u have 14 days from the date of birth to register the name so maybe you could show your FIL the baby pic and ask for a few names that suit the face? :p
Alas for the NYC trips! 2 weeks is quite long but you would have 4 months of bfeeding by Oct and hopefully a nice store of frozen expressed breast milk for your baby to go another 2 months or so! You are fortunate that your DH is all game to take care of the little one when you are gone. My hubby had a look of sheer panic when I told him about my Sept trip. Guess my in laws would only be too thrilled to have the babies then meh

Hi Koirc, hopefully tomorrow will be a better day! Jia you but don't think of stopping bfeeding as a sign that you are giving up. You have done your best and you alone can judge when is the time to look for other feasible alternatives that would benefit both bb and you!
I also was downgraded to silver this year and hoping to get back gold for 2014 by flying the min 3 long haul flights on biz class. That's y disappointed to miss London in June. But guess u are right - not so much to shop there for babies, perhaps just Mothercare and H&M but even that isn't v cheap (tho cheaper than SG) given the exchange rate. Will wait for the US trip!

Hi Babysmurf, your DH now say but when baby here, he might change his mind. Sometimes need to let time and circumstances persuade him rather than argue about it before baby here! For your gastric problem, can I ask you is it acid reflux where you have keep burping and have explosive vomiting? I seem to be having this if I don't take Dr Tan's med - this evening spent my time cleaning up vomit from the floor, door, bed sheet and floor cloth as couldn't make it to toilet in time! So miserable!

Mofmm: yes I keep burping n occasionally throw out liquid lol. There is always sour taste in my mouth. I couldn't take the vits even water lol. Dr Tan said is gastric problem, giving me gastric med for 2wks n stronger vomit med. so far so gd after 2days on the gastric med. vomit med I take at nite cos will make me super sleepy.

Good morning ladies!

For those bf-ing, does your baby sleep halfway through feeds? Is it normal? My baby will suckle and then fall asleep and I can't seem to wake him up to continue feeding. He will sleep for short while then wake up crying... Then I will continue feeding. I feel like I am feeding all the time... So tired! Please share your experience.

Koirc, it's normal! My baby does that too but now gets better. How many weeks old is your baby now? Hmm, try to tickle bb's chin to wake her up. This is part of the reason I'm latching my baby once a day only coz sometimes she falls asleep after latching 1 side and I ended up having to pump out the other side.

Hello ladies, happy Friday!

Just came back from my doctor's appt. everything is good and baby is now 1.4kg at 30w4d. He has turned back to breech position but it's still early and doctor said baby will keep on turning until its time to deliver. My placenta is still low so looks like a c sec will be scheduled for me. From the scan, doctor said there is hair growing at the back of the head. Lol! And he was sucking his mouth, very cute
from now on, my appt is every 2 weeks. Very happy about that!

Mofmm, I had a talk with DH last night and he agreed with me. No Chinese president or premier names please! Ha ha! He said he will talk to his dad. Thank goodness! Poor you, I really feel for you when I read about your vomiting
soon soon, hang in there!

Koirc, thanks for sharing about the old fashion names from naming master. It didn't occur to me but now that you mention it, I would imagine their suggestions to be old fashion. Lol! We are also hopeless in Chinese and also this is the first grandson on his side of family so no choice but to let DH's dad do the naming. Glad that you and DH found a name that both of you like! I've now realised that it's not easy!! Ha ha! Hope you have a much better day today!!

Babysmurf, me too, keep burping with sour stuff coming up. Eeew. And constant bad taste in mouth too. So far still manageable. I avoid spicy, oily and fried food because they taste horrible when they come up second time around. Now I crave for laksa, curry, fried chicken wings!! Lol!

Lil: I took once for laksa, curry on off. But of all the food, my girl like potato. She my potato girl hahaha. Like fries, mashed potato n potato chips.

Hope,

I had such a tingly feeling when you talked about tickling your bb's chin to wake her up.. I can't wait to be able to do the same!!

Hi Min: Congrats
Happy for you!

Hi ReikiBaby: My baby also big. At 36+ week she is 3.2kg liao. Sweat!! Dr Loh ask me what I eat.....Can I check if you opt for C-Sec yourself or Dr Loh recommended C-Sec for you. I am comptemplating if I should go for C-Sec as well though Dr Loh said I still can try Natural as I am tall. In a dilemma now....

Hope, thanks for sharing. I don't pump the other side cos bb will suddenly wake up and demand to be fed. So I usually wait for him to wake up again which is usually about half-an-hour. Sometimes I feel boob pain the moment he finishes. I thought it was sore nipple but found out it's the boobs instead. I asked the Lactation Consultant and she said it could be let down. But it's annoying... Let down only after bb finishes?! :S

Lil, hope you find a nice name for your bb soon.

Babysmurf, my baby liked potatoes too when I was pregnant. I ate a lot of it in tri 1. I had ms and whenever I feel sick and no appetite, potatoes do wonders!

Kittykatty, dr loh did suggest csect though he also said im tall can try natural. My bb was 3.5 @ 36weeks and 3.8 @ 37weeks.
Scan weight is not accurate so ask dr loh whats the min scan weight cos i usualli ask him tat cos usualli baby actual weight will be lesser than scan weighg...so ask the min weight which is 10% less. Anyway cos dr loh told me bb be at least 3.8kg so i opted csect as i worried i be too tired to push a big bb out. Last thing i want its to be pain for hours and end up emerg csect....so had elective csect.

Mayb u just cfm w him that baby definitely can pass thru birth canal if natural? That your pelvic bone is big enuf for bb?

Hi Babysmurf and Koirc, oh dear, same here with regard to potatoes. I never craved fries before but the past 2 weeks, I had very bad cravings for MacD and Mos Burger fries which I indulged in. Also been wanting to eat mashed potato from KFC, probably later buy back. :p What's up with babies and potatoes I wonder. Heh.

About the anti nausea meds, is it the small yellow pills Babysmurf? They also make me super sleepy. Made the mistake of taking them during the day once and I felt so dizzy and faint that I had to sit on the floor. Glad your gastric med is working! When is your next appointment?

Hi Lil, your baby sounds adorable, already have hair and at a good weight. About the C-sec, personally I feel that if this is what is best for mum & baby according to the doctor, there is no glory/badge of honor by trying to do a natural for the sake of feeling childbirth. I know 2 friends already who ended up with an emergency C sec after laboring so maybe, a planned/elective C sec is in a way better. Just my 2cts.

Kittykatty: don't worry. My friend just gave birth naturally with epi n her baby is 3.85kg. She average size.

Mofmm: my next appt 23 April. Anti nas med I took the white color one in morning at night then took the yellow n sleep all the way to morning.

Koirc - same for me. My baby falls asleep whilst feeding. Sometimes can drag to an hr. After burping and changing dispeer....it 's almost time for the next feed.

Whiteclover, does your bb fall asleep after feeding on both sides? I don't know why bb sleeps so much today. I feel I hardly fed him today. He was crying so hard at 3pm and CL gave him ebm. Everyday is different... I think motherhood is the toughest job in the world!

Dian tang, did you go to the toy sale? I am still under confinement but hoping I can sneak out tomorrow to go have a look since I stay in the west.

Btw, is the FB page private? Will my friends be able to see if I post things there?

Sade, eerrrr wat do u mean by establishing supply har? Every pump I get ard 160ml to 220ml.
I too cldn't make myself get up to pump in early morning! And sometimes, I din even hear my alarm! Hahaha......

Yes, I fully agree with u on the going out part. Very inconvenient lor. Always have to rush back to pump. If not, will need to bring pump out. Hiaz...... But I imagine for u wld be easier isn't it since u can latch bb?

hello mummies!! been so busy at work till neck high!

BB now at w31...wah very strong kicks and my tummy now become exersaucer for her!!... and she like to play hide and seek with our hands whenever we touched her.

Recently sleep is a problem...she will kick me in the middle of night and I cannot sleep +_+|||...
Feeling very very heavy and legs swollen a bit. Sighz.

This weekend will probably start to wash her clothes bit by bit. Hehe...

Cannot wait to see BB on 15 Apr!!

chevy so do u stored a lot of frozen milk too? I read that it took 2-3months for our milk supply to establish n stabilise.
actually I m producing more milk than my bb demand. so I think my milk supply is not fully established yet. cos producing more than required. I think as long we r pumping our supply will be more than demand.
ya I can latch bb when I m out but sometimes bb only want one side n the other side is full. so I just pump out some with my hand n throw away in the toilet. at least make myself comfortable. do u still leak?

Sade, yes, i have accumulated quite a stash of FEBM liao. Oh that's establish & stabilise
Am also producing more than demand & hence need to throw away excess. Feeling the guilt every time i see milk down the sink

So u need to bring milking barang out hor..... at least can latch 1 side. Not so bad lah.....

Yes, I leak at times....esp carrying bb. Do u?

Oh how long do u pump for?