(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Dear ladies,

Thanks for all your encouragement.. My hcg today came back at 51,000plus and has more than doubled.. Although i understand it's not enough to just rely on this, it has given me more hope to continue to fight on.. I'll take one step at a time.. Hope the next scan will give good news..

bb,

Congrats on the arrival of your little one!

Min81, good to hear that your hcg more than double. Stay positive and continue to take care ya. Will keep you in my prayers. Big hug!

Bb, congratulations on motherhood! Wish you a speedy recovery and enjoying bonding time with baby. 3.51kg is good weight!!!!

Jia you, Usagi and Tutu!!! Getting excited for you! I just did my hospital tour today and it got me very excited especially when we were shown the baby nursery with the newborns there. So I can imagine your excitement since its only a matter of 1-2 weeks!

Babysmurf, ya emergency charges are like that. Never mind as long as you and baby are safe and well.

Bb, congratulations
Enjoy motherhood!

Min81, that's a good sign that your hcg has doubled. Hoping for the best for you. Stay positive!

Tutu, Usagi: I m excited for you gals. Have a pleasant and smooth delivery! After you gals, its going to be my turn soon

It still feels very unreal for me I'm only 2 weeks away! Usagi, my edd is 16 apr, so we are only one day apart. Let's see who pops 1st !!

Thanks for all the rooting! I just hope bb stays in me until dr Loh is back from his holiday!

Kittykatty, how are u feeling? All ready? As you are not too far away too. How amazing time flies now looking back .

Hi ladies, from 8 months onwards we are suppose to take some coconut drink, right? Do you just buy the coconut from Ntuc which is the Thai coconut? I heard that is better to get those green Malaysia or local coconut. But, I have no idea where to get these coconut.

Hello Tutu, ya, how fast times flies. I m getting excited and nervous at the same time. I m almost ready
Already got the important stuffs. How about yourself?
And, are you going for natural delivery?

Min81, very thrilled for u! Keep telling ur baobei how much it is loved n tell it to focus on growing well. Take care. Rest more n try to eat healthily although I know it's hard w your ms.

U all make me so excited. One by one popping soon. Usagi, tutu, kittykatty, dian, me, girl girl, mofmm, lil, precious baby n psp. Who else on the waiting list already.

Thank you ladies! I'm enjoying baby and motherhood more than I expected, the feeling when baby is suckling is indescribable..tho I think when baby is in hospital it's really honeymoon period! Just feed then bring back nursery and let nurses take care of everything else. I'm gonna extend 1 more night already..keke

Min, so happy to hear your good news! Will continue to pray for you and baby, take good care ok!

Lilponyo, are you in delivering in gleneagles? If so, you'd hv bumped into my hubby n my bb, he told me he saw ppl on hospital tour as he was wheeling bb back into nursery

Kittykathy: I hear from tmc consultant is from week 37 onward . I intend to buy from Ntuc as it is most convenient for me . They have the white colour, big and light brown , small ones. I think the white colour big one is what most pple are drinking.

Bb congrats!!!! Yes the feeling when bb suckling is so unreal so bliss!!! Even till now...looking at my baby...i still cant believe that little baby in my arms now, used to be inside me..and im a mummy now. Enjoy it....though everyday its a new challenge but it is a beautiful one.

Kittykatty, drink from 9 mths onwards. Cos i hv friends who drank it and pop the nxt few days.... so play safe to drink from 37-38 wks onwards...at least when bb is nearer to full term and the weight is good.

Min81, happy to hear your hcg went up. Continue to eat and rest well.

Kittykatty, I started coconut water from week 36. Only had it once a week cos my mum said too cooling. I bought the Thai young coconut from supermarket. Also had the local/Malaysia ones when I go out and eat at hawker centres.

Btw ladies, I managed to breastfeed most of yesterday. Smally victory! But when I tried today, my nipples hurt again.

Thanks sade for the info on baby's haircut. I actually called babyspa yesterday. They charge $38 for house call. I plan to snip off a bit of his hair just to go through the ceremony to please the old folks and to neaten him up a little. My baby has a nice head full of hair and they're so fine and silky. I cannot bear to shave them all off! But I was told the hair will drop off...

Dian Tang, ReikiBaby, Koirc: Thanks for the tips on coconut! To be on the safe side I will start to drink it next week when I m 37 weeks. Don t want to jump queue and pop out so soon....hehe.

Sade, any idea why if not cut on full mth, must cut on 4th mth? Then if choose to cut on 4th mth must shave off ?

Koirc, whats the interval between each feed? Maybe u try alternate feeding to rest nipple.

Soon soon...another batch of mummies gg to graduate soon.

Kitty katty, dr loh told me its young coconut. He said its believed the oil in the coconut may help with early delivery. I told him i had enough of pregnancy ! Lol. I feel like it today but wont take it until dr loh is back on wed

I will try for natural - really scared after watching those delivery videos at pre natal class. Also after hearing all the bf pain n sleepless nights, my excitement to meet the bb is significantly managed!

koirc actually depends on individual bb. some wont drop a lot. cos both of my niece din shave at all n had nice hair now 5yr old alrdy.

reikibaby I also dont know y but heard before that at 4th month, the bb skull is more developed hence more safer to let others shave or cut. whether to shave off or not depends on yourself. some of my friends choose to shave off at 4th months.

Will hospital give us a baby diaper bag upon delivery? I am thinking to buy one. Kate spade is of my choice but i think with shipping should be ard 500. With bb now in the family, buy branded must think twice. haha

Bb, yes! I'm also with Dr Foong at Gleneagles! Our tour was the 11am session. And yes, I could very well have 'met' your DH and baby! Ha ha! Happy to hear that you are enjoying baby, motherhood and stay!! May I ask, how was Dr Foong during the process of your labour? Was he still very nice and encouraging?

I'm having final monthly scan next Friday and then after that it's biweekly! Getting excited! The downside is I discovered stretchmarks at the underside of my belly today
all those oil tat I put on religiously after every shower didn't help!

Lilponyo, dr foong was at his most encouraging, supportive and reassuring during and after labour/delivery! Especially with my failed induction, really felt like I was in safe hands. Also his c-sect skills are awesome, I was up n about within 12hrs and only mild pain after. Best doc I've ever seen

Has anyone tried "tummy time" with baby?ie putting baby on her tummy.

My baby has been vigorously sucking her fingers. My mum asked me to give her pacifier instead. Am undecided. Any suggestions.

Sade, thx...now i know how to explain to my very traditional mil why i dun wan shave in 1st mth... heee...

Usagi, tmc gives a diaper bag...where are you delivering? Longchamp tote can make a good one too.

Whiteclover, i gv bb pacifier in 1st week liao. Cos hving to wait for me heat up ebm, he will get so impatient.
My mum tried bb on tummy at 2nd week...he was able to lift head and turn head left and right. But we only tried 2x.

Hi Min81, happy to hear that your HCG doubled. Pls stay strong in faith and be positive!

Hi Bb, your post about motherhood is so encouraging!
it's great that you are enjoying so much of it...hoping to be like u.

Hi Usagi, KKH gives diaper bag - brown with pink trim. Lots of patents use it as I see it hung on strollers all over. I would encourage u to go with what makes u happy - if it's Kate Spade u are eying, then go with it rather than settle for one. After all these months, a little reward to yourself is well deserved. But be warned though that someone might gift u with a diaper bag...I bought quite a bit of clothes m swaddles for babies and now my friends are starting to gift me with even more brand new clothes and even swaddles+sleep sacks! So u might end up with more than one diaper bag!

Hi Reikibaby, what did u do with the cordlife hooded towels/blankets in the end? I don't know where to place them still!

Hi Lil Ponyo, aww, I hope the stretch marks are minimal...I wonder if massages after birth might help with these somewhat? How is your nursery arrangement coming along? My two cots came over the weekend and its nothing short of a nightmare now trying to fit in the bunk bed and keep the cupboards. Getting a 3 bedder is a must in the near future. My house is a total mess now as we had to move stuff out of the cupboards so as to get them shifted around. And then I realized I need to get new curtains done for baby room n everything is still in boxes or unwashed. And as u said the weeks are flying by...

Seems that most hospitals give diaper bag, gleneagles also!

MofMM, ya so far I'm thankful that seem to hv bonded well with baby. Especially for us ivfers, journey has been tougher and harder than most, so bb extra precious. But real work begins when we go home from hospital I think, hope can cope with looking after newborn without the help of the nurses.

Mofmm, i yet to use those hooded blankets. Oni used the romper and mittens booties. Mayb i might just put in diaper bag n used as a changing mat. Now thinking where did i put them...hmmm.....

Hope, hws ur massage? Had mine today. Was told tat if i hv numbness on limbs...could b due to water retention... which i felt on my hands n fingers... anyway after massage feels good. Looking forward to the daily massage this week. How long did you hv the binder on after massage?

Whiteclover, I started tummy time for my girl aft one month. I tried everyday for 1-3min only n she is ok with it.
As for pacifier, I also being pressured by my mum as my girl is sucking her fingers esp when she's hungry. She will suck v v loud when she's hungry. V funny to see it. I also not sure to give pacifier or not. Will see how. now just try to give her a toy to hold so as to distract her from licking her fingers.
Is ur bb also sucking v loud when hungry?

Reiki Baby u have pacifier alrdy, that's fast. Ya as a newborn my bb also v impatient n cried v loud for milk. But I din think of giving pacifier yet n also v fussy at times. Should give or shouldn't give.

Thanks Reikibaby and MofMM. I am delivering at SGH but so far, I haven go for maternity labour ward tour. Hahahaha. I think is ard 11am, but each time, my appt I always choose the earliest slot ard 9-915am. So lor. I only got 2 weeks left, so thinking if I should go see see.

Today went for my week 38 scan, so far so good. BB already 3kg but gynae says no sign of BB wanting to come out yet. I said nvm, I am not in a rush, up to BB lor. I will treasure my time with BB in tummy. I am sure I will miss his wave like motions in my tummy. I really treasure the time I have now to him coming out. My fluid also good, gynae says still got space for BB to grow.

So the conclusion, next mon go back again for week 39 visit. But he did caution, if in pain, can go maternity ward to find him. Hahahahah.

Hi Reiki, I did my massage on fri and the binding was so tight! I took out after 12 hours coz I felt abit unwell actually. So I'm stopping the massage to be safe. Though I think the binding is effective. Hope you will have a flat flat tummy soon!

Mofmm n usagi: for diaper bag, just go with whichever u r comfortable with. Cos in the end is either daddy or us carrying the bag. Heehee. Unless u don't mind change the bags

Hope, wah u put on 12hr? My massage lady say i can tahan qt least 8 hrs will be gd. Unwell cos of massage or bind? Yah tight n now tummy feels warm.
Wan ask hws ur bm supply? Mine seems stagnant @ 100-120ml. U took any tea or med to increase?

Sade, can share ur bm supply? Tat red date tea recipe for milk supply works? Think i lost the link. Can share again?

Sade, frm both side. If frm 1side i will be thrilled. Cos bb now drinks 100ml every 2hrs and dun seems to be sufficient.. also if my supply can be mre then i can store up extra for my mum to use if she helps me look after bb.

Wow Usagi, this is the second time your baby won something ! Indeed your baby brings luck to your hubby and you.

Not sure about SGH but u can check during your maternity tour if they will be giving diaper bags? Good to hear your baby is enjoying his home in there with you!

Hi Reikibaby, hehe I see. So after wash confirm its a blanket not towel. Thanks!

Hi Bb, with such a positive bonding with your baby already, I'm positive things will work out once mummy n baby get home. I fully agree with you that our baby is really extra precious to us as ivfers, all the jabs, the 2ww, the praying, waiting and hopes for each cycle...

Sisters who have popped, my friend told me to prepare a tin of FM to bring to hospital - she brought enfalac. Is this necessary? If so, what type of FM to buy to start off bb with? I was looking at FM and even for Enfalac, there are 4 diff types of FM like those lactose intolerant ones, those soy ones...

Reiki baby oic, maybe try to latch more to stimulate. Baby is the best pump. Maybe bb just need to be cuddle or rock at times. Drinking every 2 hrs 100ml is quite a lot. How do u know that ur be is not satified?

Whiteclover does ur be talks a lot? Just did a search on pacifiers n seems like it ok to give. I might not give her but when I go back to work, guess my pil will pressure me to give bah. Haiz. Easier to take care if bb takes pacifier.

Koirc, good to hear that u manage to let bb latch on whole day. It's tiring during confinement but def worth it. Now my bb only nurse abt 4 times per day n 2 times on bottle. Unlike during newborn days where she can nurse 8-12times.

Usagi can understand cos I also miss my bb movements during pregnancy even thou it's worrying at times. Do sleep more and looking forward for to your good news soon.

Bb, so good and comforting to hear that Dr Foong is wonderful as always especially during the labour process. Oooh...I really can't wait! I'm only starting my Week 31 and I think I've quite had enough of pregnancy already. Ha ha! So big, clumsy, tired and lately not much appetite. Oh and I didn't even know gleneagles give diaper bag! I didn't think to ask!

Hi Mofmm, how are you feeling? Ya, hopefully my stretchmarks stays within manageable limits and hopefully postnatal massage will help somewhat. But I think once you have it, you have it. Sigh, it is what it is. Can only laugh. Ha ha!

Our nursery is coming along really nicely! We got a lot done over the long weekend. The Ikea single bed for CL, baby's mattress, all the baby beddings that we ordered from Amazon and our new light fixture for the baby room were all delivered on the Saturday. We spent the weekend assembling the bed and trying out the baby bedding and bumper. We know we still have to wash them but we can't help ourselves and wanted to see it on the mattress. We also bought new curtains from Ikea for the room. We don't have a cupboard in the room so we used our existing bookshelf with newly bought containers for baby clothes. Talk about baby clothes, I'm still waiting for the hand me downs from my colleague before washing everything at one go! Agree, seriously need a bigger place! We have also been de-cluttering and purging our stuff. So much junk! Oh and we are starting our birthing class next Sat! Looking forward to that!

Sade, your description of your baby sucking on her fingers loudly is sooo cute! Ha ha!

Reiki, yah unwell coz bind too tight. Hmm my pump for both sides is now around 140ml every 3 hourly. If 4 hourly sometimes 200? How often do you pump? I used to take sacred tea but not sure if its effective and I stopped after finishing it. My baby drinking 90ml now and will wake up around 2 to 2.5 hours if on BM.

hope so u have a lot of excess bm? I was told not to over stimulate. I had a lot of frozen milk. did u throw a lot of milk away? u must be v diligently pumping every 3-4hrs.

lil haha she did it a few times n surprised us. luckily not every time. good that u had done up your nursery. maybe u should try to wash ur bb clothes first. dont wait for hand me downs. time flies n now u r in week 31 alrdy. u still doing prenatal yoga?

Sade, you got a good point there. Maybe I should start washing!! Yes, I'm still doing yoga but not everyday. Just 3 times a week. In fact, I'm on my way to a class now!

Lil actually I also have a lot of hand me downs clothes given by relatives during last few weeks of pregnancy. by then i had alrdy bought a lot of clothes for bb. I din regret n I only let bb wear some hand me downs clothes cos I find that some clothes r rather yellowish, old n design not nice. n also actually I find it quite unhygienic cos bb will spill milk on their clothes. n also sometimes kanna poo on clothes. so imagine if its handme downs clothes. just my thou only. maybe I m fussy.

Hi Lil Ponyo, may i know where you go for the prenatal yoga? Im sourcing for one, hoping it will help to strengthen my back muscle.

Hi Mofmm, u brought 2cots for your twins? I'm also having twins, thought of only buying 1 and let the twin share. Have you brought the stroller already? would you be buying a twin stroller or 2 single strollers?

Hi Sade, I have to agree with you 150% on this one and I don't think u are fussy! I received a large bag of hand me downs from a friend and after going through the clothes, I only picked 2-3 to keep. After repeated washing, the material of most clothes are v rough. And I realize that what might be one person's meat is another man's poison...We all have preferred brands or styles and now, I have politely declined all offers of hand me downs knowing that these might not be what I want my babies to wear cos of comfort or hygiene or style.

Hi Adeline, yes I bought 2 cots after checking with another twin mummy here (Joanne) and doing research on the net. Seems like it is inevitable cos after 3 months they will need to sleep separately when they toss n roll, n also if one fall sick. Cots can be converted to junior beds so I hope these last 5yrs or so! However, my mum met a family w twins n the mother just bought one cot for 2 to share. When they got older n can flip, she bought a mattress on floor for them to sleep and roll. So I guess it can be done that way too.

I bought two single strollers. Babies r us located at City Square mall (Kitchener road) sells stroller connectors under the munchkin brand. I was tempted to buy the double stroller but it is massive (need to consider if can fit into your car trunk), and a pain pushing around, esp in SG. I couldn't see myself pushing one into the lift and it occupying the entire lift and having folks waiting glare at me. And maneuvering a double in the aisles of a supermarket or dept store is a nightmare! I think it's only good if u intend to go open air places like parks, expos...maybe when they get older about 2, then I might get a combi or mcclaren twin triumph which is narrower but not suited for newborn. Else for now I have 2 city mini joggers suitable for newborns n up. If I am alone, I plan to wear 1 baby with the Bjorn carrier and push the other.

Sade,I freeze my milk didn't throw away. Hmm what's considered over stimulated? How often do you latch or pump? Now bb drinks FM only for night feeds.... The rest of the time on BM. But I thought of dragging the night time abit longer to pump to zzz longer haha

By the way do you ladies feel hungry or eat after every pump? I find that after pumping or latching will be hungry.

Hi Lil, yeah, it is what it is. We can only do what we can but maybe the marks would have been longer, darker etc if you hadn't taken such care with creams and oil! Do continue with the daily efforts!
I'm doing alright thanks for asking! I got stronger medication for heartburn yay and while I vomit everyday still (esp after I drink something cold), at least it isn't those gassy explosive heaving. Got to take whatever little breaks I can!
I'm happy for you that you and hubby got so much done over the long weekend! Your nursery sounds nice n ready to welcome your little prince! Your maid is only coming after the CL leaves? I'm trying to get mine in asap n cos I didn't want transfers, I have a 4 week wait. In the meantime, the house is a mess and I have a million clothes from all those days of indulgence without kids n with all the overseas trips for work so I can totally empathize with your purging. Before, the 2nd room was for my hubby's clothes n now, I have to share cupboards with him n give up one closet so my dresses n suits n skirts are under the bed. Argh!

Hi Mofmm, may i know where u brought the cot? sounds like a good idea to have a cot that can covert to junior bed.

I find the twin stroller quite bulky too.

Are you hiring a confinement lady? My hubby wants to get one but i heard not many confinement lady wants to do for twins and its.more costly too.