(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Thks ladies for your well wishes. Soon will be ur turn.

No name yet. Will use taomobi for Chinese name.

Whiteclover ok noted. Most probably won't bring then.

Congrats Sade! You have ur little one in ur arms finally!
Never mind if it's not natural. Safety most impt.
Why do u say service not good? Do they have LRD drink?

Anyone with EDD in end Jan or early Feb? If not, then prob BabyG n I are next bah... We're due in mid Feb.

Whiteclover,
So total u stayed 4 nites? How much did u pay in cash in total? When u n baby were discharged, did u dress baby in her own clothes or tmc provided?

Sade,
Congrats!!! I can understand the disappointment but nothing beats both mummy n baby being safe n healthy. Rest well while still in the hosp ok
my friend who did emergency csection at tmc told me she paid abt 6k in cash.

Feel more days to feb le so fast! Wishing everyone here have a smooth delivery! BabyGalore n Luv guess both of you will be the next le, Jiayou jiayou!

Sade ur girl is in time to celebrate CNY
can collect angbao le.

Sade, congratz! Finally popped

Yes, I understand how u felt abt having c-sect. Wasn't prepare myself too heheheheee...... Most imptly, all r well! Yes, I missed the little movements too

Have a good rest!

Thks ladies.

Luv Ya safety is most important. But natural recovery is faster. Now still feel like a helpless person cos need nurse to help to clean up n change pads.
I had requested for LRD tea sin yesterday n they din bring in. Requested twice but still don't have. Anyway my pil brought for me.
I wanted a single ward but aft c section, it's not available. Hence was staying in double bed to wait for room availability. N the service there is not good. I wasn't being clean up by them for the whole day. N also there is no one to help with bf. I told her tbf n the nurse said u should know how to bf. I told her first time n then she pushed bb to suck on my nipples. N bb was sleepy n then she just said to try again in 1&1/2hrs time. Aft that no one came to help n I was left alone with bb to try it out. N bb stayed with me whole day only during late evening then they started to ask abt bb feeding time.
N also at 1plus a nurse told me the room is ready to be transferred but only got to change at 5pm.
N then no one came to change my pads for few hours. Don't know if I m picky or not. But their services is really no good at level 6.
Eskimo baby ok thks.

Sade, actually can also leave bb in nursery where they can bathe bb n monitor bb's bowel movements. Then bring in to u for feeding. Maybe less stressful for u that way.

Sade: relax don't stress. Breastfeeding u can try to follow you tube one while waiting for the latching consultant. Maybe they shortage of manpower. Get the senior nurse to help u.

Sade- r u still charged at single room rates while waiting for room? LRD tea is not provided. The service is very different, am surprised.

At level 5, the nurses are all very supportive. Every time I press the help button, they will appear instantaneously maybe cos my room is just next to the reception.

They wash me up on the bed on day 1 night. Next day I was moving around after the drip was taken out so could wash myself. Even washed hair.

For BF, they helped me latched and when I need to move baby to other side to latch, they appear again to help me position. The only horrible person I faced was the LC assigned to my room. 2nd day, a very good one was assigned cos I companied to the nurse who relayed the message to the senior nurse. The good one even stayed more than an hour to go thru bf, how to massage, even demo cup feeding and some baby care tips.

Baby stayed in the nursery and was brought to me every 3 hours to latch and then returned to nursery throughout my stay.

Impt - on baby's bed, there is a clipboard where everything on what they do for baby in the nursery is recorded eg poo poo, temp, weight, how much they drink etc etc. They don't give u this so when u r alone w baby, ask yr HB to photograph each page so that u know baby's patterns.

Sade u must be feeling very tired n stressful now, try n cool dwn okay. Is there any button u can press to get the nurse to cm n service u since u r paying for private bills, I thk it's okay to demand for thgs or help ba.

Sade, don't stress urself. Ur a paying customer and is your right to ask when u need help. So don't feel bad.

I guess it's luv and me next and I got a strong feeling she would pop be4 me.

As for me, I'm getting scared of the unknown. So many things running in my head. Overwhelmed but at the same time can't wait to hold the little one in my arms and call him mine.

Hooray 3 cheers for sade !!!! Its so nice to hear the "pop" one after another - im loving it esp when mum n bub are doing well

Sade - take gd care n dont forget abt us. Do come back to share with us your joy n experience

BabyGalore N Luv maybe yours will be CNY baby then can get gift from gov
be the 1st baby.

Chevy how r u n baby doing? Has ur baby gain enuff weight to be discharge? Btw r u having baby girl or boy?

Thks ladies.
Oh I was mentioning abt the bad service when I was in the double bed ward. Today a nurse came to help with bf.
I m ok just highlighting the bad service of double ward.
Ya I know can ask nurse to put bb back to nursey. Just mentioning that we seems like forgotten patient. Hehe.

Whiteclover Ya lor. V dif service. At least for this single ward service is much better. Thks for the great tips!
Hav ur milk flow kicked in? I don't know abt the charges yet cos still staying here.

My milk flow is still pathetic. But started lactagreek and domiperene already. So still supplementing with formula. R u doing total bf or doing partial formula?

Congrats Sade! Welcome to the club

Luv - Jia you! Very soon u will see your little bundle soon ...

I have been busy with my twins since we discharged on 6/1. Luckily my wound recovered within a week and I have been actively involved with taking care of the bbs even though I have a CL and maid. It is really a joy to look at them after going through so much... Jia you to all sisters!!!

Sade, mai stress ok.... Hope their service will improve.

My experience at KKH was surprisingly ok. I choose c class as bb needs to be nicu and the charges r tied to the mummy's ward. Although cant say much abt the food. They even serve me barley water! Hahahaaaa.......

I have more "traumatic" experience on ebm. As bb needs all the colostrum I can give, I can't seem to get it extracted out. The nurses n LC were helping by massaging n squeezing my breasts. Supposedly to unblock the ducts. It was so darn painful lor! My tears nearly fell. Luckily managed to have a few miserable syringes.

Bbshower,
I have a 小龙女
Bb wt has decreased since birth but it's supposed to be normal wo.... Water reduction. Now she is weighing 1078g so I guess it's gona b a while more for her to be discharged.

How's ur preparation? All done? Counting down liao rite?

Chevy actually during ivf we bought an insurance that covers preterm birth right? Since urs is premature birth isit cover or only cover up till certain mths? If not sure gonna be very ex. Hope you girl girl gain bk the weight n get discharge soon. Btw is Mathew lau sewing skill good n is he caring enuff?

Ya m almost prepared just that coz of GD need to cntrl my meals very xinku! Kept feeling hungry...

Chevy - haven seen the impact yet. Dr loh prescribed lactagreek 2 capsules twice daily. Each capsule 600mg of fenugreek.

Some recommended sacred tea, but I didn't take that. Quite demoralising; after slogging to pump and get little output.

Whiteclover, did u ask dr Loh to prescribe or he will just prescribe for you? Coz I'm thinking of buying the sacred tea. Hmm, don't stress ok? Jia you! My Gf told me need to drink lots of fluid and always try to pump even after latching to stimulate more milk flow. I'm sure you will have more supply soon! Cheer up!

Bbshower, thanks! For insurance claim there are criteria to be met. Meaning there are different levels of nicu too. Level 2 and 3 are are considered to be claimable. Anyway, we have to wait for discharge report to justify claim.

Control for a little while more okie......can take small but frequent meals..... Jia you!
Ur little princess will be soon

As I choose c class, dr lah wasn't the attending dr during the ops. Instead it's the drs on duty that did the c-sect. Dr lau did come by once to check on me.

Whiteclover,
Maybe still early that's y milk flow is slow? Did u massage?

I was asked to take 3 capsules 3 times daily but din mentioned how many grams per capsules. Maybe I just get from iherb. I'm slowly get milk flow but scare not enough to meet ah b demand.

I had a very eventful day today. Went for hospital tour, see doctor for scan and did my maternity photoshoot.

I'm happy my baby is doing well. Just wanted to check what's the average weight of baby at week 32/33? Website says about 1.8kg.

Ladies, I have two more questions...

Baby bathtub - just any bathtubs will do right? There are cheap ones from neighborhood shop that costs $9 to the expensive ones from Mothercare that costs $90. So I wonder if it really matters!

Insurance - I remember we had this discussion before. I know a lot of maternity insurance don't cover IVF maternity. But once baby is born, we can get normal insurance for baby right? Or will baby be excluded again just because he/she is IVF baby? :S

Reikibaby, my baby is 2.5kg leh. Website says he should put on about 250g every week. Then by the time he's week 40, he will be more than 4kg! How to do vaginal birth like that?!

Koice wah at week 32/33 ur bb already 2.5kg seems big must be eating alot of good food. Did your doc comment abt the weight? I seeing doc cming week n will be week 33 wondering how big is my girl. I think also due to GD I try to cntrl my meal n this 2weeks din gain much weight, hope my girl dun get too big. Coz total i already gain 16kg...

Koric if gynae didn't say anything should be ok? Hmm my last scan was 31 weeks plus and near to 2 kg.
For bathtub I think it doesn't matter lei... Normal one will do. I got a hand me down kind which looks like a normal one.

Koirc, for bathtub i tot of getting the puku one which bb csn 'sits' in it. Cos my mum feels that the traditional one, i wont be able to handle bb well. The puku one abt $20+.

Chevy, actually, on the box packaging, it says 2 capsules 3 times daily. But dr loh prescribed it as 2 times daily, prob cos I am also taking domiperene which is 1 tablet 3 times daily.

Hi ladies, I'm back from my 2 weeks work trip! So many posts to catch up on! My DH has not seen me in 2 weeks and is shocked at how big I've grown!

Sade, congratulations on your delivery and good to hear you and baby are both doing well

Bb shower, I'm also thinking of Brazilian. Should be safe, right? The pain I can take because I used to do before I got pregnant.

Whiteclover still trying tfb! I will massage before feeding n drink hot water and also squeeze out some colostrum before feeding. So that bb don't need to suck too long for colostrum to come in. N also I ate one piece mochi. N also I always let bb lay on my body for bonding.
Oh btw the soup served here is always nt hot. Boo! Gotta ask for reheat.

Joanne glad to hear from u. Thanks. Ya it's not easy with twins. Enjoy bonding with them.

Chevy oh no. Hope bb can quickly gain her weight and discharge soon. It's not easy for u now esp during confinement n bb not at home. Sure super heart pain. Don't think too much now and try to focus on building up your milk supply for your bb. Jia you

N also now whenever I closed my eyes to sleep, I will keep on thinking abt bb sucking my nipples. It's really a v good bonding.

Lil ponyo thanks. Glad to hear that u r growing well now.

Koirc for bb insurance after born will be treated as normal de. Cos when I signed up for fbi I was entitled 2 free insurance but only can cover bb aft birth. Free 6 months. So I assume shouldbe normal.