(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Hi sisters, just to share. Taken from this website
http://pregnancy.familyeducation.com/first-trimester/9-weeks-3-days.html

"Wearing underwire bras during pregnancy is not recommended because they can dig into the developing breast tissue and damage it, and may even cause problems with milk production; the wires digging into the skin can also be uncomfortable. Non-underwire bras with wide supportive straps, such as sports bras, are good in pregnancy."

psp...did u go see dr? hope they giv you more support. ..go bedrest if necessary. ..early preg need to take more care..

had vertigo attack and vomitted a few times again yesterday. Don't know if that's my 'ms' that comes late in second trimester.

psp, maybe you want to request for crione v insert. I was given that for 1st 10weeks right after ET. It's quite expensive but read fr web it's much better than urogestrone. I was given progynova for 12weeks too.

ladies, just check do you put on lots of weight? I'm now into week 18 but only put on 3.5kg since bfp. My aunt also complained that my tummy looks small for 4 mth plus pregnancy. Should i be worried?

Znatasha its really not easy when experiencing vertigo attack now. Even thou I don't know How its feel, but I know that its uncomfortable.
Have u started your part time job?
Oh for me, my tummy also look quite small for week 26. Ppl looked surprised when I told them that I m in week 26. N also my aunt also said that too. Me gonna check with gynae on next visit. Guess bb will start to put on weight on week 28onwards.

Znatasha, I had similar experience, terrible vertigo attacks earlier this week and vomited almost non-stop! My ENT doctor diagnosed it as benign paroxysmal positional vertigo, it's a disorder of the crystals in the inner ear. He treated me by doing a manoeveure to dislodge the crystals and it really worked. No meds needed and I'm back to normal now. Maybe you can consider going to an ENT doctor to treat you? I also thought it was late onset of ms, but turns out its the vertigo. I hope you get better soon!

Znatasha n Sade, if so far doc says ur bb's growth n weight okay, then dun need to worry. Some ladies have big tummies but bbs also small cos the bulk of the volume is the amniotic fluid or the weight went to mummy. Just focus on eating n resting well. Pple also tell me I dun look very big. I dun really let that affect me cos I know bb's on track n that's what matters ultimately!

sade, my gynae did ask me to take formular milk just to supplement my diet. Oh I'll be starting my part time job soon. Kinda worry if vertigo will attack again as I'll be driving to work.

bb. I called my gynae and he said just monitor. I ever had vertigo before married due to nose allergy but was ok for many years. Maybe the ear blockage cause the vertigo to return again. Not sure if i should see a ent or just monitor...

znatasha, I also had vertigo attacks on and off over the years, last time it would go away after a week or two by itself. But this time round the spinning was the worst I ever experienced so finally decided to seek help from ENT, wish I went earlier and save myself days of misery. Maybe you monitor and if it doesn't get better you should see ENT, no point putting yourself through more days of torture. Especially if you going to drive, I really think it's not safe if you don't treat it...

Hi, I seen e doctor this morning. As my doctor is not in, nurse asked me to head to 24 hrs clinic.

Doctor did e scan, but too early. She says just rest and ask me to take another blood test to see if beta is increasing or not. But no additional supports and until now no one call me abt e blood test results.

Thanks Sade. Yeah will buy a clay pot for making soup.. Now me at 25 weeks, my stomach is getting so much bigger, and luckily I'm quite tall :p. The sono said my bb is about 800g each during my scan last week....

Psp, I know this must be so nerve wrecking for you. All these waiting is not helping. Take every day as a success and a day nearer to see baby. That's what my DH say to each other every night before we sleep
Hugs, please rest more and take care!

Thanks Hope, Sade, Dian tang, I live around Tanjong Pagar area. No pasar malam on right now
is g market an online store?

Znatasha, I get vertigo every now and then and it's horrible. Poor you, I hope you feel better soon. A few GPs also know the move to dislodge it. Actually, I think you can find it online as well. One of my friend treated his own vertigo by following the instruction online.

Hi lil and BB, yap if i don't get better will see specialist.
Lil, you can get those extension fr any neighbourhood stores that sell hair accessories or undergarments.

Psp, today saturday. So probably you have to wait till mon. Currently whats your dosage? Private doctors will normally give a jab to play safe. Yours from kkh? In the meawhile just bedrest more and walk less. All be fine.

Joanne,
If no experience then better get her to come earlier so that can train her to do things the way u want it.

Psp,
24 hours clinic usually won't give u further support if they still can't see the sac, but u could go to a pte gynae to get a jab or additional support.

Psp, ya agreed with eskimonbaby. Request for the jab or extra support from Pte gynae. Bed rest more and don't squat now.

Joanne, sin u r having twins, def bigger than us. :)

Luv, yup I agreed with u. Just that got few remarks abt my tummy made me start to worry a bit. Hehe. Gotta check with my gynae.

Eskimobaby - the maid will come probably in end nov or early dec so I would have some time to train her. Hope I will be lucky with this maid

Sade - as long as the bb weight is ok then don't let that worries you. When I first went back to work in 5th month, everyone said my stomach so small... Then within 1 over month it grows so big. Haha probably it's because my appetite gets better now...

luv, yap you're right. My gynae did mention that since my hb is not very big size, in fact he has been super under weight even after NS, so don't expect a big bb. Right now, i just faithfully take the vitamins and DHA supplements that doctor gave and try to have proper meals. Maybe next mth I'll be oversize...

Sade - went for my first class yesterday. Thks for the tip abt grabbing the seats at the back. It made a whole lot of difference. It was a big class - 30 couples.

znatasha, my DH was actually super underweight in his growing up years too. Donno how he put on weight when he was in his early 20s, hahah... He said he ate double serving back then!

Whiteclover no pro. Wow really quite a huge class. She's so popular. How ur class? Did u took the freebies?

yup - took the bottle and milk.

learnt quite a fair bit. didn't know we are not supposed to walk more than half an hour wo resting. all along, my tummy was hard; yesterday first time touch other ppl's tummies that are soft
. i even asked dr wong if it's normal that baby don't move much at this stage.

did u try out the stimulating baby exercises she went thru at home?

Reikibaby: I'm currently on Prognova and dydrogestrone.
Under Dr Sadhana of KKH.

Thanks ladies for ur advices, nurse called me ytdy that my beta reading is 4497. She says is increasing and shld be ok. Ask me to rest well. I guess there is nothin I can do lor.

Shld I look for another doctor for opinion?

Psp, beta shld be doubling every 2-3 days. Are you still spotting? If yes then maybe you wan seek a 2nd opinion from pte gynae. Currently hw many weeks?

Psp,
Progynova n dydrogestone are the norm even if there's no spotting for ivf pregnancies. It depends on the dosage. I was told to double my dosage for both n on top of that was given a jab when I had bleeding but of cos tat is on the advice of my gynae. It's really ur decision whether to seek another opinion before ur first scan. If the spotting is giving u stress then might as well go n seek 2nd opinion.

Jo,
That's good. I find that if the maid is there to see the arrival of ur babies then they will tend to care for them more.

Whiteclover, oh I see, my tummy is also hard.
I din do her exercise at home, cos I m doing a YouTube 28min prenatal yoga. I forgot some of the exercises alrdy. Hehe. N my hubby also forgot how to massage me.

Should be normal if bb is not moving much now. Cos still small, so it's not necessary to find her every movements.

Read that to do fetal count aft 28weeks. Cos it's because bb is bigger so can feel more.

Znatasha, guess u have to bu more sin gynae said that ur bb might be small size. Try to bu once every week. Really make a difference. Cos been hearing friends who bu and able to give birth naturally then those who din. N also bb is at least 3.25kg n up.

Sade,
Must also see size of mummy. Baby big may not mean a good thing as it might be difficult for natural birth. Usually 3kg is a good enuff weight.

Hello ladies! I just went for my prenatal yoga today. It was quite fun although half the time I wonder if the stretching and bending will affect my baby.

Lil, you can buy bra extensions from those neighborhood shops that sell hair accessories. I got mine from Sinma at $3.90.

I am new to this forum.

I went thru IVF which ended last month. I am now 7 weeks pregnant with a single child aft our first try. It's My first child. I am 36 yrs old.

I hv so far experienced light bleeding/spotting 2 times already & hv mild cramping on my right side on & off all day. No morning sickness, but feel really tired most of the day. And wake up almost every 2 to 3 hours at night.

Is this normal for us IVFers? I'm quite paranoid & worried.

Eskimobaby, hmmm one of my friend who is small frame height abt 1.55m gave birth naturally to 3.85kg bb. Was told that she ate alot of tonics. Some tonics can help to bu qi so that have energy to push bb out. Hers is def big size bb.
My sil din take much tonics n had a long labour n in the end csection. Her bb is 2.8kg. Got another few more ex. Hence felt that have to bu qi so that can have natural delivery. Heard some of my friends birth stories so just draw a conclusion that have to bu qi n bu bb so that bb is not underweight.

Ohi76, congrats! did u saw your gynae for heartbeat scan? N did your gynae gave u additional support n instruct u to bed rest?
Ya its common for ivfers to spot during early days. First trimester is still considered unstable no matter conceived naturally or thru ART.
Do more bed rest, don't carry heavy stuffs n don't squat for the time being. Don't walked too much and don't exercise now. Only start during 2nd trimester.
Yes normally will feel tired during first trimester cos our body are doing a big job as bbs are being formed.

@Sade

Thanks a Million!!! We tried for 3 yrs, nothing, decided on IVF, now preggers at first try :D

Actually I was not asked to have bed rest. I was given some pills which they said I had to take for the next 3 months And that's it.

I had a scan done at 5weeks plus as scheduled by KK. Then saw the doctor immediately after, who said all was well and then "released" me to regular non-IVF clinic (Clinic C) to continue the rest of my routine check ups till day of birth.

My next appt is on 06/11 which would make me approx 10 weeks by then.

Hubby is super cool abt the spotting & cramps. I am the hysterical paranoid one. Lol!

I try to have bed rest on my days off as much as I can, but when at work, I am on my feet throughout. I do keep in mind not to exert myself or carry heavy loads. I can't even use pregnancy as an excuse cos no one at work knows yet.

ThAnks for reassuring me that spotting & cramping is normal. I was almost going crazy with paranoia!! Lol!

How far along are you in ur IVF journey? So far my EDD is 09/06/2013. Anyone else here around that time too?

sade, 2.8kg is not big baby but still healthy weight. My gal was 2.78kg and PD still said it's a good weight. Of course, that said, I'm also aiming for 3kg this time round.
Most important is that they're healthy and don't have any health issues at birth.

Ohi, it's normal to have cramping, but if the cramping is persistent/severe or accompanied by bleeding or spotting, then best to have it checked by doctor or at least get more progesterone support to help maintain pregnancy. If I had spotting, I'd head down to doctor straightaway and get more support or even a jab. Just to be on the safe side. Congrats and all the best!!

Sade,
Bu is important but there r other factors contributing to childbirth too like age so can't just rely on bu alone. So as long as baby is healthy weight is ok.

Ohi,
if u r working n have to stand a lot then better to get ur cramps n spotting checked out. Usually it's quite a concern if spotting is accompanied by cramps.

Sigh. Now I am really going crazy with worry. Some say light spotting with mild cramping is normal.

Then some also say spotting with cramps are bad.

It's mild cramps. On n off. Not severe. Bleeding is little n not enough to fill a pad.

You ladies really suggest go c a doc? *super worried now*

Ohi, I think to see doc is more for peace of mind, better to be on the safe side I guess. Try not to stress yourself out .. Hang in there ok?

Ohi, actually seeing a doc doesn't mean it'll turn out to be bad. It's better to get peace of mind, isn't it? And if need be, get MC / HL from doc to rest at home. Baby's more important than work now after all we've been thru.

Ohi,
We could only tell you our experiences or share with u what we know, ultimately it's your call. If u r really worried u should go n get it checked. It's not easy for us to get pregnant so all the more we have to be cautious. When there's spotting it's very hard to tell, of cos there r cases where spotting throughout pregnancies n still go on to have healthy babies but there also cases where spotting means something is wrong or support not enuff. Worrying urself sick is going to cause additional stress to ur body too.

Whiteclover,
Ever since 20 weeks I'm able to feel baby's movement everyday but I think it's becos this is my 2nd one so more sensitive. No. 1 only feel fluttering around wk 18 n movements much later.

Ohi, btw, think what Sade meant was spotting is common in early preg, perhaps esp among IVFers, but common doesn't mean it's normal. Not trying to scare you, but just sharing our personal opinions and experience yeah?
I've also had spotting for my previous and current pregnancy, went to get extra support and the spotting stopped eventually.

Luv I was saying my sil din bu much, n her bb is 2.8kg n she had to undergo csection. Ya its not consider big bb, hence I felt have to bu so that can have at least 3kg. I was giving ex of ladies who bu n ladies who din bu.

Eskimo baby yup agreed that there r other factors too which might not be within our control...but personally I felt that have to bu during 2nd trimester as there is difference lor.

sade, definitely agree with u that if can bu, we shld do so. I'm also hoping that with more conscientious bu-ing this time round, my bb can be at least 3kg. But I also tell myself not to get myself overly worried over it. Focus on eating well but give myself a naughty treat once n a while. Kekeke... ;P

Ohi76, think u misunderstood me. I was Just asking what your doc had said. N also giving advices on what to do n not.

Ya its common but not normal as I had Read it somewhere before. Sin u only had a week 5 scan, n now u r spotting with cramps, u should definitely go n see a gynae for more supports n monitoring. Normally for ivfers, we will be monitored more closely at every 2-3weeks interval. I was quite surprised when u said the next visit is at week 10. Have u seen the heartbeat alrdy?
Ya its actually not so good to spot n cramp. Any pain which u felt in the abdomen is actually nt so good. Left or right side might be pulling or stretching pain but cramping is not normal. Strongly advise u to see your gynae soon.

Luv, as long we did our best to bu n hopefully bb can be at least 3kg n healthy then we will be happy liao. :)
Hehe Just don't over bu like my friend. 3.8Kg bb!

Just trying to reach out to first timers that have to bu during pregnancy lor. Hopefully all of us can give birth to healthy weight bbs.

Hi ladies. So I took ur advice n went to KK 24 hrs clinic to ease my tension. Just got back. So doc checked n said all was well.
. So relieved!!! I was going nuts. Thanks for all the reassurance & concern. This journey can be quite stressful if u're the paranoid type lol 1st time mommy at 36 is no breeze. Age is a huge issue.

Do u think it's alright to apply medicated oil to the area that hurts? I know, weird question, but was wondering. Cos it may ease my pain a little n soothe the cramps.

Ohi76, glad that u went to see the doc for reassurance. Guess most of us here are abt this age group.
No idea abt the medicated oil. For me, I won't apply.

Luv, Thks! Yes that's the greatest achievement for us!

Whiteclover, my friend told me that her bb doesn't move or kick a lot during her pregnancy and she was worried. N now her bb is one yr old alrdy. So it's really up to each individual bb. Don't worry too much. As long dr loh din say anything then should be ok.