(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Eskimobaby sin ur first child is a girl and now u r expecting boy hence the difference in your skin conditions. Heard that having bb boy will have more breakouts. So It's quite true for ur case. Don't apply any pimple cream. Just blame it on the hormone.

Koirc I do have leg cramps on n off. I find that by placing a pillow on my legs when sleeping does improve the situation.

Thanks znatasha, im hoping to reduce to 1 a day.

Eskimobb, i heard girl makes u radiant while boy makes you dull so i think thats true for u!

I need a hair colouring too. Just called phyto to enquire. The only prdt they hv safe for preg is black. N its safe cos its organic n ammonia free. My usual hairdresser also use organic n ammonia free prdt n has more colour variety n half the price - not sure if i shld go phyto ?!

dian_tang, yes, I went to Kino few weeks back and there were so many books I don't know which to buy. I bought "Chicken soup for the Expectant Mum's soul". Just for fun reading...

Eskimobaby, looks like the theory is correct! When you have a boy, you have breakout!!!

Sade, thanks for the tip. Let me try and I hope I don't get any cramps...

Thanks, Sade! I just placed my order for "What to Expect...".

You are so resourceful. Thanks for sharing all the links!

Hi evertone. I m new here. I m 7 weeks pregnant and bleeding. I conceived naturally and an accident to be honest. I was prescribe Duphaston 2 tabs and Progynova 2 tabs per day. I read somewhere Progynova is no good for pregnancy. Anyone has any idea?

Eskimobaby, I m just like you!! I have pimples on my face ( I hardly have any pimples). My hair also more oily. I m not sure why too.

Koirc and dian tang no pro. That's what forum are for.
Welcome Serena, u r so lucky to conceive naturally and by accident. Sin It's your gynae who prescribed the Med for u, then should be safe.

Lustre,
Progynova is for building up the lining. It's taken during medicated fet until the end of first trimester. Maybe your gynae thinks that need to stabilise or build up ur lining since u had bleeding.

I m bleeding quite bad. Need to use sanitary pad. Anyone having similar symptom ? I have a fibroid near to the baby causing the pregnancy very unstable. Feeling very helpless.

Oh no lustre, did Dr loh said anything? For bleeding, most important is to have bed rest and also to take the progesterone pills.
There is a recipe by a tcm doc using glutinous rice and lotus roots and cook into porridge. Can help to stop spotting.

Lustre, stay strong for your bb now. Talk to bb to stick with u and bed rest well. Don't squat, dont carry heavy stuff, don't walk too much.

Hi ladies, how's your weekend so far?

I just came back from dinner at my parents' house. My mum told me not to tell anyone when I find out the gender of the baby. I asked her why... She just said don't need to tell. :S I am very puzzled. My mum is very pantang one but I've not heard about this before leh...

Hi everyone. I just came back from the hospital and I've lost it. I bought a enfamum milk powder yesterday. Not open yet. Guess I won't be needing it anymore. I would like to give the powder away. I bought it for $25. Vanilla flavour. Anyone keen pls email me at [email protected]

For the rest of you, fighting!! Have a great pregnancy and stay beautiful always.

Lustre sorry to hear that. Take care! Do a mini confinement.

Koirc nv hear before that can't tell others the gender leh. Don't know y your mum suggested that.

Ladies, just food for thought n discussion... Would you all tell ur kids in future that they were conceived via IVF/ICSI? This question came to my mind a few weeks ago but I haven't really come to any conclusion yet. Nothing wrong with IVF/ICSI, but just wondering how the child would take it. Perhaps the age when we tell the child is key.

Sorry tohear n Take care lustre.

Luv - interesting topic. hmmm i hv never thought of this qn. Why do u think its impt to tell your kid? Do u think it would make a diff?

A bothering issue i hv is i hv 8 frozen embryos. I conceived this one naturally. So should i ttc naturally with my second one or use the frozen embryos?

Tutu, the question occured to me when I was thinking of compiling all the ultrasound photos etc into an album. I was wondering whether I shld include the photo of the embryos transferred during ET. Hahah...

Why don't you try naturally for a while (e.g. 6 months) when u want to start trying for #2? If no news after that then can do your FET? Unless u feel that u wanna save time then go for FET straight?

Tutu, can get maternity tights from some of the online sites selling maternity clothes. Just search online for the sites. Quite a number of them.

Just to chk when you all know the gender of ur bb, during the scan did ur bb open the leg big big to show u? Isit obvious?
Am going for my scan nx wed on week 15 hopefully can c^^

Bbshower, usually if it's a boy, there's a good chance that u can determine the gender earlier, some even as early as 12-13 weeks. If it's a girl, then usually can only confirm later, usually prob during detailed scan.

Luv, i feel those frozen embryos are my bbs too. So should i give them a chance b4 trying naturally?!

As for your question, i dont think it would matter to the kid. It will only show the kid how badly u wanted him/her n had to go thru the pain of ivf. Unless u hv a diff view u like to share?

Tutu, sounds like you have your answer to your own question already then.

I'm not sure... wonder if the kid will think that he is different from most people who are conceived naturally...

Luv I won't purposely go n tell bb that he or she is conceived thru ivf/icsi because I felt its not an impt thgs that bb shld know, unless bb ask how we got him or her, then I will say n won't hide abt it.

Luv, I have the same thinking as bbshower. Will not purposely tell him unless he ask. But I do keep the ET photo together with the scan. For memory sake.

Lustre, sorry to hear that. Please take good care of yourself.

Sade and whiteclover, it remains a mystery to me lor when she doesn't explain...

Luv, I actually thought about that too. I was also planning to compile the sonograms into a mini journal to show baby next time and was thinking if I want my baby to know that he/she is a test-tube baby...

Luv,
I don't think there's any issue unless the egg or sperm is not your own... Anyway for the kid to understand what is ivf will take some yrs at least into his or her teenage yrs... i won't hide but at the same time i won't purposely tell them either.

Bbshower,
It really depends if bb is cooperative... I know my boy since week 13 whereas for my girl i didnt get any confirmation until 6 months cos she wasn't cooperative at detailed scan.

Luv initially I thou of that too. But no conclusion. Guess only when she is old enough to understand then will reveal. Cos I rem reading some articles that if the mum is having fertility problem and conceive thru ivf then the chances of having fertility problem for the child is higher than others. Not sure How true is this.

Tutu, for me of cos will try naturally first. Ya the remaining embryos are still your babies but sin u can conceive naturally, then why not? If all 8 embryos can turn into 8kids, then do u want it?

Bb shower, girls are more shy so mostly will only reveal on detailed scan. That's happen to me.

Koirc I understand. Always say some pantang stuffs and don't explain why. Haha. I figure It's not a big deal to let ppl know the gender unless u wanna keep others in suspense.

Thanks all for ur input. I think I will not tell abt the IVF until my kid's an adult n prob at the stage of marriage when he can understand. My concern is also cos I dun wish my boy to compare himself wif his sis who was conceived naturally n think wild thoughts.

Koirc n Twinstars, if keep the ET photo together, won't it be hard not to reveal?

Tutu, my doc used to say MS peaks from week 8 to 11, but of course still differs for individuals.

Hi Sade, which m&s?

Luv- thanks, I'm excited cos I'm 11 weeks on tuesday n really can't wait to feel gd again !