(2013/11) November 2013

Littleprince, wa.. you are aldy very power lei. Preg still shop so much & worst still carry so much things!!! Aiyyo.. please dun carry so heavy stuff... we are aldy 33 weeks le!! Oh dear, your hubby gg travel early Nov... If he really have to go, maybe can consider stay with ur mum 1st? in case anything, at least someone is availbale to jaga ur son.

Val, yes, i need to grow stronger. Im those kind not independent one so muz really make myself to be one. Envy u mummies tt r so independent. Cos after bb born, my hubby may oso get to travel too. I better learn my parking skill. My parking really sux! lol.. noe how to drive dunno how to park. haha...

re: high tea/lunch
ya we shld have a mini gathering!! But hor, looking at the calendar... SN delivering next week aldy!! After SN, is fuzzybear and sei? Dunno we got time to organise anot. If not, we can have a catch up session after all our bb settle down? keke

re: car seat
yes, agreed to train bb to get used to e car seat in early stages. Else, we will have a hard time later on. My SIL dun haav car seat one lo cos she seldom bring her bb out. Even she bring out, oso carry herself. So they nv buy car seat at all! Even a stroller, they oso nv buy. Their children all r hand carry one.

Re bb carrier
Any recommendation whether Ergo or mancuda brand is better?

morning mummies.

so much discussion abt car seat. my #1 is in car seat since the day she born but but the 1st 6mths, its pure torture travelling with her in a car seat. u all know that i travel from my place to my mil everyday, a journey that takes about 1hr depending on traffic. on good days, the crying is done with 10mins on bad days, its all the way non-stop crying for 1hr. lucky for me she is not the cry and vomit type. but still it can be difficult for the 1st time parent to let their kid cry till purple. no choice for me...

pinky, i will vote for manduca. Ergo need a separate infant insert but manduca is integrate. the waist and shoulder strip is not as bulky as Ergo. the back panel for manduca is adjustable so make it more comfortable for bb.

so breathless this morning. blame it on bb position or cough. haiz...

Gd morning! bloody tired.. #2 woke up at 5.30am to play.. he managed to fall aslp at 6am but i didn't.. sigh..

Val, the ELC sale was gd? my fren said was so-so.. haha.. im sure we will have a chance to meet up soon.

Little Prince, oops by right infant car seat should be rear facing but i can't seem to be able to fit my properly so i put it front facing.. the space like not enough. i did it for both #1 and #2. prob will do it for #3 too.

Re: crying bb in car seat
Just tahan.. u know scientifically proven research shows that DVD is the most effective way of keeping babies calm on a car ride. not that i advocate it but if u are desperate....

Morning! My son is now 9 months old I just change his car seat to front facing. Previously he is on newborn car seat and was rear facing. So far he likes front facing more as he is able to see more things. But he doesn't sits for long, I guess is because my father in law carry him too much. My FIL does not wants to put him in a car seat or even a pram when we are out. He carry him all day long.. Haiz... It's really a headache.. I put him car seat since birth too but....

Good morning! I'm at kkh now waiting to do ctg.

Littleprince, my #1 was rear facing in the infant carseat until she got taller n look uncomfortable at abt 8mths n we switch to front facing. Supposed to keep rear facing as long as possible as its safer...

morning mummiesssssssssss...
i almost tripped and fell on the way to work just now..
and totally shocked this lady...
thank god nothing happened...

re: carrier, i got the manduca one coz it was highly raved about, but have yet to try it out though..

mummies, my cousins are organising a ktv gathering this weekend..issit safe to go sing ktv now? will it hurt the baby's ear drums?

good morning mummies...

My infant car seat was also front facing and I only play children CD on the ride until #1 reaches 2.5yrs old...
nowadays only on if I want him to nap in the car...

sei, you having contraction too?

gelobean, aiyoh, walk carefully. haha. i had the same question about KTV previously. i think i only went once during #1's time.

I don't let my son watch ipad /iphone in the car cos i think it's bad for his eyes to read or watch anything in a moving vehicle. Sometimes when he sees me use my iphone in the car, he will ask to play with it too. so now, i don't use my phone in the car, to set a good example haha. and so i can tell him that no one uses phone in the car, it's bad for his eyes.

I saw some parents in my son's cc, install their carseat in front, thought that was quite dangerous? anyway, i havent bought a second car seat, intend to just upgrade #1 to booster.

Pinky - manduca is definitely better cos i think they are the first brand to come up with this design? all other brands just copied them. haha. not sure.

Gelobean, I went ktv when I was about to give birth. I tink it's ok so long it doesn't hurt yr ears. And please be careful.. Pregnant ladies are more clumsy :)
I miss the process of contraction. One fine day my doc just say too little 'water' go operate now!!! TT

morning!

i switch my boy to front facing when he turn 6 months old as recommended by britax. as for crying while driving we find it helps tremendously to have musical toys to amuse him on the journey. if that fails we use our iphones and put it in our head rest - that time we had a car with holes in the headrest.

gelobean, shd be safe to go ktv. if you r worried then maybe adjust the audio so its not so loud.

gelobean, just go for the ktv, I rem I went for midnight singing with my gfs which #1 is still in my tummy...
and I have a ktv session this sat too... :)

thanks mamas! i shall go sing den! hee..

totorodino and lazyplanner> thanks! i guess i was too stoned this morning..haven't been sleeping well coz of the constant backache..sighs...

i think this pregnancy is making me lose my memory oso..i have my strip of calcium tablet in front of me and i can't rem if i have taken it for the day already..faints..shall not take it in case i have an overdose..lol..

Sei, many mummies got contractions posting on FB...
so all the November babies are reporting early huh...
Next week will be SN, follow by you week after...
Take good care.

gelobean, sometimes I also cant rem if I taken my calcium tablet... :)

Pinky,
Dun worry. U will learn to be stronger. Esp when baby arrives and ur hb gonna travel, u just have to learn to cope by urself.

Fuzzybear,
The markdowns were alot. Alot of happyland toys on sales. Mostly for toddler's age nt so much for older kids. If u wanna buy for bday presents, the toys make a v presentable gifts tat do not break ur bank.

Re: video in car
I totally do nt allow the kids to watch/read anything in the car. Its nt gd for their eyesights.

Gelobean,
Its safe to go ktv la. Baby is well protected in the sac.

Gals, how do I join the fb?

Btw during my pregnancy I was not given calcium tablet at that time. I ask my gynea he say its not necessary. Does any of u below 30 given calcium pills? I was wondering if its with the age coz ppl ard me above 30 all got take calcium.

I read this article there is this 2 yr old baby gal whose eyesight was 500degrees deep. Due to long exposure of iPad..
But still a lot ppl intro iPad to baby coz it keeps them occupied and can prevent them from crying. Must really balance the timing of iPad usage.

Pinky I agree with felval, when I was still doing my confinement my hubby went for reservist and I was home alone. I cope well. Anyway guys dun really help that much :))

LazyPlanner, u have a boy that is 9 mths old? and u are expecting another one in Nov? wow! that means your kiddos are born within the same yr? My doc always want to give me calcium tablets but i always reject because it is more efficient for the body to absorb organic calcium than from inorganic calcium like tablets.

Eh don't get me wrong about the DVD in the car thingy hor.. i dun allow my kids to watch tv! just that it is scientifically proven that it is the best method to eliminate accidents. Crying kids cause accidents as the parents are distracted by the cries.. unless u can really harden ur heart and ignore them. Took me awhile to do that, but definitely doable.

Val, haha i couldn't have split myself into 2 places. i saw that FP had toy sale at Bukit Batok and Toys R Use had warehouse sale all over the same wkend.. really promoting Children's Day last wkend man.. make us parents go broke. Are u buying presents to give to ur #1 and #2 when ur #3 comes?

I am craving for a good mee pok but suffering so badly from nausea!

Wahhaha no la. Just give birth in jan oni. I ONI kpo here hope u all dun mind..
I wish I am pregnant now too but too bz with my first baby. Then I can one shot slim down.. I gain near 30kg for my first preg-.-

gelobean, its normal to be forgetful... our brain literally shrinks during pregnancy. they don't call it pregnancy amnesia for nothing!

when i had number 1, i have trouble recalling my atm pin, mind you i used the same in for the pass 10 years liao! its happening again this time haiz. sometimes during bathing i also cant recall whether i washed my hair liao, end up washing again to make sure -.-

for me using iphone is alast resort, only when all else fails. for the same reason i refused to let my boy touch my tablet too. otherwise he is only allowed to watch tv and that was it.

Lazyplanner,
No le. When i was preg below 30 and at 30 my gynae nv gives me
Calcium tablets. Anyway, the multi vits sld have calcium included plus if u take milk, cheese, tofu etc u will be taking calcium already.

Fuzzybear,
Yes. Fp had warehse sales but i didnt go as so far from my place. I went once in 2008 at a warehouse in loyang. Alth the price is really cheap but the toys are v dirty/dusty!! Toyrus sales nt worth going. I go kallang leisure park weekly so i happen to go browse the sales, totally nt worth the trip there just for the sales. I walked1 round and out within 5mins. Elc sales better. I spent 1.5hrs there with my #1 deciding wat to buy while hb attends class with #2.

Re: food
No special cravings except i prefer light meals nw.

lazyplanner> i tink it's not related to age ba..i am 29 this yr and my doc gave me calcium tablets too..

attigal> omg, i oso did the same thing! washing hair again..hahahhaaha..sometimes i will be so stoned that i apply body foam on my head..zzz...

wah, i am super duper whooper sleepy now..can't wait to head home and zzz....should have just taken HL when doc told me tt he wanna issue me coz of bb's smaller tummy size..hahhaa....
but decided not to in the end, coz i just joined the company at the start of the year and i have taken 6 days of bedrest le..

counting down to my block leave!!! 22 more working days to go!!

Wahhaha no la. Just give birth in jan oni. I ONI kpo here hope u all dun mind..
I wish I am pregnant now too but too bz with my first baby. Then I can one shot slim down.. I gain near 30kg for my first preg-.-

oh, you will have many different threads to keep track if you join every FB / forum of every single month in SMH, isn't it? Your own thread not active anymore?

wah I nv see any sales on the fisher price thing else I would have been there....

gelobean, I think age plays a part for the calcium pill... I took a lot milk and cheese but still take the calcium pill if I rem...
with my #1 my gynae nv prescribe me any calcium pill....

fuzzybear, go ahead order the meepok with some chili... eat a little, dun finished up, doubt will vomit?

actually vit d is essential in absorption of calcium, so no point taking more calcium if you are not getting enough vit D, so mummies, rem to get some sun daily :)

Any mummies experience bb pressing on your nerves and u are unable to walk? Any cure besides talking to the bb?

Fuzzybear : My bb also weight 2.6kg on my check up yesterday. Today 35 weeks.. Last check up bb’s tummy didn’t grow much and was a bit worried.. Lucky it’s back to normal.

LazyPlanner, u have a boy that is 9 mths old? and u are expecting another one in Nov? wow! that means your kiddos are born within the same yr? My doc always want to give me calcium tablets but i always reject because it is more efficient for the body to absorb organic calcium than from inorganic calcium like tablets.

Eh don't get me wrong about the DVD in the car thingy hor.. i dun allow my kids to watch tv! just that it is scientifically proven that it is the best method to eliminate accidents. Crying kids cause accidents as the parents are distracted by the cries.. unless u can really harden ur heart and ignore them. Took me awhile to do that, but definitely doable.

Val, haha i couldn't have split myself into 2 places. i saw that FP had toy sale at Bukit Batok and Toys R Use had warehouse sale all over the same wkend.. really promoting Children's Day last wkend man.. make us parents go broke. Are u buying presents to give to ur #1 and #2 when ur #3 comes?

I am craving for a good mee pok but suffering so badly from nausea!
I only bought a toy car to be given to #2, #1 will not get jealous la, he's already 13 years old! and he super bo chap, he never goes with me once to see his little sister on the tv screen , in the ultrascan room.

Any mummies experience bb pressing on your nerves and u are unable to walk? Any cure besides talking to the bb?

Fuzzybear : My bb also weight 2.6kg on my check up yesterday. Today 35 weeks.. Last check up bb’s tummy didn’t grow much and was a bit worried.. Lucky it’s back to normal.

I only have pelvic pain and pressure. Can still walk and do some light exercise. Totally not able to walk? you may want to consult your gynae, it sounds serious.

Afternoon mummies.... Ya in fb there are quite a few mummies having contraction.. cant help but to wonder how it would be when it happens on me.. now everyday keep telling my son to wait for 2 more weeks... cos doc going holiday until next friday... so he needs to be guai guai ah..

is losing appetite part of last trim? these few weeks i dun feel like eating much and i dun even have much craving.. was telling my hub that i should come in n ask you all for comments.. and he actually reply me: "ya lah.. why got forum for nov mummies but no forum for nov daddies one.. so unfair.. i also have questions to ask those daddies loh.. ask them if they have cravings instead and if they have similar symptoms like pregnant mums.." cos apparently he was craving for mac since sunday night (even though we already had mac on saturday night!) and he bought mac back yesterday afternoon for lunch.. hahahaha its a never-will-happen-on-my-hub case.. cos he dun like fast food one.. not as much as me.. think all my symptoms are happening on him..

Fuzzybear,
Ok wat. Only gained a kg. nt alot plus 50-60% went to ur gal.
Looks like u gals had a great time over lunch. Too bad cldnt join u all on fri. Went elc sales on sat. Gd sales!

Litprince,
Hahaha! Mayb someone sld org a hi tea or lunch session before popping. =p

Sei,
I saw the same huggies promo at a few branches of cold storage. I bought a carton.

Xiaober,
I have prob slpping at nite too but for a totally diff reason. I am tired but i just cldnt seem to fall aslp. And when i do fall aslp, i wake up so many times and nt being able to get back to slp. I only had the same exp for #1 and #2 when i was close to my edd! Hope this doesnt mean i am gonna pop soon. A friend of mine saw me on sat and commented my tummy looks huge and look like gonna pop soon! Oh i am so nt ready yet!

felval: how come cant sleep? is it because of the pressure? wah at least you have experience that it means some meaning that you are near labouring.. for me is i dun even know why i cant sleep well... keep worrying that i might be going to give birth soon... maybe is the mental stress that i m giving myself.. but nowadays he is kicking me so often that i will get so restless...

my friend told me that from young have to start to train baby to sit in car seat.. if not they might not be used to it and will reject sitting it.. her daughter is like that.. 8 months seldom sit in car seat so now she dun like to sit inside.. end up the car seat like waste money..

Afternoon mummies.... Ya in fb there are quite a few mummies having contraction.. cant help but to wonder how it would be when it happens on me.. now everyday keep telling my son to wait for 2 more weeks... cos doc going holiday until next friday... so he needs to be guai guai ah..

is losing appetite part of last trim? these few weeks i dun feel like eating much and i dun even have much craving.. was telling my hub that i should come in n ask you all for comments.. and he actually reply me: "ya lah.. why got forum for nov mummies but no forum for nov daddies one.. so unfair.. i also have questions to ask those daddies loh.. ask them if they have cravings instead and if they have similar symptoms like pregnant mums.." cos apparently he was craving for mac since sunday night (even though we already had mac on saturday night!) and he bought mac back yesterday afternoon for lunch.. hahahaha its a never-will-happen-on-my-hub case.. cos he dun like fast food one.. not as much as me.. think all my symptoms are happening on him..

felval: how come cant sleep? is it because of the pressure? wah at least you have experience that it means some meaning that you are near labouring.. for me is i dun even know why i cant sleep well... keep worrying that i might be going to give birth soon... maybe is the mental stress that i m giving myself.. but nowadays he is kicking me so often that i will get so restless...

my friend told me that from young have to start to train baby to sit in car seat.. if not they might not be used to it and will reject sitting it.. her daughter is like that.. 8 months seldom sit in car seat so now she dun like to sit inside.. end up the car seat like waste money..

Lxb, don't worry so much, got more to worry about when baby is out! I'm sure I won't be the first, or the last mummy to tell you that after giving birth sometimes you wish you can stuff them back into your tummy so your tummy can do all the caretaking instead! I do rem quite clearly that I was only really very excited and nervous when going to pop #1 on the day itself. So kanchiong that after I clear my bowels from the edema, I left the toilet in only my hospital gown, leaving behind all my home clothes! the nurse have to chase after me.... hahaha.

losing appetite is normal because you have less stomach space now! so you feel more inclined to eat smaller meals. The daddy having pregnancy symptom thing is also common, it didn't just happen to my hb during my #1 time, it seems everyone else around me were exhibiting pregnancy symptoms when in reality, I was the only one pregnant!

baby kicking frequently is a good sign he is healthy. don't complain! if he don't, thats when you need to worry even more.

Fuzzybear,
Oh ya. Forgot to reply u. Yes, i bought presents for the older kids. Nt 1 or 2 but a few. Will give slowly. Like when they see baby for the 1st time and subsequent times when ppl send hampers and they are at hm and during baby showers. At the same time i am keeping a lookout for presents for my elder kids for xmas.

Xiaober,
Baby adding pressure so i dun slp well is nt really a huge prob for me. Its more of my mind is restless. Either i cant slp at all or when i do, i wake up very often. Think the body is preparing for nite feeds. I get tired during the daytime but unless my kids nap,
I cant get any nap at all.

attigal: ya i know cos i also having that feeling now.. cant wait to have him in my arms and yet wish that he can be inside longer.. but somehow its just abit difficult not to worry.. haha cos i duno wat to expect so will start to worry this worry that.. hahaha even my hub also roll his eyes on me when i tell him that.. ya thats why now when he kick i will just lie down and let him kick.. but just that its abit tiring cos his kicks are quite painful now.. and hub finds it interesting and make him kick more often.. =='''

felval: our body is really amazing.. i didnt know that they will prepare for the night feeds.. maybe try to play some light music at night? now i m trying to listen to those light music to let my body relax and sleep.. think is helping abit.. maybe you can try.. :)

attigal: I consulted my gynae yesterday.. was given mc till friday... Was thinking maybe there might b some 'special remedy' or 'method'.. I was told to bed rest and hopefully baby make way.. I have 2 more weeks to go and can't imagine how I tahan!! Frankly I rather go to work like normal and enjoy the final pregnancy ..

attigal: ya i know cos i also having that feeling now.. cant wait to have him in my arms and yet wish that he can be inside longer.. but somehow its just abit difficult not to worry.. haha cos i duno wat to expect so will start to worry this worry that.. hahaha even my hub also roll his eyes on me when i tell him that.. ya thats why now when he kick i will just lie down and let him kick.. but just that its abit tiring cos his kicks are quite painful now.. and hub finds it interesting and make him kick more often.. =='''

Being a first time mum, it is indeed difficult not to worry. I didn't know how I manage to not think so much, maybe because I was doing events management, so it sort of help me through it. What that will happen next is not within our control, so no point worrying something that we cannot do anything about.

A lot of things will be better if you just let it be, it is really not unlike taking on a new job you are not so sure about. A lot of things you will learn on the way, holding baby, bathing baby, how to settle lunch and feed baby at the same time... what to do when your baby is crying, your lunch is already burning on the stove and you are already late for a meeting with your friends. damn stressful then hahaha... it seems funny now when I recall, but when it was happening to me back then I really want to break down and cry. The first few weeks when baby was down with jaundice and there isn't much I can do except sun him and hope for the best, or baby threw up all over me after a feed and there was no one else to help, I have to clean him and myself up, baby's poop not the right color, not the right consistency, waking up every hour to feed instead of every three, or waking up only after 6 hours..... so you tell me, isn't there more to worry then? Even things like finding the right bottle with the right nipple for your baby can be a worry. Have I given you a sneak preview? :)

So no use worrying now. Your placenta is doing all the work for you. Sit back, relax and enjoy whatever freedom you have before joining the rest of us who are already parents in this never-ending cycle of worry. Some will happen to you some wont. You will just have to learn how to deal with it as you go a long and be a stronger person for your child.

attigal: I consulted my gynae yesterday.. was given mc till friday... Was thinking maybe there might b some 'special remedy' or 'method'.. I was told to bed rest and hopefully baby make way.. I have 2 more weeks to go and can't imagine how I tahan!! Frankly I rather go to work like normal and enjoy the final pregnancy ..

There is no special remedy or method, bed rest is indeed the only way. I encounter something like this in my first pregnancy, but it was in my 2nd trimester, and I forced myself to lie down in the "recovery" position (lying on left side), till the pain goes away and i slowly get up and try to walk a few steps.

hello mummies! i m new here! i m wk 35 and similar to few mummies, bb is ard 2.5 kg. Dr said bb on the heavy side wants me to continue control my diet. is this really a concern? it got me so paranoid and keeps thinking :(

also, any idea if we can / should continue to take multi vit and fish oil during breastfeeding?

Morning Mummies,

Did my GTT yesterday; result out today. Everything is normal...going to see doc two weeks later.
Thank goodness its normal, Phew! At least I can eat as per normal.
Let hope everything go smoothly.
If baby is too big, iszit true I must go for C sec? how big is consider big?

Gelobean: the bra size is based on the current bra size or shall I buy one size bigger from online?

Re: Public Transport
yes..no one bother to give up seats in the train. Took the train in the morning to TMC for my GTT. Stand almost one hour.
Most people fight for seats.
I almost fell in the bus too on my way back and nobody bother to help me up. You know those short bus with high step to the seats...I so called missed the step.Lucky I was holding the pole & went down with one knee. Bus is crowded.

Re: Memory
haha...yes cannot remember things. Left chopsticks in the fridge, do not remember if I have taken vitamins & etc.
Sometimes my brain, hand ,leg & mouth do not sync too...
Heard its normal. Heard some people snore & drool too.

Re: Milk storage bags & disposable breast pads:
How many shall we get for the above?
I have bought only 25 pcs of the milk storage bags, enough?
then one box of breast disposable pad, enough?

Re: Calcium
Must/can we take calcium pills during breastfeeding? doc provide or must we buy?

RE: Meet Up/Gathering
Maybe we should have one after all of us give birth.
It should be quite fun to have most Nov babies together & also meet up with most mummies.

Re: Expenses
Usually how much are we to pay for the delivery & hospital charges? about 5k cash after medisave deduction?

hello mummies! i m new here! i m wk 35 and similar to few mummies, bb is ard 2.5 kg. Dr said bb on the heavy side wants me to continue control my diet. is this really a concern? it got me so paranoid and keeps thinking :(

also, any idea if we can / should continue to take multi vit and fish oil during breastfeeding?
my sis is breastfeeding her 10 month old boy, and she's still taking fish oil, calcium & multi vitamins.

Morning Mummies,

Did my GTT yesterday; result out today. Everything is normal...going to see doc two weeks later.

Gelobean: the bra size is based on the current bra size or shall I buy one size bigger from online?

yes..no one bother to give up seats in the train. Took the train in the morning to TMC for my GTT. Stand almost one hour.
I almost fell in the bus too on my way back and nobody bother to help me up. You know those short bus with high step to the seats...I so called missed the step.Lucky I was holding the pole & went down with one knee. Bus is crowded.

haha...yes cannot remember things. Left chopsticks in the fridge, do not remember if I have taken vitamins & etc.

Must/can we take calcium pills during breastfeeding? doc provide or must we buy?

It should be quite fun to have most Nov babies together & also meet up with most mummies.

Usually how much are we to pay for the delivery & hospital charges? about 5k cash after medisave deduction?

Public transport:
I think mummies, time to not to take a stand for yourself and your babies. Be thick-skin and ask for a seat loudly. Since people can be thick skin and ignore the needy, then you can also be thick skin and ask for a seat. The safety of yourself and your baby is more important then those "deaf, blind or asleep" people.

Milk storage bags & disposable breast pads:
I would stand by 2 boxes of milk storage - one about 120 ml capacity and one 200+ml capacity because you cannot be too sure how much milk you can produce after you start breastfeeding. Some will start of with little, and dwindle, some will start of with little and then a lot of milk. Just standby both. Also standby permanent marker to write down the date and time you pump. Its a good time to clear your fridge too to make some space for your milkbags :) if you totally breastfeed though, you may not need to use the milk bags till your baby starts feeding less, or you need to start them on solids.

One box of disposable breast pads is enough for the first few weeks, whether you will need more or not depends on your milk supply.

Calcium Pills:
I don't really think it was necessary. what I really find necessary is drinking loads of water. Eating fish seems to help a lot in the supply as well. If you have a lot of milk supply, you may need to drink up to 16 glasses a day. that said, stand by water bottle during bed time so you don't have to keep getting up to go kitchen for your drink.

Expenses:
Best to ask the inquiry line at the hospital you are delivering in as different hospital charges differently. What won't change is the fixed medisave amount you can deduct for your prenatal care ($450) and daily hospitalization medisave deductable (if I'm not wrong, up to $450/day)

Morning Mummies,

my sis is breastfeeding her 10 month old boy, and she's still taking fish oil, calcium & multi vitamins. She has been asking me to help her buy from my gynae's clinic, as we see the same gynae. usually supplements you have to buy

I stayed in the Family Suite in Mt Alvernia when I delivered my #2, hubby & #1 stayed over, paid for meals for them as well, after medisave, cash is around $3K(includes delivery ward & PD fees for baby), does not include gynae's delivery fee I think, can't really remember.

Public Transport
I think i'm already immune to ppl not giving up to me.. Very often, aunties who spot my tummy will ask me to ask those seated to give me the seats.. But I will tell them it's ok.. Coz I feel paiseh to go ask for it since they aren't automatic.. Got once, a aunty really buey tahan I stand so long and no one give me so she approach the reserved seat and tell the female "Can't you see that there is a pregnant lady in front of u?" Then, the lady stand up for me but give me the pissed off dagger stare!

Meet up/Gathering
I think it's a gd idea to have one before we popped.. Easier to move ard compare to aft delivery.. Plus aft delivery most of us will be confined for a month so earliest we can meet is in Jan'14?

Calcium Pills
I'm below 30yrs my gynae prescribe for me leh.. related to age?

Contractions
Sunday night i have bouts of pain below my bra area, above tummy.. Was pretty sure it wasn't contraction but the pain was so unbearable and i was having cold sweat and rolling in bed.. Hub was so worried and keep asking if need to send me to hospital.. The pain comes in interval and at it's peak, I really thinking if i'm going to deliver but it got better aft half an hour and the pain subsided.. Anyone experience anything similar? Is it heartburn or indigestion?? I took my previous oral medication for contraction and took a day of rest at home ytd.. Didn't want to go to my Gynae since i will be going on sat..

Insomnia at Night
I have been waking up every 2 hourly at night.. And this is getting my so tired and heavy headed in the day.. Feeling nausea today.. Keep feel like there is sth near my throat and feel like throwing up but not throwing up.. Feeling terrible :(

Val, wah.. so many presents! my hb says dun need to buy for my boys but i already got one for my #2. still looking for something for my #1.

Thirdtime3mum, mine is the opp.. my #2 prob won't know better but #1 is more aware and will be expecting a present cos he received one when #2 came along. still thinking what to get for him.

Re: fish oil and multivit
Yes pls continue to eat. I just placed my order for fish oil on iherb. much cheaper than the ones my gynae provides. for multivits i m taking Blackmore Breastfeeding Gold.

Re: cost of delivery
Depends on ur gynae, ur ward type and delivery method. I m expected to pay 9K in cash after $3950 deduction from Medisave cos i m doing ligation.

Re: insomnia
same lor i wake up hourly.. doesn't help that i m a light slper. my sons move a bit i will wake up to check cos i dun want them to wake each other up.

Xian, could it be heartburn? I have pain at my ribs due to bb kicking!

Being a first time mum, it is indeed difficult not to worry. I didn't know how I manage to not think so much, maybe because I was doing events management, so it sort of help me through it. What that will happen next is not within our control, so no point worrying something that we cannot do anything about.

A lot of things will be better if you just let it be, it is really not unlike taking on a new job you are not so sure about. A lot of things you will learn on the way, holding baby, bathing baby, how to settle lunch and feed baby at the same time... what to do when your baby is crying, your lunch is already burning on the stove and you are already late for a meeting with your friends. damn stressful then hahaha... it seems funny now when I recall, but when it was happening to me back then I really want to break down and cry. The first few weeks when baby was down with jaundice and there isn't much I can do except sun him and hope for the best, or baby threw up all over me after a feed and there was no one else to help, I have to clean him and myself up, baby's poop not the right color, not the right consistency, waking up every hour to feed instead of every three, or waking up only after 6 hours..... so you tell me, isn't there more to worry then? Even things like finding the right bottle with the right nipple for your baby can be a worry. Have I given you a sneak preview? :)

So no use worrying now. Your placenta is doing all the work for you. Sit back, relax and enjoy whatever freedom you have before joining the rest of us who are already parents in this never-ending cycle of worry. Some will happen to you some wont. You will just have to learn how to deal with it as you go a long and be a stronger person for your child.

Ya I guess now is just us worrying for nothing.. I see from my friends with kid n kids... I can feel their pain n worrys with the kids out.. Now last stage must hang on.. Thanks attigal!

RE: public transport
Ya I agree that even with the recent survey that 98% will give up their seats but honestly... I dun feel so.. In fact during my earlier stage of pregnancy I can get a seat easier.. But now in last trim somehow they thinks that I m fat instead... I have no idea why loh.. Sometimes I have to stand so long or even "fight" for a seat cos I travel from west to central.. Can't take it to stand so long.. But usually those FT are the "nicer" ones to give their seats up to us.. Even my hub agrees so.. But mummies do ask for seats if you really need one okay? Dun put yourself at risk especially when all in last trim...

2013san> they have the sizing chart on the official bravado website..would encourage u to follow the measurements there.. :) if u r buying from allemom, they have free exchange policies, so it shud be quite safe to buy from them :) btw, congrats on ur negative GTT results!! :)

lxb> i read somewhere that it's normal to lose ur appetite coz ur stomach is being squeezed by the growth of the bb..so don't worry ok?

hikaru0112> ur condition sounds serious..pls rest well ok? it may sound funny but bedrest is really quite a miracle..the gynaes will advocate bedrest in most cases of the pregnancies in the discovery home & health channel and it works!

re: cost of delivery, i calculated based on what the nurse told me and i am expecting to fork out $5k cash for natural assisted delivery...(that is provided i am birthing via the natural method..may need to incur more if the scan comes out with bad results tmr..)

the weather is damn hot these days..doesn't help that our body temp is higher coz of the pregnancy..:(

Littleprince,
Infant stage must sit in rear facing until a certain wt/age (cant rem offhand) I think it's bcoz nb neck is not strong yet n in the event of head on collision, there will be risk of whiplash n neck injury. Tt y must sit rear facing first. Tt is what I rem lah.

Pinkyloving, I have not tried ergo b4 sp hard to comment on this but I love my manduca. Got tt since my #1. I do have mummy fren who told me the hip band for manduca is stiffer n holds its shape even after washes but ergo one will become softer over time n then wont hold shape n wont give support after tt. For that she thinks manduca is better. But also bcox the hip band is stiffer some might feel manduca is less comfy.

Wah, winkle in labour. The Nov babies can't wait to come out!

3xmum, I had to accompany my mum for one or two prenatal classes when I was 12, and I was bored out of my mind. I can understand your #1. Some more he's 13, there are other more interesting and important stuff to check out in life! ;p

Thank you Mummies for all information. It was great & useful.;)

Was kinda pissed & upset over the public transport yesterday. Seems like people have no ethics nowadays. haiz.
Should follow what LXB & Attigal advise, ask these people for seats.:cool:

Gelobean: for now its good news...do not know what doc going to say two weeks later...hope not asking me to control diet. I cant resist Cheesecake!:p
Do not worry about tmr. All will be well..Gd luck! positive ok..Keep us update ya.;)

Re: cost of delivery; ya, same as gelobean. I have calculated based on what the nurse told me, I think I need to fork out at least 5k cash for natural assisted delivery. I thought we may need to fork out 3k plus cash only after deduction. that's y got abit confused. :confused:

Are we suppose to choose the baby milk after delivery? seems like its Daddy job to choose while we are in bed. Any recommendation?

Re: Baby Carrier: I have not buy it yet. was thinking wait till baby out & go shopping together to have a fitting. heheh...:D

Re: Car seat; bought Britax at the taka fair.

Re: Insonmia; I have too.. guess its normal. Going to look like pandan soon.

Due to hot weather & hormones, my hair is getting very wavy & it look like a lion's mane....
Imagine me with wavy lion's mane & pandan eyes in the delivery room....hmmmm.:D