(2013/11) November 2013

Gelobean: think positive.. all will be well. U should eat well, rest well, be positive.. not stress over work. Not good for bb & you.
try taking small meals /snack if u do not have appetite. Drink milk, eat cheese, biscuits, fruits, eat dishes instead of whole meal with rice & dishes or a plate or noodles. eat something. that's what I do...I cant eat much too.

lxb: please dd me to FB: [email protected]. Thank you!

From my friend's photo in FB, Baby fair is very crowded & there is already a Q!
Oh no...guess tmr or sun will be worst.

lxb, aiyoh, tell your hb that he is not the one pregnant so he doesnt know what you are going through, why should he be controlling your diet? It's not like you are gaining 1kg a week leh. It's just 100g a week! Also scare him that if you dont eat enough, baby doesnt get enough nutrients.

aiyoo... lxb, u only gained 200g!! is super good lo... why keep controlling ur diet? The baby weight now is?Or he dun wan u to grow too fat oso?

SN, u having cough? Nv see doctor? U shld take warm water which will help to stop e cough....I dun hav good memory ever since preg... jus tt 16 Oct rings a bell to me.. =p Haha.. My mum always buy those chinese newspaper, sin ming, always got such news de ma... tt is where i pick e info from.. lol..

gelobean, dun worry. it will be fine. As what mummies said, bb come out aldy den feed more & soon it will be e apporpriate size.

Thanks fleefly Will b extra careful when walking. Now with the swollen legs, feel even more "bulky"/heavy to walk ard.... Hope can faster see bb in November!

I guess today is holiday? Children day, so everyone is free to go expo to shop? I gg down to shop as well... hmm.. tink i will get some nursing bra, massage package, milk bottles, waterproof pad, baby shower stuff. I tink im almost there ba! I better write all e stuff tonight else i will forgot again!

gelobean said:
GBH> was ur bb's tummy growing slower than the head and femur too? sighs, doc seems worried..that's y i am rather worried too...i recall him saying tt worries are endless the min u conceive..how true it is man..

lxb> i just checked my fb and i haven't received anything..can try adding me again? [email protected] tks v v much!
Gelobean
I dunno leh bcoz I din see the details of my detailed scan report. That report has a scale for various measurements right? Some will be like ave n some lower percentile etc. Overalk my bb is always smaller than average but iirc legs n arms longer bcoz both hb n me r tall. Im always the one asking gynae y my bb so small n im not gaining enough wt but my gynae often assure me my bb is ok n healthy n can always beef bb up after delivery which is quite trie bcoz my #2 is a chubb chubb after 2 mths old. Lol.

lxb> i am finally in fb! but dunno where to start though lol..thanks for your help in getting me in! anw, i saw ur sunset pose! V V nice! is ur hub a professional photographer?

totorodino> my gynae is dr wong heng fok..yea he is the kind of doc who wanna be more on the safe side..hoping that the doppler scan will turn out fine..

twinnie87> yea manpower is v tight on my side now coz we have 4 vacancies currently..and my other pregnant colleague is clearing her block leave..so i am trying to clear as much as i can..how come ur colleagues are all taking block leave at the same time? ur boss din space it out?

sei> yea, my gynae did tell me sometimes it's better to deliver the baby out earlier, but the thought of having a lot of tubes inserted into the bb wrenches my heart..but hopefully we dun have resort to that :(

hikaru0112> tks once again..u gals have been v helpful...it's really heartwarming to have a forum of strong support..

yogini> bb is at 32 weeks 2 days ytd and weighs 1.6kg..btw, how are u? haven had a chance to talk to u in the classes, coz i am quite shy to initiate conv..hee..hope all's well on ur end.. :)

2013san> tks! yea i am eating trying to drink milk in the morning as well to beef up the bb..and take more small meals..hopefully i can see some result in the scan next week.. :) you also jiayou oK! sucks to have a bad appetite..

pinkyloving and GBH> thanks for the assurance..i must say this pregnancy has not been v smooth sailing..first it was the constant spotting/ blood clot issue and now this..it's really true when parents say gender doesn't matter..it's the health of the bb tt's most impt..

re: baby fair, wah, my colleague went there at 11 plus and she is not back yet! must be either the crowd or the massive things to buy! hope i can grab something ltr..if not, it will be a waste of my trip..

oh yes, can i ask v v v noob qns?
1. do we need to bathe our kid everyday? read somewhere that it may be too dry for the bb's skin if we do so, but given the hot weather in sg, will the bb b too 'sticky' with all the sweat?
2. how many nursing bras do we need? i have bought 3 bravados so far..but we prolly need more coz we need to wear it everyday ya? plus we need to have breast pads to be worn with the bra in case of milk leakage..i was tinking of getting another 4 more..but was afraid it will be an overkill..

gelobean: don worry! my nephew came out at 32 weeks and now so chubby and learning to walk already.. :)
as for cleft lips.. if gynae didnt point out anything should be no problem.. 3D scan not clear de.. distorted most of the times.. i did 3-4 times 3D scans.. all of the images came out distorted :( den my gynae said it's like that..either her machine not good or my baby not cooperative enuff to stay still... she said she didnt really like to do 3D for her patients coz it might scare them..

as for bathing bb.. i heard from my coll that they only wipe bb for the 1st 2 weeks.. my cousin bath her bb daily..and turn out that she is having dry skin including her scalp.. but i donno if its due to her daily bath or jus bb's skin more sensitive... i bought organic shower gel for my bb..just in case lor..

winkle> tks! maybe that's why the nurse at my gynae's clinic is so against it..she kept telling me not to waste money coz the bb's pics all look the same..as for wiping bb, it's just purely with plain water? yea, i oso bought organic bathing products just to be on the safe side coz i have eczema problems..

gelobean,
i bought 3 too.
i tink should be enough bah.. change daily.. should be dry in 3 days..
just use breast pads.
bravado bras are very exp! so i tink 3 is enough

winkle> tks! maybe that's why the nurse at my gynae's clinic is so against it..she kept telling me not to waste money coz the bb's pics all look the same..as for wiping bb, it's just purely with plain water? yea, i oso bought organic bathing products just to be on the safe side coz i have eczema problems..
my 3D is included in my gynae's package.. so since week 32 ive been pestering her to take 3D shots hahaa.. but she told me some of her patients got very paranoid after looking at the 3D scan coz distorted..

i didnt ask them whether they wipe with juz plain water or with some bath gel... if u r afraid of dry skin..maybe can apply baby lotion after the bath?

Redmart sells diapers and quite cheap also lei...

yunzz> but if u use breast pads, u need to wear the nursing bra too ya? ya bravados are v ex!!!!

winkle> wow so cool, it is included! since it's free, shud take more to confirm if it is really distortion..mine is once off, hence i tend to worry more..that's a gd idea, maybe shud consider applying lotion..but mrs wong did mention tt we shud try not to apply anything on bb if possible..

yunzz> but if u use breast pads, u need to wear the nursing bra too ya? ya bravados are v ex!!!!

winkle> wow so cool, it is included! since it's free, shud take more to confirm if it is really distortion..mine is once off, hence i tend to worry more..that's a gd idea, maybe shud consider applying lotion..but mrs wong did mention tt we shud try not to apply anything on bb if possible..
hopefully my appointment next week bb will be cooperative.. coz its either she keeps moving.. use her hands and cover half her face or she's not facing the front...... o_O

winkle> my bb wasn't co-operative too..and the sonographer got really impatient with her..hope tt ur bb will be co-operative on ur next visit.keep us posted! btw, i saw ur fb profile..u know soo ling? she is my colleague hahahha...
ohhh...yaya i know her haha..but didnt contact..she's my ex ex ex ex coll...lolz!!

lxb, aiyoh, tell your hb that he is not the one pregnant so he doesnt know what you are going through, why should he be controlling your diet? It's not like you are gaining 1kg a week leh. It's just 100g a week! Also scare him that if you dont eat enough, baby doesnt get enough nutrients.

Hahaa he will return scare me and say later bb too big.. He dun want me to get too fat n have diabetes n high blood pressure. That's why he is kinda strict.. N because of that my weight gain until now abt is 8kg.. So he have his own good I guess... :)

Pinky: ya he dun want me to get too fat. Cos before pregnancy I belong to those "ba ba" type. So he always say my baby has a semi d area to grow in.. Cos got more space. And he scare after giving birth I can't slim back. So he more strict I guess.

Gelobean: welcome welcome! Can just start anyway in fb. Haha thank you thank you no lah he not really professional but he likes photography. So last time we always go around shooting scenery and now he takes picture of my tummy n in future our baby. Hahaha he hve another fave shot. Keep pestering me to post in the grp cos I tell him a lot Of mummies like the sunset one. -.-""

winkle, my baby is not cooperative during scans too.. always blocking half her face with her hand. 1 wk she blocks left face, the other wk she will block right face. -.-

by the way, is nursing bra necessary?

Gelobean, at 32 weeks bb is at 1.6kg. I feel is fine cos my bb boy weighing at 1.7kg at week 32. So only 100g diff from mine. My gyne prefer small size bb.. he said 32 weeks normal range is 1.6 to 1.8kg. Dun worry ya! I saw ur fb u like petite size so maybe bb follow ur genes?

Re: nursing bra
I bot 2 at spring maternity. Bought a few at tabao website. Tml gg down expo buy a few more? Nursing bra is more of convenient ba since easier to bf in front. Of cos can wear normal bra lah but need to take out everything to bf. When gg bck work, it helps to save e hassle when bf oso.

Winkle, u r active again! Keke

Re: bathing
I read e book oso said dun need bath bb daily. Cos they v clean de. Jus use wet cloth clean can le. ..

Hello Mummies-to-be! :)

I gave birth in mid july, and my princess has alot of clothes that she has outgrown. It's such a pity to throw them away, so i'm thinking of giving them away. Anyone interested? if so, please pm me :)

Bb expo sale was super crowded. Think those of us who went a bit wiped out now ;p

Pinky, can get ankle guard from guardian and most likely unity and hospital pharmacies, but I'm unsure about watsons.

Gelobean,
It's like that one. I supposed this is ur 1st preg? I was very ganjiong n anxious for my #1 time. After that u just kinda not so ganjiong for subsequent preg. Lol!

Re bathing, yes I bath my babies daily. Usually for newborn we only put 1-2 drops of bb shower foam into one tub of water so it wont be drying for bb skin. Sg weather is way too hot n humid not to bath bb daily.

has been sometime since i login.
hey... totorodino. think we have the same gynae.
saw mark lee pict on his wall too.
when is ur edd?

gelobean: maybe go for the check up first? i was told that only those high-aged pregnant woman will have this problem.. but i believe your baby will be fine.. :)

Re: fb invite
i have added those who requested earlier.. maybe have to wait for admin to approve you all ya...

Re: baby bath
for nb can just use the cotton wipes to just clean right? because i see my bro also dun really wash his bb everyday.. probably once every 2 days? but he will use cotton wool to wipe the bb.. duno if its partly also because his son dun like water.. lol...

Lxb> saw ur new pic in fb. Nice!! :) yea ill just have to wait for the scan on wed for now..super long wait..sighs

Pinkyloving> yea man, I really hope it's coz she takes after me and not some serious condition coz the thought of the stomach not growing proportionately with the head and femur is quite scary..

Gbh> yeap this is my 1st pregnancy so all these terms are rather new to me. Can't wait for the scan on wed..

2013san> I got it from allemom online..strongly recommend that coz its really comfy..but it's rather ex though..that's why I was wondering if its necessary to get more..I should be getting the belly bandit bamboo wrap from them too.read gd reviews abt the belly wrap and their price is the cheapest I can find so far..

Re: baby fair, it's such a pain going through the crowd ytd..all we managed to get was a baby bath tub with stand..was supposed to get the cot there and it turns out that the price at the fair is more ex than their retail store at kaki bukit, so we gotta make another trip down to kaki bukit ltr..I heard from my colleague that the diaper prices are not v gd oso other than the brand merries..I feel the stalls are not v well organized..things r strewn all over and lanes r rather small coz parents brought their kids and their strollers along..unless u really have something to buy from there, I would advise against going..can head down to Taka instead..that's just my twof cents' worth..

It's the weekends!! Hope all mummies will have a great one! :)

Went for check up tdy; doc say baby abit on the big side; week 32, 2.1kg. Furthermore both families have diabeties history therefore need to do GTT to playsafe. Haiz... That time worry bb too small now worry too big. Aiyo...
Wont i get dehydrated cos i do not get to drink & eat till test is over... Hmmm.

Gelobean: thank you! Shall order online then.

Heard alot stuff in the bb fair at expo out of stock...

Thanks gelobean! Ya that's the other hub fave out of all the shots he took..

Dun worry abt the test yet okay. Maybe try to talk to your baby more n Wednesday will be here soon.. Jia you!

Later see if got chance to drop by expo anot... But hub dun seem interested..

Hope u all had a good shopping weekend!

After reading e review of e bb sales at expo, instead of gg early there, i went very late, 8pm the reached there. By the time i reach, e crowd r gone le. haahaa.. so much easier to walk but for e ntuc booth, it was still so crowded even is 8pm. Closing time is 9pm. Jus walk thru e fair n grab detergent, bb wash & nursing bra. Nothing much to buy since e stuff i got aldy"7788" le...

Oya, those mummies who recommended Carlifonia bb wash, jus drop a few drop at the tub den wipe new born bb right? After tt need to use clean water to wipe again?

My hubby left for biz trip Sunday morning and will only b back on Wed. Just feel so upset tt he is not with me especially this period and i teared on Saturday night at my mama place cos i went over to stay since Saturday. I so worried tt i even brought my admission letter & gyne details with me to my mum place. :(

Jus hope Wednesday faster come!!! So emo now... =(

gelobean, hope everything turns out well for you. don't worry too much in the meanwhile!

2013san, when are you doing your GTT then?

expo baby fair/weekend - nice meeting up some of the forum mummies here last Friday although we were all tired out by the crowd and madness during the fair, hehe! i only went on Friday but am happy with what i managed to buy overall - latex mattress/pillow/bolster/casings fm Babysafe, nursing wear from Autumnz (hv tried on and sizes are ok) and a Parklon playmat. also managed to buy other Pigeon stuffs fm BHG sale @ Tampines yesterday at 20% off. Am left with abt 10% of stuffs to buy. I also did some packing in my storeroom on Sun (when maid was out!) and shifted the stroller/car seat in so that we can open up the playpen (passed to me fm my gf) and test if the latex mattress can fit in. will have to start bringing out the hand me downs clothings to wash weekly soon! now am thinking if should buy the Toyogo drawers to place next to playpen (hb is going to roll eyes at me if i suggest that coz we also bought an ikea cupboard for baby .. hehe :p). also took the bag for bringing to hospital out to place in my room, am going to pack as and when and drop things in while the date approaches (I still need to clear old photos fm camera and teach hb how to use it!). and yar, i also ordered confinement wine fm the Aunty Ling that some of the mummies in FB recommended!

pinky, yr hb won't be going for biz trip again after this round right? now still early leh, my hb will be leaving for biz trip on 6 Nov, that is more worrying for me. but yesterday, he was teasing me if i will really let him go meh? sounds like he may try not to go but haiz, won't know till later on bah. cheer up! chat with us everyday and Wed will come very soon, today is already Mon!

Gelobean.. my baby was same size as yours.... bb was still growing but not as fast as. My Gynae didn't say anything because he felt that bb was still growing around 0.4kg over 3 weeks since last saw him and i did not put on alot of weight (-_- weight again...zzzz) ...I think my baby will be around 2.5 - 2.8kg when born, although i am hoping that he will reach 3kg upon birth....
I believe your baby will be fine... when is your next appointment with gynae?

2013san> seems like we are on the extreme end..urs is too big, mine is too small..let's hope ours will turn out fine!

lxb> tks so much! yea, have been talking to her quite a lot these days..hopefully she will be gd and listen.. :)

pinkyloving> cheer up! don't let ur mood affect the bb ok! ur bb will be gd and wait for ur hub's return..

littleprince> thx! seems like u accomplished a lot over the weekends!! makes me feel so guilty coz all i did was to sleep and sleep.. :(

mummies, any remedies for backaches? have been having extremely bad backaches at my lower back...it's killing me..

yogini> my gynae appt is on thursday, after my doppler scan on wed..was ur bb's stomach growing at a slower rate than the head and femur too? u dun worry too much ok? u r quite petite..if ur gynae never say anything, he shud be fine..

Morning mummies.
Hope yr have a great time shopping over in expo.
Bought quite a few things in expo too on Fri, but the q is horrible esp towards 3pm time.
I still left a few things not bought yet. Will do this weekend in Robinson.................

gelobean, my gynae is Dr Wong Heng Fok too! When is your next time seeing him? Initially he told me at 25 weeks tat bb tummy is small, so hubby made me drink milk every morning on top of at nite. previous visit at 30 weeks, bb's tummy is back to normal, weighing 1.6-1.7kg. he oso neva say anything. den he say everything is good, can see him in 3-4 weeks time. i m going to see him this sat morning. wad bout u? he is quite nice, initially i got spotting problems, he reassured me and even gave his hp no so that we can contact him in case of emergency..

Went for check up tdy; doc say baby abit on the big side; week 32, 2.1kg. Furthermore both families have diabeties history therefore need to do GTT to playsafe. Haiz... That time worry bb too small now worry too big. Aiyo...
Wont i get dehydrated cos i do not get to drink & eat till test is over... Hmmm.

Is 2.1kg considered big? my bb weight the same at 32wk too. doc thinks that the bb weight ok. i think different doc have different standard for big and small. he didnt request for me to to GTT too.

expo, great to meet up with u mummies. our 1st nov mummies meet up. :) too bad we dont have much time to shop and talk, too many ppl on Friday. i end up not signing up with cordlife. maybe i will consider donating bb cord blood instead. if we will to donate what are we suppose to do huh? littleprince, i didnt buy the playmat leh. i tok M size one is a little too thin. i prefer the L size thickness. maybe i will just order from them online when bb start crawling.

gelobean, my remedy for backache is to swim.

weight myself yesterday, after a wk of cough and flu, i lost 1kg. so now my total weight gain is abt 6kg. didnt help that all my indigestion and vomiting is back. i'm throwing up everyday ever since last Friday. Still rmb that im having weight gain issue during my 2nd trimester. now i got weight gain issue. o_O

jasumine> was ur previous nick kitkat? i recall someone having the same gynae as me..when is ur edd? i was having serious spotting problems in my 2nd tri too!..had to go on bed rest..yea he is super nice..v patient to explain to me..i am v thankful he is my gynae..anw, glad ur bb is ok now!!! all thanks to diligent mummy who keep on drinking milk.. :) i have been trying to drink more milk oso..hopefully it will help..

Pinky,
Cheer up!! Wed will come v soon. My hb was away in states when i was 35-38w preg with our 1st child. Tts a whole 3 weeks and so far away. U nd to be strong. It will be even harder when he needs to travel aft baby arrives.

Litprince,
Did u ladies take a grp pic last fri?

Mush,
Speedy recovery to u! May cough n flu leave u soon. Else its so miserable to be delivering baby when sick.
2.1kg at 32w seems to be avg. dun worry its just an estimate. So long as dr didnt mention its a case of concern sld be fine.

good morning all!
any recommendation for car seat?
i still haven buy my car seat yet. just planning to get a cheap one for infant

Is 2.1kg considered big? my bb weight the same at 32wk too. doc thinks that the bb weight ok. i think different doc have different standard for big and small. he didnt request for me to to GTT too.

expo, great to meet up with u mummies. our 1st nov mummies meet up. :) too bad we dont have much time to shop and talk, too many ppl on Friday. i end up not signing up with cordlife. maybe i will consider donating bb cord blood instead. if we will to donate what are we suppose to do huh? littleprince, i didnt buy the playmat leh. i tok M size one is a little too thin. i prefer the L size thickness. maybe i will just order from them online when bb start crawling.

gelobean, my remedy for backache is to swim.

weight myself yesterday, after a wk of cough and flu, i lost 1kg. so now my total weight gain is abt 6kg. didnt help that all my indigestion and vomiting is back. i'm throwing up everyday ever since last Friday. Still rmb that im having weight gain issue during my 2nd trimester. now i got weight gain issue. o_O
Mush.. i also decided to donate.. just call up Singapore Cord Blood Bank.. fix a day to meet them and fill in the questionaire can liaoz.. and before meeting up..they will do a simple interview on the phone..

jasumine> was ur previous nick kitkat? i recall someone having the same gynae as me..when is ur edd? i was having serious spotting problems in my 2nd tri too!..had to go on bed rest..yea he is super nice..v patient to explain to me..i am v thankful he is my gynae..anw, glad ur bb is ok now!!! all thanks to diligent mummy who keep on drinking milk.. :) i have been trying to drink more milk oso..hopefully it will help..

gelobean, my previous nick is kitkat, i did not change, except tat after smh changed the new layout, it reverted to jasumine. haha. my spotting was in first trim. scared me and i saw him twice in a row lor.
my edd is 25 nov.

good morning all!
any recommendation for car seat?
i still haven buy my car seat yet. just planning to get a cheap one for infant
i saw one brand Joie.. can seat from birth to 4 years old or 7 years old.. less than $300 and quite nice...
wanted to get Combi de.. but then when i went expo ytd..a guy told me combi one is too small for toddlers up till 18kg altho it states there.. coz once your bb's head is above the seat means u need to change to a bigger one liao.. combi design is shorter..more for japanese bah..

morning mommies! just came back from my OB visit. i gained 1kg (OMG how am i even gaining when i m puking!) but bb gained 0.5-0.6kg. so now at barely 35 wks she is 2.6kg.. zzzz

Gelobean, don't worry abt the extra scan. i m sure ur bb is fine.. doppler scans are quite common actually. just that some gynaes do it at their machines. i rem doing it for both my boys at about 36-37 wks where my gynae will just check the placenta function. hang in there!

Re: baby fair
was fun meeting the mommies there.. we had a gd time chatting over lunch. but i was soooooo tired after that. i have to give it up to u Little Prince, u are so spritely! still can carry ur own mattress by urself! my hips were killing me so badly when i left.. i couldn't even lift my left leg to walk.. was dragging it along.

Aiyoh Mummychua, u still not better? my weighing machine at home bluff me. this am i checked at home, i lost 1kg.. when i got to the gynae, i gained 1kg!