(2013/11) November 2013

Yes, I also calculated before, it is more ex to make your own bread, but more for the interest and you know what exactly goes in. I used to make more special bread with recipes from the internet, but now it's really just making plain bread as it's faster lol... I do find that homemade bread has more substance, I can eat 2 slices at 8am and last until 12nn for lunch, while the bread from the bakery only last me until 1030am latest haha... and I love the smell of baking bread :D

music classes: Thanks for all the replies! I actually sent my girl to seimpi for music appreciation classes when she was 2.5yo, for about a yr. It was a 45min parent-accompanied class, and includes singing and music, notes recognition, some workbook activity, and 15min of keyboard practice. My girl loved the class, except for the last part of keyboard when she would refuse to play most of the time. I think it was partly our fault as we didn't practice with her at home and she didn't have the confidence. :( So we decided to wait until she was older and ask for it, but not sure if it's a good time to start now, group vs 1-1, which school etc. I have music background, but it's Chinese music so still need to relearn :p

thanks jaslinegal for adding me in FB! wah... really not sure who is who too...

mooncakes!! i love mooncakes. favourite is Raffles Hotel's Champagne truffle.. but can we eat that huh? got champagne/alcohol?

littleprince/pinky, your next appt with Dr Tham is on 30 Sep ah.. mine's on 1 Oct. miss you girls by a day..

good morning mommies and mommies to be..

i am expecting my 3rd child, edd 1 dec, but expected to csec mid nov at 38 weeks. so was thinking of joining the Nov 2013 MTB forum. Hope i am not too late to join.
#1 was boy #2 gal, this one is a boy again.

Hope everyone is having a smooth pregnancy and smooth delivery to be soon! :)
Welcome ninilicious! I am also expecting my #3. first & second boys, this #3 is a girl! my EDD 4 Nov 2013.

I also love bread! And I fell in love with Paris, when we first went last Dec, there were so many kind of bread! their baguette were warm, just out from oven, crispy, taste great in Winter, and its Euros $0.50 each

Welcome, ninilicious.
I actually was very tempt to buy the breadmaker last year, but I scare I only will start on the ball & do for awhile, after that just leave there as white elephant lol.
I also heard that making yr own bread will be more healthy as nil preservatives.
I super like the fruits & nuts bread, esp wholemeal kind, yum yum..................

I got a nice surprise this morning when the HB went to open the mailbox (yesterday's mail). Dumex sent me a little gift pack! Inside consist of

- 2 packets milk samples
- bag organizer
- 1 dryper diaper sample size S
- vouchers for their milk, one for sweetest moments, another from spring maternity
- fridge magnet

have attached a pic to show the gift pack (btw I'm not affiliated with Dumex in anyway hor). I rem with my boy, they also send me a nice gift pack - super love the big diaper changing mat (too bad no more liao). makes me feel quite guilty for not supporting their products :p (bo pian I lactose intolerant and boy prefers abbott milk)

For first time mummies, you can sign up or approach the various milk and diaper companies for samples, you may get something nice in return!
- Abbott also send me a tin of milk sample for stage 2 IIRC, they are still sending me milk samples as my boy grew older and require different milk intake
- Friso also send me a big tin of 900gram stage 2 milk (not sure if they are still doing it)
- National Library also have a nice little gift pack for 1st time mummies - you have to go to any NLB counter to request for it, but as I got mine 3 years ago, please check if they are still giving. You need to give them your EDD and IC no. IIRC.

Any other lobangs mummies here can share esp for freebies?
i got some goodie bags from various milk company as well... coz i filled in my particulars with a few of the milk co when i signed up my gynae's package.. but i didnt try their maternal milk.. i don drink milk o_O and i threw away some of their fridge magnets and magazines.. room too messy already... only kept the samples.. waiting for the next fren to get preggy and give them..hahaha...

Welcome ninilicious...
So many third time mummies here... :)

3xmum, I went to see the link you gave the other day. Only provided you have given birth between Mar this year till a certain date...
Meaning to have proof with birth cert etc... ours still in tummies... thus dun qualify...
I like warm bread too... a pity that I find delifrance standard drop tremendously... they used to warm up their baguette but not anymore...
Only some nice aunties at Petrol Kiosk will do it for you willingly too...

Sei, not complicated lah.... but if you used those provided by the BM one, dun really taste good and harden on 2nd day...

Sabrina, I have PM you. :)

Thank you Febie. Yes I realised the BM recipe cannot make it one!
I had one that is from Japan one also. It's not too bad also!

i got some goodie bags from various milk company as well... coz i filled in my particulars with a few of the milk co when i signed up my gynae's package.. but i didnt try their maternal milk.. i don drink milk o_O and i threw away some of their fridge magnets and magazines.. room too messy already... only kept the samples.. waiting for the next fren to get preggy and give them..hahaha...

Welcome ninilicious! yeap we have quite a few 3rd time mums! More Singaporeans and less foreigners in the future!

winkle I chance upon the meadjohnson (they produce enfamil) website in the USA and the goodie bag they are giving out is sooooo nice! make me so gian.. haiz why singapore one so lousy de.

Sabrina, actually lot of recipe out there to try...
I only try those less complicated and less messy one... hahaha....

hi mummies! yest was a long day for me, n today i'm feeling tired n legs feel "sour" now..

yest was on leave to acc my mum for her checkup, luckily all turned out fine. we went to walk ard after that n my mum wants to buy every single cute thing she sees for baby! i had trouble stopping her cos most of the things i dun feel it's necessary, dun want her to waste money, but yet seeing her so happy, i dun want to keep saying no to her also. in comparison to my mum, i feel that i am so stingy cos i only buy the necessary things n not those cute things on impulse. baby got excited too, coincidentally always kicking whenever my mum says "this 1 cute! buy buy!" lol... walked non stop right after lunch till dinner time, legs cannot tahan but seeing my mum so happy i hanged on all the way. had dinner together again to celebrate for my mum, bought her a box of her durian mooncakes from home's favourite n head home but can't slp early cos stayed up till midnite to wish hub happy bday n give him his pressie. later noon on leave again to bring hub out to celebrate. lol.. feeling so busy! hope won't tire baby out.

RE: mooncakes
i'm not a fan of durian, but heard many recommendations for home's favourite's durian mooncakes. happen to be my mum's fav too, so bought 1 box for her yest. i personally only like traditional no yolk no "gua zi" mooncakes (same as fuzzybear). tried out some other mooncakes at the booths, actually they all taste abt the same to me. haha.. wanted to buy the ice cream mooncakes, but too exp le i can't bear to buy! i'm always like that, buy for my mum/ hub/ family i dun mind the price, but if buy for myself i cant bear to spend. hahaha... still thinking abt the ice cream mooncake, not sure if splurge to pamper myself (n baby). hehehe...

Fuzzybear,
I like my boy's piano teacher. She knows when to joke and when to be stern.
Swimming is gd. Its a survival skills. U intending to let him start this yr?
I know, my #1 imitates my #2 at times too. Like putting fingers in the mouth or talking like a baby. Irritating!

Attigal,
Yes. Planning to get peony jade orh nee mooncakes but yet to buy. Its one of my must buy yearly.

Momnov,
I am the devil at hm and hb is the angel. Hahaha. No one likes to be devil but there must be a balance la. If nt the kids will climb over our heads!

Ankh,
Yes. Piano must practise diligently. This is also wat the piano teacher says. Practise make perfect. Most kids find it a chore to practise daily. Esp mine, he always ask me he already know hw to play why must practise everyday? I wish my mum had been more stern with me over piano practise then to let me give up.

SN,
Its always better to let the kids choose their own interest and develop from there. Just tat some needs more practise than others and tt puts the kids off.

Sei,
Yes. Its always harder initially esp when learning new pieces also. I started my #1 at 4.

Fleefly,
Yes. The chef from crown prince went over to peony jade. There was a mummy friend who insisted its long jiang. So i went to try out both peony jade n long jiang. Long jiang one doesnt taste as nice and taste as if kept for awhile. There is a funi oil taste.

Pinky,
My #1 i only gained 9kg so i thot this rd with 2 elder kids wldnt put on much coz will be bz with them and housewk.

Febie,
Can try gdwoodpark premium durian combo. 4 pieces in a box. I each of diff flavour.

Re: bfast
Nwadays i like light bfast like bread, cakes or kueh. Heavy bfast makes me feel nausea. So diff from my 1st 6weeks of preg where i need heavy bfast to prevent feeling nausea!

Sn,
Withdrawal method v dangerous le. I have a few friends who strike during withdrawal. And like u, nw cant take chance. Must have protection if nt really dream come true. Lol!

Ninilicious,
Welcome to the thread. Am also expecting #3 but this rd we choose nt to know gender till he/she arrives. Haha.

Re: bread
I like warm bread too. Actually wat i like most is the baking smell. N is a gd bonding session with the kids. I do bake cupcakes etc at hm but getting lazy lately. I wanna invest in a breadmaker but duno hw often i will use it esp with #3 coming along. I have to really make use of my time to do alot of things.

felval, u can really keep the suspense! i wanted to play this game of not knowing too. but i cannot tahan. in the end ask my gyane at 5 month. hahaha

I was thinking gynae will be doing scans at every visit, so bound to be able to see the genital in one of those scans, and for 3rd time mums, its easy to know the genger, if the baby's position let use see it, if its a boy.

SN, hahahaha!! 4 egg yolks mooncakes r cater for me... U noe i eat salted egg w porridge, i only eat egg yolk and my poor hubby have to eat all e egg white. hahaha...

littleprince, i prefer PM appt cos morning can go work den visit the gyne later. But so far, i have been v lazy not reporting to work. But is time to work harder to clear e work before i go for ML.

Mawanab, ya, we missed u by 1 day. Nvm, next appt can meet. haha.. since our edd so near and after 32 weeks, gyne appt interval will shorten to 3 weeks. Tink can eat abit for e alcohol mooncake?

Val, u only put on 9 kg for 1st child. Wow, that's really very good. Doing housework makes u keep fit too!

About swimming, I think our decision to send #2 to Hua Xia (BabySpa) for swim at 1 month is good, because ever since he finishes his package there, hubby brought him to swimming pool and he enjoys it, and learn how to stay afloat now, he even says he can swim, he is not afraid of the adult pool. For #3, we intend to get a swim tub and neck float, and let her swim at home instead, as the BabySpa cost too much now, last time it was $28 each time, now I think must be more than $30.

Anyone started packing hospital bag?I think I want to get ready soon, only 60days left to EDD.

Ninilicious,
Haha. Element of surprise ma =P Its my gynae who keep wanting to tell us the gender. Keep telling him we dun wanna know.

Third3rdtimum,
Nt gynae cant see, if we choose nt to know nw. My gynae keep wanting to tell us but we will tell him every visit tt we do not wanna know yet =)

Pinky,
9kg is 2nd child. 1st one 20kg! Lol.

pinky, littleprince, maybe i will try to fix my gynae appt to coincide with you girls the next time. think it'll be awesome to meet!

djbaby58, H&M at vivo got maternity ah. cool, i will go check out soon. i need more budget maternity wear...

Hi all mummies, hope i am not too late to join this active forum!
I am a first time mummy and my EDD is 16 Nov 13 which is about 2 months later!
So excited yet worried with the arrival of baby girl as we have zero experience with new born bb..

Welcome ninilicious! yeap we have quite a few 3rd time mums! More Singaporeans and less foreigners in the future!

winkle I chance upon the meadjohnson (they produce enfamil) website in the USA and the goodie bag they are giving out is sooooo nice! make me so gian.. haiz why singapore one so lousy de.
wah!! what do they have in the goodie bag??

by the way wanna ask the mummies here... i experienced superrrrr sharp pain at my waist area just now...so painful until i need to find a chair and sit down and wait for the pain to go away... this is my first time having this pain.. and i donno what caused the pain lei...

wah!! what do they have in the goodie bag??

by the way wanna ask the mummies here... i experienced superrrrr sharp pain at my waist area just now...so painful until i need to find a chair and sit down and wait for the pain to go away... this is my first time having this pain.. and i donno what caused the pain lei...

check out their freebies here... but only deliver within US! :(

winkle,
waist area? i have pain near my vagina are before and my gynae said it's ligament pain.
not sure about waist area. maybe u should call your gynae to check

Winkle, at the side of ur waist, just abv ur hip? can be a very sharp pain like a stitch.. if that's what u are feeling, that's round ligaments. Round ligaments are found only at the sides of ur body. Not at v*g*na area.. that's a different type of pain. i get those sharp pains too.

Val, yes i m looking for a swim coach for my #1.. do u have any to recommend? wanna start him young. actually he was quite the water baby when he was young, but once he fell into MBS's pool and couldn't get himself upright. after that he became very scared of immersing his face. My #2 loves the water.. u douse his face with water he also happy.

Winkle, at the side of ur waist, just abv ur hip? can be a very sharp pain like a stitch.. if that's what u are feeling, that's round ligaments. Round ligaments are found only at the sides of ur body. Not at v*g*na area.. that's a different type of pain. i get those sharp pains too.

Val, yes i m looking for a swim coach for my #1.. do u have any to recommend? wanna start him young. actually he was quite the water baby when he was young, but once he fell into MBS's pool and couldn't get himself upright. after that he became very scared of immersing his face. My #2 loves the water.. u douse his face with water he also happy.
yaya.. above the hip..the pain is like running after drinking lots of water...something like stitches but alot more painful than that.. and lasted for about 5 mins...

mummies, when did you bring your kids to start swimming huh? i don't mean that newborn spa pool but public/condo pools. My #1's first dip in the pool was at 3mths old, am intending to do the same for #2!

yaya.. above the hip..the pain is like running after drinking lots of water...something like stitches but alot more painful than that.. and lasted for about 5 mins...
yup round ligaments.. u are gonna feel more of it as u get bigger.. don't make sudden movements and don't contort ur body into weird positions.. haha..

Thirdtime3mom, wah pack hospital bag already? i m exactly 56 days away from my delivery date.. think i will slack some more..

Oh yes, those doing c-secs might wanna bring ur compression socks if u have them. else gynae will ask the physio to get a pair for u to minimise blood clots from forming.

Little Prince, 6 mths for me. I dun like exposing them to too much sunlight and also the harsh chlorine too young..

littleprince, #1's first swim was at 3mths, at my friend's condo. It's a hassle bathing them in a public toilet at that age though, I ended up rinsing her in the sink with cold water and brought her home to bathe properly after that. We started bringing her to the pool more frequently after 1yo, but always at friends' condos because I find the chlorine smell too strong in public pools :p

thirdtimemum, I'm counting 4 weeks backwards from my csec at 38wks, so planning to pack the hospital bag at 34 weeks. Now starting to plan to wash the rest of the newborn stuff over the remaining weekends!

yup round ligaments.. u are gonna feel more of it as u get bigger.. don't make sudden movements and don't contort ur body into weird positions.. haha..

Thirdtime3mom, wah pack hospital bag already? i m exactly 56 days away from my delivery date.. think i will slack some more..

Oh yes, those doing c-secs might wanna bring ur compression socks if u have them. else gynae will ask the physio to get a pair for u to minimise blood clots from forming.

Little Prince, 6 mths for me. I dun like exposing them to too much sunlight and also the harsh chlorine too young..
Just in case la, better be prepared. #1 was induced after 9 days, #2 came on time, #3 no idea when she's going to arrive, most people said it will get earlier each time, I was hoping to be 1st or 2nd Nov, so it is over the weekend, actual is 4th Nov, its also public holiday as Sunday is Deepavali.

yunzz, think it depends on the gynae... my last visit at 29wks still 4 weeks apart, i.e. next one is at 33wks, but for some, they start seeing you 2wks apart once you step into 3rd tri

Just in case la, better be prepared. #1 was induced after 9 days, #2 came on time, #3 no idea when she's going to arrive, most people said it will get earlier each time, I was hoping to be 1st or 2nd Nov, so it is over the weekend, actual is 4th Nov, its also public holiday as Sunday is Deepavali.

Deepavali is not on Sunday 3rd Nov but Saturday 2nd Nov.. there was a change in date.. hehehe.. i think i will pack later.. seriously a lot of things to do before packing like training my 2 boys to slp together, training the new maid and washing baby clothes..

Yunzz, it depends on gynae lor. no hard and fast rule. I am seeing my OB once in 3 wks until 35 wks, then change to once in 2 wks. Post 37 wks will be weekly.

Deepavali is not on Sunday 3rd Nov but Saturday 2nd Nov.. there was a change in date.. hehehe.. i think i will pack later.. seriously a lot of things to do before packing like training my 2 boys to slp together, training the new maid and washing baby clothes..

Yunzz, it depends on gynae lor. no hard and fast rule. I am seeing my OB once in 3 wks until 35 wks, then change to once in 2 wks. Post 37 wks will be weekly.
which means Monday 4th Nov is no longer a PH?

Yup no longer a holiday..

what do u mean lugi one holiday? if fall on a Sat, it will be replaced by a day off right? i def lugi lor cos i will have given birth by then.. on ML already.
if it falls on Sat den there wun be any holiday the coming Monday..unless its on a Sunday...hehehe

so this is ligament pain... :confused:.. i didnt contort my body into weird positions lei.. was standing at my colleagues cubicle and then the pain came all of a sudden.. i wonder if the pain will come back during my yoga later... better not...