(2013/11) November 2013

re: placenta pills, my friend was sharing with me that his wife asked her gynae if it is advisable to eat her own placenta in the form of pills and was ticked off by the gynae! the gynae said there are no medical grounds on the benefits of the placenta pills, so i think it's best not to take?

gelobean: ya ya!! so many types of placenta to eat.. like sheep placenta pills etc.. why eat own one??? no benefits i think.

am back to the office, issue was really 2 dead leaves that got stuck in the air con blower. waliao! didn't charge me a single cent coz i last serviced my car last Friday only, but the drive to and fro took me an hour in total. :mad:

mawanab, aiyo .. you take care and get well soon ok?

gelobean, i was actually planning to quit my job and do something else on my own prior to pregnancy. then got pregnant so everything has to be shelved, ideally i still hope not to be a FTWM, my job can be taxing at times and i want to have more time to coach my #1. but good thing is, this job is stable for now and my current boss is quite flexible to grant me flexibility when i need to so will see how things are next year.

febie, good to get #1 involved since the maid will be staying with you all. i also got my #1 to look at the bio data of those i shortlisted for his opinion, he was ok with the maid i selected before i confirmed her. actually, i think most maids are ok to do a bit more and get compensated, those who don't like are probably those who are not very keen to work properly here?

kayliz> i guess it's a biz gimmick that most mothers fall prey to given the kiasu spirit that Singaporeans have..haha...

xu4n, actually walking now should be ok if your pregnancy is not the complicated kind. because at our stage we can only do limited exercise and walking is one of the safe ways. Slow and relax walk, not fast walk and not for a long time, I take a slow walk around 20 mins each day. My gynae also encourage me to exercise, not so much for easy labour, more for health.

I rem when I still havent give birth at 38 weeks, I don't just walk, I do squats even! but #1 was very stubborn and Daddy's boy (really listen more to my hb then me) and only come out after my hb "talk" to him.

ya lor normal walking of cos ok, wat i mean is walking more than usual. i know of some mummies already starting to take long walks at parks already.. then was thinking need to start so early? so i checked with my gynae lor..

littleprince> mind if i ask for your occupation? seems interesting with the flexi-hour arrangement! :) yea, i must agree that a supportive boss is v impt! my job nature requires me to travel overseas and my boss was nice enough to exempt me from going overseas due to my pregnancy. i feel rather bad as i just joined the company at the start of the year (jan'13), but luckily my boss is quite understanding. however, i can sense that one of my colleagues is not v happy coz she asked me how long i intend to bf. i said 6 mths and she immediately said "oh, that means u cannot travel for at least 3 mths more when u return from work la.." sighs..

I had the same thought when I had #1. We have gone through labour so i deserve a single room. But come #2, my mindset has changed a little.......more concerned about saving money for future usage haha. And previously, gynae's charges were lower and I had a natural birth, so after CPF medisave, I only paid around 6k plus for single bedder.

5years ago, I paid around $3K+ after medisave, for natural with epidural at Mt Alvernia.

I think your colleague should read up a bit more about sun exposure and skin cancer before drawing that conclusion. The best time to get some sun without risk of sunburn is early morning and late evening time. Lack of sun exposure will lead to vit D deficiency. Vit D is essential to the absorption of calcium (which I didn't know till I was hospitalized and discovered to have vit D deficiency) So I made it a point to have some sun exposure during the week. it need not be everyday, but some sun is better then no sun!

Don't go into the sun , after 10am morning - about 4pm, other timings are fine!

Hmmm Thirdtimemum, now you are making me think of single room again. I was telling my hb that the sharing of toilet will be quite gross cos both mommies will be having lochia.... i didnt really think about the part of baby feeding timings not the same. I recall, previously i was really tired from the 3hrly feeding. Imagine if share room, means the nurse will come in every other hour for two different mommies. wah lao. how to sleep.

I was quite firm about 2 bedder, until my church mate shared with me, the inconvenience, I am also worried particularly about the use of toilet, when I go holiday, the hotel room can be 3 star, but toilets must be 5 star, if you know what I mean. I think I influence my #2, now he chooses toilets, coffee shop toilets he refused to go, even if just pee. I don't know how he go to army in 13years time, he told us he doesn't want to go to army, when we told him, he need to go outdoor, and even have to lie down on muddy floor.

The part for nurse bringing babies in, I thought about it myself, waking up by our own baby already very tiring, now will be awaken by someone's baby, and I am a very light sleeper some more worst.

Hi everyone, I'm new here, was introduced to this forum by my colleague. My EDD is mid-Nov and will be delivering at TMC.

Throughout my pregnancy I have been experiencing occasional tiredness and battling constipation. Tiredness is still alight coz can rest, but constipation is making me feeling bloated. Tried taking fybogel and prune juice but they only work sometimes.

littleprince> mind if i ask for your occupation? seems interesting with the flexi-hour arrangement! :) yea, i must agree that a supportive boss is v impt! my job nature requires me to travel overseas and my boss was nice enough to exempt me from going overseas due to my pregnancy. i feel rather bad as i just joined the company at the start of the year (jan'13), but luckily my boss is quite understanding. however, i can sense that one of my colleagues is not v happy coz she asked me how long i intend to bf. i said 6 mths and she immediately said "oh, that means u cannot travel for at least 3 mths more when u return from work la.." sighs..
me too... needed to travel in May this year but due to pregnancy..i told my boss i dont want to go.. i'll provide support from Singapore..or try to do whatever i can in SG... and then by right this week i will also need to travel..but to neighbouring country.. i told them im not going.. and one lady said..AIYA!!.. 30 weeks only can one la... y cannot go??... win lor... o_O.. but i insisted on not going.... coz im providing support to department.. so if i dont go..they have to do my job...:D

I was quite firm about 2 bedder, until my church mate shared with me, the inconvenience, I am also worried particularly about the use of toilet, when I go holiday, the hotel room can be 3 star, but toilets must be 5 star, if you know what I mean. I think I influence my #2, now he chooses toilets, coffee shop toilets he refused to go, even if just pee. I don't know how he go to army in 13years time, he told us he doesn't want to go to army, when we told him, he need to go outdoor, and even have to lie down on muddy floor.

The part for nurse bringing babies in, I thought about it myself, waking up by our own baby already very tiring, now will be awaken by someone's baby, and I am a very light sleeper some more worst.

hmm there are two schools of thoughts. The first is that it's only 2-3 nights stay (depending natural or Csect), so can just bare with all the inconveniences of sharing room and then rest proper when you get home. The other school of thought is that the initial days of rest after delivery is the most important. We are only talking about 2 bedder, in my #1 thread, someone stayed in 4 bedder. gosh. i wonder how she even used the toilet and rest!

It's the same thing with breastfeeding. my friend told the nurse not to bring the baby in during the night so that she can rest. she said she has her whole life to breastfeed the baby. in a way, it's true. but then, the first few days of latching is very important to establish supply. so it really depends what you believe in lor.

Manawab, i think applying sunblock for babies is too kua zhang already. As far as possible, i dun want to apply anything on my baby's face. to date, i havent applied any cream on my son's face. i figured that the less cream you apply for them, the less reliant they will be on creams, the better their skin. I only apply on his legs cos they tend to be dry and flaky like mine.

winkle> ur colleague is an old spinster issit? 30 weeks how to travel! sighs, i think the workplace culture plays a major part in encouraging childbirth, on top of financial matters. thank god that colleague of mine is the only one who made such silly comments till date..

anw, hubs was telling me that the birthrate for the snake year for 1st half of the yr is on par with the dragon year's! and i also realized there are many friends of mine who r preggie or who has given birth this yr..am curious to know the reason though..hahaha..coz i tot the snake year is not so popular...

welcome patyeo! i am having the same problems as u. u r not alone! i have been trying to down more water, in hope that the stools will become softer..haha..

actually, i think nowadays parents are being too kiasu also, applying 1001 things on babies. when we were babies, our parents only use baby powder and ru yi oil on us, but we also grow up well didn't we? same goes for diet, our parents were less particular abt the food to feed us, n we grew up just the same. compared to now, parents are super careful over every thing but i feel that kids nowadays are "weaker" compared to us, as in there seems to be more cases of food allergies, skin allergies etc. just my personal thot/ opinion lah. :D

Re: 1 or 2 bedder
I belong to the other side of the coin.. i can bear with small inconveniences like sharing room etc. i m a very light slper so even if i stay in a single room, i can't slp well. Actually with the new bf-ing initiatives, hospitals that are going for the international accreditation will have the mom and baby room together. NUH now practises this.

Re: lotions etc
U don't have to apply moisturizers. the purpose of applying it is not to moisturise the baby's skin but to massage the baby. don't get the 2 confused. U can use baby oil too but it is too oily for my liking. As for sunblock, if u are not gonna park ur bb under the hot sun for like 30mins straight with no shade, i think sunblocks are not necessary. i usually make my sons wear hats and avoid going out during the peak irradiation period. if die die have to go out, then i will use.

Yes its my first baby so I'm very nervous and excited as well. After 3 years finally, was under pressure from my in-laws since I got married. They are more excited than myself!

Congrats! Boy or girl? I know the feeling of ttc and failing.. I too only conceived after 2 years of marriage... so sian to see people around me getting pregnant so easily back then..

Thanks gelobean! I drink one cup water already very full, but I heard there are people who can drink 3 cups the first thing in the morning.

Yup initially I was surprised that the snake year is almost on par with dragon. I'm guessing that perhaps we the newer generation is not so particular about such things. Dragon year also more competitive in pri school enrolment etc. Less is better.

winkle> ur colleague is an old spinster issit? 30 weeks how to travel! sighs, i think the workplace culture plays a major part in encouraging childbirth, on top of financial matters. thank god that colleague of mine is the only one who made such silly comments till date..

anw, hubs was telling me that the birthrate for the snake year for 1st half of the yr is on par with the dragon year's! and i also realized there are many friends of mine who r preggie or who has given birth this yr..am curious to know the reason though..hahaha..coz i tot the snake year is not so popular...

welcome patyeo! i am having the same problems as u. u r not alone! i have been trying to down more water, in hope that the stools will become softer..haha..

Geolobean,
ya, many of my frens have given birth or will be giving birth this year too!
what happened? i also thought snake year not popular.. maybe many have been aiming for dragon year but could not make it, so bring forward to snake year.
i hope not too many babies this year coz it means fierce competition for P1 registration and other things

Congrats! Boy or girl? I know the feeling of ttc and failing.. I too only conceived after 2 years of marriage... so sian to see people around me getting pregnant so easily back then..
Thanks attigal! Its a boy. my mother in law is kind of overly excited since this will be her first grandchild. waited for many years already.

Geolobean,
ya, many of my frens have given birth or will be giving birth this year too!
what happened? i also thought snake year not popular.. maybe many have been aiming for dragon year but could not make it, so bring forward to snake year.
i hope not too many babies this year coz it means fierce competition for P1 registration and other things

May have something to do with the enhanced maternal benefits and incentives introduced last year (Marriage & Parenthood Package 2013).. paternal leave extended to 1 week with another week shared with working mother, medisave can be used to pay for more pre natal expenses and increased baby bonus.

Thanks attigal! Its a boy. my mother in law is kind of overly excited since this will be her first grandchild. waited for many years already.

haha thats so nice. Compare to my mil.. she was like so-so.. oh got baby ah.. good (then talk about weather liao LOL)

Yeah... eating own placenta really sound gross. :eek::eek:During my #1 & #2 time, I didnt heard abt it so I was quite shocked when told it's getting common these days. She also mention it helps slimming down too.

Sun exposure
My #1 born at 2.5kgs. In many cases, he should prone to have jaundice at this size. But bcoz my mum who was an experienced confinement nanny, placed my son in a bouncer nakedly but with eyes covered under the morning son everyday continuously for a week after we brough him home. He was free from jaundice. Mum will retrieved him back before 10:30am depends on the heat of the sun on that day. I was so pleased that my #1 didn't have to go thru' the jaundice problem that some bb need to. Thru this, I concluded that Natural Sunlight is the best remedy to cure newborn jaundice. The same process applied to my #2, he too had no jaundice. I will do the same for this bb too.

morning mummies... came in office to clear my stuff.. so looking forward to next week to rest at home man.. i cant even open my eyes this morning when i get out of bed..

May have something to do with the enhanced maternal benefits and incentives introduced last year (Marriage & Parenthood Package 2013).. paternal leave extended to 1 week with another week shared with working mother, medisave can be used to pay for more pre natal expenses and increased baby bonus.

according to my hub is because everyone was trying for dragon.. dan missed the timing.. and since trying so might as well continue.. so end up in snake year.. hahaa

RE: hopsital stay
i m opting for single bed but the cheapest one.. cos i want hub to stay over leh.. dun think i can handle by myself.. plus i also scare later 2-bedder will have alot of distractions.. for me n bb when i bf.. and since hub agreed so i m opting for single room one..

hiaz... just received a news that HQ is planning to convert SG office to home base. Not sure how will this impact my maternity. Sigh..... So worry that they may end up asking me to go before Nov..... :( praying hard that if that happened, MOM is able to step in. :confused::confused:

Gelobean, I am in the customer service line of a well known company in Sg (hehe!), handles escalations for the management so can be taxing at times especially if need to work with network countries. Flexible not coz of my role but coz I have worked here for many years so my management knows even if I am not in office, I will still follow up when I am outside. I am a slave worker .. no one does my work when i am not around .. haha! I think if you want to bf longer than 6 mths, you should still do it despite yr collg's comment lor. Even if you pump and throw for the days you are travelling also can still contd to bf when you are back.

Welcome, patyeo!

Morning mummies! Have been out of action the past 2 weeks dues to illness and work. Was down with flu, cough, then followed by diarrhoea and fever. And of course, in between, trying to battle acid reflux. Sighs... it's been tough. And I'm only at 26 weeks plus. Not even 3rd trimester. Yikes... really dunno how to survive it when I start gaining more weight in 3rd tri. Even now, I already feel very heavy. And cos I can't sleep lying flat, have to be on my sides, both my arms would ache when I wake up. ARGH.... :eek:

littleprince, did you have to pay for the quick servicing then?

eh... the thought of eating the placenta is a bit yucky...

mawanab, same here! Been down with a terrible cold and busy with work. When i slp on my side, arms ache man. Hope u are feeling better this week.

More promo events at work! Totally no mood due to heavy body and exhaustion. :( Last weekend, my co had a booth at the jobscentral edu and career fair. I only worked on the 1st day Sat, full day and crashed on Sun. told my boss sorry I really cant stand and make it. But today have another roadshow, hv to leave for that after lunch. and next week is the worst. Have to do shifts as we are having a booth at a mall from 10am - 9pm! I really dun wanna do this but I need to participate to close sales. :(

Mawanab, sayang sayang! My goodness, you've been suffering a lot! Hope this week is better for you. Yeah, agree with some mummies, your colleague has to read up on when to sun his baby, not avoid it altogether. He's just setting her up for weak bones.

SN, solly eh, no priority for P1 anything if your kids study at hokkien huay kuan. Sigh, hubby n I speak potato Chinese, so that's why we need to send #1 for Chinese enrichment. I looked at the K2 vocab list given by the huay kuan teacher, want to faint already. I don't know how to read so many words!! #1 was teaching me instead!

Xuan, I walk also partly to build up my strength (hopefully!). Must have stamina for giving birth, taking care of new baby etc. If I don't exercise all I can now, don't know how I'll physically cope later. Of course slow walks, nothing vigorous.

Fuzzybear, er thanks hor, now got to scrub booger image from my brain...........

Gelobean, I thought 30 weeks can still travel? Cos I remember my friend traveling to HK at 32 weeks with her then 3 yr old #1. Purpose was for a holiday though. why your colleague say can't travel for at least three more months after ML? Or you're taking 3 months ML?

Plush84, take care!

Mawanab, get well soon....

Thanks little prince. I will sure involved #1 since he has been feeling rather insecured recently and all his teachers relate it to my pregnancy...
Only this morning my boss came and talked to me on who should cover me during my maternity etc... and he was asking if I need to clear all 4 mths...
I told him anytime after 40days of confinement and I can report back to work... also assured him that i'm contactable and will check my email regularly...

Welcome Patyeo. :)

Fuzzybear, you seems to understand NUH pretty well... I rem when I had my #1, i'm the only one who gave birth at NUH in the thread...
with this thread, I saw more mummies at NUH... :) Have not go find out anything abt my stay since this is 2nd one...
I think it's still one bedder and 4 bedders option if i'm not wrong.

littleprince> it's gd that u managed to gain trust from your boss! u must rem to rest more ok? can always slave after u give birth. bb is more impt :)

patyeo> how about dragonfruit and guava? my friends recommended me that, but i dun dare to eat dragonfruit and dun fancy guava..oops..hahhaaa...if not, u can try asking ur gynae for stool softeners such as lactulose? although it doesn't work much for me...but i tink it might work differently for individuals..

totally agree that primary school applicatoin is gonna be challenging if the birth rate is so high..my 2 primary schools closed down.. :( so i dun even have alumni to speak of..sighs..

ankh> can still travel for leisure, but for work, it can get v taxing on the mummy...my colleague commented as such coz if i fly overseas, my kiddo won't have access to breast milk...ya lor,i choose to ignore her coz she is not my boss oso..if my boss never comment, i dun see why she is in a position to dictate my arrangements...

re: sunblock
agree with most mummies that putting sunblock at such a young age may not be nec. i probably won't do that. and I agree with xu4n that in our mothers' time, they also not so particular abt everything, but we grew up fine.

plush84, hope your cold gets better soon. need to rest more... so how did you manage the pain from your arms? my arms are so painful and uncomfortable that i'm developing a v bad mood :mad: and the acid reflux is not helping. took meds i got from polyclinic this morning. but the heartburn feeling was still there... so only had 3/4 bowl of porridge with some veg, half a popiah and a cup of barley for lunch. feeling so miserable.

mummies, understand from doc that to prevent acid reflux, i should eat small meals in higher frequency. but how to gauge what's small? like i still felt hungry after my porridge with veg, that's why i bought popiah. but i also cannot finish my popiah... urgh! hope my gynae will be able to help...

gelobean: shes not married yet.. but not very old la... lolz.. if it's for leisure i think week 32 still can travel.. but for work will be very tiring.. so she said..go there and relax la.. don work so much..at least i get to go.. and i was thinking to myself.. u all will let me nuaaaaaa meh?!?! so meaning to say if they go for meetings...i stay in the hote room and nuaa ah? kaozz...

Xuan: i agree!!.. that day when i was eating ta bao fruits outdoor while waiting for traffic... my coll looked at me and said y buy fruits and eat outside? so i asked y cannot.. he said yaa...can..eat in the pollution and dust... :confused::eek:

little prince, my first one, I rest abt 2.5 mths and resume work. if under MOM laws that I muz clear 2 mths, guess my boss would prefer I cleared 2 mths...
basically they just dump all the stuff to me after they got the deal... I have to do the rest... if having a temp, they gotta cover those area themselves...
the temp at most help process their claims and clear shipment. the rest doubt can teach much since it's temp and wont bother to do better....

mawanab, break down your usual meal into 2 lor... like you had lunch at 1pm, maybe at 3pm, u wan some light snack...
try not to get a full feeling at each meal... got eat can already.

winkle> that's the thing abt them..my colleague who commented is also single...so they dun understand man..zzzz....

mummies, there's gonna be a mothercare sale from 30 Aug to 1 Sep at the Parkway Parade outlet..just in case u guys wanna buy more stuff! :)

I'm so full. Boss treated the dept to Swensen's and I had fish and chips and sticky chewy chocolate. im so full..............................stomach feels like there's no more space. didnt eat icecream for more than a month. after today, will have to go on an icecream fast again. haha.

gelobean, I tried dragonfruit and it helps the first few times. But its tasteless, it taste like agar agar without sugar. Papaya helps the most, but I dun really like. Prefer kiwis and honeydew.

mawanab, salonpas can be used in the early stages of pregnancy, but now that we are in the later stages, it may be harmful to our baby.

djbaby58, my relative gave birth at Mt E a few years back and she said everything is very ex, from parking to consultation to delivery. Not sure if things have changed now.

winkle> that's the thing abt them..my colleague who commented is also single...so they dun understand man..zzzz....

mummies, there's gonna be a mothercare sale from 30 Aug to 1 Sep at the Parkway Parade outlet..just in case u guys wanna buy more stuff! :)
thanks for the info... Mothercare sale always very scary... the Q starts as early as 8am or 7am de rite?? hahaha...

totorodino, wow i miss swensen's but icecream makes my teeth "frozen." This is especially obvious when i take cold stuffs after my dental visit.

Thanks Patyeo and winkle! its seems like if the delivery is swee swee .. its still quite affordable.. just worried (touchwood), cos heard of so many cases recently..haiz..

if i change gynae and hospital now.. like a bit late liao hor? =(

patyeo> gotta be careful not to take too much papayas though coz they may cause jaundice..i tink best is to eat a lot of veges..but i really hate to take veges, so i have to resort to taking fruits and fybogel/ yakult/ lactulose... :(

winkle> no prob! more info on the sale can be found on the mothercare website:
http://www.mothercare.com.sg/default.asp
They provided details on the items which will be on sale..
am not sure abt the queue though..hee..

totorodino> u suddenly make me feeling like binging on ice-cream! hahahaa..

i rem we were on the topic of hiring a master to select baby names right? my colleague was just telling me it's impt to go and calculate baby names and referred grand master tan khoon yong to me, but his consultation is super ex for selection of baby names!!! $629!!! if i ever get a master to calculate, i may consider his disciple instead..$115 sounds more reasonable..haha..

i pasted the link here in case
http://wayonnet.com/service_details.php?Id=15

patyeo> gotta be careful not to take too much papayas though coz they may cause jaundice..i tink best is to eat a lot of veges..but i really hate to take veges, so i have to resort to taking fruits and fybogel/ yakult/ lactulose... :(

winkle> no prob! more info on the sale can be found on the mothercare website:
http://www.mothercare.com.sg/default.asp
They provided details on the items which will be on sale..
am not sure abt the queue though..hee..

totorodino> u suddenly make me feeling like binging on ice-cream! hahahaa..

i rem we were on the topic of hiring a master to select baby names right? my colleague was just telling me it's impt to go and calculate baby names and referred grand master tan khoon yong to me, but his consultation is super ex for selection of baby names!!! $629!!! if i ever get a master to calculate, i may consider his disciple instead..$115 sounds more reasonable..haha..

i pasted the link here in case
http://wayonnet.com/service_details.php?Id=15

can we drink Yakult? a friend told me cannot. but i cant remember y. yesterday i drank half a bottle.

tks febie. wah... tough to not have a full feeling after each meal. shall try to rem the horrid feelings of acid reflux and manage my appetite.

Patyeo, welcome!! tks for highlighting that salonpas cannot be used. shall try to do some stretching exercise to see if it helps.

djbaby58, if your gynae knows that baby might have complications, he/she may refer you to public hospital where NICU is more affordable than private hospitals. Mt E is quite ex... but if you have the financial resources, why not?

Mawanab: ya.. kinda regret choosing mt E.. tot would be fine.. but who knows.. my new house also coming.. supposed to get keys next year.. end up its coming in Oct.. guess i just have to take care and pray hard that everything will be smooth smooth. =/