(2013/11) November 2013

Hi all, i just did my detailed scan on sat, & its a boy! The lady even printed out a pic of bb sucking his thumb...
Had review with my gynae ytd, bb weighing at 400g at 20w 5 days on sat, & gynae say abit on the heavy side and jokingly say may hav to go for csect. i got a shock man! den i ask him so fast decide meh, den he laugh laugh and he say he got to plan. *faint*
anyway, he say my report is good. bb length is at 97th percentile, longer than most babies, probably due to genes. so he was jokingly saying could it be from me (1.61m) or my hubby (1.74m)?
Was abit disappointed cos bb was not active when gynae scanned. he even say can't see properly, mayb its a girl?
My bb is a nite owl, moves more at nite when i m about to sleep..

Linxiaober,

I think the lessons i attended was quite good.. Interactive so we got to clarify a lot of doubts.. We got to practice some exercises together with hubby, practise bf positions with baby dolls.. There was also demo on bb bathing where hubbies were busy taking video/photos and wifeys were busy taking notes.. Haha.. I find it a nice bonding time with hubby too
Trainers made sure the hubbies were involved.. Looking forward to the last session which is bb massage.. We just have to call up when our bb is born.. They'll arrange class for us and we bring bb down to learn the bb massage..

Fuzzybear,

Haha.. me here me here! These past 2 wks started vomitting again but of cos less than before so a little lethargic.. My wk 22 scan is tmr! Excited!
Felt and saw bb kicks and m9vements for the first time last fri, hubby and i were excited like little kids.. Haha.. We look out for it everyday now.. You've done your detailed scan already rite?

Oops..i juz came out from a long meeting.. so many replies...busy at work so didnt really log in regularly to check..haizz..

just curious la.. coz some of my frens their gynae will measure bb's weight on every visit.. mine dont.. so just wanna check whats the normal practice lor..

and i saw someone talking about confinement shower gel this morning.. i bought 1 bottle from the baby baby expo.. err.. smells exactly like insect repellent...hahahha.. *sorry if i'm abit laggy on whats happening here ah* =p

Regarding Vag**** healing spray.. my fren recommended Belly B's Perineal Spray... she got it from New Mummy Essential (a FB page) but i just checked with them and they are left with 50ml starter kit.. so if any of you interested gotta get from drugstore.com i guess..

Xiaober, not every gynae practises giving the weight of the baby. U have to rem u cannot measure the weight at all. U are extrapolating from 2D measurements like diameter of torso, length of femur. Weight is more of a 3D measurement so it isn't accurate at all. as ur baby becomes bigger, the measurements will become more and more inaccurate. After the baby is engaged, there's no way to measure the bb's weight accurately. So i m with Febie. A lot of mommies get hung up on the weight. worry baby too small or too big when u gotta rem the room for error is huge.

Ankh, ya no joke lor.. end up my fren was pretty annoyed. cos she was scared to death that she couldn't push the bb out since the doc told her her baby was too big. when i asked my gynae abt it, he said once baby is engaged, u cannot really measure the head properly hence the inaccuracy is much larger.

Re: hb being hands on
I have gotta say my hb might suck at being a husband but he is a damn gd daddy. he showers my sons whenever he is home (or awake). Feeds them brekkie alone, then brings both of them out by himself daily. they go to parks and beaches or just the garden downstairs for walks daily. if he is home on time, he will read books and put the boys to slp.

But i still gotta say he can be a lousy hb to me!!

Kitkat, congrats on ur boy! i thought the weight was abt there.. i rem my #1 was 397g at 20 wks+ too. he was 3.125kg at birth. Don't worry too much for now.

Min, haven't seen u around.. oh dear why puke? have u stopped ur jabs? gd luck on ur scan tmr..
do update us ok?

Manawab MIA today?

wah all the hbs don't shower their kids? then my hb considered very hands on already. We didnt attend any course but there was a 1-2hrs foc course provided by Gleneagles during the hospital stay. so we learned everything from there. during my confinement, it was mainly my hb who bathes the baby, on some days my mom will bathe the baby too but she is more afraid of handling newborn than my hb. after confinement, i was quite scared of bathing my son alone, so usually do it together with hb or mom. till today, my hb still helps to bathe my son

I saw the papers today on the primary 1 registration. Told my hb to join his alumni so that we can be in phase 2A1 haha! Kiasu parent come out already haha. It seems that it doesnt pay to do voluntary work since you will only be in phase 2B, all the good schools already no space by then.

SN, and fuzzybear, so nice hubby is hands on...
but I cant complain too much since he helps with hsework... He has to do ironing while I sit and relax with my boy or play with him etc, read with him etc...

Fuzzybear, guess we all have lots to complain abt mil and hb hahahhaa....

kitkat, you muz check if your gynae is those pro natural delivery or those prefer c-sec...
some gynae like c-sec so that they can plan how many delivery a day.

kitkat, sounds like your gynae is pro-c sect! at this point in time, really too early for him to say c-sect leh, there are mommies who could give birth naturally to a 4kg baby loh. haha.

Arissa, thanks for the link! V useful! Quite accurate too. I had an average weight gain for #1. Im aiming for the minimum this time. Haha

Got the DOTE nursing top keyhole in the mail last night, which I posted last Friday, at 50% off, $14.50, love the material of the top, it's thick yet not warm,very comfortable, I tried it on, and can wear it now. Look for for their weekly Friday deal!

carters rompers, for those mummies staying near Punggol Plaza, i saw a stall at the 1st floor atrium (outside Prima Deli) selling the same sets sold in Baby Baby fair at the same price, $16 for a pack of 5. they also have the gift sets (rompers + socks + washcloths). Can try your luck there if you didn't manage to attend the fair.

SN: My hubby also pretty hands on bathing the baby for 1st few months. Then dunno since when, I took over the bathing till now, I preggie again, I use it as an excuse for him to bath my boy. And I watch, they have a great time bonding in the bathroom :D

Arissa, thanks for the link, will surely use it to monitor too. Like all of you, I also dont wish to put on too much weight.

Can any mummies help me verify if this website is accurate? http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/pregnancy-and-baby/pages/due-date-calculator.aspx#close

Coz i use babycenter, whattoexpect, all only ask for last start day of period. But my period interval is pretty long. Around 41 days. These websites did not ask about the interval and the edd results date is what my gynae gives me. As I only get to see with my gynae two weeks later, I don't get to ask him. Thus need assurance here.

As detailed scan of my bb too small is causing me undue stress. Babycenter etc websites calculate I should be 22 weeks but the above weblink included calculating my period interval is 20 weeks. which means my bb is 2 weeks younger so shld not be undersize.

are all of your bb very very active too?
my bb is very active. Has been experiencing many hard kicks in the day and at night too since 16 weeks. I worry bb will be too active. Is this of a concern? Coz my last pregnancy, I don't rem feeling so many kicks.Is really a contrast between my previous pregnancy. And my boy is managable. I don't wish for too active kid.

SY: i bought before.. its best if you can go to their display shop to try.. the lady there would be able to advise what size to wear.. but their brands are mainly from china, can get from taobao.. but just buy one time get the measurement dan shop from taobao.. lol~

morning mommies! wet weather today so be careful when u are out!

Febie, u shd be on ur way to TW now. have a gd and safe trip! I guess it is really hard to find a hb that is both hands on with the kiddos and housework. so i try and close one eye cos he is really gd with the kids. like last night he was repairing their toys until quite late.

2jmum, ur luteal phase (days after ovulation, but before period) is a max of 16 days, so u shd have ovulated at day 25, at the very earliest. At the very latest, u could have ovulated at Day 29 of ur cycle. so yes, EDD shd be abt 2 wks later than what ur gynae told u if he based it on LMP. Who's ur gynae? he sounds really inexperienced!

I am tempted to do one last shopping spree leh.. haizzz.. somebody stop me!

morning mommies, nice weather to stay in bed today. so difficult to get out of bed this morning. back-aching like crazy, ribcage hurts too... haiz... this preg seems so much more uncomfortable than my 1st.

linxiaober, so we just call to make appt to go down to try? how's the material of their clothes? their price seems very reasonable.

sei, enjoy seeing bb...

SN .. yeah i am aiming for the minimum gain.. going to cut down on my desserts n sugary stuffs..
xiaober, i believe you will catch up when we slowly progress to 3rd trimester..i m sure ur baby is still gaining weight.

For edd, i didnt really focus that much on what gynae gave me.. i have this feeling that i may pop slightly early.. looking at my family history also.. so long not earlier yham week 36, i m ok

sei.. each time i have gynae appt, i m either too excited or too worried to sleep.. hope u slept well last night.. keep us posted on ur appt

Xiaober > Lol good idea. Go down take note of the measurement then buy from taobao haha..but hv you ordered from taobao yet and got the items already? How is their material?

Fuzzybear>check out on maid agency and not shopping spree. Read reviews online for various agency, which are blacklisted. When I was looking for mine, I did that, so you know what's going on in the market

I have been a silent reader all the while and now decided to join in the interesting topics that share here.

I'm week 20 now and I am so happy that i'm pregnant and conceive naturally as i have been trying for Baby for 6 years! I'm having a baby gal. I'm seeing Dr SF Loh at TMC for checkup.

Ankh,
Yes. Heaven knows wat will happen this 1yr till i reg. Yes. Actually there are vacancies left in non branded/popular sch. Just a matter of whether the parents wan or nt. all parents of coz wanna put their child(ren) in gd sch but must calculate the odds la. No point complaining if they wan gd n branded sch n cant go in coz of high demand. Its a risk. looking at the figure, most slots are taken up at phase1 so lesser slots for the latter phases.
Oh. I tot 2007 is golden pig so tat explains the fierce competition.

Fuzzybear, 
Lol! Women. I will make known my unhappiness to my hb too =p hope u will have an easy time looking for a gd helper.

Febie,
Hahaha! Coz real and fake baby! Real baby is constant time while fake baby wldnt kick, move or pee on ur hb. Lol!!
Actually my hb is v gd n nice. He is very hands on. He can change diapers, he can bathe the kids. Even when nb he will also try to bathe them whenever he can instead of leaving to me. He spend time with the kids as much as possible too and he is v patient towards them. 

Kitkat,
Hardly see u ard lately. Hope u are doing well =) congras on a healthy boy =)

2jmum,
All gynaes sld be using lmp. Dun be so stress as its nt something u have control over. If too small and its a concern prof tee will discuss with u on ur next visit. Did he see u aft ur detailed scan? Are u small in size also? Suggest u note dwn all the concerns u have and discuss with prof tee. Small baby doesnt mean unhealthy. My gal is very small size. Way beyond wat we expected as my #1 was big size so we thot same factory wldnt defer alot but who knows. So, if u are eating normally and nt skipping meals then i think dun worry too much. 
Every preg is diff, likewise every child is diff. Many kicks do not mean baby may nt be managable. There are plenty of things to worry abt. Try to relax, nt everything is within ur control and wish. enjoy the movements while u can. Aft delivery, u gonna miss those movements =) at least for me, i really miss the movements and miss being preg aft i popped =)

Pat,
Welcome to the thread and congras on a healthy baby gal =)

Hihi Patricia, congratulations and welcome!

Weight gain: I was heaviest at 65kg during my 1st pregnancy. Now i am only 6 mths and already 61kg! Omg. I have to keep to 4kg gain during the next 3 months+!

Morning mummies! It's a wet weather, please be careful when you go out ya..

Mummychua: ya just call in or message in the contact no will do.. But best if you can ask your hubby to drive you there.. Cos the place really quite ulu.. And it's hose shophouse kind.. Below all is those repair cars or even for industrial usage one.. So have someone to go with you is better... The material for those I bought are pretty okay.. I like the shorts I bought there,l pricing is abt 20+ I find it okay at least cheaper Dan other online shops.. But of cos if you compare to taobao it's stil abit markup..

Arissa: ya I told my hub last night n that's wat he told me as well

Sy: ya I order from taobao after I bought from them.. Cos I need to know roughly my measurement also.. I find it okay but some I dun think can last till I give birth.. But at least it's cheap so as long as I can fully utilized it I m okay if It doesn't last long. Hahaha but do note some of the measurement run abit small.. So must be careful when you buy..

Morning mummies.
Cold cold morning..............
Fuzzy-Don need last spree leh, continue yr shopping lah, haha.
I'm still awaiting my carter shipment, like long leh.
1st time buying from carter & sending in via Vpost, so excited.
Min-Gd luck for yr detailed scan.
Enjoy the scan.
Hope yr vomitting had gone.
Pat-Welcome

morning mummies... gloomy weather today. work has been busy since last wk but friday still seems to take very long to come. i thot today is friday already! yest i received some of my taobao items. hehehe.. will share photos n links of some of my buys when i have time to upload.

welcome to all the new mummies, n hope everyone have a good day today!

Welcome Lim wen hui Patricia

Bluenosebear>I am also waiting patiently for my vpost shipment from drugstore.com, I ordered Caltrade + D (200tablets bottle @$19.99, I bought 100tablets from gynae at $38), some avent bottles, brush, training cup, maybeline mascara, ziplock bags, for what I can remember, total SGD$ 197.99., shipping charges SGD34.14 after 25% discount by Citibank credit card. have you paid shipping charges, there are different discount with different credit cards.

kayliz: 4kg in the next 3mths plus abit impossible lah.. lol..

piggie: i understand that usually 3rd trimester will gain abt 0.5kg per week. it's the period when baby starts to gain their weight.

third3timemum-Best is that carter good had arrived in USA Vpost address, but my Vpost account has not update that there is any package received.
According to my hubby, they will take a few days to process before VPost update in my account.
So I has to wait.
Praying hard Vpost side will receive lor.
So I have not know the Vpost delivery charges yet.

linxiaober, im planing to go down today. just sms the lady. i quite familiar with the area so no problem lah.

travelling, im planning for a phuket trip end of sept by then i will be ard 27wks. hope that i will still have strength to walk ard then. maybe i can buy some bb stuff.

Hi all thanks.
I'm going baby moon next week to Bangkok to shop. At week 20, I gained 5-6 kg from my pre pregnancy weight. is it ok?

Hi mummies! Finished my scan and baby size is on track
I need to do glucose test next visit at 29 wks as my dad is diabetic

SN> http://www.singapore-maid.com/agency-reviews
Forum Discussion :

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/868839.html

http://singaporemaid.blogspot.sg/2011/02/ministry-puts-maid-agency-data-online.html

http://cliftonphua.blogspot.sg/2011/02/how-to-choose-maid-agency-in-singapore.html

http://search.insing.com/ts/home-garden/maid-agencies

Bluebosebear> you will be asked to pay for the shipping charges soon I think, look out in your email.

I got email notify me that the shipment is out of Vpost USA , on the way to Vpost SG, it estimate to reach end July.

mummychua>have you book your Phuket trip?I was thinking Bangkok maybe a better shopping place, I went to Phuket in 2010, it is more of a tourist area, like souvenirs, most of the stalls/shops selling almost the same thing, like pasar malam, maybe there are places where I have not seen.I don't remember seeing baby things.

loveBaby>I also gain 5.8kg from pre-pregnancy weight at week 22 scan, to me, its too fast for me, as I am already overweight from the start.

Nice place to shop, but just be careful.

sei>glad baby is doing well. my dad also diabetic since his 20s, gynae never ask me to do any glucose test, did you have urine test every time you go for your gynae appointment?

Jean>welcome

The Shen Kwong Trading Co (the shop selling cheap baby clothes) at bugis, are they open during the weekends?