(2013/11) November 2013

Wahaha fuzzybear, mind out of gutter, mind out of gutter! No la, bosom issue from 3xmum's pic of weight distribution when pregnant. p**n issue from this mummy in FB who posted pic of a downward view of her tummy and two kneecaps and wrote p**n! p**n! Just found it super funny cos it was one of the first things I saw this morning. Luckily wasnt drinking anything else everything would have shot out lol.
Funny leh, pretty much no heartburn now. Been eating with a vengeance past one plus weeks. Woohoo, even booked a nice dinner for next week with hubby. You still have heartburn and rash?

Already, my bi-weekly visits start from 32 weeks onwards. Can't remember when it becomes once a week. seems like no general normal practice, up to gynae/clinic to decide. Doubt there will be CTG for me unless I can't seem to feel baby movements.

Lxb, don't see why can't add chia seeds to your food. Just sprinkle a bit here and there, everything in moderation. Don't overdo it cos it's high in fibre. Too much fibre can also lead to constipation

Fuzzybear, so irritating for your MIL to keep saying in front of your kids that you all don't love #1. What if #1 really believes her? But at least she only sees them every fortnight. I see mine almost every week and as I told you before, she has this obsession over grass jelly. She keeps cooking it as dessert each time we are there for lunch! I have told her at least 5 or 6 times that I CANT EAT IT COS IT IS COOLING!!!!! but she still didnt register in her head and each time without fail she will scoop one cup for me and i have to repeat myself. Last week, I think I really lost my temper already and I raised my voice. cos when i said i cant eat it, she asked, "is it because it has ice?" wah lao! I cant believe that she has two kids of her own and she does not even know that grass jelly is cooling?! So I raised my voice and said "NO, it is COOLING!!!!" then she was like "oh issit?". WTH. seriously! she likes to serve us pineapples also! and she doesnt know pineapple is cooling either.

Hi!!

Xu4n, thanks to adding me into the FB page. However, the link doesn't work.
Do you think you can try again?
Sorry for the trouble.

Sigh..... Some MILs just don't know what's right and wrong. With my #1, my MIL cooked one big plate of pig's liver with black fungus for me in my first tri!! :X

moon10, i msged u via smh, u go check k.

actually i think sometimes old pple are just ignorant lah. but sometimes they also meant well 1.. then again they are stubborn n think that they know more/better than us, so when we say no to something they dun believe or are doubtful. haha..

my mil did my first confinement. i cant say it is all well and smoth but its not that bad either. i usually never confront her directly if i feel displeasure with her. i let my hb conveythe message without bringing me into the picture. i told either he talk to her and they can talkmit out or i talk to her , we have a fight and he will be in the middle. i believe mil tend to listen to their own children more compare to a dil. so far i was right. in front of my mil i am always the submissive act blur wife. so far we have been able to avoid conflict this way.

Sigh.. This morning I was happily clearing my room to transfer some bb stuff to the spare room (after my bil move out).. Even decide with mil that we will keep the cot in that room until full month cos can't touch the furniture in my room.. Just few mins ago was telling my hub to ensure that the cot wun be placed below the air con.. Suddenly fil walk in and say cannot dismantle anything.. Regardless is my room or the spare room.. Wait until I give birth = after full month.. Really sian half.. My bb really have no place to sleep other Dan on my bed,.. N I so scare I will squash into him... N now hub is angry that why spare room also can't.. Mil say at most during my stay at hospital ask my hub to come back n do.. Which means he wun be in hop with me.. Sigh... Why suddenly like that one...... :(

heartburn - i realized i get it when i drink hot milo. been drinking hot milo this week coz Anmum milk has finished and i am thinking to stop drinking since left 9 weeks, make do with milo or fresh milk instead.

felval, very impressed by your strength and independence but at anytime when you think you really need help or listening ear to rant, do let us know here. :)

febie, PARIS! omg!

checkups - my gf who is delivering next mth at TMC and is seeing Dr Tham said tt she was asked to go every 2 wks for checkup fm 35 wks (3 wks once before tt). so her next checkup will be 37th, then weekly for 38th, 39th and 40th till she pops.

agent confirmed i can fetch my maid home on Fri morning. now gonna rush to buy her bedsheet and pillow and stuff, forgotten all about them in the midst of the delay! eh, what are the necessities that you provide for your helpers huh? my colleague says she provide shampoo, shower gel and toothpaste only (the cheapest kind). she does not provide conditioner, facial foam and sanitary pads ...?

Urgh I'm super mad!!! I went to load my laundry just now and when I opened the soap compartment, a foul smell came out. To my horror, I found that compartment filled with black fungus!! When I removed the soap drawer, there was an inch thick of old detergent and softener accumulated there! And it was growing more fungus!!! Wah lao! My ex-maid has been over loading on detergent because my front load machine doesn't foam!!! Do u know how gross it is??!! To know that all ur clothes are contaminated with some stupid fungus!!!!

What made me more mad is my hb just loaded my kids clothes to wash yesterday morning!!! How can he not notice the foul smell and the black mold all over? I asked him and u know what he said? He said he noticed some soap residual and didn't think it was a big deal!!! Wtf! It took me more than an hr to wash and scrub the mold away and I lost 3 fingernails because the soap harden to be like cement!!!

I'm so mad that I can't slp! Plus I'm having contractions! Still need to lug a pail of water to scrub out the mold!! Arghhh!!!!!

i still keep track w this forum and just tt i nv contribute. =p

I was wondering why fuzzybear post at 11.54pm?! After reading ur post and i know why. Gosh. Is so disgusting man! Means tt fungus things exist quite long ago? Oh man. All e clothes r stained w e dirt! Mens are like tt. They dun see any big deal at all. Just like mine, using 1 cloth/sponge to clean everything. At least, now u realised it! Dun b mad okay.. cool down cool down... breathe in and out~~~~~~~

re: moving furniture
xiaober, same lo... I oso cannot move e funiture till i pop! Which means after my hubby see e bb and he will dash home to do all e cleaning and fittings. Hope all will goes well. Understand from elders that is a NO to move furniture in our room cos will cause pre-mature labour or some bad things on e bb. Got real life example lo. So is up to us to believe it or not.

Littleprince, dun buy e fisherman mobile thing cos cant fit at playpen. My sister tried it and said cant cos playpen not like cot can have e bar to attach it. If u see carefully at the products on how it fix on e cot, it actually cant fit on playpen. I was having e same intention as u actually to buy e fisherman mobile since is cheap at amazon. But i didnt buy it.

littleprince,

im going for my 32 weeks check w dr tham next week. so the next check up will be 3 weeks later? i was hoping it will be 2 weeks later cos cant wait to see baby. :) hee hee...

fuzzybear,

take deep breath! could it be your ex-maid usually just pour the detergent onto the clothes directly? last time when my maid left, i went home to find a pail of her dirty clothes hidden inside a pail. well, i understand she doesnt wan to bring dirty clothes back to indonesia, but she could have washed them before she left, throw away or at least inform me that there are dirty clothes right? so irresponsible.

Fuzzybear, You got take your ventolin? yeah man, I can also feel the 火气 from you. Keep calm okie? It's happened, just keep an eye on the next maid's work.

lxb, so your fil's meaning is the cot can't even be moved properly in your room until full month? I thought so long as baby is out can shift everything already. Why wait till one month after delivery? Got any person he listens to who can persuade him to be more lenient with the superstitious rules?

Good Morning, ladies!

Just like to ask if any of you will be going for a wax to remove hair down there?
I did so for my #1 but can't remember which week to do it. Hahaha....
I find that it really helps to maintain cleanliness when we are having lochia.

good morning mommies.

Aiyoh fuzzybear, make your hb scrub the fungus instead of you! But i understand that it's easier to do it ourselves than make the men do it (cows come home already). when i get really pissed and agitated, i get contractions too. keep calm keep calm. Rem to apply hand and nail cream...your poor fingernails!

i have two musical mobiles from #1's time. So sad, couldnt fix to the new playpen. the old cot already threw away. on hindsight, should have bought a cot instead.

littleprince, how old was your #1 when you and hb decided to part? really courageous of you. there are so many couples who remain together, stay in the same house for the sake of the kids but lead separate lives.

fuzzybear, relax... guys are like that. i nv really trust my hub totally on household chores cos like urs, he chin cai chin cai, got do can liao attitude. but for us woman, when we do chores, we do it well. so although my hub is in-charge of loading the washing machine, sweeping and mopping, once awhile i will still take over to do a proper job. i think the same apply to maid. so relax, soak the detergent tray before washing, it should make it easier.
im looking at area which is about 10-15min drive from my mil place. mil estate doesnt have a decent primary sch and the plan is to get a place which we can stay for the next 20-30yrs. so primary sch become the top priority. but the current market price make me very xin tong to buy. i also very xin tong to sell my current place.

moving furniture, how come so many rules. haiz... actually during my #1, my cot is delivered 1mth before edd and i am the one supervising the installation of it. no problem with my bb, in fact she's so health that she barely fall sick. even when she's sick, she always recover fast. see a good example to show that there's no ill effect on moving furniture and bb safety.

littleprince, its weird to hear that milo caused heartburn for u. good to know that your new maid is coming. good luck

good morning mummies...

attigal, yeah I requested for a push present which I din get any when I have #1 and he readily agree...
He still proposed I go together with him and I told him if he own the airline i'm fine... who the hell will let me travel?? hehehee

Fuzzybear, should use a metal spoon to help instead of using your finger nails...
I understand this type of agony too...
And super hate your MIL for making those stupid comment... and seriously, because of my mil bad attitude I nv let my hubby brought my #1 to her pl himself...
not that I do not want to let go but I dun want my effort of guiding my boy to be well mannered etc to gone waste... so nice to be able to visit every 14 days...
we used to be like that but my stupid hubby change it to weekly... so I always hoping for birthday party etc on a sat evening and we can cancel it...

I'm still moving furniture ard too... guess some old folks just plainly listen to others cos no experience...

lxb, maybe you can discuss with your hubby to shift the room the way you both want it when you are out?
then your MIL cant say anything... I will usually go to the living room and make my hubby shift if anything is needed in our bedroom...
the rest of the rooms I just do it myself...

fuzzybear, hope you have calm down by now.... haiz men are liddat else not man liao. my hb also liddat, im the more meticulous one between the two of us. i always say really have to wait for people to die liao then they really pay attention. our government also liddat and you notice mostly men in the cabinet right?

for moving furniture, i think it probably came from sensible advice - pregnant women shouldn't be moving furniture, which makes sense till somehow it became miscontrued till cannot move furniture at all -.-". liddat then why just furniture everything at ho e also cannot move. pretty sure miscarriages happened anyway with the furniture in their usual places.

little prince, I will also suffer from heartburn if I drink a full mug of hot milo... if I take half a mug, it's fine...
same goes if I eat bread... sure heartburn....

fuzzybear, hope you have calm down by now.... haiz men are liddat else not man liao. my hb also liddat, im the more meticulous one between the two of us. i always say really have to wait for people to die liao then they really pay attention. our government also liddat and you notice mostly men in the cabinet right?

Omg, suddenly the world makes sense!

febie, thats great! haha ask for a c or h bag :p. my hb trying to wriggle his way out of a push gift for #2 -.-

fuzzybear, on hindsight if i were you i wouldnt bother to scrub. straight away go online and order a new washing machine- with his credit card.

its not about being spend thrift or wasteful- sometimes man need a wake up call. he may not notice you have three broken nails and having contractions but he will notce the bill at the end of the month. its tiring enough to be carrying his third child, seriously no need to wei qu yourself like that.

if he ask then just tell him either he scrub himself or hand wash the clothes. no need to fight over it too.

ahahha attigal i'm no fan of c bag leh... H bag, I think I will drain him of his hard earn money which will not happen lor...
Cos he too thrifty until quite stingy... I share keep searching online for the right design of bag which I wan him to buy hahahha....

attigal, but sometimes buying a new washing machine will also not make those men wake up lor...
I like what you quote on the white men in the cabinet... hahaha

febie, perhaps buying the washing machine will not make him wake up but it will sure make me feel better about not having to fix it myself.

we have good present and ex opposition members in parliament like LTK and CST and also previous presidential candidate TCB, who are men also leh. hahaha.

morning mummies! oh man fuzzybear, such a long night for u..calm down ok..coz ur mood will affect the bb..tink +ve things like how near u r to delivery date! :)

i just realised that our babies will only be 2 mths old during cny period and it will be quite troublesome to latch on/ pump breast milk at our relatives' place..there are no sterilisers to clean the bottles and the breast pump oso..
how do u guys intend to go about doing so?
seems like we have to bring a lot of barang barang for cny..

we have good present and ex opposition members in parliament like LTK and CST and also previous presidential candidate TCB, who are men also leh. hahaha.

unfortunately too few of them. well i suppose we could do worse then the clowns we have now compare to some other countries.

morning mummies! oh man fuzzybear, such a long night for u..calm down ok..coz ur mood will affect the bb..tink +ve things like how near u r to delivery date! :)

i just realised that our babies will only be 2 mths old during cny period and it will be quite troublesome to latch on/ pump breast milk at our relatives' place..there are no sterilisers to clean the bottles and the breast pump oso..
if i have no problem latching then i wont bring much other then spare clothes, diapers n face towel. also a shawl to cover up if a room is not available to latch.

tks attigal! sighs, i read online that babies will need to bf every 3-4 hrs during the 2nd mth..i.e., it is almost unavoidable to skip all the sterilizing part at our relatives/ friends' place..
maybe i shud skip a few locations depending on how it goes..

febie: we shifted our cabinets le, my mum also ok with us shifting our cabinets leh.. u referring to someone else? hehe...

sorry Xuan, should be lxb... memory failing me...

gelobean, good to have a nursing shawl, clothing with you during this period...

actually not all bad in the cabinet but still those clowns nv failed to make me laugh...

tks attigal! sighs, i read online that babies will need to bf every 3-4 hrs during the 2nd mth..i.e., it is almost unavoidable to skip all the sterilizing part at our relatives/ friends' place..

if you are breastfeeding what do you need to sterilize? i actually enjoy the period of breastfeeding most. so convenient, no need to bring milk powder, milk bottles n hot water out. even more convenient then instant noodles! no washing needed too :) only sian when i start him on solid food at 5 months.

thx febie!

attigal> just worried that bb won't latch on..den will probably need to bring pump and bottles? and if the feed is very frequent, there is a need to sterilize in between feeds?

Gd morning! Thanks for all the comforting words. I m still mad at him! When I was scrubbing the machine last night he didn't even bother to come and check on me even though he knew I was mad and that I took very long scrubbing it. Then it was my turn to bunk with the boys who both woke up after hb woke up to pee at 2.30am. Then #2 decided that it will be fun to wake up at 6.30. I thought hb will come and rescue me but he didn't! Ended up with me waking to make milk for #2 to drink while setting the laundry to wash. He just continued to slp until both boys woke up to fight. Even then he just slpt on the sofa while I tried to slp. Grah!!!!!

And he has the cheek to ask me why I'm mad!!!! Was just telling SN that my nails are not broken, they are chipped to the point of the nail bed! Cos it was so hard to remove the harden soap. I used sponge and steel wool also cannot.

Attigal I like ur comment abt men in power! I'm gonna make sure my sons can do housework! I'm not the type that will buy a new machine because I know end up it will be me paying for it. Plus this machine is very gd. Still functional.

Febie, the mold was so gross that I didn't wanna contaminate anything else. On hindsight I shd have used hb's precious tools to scrap it off!!!

Gelobean, u can just boiling water to sterilize ur pump parts outside. If u are gg to pump, bring ur ice pack to store milk. I make it a point to go back home in the middle of the day so that my kids can slp. Sometimes it is inevitable that we have to skip the less impt places.

Good Morning, ladies!

Just like to ask if any of you will be going for a wax to remove hair down there?
I did so for my #1 but can't remember which week to do it. Hahaha....
I find that it really helps to maintain cleanliness when we are having lochia.
For #2 , I went for Brazalian Wax about 2-3weeks before EDD I think, Pink Parlour Marina SQ was having 1 for 1 promo with OCBC Card, so I went with another mum to be who's EDD around same time as mine. Any promotion anywhere next month? I used to shave, but now I can't really bend to see already!

if In relatives home, can borrow their room to latch the baby, very convenient!

fuzzybear> omg....pls get some rest today..it's v taxing on ur body to do the scrubbing and all, given that u r v near ur due date le...
thx for the advice, will probably use hot water to sterilize ba..hopefully she can latch on to save all the trouble..but i got a feeling it's gonna be difficult coz i have a 'pimple' and a skin tag v v near the nipple..:(

you don't intend to latch directly?

thx febie!

attigal> just worried that bb won't latch on..den will probably need to bring pump and bottles? and if the feed is very frequent, there is a need to sterilize in between feeds?
if you start straightaway after you delivered the baby, should have no problem latching, even if baby is too tired, she should be able to latch well when you go home, you have 1 month plus to practice, before bringing baby out!

thx third3timemum! i intend to latch on directly..but coz of the skin tag and pimple issue, i may have difficulties..depending on how it goes, i may have to pump..but i would def prefer to latch on directly coz it enhances the bonding and it's much more convenient too..

Gd morning! Thanks for all the comforting words. I m still mad at him! When I was scrubbing the machine last night he didn't even bother to come and check on me even though he knew I was mad and that I took very long scrubbing it. Then it was my turn to bunk with the boys who both woke up after hb woke up to pee at 2.30am. Then #2 decided that it will be fun to wake up at 6.30. I thought hb will come and rescue me but he didn't! Ended up with me waking to make milk for #2 to drink while setting the laundry to wash. He just continued to slp until both boys woke up to fight. Even then he just slpt on the sofa while I tried to slp. Grah!!!!!

And he has the cheek to ask me why I'm mad!!!! Was just telling SN that my nails are not broken, they are chipped to the point of the nail bed! Cos it was so hard to remove the harden soap. I used sponge and steel wool also cannot.

Attigal I like ur comment abt men in power! I'm gonna make sure my sons can do housework! I'm not the type that will buy a new machine because I know end up it will be me paying for it. Plus this machine is very gd. Still functional.

Febie, the mold was so gross that I didn't wanna contaminate anything else. On hindsight I shd have used hb's precious tools to scrap it off!!!

Gelobean, u can just boiling water to sterilize ur pump parts outside. If u are gg to pump, bring ur ice pack to store milk. I make it a point to go back home in the middle of the day so that my kids can slp. Sometimes it is inevitable that we have to skip the less impt places.
Don't let other people's mistake affect yourself, especially you are always having contractions, take a deep breath!Think of it positively, the lousy maid is gone!

latching, for mummies who have problem latching after birth, grab a LC, get them to teach u. target is to master latching before u get discharged. during hospital stay the LCs are free but after that each visit will cost you at least $60.

fuzzybear, give ur self a break today, u totally deserve it. u going for ur C-sec in Oct rite?

3xmum, i nv done any waxing before, not very hairy to begin with. but if i do Brazilian wax now, will i go into labour because of the pain? just like now we are not suppose to go for tooth extraction due to the pain. its a nice idea to keep down under hair free when we are having lochia

gelobean, i agree with 3rdtimemum. if baby latches well in 1st month, no reason why 2nd month wont, unless there are other issues with her or your breasts, which i suggest you resolve before going visiting.

yeap! will def learn all i can from the LC! actually the bf part is the one that i m most worried abt..coz i heard a lot of horror stories abt engorgements/ blocked ducts/ mastitis from friends/ prenatal class/ videos..hopefully i can succeed! :)

RE: moving furniture
Haiz.. The thing is my mil was agreedable that we can setup in the spare room just can touch my room's furniture... Duno why yesterday suddenly my fil came into the picture n say cannot... So now my baby have nothing to sleep on when we come back from hospital. I also wish can have someone to talk to him.. But i think it's very difficult... Cos they are all of the same age so their thinking pattern is the same.. Thinks that moving things will harm the baby.. But work are still required to make space for bb right? Sigh.. And my wardrobe is not something that can be dismantle and set up within one day one..

Fuzzybear: try to get some rest during lunch time.. You will need it.. But I also agree that sometimes hubbies can be very dense.. Dense to a degree that I really wonder Wat is inside..

RE: feeding during CNY
ya I also wonder how to survive that time.. Hopefully my in laws are not going to insist the usual route.. N I dun feel comfortable feeding outside also.. Plus bb needs to sleep more also... In out aircon like not very good.. By got to see how it is during that time...

actually for CNY, the easiest, is to skip less important places. You have a newborn, you have the privilege and excuse not to visit the usual places. I will just visit parents and in-laws and then head home. #1 and #2 both need to sleep and I need to pump. I will just bring at least 2 bottles of ebm in a chiller bag with ice-pack of course and then heat it up at relatives' place. I don't intend to pump outside, so troublesome. Skip one pump session wont die one lar.

No chance to rest at all. Cos #1 has no sch today so hb wants to bring the boys out. I m at Fidgets now. Later will send #2 to my dad while I bring #1 to cut his hair. This is the life of a working mom. When u are on leave u aim to do as many things as u can humanely accomplish in a day. U guys will get what I mean when ur bb comes!

Latching is the best way forward but u don't like the attachment issues. Take it one step at a time. Latching shd be ur first choice. But if cannot u can try pumping.

Mummychua, yup my c-sec is end oct. 6 more wks to go. I keep feeling this pain at my c-sec scar even though I m not having BH. Dunno why.

Re: cake/ marshmallow pops
They are really pretty to have. Cake pops start at $2.50 per pc while marshmallow pops start at $1.50.

Fuzzybear, throw the spoon or tools away after scrapping... hehehe
ya men will be men... nv failed to make our blood boiled...
I was calling #1 for bed time and his dad asked him to play... :mad:

fuzzybear, wah! i didn't know soap + softener overloaded long term will grow fungus! i wld be mad too if it happened to me.

pinky, i showed the mobile to my hb last night, he said can find a way to fix but will not be as nice as on cot. i was thinking can attach a clip to clip it on playpen? very gian leh coz i loveeee musical mobiles, #1 had a pooh bear musical mobile last time too. how? buy to try?

bunnymummy82, i dunno leh. my gf was there yesterday at 35 wks so its 37, 38, 39, 40. if i am not wrong, my gf last went at 32 wks and waited 3 wks to go again at 35 wks. nvm la, you booked earliest date possible for 3 wks checkup then diff won't be alot. :)

SN, last time i had a cot coz of the musical mobile lor! LOLz! tts why this time decided to take playpen instead coz i think its more practical. we moved out before filing for divorce when #1 was 4YO. it wasn't easy definitely but we managed to end on amicable terms in the end after seeing a marriage counselor. and fm then till now, #1 still gets to see me almost daily as I drive and will at least fetch him to / from CC (most of the time, i put him to bed before i go home when he was much younger) then even if he is staying with his daddy for that day. so most of the time, he is more impacted that he gets to see his daddy on Friday and Sunday compared to me. but during sch hols, he gets to see his daddy more and i take a break during that period. it wasn't easy definitely, some of my family members took a long while to accept my decision and my current hb but now that we are married, everything has settled down. my counselor told me too, life is short and I walk most of the journey myself, those that clapped for me during my wedding then will not always be there to clap for me forever. so i don't have to make my decision based on what they will think of me. she was a very nice and supportive counselor but died of cancer early this year. what a pity.

gelobean, i intend to latch just like attigal if i can during cny period. i cannot pump leh coz first day visiting mostly hb's relatives which i don't know them well. but i may pump once in later afternoon when i visit my uncle's place lor. if latching not possible, then pump in the car with battery operated? bring more sterilized bottles and a hot flask with hot water to rinse the pump parts before next pump and you can top up more hot water in hot flask from Mac or relatives' homes?

but i wanna ask hor (coz last time i pump more than latch), if we latch, the other side will be leaking right? so we let the other side leak or put milk shell? if put milk shell (and we are outside), then what to do with the milk in the shell later?

attigal, when #1 started solids, i brought my rice cooker with me during CNY coz i only knew how to cook porridge with my rice cooker. LOLz!