(2013/09) September 2013

Minnie Yong,

Jia you to you too!

fel,

Thanks! Will you be going to the Taka bb fair? Think starting tmr. I thot of gg, but seems too early to get bb stuff as haven reach 3rd mth yet.

Msblur, wonder if you have seen any promotion material or ads for Taka baby fair? I'm eyeing a Aprica stroller karoon/karoon plus model and it was on sale at $439 at last year's fair so I wonder if there will be a similar promo this year?

Any reviews on Aprica strollers from mummies? How does it compare to Maclaren techno xt?

Enjoy to all gg for Oscar scan
fun seeing bb for so long. Usual scan are too short.

Viiv, I'm also thinking of gg Taka bb fair. But I don't know wat to buy now. My sis keep telling me that it is too early to get now. I should just look around and have more options before deciding on what to get in wk 24.

Hi Ann, I think if there are bundle deals for basic stuff like bottles, sterilizer etc, can get those first. Cos those are pretty standard. I'm holding on awhile longer for bigger items like cot/playpen and breast pump. As for stroller, I have quite decided on some models so if I see them going at discounted price, I will get it first. Cos by the time you reach week 24, the stuff may not be on sale?

Mummies, just got my increment letter huhu.. Was feeling quite gloomy even though I know I can't expect much from last year. Everytime I went on maternity, my increment "Personal modifier" always less than 100%. Until I always wonder did I get less than those new hire that works less than 8 months compare to me who is on maternity leave

And becoz I took twice maternity, my colleague has been promoted but I am not. She only took 1 time maternity and last year she is working full time. Even though actually in the year before she is taking more maternity leave than she is supposed to have (took unpaid leave for 1 month plus), and works from home for almost half a year!

It makes me very upset becoz I knew if I am not pregnant/ took maternity last year I supposed to be the one promoted becoz my increment and bonus are very good for the year before.

Then this year I kena again becoz of this baby! I think I won't ever get promoted even though I have worked for 6 years plus in the company.

Or should I hide my pregnancy until I get promoted within this half year. Or until my boss know by himself. Really in dilemma now.
I believe this year I will be able to get promoted UNLESS if I told my boss that I'm going to give birth and take another maternity leave.

Becoz my boss personally told me that last year he didn't promote me becoz I am on maternity leave and he considered I work less than a year.

But I know last year I didn't do very well becoz of pregnancy. Becoz last year we started to have webapp and I am in the team. But my preggy brain does not allow me to really be able too learn fast and cope with work. I am so lost.

I learn more after I finish my maternity in October compare to the 5 mth before maternity. And catch up real fast.

But now preggy brain as well. Luckily have catch up on the 3 mth.

My colleague who got promoted is different case. She is in different group than mine and the code base still desktop apps. Still the usual code base.

Now I am thinking if only I switch to her group last time
. Becoz last time actually her group leader really want to take me in as I was helping her group for 1 month 2 years ago and able to help so much. But I found if I am in the webapp group I will be able to learn new things which is more fun for me. Sigghh.. regretting my decision. Should have switched when I knew I am pregnant.
Especially since her group now also wanted to do webapp as well and they are on the easier path since they can follow my group. Huxxxx....

Now I am trying so much to not have the preggy brain and really take note on everything and remember lots of thing. I tell myself I need to feel I am not pregnant then my brain will work better. Especially now my project leader asked me to be his backup when he is on National reservice, and asked me to continue lead after since he need to lead another project. I really believed I could get promoted between less than half a year UNLESS if I told my boss I am preggy again and will take another maternity. HOW?? ARGHHH

@Ann, get the smaller basic items like bottles, breast pump if you really want to buy. I bought my #1stroller at taka because it was cheaper compared to other baby fairs accdg to the staff at baby kingdom or was it baby hypermart.

You might get a lot of hand me downs or pressie for your baby shower.

viiv313,

Oh i haven seen any promotion material or ads from them yet. Maybe should ask my sis if she received any brochure from Taka. Let me go browse thru the newspapers later. Hmm...nt very sure abt Aprica strollers, coz' the ppl ard me mostly got Quinny, but i thot it was so bulky. My 2 elder gals i didnt really use stroller, only use sling. I only bought buggy when they are older.

Ann Chua,

I was thinking too whether to go down Taka Fair or nt, since its still early. Thot if i dun go Taka Fair, then i will pop by Isetan Private sale somewhere in Jun alrdy. Dun think i will buy those big & bulky items first, coz' scare will get duplicates during bb shower.

btw mummies.. i noe sleeping on the side is best! but then sleeping on side ur weight will also be on one side right?

this may sounds silly, but i always wonder if it will squash the bb inside.. haha

Angelic^Soul,

Sleeping on the side is my comfy position too. I cant really sleep long facing up. Wont lah, hw can u squash ur bb inside?? Ur bb is well protected in the water bag.

viiv313,

I just saw the newspaper ad on the Taka fair. Saw the Aprica Karoon Plus stroller u talking abt. This yr's their promo is $599 with a free Aprica 4 way Carrier.

There's another promo on the Quinny Zapp Stroller which is $558 come with a Cabriofix Infant Car seat. Thot this promo more worth it?

new to thread and this forum. finding my way around but wanted to say hi!

i am in my 10th week now and will be looking for ideas for good gentle gynaes if you have. i am staying in the east and am contemplating either a delivery in Parkway East or Mount E. But skewed to Parkway East due to proximity.

if there is a private Fb group, please add me.
i can be reached at [email protected]

Liyy Yahaya,

Think the nearest hospital for you will be Parkway East alrdy. Heard from some mummies the service there is very good. I will be delivering at TMC coz' gg back to my gynae although his clinic is kinda far for me.

I'm new to this thread too. My due date is 3Sept
KKH.

Can add me to the fb group please? [email protected].

To the mummies worrying about the OSCARs results, my heart breaks for you. I'm 39 too, know the worries... Live a day at a time, yah!

Weiwei,

Yes im kinda worry abt my Oscar results coz' of my age too. My previous 2 pregnancies i did not take any of these scans till the 5th mth detailed scan. How many kids do you have nw & which hospital will u be delivering?

Msblur, thanks for updating on the karoon plus stroller promo. Yup I agree with you that the Quinny seems more worth it, but the main attraction for me for karoon is its weight! Karoon is 3.6kg, Karoon plus is 4.6kg while Quinny is 8+kg! The other stroller I am eyeing, the v popular Maclaren Techno xt is 6+, close to 7kg. I prefer lightweight and slim models as its easier for me to handle when taking public transport alone.

viiv,

No prob. I wana see what they have too. I saw the promo on the Avent items too. Oh yes...i like Maclaren strollers too. You wan lightweight strollers maybe can go for Combi? U can get combi strollers at a wholesale shop located at beach rd.

Ytd i juz bought an Avent newborn starter set from a mummy in FB. I juz cant resist buying though i knew i haven pass the 3rd mth yet but the mummy is really clearing at a very very cheap price at $5. She said she got it as a gift & dun need it. Its BN still in plastic packaging. I saw bugis selling $45 plus.

Sorry to intrude. Saw some of you post on NT test results. I would like to share my experience.

My NT test was 1:1300. Detailed scan was fine as well. However, the test has failed us like some other mummies. My girl was diagnosed with DS at birth.

As this test is only up to 90% accurate, for those who did not get good results, do not be dishearten and do consider further tests instead.

Winnedy,

So the NT test is also the Oscar test? Coz' of my age, i thot its compulsory to take the amniotic test (nt sure if i got it right). During my last visit, i was asking the nurses if its really compulsory coz' i heard its very painful. They told me i will be taking my Oscar test first mah, if the result doesn't show high risk then its not a must to take.

msblur, i dont think it is compulsory. but it is not painful. i have low threshold for pain (but i am not afraid of injections) and the amnio was not painful at all. just felt like normal injection.

tangerinez,

yes...i have low threshold for pain too, am oso afraid of injections. Hubby always tease me say i hav low threshold for pain, still can deliver my gal without epidural wor!

Msblur - amniocentesis is never compulsory. It's more like an option for mothers when the Oscar result is not in your favour?

Cos it's an invasive procedure...

Whereas Oscar (scan + blood test) is non invasive...

Don't think i'm going the taka fair... No energy to walk so far.... unless i really need to go to get smth... for now... I really guai guai stay home almost everyday....

Finished my one week of steroid already and MS is creeping back... Saw gynae yest... he advised to continue another three week dose... This time if start steroid cannot stop suddenly...Need to take a full 3 weeks dose which i'm not exactly keen also...

So just wanna observe and see how is MS going to attack me... Only gonna take it as a last resort...

fel,

Oh ok. Thanks for the explaination.

Hmm...i also have decided if gg to the Taka fair, but then still got time lah, till 24th Mar mah. If nt i will just go to the Isetan Private sale liao when they hav it in Jun.

fel, are u feeling baby movements regularly? wonder when i'll feel mine. cannot wait...

if u dun take the steroids, can gynae at least give you long MC to rest at home?

Tangerine- will feel it daily. . Sometimes when wanna feel it but cant feel... but then I do smth else... suddenly will have those poking feeling in tummy... then I know its the fetus. .. haha

Im already on hospitalization leave le. Till 17th march... haven work since few days before cny...

msblur, 2 years back when i went to source for combi stroller, realise the price is quite controlled. I think I've been to the one at beach road and the most they can offer is more freebies. They do not offer price discount. The only way to get combi discount is through department sales like taka 10% off weekends. Just to share my experience.

Sharing my stroller experience...you may need a few throughout your bb growing years for different needs. eg I bought a combi urban walker for use from new born (thought it would be my only stroller). But bought another mclaren globetrotter for travelling cos of it's light weight and more manageable. My verdict was combi urban walker was good for new born as can lie flat, can also hang big bag without falling but is more bulky/heavy. The mclaren one was much easier to manoeuvre, lightweight and very convenient for overseas travel. Con is the closing can be kind of tricky and takes practice, not as much cushion as combi. Also cannot hang heavy bag without bb in the stroller. Big plus is it takes up much less space in car boot.

Ultimately, know what you want and test out yourself before buying. Hope it helps

Thanks viiv, G C and ms blur for the advice. Wanted to go Taka fair tdy but have been down with bad headache tdy so decided to give it a miss, maybe go next week.

Anyone in wk 14 still having bad MS? I tot my MS is subsiding 3 days ago but it decided to come back in full swing. Been throwing up and unable to eat

All the best to all gg Oscar scan and those gg for 2nd opinion.

I'm 11wk1day today and I just vomited for the first time. And I'm down with sore throat for the second time in 2 weeks sigh! Really feel like staying home to rest tmr but I've already taken 2 days MC so far, with a 3rd MC next week for Oscar, hence think it may not be such a good idea to MC rest at home tmr? Sigh but im really tired!

viiv - Why dont u ask for HL from doc...

Ann Chua - I'm still throwing up on and off as well... Since my steroid meds finished... Eat also feel very xinku... Machiam food is poison like that.... Don't eat also xinku...

Fel, how does hospitalization leave work? Can gynae give that for normal checks instead of mc? I've not taken that before, (touch wood).

Angelic^Soul,

I have not started using any stretch marks cream yet, but will start soon coz' just bought the Bio Oil. Nt sure if its gd. My previous pregnancies i just use the normal olive oil only.

winter79,

Oh nw they dun offer any disc? KK...then maybe we should go down to the shopping mall to buy if they have sales. I brought my sis to buy her Combi stroller last time, and what they offer was if i dun wana take the freebies, then they will give us disc.

viiv,

Me too in my 11 wks and though MS getting better (at least i have more appetite nw), but still on off will feel nausea.

fel,

If i dun hav appetite to eat, i will eat some fruits loh. It will make me feel better. And i hate drinking plain water nw, so at times i will substitute with ribena.

vivv, I know how u feel getting down with flu again and again

I have a constant cough, nowadays it's quite a bad one. Very little phlegm come out and the color is white.

I went to see doctor for a second time and he said I have throat allergy, caused by dust and aircon.

My office undergoes renov now I think that's the dusty reason

Dunno when I can recover. I have tried to rest whole day at home but still cannot recover.
Doctor gives me steroid tablet but I don't dare to take becoz I research in the internet it can cause baby to have a cleft palate especially still early pregnancy. huhu..

Now I just go to office and put notice I am coughing but it is not contagious in case my colleague complain.. haha

Groovy, I have a similar cough as yours too! With white phlegm, throat v itchy and it makes me cough. I take Abrilar ivy leaf extract and it seems quite effective but only if coupled with lots of rest at home.

My sore throat is almost gone, now still coughing and blocked nose and slightly feverish. Stayed home to rest today.

Sometimes I worry if the violent sneezing or coughing action will harm baby or not. Especially last night when I vomited till my lower abdomen so painful, similar to spasm in lower tummy.

This is my first pregnancy and honestly I have no idea pregnancy can be this tiring! It's like I'm experiencing the past 30 years of tiredness condensed into these few past weeks?! Hope second trimester comes quickly cos that's when our energy levels will pick up and also hope for good Oscar results for everyone!

Sorry to ask a rather personal question, did your docs advise you to not have sex during first tri? My doc said strictly no sex and flying.

Viiv- HL work by if doc think u really need bed rest or not able to function at work then they will give ba... good thing is my gynae super generous with mc and HL. ..

With regard to your personal qn... gynae never said such thing to me before. I think as long as youre not having PV bleed or.not high risk pregnancy its perfectly fine to have sex... maybe your gynae is those who wanna play super safe...

I have friends whose husband become a monk for one whole year cos they dont have sex at all throughout pregnancy and worse is after birth... the pain and episiotomy wound.. haha...

viiv,

Regards to your personal question, my gynae nv tell me that too. But for myself, i did tell hubby strictly no sex for the 1st 3 mths. As for flying, my gynae said can no prob coz' i asked him that time i might be gg Hong Kong, whether is it ok or nt.

For my 2nd pregnancy, i did ask him too whether i can eat pineapple coz' told him my MIL told me nt to. And he was asking me why not?? Can...can eat coz' its Vit c mah. But actually i only eat those Sarawak (semi-circle kind) pineapples only, ate so much that time.

viiv, re your personal qns, my gyane also told me that after he found out that i have some blood accumulation besides the sac. so i told my hubby no sex for first trimester.