(2013/09) September 2013

hi MTBs,
i'm new to this forum =) my edd is 7 Sep and my gynae is Dr Ben Tham at Thomson Medical. There's so much going on in this forum already I'd try to read all and contribute too! =)
this is my 13th week and my ms is becoming slightly better but some days still gets me down. oscar test down and results o.k. now can't wait for next scan to check bb's gender =)

for #1, gynae said no sex during 1st trimester. i think they say this to play safe cos they wont know whether our womb is weak or not, prone to miscarriage or not.

for #2, same gynae didnt warn abt no sex. she doesnt seem to be the sort who will forget to advise so maybe when she saw i had no complications with #1, she's not so worried abt #2.

however it is my hubby who wanted to play safe so we won't do it until 2nd trimester. then by 3rd trimester will be too heavy to do hahaha...

btw, i have collected the free package from national library just now during lunch. it consists of a baby journal, baby cd and some brochures.

My gynae advised me not to drink coffee/tea/alcohol, squat, have sex during first trimester. But I have cravings for Kopi-O and milk tea so will sip a few mouthful once a week. Know it's bad but cannot control...

Anyone going to the First Mums and Dads congress on Sunday?

Charmayne,

My gynae didnt say cannot drink coffee, but he said all in moderation will do, like limit only one cup each day.

I saw the advertisement on the First Moms & Dads congress on tv, the goody bag looks tempting. You gg?

btw i have booked my massage lady today. $600 for 7 days. recommended by a friend. she sounded quite pro. she said she will also help to massage my breast if i intend to breastfeed.

also she needs to meet up with me 2 weeks before delivery to assess the position of my baby. i'm totally sold.

ferendipity,

Oh today last day?? Hmm...then i cant go alrdy. Hubby working today im stuck at hm.

Wow...the massage lady still will meet up 2 wk earlier one ah?? Hmm..... sounds nt bad.

Btw...just to ask, anybody intend to keep your placenta and make into capsule type to consume? My niece did so, and results seems nt bad, so im still considering.

msblur, what results ur niece show?

ferendipity, $600 for 7 days is quite reasonable. no longer? curious, y does the bb position matter?

msblur, what is the purpose of consuming the placenta?

winter79, i didnt ask for longer but she said as we go along, she will assess cos i asked her how long is one session. i'm also not sure why she need to know the baby position.

Hi, any natural remedies for blocked/runny nose? I've been taking some lozenges and ivy leaf extract cough mixture so my sore throat and cough getting better but nose still blocked! Trying to keep medicine intake to minimum at the same time. It's really miserable being sick and can only take mild meds, takes forever to recover!

Ferendipity, yes I'm going. Hope it'll be helpful for us  Maybe, I'll bump into you at the congress. Can u PM me the contact for your massage lady? Read some threads on massage lady but not sure if the recommendations are reliable or not coz some seems to be self advertisement. Do you plan to hire confinement lady?

msblur, yesterday was the last day for application online. Maybe u can call their hotline 62776313/ 62776254 to enquire if you can still register.

Hi viiv, there is such a thing called pregnancy rhinitis! Like normal allergic runny nose, but triggered by pregnancy. Sianz right? I have it every day.... Morning can use up like 20 pieces of tissue to sneeze, wipe nose etc. Sometimes last till evening. Blocked nose at night and cough. Even got headache and sinus pain from all this nonsense. Totally no energy. Like having 9 month long cold. My gynae prescribed zyrtec. I heard use vicks or inhale steam helps. Good luck! I have it bad this time...

winter79,

My niece's face seems smoother and more rosy, compared to the last time i saw her during CNY. She said she oso feels that. Her skin used to be very bad, always seeing skin doc & taking med.

ferendipity,

Purpose is to have better skin complexion. She said she went for facial and the placenta mask, one time alrdy cost so much.

i think the massage lady is just assessing baby position as an extra perk for customers. nothing to do with massage. but for mummies, knowing whether baby is high in tummy, engaged, head down, or breech, helps them make a decision about whether to deliver naturally or c-sect.

Hi Viiv,

I do a nasal rinse to get all the mucus out so that it wouldn't progress to a post-nasal drip and sore throat. Been having itchy eyes and nose lately too.

Anyone still feeling crappy during wk 14? I still have horrible taste in my mouth.... haiz...

Ms Blur,

missed your post :p I dun log in every day.

I've got 1 older kid, and this is my 4th pregnacy (2 little ones in heaven). I switched from Mt A to KKH this time round; older liao lah. Somemore I had heart palpitations very early in the pregnancy, so felt that KKH switch probably a better idea.

weiwei,

No worries...sometimes the thread moved fast, i got to catch up slowly too.
So are you still having ur MS? Mine starting to get slightly better, but just that mouth still feel very dry.

me shd be in week 14 - 15, still having headaches and puking tho... hopefully get better soon! but just tell myself.. to have MS is good, to have MS is good.. haha that will make me feel better =D

Hi ms blur, I heard a lot of people consuming placenta on the web too. It is said to nourish mother's health back. Can help to check with your niece how she get her placenta to make into capsule. I'm interested. Consuming the placenta on it own original form seems abit gross for me.

More like mild nausea, indigestion that kind of thing, no appetite and funny taste in the mouth. and feeling really cranky.
the only thing I feel like eating is sambal, curry tom yam. LOL!! this baby like more spice than my first.

Ann: I found this on the web the other day ... cuz i was thinking of grinding the placenta into powder n consume ... www.inthewomb.biz/service.html

ANyone experiencing very bad headaches recently? I didnt have that with my #1 .. but this one is so bad think i feel like banging my head ... blacked out at home the day before ... nt sure if its due to the headache but lucky nv hit the head ... or else .. i dun dare to think manz ..

Ann Chua,

Yes...im also considering this time. Coz' she told me its ard $200 plus, kinda affordable loh. Then she got back like 2 big bottles. When my niece told her fren abt it, her fren said she didnt know got this kind of thing! If not, she would hav done the same too, she said she gave birth twice leh, wasted! Hee...

Ya i oso feel that consuming the placenta itself is very gross. Think that is the olden days, where some old folks they really handle & clean up the placenta themselves the brew into soup. But still i would prefer to consume in capsule form lah, nv see the actual thing wont feel disgusted. Haha..

weiwei,

Yes! Me too into spicy stuff! Esp tom yum! That day i had tom yum mee hoon kueh during lunch, it was so yummy & i suddenly feel like as if my appetite has come back! Haha...

Hmm...u try eating fruits if u still have the funny taste in your mouth. I tried that & really feels better.

Hi everyone! Am new to this forum...My Edd is 5 Sept. Gynae is Dr WK Tan at TMC. So glad that first trimester is over and I am finally getting over the MS! Please add me to the FB group. Email is [email protected]

not_superwomnan,

Tell yourself you have a reason to put on weight nw since you are eating for 2 person!

weiwei,

Wow...nw that u mention abt strawberries! I haven had that for quite some time.

Abt the placenta thingy, my niece is breastfeeding nw, she is still taking.

I am going for the first mum and dad congress becoz I want to get the goodie bag which contains 2 similac small tin.
But I will just get the goodie bag and leave.

It is quite worth to join the talk becoz if it is in fairmont, very good becoz just go city hall mrt no need to take bus. Then also the food will be very very nice.

I once attended in grand cophtorne waterfront but the food is so so only 2-3 kinds of food also it was finished very quickly.

The one in fairmont I attended twice or thrice already always very nice food, the food even worth about $15-20 buffet :p. too bad now the food only served at 5 pm otherwise I will just wait until I makan

Huhu nowadays the fruit juice that I can finish at night only soursop juice and it is quite rare to get a soursop here

Sometimes I wonder why they never import soursop or avocado from indonesia as it was very plenty there and big too!!

tangerinez,

Thot they say soursop can induce vomiting. So i dun dare to eat. So far only had honeydew & rock melon.

weiwei,

Really?? Thats cheap! Hmm...lets see if i will passby Tampines Giant or nt, then will go in grab some hm!

Thanks to all who offered advice/ shared tips on combating blocked nose. I went to doc again who gave me Clarityne (loratadine) and another day of MC to rest at home. Really paiseh to keep taking MC but no choice! Just in the past 6 weeks, I've actually taken more MC (3.5days)than in an entire year! Pre-pregnancy, I'm usually that kind who hardly fall sick (touch wood), max only around once a year requiring MC, hence it's really hard for me to slow down and take lots of bed rest.

Glad the weekend is coming up, can rest more and i'm having Oscar scan next week. Hope the Oscars for everyone will be ok as well and let's all look forward to second tri!

viiv,

Hope you will recover from your blocked nose soon. Do take plenty of rest during the wkends. I was telling hubby this morning too finally its TGIF!

I will be taking my Oscar next wk too, praying hard everything's ok.

Tangerinez,

You might want to avoid soursop then. It could be your body rejecting it

I remember for my #1, I was in Germany have fantastic frankfurters with freshly grated horseradish. I didn't even manage to get back to my rm; ended up puking by the road side due to the horseradish. I usually feel nauseous but won't puke. it tasted really good but body says no no.

Msblur, I bought at the Parkway one; hope Tampines has it too!

weiwei,

See if i can go check it out tmr or nt.
I will be at Greenridge mall tmr, there's cold storage there selling big and nice strawberries too, but ex!

Ms blur, NTUC is selling Korean strawberries "berrylicious" brand at $8 for 2 punnets. FYI in case NTUC is more convenient than Giant for you =)

Eat well and stay happy and healthy for the little baby inside!

thanks mirai.. the inthewomb.biz looks good too.
but if can get the contact of ms blur's niece will be good as it is proven.

Im interested in the contact too ... cheaper also Lolz ... nerd to save whatever I can ... kids r so expensive these days ... n as compared ... I think my gynae package like cost so much more than the rest ... 1k starting from wk 12 ... but I really like her ... so I'm sticking to her again