(2013/08) August 2013

wlilian: maybe it's our body mechanism to force us to rest more? LOL.... i feel that rest is really important la.

xav: For papayas... must make sure it's ripe. my friend's gynae asked her not to take...

"Fully ripe papayas do not present a problem for pregnant women and are actually a healthy source of vitamins A and B, potassium and beta-carotene. It is however, the unripe papaya that poses a threat. Unripe papayas contain pepsins in their latex that may induce contractions and lead to miscarriage, according to a British Journal of Nutrition report. Instead of worrying whether papayas are ripe enough to eat, pregnant women may want to eliminate the risk and avoid papaya all together."

Thanks Ellen =) ya will take ripe ones. unless cooking the papaya fish soup for breastmilk supply. Other than that should not be taking unripe ones. Now is to cure my stubborn cough ! Been coughing until I threw up all my dinner last night.

xav: by the time we need to drink papaya fish soup, the baby already come out liao LOL... so no need to worry then haha

my friend is pregnant too and she has been coughing for 2 months... finally she couldn't tahan anymore and went to see doc... doctor gave her inhaler cos she can't take medicine...

Eleen, any idea if we can take the papaya soup during preggies ? Let's say last trimester ? I remember my flow was pathetic for the first three months. lol

Am going to see my tcm tonight. Hopefully her remedy works.. else there goes my ong lai tarts hahaha

wlilian, same like yours.. didnt see anything during the potty shot. So might be a girl.
And yes, god will give us what is best for us!

Ellen, i found out my #1 gender early also..ard 11 weeks? cos gynae tat time can see something stick out..lol..with her 12yrs of experience, think she quite accurate ba.

Where did u all buy maternity clothes? Yesterday i went taka to shop.. omg the maternity dress cost $300!!! so ex...

diorly: yah maternity clothes are so expensive...i rather wear old clothes...still can fit some stretable clothes and skirt...dont think will spend money on maternity clothes....

too ex already

Ya i think some shops sell those free size or stetchable ones..think tpy have one. dunno why maternity clothes so ex wor.

Maternity clothes really very ex. Not worth buying. I oso went to those free size shops at bugis and managed to get some dresses and stretchable clothes. Bought 6 pieces for $100.

diorly : I dont buy maternity clothes except for one or two nursing wear and non wire tube bras lol.. I buy normal clothing like one size bigger. Mphosis have quite a good range of stretchable tops. Leggings are my favourite now.

Hi all. I just found some stores selling maternity wear at cheaper prices yesterday. Its at the stretch of shops directly opposite Bugis OG. Dresses for like 10 bucks!! haha I bought a few myself. Looks abit aunty la the shops but just have to go in and dig ard. :D

Morning Ladies..

terrible day today. so lack of sleep and i just feel like a zombie. slept sitting up in office for 20 mins and now can feel headache coming... Badddd..

Just ate some cny pineapple tarts.. So heavenly.. gg to be a long long day at wrk..

I have decided not to buy any maternity dressed that's more than 40 bucks!! Will try not to spend so much. After all only going to wear for what, another half a year?? Will need to go through my wardrobe and find clothes that will be suitable to wear for maternity. I'm sure I have some empire cut tops etc or loose dresses. Haha. Save the money for better things!!

For pants I will stick to draw string / yoga pants and leggings. I did buy some maternity underwear from qoo10 though. Quite cheap. And also bought 4 bra extenders. Haha.

Hi Mommies

I have a brand new unopened tube of Mustela Double Action Stretch mark cream, expiry Feb 2014, letting go at $40. Retail price is at least $59.90.

What it is:
A deeply penetrating cream that helps prevent and reduce the appearance of new and recent stretch marks.

What it does:
Patented ingredients, Elastoregulator, Lupeol, Arabinogalactane, reinforce the elasticity of the skin to withstand stretching and keep skin supple. A complex containing Sophora Japonica and Mineral Trace Elements assist in skin renewal and moisturizing Shea Butter and Avocado Peptides soothe the skin and provide a sense of comfort.

What it is formulated WITHOUT:
- Parabens
- Synthetic Dyes
- Petrochemicals
- Phthalates
- Triclosan

If keen, pls PM or whatsapp me at 91397020 for fast deal. Thanks.

Regds

8105065.jpg

Usha : same here ! I din sleep the whole night plus the bad cough. Went up to the office, put two chairs together and lie down and amazingly, I din cough much for that one hour =P

Chocopockie: but doc never say have to do a second test right? Then it should be okay?? Dont worry...stay postive...

Nauses seems to be better these past 2 days..but still feel very tired...right now wish to have a bed to lie down sleep >.<

My stomach hurts like shit today till i do a walk in to see the gynae. Lucky not much queue. I only buy those normal dresses in a bigger size and without any waistline. Shld allow my stomach to grow.

The gynae let me knows the gender today. Really happy. Hahaha..

Diorly: so early can know the gender at week 11? I just went for my Oscar scan today at week 12 but gynae said can only cfm gender on the next scan at week 16 coz the private parts are not fully developed yet.

sleeeeepy......

such cooling weather!!!

I oso feel like going to the doc office to know the gender, haha

btw any mummies having nose bleed? this few day i keep having nose bleed, could it be due to drinking of formula milk? Pls advise.

Chocopokie : Should be no problem since your gynea din say anything ? All should be fine =)

Oisterbaby : wah ! Thats fast !

melilone : could it be too heaty ? Maybe you stop the FM and see if the bleeding stops ?

Wlilian &amp; Xav, actually I seeing gynae only tomorrow. I kancheong n called clinic. Nurse told me results ok, but after I heard 1:391, I was like "huh"? Will c what my gynae said. Most probably he will say no need further test but is up to me. Ha!

Tks, will try stay positive.

ttcing, my sonographer oso said the same, gender not fully developed. But I know is they don't want to commit. If is a boy, very high chance now can see.

So tomorrow will ask gynae to scan gender for me.

Week 16 den can confirm gender ah? sigh.. i'm gg tw during my 14th week. tot can go there to shop for some baby clothes :p

mayb can buy neutral colours de.. like yellow or green :D

Actually to really confirm is during detailed scan.
But usually male or female genitals already formed by week 10 onwards.

Can we go foot massage? waahh walk ALL DAY shopping no stamina...here ache there ache.. feeling so tired... dunno can go massage or not??

diorly> my gyne advise on massage is ok to go ahead, just do not massage ur tummy area.
but my mummy advise is no massage during Peggy(Shaw have 6 children).
I guess still up to u.

cannot sleep.... woke up at 5am. Haiz.....

chocpockie
i tot the result is more than 300 is safe liao?

for updates. in the end, i didnt went for the genetic screen.... gynea say it only slightly better than oscar.. but stil not 100% accurate.... hubby is even if good result from scan, stil to go for aminocentesis to b 100% sure... so no matter wat, hv to do aminocentesis... juz wait n do tat ba.... but b doin it after my 1wk hkg trip... cos gynea want at least a 14days buffer after the aminocentesis b4 she comfortable to allow to take flight.... so come back then do instead.. b ard my 19wks by then.... sigh..

remember some mommies here hv the slipped disc, with the leg n buttock pain rite? not sure if anyone else started. mine did... my GP (gynea doc), prescribe a pills tat is to loosen the muscle. work wonders!! took 1 time.. now so much better!!! so if anyone in pain, go n c... dun b like me... pain for few days for nothin!!!

Hi. Waves to all. Me expecting #3. iDue date on 18 aug. nw in wk 12 n 5 days but i am still having nausea n vomiting. Feeling terrible this time round as previously my ms will stop once i hit 12 wk but not for this pregnancy.

Hows everyone doing? hope to know more friends here. Any Fb group? care to add me? my email [email protected]

baby
hi!! me too... stil nausea. previously did stop after wk12or 13... but after my wk long of flu n fever... the nausea is back n nv left since... super sian!!

If baby cooperative, week 12 should be can see the gender liao. Mine was shy at week 12 but yest open big big at week 14 for all to see. My gynae says 99.9% confirm. And the nurse says so far he is nv wrong. So haha. Happy to know before CNY.

Poky, happy to see u here again. At least u have made a decision to go for amnio. You're very likely no problem. I read and read Internet yesterday almost all (except 1) who has results of 1:xx turn out amnio results showed a healthy bb.

To me, my results is a borderline case even though 1:300 is the passing mark. I went to check my previous Oscar is 1:5800. Will see what gynae said today.

Myself I thinking of waiting for detail scan results at 20wks. If results no good, will do amnio then. Dunno will be too late or not. Now let's just be positive all the way!:)

Slipped disc- what actually is it huh? Really a slipped disc? I had this on my 1st pregnancy, walk a few steps n the pain set in. Pain until must sit down kind. My gynae that time said is the muscle thingy. Din give me any medicine. I suffered for 2 mths during pregnancy and the pain then slowly went away.

When I did Oscar, Gynae said less than 250 is considered high risk.

Poky/chocopokie, dun worry. My #1 Oscar was 1:248. I did cvs at wk12. She's a healthy active girl now.

Moving into wk13 next wk. Feel less sleepy n appetite is improving. I still feel full easily so I eat a bit throughout the day instead of 3 full meals.

Wish everyone a happy CNY happy feasting happy long weekend!

Usaginoko, at least u and poky have the guts to do cvs and amnio. Not sure if I will chicken out when the time comes. Glad everything was fine for you then.

if not wrong the pain is caused by this Piriformis muscle. jialat la i have this even before pregnancy already lor, cos i hurt my muscle cycling previously. so the pain comes back every now and then. its a sharp pain from the inside / back of the thigh to the lower butt.

for slip disc i believe the pain is more in the lower back.

Diorly, I am planning to start my foot massage when I enter 13/14 weeks. I started around the same time when I had no. 1 till deliver. They used swedish massage that only massage with gentle strokes on the sole of the feet.

baby : * waves *

Usaginoko : good to hear you are getting better ! Enjoy the coming second trimester !

hi all mummies, anyone having high blood pressure when preggy? im having high blood pressure now and eating meds from gynae. But sometimes still can the heart beating very fast.

poky: Yes i have leg and buttock pain..i tot its normal so i never talk to my gynae about it. Yours is it really painful? Mine is on and off not sure if its really slipped disc...

baby: Congrats!
Welcome

Chocpockie: Should be okay...there will be another detailed scan...within 3-5 weeks time for all mummies...i guess by then would be able to confirm if baby is really okay and healthy...

Zhaqqie: No..for me is low blood all the way....

Not sure why is wrong with me yesterday...by 4pm yesterday i was so letagic and exhausted...wanted to die...

Wondering is any of you started having back pain...wahh my back starting to hurt more liao...lie down also need to choose good position...T.T Who says 2nd trimester is good...roar...

Lol..recently always sleeping like to fight with my hubby on this blooster...whahaha..he has one i dont have...dont know why...hugging blooster really makes me feel more comfortable...so middle of the night i will snatch with him...then he will do the same...cos he told me if want go and get a blooster...then i say dont waste money...furthermore our bed no space O.O

Good mornign ladies..

Not very sure but i think i feel the baby kicking twice today. It was a very small but hard feeling around the belly button. I was sooo hungry and was thinking of macdonald while walking from the mrt, when i felt a little kick like feeling. So i stood and waited and felt it hard again. If it really was the baby, then it was really so swit...

Usha, this is not ur first pregnancy right.. Then should e baby moving cos ur uterus is more sensitive to it.

I felt my baby moving at abt 11 weeks. Then last week when my daughter screamed, baby did a violent thump..

Wow..how many weeks are u gals at now? For my #1, around 4mths plus. It feels like fluttering n then advance into takewando. Haha.

Hi ladies... I wonder if anyone of you have big enough tummies to be given the reserved seat on the MRT? Last few days I had to take MRT but none of which was offered the reserved seat although I look like 5 mths pregnant! So obvious! And then, finally last night I found a reserved seat and then a grumpy old man came over and scolded me for taking "his" seat (he was offered a seat next to me). I was too tired to argue. He scolded me again as I was getting out from the seat... sob sob.

Frogprincess: Wow... Poor thing. You also deserve the right to take the seat. I saw a young chap occupying a reserved seat and there was no intention to give up his seat to an elderly standing opposite him. Quite sad to see that.As for me, I have not really succeeded. Only succeeded 1x out of the many train ride that I have taken. I guess my tummy is still small so it is not very obvious.

poor frogprincess.
for me always have seat somehow, haha.
I will still offer my seat to the old folks, n when they get off they will return the seat to me one. which I always find it very sweet.

I seems to feel baby's heart beat, not sure if I'm imagining it. haha

Frogprincess and Bubbly29: I wasn't able to get a seat in the MRT too coz maybe my tummy is not too obvious yet. I also saw young boys and ladies sitting on those reserved seats and have no intentions to give them up

Guess we have to bear with it for the next couple of months to be ''more obvious'' then. By then, if no young chaps give up their seats to me, I will purposely stand in front of them and see everyone's reaction around them :p hehe

BabyS: this is my first pregnancy. Im only 15 weeks today. That was why i was so surprised with the sudden movement. Especially when i was walking.

frogprincess: I have no problem nowadays getting a place in the train in the mornings. Though not everyday, at least 3-4 times a week so it's getting better.

i had an old uncle scold me when i sat at the reserve seat at jurong east. i boarded the train first and walked over to the seat and i didn even see him coming. But i just scolded him back cause he didn look like the old man who will faint if need to stand. He was so smartly dressed like a young chap and wearing modern smart shoes and carrying a laptop sling bag. But head full of white hair. So i just told him off. IF it was some old man or woman who can barely stand, i myself would have given up the seat to him. I just asked him, "there were so many people seated and the train is not crowded that you cannot ask anyone else for seat, why must you come up to me and scold me for not giving up my seat. Stop being racist just because im an Indian!" he just kept quiet. noone still gave him seat. He got off at lakeside which is just 2 stops from jurong east. Look at how terrible these people can get!