(2013/08) August 2013

my oscar scan will be on 22/1 2.30pm at TMC...
hope everything fine and do not need to do further scan.

Oh i had 1st throw out yesterday after dinner...i ate fish soup noodle....now i know...baby dun like fish , exactly like my #1...

I've been to Korea and Taiwan recently. Not keen in overcrowded Hong Kong. Going Australia end of this year. America too far. Hiyoh. Nowhere else to go. Thinking of Japan. Is it safe huh? Some say not safe coz of radiation. Hmmm

Please remove my details , went to the gynea today. Baby's heartbeat stop..... Consider a miscarriage...... Nice meeting you ladies....

Hi mummies, I'm going for my Oscar on 18 jan at TMC.
For my no 1 doc found out that I had thalassemia issues.Hence hubby needs to go for blood test to test if he has thalassemia too. If I'm not wrong these additional scans and test comes in a package and it cost ard 500+?( if I remembered correctly)

Hi bubbly29, you staying in single? I opting for double. Hope 7k refers to single room.
felt better after knowing also mummy going mount e.

Littledevil82, do a mini confinement. Hope u will have ur next bb v soon. Cheer up!

Hello everyone. I am back to work after an extended MC due to bleeding - I think it was just an infection, baby is fine :) One week MC had been both a blessing and a torture. Blessing because I have been having very bad insomia. MC means I got to take a morning nap after breakfast, till about lunchtime. Torture because I have to endure the smell from the kitchen everyday - soups, stirfry, steam fish, etc... they seem to be all over the house and made me very nauseated. The vomiting has reduced, but the nausea is still there - the lump on the throat is still there - feels like my system is stuck!!

OSCARS - for all the mommies doing it, were you advised to do it by your gynae? Or is it something you are asking for? My doctor did not mention this at all.

Maternity clothes - I already look 4 - 5 mths pregnant, although I am still hiding in my usual office clothes - opting for the more belly friendly ones. I bought a few pieces of maternity wear from one of the GAP/OLDNAVY online sprees. Hope to get it in the next couple of weeks or so. ASOS is too big for me, too. Haven't a clue how to go about CNY dressing - haven't the mood and thinking maybe this will just be a quiet one at home other than 1 morning's visit to Hubby's relative's place.

Stella: According to what I remember from the conversation with the nurse, 7k is the minimum cost and it includes a double bed room.

Frog princess: My gynae did brought it up and it is an optional test. But my husband and I are not going for the test.
Can I also check with you how do you go about buying the clothes online? I heard about the spree but I don't know how to go about it. Thanks!

frongprincess: Is that your #2 already? That is why your tummy is so big?

Ann: Will be going krabi at end of the month for 5 days 4 night....already book before knowing i was preggy....husband abit relactant to travel....he more concern about baby safety...

littledevil82: sorry to hear about it...rest well and stay postive...you can try again...

Regarding bbmoon to Japan. I think should be safe bah coz my #1 time got preg mum go also. But I feel we go Japan now quited wasted leh. Can't wack sashimi n sushi, can't dip in hotsprings. And it's so tiring to climb the endless stairs at their train stations.

Frogprincess: For my #1 gynae took 1 session to explain Oscar to us, then we go home decide whether we wana do or not. For #2 he auto schedule Oscar for us, prob bec we had done b4 for #1.

I look preg after meals. At other times i just look like got flabby tummy. Hope my tummy not too obvious during CNY n I can wear normal loose fitting clothes coz my in-laws dun know abt my preg yet. Trying to keep secret until really can't hide tummy anymore.

just went for my first consultation! saw my baby for e first time and heard the heartbeat. so fascinating

my EDD is on 24 Aug! can't wait.. hehe..

although Dr Tee say my chances of having a down syndrome is low, but we still decided to go ahead with e ultrasound n blood test next mth.

will be going to Taiwan next mth end for 9days! think this will be the last long trip we will b going for e next few years.

Sorry for the late reply ladies!

Diorly, coco69 & Ellen: My boss doesnt like staff get pregnant all along & hasnt met one until I disclosed to him abt my pregnancy.. he also prefer single employees cos they hv less commitments to family (thats wat he thinks). Since he noe abt my pregnancy, he told me that he might change my contract to part time or even wont renew my contract.. so im getting myself prepared nw

littledevil: sorry to hear that. take care and try again in a few months!

Rachyo: so you are on contract now? if so then i can understand to a certain extent because if on fixed term contract i think most employers will not welcome the idea (even though it is against MOM regulations). maybe you can look out for some kind of home based assignments? being pregnant, i think you will need as much rest as you can now too!

Katherine: i miss Taiwan so much! how i wished i can go for a trip too. but not sure cos HB and i just burnt big hole in pocket after we came back from a long trip to Korea in Dec. and w the baby there's a lot more expenses coming up..

Hi Amanda & William, all staff in stat board r on contractual basis.. it happens tat my contract end in mid sep n my delivery is in mid Aug.. I can only get 1mth maternity leave if he do not renew my contract.. MOM wont take action against them as my company can claim that my contract is no longer needed
think i will just stay at home to take care of my little baby first n recuperate..

if they dont renew ur contract, i tink you can challenge them for the reasons, unless they say you are not performing at least average. your past performance appraisal would have say so if it is the case.

if they say no headcount, then make sure they do not advertise for new ppl.

as for stat board, actually it is a norm to start off w a 2yr contract, afterwhich they will then convert u to perm.. seldom they will not convert actually...

Yup.. I'm also surprised.. one of my colleague at his age 50+ also didnt get his contract renewed as my boss feels tat he is too old.. so took the opportunity to say his position is no longer needed n ended his contract without renewing.

btw any ladies lost appetite during their first trimester?

Hi Katherine, we r seeing the same gynae

I've a checked last week and manage to see bb heartbeat (happy max)
my edd was also 27th aug.. so coincidence...

Joyful: Yup.. my last yr appraisal was gd.. but it happened tat tis yr i hv to disclose to him abt my pregnancy before we do our appraisal.. he can make changes to it still.. my ex-colleague didnt get the renewal n they straight away hired someone to replace him.. frm tis point u can c he wld rather lie than letting ppl with family or older age stay in the company..

yup usual 2 yrs or longer then they will convert but not confirm they will convert cos most of the contract r still under contractual basis.. my 2yrs contract ending in Sep so i guess its a gd chance to get rid of me before i claim my remaining 3mths of maternity leave.. :p

so glad to be in week 11 oredi. completely no more morning sickness. But still get nauseous with milk and some curries. As long as i avoid them, i feel well. The only new symptom is tiredness. Around 3ish in the afternoon will start. The body will feel like been thru gym. By the time i finish work at 6pm, i can hardly walk fro mthe tiredness and severe backache will start. sometimes too painful to sit down oso. I just hope tiredness goes away soon or at least get reduced..

i have a brand new in box, unopened tube of Mustela Double Action Stretchmark cream, expiry dated 2014, letting go at $40, which is more than 30% off usual retail price of $59.90. If keen, pls text or whatsapp me at 91397020.

rachyo

it would be really sad if your boss do that (dont renew ur contract).

Stat board should be under AUSBE, you can check with the branch official of the union to see if there is any similar case in the past. they may be able to help. though under contract basis, but you did fulfilled the criteria of 180days before your delivery.. you may still get your 4 mths..

littledevil: sorry to hear about that. don't be too sad...you still got good chance to get preggie.
me is a good example....miscarriage on aug and preggie after 2 months. moreover i believe you are younger then me...so no problem.rest well and stay positive.

Amanda: i got my tix during Scoot's launch sale so the tix is cheap!! will b going budget this time too cuz quite broke after our US honeymoon in Nov.

Eileen: what a coincidence! Dr Tee is really a man of few words. haha.. when's ur next appt?

littledevil: sorry abt your loss. rest well for now and bring your body condition back to the tops to prepare for the next one!

little devil: I am sorry to hear about your loss. Do take care and rest well!

Is anyone going for the baby expo fair this weekend? Does anyone know what do they sell? Thanks!

Bubbly29: Yup...i am going to take a look....but my friend advice me not to get anything yet...she mention that the huge discount is higher during April- June expo....

littledevil: sorry to hear about your loss. do take care!

rachyo : i feel very unjust for you! is there another boss above him that you can go to? usually stat board appraisals should have a counter signing officer? or can you speak to HR? this kind of boss... *shakes head*
my appetite during dinner is usually quite bad, will be feeling too tired and nauseous after the work day to want to eat.

Re OSCARS: This is my #3. Doctor has never mentioned OSCAR for any of my pregnancy. I'm over 35!

Re Online sprees: Have to make full payment for the things you order, takes 2 - 4 weeks for it to arrive in SG and then arrange for collection with the spree organiser. As a rule of thumb, I only order from established spree organisers and make sure my purchases does not exceed $100.

Re purchasing things from Baby Fair, Expo Sale, etc. From my experience, a lot of the baby stuff are much cheaper from US and UK - For e.g. car seat from US is USD40. Same one in SG is SGD250. Milk pump is USD200 vs SGD800. Milkbags is USD0.15 vs SGD0.60 things like that. Clothes, as well. I am thinking, we are all due in August... Summer sales starts in July - Maybe we can all group together and do our own private sprees for clothing, etc :) See how goes.

Hi Leng! Yup he has a boss but she v niao n also doesnt like her staff to be pregnant.. lol.. cos in her dept she hv got many many ladies pregnant.. she mentioned to me before n is shaking her head when she talk abt pregnant employees haha.. they r d same.. but i hv talked to one of the board of director here.. he asked me to talk to MD.. I'm waiting for my MD to be available :p I'm in the HR n my boss is a finance person who oversees HR too..

my gf also same as u.. dinner time no appetite.. i hv no appetite everyday n will vomit.. lol.. hope it will be over soon..

btw ladies, do remember to search online for breastpump soon.. cos u need to noe which is gd n hv to buy 1 wk before delivery.. else last min u will not be able to understand how it works..

PS: I bought mine 4days later after my delivery cos my BIL told me maybe i dont hv milk.. in the end i hv to buy online n get it delivered to my home within few hrs..

Wlilian: thanks for the tips! Will only buy during the April to June baby fair then!

Frog princess: how do you purchase items from the states? I feel that the baby stuff sold locally is very expensive.
even maternity clothes too! Still trying to squeeze into my existing clothes now...

Hello Ladies!
I'm new to this forum. Am a first time mummy to be and currently at 11weeks. Edd according to baby center app is 02 Aug but recent scan shows 09 August 2013.

Looking forward to all your sharings! =)

welcome mrstham2011

Rachyo / frogprincess : i know a lot of pple swear by the medela brand. my colleague also recommended that i get from UK (instead of US cos i think there's some difference in the plug / voltage) but how wor, no one's going there!

frogprincess: good idea to spree since theres quite a number of us here who will need similar things around the same time.

Hi Amanda! Yeah most mum get medela.. Mine was Ameda (dont noe if i spell it correctly.. lol) the breastpump v quiet de.. so when u pump in office etc it wnt be easily heard.. haha..

i also having lesser nauseous. at least from daily more than 10x. now only less than 5x? hopefully it will go away by the time my hospitalization leave is up. =p

Rachyo
if tat the scenario... it really hard to pin point ur boss to say that he purposely discriminatin preggies... unless got few ppl together complain? really suai to hv such boss!!!

frogprincess
if really organise spree, must keep me in loop ok?? i not frequent here though... =p

anyone hvin OSCAR on the 24th Jan?

Amanda or any first time mommies intendin to buy pumps
i would recommend to try the brands out with ur frens who hv the pumps or try TMC parentcraft center. they let u try the different brands. but think with a small fee? cant b sure. i tried ameda, medela and avent thru buyin. sigh... wasted so much money. cos i can only use avent due to size issue. other brands juz cant help me to pump milk efficiently. but then mayb it only a isolated case. lol

hi poky.. yeah.. its hard.. but i just received 2 gd news frm my colleagues (same dept) that 2 of them r pregnant.. EDD is 1 mth later than mine.. i guess my boss will faint when he noes.. keke.. yeah its really suay but i believe in karma.. keke..

I'm having my OSCAR scan in early Feb..

i am still tinking if i shld go for the oscar.. i didnt for #1.. back then tinkin is if it is bad, we will continue the preg..

but it is more responsible not to bring a life to tis world and be despise by others...

how how..

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>Nick Name in SMH forum</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Expecting Child</TD><TD>Hospital to deliver baby </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Poky</TD><TD>2-Aug-13</TD><TD>caroline khi</TD><TD>#3</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>jocelyn tan </TD><TD>3-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Anthony Siow</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Parkway East (Eastshore) </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Usha RajKumar (usha_rk)</TD><TD>4-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr. Khoo</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>soulffle</TD><TD>4-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Thiasy</TD><TD>4-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Babyxi</TD><TD>6-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>chirpy </TD><TD>6-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Karolyn Goh</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Bam</TD><TD>7-Aug-13</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>jeslynx87</TD><TD>7-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Gleneagles Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>sheepysheeps</TD><TD>8-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Edward Lee</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Mount A Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Annpaul</TD><TD>8-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Tan Kim Teng</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>anna (javiers_mum) </TD><TD>9-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr. Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Chocpockie</TD><TD>13-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr June Tan</TD><TD>#3</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>diorly</TD><TD>15-Aug-13</TD><TD>Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Babys</TD><TD>15-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Ben Choey</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Mount A Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Skymummy</TD><TD>16-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Mount A Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Serene</TD><TD>17-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Adrian woodworth </TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Monmav</TD><TD>18-Aug-13</TD><TD>KW Lee clinic</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Gleneagles Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>ttcing</TD><TD>20-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Mount A Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Von</TD><TD>20-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Edward Lee</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Mount A Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>princessgx </TD><TD>22-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>#3</TD><TD>Eastshore </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>bear bear</TD><TD>24-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Mount A Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Scent</TD><TD>25-Aug-13</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Qin83</TD><TD>26-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr Mariam</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Amanda</TD><TD>28-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr. Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Yippeeapple</TD><TD>30-Aug-13</TD><TD>Dr John Tee</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>sk tan</TD><TD>30-Aug-13</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>joyful</TD><TD>1-Sep-13</TD><TD>Dr CH Koh</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Mount A Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>coco69</TD><TD>4-Sep-13</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Thomson Medical </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Puan Sri</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian woodworth </TD><TD></TD><TD></td></tr></table>

Breastpumps: I already have 2 kids and went through a variety of breastpumps. Here's my review based on experience - YES! I actually tried all these!! Bought some, loaned some, inherited some over the course of 2 BF periods...

Madela mini electric - Can do the occassional pumping but cannot empty out the milk and it is slow and noisy. Not effective, was the worse of the lot!

Madela dual pump - Much better than the mini, but it is too expensive and over-rated and not worth the extra investment.

Avent manual - Alas, it is a manual pump - but otherwise the most effective once you are used to it. Probably cost the least - but it's manual and only single. Word of caution - the rubber parts seem to go from translucent to yellow within weeks - gives you that eeky feeling if everything's okay - Avent recommends regular changes but parts aren't cheap!

Ameda dual pump - Finally!! The godsend solution. It is most affordable, quiet, and it is a double pump. Everything Ameda fits Madela and fits NUK. Very durable and will be my first option! Highly recommended. Someone in this forum sells it and carries parts, too.

Going for a dual pump means half the time required for expressing - and the other breast usually leaks when expressing, anyway! So just do it together.

And finally... when to buy? For first timers, I would say... not too late to buy after baby is born and you confirm want/can do breastfeeding. One of the reason I had so many was because friends had bought and ended up using it no more than twice. But good to do research beforehand... when you need it, just send the hubby to get from the distributor. Anyway, first 2 weeks no need to pump. Nothing much to pump and it might end up over-stimulating the milk production. 2 cents from mommy of 2 :)

frogprincess: you are really very experienced! haha. which is good for us first timers to learn..
definitely getting a dual pump but anyway its still early! :p

anyway how much is the Ameda dual pump?

Joyful: my data is not in the list.

nickname:wlilian
Child: #1
EDD: 6 Aug
Gynae: Dr Anthony Siow
Hospital: Eastshore

joyful.. I actually hv a fren whom did OSCAR scan etc but ended up baby is slight different from others.. the scan cannot detect such cases (her daughter's 2 eyes are further away from the nose).. think OSCAR 90% accurate but still not 100%

Hi sashamunna, thanks for sharing! I will try tat

joyful.. mine also not in.. updated it abt 1wk ago..

Nickname: rachyo
Child: #2
EDD: 17 Aug
Gynae: Dr. Watt Wing Fong
Hospital: Raffles/ Mount Alvernia

Hi All, I have been a silent reader, but seems like my question no one is asking. hee....

1st time so will have tons of q for all of you. Hope you all mummies n mtb dun mind.

For my last visit the clinic asst asked me what test do I wanna do can I know what are the tests that we need to do as a 1st timer?
how much will it cost as well?

eileen: my next appt is on 20th Feb! haha.. our dates all ard the same time.

so far no MS althou i feel nausea at times. *fingers crossed*

super sensitive to smells now. i can't stand the smell of chocolate and those stale oil (pasar malam) kinda smell. fish also don't go well with my tastebuds nowadays regardless the method of cooking.

when shld we start sourcing for all the pumps, car seats and all? later part of 2nd trimester?

staying with in-laws now and will convert my SIL's (who's not longer staying here) room into the baby room but my hub is saying cannot move the furniture ard -.-

Joyful, my info is not in too! But here you go!

Nickname: bubbly29
Child:#1
EDD: 27 aug
Gynae: Dr Kek Lee Phin
Hospital: Mt E

Thanks joyful!!