(2013/05) May 2013

pinktulip - no particular reason but coz 1st time mommy so just want to prepare myself. haha. Esp when I read some babies dont latch well coz the mommy has flat/inverted/short etc nipples. I think I may have inverted/flat nipples so if baby dont latch well, I need to let baby get used to bottle feeding too.

Irene - thanks for the infor!
for bottle/food warmer, do we have to use milk bottles of the same brand? Went Kiddy Palace during lunch earlier and saw the bundle promo by Tommy Tippee (probably the same one Vi saw) and it looks like a good deal. But just afraid need to use same brand of milk bottles then abit ma fan.

sleepyskies: sometimes i just pour hot water in the zojirushi..cos its also thermal one. then no need bring out another hot water flask.

i agree with irene...not all babies can latch well.
and anyway, i always think do both latch and bottle will be better.
otherwise when u go back to work or need to let others feed baby, others will have prob feeding the baby.

Wahh, thanks 2Ks for the pics! Ok, now got more things to buy liaos. haha. Where did you get the fridge-to-go and zojirushi container? You still can rem the prices? Hope baby fairs will have promos for these too.

sleepyskies: i checked the web it said got 20% at kp until mar. but then hor...not all kp got sell leh.
i bought mine at robinsons. but then i went again no more.
then hor...taka got sell also. wait for the member discount. usually extra 10%.
but then this is the slim ftg. so can only bring 1-2 feeds depending on how u store.
its good enough for me, to bring to & fro work daily, and i can slot inside my bag.

i have another pigeon FTG which can store more feeds. i bring that out when i travel overseas.

zojirushi is not a must, some just bring along cups. i like it cos it maintain hot longer, some babies need to have a break before finishing that bottle, so i can still put my leftover ebm in to warm while let bb rest and feed later.
hope u get what i meant...

ftg got bigger capacity ones...but abit more heavier.

Okie, will check out KP, Robinsons and Taka soon! Thanks babe!

Zojirushi is a good brand, if I am not wrong, so even if dont use to warm EBM outside also can use as normal thermal flask. Just need to wait sale/promo to get some extra discount. haha.
Eh, if I use the fridge-to-go, still need to put ice pack inside? This has similar function as cooler bags right?

sleepyskies: this model ftg the panels is inside one. just pop the whole thing in freezer. for pigeon, the ice panels is take out one...
cooler bag i find it not so cold lor.

Another thing is...if I am putting baby in IFC from 4th month onwards and I want to pass my EBM to the IFC, I can just pass them the EBM in storage bottles/cups (without teats) right? Or the IFC will expect me to provide my own feeding bottles too?
Trying to figure out how many feeding bottles and storage bottles/cups I will need to buy..haha.

Just to share also.. since 2ks is talking about soaking to make hot bottle. i bought this last time i ask my cousin wife to help me buy since that time selling in oversea only not sure this one got sell in singapore anot now. =) but u all can view ^^ is like a flask to put hot water then the cover is like a cup. so u can soak the milk to warm it. hehee

Fisher-Price Bottle Warming Vacuum Flask
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Fisher-Price-Bottle-Warming-Vacuum-Flask/dp/B000H5V52U

Debbie,
Yes, consider buying from the spree…. Mine is a Medela one. Saw from spree they sold 2 types of breast shield. One is the standard one as 1 whole thing and the other one is separate part (need to buy connector and personalfit breastshield). My current one is separate part one, dunno if the one whole thing one is good or not.

Dian Tang,
For my #1, I just survive on 2 ~150ml bottles only. Once I used the 2 bottles, I will wash. I change the teats every 2-3 months and bottles every 6 months.

Sleepyskies,
For me I just use normal cooler bags with ice pack bought from daiso. Works fine for me. I have the Medela which come from the PSIA one that I have not used yet but I will use this time round.

Warming up ebm,
I have a pigeon warmer, but I find it too slow liao. In the end I just use a bowl of hot water, still as fast as my pigeon warmer. Although people say hot water will kill some of the nutrients liao, but I think when we use ebm esp those frozen one, some nutrients already gone liao. And the water will turn cooler as I warm up the ebm.

Sterilisers,
I find sterilisers very convenient, quick and useful and less messy. Once sterilised, you can keep the bottles in the sterilisers for 8 hours. My steriliser is not from a well known brand call Shears which I find it very good to use. I am still using once a week now to sterilise my #1 bottles. Can fit in both wide neck and standard size bottle.

Re: Fridge-to-go
Love fridge-to-go! it is worth buying especially if you're often out for long hours and don't latch. I used my SIL's FTG. Really cold and can keep EBM cold for very long.

vicvic, i normally pump straight into medela storage bottle. But last time during my good times, i will use those bottles like the tall and skinny NUK bottles for pumping and storage. As for steriliser, it's quite convenient to get one. At my mum's house, there's no sterliser so i just boil water and soak the bottles inside for a short while. But more troublesome cos need to boil water. sterliser just chuck the bottles inside and turn on. I use lucky baby sterliser, cheap and usable. So far never spoil.

sleepyskies: this part u have to check with ifc. cos diff ifc do different ways. some ifc do not like milkbags, cos there is a risk of contamination when they pour into milk bottles.

2K, Debbie,
I backside itchy, kpo went to FTG website see. Look like a gd product to invest on. Should be quite lightweight without the ice packs. I see that got some model got separate ice pack one,its additonal one to make FTG last longer is it?

Then another silly question..

When we pump in office, do u put the milk bag in fridge or freezer before u bring home.
I last time is put in freezer then going home time, I took out and put in cooler bag to transport home.

Bbkk,
I would put milk bag in fridge, then go home continue put in fridge and use. If not I bring home, put in freezer. I don't put in my workplace freezer bcos will freeze my ebm and I will need worry it will thaw when I bring home.

Griny, oic.. A bit thaw then freeze again dunno anot anot hor..
Cos usually I won't use that bag first. I will freeze it and use older date milk bag first.

Bbkk,
Not too sure about a bit thaw can refreeze again. I dun feel comfortable with that.The previous time, my refigerator was spoilt, I threw away 128 packs of ebm from my freezer bcos all become thawed liao. Heartpain.

Griny - gosh that's a lot of EBM... i feel heartpain for you....

2ks, thanks for the pictures of the Fridge-To-Go, looks very ideal to bring out and use for office pumping. Seems like a lot of good reviews also!

hey mummies..

anyone going to prenatal massage? i read some positive and negative remarks.. really tempted to go cause body in need of some massage to ease away some aches and pains.. but then scared..

used to go tui na for the first 4 months but i stopped cause they do too hardcore and i read that cannot be too hardcore cause not good.. gotta be gentler to help us smoothe our body.. last trimester, wanna be a little nice to myself also.. cause can feel the weight coming in..

Debbie : im just afraid that bottles from different brands like medela and nuk can't fit into the Ameda dual pump that i intend to get.

wah fridge-to-go sounds good. how much does it cost??

For those who do not mind tommee tippee bottles, and gg to the fair.....booth a11-13.... They r selling nb bottles for $2 each. But limited to two pieces per customers....usual price is 10.90

Can Chk it put when u r at the fair......

Bb weight... Jus went to gynae (first one is at kkh to b subsidised patient)... Gynae told me the estimated weight is 845g
She say is ave but on the bigger end...not sure is it coz of the CNY goodies that I haf eaten over the last few days....

Sigh..my hub say mus control wat I eat now

bbkk: the brand is called Fridge-to-go lor.
i been using that brand all along.
only this small slim one and pigeon big one. cos if big one put whole thing in freezer very occupy space, so i prefer the panel to be able to take out de.

and after pump in office i usually put chilled only, not frozen.

vi: i dont like tommee tippee brand. cos the shape of the bottles is very odd. then its very hard for u to find a right container to soak your bm.
and then hor...not all dept stores sell that brand.

is NUK bottle really better? I saw quite a few people recommending. But, I saw there are quite a few type of NUK bottles...which one should we choose??

Ohya, mommies...which day of the fair are u all going??

2ks, I agree with u on the tommee tippee bottles...that is why I m looking at their starter kit..together with the warmer....

But if I go out, it will b hard to warm out the bm.....so now still thinking which brand to get.....

I shld b getting most of the items during the baby fair, taka fair n robinsons member sales...hopefully more discounts during the fairs....

I also still confuse which brand. My colleague recommend me NUK. I bought the bundle steriliser and it comes with 3 avent bottles. Thinking if I should also get NUK to standby.

Xuan,
I think depends on each baby. My bb as fussy about bottles ard 1.5 months old. Used NUK originally but suddenly dun want to. Had to try other brands.

Griny, actually the fridge to go that i used was super heavy. But i only use it when i pump milk and bring to my mum's house for storage etc as i used to let #1 stay my mum's house ocassionally last time. It's good for mothers who pump at work and bring home too. Not sure about how heavy the smaller size FTG is. But the ice packs are removable. If all removed, it doesn't really keep the milk cold. Sometimes i go out for a few hours, i will just use a cooler bag instead as it's lighter.

Xuan, for bottles really must trial and error. My bb was quite fussy with bottles. Gave up on Avent for my #1. it was only until 7 or 8 months that time then any brand of milk bottle he can suck well. Also depends on the teat. Some newborns by the end of 1st month may need to change to stage 2 teat.

vicvic, i have never really seen a real ameda breastpump so i don't know about the size of the pump bottles. You can try getting some skinny bottle, even if it doesn't fit the pump, can also use for storing EBM. But i think Avent bottle cannot fit ameda pump. How come you like Ameda pump leh? was it recommended by someone you know? My cousin said ameda is not as good as medela as she tried both types of pump. However my malay massage lady told me that Ameda is good.

Debbie : I read online reviews for both Ameda and Medela. Although Medela reviews are really good, it's a lil too pricy IMO. For Ameda, although not as many good reviews as Medela, it doesn't really have bad reviews too. I find it more affordable, so decide to get Ameda instead. Not superb but good enough I think.

Am intending to get some Nuk & some Avent milk bottles to let bb try out...Avent coz can pump directly into the bottles (just need a connector for Medela pump) and Nuk coz heard many good reviews abt it. Hope that the Nuk bottles can fit into Avent steriliser though...

I shld be taking leave on Friday to go to the baby fair..less people and not so rushed. Hope to settle the cot, diapers, milk bottles, wet wipes, steriliser & bottle warmer, baby detergent/shower/shampoo there..wah,seems like a lot of stuff.haha

Mummies...Say if my bb can latch properly than i have left over milk, i will express it out and keep right. Than i use it for the next feed or i just keep first?

If no parking at expo, can consider park at the shopping ctr. Although abit ma fan lah but save on waitibg time.

Hiii all seldom come in nowsaday always have prob accessing fr Wkplc.

Warmer: mine is Avent, passed down fr my sis in 2009,her boy aldy sec2 keke hope it's still wking gotta dig out n test test

Sterilizer : we bot Avents one the last round, time to dig out also. By the way any of u know where to buy the sterilizing pill? Went taka they only sell pigeon sterilizer pill.

Expo fair:
I'm gog on fri too, intend to take mrt there then ask Hb pick me & frd up at 3+ then go Gynae appt hehe.
Whose gog on fri too?
Wanna have brunch or meetup b4 we go in and shop?

Hi ladies...

Baby Sling
Can i check which brands are good? Am looking for something more unisex in color. Was looking at the pupsik studio. Any reviews?

Also, i'm a L size, and hubbs is a size larger. Should i get a L or a XL?

Carriers
ask u ladies which one is better?
BOBA 3G Carrier or ErGo Carriers Or Beco Gemini or Baby BJorn. i used to have Bjorn original then i sold off. i felt quite okai cus i felt quite easy to use. but i sweat alot lor. but i dont mind to get back the same if u gals say is still good ^^

Fool4love: for sling i bought Pupsik Pouch Slings not bad i felt and i bought Balboa Baby Sling. But i usually use alot is Balboa Baby Sling.

JC how many week are u? that ya baby weight 845g? cus mine is 26 weeks weight 845g my gynea say normal leh. i cant wait for tmw check up! im going to ask my doc why my gorin so pain. like the pain is like something tearing apart down there when i walk..

My frd recommebd me to buy those cloth sling than those carrier. She say more flexible. We try those carrier at shop but maybe not used to it..have to ask ppl to help us wear.

My hubby and myself also big size. So when he wear the carrier, it look ridiculously small...abit unglam leh..hahah

Fabbie: i experiencing pain too..especially when i stand up ...but not till tearing type of feeling..is like exercise too much than suan suan pain that kind..

Myangelisback: I'm gg on Friday too!..

Lately I'm experiencing tighten tummy (like contraction) then I can't stand up properly...like baby curling up inside like that.. Makes me feel that it drop down to the bottom of my 'V' part...
Any of u experiencing it?

Is this consider Braxton hicks?

Hi fool4love,

I used pupsik for my no 1 but it only lasted about 2 -3 months cos found it really tough to cross the legs of baby and put it in the sling when baby grows. For younger age its ok to use it cos baby is smaller and they will feel very cuddled . If u get too large a size, the sling seems a little droopy. Subsequently, i prefer the ergo carrier when baby is older cos not too heavy for my shoulders and back especially when baby's weight is more than 10kg.

Hi Fabbie, I still have the baby bjorn original but as baby grows heavy towards the max weight of 11 kg, i found the groin area very strained and my poor baby's thigh had red marks on them....so in the end, i bought the ergo carrier..more roomy..I heard good reviews for beco carrier but i didnt get to try though.

JC: those cloth sling i cannot leh.. i do n do i give up. duno how to tie hahaha mine is not suan leh.. i felt is more like a cut below there and now i cant even see my below. -____- but im sure is not a cut. cus i press my groin is quite pain.

Xuan: no leh.. i didn't heard before maybe tmw will go check it out.

belle: so is better to get either ergo or beco? i felt born is quite tight.. so when my hub try to use it.. he got no space to put my baby le.. only got space to put his tummy only haha so im looking for something which more room but not too room ba? if not drop how? unless can adjust? born can carry when baby is 1 month old right? if im not wrong.. but ergo and beco can? but they are like much ex than brjon is it?

Baby slings and carriers,
I have Mom In Mind baby sling (those with the rings type). Gd to use when bb is younger. But as bb get heavier I felt one side of my shoulder aching.
Then I move on to Ergo Baby carrier (when her neck is stronger) which I like it a lot but it only allow bb to face toward the adult only.

For carriers I am considering Ergo Baby Carrier and Baby Bjorn Miracle. Not sure which is better. Think I read sometime back from the archived threads that Baby Bjorn is not good for baby boys issit?

Also thinking to get a BabySafe cloth sling, haven't heard reviews about it though.